هل تدخين السجائر الإلكترونية أثناء الحمل أمر مقبول؟

إجابة من جيه تايلور هيز، (دكتور في الطب)

تدخين السجائر الإلكترونية أثناء الحمل غير آمن.

في الأشهر الأخيرة، أبلغت مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها عن أكثر من 1000 إصابة في الرئة مرتبطة بتدخين السجائر الإلكترونية، ومعظمها يتعلق بمنتجات تحتوي على رباعي هيدروكانابينول (THC). توصي إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية بعدم استخدام الحوامل لأي منتج من منتجات التدخين الإلكترونية، بغض النظر عن المادة.

تحتوي معظم السجائر الإلكترونية على النيكوتين، مما يلحق ضررًا دائمًا بدماغ الطفل خلال نموه، والعديد من الأعضاء الأخرى. تحتوي السجائر الإلكترونية على مادة دافعة — تُستخدم في إنتاج البخار — وغيرها من الإضافات الضارة التي قد تكون غير آمنة لطفلك.

من المعروف أن تدخين السجائر أثناء الحمل يمكن أن يضر بالنساء وأطفالهن. لكن تشير الأبحاث إلى أن الحوامل اللاتي يُدَخِّنَّ السجائر الإلكترونية يعتقدن أنها أقل ضررًا من تدخين السجائر العادية. في الغالب لا تعرف النساء الحوامل ما إذا كانت السجائر الإلكترونية تحتوي على النيكوتين. وقد تستخدم بعض النساء أيضا السجائر الإلكترونية أثناء الحمل نتيجة لاعتقادهن بأنها قد تساعدهن في الإقلاع عن تدخين السجائر العادية أو تقليلها.

وفي حين أن استخدام السجائر الإلكترونية قد يُعرض الطفل خلال نموه لسموم أقل مقارنةً بالسجائر العادية، فإن التعرض للنيكوتين من أي نوع ضار بالطفل.

إذا كنتِ تدخنين، فإن الإقلاع عن التدخين هو أفضل طريقة لمنح طفك بداية صحية. ابدئي باستشارة مزود الرعاية الصحية أو استعيني بخدمات التوجيه المعنوي.

With

جيه تايلور هيز، (دكتور في الطب)

12/10/2019 See more Expert Answers

Is vaping during pregnancy OK?

Answer From J. Taylor Hays, M.D.

Using electronic cigarettes (vaping) during pregnancy isn't safe.

In recent months the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported more than 1,000 cases of lung injury tied to vaping, mostly involving products that contain tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). The Food and Drug Administration recommends that pregnant people shouldn't use any vaping product, regardless of the substance.

Most electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) contain nicotine, which permanently damages a baby's developing brain and many other organs. E-cigarettes also contain a propellant — used to create vapor — and other harmful additives that might not be safe for your baby.

It's well known that smoking cigarettes during pregnancy can harm women and their babies. But research suggests that pregnant women who vape believe that using e-cigarettes is less harmful than smoking cigarettes. Pregnant women often don't know if their e-cigarettes contain nicotine. Some also might use e-cigarettes during pregnancy because of the perception that the devices can help them quit or reduce cigarette smoking.

While use of e-cigarettes might expose a growing baby to fewer toxins compared with those from regular cigarette use, nicotine exposure of any kind is harmful to a baby.

If you're pregnant and you smoke or vape, quitting is the best way to give your baby a healthy start. Start by consulting your health care provider for advice or seek counseling.

With

J. Taylor Hays, M.D.

Oct. 12, 2019 See more Expert Answers