هل بإمكاني تحسين معدل الأيض لإنقاص الوزن؟

إجابة من دونالد هينسرود، (دكتور في الطب)

من المحتمل ألا تؤدي تجربة زيادة معدل الأيض إلى نجاحك في إنقاص وزنك. فلتتمكن من إنقاص وزنك، سيكون عليك التركيز على تقليل السعرات الحرارية وزيادة نشاطك البدني.

والأيض هو العملية التي يحوِّل فيها جسمك ما تتناوله من طعام أو شراب إلى طاقة. وهذه الطاقة يحتاجها جسمك حتى في أوقات راحته، حيث يستخدمها للقيام بالوظائف الأساسية مثل التنفس وحركة الدورة الدموية وتجديد الخلايا. وتُعرف الطاقة التي يستخدمها جسمك لأداء هذه الوظائف الأساسية بمعدل الأيض الأساسي.

وقد ثبت أن الكافيين يؤدي إلى زيادة بسيطة في معدل الأيض، لكنه على الرغم من ذلك لم يُظهر تأثيرًا ملموسًا على فقدان الوزن على المدى الطويل. أما المكملات الغذائية التي يُدَّعى أنها تعزز عملية الأيض، فقد تكون فوائدها محدودة للغاية أو بلا فائدة على الإطلاق، كما يمكن أن تحتوي على مواد لها آثار صحية خطيرة.

ويعتمد وزنك بصورة كبيرة على خياراتك الغذائية ومعدل النشاط البدني الذي تمارسه.

ولتتمكن من إنقاص وزنك، ستحتاج إلى حرق سعرات حرارية أكثر مما تتناوله. وهناك عدة طرق لتقليل عدد السعرات الحرارية التي تتناولها، بما في ذلك تقليل حجم الحصص الغذائية، والحد من السكريات المضافة والدهون المشبّعة والمتحولة، والاتجاه إلى تناول الفواكه والخضروات والحبوب الكاملة والبروتينات خفيفة الدهون والدهون الصحية بدلاً من الأطعمة المعالجة.

وتذكر أنه كلما تقدمت في العمر، ربما تحتاج إلى تناول سعرات حرارية أقل. وذلك لأن الكتلة العضلية تبدأ في التضاؤل كلما تقدمت في العمر.

وتؤثر كتلة عضلاتك على عدد السعرات الحرارية التي تحتاجها، لأن الأنسجة العضلية تعمل على حرق السعرات الحرارية، حتى في حالة الراحة. ولذلك، حين تقل هذه العضلات، يقل احتياجك للسعرات الحرارية عن طريق تقليل معدل الأيض الأساسي. بينما تعمل زيادة العضلات إلى زيادة احتياجك للسعرات الحرارية عن طريق زيادة معدل الأيض الأساسي.

وتساعدك ممارسة التمارين على حرق السعرات الحرارية وبناء كتلة عضلية والحفاظ عليها. وستكون ممارسة أي نوع من الأنشطة البدنية أفضل من عدم ممارسة أي نشاط على الإطلاق. يمكنك أن تبدأ ببطء وبصورة تدريجية حتى تصل إلى إدماج كل من التمارين الهوائية وتمارين القوة في روتينك.

وإذا كنت قلقًا بشأن وزنك أو كنت تعتقد بأن معدل الأيض لديك بطيء للغاية، فاستشر الطبيب. حيث يمكن لطبيبك التحقق من الأسباب الطبية ومساعدتك على اتّباع تغييرات صحية في نمط حياتك لمساعدتك في إنقاص وزنك.

11/03/2021 See more Expert Answers

Can I boost my metabolism to lose weight?

Answer From Donald Hensrud, M.D.

Trying to boost your metabolism probably won't lead to weight loss. To lose weight, focus on reducing calories and increasing activity.

Metabolism is the process by which your body converts what you eat and drink into energy. Even when your body is at rest, you are still using energy for basic functions such as breathing, circulating blood and repairing cells. The energy your body uses for these basic functions is called your basal metabolic rate.

While caffeine has been shown to very slightly increase metabolism, it doesn't appear to have a significant effect on long-term weight loss. Supplements claiming to boost your metabolism may have little or no benefit and may contain substances that have serious side effects.

How much you weigh largely depends on the choices you make about food and how much physical activity you get.

To lose weight, you need to burn more calories than you take in. There are several ways to reduce the number of calories you eat, including reducing portion sizes; limiting added sugars and saturated and trans fats; and choosing fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean proteins, and healthy fats instead of processed foods.

And keep in mind that as you age, you may need to eat fewer calories. This is because the amount of muscle you have tends to decrease as you get older.

Your muscle mass affects how many calories you need because muscle tissue burns calories, even at rest. Having less muscle decreases your calorie needs by decreasing your basal metabolic rate. Having more muscle increases your calorie needs by increasing your basal metabolic rate.

Exercise helps you burn calories and build and maintain muscle mass. Any physical activity is better than none. Start slow and gradually work your way up to incorporating both aerobic exercise and strength training into your routine.

If you're concerned about your weight or you think your metabolism is too slow, talk with your doctor. Your doctor can check for medical causes and help you adopt healthy lifestyle changes to aid your weight loss.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

March 11, 2021 See more Expert Answers