الكربوهيدرات: كيفية تضمين الكربوهيدرات في نظام غذائي صحي

الكربوهيدرات ليست سيئة، ولكن قد يكون بعضها أفضل صحيًا من أنواع أخرى. تعرف على سبب أهمية الكربوهيدرات لصحتك وأي منها تختار.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

غالبًا ما ينظر للكربوهيدرات نظرة سيئة، بالأخص عندما يتعلق الأمر بزيادة الوزن. ولكن الكربوهيدرات ليست سيئة بمجملها. وبسبب فوائدها الصحية العديدة، فيجب أن يكون للكربوهيدرات مكان في نظامك الغذائي. في الواقع، يحتاج الجسم إلى الكربوهيدرات لتعمل وظائفه بشكل جيد.

ولكن قد تكون بعض الكربوهيدرات مفيدة لك عن غيرها. افهم المزيد عن الكربوهيدرات وكيف تختار الكربوهيدرات الصحية.

فهم الكربوهيدرات

الكربوهيدرات عبارة عن نوع من المغذيات الدقيقة الموجودة في الكثير من الأطعمة والمشروبات. توجد معظم الكربوهيدرات بشكل طبيعي في الأطعمة نباتية الأساس، مثل الحبوب. كما أن جهات تصنيع الأطعمة تضيف الكربوهيدرات إلى الأطعمة المجهزة على شكل نشا أو سكر.

تشمل المصادر الشائعة للكربوهيدرات الموجودة بشكل طبيعي:

  • الفاكهة
  • الخضروات
  • الحليب
  • المكسرات
  • الحبوب
  • البذور
  • البقوليات

أنواع الكربوهيدرات

يوجد ثلاثة أنواع رئيسية من الكربوهيدرات:

  • السكر. يُعد السكر أبسط صورة من الكربوهيدرات ويوجد بشكل طبيعي في بعض الأطعمة والتي تتضمن الفواكه والخضراوات والحليب ومنتجات الألبان. تتضمن أنواع السكر سكر الفاكهة (الفركتوز) وسكر المائدة (السكروز) وسكر الحليب (اللاكتوز).
  • النشويات. تُعد النشويات كربوهيدرات مقعدة وهو ما يعني أنها مصنوعة من العديد من وحدات السكر المرتبطة معًا. توجد النشويات بشكل طبيعي في الخضراوات والحبوب والفاصولياء والبازلاء الجافة المطهوة.
  • الألياف. تُعد الألياف أيضًا كربوهيدرات مقعدة. وتوجد بشكل طبيعي في الفواكه والخضراوات والحبوب الكاملة والفاصولياء والبازلاء الجافة المطهوة.

المزيد من مصطلحات الكربوهيدرات: الكربوهيدرات الصافية والمؤشر الجلايسيمي

غالبًا ما تظهر مصطلحات مثل "كربوهيدرات منخفضة" أو "كربوهيدرات صافية" على ملصقات المنتجات. ولكن لم تُنظم إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية هذه المصطلحات، لذا لا يوجد معنى قياسي لها. عادةً ما يُستخدم مصطلح "كربوهيدرات صافية" للدلالة على كمية الكربوهيدرات في المنتج باستثناء الألياف أو باستثناء الألياف والكحوليات السكرية.

ربما تكون قد سمعت أيضًا عن المؤشر الجلايسيمي. يُصنِّف مؤشر السكر في الدم الأطعمة التي تحتوي على الكربوهيدرات حسب احتمال رفعها لمستوى السكر في الدم.

الأنظمة الغذائية لتقليل الوزن وفقًا للمؤشر الجلايسيمي عادةً ما توصي بالحد من الأطعمة الأعلى في المؤشر الجلايسيمي. وتتضمن الأطعمة ذات أعلى تصنيف نسبي في المؤشر الجلايسيمي البطاطس والخبز الأبيض والخيارات الصحية الأقل مثل أطعمة الوجبات الخفيفة والحلويات التي تحتوي على دقيق مكرر.

هناك العديد من الأطعمة الصحية في أسفل المؤشر الجلايسيمي، مثل الحبوب الكاملة والبقوليات والخضروات والفاكهة ومنتجات الألبان قليلة الدسم.

ما كمية الكربوهيدرات التي تحتاجها؟

توصي المبادئ التوجيهية للنظم الغذائية للأمريكيين بأن تُشكل الكربوهيدرات نسبة تتراوح بين 45 إلى 65 بالمائة من مجموع السعرات الحرارية اليومية.

لذا، إذا حصلت على 2000 سعر حراري في اليوم، فينبغي أن يكون بين 900 إلى 1300 سعر حراري من الكربوهيدرات. وهذا يعني حصولك على ما بين 225 إلى 325 جرامًا من الكربوهيدرات في اليوم.

يمكنك إيجاد محتوى الكربوهيدرات من الطعام المعلب على ملصق الحقائق الغذائية. ويوضح الملصق إجمالي الكربوهيدرات — وهي تتضمن النشا والألياف والكحوليات السكرية والسكر الموجود طبيعيًا والمضاف. كما قد يتضمن الملصق قائمة بإجمالي الألياف والألياف القابلة للذوبان والسكر بشكل منفصل.

الكربوهيدرات وصحتك

برغم النظرة السيئة للكربوهيدرات، فإنها مهمة لصحتك لعدة أسباب.

توفير الطاقة

الكربوهيدرات هي مصدر الوقود الأساسي للجسم. وأثناء عملية الهضم، يتم تكسير السكريات والنشويات إلى سكريات بسيطة. ثم يتم امتصاصها في مجرى الدم، وتعرف حينها بسكر الدم (الجلوكوز).

ومن هنا، يدخل الجلوكوز إلى خلايا الجسم بمساعدة الأنسولين. يستخدم الجسم الجلوكوز للحصول على الطاقة والوقود اللازم للقيام بالأنشطة — سواء ممارسة رياضة العدو أو حتى مجرد التنفس. يتم تخزين الجلوكوز الزائد في الكبد والعضلات وغيرها من الخلايا لاستخدامه لاحقًا أو يتم تحويله إلى دهون.

الحماية من الأمراض

تقترح بعض الأدلة أن الحبوب الكاملة والألياف الغذائية من الأطعمة الكاملة تساعد على تقليل خطورة إصابتك بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. أيضًا قد تقي الألياف من البدانة ومرض السكري من النوع 2. الألياف ضرورية أيضًا لبلوغ أفضل صحة للهضم.

ضبط الوزن

أوضحت الشواهد أن تناول كميات وفيرة من الفاكهة والخضراوات والحبوب الكاملة قد يساعدك على التحكم في وزنك. حيث تساعد كتلتها ومحتواها من الألياف على التحكم في الوزن أكثر من خلال الشعور بالشبع من سعرات حرارية أقل. وعلى عكس الشائع عن الأنظمة الغذائية التي تحتوي على كربوهيدرات منخفضة، هناك دراسات قليلة جدًا توضح أن الأنظمة الغذائية الغنية بالكربوهيدرات الصحية تؤدي إلى زيادة الوزن والبدانة.

اختر نشوياتك بعناية

تشكل النشويات جزءًا ضروريًا من الحمية الغذائية الصحية، وهي توفر الكثير من العناصر الغذائية المهمة. ورغم ذلك، ليست كل النشويات سواسية.

إليك كيفية إمكان إنجاح استخدام النشويات الصحية في الحمية الغذائية المتوازنة:

  • التركيز على الفاكهة والخضروات الغنية بالألياف. اختيار الفاكهة والخضروات الكاملة الطازجة والمجمدة والمعلبة دون إضافة سكر عليها. ومن ضمن الخيارات الأخرى عصير الفاكهة والفاكهة المجففة، والتي تعد مصادر للسكريات المركزة، ومن ثمَّ تحتوي على الكثير من السعر الحرارية. وتحتوي الفاكهة والخضروات الكاملة كذلك على الألياف والماء واللحم، والتي تساعد في شعورك بالشبع رغم استهلاك عدد قليل من السعر الحرارية.
  • اختر الحبوب الكاملة. تعد الحبوب الكاملة مصدرًا أفضل للألياف وغيرها من العناصر الغذائية المهمة من الحبوب. حيث تمر الحبوب المكررة من خلال عملية تنزع أجزاء من الحبة — بالإضافة إلى بعض العناصر الغذائية والألياف.
  • التزم بمنتجات الألبان قليلة الدسم. يعد الحليب والجبن والزبادي ومنتجات الألبان الأخرى مصادر جيدة للحصول على الكالسيوم والبروتينات، إضافة إلى الكثير من الفيتامينات والمعادن الأخرى. ولكن تذكر اختيارها قليلة الدسم، وذلك للحد من السعر الحرارية والدهون المشبعة. واحذر من منتجات الألبان ذات السكر المضاف.
  • تناول المزيد من البقوليات. فالبقوليات — التي تتضمن الفاصوليا والبازلاء والعدس — هي من بين أكثر الأطعمة المتنوعة الموجودة. وهي منخفضة الدهون، وغنية بالفولات والبوتاسيوم والحديد والمغنسيوم، كما تحتوي على دهون وألياف مفيدة. كما إن البقوليات مصدر جيد للبروتينات، ويمكن أن تشكل بديلًا صحيًّا للحوم التي تحتوي على المزيد من الدهون المشبعة والكوليسترول.
  • حد من استهلاك السكريات المضافة. الأرجح أن السكريات المضافة ليست مضرة عند استهلاكها بكميات صغيرة. ولكن لا توجد أي فائدة صحية من استهلاك أي قدر منها. توصي المبادئ التوجيهية الغذائية للأمريكان بأن تقل نسبة السعر الحرارية المستهلكة في اليوم من السكر المضاف من نسبة 10%.

لذا اختر نشوياتك بعناية. قلل الأطعمة التي تحتوي على السكر المضاف والحبوب المكررة، مثل المشروبات السكرية، والتحلية، والحلوى، والتي تكون غنية بالسعر الحرارية، لكن فقيرة القيمة الغذائية. وعوضًا عنها، توجه إلى استهلاك الفاكهة والخضروات والحبوب الكاملة.

27/09/2018

Carbohydrates: How carbs fit into a healthy diet

Carbohydrates aren't bad, but some may be healthier than others. See why carbs are important for your health and learn which ones to choose.

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Carbohydrates often get a bad rap, especially when it comes to weight gain. But carbohydrates, often called carbs, aren't all bad. Because of their many health benefits, carbs have a rightful place in the diet. In fact, the body needs carbs to work well.

But some carbs can be better for you than others. Understand more about carbohydrates and how to make healthy diet choices.

Understanding carbohydrates

Carbohydrates are a type of macronutrient found in many foods and beverages. Most carbs occur naturally in plant-based foods, such as grains. Food manufacturers also add carbs to processed foods in the form of starch or added sugar.

Common sources of naturally occurring carbohydrates include:

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Milk
  • Nuts
  • Grains
  • Seeds
  • Beans, peas and lentils

Types of carbohydrates

There are three main types of carbohydrates:

  • Sugar. Sugar is the simplest form of carbohydrate. It occurs naturally in some foods, including fruits, vegetables, milk and milk products. Types of sugar include fruit sugar (fructose), table sugar (sucrose) and milk sugar (lactose). Added sugars can be found in many foods, such as cookies, sugary drinks and candy.
  • Starch. Starch is a complex carbohydrate. This means it is made of many sugar units bonded together. Starch occurs naturally in vegetables, grains, and cooked dry beans and peas.
  • Fiber. Fiber also is a complex carbohydrate. It occurs naturally in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and cooked dry beans and peas.

More carbohydrate terms: Net carbs and glycemic index

The terms "low carb" or "net carbs" often appear on product labels. But the Food and Drug Administration doesn't use these terms, so there's no standard meaning. Typically, the term "net carbs" is used to mean the amount of carbs in a product excluding fiber or excluding both fiber and sugar alcohols.

You probably have also heard talk about the glycemic index. The glycemic index classifies carbohydrate-containing foods according to their potential to raise blood sugar levels.

Weight-loss diets based on the glycemic index typically suggest limiting foods that are higher on the glycemic index. Foods with a relatively high glycemic index ranking include potatoes, white bread, and snack foods and desserts that have refined flours.

Many healthy foods are naturally lower on the glycemic index. Examples include whole grains, legumes, vegetables, fruits and low-fat dairy products.

How many carbohydrates do you need?

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that carbohydrates make up 45% to 65% of total daily calories.

So if you get 2,000 calories a day, between 900 and 1,300 calories should be from carbohydrates. That translates to between 225 and 325 grams of carbs a day.

You can find the carbohydrate content of packaged foods on the Nutrition Facts label. The label shows total carbohydrates — which can include fiber, total sugars and added sugars.

Carbohydrates and your health

Despite their bad reputation, carbohydrates are vital to your health for many reasons.

Providing energy

Carbohydrates are the body's main fuel source. During digestion, sugars and starches are broken down into simple sugars. They're then absorbed into the bloodstream, where they're known as blood sugar (blood glucose).

From there, glucose enters the body's cells with the help of insulin. Glucose is used by the body for energy. Glucose fuels your activities — whether it's going for a jog or simply breathing and thinking. Extra glucose is stored in the liver, muscles and other cells for later use. Or extra glucose is converted to fat.

Protecting against disease

Some evidence suggests that whole grains and dietary fiber from whole foods help lower your risk of heart disease and stroke. Fiber may also protect against obesity, colon and rectal cancers, and type 2 diabetes. Fiber is also essential for optimal digestive health.

Controlling weight

Evidence shows that eating plenty of fruit, vegetables and whole grains can help you control your weight. Their bulk and fiber content aids weight control by helping you feel full on fewer calories. Despite what proponents of low-carb diets claim, few studies show that a diet rich in healthy carbs leads to weight gain or obesity.

Choose your carbohydrates wisely

Carbohydrates are an essential part of a healthy diet, and they provide many important nutrients. Still, not all carbs are equally good for you.

Here's how to make healthy carbohydrates work in a balanced diet:

  • Focus on eating fiber-rich fruits and vegetables. Aim for whole fresh, frozen and canned fruits and vegetables without added sugar. Or have measured portions of fruit juices and dried fruits, which are concentrated sources of natural sugar, but have more calories. Whole fruits and vegetables have many health benefits. They add fiber, water and bulk, which help you feel fuller on fewer calories.
  • Choose whole grains. Whole grains are better sources than refined grains of fiber and other important nutrients, such as B vitamins. Refined grains go through a process that strips out parts of the grain — along with some of the nutrients and fiber.
  • Stick to low-fat dairy products. Milk, cheese, yogurt and other dairy products are good sources of calcium, protein, vitamin D, potassium, and other vitamins and minerals. Consider the low-fat versions to help limit calories and saturated fat. And watch out for dairy products that have added sugar.
  • Eat more beans, peas and lentils. Beans, peas and lentils are among the most versatile and nutritious foods. They are typically low in fat and high in folate, potassium, iron and magnesium. And they have useful fats and fiber. They are a good source of protein and can be a healthy substitute for meat, which has more saturated fat and cholesterol.
  • Limit added sugars. Added sugar probably isn't harmful in small amounts. But there's no health benefit to having any amount of added sugar, such as in cookies and pastries. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that less than 10% of calories you eat or drink every day come from added sugar. Eating or drinking too many foods with sugar can also cause you to take in more than the calories you need each day.

So choose your carbohydrates wisely. Limit foods with added sugars and refined grains, such as sugary drinks, desserts and candy. These are high in calories but low in nutrition. Instead, select fruits, vegetables and whole grains.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

March 22, 2022 See more In-depth

See also

  1. 3 diet changes women over 50 should make right now
  2. Added sugar
  3. Alcohol use
  4. Alkaline water
  5. Are energy drinks bull?
  6. Artificial sweeteners and other sugar substitutes
  7. Autism spectrum disorder and digestive symptoms
  8. Bad food habits at work? Get back on track in 5 steps
  9. Best oil for cooking?
  10. Dietary guidelines
  11. Breastfeeding nutrition: Tips for moms
  12. Caffeine: How much is too much?
  13. Is caffeine dehydrating?
  14. Calorie calculator
  15. Can whole-grain foods lower blood pressure?
  16. Chart of high-fiber foods
  17. Cholesterol: Top foods to improve your numbers
  18. Coconut water: Is it super hydrating?
  19. Coffee and health
  20. Diet soda: How much is too much?
  21. Dietary fats
  22. Dietary fiber
  23. Prickly pear cactus
  24. Does soy really affect breast cancer risk?
  25. Don't get tricked by these 3 heart-health myths
  26. Don't go cuckoo for coconut water
  27. Eat more of these key nutrients
  28. Eggs: Bad for cholesterol?
  29. Fiber: Soluble or insoluble?
  30. Fish and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs)
  31. Fit more fiber into your diet
  32. Get to know the new Nutrition Facts label
  33. Grape juice health benefits
  34. Healthy-eating tip: Don't forget fiber
  35. Hidden sources of sodium
  36. High-fructose corn syrup
  37. High-protein diets
  38. How to track saturated fat
  39. Takeout containers
  40. Is there more to hydration than water?
  41. Juicing is no substitute for whole foods
  42. Juicing
  43. Limit bad fats, one step at a time
  44. Make food labels required reading
  45. Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
  46. Need a snack? Go nuts!
  47. Need more fiber? Take 3 steps
  48. Nutrition rules that will fuel your workout
  49. Nuts and your heart: Eating nuts for heart health
  50. Omega-3 in fish
  51. Omega-6 fatty acids
  52. Phenylalanine
  53. Play it safe when taking food to a loved one in the hospital
  54. Protein: Heart-healthy sources
  55. Health foods
  56. Portion control
  57. Planning healthy meals
  58. High-fiber diet
  59. Sodium
  60. Step away from the saltshaker
  61. Stevia
  62. Taurine in energy drinks
  63. Time to cut back on caffeine?
  64. Trans fat
  65. Underweight: Add pounds healthfully
  66. Want a healthier dinnertime? Science says change your eating space
  67. Daily water requirement
  68. What's considered moderate alcohol use?
  69. What's the difference between juicing and blending?
  70. Working out? Remember to drink up
  71. Yerba mate