诊断

根据您孩子的体征和症状,可能由几个在结节性硬化症方面有专业知识的不同专家对他或她进行评估,比如神经内科医生(专业治疗大脑问题)、心脏科医生(专业治疗心脏问题)、眼科医生(专业治疗眼睛问题)、皮肤科医生(专业治疗皮肤问题)、肾脏科医生(专业治疗肾脏问题)和其他专科医生。

您孩子的医生会为孩子做体检,讨论症状和家族病史,并查找典型的增生情况(良性肿瘤),这些因素通常与结节性硬化症相关。他们还可能要求进行几项检查,包括基因检测,从而诊断结节性硬化症并确定相关问题。

癫痫发作评估

如果您的孩子有过癫痫发作,诊断性检测很可能包括脑电图。这项检查记录脑部电子活动,有助于查明您孩子癫痫发作的原因。

大脑、肺、肾和肝的评估

为了检测体内的增生或肿瘤,诊断检测可能包括:

  • 磁共振成像(MRI)。这项检查使用磁场和无线电波产生大脑或身体其他部位的详细图像。
  • 计算机断层成像(CT)扫描。这种 X 线技术可以产生大脑或身体其他部位的横截面图像,有时甚至是三维图像。
  • 超声检查。该检查也称为超声检查,使用高频声波来创建某些身体部位(例如肾脏)的图像。

心脏评估

为确定孩子的心脏是否受到影响,诊断检测可能包括:

  • 超声心动图。这项检测利用声波生成心脏图像。
  • 心电图(ECG 或 EKG)。这项检测会记录心脏的电活动。

眼科检查

医生会使用光源和放大镜检查患者眼睛内部,包括视网膜。

发育评估或精神评估

如有需要,在常规筛查的基础上,由精神病医生、心理医生或其他心理健康医生进行评估,可以识别发育或智力障碍,教育或社会问题,或者行为或情绪障碍。

筛选和基因检测

如果儿童被诊断患有结节性硬化症,而且没有家族病史,则父母双方都可以考虑筛查结节性硬化症。

父母还可以考虑进行基因检测,以确诊其孩子患有结节性硬化症,并了解自己的其他孩子和任何未来生育的孩子患有结节性硬化症的风险。

结节性硬化症患者可能要在生殖年之前考虑进行基因咨询,以了解其遗传病的风险和生殖选择。

治疗

虽然目前还没有治愈结节性硬化症的方法,但治疗可以帮助管理特定的症状。例如:

  • 药物。可开具抗癫痫药物来控制癫痫发作。其他药物可能有助于管理心律不齐、行为问题或其他体征和症状。依维莫司(Afinitor、Zortress)可用于治疗无法手术切除的某些类型的脑和肾增生物。外用软膏雷帕霉素可能有助于治疗痤疮样皮肤增生物。
  • 外科手术。如果增生物影响特定器官(如肾脏或心脏)的功能,则可通过手术切除。有时,手术有助于控制药物治疗无效的大脑增生物引起的癫痫发作。磨皮术或激光治疗等外科手术可改善皮肤增生物的外观。
  • 各种类型的治疗。早期干预服务,如作业、物理或言语治疗,可以帮助在这些领域有特殊需求的结节性硬化症儿童提高处理日常任务和活动的能力。
  • 教育和职业服务。早期干预和特殊需求服务可以帮助发育延迟和有行为问题的儿童适应课堂,使他们能够充分发挥潜力。如有需要,社会、职业和康复服务可能要终生持续。
  • 精神病和行为管理。与精神健康服务提供者交谈可能有助于儿童适应与疾病一起生活。精神健康服务提供者还可以帮助解决行为、社会或情绪问题,推荐资源。

持续监测

结节性硬化症是一种终身疾病,需要认真监测和随访,因为许多体征和症状可能在几年以后才会出现。终身定期随访监测计划可能包括类似于在诊断期间所做的检查。及早发现问题有助于预防并发症。

妥善处理与支持

如果您的孩子被诊断为结节性硬化症,您和您的家人可能会面临诸多挑战和不确定因素。关于这种疾病,最困难的是无法预测孩子的健康和发育将如何随时间的推移而变化。

您的孩子可能只有轻微的问题,在学习、社交和身体方面的能力与同龄人相当。或者您的孩子可能有更严重的健康和发育问题,独立生活能力较差或者与您的预期不同。

为帮助您和您的孩子应对这些问题,您可以采取以下行动:

  • 制定筛查计划。尽您所能地了解结节性硬化症,并与您孩子的医生密切合作,为孩子的健康和发育问题制定持续的筛查和监测计划。及早发现和处理问题将减少并发症。
  • 尽早接受有关行为问题的帮助。对于父母来说,伴随结节性硬化症的行为问题可能具有挑战性。请记住,这些行为不是您的错,也不是孩子的错。如果出现问题,请咨询孩子的医生,并与学校或心理健康医生合作,就教育、行为和心理健康服务进行探讨。长远来看,您和您的孩子越早学习如何管理这些问题,孩子就越有可能表现良好。
  • 给予爱和支持。您的爱和支持是帮助孩子充分发挥其潜能的关键。需要时,咨询心理健康医生可能有助于调整和应对。临时看护服务可为家长提供有力的支持。
  • 接触其他家庭。您可能会发现与其他正在应对结节性硬化症的家庭接触很有帮助。请您孩子的医护团队推荐您所在地区的互助组,或与结节性硬化症联盟联系,以了解互助信息。

准备您的预约

结节性硬化症的体征和症状可能在出生时就较为明显。或者,您可以先行向孩子的医生提起这方面的顾虑。检查之后,您的孩子可能被转诊至一名或多名专家,以接受更多检测和治疗。

您可能需要邀请值得信赖的家人或朋友陪同您前往就诊。安排能提供情感支持并可帮助记住所有信息的人陪同。

以下信息可以帮助您做好首次预约就诊准备。

您能做些什么

就诊前,请列出以下内容:

  • 您孩子经历的任何体征和症状以及持续时间。如果您的孩子一次或多次癫痫发作,记下癫痫发作之前、期间和之后发生的事以及持续时长。记下您关心的任何胎记。
  • 您孩子的重要医疗信息,包括其他健康问题。
  • 您孩子正在服用的所有药物、维生素、草药和其他补充剂及其剂量。
  • 您的家庭史信息,包括您家中是否有任何人患有结节性硬化症。
  • 您要问医生的问题

向您孩子的医生咨询的问题有:

  • 可能是什么导致了我孩子的症状?
  • 这些症状有任何其他可能病因吗?
  • 我的孩子需要做哪些检查?
  • 我的孩子是否应该去看专科医生?

如果您被转诊给专科医生,要问的问题有:

  • 我的孩子患有结节性硬化症吗?
  • 这种病症有哪些治疗方案?
  • 您推荐我的孩子接受哪种治疗?
  • 这种病症可能导致哪些并发症?
  • 您打算多久评估一次我孩子的健康和发育情况?
  • 我的其他孩子或家人会增加患病风险吗?
  • 我或我的孩子应该做与这个病症相关的基因突变检查吗?
  • 我的孩子还应该看哪类专科医生?
  • 有我孩子能够参与的临床试验吗?
  • 我如何帮我的孩子应对这种疾病?
  • 我怎样才能找到其他应对结节性硬化症的家庭?

医生可能做些什么

如果医生认为您孩子可能身患结节性硬化症,可能会问您一些问题。请准备好回答这些问题,以便预留时间了解您想要重点关注的问题。医生可能会询问:

  • 您的孩子有哪些症状?
  • 您最开始留意到这些症状是什么时候?
  • 您的孩子是否患过任何癫痫发作?
  • 如果您的孩子有过癫痫发作,告诉我发作之前、发作期间和发作之后发生的事以及持续时长。
  • 有包括恶心和呕吐之类的症状吗?
  • 您的孩子是否有任何行为问题,比如多动症、攻击性或自残行为?
  • 您的孩子是否难以集中注意力?
  • 您的孩子是否容易退缩,或者在社交和情感上变得不太投入?
  • 与同龄人相比,您的孩子是否看似发育迟缓?
  • 您孩子的任何一级亲属,比如父母或兄弟姐妹,是否被诊断为结节性硬化症或有症状而从未被诊断?
July 03, 2022
  1. Tuberous sclerosis.National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/tuberous-sclerosis/. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  2. National Library of Medicine. Tuberous sclerosis complex. Genetics Home Reference. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/tuberous-sclerosis-complex. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  3. Tuberous sclerosis information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Tuberous-Sclerosis-Information-Page. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  4. Tuberous sclerosis (TS). Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/neurocutaneous-syndromes/tuberous-sclerosis-ts. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  5. Owens J, et al. Tuberous sclerosis complex: Genetics, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  6. Bodensteiner JB, et al. Tuberous sclerosis complex: Management and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  7. Parents/caregivers: Living with tuberous sclerosis complex. Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance. http://www.tsalliance.org/individuals-families/parentscaregivers/. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  8. Hand JL (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 3, 2017.

Diagnosis

Depending on your child's signs and symptoms, he or she may be evaluated by several different specialists with expertise in tuberous sclerosis, such as doctors trained to treat problems of the brain (neurologist), heart (cardiologist), eyes (ophthalmologist), skin (dermatologist), kidneys (nephrologist), and other specialists.

Your child's doctors will do a physical exam, discuss symptoms and family history, and look for typical growths (benign tumors), commonly associated with tuberous sclerosis. They will also likely order several tests — including genetic tests — to diagnose tuberous sclerosis and identify related problems.

Seizure evaluation

If your child has had seizures, diagnostic testing will likely include an electroencephalogram. This test records electrical activity in the brain and can help pinpoint what's causing your child's seizures.

Brain, lungs, kidneys and liver evaluation

To detect growths or tumors in the body, diagnostic testing will likely include:

  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). This test uses a magnetic field and radio waves to create detailed images of the brain or other parts of the body.
  • Computerized tomography (CT) scan. This X-ray technique produces cross-sectional images, and sometimes 3-D images, of the brain or other parts of the body.
  • Ultrasound. Also called sonography, this test uses high-frequency sound waves to create images of certain body parts, such as the kidneys.

Heart evaluation

To determine whether your child's heart is affected, diagnostic testing will likely include:

  • Echocardiogram. This test uses sound waves to produce images of the heart.
  • Electrocardiogram (ECG or EKG). This test records the electrical activity of the heart.

Eye exam

A light and magnifying lens are used to examine the inside of the eye, including the retina.

Developmental or psychiatric evaluation

If needed based on routine screening, an evaluation with a psychiatrist, psychologist or other mental health provider can identify developmental or intellectual disabilities, educational or social problems, or behavioral or emotional disorders.

Screening and genetic testing

If a child is diagnosed with tuberous sclerosis without a family history of the condition, both parents may consider screening for tuberous sclerosis as well.

Parents may also consider genetic testing to confirm the diagnosis of tuberous sclerosis in their child, and to understand the risk of tuberous sclerosis for their other children and any future children.

People with tuberous sclerosis may consider genetic counseling before their reproductive years to understand their risk of passing on the condition and their reproductive options.

Treatment

Although there is no cure for tuberous sclerosis, treatment can help manage specific symptoms. For example:

  • Medication. Anti-seizure medications may be prescribed to control seizures. Other medications may help manage heart arrhythmias, behavior problems or other signs and symptoms. A drug called everolimus (Afinitor, Zortress) may be used to treat certain types of brain and kidney growths that can't be surgically removed. The topical ointment form of a drug called sirolimus may help treat acnelike skin growths.
  • Surgery. If a growth affects the ability of a specific organ — such as the kidney or heart — to function, the growth may be surgically removed. Sometimes surgery helps control seizures caused by brain growths that don't respond to medication. Surgical procedures such as dermabrasion or laser treatment may improve the appearance of skin growths.
  • Various types of therapy. Early intervention services, such as occupational, physical or speech therapy, can help children with tuberous sclerosis who have special needs in these areas improve their ability to manage daily tasks and activities.
  • Educational and vocational services. Early intervention and special needs services can help children with developmental delays and behavior issues adapt to the classroom so that they can meet their full potential. When needed, social, vocational and rehabilitation services may continue throughout life.
  • Psychiatric and behavior management. Talking with a mental health provider may help children accept and adjust to living with this disorder. A mental health provider can also help address behavioral, social or emotional issues and recommend resources.

Ongoing monitoring

Tuberous sclerosis is a lifelong condition that requires careful monitoring and follow-up because many signs and symptoms may take years to develop. A schedule of regular follow-up monitoring throughout life may include tests similar to those done during diagnosis. Early identification of problems can help prevent complications.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Coping and support

If your child is diagnosed with tuberous sclerosis, you and your family may face a number of challenges and uncertainties. One of the most difficult things about this condition is that it's impossible to predict how your child's health and development will unfold over time.

Your child may have only mild problems and track closely with peers in terms of academic, social and physical abilities. Or your child may have more-serious health and developmental problems and lead a life that is less independent or is different from what you may have expected.

To help you and your child cope, here's what you can do:

  • Establish a screening schedule. Learn all you can about tuberous sclerosis, and work closely with your child's doctor to establish an ongoing screening and monitoring schedule for health and developmental problems. Discovering and treating problems early will reduce complications.
  • Get help early for behavioral problems. For parents, the behavioral issues that may accompany tuberous sclerosis can be challenging. Remember that the behavior is not your fault — and it's not your child's fault. Talk to your child's doctor if problems develop, and work with the school or a mental health provider to discuss education and behavioral and mental health services. The earlier you and your child get help learning how to manage these problems, the more likely your child will do well in the long term.
  • Provide love and support. Your love and support are essential to helping your child reach his or her full potential. When needed, counseling with a mental health provider may help with adjustment and coping. Respite care services may provide helpful support for parents.
  • Connect with other families. You may find it helpful to connect with other families who are coping with tuberous sclerosis. Ask your child's health care team to recommend a support group in your area, or contact the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance to find out about support.

Preparing for your appointment

Signs and symptoms of tuberous sclerosis may be noticed at birth. Or you may initially bring up your concerns with your child's doctor. After an exam, your child may be referred to one or more specialists for more testing and treatment.

You may want to ask a trusted family member or friend to join you for the appointment. Take someone along who can offer emotional support and can help you remember all of the information.

Here's some information to help you get ready for your first appointment.

What you can do

Before your appointment, make a list of:

  • Any signs and symptoms your child has been experiencing, and for how long. If your child has had one or more seizures, make notes about what happened before, during and after the seizure and how long it lasted. Note any birthmarks of concern to you.
  • Your child's key medical information, including other health problems.
  • All medications, vitamins, herbs and other supplements your child is taking, and the dosages.
  • Information about your family history, including whether anyone else in your family has tuberous sclerosis.
  • Questions you want to ask your doctor.

Questions to ask your child's doctor may include:

  • What is likely causing my child's symptoms?
  • Are there any other possible causes for these symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests does my child need?
  • Should my child see a specialist?

Questions to ask if you're referred to a specialist include:

  • Does my child have tuberous sclerosis?
  • What are the treatment options for this condition?
  • What treatment approach do you recommend for my child?
  • What are the possible complications of this condition?
  • How often will you want to evaluate my child's health and development?
  • Are my other children or family members at increased risk of this condition?
  • Should I or my child be tested for the genetic mutations associated with this condition?
  • What other types of specialists should my child see?
  • Are there clinical trials underway for which my child may be eligible?
  • How can I help my child cope with this disorder?
  • How can I find other families who are coping with tuberous sclerosis?

What to expect from your doctor

A doctor who sees your child for possible tuberous sclerosis will likely ask you a number of questions. Be ready to answer them to reserve time to go over points you want to focus on. The doctor may ask:

  • What are your child's symptoms?
  • When did you first notice these symptoms?
  • Has your child had any seizures?
  • If your child has had seizures, tell me about them ― what happened before, during and after the seizure and how long did it last?
  • Haves symptoms included nausea and vomiting?
  • Has your child had any behavior problems, such as hyperactivity, aggression or self-injury?
  • Does your child have difficulty paying attention?
  • Has your child seemed to withdraw or become less socially and emotionally engaged?
  • Does your child seem developmentally delayed compared with peers?
  • Have any of your child's first-degree relatives — such as a parent or sibling — been diagnosed with tuberous sclerosis or had symptoms without ever being diagnosed?
Oct. 25, 2017
References
  1. Tuberous sclerosis.National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/tuberous-sclerosis/. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  2. National Library of Medicine. Tuberous sclerosis complex. Genetics Home Reference. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/tuberous-sclerosis-complex. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  3. Tuberous sclerosis information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Tuberous-Sclerosis-Information-Page. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  4. Tuberous sclerosis (TS). Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/neurocutaneous-syndromes/tuberous-sclerosis-ts. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  5. Owens J, et al. Tuberous sclerosis complex: Genetics, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  6. Bodensteiner JB, et al. Tuberous sclerosis complex: Management and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  7. Parents/caregivers: Living with tuberous sclerosis complex. Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance. http://www.tsalliance.org/individuals-families/parentscaregivers/. Accessed Sept. 18, 2017.
  8. Hand JL (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 3, 2017.