التشخيص

يمكن اكتشاف نوع الهيموغلوبين المسبب لفقر الدم المنجلي عن طريق أحد اختبارات الدم. ويُجرى اختبار الدم هذا ضمن عملية الفحص الروتينية لحديثي الولادة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. لكن يُمكن إجراء الاختبار للأطفال الأكبر سنًّا والبالغين أيضًا.

في البالغين، تُسحب عيِّنة الدم من أحد الأوردة في الذراع. تُسحب عينة الدم من الأطفال الصغار والرضّع من أحد أصابع اليد أو كعب القدم. ترسل العينة بعد ذلك إلى المختبر حيث تُفحَص بحثًا عن خلايا الهيموغلوبين المنجلية.

إذا كنت مصابًا أنت أو طفلك بفقر الدم المنجلي، فقد يقترح طبيبك إجراء اختبارات أخرى لاكتشاف أي مضاعفات أخرى محتملة للمرض.

إذا كنت أنت أو طفلك حاملاً لجين الخلايا المنجلية، فستُحال على الأرجح إلى استشاري وراثيات.

تقييم مخاطر الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية

يمكن الكشف عن الأطفال الأكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية باستخدام جهاز مخصوص للتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية، حيث يستخدم هذا الفحص غير المؤلِم الموجات الصوتية لقياس تدفُّق الدم في الدماغ، ويمكن استخدامه مع الأطفال الذين لا تتجاوز أعمارهم عامين. وقد يقلل نقل الدم بانتظام من خطر السكتة الدماغية.

اختبارات الكشف عن جينات الخلايا المنجلية قبل الولادة

يمكن تشخيص مرض الخلية المنجلية في الأجِنَّة التي لم تولد بعد عن طريق جمع عينة من السائل المحيط بالجنين في رحم الأم (السائل السَّلَوِي). إذا كنت أنت أو شريكك مُصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي أو خلة الكرية المنجلية، فاسأل طبيبك عن هذا الفحص.

العلاج

عادةً ما ينطوي علاج فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية على الوقاية من نوبات الألم، وعلاج الأعراض، وتجنُّب المضاعَفات. يمكن أن يتضمن العلاج كذلك أدوية ونقل دم. ويمكن لعملية زرع الخلايا الجذعية علاج هذا المرض عند بعض الأطفال والمراهقين.

الأدوية

  • هيدروكسي يوريا (Droxia،‏ Hydrea، ‏Siklos). يقلص أخذ دواء هيدروكسي يوريا يوميًا تواتر الأزمات المؤلمة ومن الممكن أن يقلل الحاجة إلى عمليات نقل الدم وحالات الدخول إلى المستشفى. ولكنه يمكن أن يزيد من مخاطر الإصابة بالعدوى. لا تأخذي الدواء إذا كنتِ حاملاً.
  • المسحوق الفموي الجلوتامين-ل (إنداري). اعتمدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية هذا الدواء مؤخرًا لعلاج فقر الدم المنجلي. كما أنه يساعد على تقليل تواتر أزمات الألم.
  • كريزانليزوماب (أداكفيو). يمكن أن يساعد هذا الدواء، الذي يُعطى عن طريق الحقن، على تقليل تواتر الأزمات المؤلمة لدى البالغين والأطفال الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 16 عامًا. ويمكن أن تشتمل الآثار الجانبية على الغثيان وألم المفاصل وألم الظهر والحمى.
  • فوكسيلوتور (أوكسبريتا). يستخدم هذا الدواء لعلاج مرض الخلايا المنجلية لدى البالغين والأطفال الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 12 عامًا. ويمكن أن يقلل هذا الدواء، الذي يُؤخذ عن طريق الفم، من مخاطر الإصابة بفقر الدم ويُحسِّن تدفق الدم عبر الجسم. ويمكن أن تشتمل الآثار الجانبية على الصداع والغثيان والإسهال والإرهاق والطفح الجلدي والحمى.
  • الأدوية المسكنة للآلام. قد يصف لك الطبيب المواد المخدرة للمساعدة على تخفيف الألم خلال أزمات ألم الخلية المنجلية.

تجنُّب العدوى

يمكن أن يحصل الأطفال المصابون بفقر الدم المنجلي على البنسلين بين عمر شهرين تقريبًا وحتى 5 سنوات على الأقل. حيث يساعد ذلك على وقايتهم من الإصابة بعدوى مثل التهاب الرئة الذي قد يشكل تهديدًا على حياة الأطفال المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي.

وقد يحتاج البالغون المصابون بفقر الدم المنجلي إلى تلقي البنسلين طوال حياتهم إذا أصيبوا بالتهاب الرئة أو أجروا جراحة لاستئصال الطحال.

تكمن أهمية لقاحات الأطفال في أنها تقي جميع الأطفال من المرض. وهي أكثر أهمية للأطفال المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي لأن إصابتهم بالعدوى تكون أشد.

ينبغي أن يحرص الطبيب المتابع لحالة الطفل على إعطائه جميع اللقاحات الموصى بها في فترة الطفولة، بالإضافة إلى لقاحات التهاب الرئة والتهاب السحايا والتهاب الكبد B ولقاح الإنفلونزا السنوي. تمثل اللقاحات أهمية أيضًا بالنسبة إلى البالغين المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي.

خلال جائحة فيروس كوفيد 19، ينبغي أن يتخذ الأشخاص المصابون بفقر الدم المنجلي المزيد من الاحتياطات، مثل العزل في المنزل قدر الإمكان، مع تلقي اللقاح للأشخاص المؤهلين للحصول على اللقاح.

الإجراءات الجراحية والإجراءات الأخرى

  • عمليات نقل الدم. يُستخدم هذا الإجراء لعلاج المصابين بمرض الخلايا المنجلية ووقايتهم من الإصابة بمضاعفاته، مثل السكتة الدماغية.

    أثناء نقل خلايا الدم الحمراء، تُزال خلايا الدم الحمراء من الدم المتبرع به، ثم تُحقن في أحد أوردة المصاب بفقر الدم المنجلي. هذا يزيد من عدد خلايا الدم الحمراء الطبيعية، مما يساعد على تقليل الأعراض والمضاعفات.

    وتشمل مخاطر هذا الإجراء الاستجابة المناعية لدم المتبرع، ما قد يجعل من الصعب العثور على متبرعين في المستقبل، والعدوى، وتراكم الحديد الزائد في الجسم. وبما أن الحديد الزائد يمكن أن يضر بالقلب والكبد والأعضاء الأخرى، فقد يحتاج المريض إلى علاج لتقليل مستويات الحديد، إذا كان يخضع لعمليات نقل دم منتظمة.

  • زراعة الخلايا الجذعية. يُعرف هذا الإجراء أيضًا باسم عملية زراعة نخاع العظم، ويشتمل على استبدال النخاع العظمي المتأثر بفقر الدم المنجلي بنخاع عظمي سليم من مانح. عادةً يعتمد الإجراء على إيجاد مانحًا متطابقًا، مثل شقيق، ليس لديه فقر الدم المنجلي.

    بسبب المخاطر المصاحبة لعملية زراعة نخاع العظم، والتي تصل إلى الوفاة، يوصى بهذا الإجراء فقط للأشخاص، عادةً الأطفال، الذين لديهم أعراض ومضاعفات شديدة لفقر الدم المنجلي. زراعة الخلايا الجذعية هي العلاج الوحيد المتعارف عليه لفقر الدم المنجلي.

    ولكن تُجرى تجارب سريرية من أجل زرع خلايا جذعية للبالغين وتطبيق علاجات جينية.

للمزيد من المعلومات

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

قد يساعدك اتخاذ الخطوات الصحية التالية في تجنب مضاعفات فقر الدم المنجلي:

  • تناول المكملات المحتوية على حمض الفوليك يوميًا، واختيار نظام غذائي صحي. يحتاج نخاع العظم إلى حمض الفوليك والفيتامينات الأخرى ليكوّن خلايا دم حمراء جديدة. استشر طبيبكَ بشأن المكمِّل الغذائي حمض الفوليك والفيتامينات الأخرى. تناوَل مجموعة متنوعة من الفاكهة والخضراوات الملونة، بالإضافة للحبوب الكاملة.
  • اشرب الكثير من الماء. يُمكن أن يزيد الجفاف من خطورة حدوث نوبة فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية. اشرب الماء طيلة اليوم، مستهدفًا نحو ثمانية أكواب خلال اليوم. وعليكَ زيادة كمية الماء التي تشربها إذا كنت تمارس التمارين الرياضية، أو تقضي وقتًا في مناخ حار وجاف.
  • تجنَّب ارتفاع درجات الحرارة أو انخفاضها. يُمكن أن يزيد التعرُّض للحرارة الشديدة أو البرد الشديد من خطورة حدوث نوبة فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية.
  • مارس التمارين الرياضية بانتظام، ولكن دون إفراط. تحدث مع طبيبك عن معدل التمارين الرياضية المناسب لك.
  • توخّ الحذر عند استخدام الأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية. اقتصد في استخدام المسكنات المتاحة دون وصفة طبية مثل الأيبوبروفين (Advil وMotrin IB وMotrin للأطفال وغيرها) أو نابروكسين الصوديوم (Aleve)، أو تجنّبها تمامًا لتأثيرها المحتمل على الكلى. واستشر الطبيب قبل أخذ الأدوية المتاحة دون وصفة طبية.
  • امتنع عن التدخين. يزيد التدخين من فرص الإصابة بنوبات الألم.

التأقلم والدعم

إذا كنت أنت أو أحد أفراد عائلتك مصابًا بفقر الدم المنجلي، فربما يكون عليك التفكير في الخيارات التالية لمساعدتك على التكيّف:

  • البحث عن شخص ما للتحدث إليه. يسبب العيش بمرض مزمن شعورًا بالتوتر. ولهذا ينبغي لك التفكير في استشارة اختصاصي صحة عقلية، مثل اختصاصي علم النفس أو مستشار أو اختصاصي اجتماعي لمساعدتك على التأقلم.
  • الانضمام إلى إحدى مجموعات الدعم. اسأل طبيبك عن مجموعات دعم العائلات في منطقتك. فقد يفيدك الحديث مع الآخرين الذين يواجهون مثل ما تواجه من صعوبات.
  • استكشاف طرق للتأقلم مع الألم. تعاون مع طبيبك لإيجاد وسائل للسيطرة على الألم. فالمسكنات لا تستطيع دائمًا القضاء على الألم كله. تنجح مختلف الوسائل مع مختلف الأشخاص، ولكن قد يكون من المفيد أن تجرب وسائد التدفئة أو الحمامات الدافئة أو التدليك أو العلاج الطبيعي.
  • التثقيف عن فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية لاتخاذ القرارات المستنيرة عن الرعاية. إذا كان طفلك مصابًا بفقر دم الخلايا المنجلية، فتثقّف عن هذا المرض بقدر الإمكان. واطرح الأسئلة في أثناء موعد طفلك الطبي. اطلب من فريق الرعاية الصحية أن ينصحك بمصادر جيدة للمعلومات.

الاستعداد لموعدك

عادةً ما يُشخص مرض فقر الدم المنجلي من خلال إجراء الفحص الجيني عند ولادة الطفل. ومن المرجح أن تُعطى نتائج هذه الاختبارات لطبيب عائلتك أو لطبيب طفلك. من المرجح أن يحيلك أو تحيلك إلى طبيب متخصص في اضطرابات الدم (أخصائي أمراض الدم) أو أخصائي أمراض الدم في الأطفال.

إليك المعلومات لمساعدتك في الاستعداد لموعدك.

ما يمكنك فعله

حضّر قائمة بما يلي:

  • الأعراض التي تشعر بها، بما في ذلك أي عرَض يبدو غير مرتبط بالسبب الذي رتبت الموعد الطبي لأجله، ومتى بدأ
  • المعلومات الشخصية الرئيسية، بما في ذلك التاريخ المرضي للعائلة، وما إذا كان أي فرد فيها قد أصيب من قبل بفقر الدم المنجلي، أو ظهر عليه أي من أعراضه
  • الأسئلة التي تريدين طرحها على طبيبك

اصطحب معك أحد الأقارب أو الأصدقاء إن أمكن، لمساعدتك على تذكر المعلومات التي ستتلقاها.

من الأسئلة التي يمكنك طرحها على الطبيب بشأن فقر الدم المنجلي:

  • ما السبب الأرجح للأعراض التي تظهر على طفلي؟
  • هل هناك أسباب محتملة أخرى؟
  • ما الفحوصات اللازمة؟
  • ما السبل العلاجية المتاحة، وأيٌّ منها تُوصيني به؟
  • ما التأثيرات الجانبية الشائعة لتلك الأدوية؟
  • هل توجد بدائل للطريقة العلاجية الأولية التي اقترحتها؟
  • ما التنبؤات بخصوص سَيْر المرض لدى طفلي؟
  • هل توجد قيود على الأغذية أو الأنشطة؟
  • هل هناك أي كُتَيِّبات أو مطبوعات أخرى يمكنني الحصول عليها؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تَنصحني بها؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك أسئلة، بما في ذلك:

  • متى لاحظت ظهور الأعراض على الطفل؟
  • هل الأعراض مستمرة أم عرضية؟
  • ما الذي قد يحسن من الأعراض، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يبدو أنه يزيد الأعراض سوءًا، إن وُجد؟
14/05/2022
  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 21, 2021.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  5. Onimoe G, et al. Sickle cell disease: A primary care update. Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine. 2020; doi:10.3949/ccjm.87a.18051.

ذات صلة

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services

Diagnosis

A blood test can check for the form of hemoglobin that underlies sickle cell anemia. In the United States, this blood test is part of routine newborn screening. But older children and adults can get the test too.

In adults, a blood sample is taken from a vein in the arm. In young children and babies, the blood sample is usually collected from a finger or heel. The sample then goes to a laboratory to be screened for the sickle cell form of hemoglobin.

If you or your child has sickle cell anemia, your healthcare professional might suggest other tests to check for possible complications of the disease.

If you or your child carries the sickle cell gene, you'll likely be referred to a genetic counselor.

Assessing stroke risk

A special ultrasound machine can reveal stroke risk in children. The test uses sound waves to measure blood flow to the brain. This painless test can be used in children as young as 2 years old. Regular blood transfusions can decrease stroke risk.

Tests to detect sickle cell genes before birth

Sickle cell disease can be diagnosed in an unborn baby by sampling some of the amniotic fluid surrounding the baby in the womb. If you or your partner has sickle cell anemia or the sickle cell trait, ask your healthcare team about this screening.


Treatment

Management of sickle cell anemia is usually aimed at avoiding pain episodes, relieving symptoms and preventing complications. Treatments might include medicines and blood transfusions. For some children and teenagers, a stem cell transplant might cure the disease. Gene therapies also are being developed that may offer cures for people with sickle cell disease.

Medicines

  • Hydroxyurea (Droxia, Hydrea). Daily hydroxyurea reduces the frequency of pain crises and might reduce the need for blood transfusions and hospital stays. But it can increase the risk of infections. Don't take the drug if you're pregnant.
  • L-glutamine oral powder (Endari). It helps in reducing the frequency of pain crises.
  • Crizanlizumab (Adakveo). This medicine, given by injection, can help reduce the frequency of pain crises in adults and in children older than 16 years. Side effects can include nausea, joint pain, back pain and fever.
  • Voxelotor (Oxbryta). This medicine is used to treat sickle cell disease in adults and in children older than 12 years. Taken by mouth, this medicine can lower the risk of anemia and improve blood flow throughout the body. Side effects can include headache, nausea, diarrhea, fatigue, rash and fever.
  • Pain-relieving medicines. Your healthcare professional might prescribe narcotics to help relieve pain during sickle cell pain crises.

Preventing infections

Children with sickle cell anemia might receive penicillin from about 2 months old to 5 years old, or longer. This medicine can help prevent infections, such as pneumonia, which can be life-threatening to children with sickle cell anemia.

Adults who have sickle cell anemia might need to take penicillin throughout their lives if they've had pneumonia or surgery to remove the spleen.

Childhood vaccinations are important for preventing disease in all children. Vaccinations are even more important for children with sickle cell anemia because their infections can be severe.

Your child's healthcare team should make sure that your child gets all the recommended childhood vaccinations. These include vaccines against pneumonia, meningitis, hepatitis B and a yearly flu shot. Vaccines also are important for adults with sickle cell anemia.

During global health threats, such as the COVID-19 pandemic, people with sickle cell anemia should take extra precautions. These include staying at home as much as possible and for those who are eligible, getting vaccinated.

Surgical and other procedures

  • Blood transfusions. Red blood cell transfusions are used to treat and prevent complications, such as stroke, in people with sickle cell disease.

    In this procedure red blood cells are removed from a supply of donated blood, then given through a vein to a person with sickle cell anemia. This increases the number of red blood cells that are not affected by sickle cell anemia. This helps reduce symptoms and complications.

    Risks include an immune response to the donor blood, which can make it hard to find future donors. Infection and excess iron buildup in the body are other risks. Because excess iron can damage your heart, liver and other organs, you might need treatment to reduce iron levels if you undergo regular transfusions.

  • Stem cell transplant. This also is known as a bone marrow transplant. The procedure involves replacing bone marrow affected by sickle cell anemia with bone marrow from a donor. The procedure usually uses a matched donor, such as a sibling, who doesn't have sickle cell anemia.

    A stem cell transplant can cure sickle cell anemia. Stem cell transplant is recommended only for people, usually children, who have significant symptoms and complications of sickle cell anemia. The risks associated with the procedure are high and include death.

  • Stem cell gene addition therapy. In this treatment option, the person's own stem cells are removed, and a gene to produce typical hemoglobin is injected. The stem cells are then given back to the person in a process known as autologous transplant. This option may be a cure for people with sickle cell disease who do not have a well-matched donor.

  • Gene editing therapy. This Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved treatment works by making changes to the DNA in a person's stem cells. Stem cells are removed from the body, and the sickle gene is changed, also called edited, to help restore the cells' ability to make healthy red blood cells. The treated stem cells are then returned to the body through the blood. This is called an infusion.

    People who are successfully treated with gene editing therapy no longer have symptoms of sickle cell disease. This treatment is FDA-approved for people 12 years old and older. Long-term effects of this new treatment are not yet known and will continue to be studied.

Clinical trials are ongoing to address stem cell transplantation in adults and gene therapies.


Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.


Self care

The following steps to stay healthy might help you avoid complications of sickle cell anemia:

  • Take folic acid supplements daily and choose a healthy diet. Bone marrow needs folic acid and other vitamins to make new red blood cells. Ask your healthcare team about a folic acid supplement and other vitamins. Eat a variety of colorful fruits and vegetables, as well as whole grains.
  • Drink plenty of water. Dehydration can increase your risk of a sickle cell pain crisis. Drink water throughout the day, aiming for about eight glasses a day. Increase the amount of water that you drink if you exercise or spend time in a hot, dry climate.
  • Avoid temperature extremes. Exposure to extreme heat or cold can increase your risk of a sickle cell pain crisis.
  • Exercise regularly, but don't overdo it. Ask your healthcare professional how much exercise is right for you.
  • Use medicine with caution. Use pain medicines such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin, others) or naproxen sodium (Aleve) sparingly, if at all, because of the possible effect on the kidneys. Ask your healthcare professional before taking any medicine you can get without a prescription.
  • Don't smoke. Smoking increases your risk of pain crises.

Coping and support

If you or someone in your family has sickle cell anemia, these ideas might help you cope:

  • Finding someone to talk with. Living with a chronic illness is stressful. Consider consulting a mental health professional, such as a psychologist, counselor or social worker, to help you cope.
  • Join a support group. Ask your healthcare team about support groups for families in your area. Talking with others who face challenges similar to yours can be helpful.
  • Explore ways to cope with the pain. Pain medicine can't always take away all the pain. Work with your healthcare professional to find ways to control your pain. You might try heating pads, hot baths, massages or physical therapy.
  • Learning about sickle cell anemia to make informed decisions about care. Learn as much as you can about the disease. Ask questions during your child's appointments. Ask your healthcare team to recommend good sources of information.

Preparing for your appointment

Sickle cell anemia is usually diagnosed through genetic screening done when a baby is born. Those test results will likely be given to your primary healthcare professional, who may refer you to a doctor who specializes in blood disorders, called a hematologist, or a pediatric hematologist.

Here's information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

Make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, including any that seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment, and when they began.
  • Key personal information, including family medical history and whether anyone has sickle cell anemia or has the trait for it.
  • Questions to ask your healthcare team.

Bring a family member or friend along, if possible, to help you remember the information you're given.

For sickle cell anemia, questions to ask your healthcare professional include:

  • What's the most likely cause of the symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What tests are needed?
  • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend?
  • What side effects are common with these treatments?
  • Are there other treatment options available?
  • How likely is the treatment to work?
  • Are there and food or activity limitations?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your healthcare professional is likely to ask you questions, including:

  • When did you notice symptoms?
  • Have they been continuous or occasional?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to worsen them?

Dec 22, 2023

  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2022.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  5. Hoffman R, et al. Pain Management and Antiemetic Therapy in Hematologic Disorders. In: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  6. Ferri FF. Sickle cell disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024. Elsevier; 2024. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  7. Lyfgenia (prescribing information). Bluebird Bio; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/lyfgenia. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.
  8. Casgevy (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/casgevy. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.

CON-XXXXXXXX

Show the heart some love!

Help us advance cardiovascular medicine.