أقرأ دومًا أن ممارسة الرياضة والنظام الغذائي يمكن أن يقيا من مرض الزهايمر، ولكن النتائج المتباينة في هذا الشأن مُربكة. ما الذي تعنيه الأبحاث العلمية في واقع الأمر؟

هناك العديد من المقالات التي تبدو مُقنعة إلى حد كبير بخصوص أن ثمة سلوكيات معينة من السلوكيات المرتبطة بنمط الحياة تقي من مرض الزهايمر. ولكن، حتى مع هذه التقارير المتزايدة، فلا تزال الأدلة العلمية غير واضحة. وتدعم البيانات الأكثر اتساقًا ممارسة الرياضة لتحسين أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والنظام الغذائي لحوض البحر المتوسط باعتبارهما سلوكين من السلوكيات المرتبطة بنمط الحياة، والتي يمكنها التقليل من خطر مرض الزهايمر.

ولفهم الكيفية التي تُجرى بها عادةً الأبحاث الخاصة بنمط الحياة، من المهم فهم الاختلاف بين السببية والارتباطية. مثلًا، قد تتوصل دراسة إلى أن الأشخاص الذين يخضعون لنظام غذائي غني بالخضروات الورقية الخضراء تنخفض لديهم نسبة الإصابة بالقصور الإدراكي. فالعلاقة بين تناول الخضروات الورقية الخضراء والقصور الإدراكي هي علاقة ارتباطية — وهي لا تثبت أن أيًا منهما يسبب الآخر أو يمنعه في واقع الأمر. وقد تكون لدى الأشخاص الذين يتناولون الخضروات الورقية الخضراء سمات أخرى تعمل في مصلحتهم.

وفي مثال آخر على الارتباطية، تشير الأبحاث العلمية إلى أن ظروف صحية أخرى، مثل السِمنة وداء السكري وارتفاع ضغط الدم، قد تزيد خطر الإصابة بالخرَف. يمكن للنظام الغذائي الصحي وممارسة الرياضة بانتظام أن يكافحا مثل هذه الحالات — وهو ما قد يكون بدوره له أثر على خطر الإصابة بالخرف.

ولكن تلك العلاقات الارتباطية ضرورية للبحث العلمي. وعندما تتكرر النتائج في عدة دراسات، فإن الأدلة تصير أكثر إلزامًا — وشيئًا يجدر الانتباه له.

لا توجد عيوب للأكل الصحي والانخراط في الأنشطة البدنية والعقلية والحفاظ على الصلات الاجتماعية. وحتى لو لم يثبت بعد أنها تقي من مرض الزهايمر، فكلها مفيدة جدًا لعقلك ولجسمك كما ستحسن جودة حياتك.

27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

I keep reading that exercise and diet can prevent Alzheimer's disease, but the different results are confusing. What does the research really mean?

Answer From Jonathan Graff-Radford, M.D.

There are a number of articles that appear quite convincing that certain lifestyle behaviors prevent Alzheimer's disease. Yet, even with these mounting reports, the scientific evidence remains unclear. The most consistent data support cardiovascular exercise and a Mediterranean diet as two lifestyle behaviors that may reduce the risk of Alzheimer's disease.

To understand how lifestyle research is often conducted, it's important to understand the difference between causation and correlation. For example, a study may find that people who eat a diet rich in green leafy vegetables have less cognitive impairment. The relationship between consuming green leafy vegetables and cognitive impairment is a correlation — it doesn't prove that one actually caused or prevented the other. It could be that people who eat green leafy vegetables have other traits working to their advantage.

In another example of correlation, research indicates that other health conditions, such as obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure, might increase the risk of developing dementia. A healthy diet and regular exercise can combat these conditions — which might in turn have an impact on dementia risk.

However, these correlations are crucial for research. And when there are recurring findings over multiple studies, the evidence becomes more compelling — and something worth paying attention to.

There is no downside to eating healthfully, engaging in physical and mental activities, and staying socially connected. Even if they are not yet proved to prevent Alzheimer's disease, they are all extremely good for your mind and body and will improve the quality of your life.

With

Jonathan Graff-Radford, M.D.

Feb. 20, 2018 See more Expert Answers