概述

颈动脉内膜切除术是一种治疗颈动脉疾病的手术。当脂肪、蜡质沉积物在其中一条颈动脉中积聚时,就会发生这种疾病。颈动脉是位于颈部两侧的血管(颈动脉)。

斑块的积聚(动脉粥样硬化)可能会限制流向大脑的血液。切除导致动脉变窄的斑块可以改善颈动脉的血流量,并降低卒中的风险。

在颈动脉内膜切除术中,您会接受局部或全身麻醉。外科医生会在您的颈前部切一个口,打开您的颈动脉并清除堵塞动脉的斑块。然后,外科医生将用缝线或用静脉或人造材料制成的修补物修复动脉(移植物修补)。

有时外科医生可能会使用另一种称为外翻颈动脉内膜切除术的技术。该手术包括切开颈动脉并将其彻底外翻,然后去除斑块。然后,外科医生会重新连接动脉。

做手术的理由

如果您患有严重的颈动脉狭窄,医生可能会建议进行颈动脉内膜切除术。除了动脉阻塞的程度外,还有其他几个因素需要考虑。您可能会,也可能不会出现症状。医生会对您的情况进行评估,确定您是否适合进行颈动脉内膜切除术。

如果颈动脉内膜切除术不是最佳选择,您可能需要进行一种叫做颈动脉血管成形术及支架植入术的手术来代替颈动脉内膜切除术。在手术过程中,医生会将一根带有小气球的长空心管(导管)穿过您颈部的血管,以进入变窄的动脉。然后充盈球囊以使动脉变宽。通常会插入金属丝管(支架)以减少动脉再次狭窄的几率。

您所能期望的目标

在颈动脉内膜切除术中,医生可能会给您施用麻药。或者对您进行全身麻醉,以进入睡眠状态。外科医生会在您的颈前部切一个切口,打开您的颈动脉,并清除堵塞动脉的斑块沉积物。然后,您的外科医生将用缝线或用静脉或人造材料制成的修补物修复动脉。外科医生可能会采用另一种方法,包括切断颈动脉并将其从内翻出,然后清除斑块。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Dec. 11, 2018
  1. What is carotid artery disease? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/catd/. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  2. What is carotid endarterectomy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/carend/. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  3. Mohler ER, et al. Carotid endarterectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  4. Mohler ER, et al. Management of asymptomatic carotid atherosclerotic disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  5. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 28, 2017.

Overview

Carotid endarterectomy is a procedure to treat carotid artery disease. This disease occurs when fatty, waxy deposits build up in one of the carotid arteries. The carotid arteries are blood vessels located on each side of your neck (carotid arteries).

This buildup of plaque (atherosclerosis) may restrict blood flow to your brain. Removing plaque causing the narrowing in the artery can improve blood flow in your carotid artery and reduce your risk of stroke.

In carotid endarterectomy, you receive a local or general anesthetic. Your surgeon makes an incision along the front of your neck, opens your carotid artery and removes the plaques that are clogging your artery. Then, your surgeon repairs the artery with stitches or a patch made with a vein or artificial material (patch graft).

Sometimes surgeons may use another technique called eversion carotid endarterectomy. This involves cutting the carotid artery and turning it inside out, then removing the plaque. Your surgeon then reattaches the artery.

Why it's done

Doctors may recommend carotid endarterectomy if you have a severe narrowing in your carotid artery. There are several other factors that will be considered other than the degree of blockage in the artery. You may or may not be experiencing symptoms. Your doctor will evaluate your condition and determine whether you're a candidate for carotid endarterectomy.

If carotid endarterectomy isn't the best option for you, you might have a procedure called carotid angioplasty and stenting instead of carotid endarterectomy. In this procedure, doctors thread a long hollow tube (catheter) with a small balloon attached through a blood vessel in your neck to the narrowed artery. The balloon is then inflated to widen the artery. A metal mesh tube (stent) is often inserted to decrease the chance of the artery narrowing again.

What you can expect

For carotid endarterectomy surgery, you may be given a numbing medication. Or you may be given general anesthesia that puts you in a sleep-like state. Your surgeon will make a cut along the front of your neck, open your carotid artery, and remove the plaque deposits clogging your artery. Then your surgeon will repair the artery with stitches or a patch made with a vein or artificial material. Your surgeon might use another technique that involves cutting the carotid artery and turning it inside out, then removing the plaque.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Carotid endarterectomy care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 11, 2018
References
  1. What is carotid artery disease? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/catd/. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  2. What is carotid endarterectomy? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/carend/. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  3. Mohler ER, et al. Carotid endarterectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  4. Mohler ER, et al. Management of asymptomatic carotid atherosclerotic disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 29, 2017.
  5. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 28, 2017.