诊断

血液检测可以检查导致镰状细胞贫血的血红蛋白的缺陷形式。在美国,该血液检测是新生儿常规筛检的一部分。但是年龄稍大的儿童和成人也可以进行检测。

成人血样是从手臂静脉中采集的。儿童和婴儿血样通常是从手指或脚跟采集的。接着将样本送至实验室,对缺陷血红蛋白进行筛查。

如果您或您的孩子患有镰状细胞贫血,医生可能会建议进行其他检测来检查该疾病的可能并发症。

如果您或您的孩子携带镰状细胞基因,您或您的孩子可能会被转诊至遗传咨询师。

卒中风险评估

通过一种特殊的超声波机器,医生可以了解哪些孩子发生卒中的风险更高。这种无痛检测通过超声波来测量血流,可用于 2 岁以下儿童。定期输血可以降低发生卒中的风险。

出生前检测镰状细胞基因的测试

通过对子宫内包围着胎儿的液体(羊水)取样,可诊断未出生的婴儿是否患有镰状细胞病。如果您或您的伴侣患有镰状细胞贫血或有镰状细胞性状,请咨询您的医生了解有关这种筛查方法。

治疗

镰状细胞贫血的管理通常以避免疼痛发作、缓解症状和预防并发症为目的。治疗方式可能包括服用药物和输血。对于某些儿童和青少年,干细胞移植可能会治愈这种疾病。

药物

  • 羟基脲(Droxia、Hydrea、Siklos)。每日服用羟基脲可降低疼痛危象的频率,并可能减少输血和住院治疗的需求。它也会增加您感染的风险。孕妇不可服用此药。
  • 左旋谷酰胺口服粉末(Endari)。近期,美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)批准将此药品用于治疗镰状细胞贫血。此药可降低疼痛危象的频率。
  • Crizanlizumab(Adakveo)。近期,美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)批准将此药品用于治疗镰状细胞贫血。此药通过静脉注射,可降低疼痛危象的频率。副作用包括恶心、关节疼痛、背痛和发热。
  • 止痛药。医生可能开出麻醉药来帮助您缓解镰状细胞疼痛危象期间的疼痛。
  • Voxelotor(Oxbryta)。近期,美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)批准将此口服药用于改善镰状细胞病患者的贫血症状。副作用包括头痛、恶心、腹泻、疲劳、皮疹和发热。

预防感染

患镰状细胞贫血的儿童可以在约 2 月龄直至至少 5 岁接受青霉素治疗。这样做的目的是帮助预防感染,例如感染性肺炎,这对患镰状细胞贫血的儿童可能是危及生命的。

患镰状细胞贫血的成人如果曾患有感染性肺炎或接受过脾脏切除手术,可能需要终生服用青霉素。

对所有儿童而言,儿童期接种疫苗对预防疾病至关重要。接种疫苗对患镰状细胞贫血的儿童而言甚至更加重要,因为他们的感染可能是重度的。

您孩子的医生将确保您的孩子接种所有建议的儿童期疫苗以及针对感染性肺炎和脑膜炎的疫苗和每年的流感疫苗。疫苗对患镰状细胞贫血的成人也尤为重要。

外科手术及其他手术

  • 输血。在红细胞输血中,从捐献的血液中取出红细胞,然后通过静脉输给镰状细胞贫血患者。这会增加正常红细胞的数量,有助于减少症状和并发症。

    风险包括对供体血液的免疫反应,这可能使寻找未来的供体变得困难;感染;以及体内过多的铁积累。由于过量的铁会损害心脏、肝脏和其他器官,因此如果您定期接受输血,可能需要治疗来降低铁含量。

  • 干细胞移植。又称为骨髓移植,这种手术涉及用供体的健康骨髓替代受镰状细胞贫血影响的骨髓。该手术通常使用未患镰状细胞贫血的匹配供体,例如兄弟姐妹。

    由于骨髓移植有一定的风险,因此只建议对存在明显镰状细胞贫血症状和并发症的患者(通常是儿童)进行手术。

    该手术需要长期住院。移植后,您将使用药物以帮助防止对供体干细胞产生排斥反应。即使这样,您的身体仍可能​排斥移植物,导致危及生命的并发症。

更多信息

生活方式与家庭疗法

采取以下步骤保持健康可以帮助您避免镰状细胞贫血的并发症:

  • 每天服用叶酸补充剂,并选择健康饮食。骨髓需要叶酸和其他维生素以生成新的红细胞。向您的医生咨询叶酸补充剂和其他维生素的问题。摄入各种水果和蔬菜,以及全谷物。
  • 多喝水。脱水会增加镰状细胞危象的风险。每天都要喝水,每天大约喝八杯。如果您在炎热干燥的气候下运动或度过一段时间,则要增加饮水量。
  • 避免极端温度。暴露于极热或极寒会增加您发生镰状细胞危象的风险。
  • 定期运动,但不要过度运动。与您的医生讨论适合您的运动量。
  • 谨慎使用非处方药物(OTC)。如使用,请谨慎使用 OTC 止痛药,例如布洛芬(Advil、Motrin IB、儿童使用的美林等)或萘普生钠(Aleve),因为它们可能影响您的肾脏。在服用 OTC 药物之前,请先咨询您的医生。
  • 请勿吸烟。抽烟也会增加您发生疼痛危机的风险。

妥善处理与支持

如果您或您的家人患有镰状细胞贫血,您可能需要寻求帮助以应对这种情况。考虑采取以下措施:

  • 寻找倾诉对象。向医生咨询您所在地区是否有家庭互助团体。与面临同样挑战的人交谈,可能对您有所帮助。
  • 探索应对疼痛的方法。和医生一起寻找能够控制疼痛的方法。止痛药并不总是能消除所有疼痛。不同的人所适合的方法也会不同,但值得尝试的方法可能包括加热垫、热水浴、按摩或物理疗法。
  • 了解镰状细胞贫血的相关知识,做出明智的治疗决策。如果您有孩子患有镰状细胞贫血,请尽可能多地了解这种疾病。在孩子就诊期间,如有任何问题可以随时提出。请医疗团队推荐比较可靠的信息来源。

准备您的预约

通常在婴儿出生时通过基因筛查,以进行诊断镰状细胞贫血。这些检测结果可能会提供给您的家庭医生或儿科医生。医生可能将您转诊至专门治疗血液疾病的医生(血液科医生)或小儿血液科医生。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

请列出以下内容:

  • 您的症状,包括看似与您的约诊原因无关的任何症状,以及这些症状何时开始出现
  • 关键个人信息,包括家族病史以及是否有镰状细胞贫血或有其特征
  • 需要向医生咨询的问题

如果可能,请家人或朋友陪同就诊,他们可以帮您记住医生所说的重要信息。

关于镰状细胞贫血,要向医生咨询的问题包括:

  • 最有可能引起我孩子出现症状的原因是什么?
  • 还有其他可能的原因吗?
  • 需要做哪些检查?
  • 可提供哪些治疗方法,您建议哪种?
  • 这些疗法的常见副作用是什么?
  • 除了您推荐的主要治疗方法以外,是否还有替代疗法?
  • 我孩子的预后如何?
  • 有无饮食或活动限制规定?
  • 是否有我可以带走的小册子或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提出。

医生可能会做什么

医生可能会问您一些问题,包括:

  • 您什么时候注意到孩子的症状?
  • 症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 有没有任何因素看似能改善症状?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会加重症状?
July 17, 2021
  1. Field JJ , et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  2. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  4. What is sickle cell disease? Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/facts.html. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  5. Sickle cell disease. Genetics Home Reference. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  6. FDA approves novel treatment to target abnormality in sickle cell disease. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-novel-treatment-target-abnormality-sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 27, 2019.
  7. FDA approves crizanlizumab-tmca for sickle cell disease. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resources-information-approved-drugs/fda-approves-crizanlizumab-tmca-sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 27, 2019.
  8. Pruthi RK (expert opinion) Mayo Clinic. Dec. 23, 2019.

相关

Associated Procedures

Mayo Clinic 新闻

Diagnosis

A blood test can check for the defective form of hemoglobin that underlies sickle cell anemia. In the United States, this blood test is part of routine newborn screening. But older children and adults can be tested, too.

In adults, a blood sample is drawn from a vein in the arm. In young children and babies, the blood sample is usually collected from a finger or heel. The sample is then sent to a laboratory, where it's screened for the defective hemoglobin.

If you or your child has sickle cell anemia, your doctor might suggest additional tests to check for possible complications of the disease.

If you or your child carries the sickle cell gene, you'll likely be referred to a genetic counselor.

Assessing stroke risk

Using a special ultrasound machine, doctors can learn which children have a higher risk of stroke. This painless test, which uses sound waves to measure blood flow, can be used in children as young as 2 years. Regular blood transfusions can decrease stroke risk.

Tests to detect sickle cell genes before birth

Sickle cell disease can be diagnosed in an unborn baby by sampling some of the fluid surrounding the baby in the mother's womb (amniotic fluid). If you or your partner has sickle cell anemia or the sickle cell trait, ask your doctor about this screening.

Treatment

Management of sickle cell anemia is usually aimed at avoiding pain episodes, relieving symptoms and preventing complications. Treatments might include medications and blood transfusions. For some children and teenagers, a stem cell transplant might cure the disease.

Medications

  • Hydroxyurea (Droxia, Hydrea, Siklos). Daily hydroxyurea reduces the frequency of painful crises and might reduce the need for blood transfusions and hospitalizations. It can also increase your risk of infections. Don't take the drug if you're pregnant.
  • L-glutamine oral powder (Endari). The FDA recently approved this drug for treatment of sickle cell anemia. It helps in reducing the frequency of pain crises.
  • Crizanlizumab (Adakveo). The FDA recently approved this drug for treatment of sickle cell anemia. Given through a vein, it helps reduce the frequency of pain crises. Side effects can include nausea, joint pain, back pain and fever.
  • Pain-relieving medications. Your doctor might prescribe narcotics to help relieve pain during sickle cell pain crises.
  • Voxelotor (Oxbryta). The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) recently approved this oral drug to improve anemia in people with sickle cell disease. Side effects can include headache, nausea, diarrhea, fatigue, rash and fever.

Preventing infections

Children with sickle cell anemia might receive penicillin between the ages of about 2 months old until at least age 5. Doing so helps prevent infections, such as pneumonia, which can be life-threatening to children with sickle cell anemia.

Adults who have sickle cell anemia may need to take penicillin throughout their lives, if they've had pneumonia or surgery to remove the spleen.

Childhood vaccinations are important for preventing disease in all children. They're even more important for children with sickle cell anemia because their infections can be severe.

Your child's doctor will ensure that your child receives all of the recommended childhood vaccinations, as well vaccines against pneumonia and meningitis and an annual flu shot. Vaccines are also important for adults with sickle cell anemia.

Surgical and other procedures

  • Blood transfusions. In a red blood cell transfusion, red blood cells are removed from a supply of donated blood, then given through a vein to a person with sickle cell anemia. This increases the number of normal red blood cells, which helps reduce symptoms and complications.

    Risks include an immune response to the donor blood, which can make it hard to find future donors; infection; and excess iron buildup in your body. Because excess iron can damage your heart, liver and other organs, if you undergo regular transfusions, you might need treatment to reduce iron levels.

  • Stem cell transplant. Also known as bone marrow transplant, this procedure involves replacing bone marrow affected by sickle cell anemia with healthy bone marrow from a donor. The procedure usually uses a matched donor, such as a sibling, who doesn't have sickle cell anemia.

    Because of the risks associated with a bone marrow transplant, the procedure is recommended only for people, usually children, who have significant symptoms and complications of sickle cell anemia.

    The procedure requires a long hospital stay. After the transplant, you'll receive drugs to help prevent rejection of the donated stem cells. Even so, your body might reject the transplant, leading to life-threatening complications.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Taking the following steps to stay healthy may help you avoid complications of sickle cell anemia:

  • Take folic acid supplements daily, and choose a healthy diet. Bone marrow needs folic acid and other vitamins to make new red blood cells. Ask your doctor about a folic acid supplement and other vitamins. Eat a variety of colorful fruits and vegetables, as well as whole grains.
  • Drink plenty of water. Dehydration can increase your risk of a sickle cell crisis. Drink water throughout your day, aiming for about eight glasses a day. Increase the amount of water you drink if you exercise or spend time in a hot, dry climate.
  • Avoid temperature extremes. Exposure to extreme heat or cold can increase your risk of a sickle cell crisis.
  • Exercise regularly, but don't overdo it. Talk with your doctor about how much exercise is right for you.
  • Use over-the-counter (OTC) medications with caution. Use OTC pain medications, such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, Children's Motrin, others) or naproxen sodium (Aleve), sparingly, if at all, because of the possible effect on your kidneys. Ask your doctor before taking OTC drugs.
  • Don't smoke. Smoking increases your risk of pain crises.

Coping and support

If you or someone in your family has sickle cell anemia, you might want help coping. Consider:

  • Finding someone to talk with. Ask your doctor if there are support groups for families in your area. Talking with others who are facing the same challenges you're facing can be helpful.
  • Exploring ways to cope with the pain. Work with your doctor to find ways to control your pain. Pain medications can't always take all the pain away. Different techniques work for different people, but it might be worth trying heating pads, hot baths, massages or physical therapy.
  • Learning about sickle cell anemia to make informed decisions about care. If you have a child with sickle cell anemia, learn as much as you can about the disease. Ask questions during your child's appointments. Ask your health care team to recommend good sources of information.

Preparing for your appointment

Sickle cell anemia is usually diagnosed through genetic screening done when a baby is born. Those test results will likely be given to your family doctor or pediatrician. He or she will likely refer you to a doctor who specializes in blood disorders (hematologist) or a pediatric hematologist.

Here's information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

Make a list of:

  • Symptoms you've noticed, including any that seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment, and when they began
  • Key personal information, including family medical history and whether anyone has sickle cell anemia or has the trait for it
  • Questions to ask your doctor

Bring a family member or friend along, if possible, to help you remember the information you're given.

For sickle cell anemia, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my child's symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What tests are needed?
  • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend?
  • What side effects are common with these treatments?
  • Are there alternatives to the primary approach that you're suggesting?
  • What's my child's prognosis?
  • Are there dietary or activity restrictions?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material that I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you questions, including:

  • When did you notice your child's symptoms?
  • Have they been continuous or occasional?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to worsen them?
Jan. 30, 2020
  1. Field JJ , et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  2. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  4. What is sickle cell disease? Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/facts.html. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  5. Sickle cell disease. Genetics Home Reference. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 6, 2019.
  6. FDA approves novel treatment to target abnormality in sickle cell disease. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-novel-treatment-target-abnormality-sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 27, 2019.
  7. FDA approves crizanlizumab-tmca for sickle cell disease. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resources-information-approved-drugs/fda-approves-crizanlizumab-tmca-sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Dec. 27, 2019.
  8. Pruthi RK (expert opinion) Mayo Clinic. Dec. 23, 2019.