强直性脊柱炎:降低跌倒风险

强直性脊柱炎早期,骨骼可能会变薄,使脊柱骨(椎骨)变弱,脊柱(脊椎)骨折的风险增大。一些研究表明,在患有强直性脊柱炎的人群中,脊柱骨折许多是由滑倒和跌倒导致,明显多于没有强直性脊柱炎的人。

椎骨骨折会压迫脊髓以及在脊柱中穿行的神经,并有可能使其受损。所以,采取措施防止跌倒非常重要。在生活方式上听从以下建议,向正确的方向迈进。

  • 定期检查听力和视力。如果您的听力和视力受损,您可能无法保持平衡或看清路上的事物。
  • 定期体检。有些身体状况会影响平衡、感觉和行动方式。在检查过程中,医生会检查您是否有这些状况,并建议您做运动、使用助步器或接受物理疗法。
  • 健康饮食。身体和骨骼健康非常重要。提前制定计划健康饮食。多了解如何获取足够的蛋白质,喝健康的饮品,并在日常饮食中增加钙和维生素 D。钙质对于强壮的骨骼非常重要。维生素 D 可以帮助人体吸收钙质。
  • 询问您的药物使用情况。一些药物或药物的组合可能会影响您的平衡感和协调性。将您所服用的任何药物和膳食补充剂告知医生或药剂师。开始服用可能会影响平衡感的新药后,要注意您的走路和活动方式。
  • 不要饮酒。即使少量饮酒也会导致跌倒。当您的平衡能力和反射能力受损时,更是如此。
  • 慢点起床。如果起身的速度太快,哪怕是血压稍微下降,也会让您感到头晕。请避免出现这种感觉,缓慢站起身。下床时,先坐起片刻再站起来。
  • 穿合适的衣服和鞋子。选择足够短的衣服(尤其是睡衣),以免将您绊倒。穿着结实的低跟鞋,鞋内和鞋底采用防滑材料。
  • 运动。运动可以使您更加强壮。运动可以提高您的肌肉张力、力量和协调性。这些方法可以防止您跌倒。在监督下实行运动计划或物理疗法也许会特别有益。在开始任何运动计划之前,请询问医生您可以做哪些活动。

您也可以在家里做一些改变,比如良好的照明和减少杂物都能降低您跌倒的风险。如果您有跌倒的风险,请向医生询问是否要做居家安全检查。通过采取一些这样的预防措施,保持身体强壮,就可以降低摔倒和骨折的风险。

Sept. 10, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Ankylosing spondylitis: Reduce your risk of falling

During the early stages of ankylosing spondylitis, a person's bones may thin, weakening spinal bones (vertebrae) and increasing the risk of spinal (vertebral) fractures. Some research suggests that in those who have ankylosing spondylitis, many spinal fractures are caused by injuries from slips and falls — significantly more than in people who don't have ankylosing spondylitis.

Vertebral fractures can put pressure on and possibly injure the spinal cord and the nerves that pass through the spine. So, it's important to take steps to reduce your risk of falling. Take a step in the right direction with these lifestyle tips.

  • Get regular hearing and vision checks. If your hearing and vision are impaired, you may not be able to keep your balance or see things in your path.
  • Have regular physical exams. Some medical conditions can affect balance, sensations and how you move. During an exam, your doctor can check you for these conditions and suggest exercises, a walking aid or physical therapy.
  • Eat well. A healthy body and healthy bones are important. Plan ahead to eat healthy meals. Learn more about eating enough protein, drinking healthy liquids, and adding calcium and vitamin D to your daily diet. Calcium is important for strong bones. Vitamin D helps your body absorb calcium.
  • Ask about your medications. Some drugs or combinations of drugs may affect your balance and coordination. Talk to your doctor or pharmacist about any medications and dietary supplements you take. Be careful about how you walk and move after you start a new medication that can affect your balance.
  • Avoid alcohol. Using even a small amount of alcohol can contribute to falls. This is especially true if your balance and reflexes are impaired.
  • Get up slowly. Even a small drop in blood pressure can make you feel light-headed or dizzy if you stand up too quickly. To avoid this feeling, stand up slowly. When getting out of bed, sit up for a few moments before you stand.
  • Wear the right clothes and shoes. Choose clothing, especially sleepwear, that's short enough so that it doesn't cause you to trip. Wear sturdy, low-heeled shoes with non-slip materials inside and on the soles.
  • Exercise. Exercise can make you stronger. It can improve your muscle tone, strength and coordination. These may help you prevent falls. Supervised exercise programs or physical therapy may be particularly beneficial. Before you start any exercise program, ask your doctor which activities are OK for you to do.

There also are changes you can make at home — such as good lighting and reduced clutter — to minimize your risk of falling. Ask your doctor about getting a home safety check if you have a risk of falling. By taking some of these precautions and staying strong, you reduce your risk of both falling and fractures.

June 04, 2019 See more In-depth