هل يوجد أيّ ارتباط بين غرسات الثدي والسرطان؟ وإذا وجد ارتباط، فما ارتفاع مستوى الخطر؟

إجابة من سانديا بروثي، (دكتور في الطب)

كشفت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) عن وجود ارتباط محتمل بين غرسات الثدي والإصابة بما يسمى اللمفومة الكشمية كبيرة الخلايا والمرتبطة بغرسات الثدي (BIA-ALCL)، وهو سرطان غير شائع يصيب الجهاز المناعي. تعتقد (FDA) أن النساء اللائي لديهن غرسات ثدي ذات أسطح خشنة معرضاتٌ لخطر منخفض جدًا، ولكنه أعلى مقارنة بغيرهن، للإصابة (BIA-ALCL). ومع ذلك، لا يعني هذا أن تلك الغرسات تسبب (BIA-ALCL). ينبغي إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث لفهم العلاقة بين هذه الحالة وغرسات الثدي.

إن (ALCL) سرطان غير شائع يمكن أن يصيب أيّ جزء بالجسم، وغالبًا ما يصيب العقد اللمفاوية والجلد. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن (BIA-ALCL) تُكتشف عادةً بالقرب من غرسة الثدي في محيط النسيج المتندب، وليس الثدي نفسه. ويُقدَّر الخطر العُمْري للإصابة (BIA-ALCL) الخشنة بأنه يتراوح بين 1 لكل 1,000 شخص و 1 لكل 30,000 شخص. ويتضمن العلاج إزالة الغرسات والسرطان عن طريق الجراحة. عند اكتشافها مبكرًا، فإن (BIA-ALCL) قابلةٌ للعلاج في العادة.

لم يحدد الباحثون بعد ما إذا كان نوع الغرسة — المملوءة بالمحلول الملحي أو السيليكون — يؤثر على خطر الإصابة (BIA-ALCL)، ولكن يبدو أن غرسات السيليكون خشن الملمس والغرسات التي تحتوي على قشرة من البولي يوريثين تنطوي على أكبر نسبة خطورة. في عام 2019، طلبت (FDA) من الشركة المصنّعة (Allergan) أن تسحب نماذج محددة من غرسات الثدي الخشنة من السوق الأمريكية بسبب خطر تسببها (BIA-ALCL). يشمل قرار سحب المنتج أيضًا بعض موسّعات الأنسجة.

إن أيّ علاقة بين غرسات الثدي والسرطان أمر يدعوا للقلق. ومن المهم أخذ هذه المخاطر المحتملة بعين الاعتبار. بالنسبة لمن أجرين زراعة غرسات الثدي فيما مضى، فإن الاكتشافات الجديدة لا تدعوا إلى تغيير الخطة العلاجية أو إزالة غرسات الثدي. قومي بزيارة الطبيب لإجراء الفحوصات الدورية، وأبلغيه فورًا عن أيّ علامات أو أعراض — مثل وجود تورم جديد في الثدي أو تكتلات أو ألم أو تغيرات في شكل الثدي.

إذا كنت تفكرين بزراعة غرسات الثدي، ناقشي المخاطر والفوائد مع الطبيب.

27/07/2019 See more Expert Answers

Is there any connection between breast implants and cancer? And if so, how serious is the risk?

Answer From Sandhya Pruthi, M.D.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has identified a possible association between breast implants and the development of breast-implant associated anaplastic large cell lymphoma (BIA-ALCL), an uncommon cancer of the immune system. The FDA believes that women with breast implants that have textured surfaces have a very low but increased risk of developing BIA-ALCL. However, that doesn't mean that these implants cause BIA-ALCL. Further research is needed to understand the relationship between the condition and breast implants.

ALCL is an uncommon cancer that can develop in any part of the body, most commonly the lymph nodes and skin. Research suggests that BIA-ALCL is usually found near the breast implant within the surrounding scar tissue, not the breast itself. The lifetime risk of developing BIA-ALCL from a textured implant is estimated to be from one in 1,000 to one in 30,000. Treatment involves surgical removal of the implants and the cancer. When caught early, BIA-ALCL is usually curable.

Researchers haven't yet determined whether the type of implant — saline- or silicone-filled — affects the risk of developing BIA-ALCL but implants with textured silicone and polyurethane outer shells seem to have the highest risk. In 2019, the FDA requested that the manufacturer Allergan recall specific models of its textured breast implants from the U.S. market due to the risk of BIA-ALCL. The recall also includes certain tissue expanders.

Any association between breast implants and cancer is concerning. Still, it's important to keep the potential risk in perspective. If you have breast implants, the findings aren't a call to change your treatment plan or to have your breast implants removed. Visit your doctor for routine checkups, and report any signs or symptoms — such as new breast swelling, lumps, pain or changes in breast shape — promptly.

If you're considering breast implants, discuss the risks and benefits with your doctor.

July 27, 2019 See more Expert Answers