概述

结肠镜检查用于检测大肠(结肠)和直肠的变化或异常。

结肠镜检查期间,会将一根长的柔性管(结肠镜)插入直肠。该导管子的顶端有一个微型摄像头,可以让医生看到整个结肠内部。

如有必要,医生可以在结肠镜检查期间通过内窥镜切除息肉或其他类型的异常组织。也可以在结肠镜检查期间采集组织样本(活检)。

做手术的理由

您的医生可能建议进行结肠镜检查以:

  • 检查肠道体征和症状。结肠镜检查可以帮助您的医生查找引起腹痛、直肠出血、慢性便秘、慢性腹泻和其他肠道问题的可能原因。
  • 筛查结肠癌。如果您年龄满 50 岁或更大且具有患结肠癌的一般风险——除年龄外没有结肠癌风险因素——则医生可能会建议每 10 年(有时甚至间隔更短的时间)进行一次筛查肠癌的结肠镜检查。结肠镜检查是一种结肠癌筛查方案。请向医生咨询您可选择的方案。
  • 筛查更多息肉。如果您以前曾患息肉,医生可能会建议您进行随访结肠镜检查,以寻找并去除其他息肉。这样做是为了降低您患结肠癌的风险。

风险

结肠镜检查的风险很小。极少数情况下,结肠镜检查会引发一些并发症,其中包括:

  • 对检查期间使用的镇静剂产生反应
  • 组织样本被取出(活检)、息肉或其他不正常组织被切除的部位可能出血
  • 结肠或直肠壁可能撕裂(穿孔)

在告知您结肠镜检查的风险后,医生可能会要求您签署一份同意书,授权对您进行结肠镜检查。

准备怎么做

接受结肠镜检查之前,您需要清理结肠。在检查过程中,结肠内的任何残留物都可能会遮挡结肠和直肠的视野。

为了清空您的结肠,医生可能会要求您:

  • 检查前一天遵守特别的饮食规定。一般来说,您不能在检查前一天摄入固体食物。饮料可能仅限于透明液体 — 白开水、茶和不含牛奶或奶油的咖啡、肉汤和碳酸饮料。避免摄入红色液体,在结肠镜检查时,红色液体可能与血液发生混淆。检查前一晚12点后不可进食和饮水。
  • 服用缓泻剂。您的医生通常会建议您服用药片或者液体形式的缓泻剂。您可能需要在结肠镜检查前一晚服用缓泻剂,也可能需要在检查前一晚和检查当天早上服用缓泻剂。
  • 使用灌肠工具。在某些情况下,您可能需要使用非处方灌肠工具 ,在检查前一晚,或者在检查前几个小时排空您的结肠。这通常只对排空下部结肠有效,通常不建议作为排空结肠的主要方法。
  • 调整您的用药情况。在检查前至少一周告知医生您的用药情况 。 特别是,如果您患有糖尿病、高血压或心脏问题,或者如果您服用的药物或补品含有铁元素,应及时告知医生。

    如果您服用阿司匹林或其他稀释血液的药物,如华法林(Coumadin、Jantoven 等),也要告知您的医生;较新的抗凝药物,如用于降低血栓或卒中风险的达比加群 (Pradaxa) 或利伐沙班 (Xarelto);或影响血小板的心脏用药,如氯吡格雷 (Plavix)。

    您可能需要调整您的剂量或暂时停药。

您所能期望的目标

术中

在做结肠镜检查时,您可以穿一件长袍,但里面不能穿别的衣服。通常建议您使用镇静剂。有时候医生会给您丸状的中效镇静剂。另外,也可将镇静剂和静脉注射止痛药结合起来,以尽量减少不适。

您需要侧卧在治疗台上以便检查,通常膝盖会朝向胸部。医生会把结肠镜插入到直肠中。

带有光源和导管的结肠镜的长度足以到达整个结肠,这种结肠镜可让医生将空气或二氧化碳泵入结肠内。空气或二氧化碳会使结肠膨胀,从而可以更清楚地看到结肠内部的情况。

当移动内窥镜或泵入空气时,您可能会感到腹部痉挛或有排便冲动。

结肠镜的顶端还配有一个微型摄像头。摄像头会将图像发送到外部监视器上,以便医生研究结肠内部的情况。

医生也可以通过结肠镜插入器械,以采集组织样本(活检)或切除息肉或其他异常组织区域。

结肠镜检查一般需要 30 到 60 分钟。

术后

检查完成后,大约需要一个小时才能从镇静状态恢复过来。您需要有人送您回家,因为镇静剂的药效可能要一天时间才能完全消失。在当天剩余时间里,请勿驾车、做出重要决定或回去上班。

如果医生在您结肠镜检查期间切除了息肉,则建议您暂时摄入特殊食物。

检查后几个小时,您可能会感到肚子发胀或放屁,这是您在清除结肠中空气的表现。行走可能有助于缓解不适感。

检查后您第一次大便时可能还会发现少量血液。通常情况下,不必因此引起恐慌。如果您持续排出血液或血块或持续出现腹痛或发热,请咨询医生。虽然可能性不大,但这种情况可能会立即发生、在手术后的头几天发生、或延迟一到两周才发生。

视频:结肠镜检查

结肠镜检查是轻缓地将纤维光学结肠镜送入直肠和大肠,以便进行下消化道检查。

结果

医生将查看结肠镜检查的结果,然后与您讨论结果。

阴性结果

如果医生未在结肠中发现任何异常,则结肠镜检查被认为是阴性。

根据以下不同情况,您的医生可能建议按照不同时间再进行一次结肠镜检查:

  • 10 年内再进行一次,如果您具有患结肠癌的一般风险,即除年龄外没有其他患结肠癌的风险因素
  • 五年内再进行一次,如果您以前的结肠镜检查程序中有息肉病史
  • 一年内再进行一次,如果结肠中残留粪便而无法完全检查结肠

阳性结果

如果医生在结肠中发现息肉或异常组织,则会将结肠镜检查结果视为阳性。

大多数息肉都不是癌性息肉,但某些可能是癌前息肉。在结肠镜检查中取出的息肉被送往实验室进行分析,以确定是癌性、癌前还是非癌性息肉。

根据息肉的大小和数量,您将来可能需要遵循更严格的监视计划以寻找更多的息肉。

如果您的医生发现一或两个直径小于 0.4 英寸(1 厘米)的息肉,则可能会建议您在 5 至 10 年内再次进行结肠镜检查,具体取决于您患结肠癌的其他风险因素。

如果您有以下情况,医生会建议您再次进行结肠镜检查:

  • 息肉多于两个
  • 大型息肉:大于 0.4 英寸(1 厘米)
  • 息肉以及结肠中的残留粪便妨碍完整检查结肠
  • 息肉具有某些细胞特征,表明未来患癌症的风险更高
  • 癌性息肉

如果在结肠镜检查期间,无法切除息肉或其他异常组织,您的医生可能会建议让一位具有切除大息肉或具有此类手术专长的肠胃科医生进行重复检查。

检查的问题

如果您的医生担心通过内窥镜观察的质量,可能会建议您重做一次结肠镜检查或缩短您下次进行结肠镜检查的时间。如果您的医生无法将内窥镜推进整个结肠,可能会建议您进行钡剂灌肠或仿真结肠镜检查,以检查结肠的其他部分。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Fowler GC, et al., eds. Colonoscopy. In: Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 8, 2020.
  2. Lee L, et al. Overview of colonoscopy in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 23, 2018.
  3. Colonoscopy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diagnostic-tests/colonoscopy. Accessed Feb. 23, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Colorectal polyp surveillance (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Screening recommendations (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  6. Picco MF (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. March 15, 2018.

相关

Mayo Clinic 新闻

结肠镜检查

Overview

A colonoscopy (koe-lun-OS-kuh-pee) is an exam used to detect changes or abnormalities in the large intestine (colon) and rectum.

During a colonoscopy, a long, flexible tube (colonoscope) is inserted into the rectum. A tiny video camera at the tip of the tube allows the doctor to view the inside of the entire colon.

If necessary, polyps or other types of abnormal tissue can be removed through the scope during a colonoscopy. Tissue samples (biopsies) can be taken during a colonoscopy as well.

Why it's done

Your doctor may recommend a colonoscopy to:

  • Investigate intestinal signs and symptoms. A colonoscopy can help your doctor explore possible causes of abdominal pain, rectal bleeding, chronic constipation, chronic diarrhea and other intestinal problems.
  • Screen for colon cancer. If you're age 50 or older and at average risk of colon cancer — you have no colon cancer risk factors other than age — your doctor may recommend a colonoscopy every 10 years or sometimes sooner to screen for colon cancer. Colonoscopy is one option for colon cancer screening. Talk with your doctor about your options.
  • Look for more polyps. If you have had polyps before, your doctor may recommend a follow-up colonoscopy to look for and remove any additional polyps. This is done to reduce your risk of colon cancer.

Risks

A colonoscopy poses few risks. Rarely, complications of a colonoscopy may include:

  • Adverse reaction to the sedative used during the exam
  • Bleeding from the site where a tissue sample (biopsy) was taken or a polyp or other abnormal tissue was removed
  • A tear in the colon or rectum wall (perforation)

After discussing the risks of colonoscopy with you, your doctor will ask you to sign a consent form authorizing the procedure.

How you prepare

Before a colonoscopy, you'll need to clean out (empty) your colon. Any residue in your colon may obscure the view of your colon and rectum during the exam.

To empty your colon, your doctor may ask you to:

  • Follow a special diet the day before the exam. Typically, you won't be able to eat solid food the day before the exam. Drinks may be limited to clear liquids — plain water, tea and coffee without milk or cream, broth, and carbonated beverages. Avoid red liquids, which can be confused with blood during the colonoscopy. You may not be able to eat or drink anything after midnight the night before the exam.
  • Take a laxative. Your doctor will usually recommend taking a laxative, in either pill form or liquid form. You may be instructed to take the laxative the night before your colonoscopy, or you may be asked to use the laxative both the night before and the morning of the procedure.
  • Use an enema kit. In some cases, you may need to use an over-the-counter enema kit — either the night before the exam or a few hours before the exam — to empty your colon. This is generally only effective in emptying the lower colon and is usually not recommended as a primary way of emptying your colon.
  • Adjust your medications. Remind your doctor of your medications at least a week before the exam — especially if you have diabetes, high blood pressure or heart problems or if you take medications or supplements that contain iron.

    Also tell your doctor if you take aspirin or other medications that thin the blood, such as warfarin (Coumadin, Jantoven); newer anticoagulants, such as dabigatran (Pradaxa) or rivaroxaban (Xarelto), used to reduce risk of blot clots or stroke; or heart medications that affect platelets, such as clopidogrel (Plavix).

    You may need to adjust your dosages or stop taking the medications temporarily.

What you can expect

During the procedure

During a colonoscopy, you'll wear a gown, but likely nothing else. Sedation is usually recommended. Sometimes a mild sedative is given in pill form. In other cases, the sedative is combined with an intravenous pain medication to minimize any discomfort.

You'll begin the exam lying on your side on the exam table, usually with your knees drawn toward your chest. The doctor will insert a colonoscope into your rectum.

The scope — which is long enough to reach the entire length of your colon — contains a light and a tube (channel) that allows the doctor to pump air or carbon dioxide into your colon. The air or carbon dioxide inflates the colon, which provides a better view of the lining of the colon.

When the scope is moved or air is introduced, you may feel abdominal cramping or the urge to have a bowel movement.

The colonoscope also contains a tiny video camera at its tip. The camera sends images to an external monitor so that the doctor can study the inside of your colon.

The doctor can also insert instruments through the channel to take tissue samples (biopsies) or remove polyps or other areas of abnormal tissue.

A colonoscopy typically takes about 30 to 60 minutes.

After the procedure

After the exam, it takes about an hour to begin to recover from the sedative. You'll need someone to take you home because it can take up to a day for the full effects of the sedative to wear off. Don't drive or make important decisions or go back to work for the rest of the day.

If your doctor removed a polyp during your colonoscopy, you may be advised to eat a special diet temporarily.

You may feel bloated or pass gas for a few hours after the exam, as you clear the air from your colon. Walking may help relieve any discomfort.

You may also notice a small amount of blood with your first bowel movement after the exam. Usually this isn't cause for alarm. Consult your doctor if you continue to pass blood or blood clots or if you have persistent abdominal pain or a fever. While unlikely, this may occur immediately or in the first few days after the procedure, but may be delayed for up to one to two weeks.

Transcript

A colonoscopic examination involves gently inserting a fiber-optic colonoscope into your rectum and large intestine to view your lower gastrointestinal tract.

Results

Your doctor will review the results of the colonoscopy and then share the results with you.

Negative result

A colonoscopy is considered negative if the doctor doesn't find any abnormalities in the colon.

Your doctor may recommend that you have another colonoscopy:

  • In 10 years, if you're at average risk of colon cancer — you have no colon cancer risk factors other than age
  • In five years, if you have a history of polyps in previous colonoscopy procedures
  • In one year, if there was residual stool in the colon that prevented complete examination of your colon

Positive result

A colonoscopy is considered positive if the doctor finds any polyps or abnormal tissue in the colon.

Most polyps aren't cancerous, but some can be precancerous. Polyps removed during colonoscopy are sent to a laboratory for analysis to determine whether they are cancerous, precancerous or noncancerous.

Depending on the size and number of polyps, you may need to follow a more rigorous surveillance schedule in the future to look for more polyps.

If your doctor finds one or two polyps less than 0.4 inch (1 centimeter) in diameter, he or she may recommend a repeat colonoscopy in five to 10 years, depending on your other risk factors for colon cancer.

Your doctor will recommend another colonoscopy sooner if you have:

  • More than two polyps
  • A large polyp — larger than 0.4 inch (1 centimeter)
  • Polyps and also residual stool in the colon that prevents complete examination of the colon
  • Polyps with certain cell characteristics that indicate a higher risk of future cancer
  • Cancerous polyps

If you have a polyp or other abnormal tissue that couldn't be removed during the colonoscopy, your doctor may recommend a repeat exam with a gastroenterologist who has special expertise in removing large polyps, or surgery.

Problems with your exam

If your doctor is concerned about the quality of the view through the scope, he or she may recommend a repeat colonoscopy or a shorter time until your next colonoscopy. If your doctor wasn't able to advance the scope through your entire colon, a barium enema or virtual colonoscopy may be recommended to examine the rest of your colon.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

  1. Successful Cancer Treatment Leads to a New Career

    After lengthy treatment for metastatic colon cancer, not only did Don Guillot emerge with the disease in remission, he also came away inspired to pursue a future in nursing. The coming year is going to be an exciting one for Don Guillot. In 2018, he's getting married, and he's graduating from nursing school as an [...]

May 22, 2018
References
  1. Pope JB. Colonoscopy. In: Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2011. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 21, 2017.
  2. Lee L, et al. Overview of colonoscopy in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 23, 2018.
  3. Colonoscopy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diagnostic-tests/colonoscopy. Accessed Feb. 23, 2018.
  4. AskMayoExpert. Colorectal polyp surveillance (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  5. AskMayoExpert. Screening recommendations (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  6. Picco MF (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. March 15, 2018.