概述

镰状细胞贫血属于遗传性镰状细胞病之一。该病会影响红细胞的形状,红细胞负责将氧气输送到身体的各个部位。

红细胞通常呈圆形且有弹性,因此可在血管中轻松移动。在镰状细胞贫血中,有些红细胞的形状像镰刀或新月。这些镰状细胞也会变得僵硬、黏稠,可能会减缓或阻断血流。

大多数镰状细胞贫血患者无法治愈。治疗可以缓解患者的疼痛感并帮助预防与该病相关的并发症。

症状

镰状细胞贫血的体征和症状通常在 6 个月龄左右出现。体征和症状因人而异,且可能随时间而变化。体征和症状可能包括:

  • 贫血。镰状细胞容易破裂并死亡。红细胞通常存活 120 天左右,然后需要被替换。但镰状细胞通常在 10 至 20 天内死亡,导致红细胞缺乏(贫血)。如果红细胞数量不足,身体就无法获得足够的氧气,这会导致患者感觉疲劳。
  • 疼痛发作。周期性剧痛发作也称为疼痛危象,是镰状细胞贫血的主要症状。当镰状红细胞阻碍血液通过细小血管流向胸部、腹部和关节时,就会出现疼痛。

    疼痛强度不尽相同,并且能持续数小时至数天。有些患者一年仅出现几次疼痛危象,另一些一年会出现十几次甚至更加频繁。如果患者的疼痛危象较为严重,则需要住院治疗。

    一些患有镰状细胞贫血的青少年和成人也会出现由骨和关节损伤、溃疡及其他原因引起的慢性疼痛。

  • 手脚肿胀。镰状红细胞会阻碍手部和足部的血液循环,从而引起肿胀。
  • 频繁感染。镰状细胞可能导致脾脏损伤,从而增加患者感染的风险。患有镰状细胞贫血的婴儿和儿童通常会接种疫苗和注射抗生素,以防出现可能危及生命的感染,例如肺炎。
  • 发育迟缓或青春期延迟。红细胞为身体提供生长所需的氧气和营养。缺乏健康的红细胞可能导致婴幼儿发育迟缓,以及青少年延迟进入青春期。
  • 视力问题。镰状细胞可能阻塞给眼睛供血的微小血管,这可能损害视网膜(眼睛处理视觉成像的部分)并引发视力问题。

何时就诊

如果您或您的孩子出现镰状细胞贫血的症状,请立即就医。由于患有镰状细胞贫血的儿童容易发生感染,多以发热起病,且可能危及生命,因此发热超过 101.5 F(38.5 C)时应立即就医。

如出现以下卒中症状,请寻求急救护理:

  • 单侧面部、手臂和腿部瘫痪或无力
  • 意识错乱
  • 行走或说话困难
  • 视力突然发生改变
  • 不明原因的麻木感
  • 剧烈头痛

病因

镰状细胞贫血是由基因变化引起的,该基因会指示身体在红细胞中产生富铁化合物(血红蛋白)。血红蛋白使红细胞能够将肺部的氧气输送到全身。造成镰状细胞贫血的血红蛋白会使红细胞变得僵硬、粘稠和畸形。

只有当父母双方都携带镰状细胞基因的一份拷贝(也称为镰状细胞性状),并将这两份变异基因传给其孩子时,孩子才会患病。

如果只有一位父母将镰状细胞基因传给孩子,该孩子将有镰状细胞性状。在有一个正常血红蛋白基因和一个变异基因的情况下,有镰状细胞性状的人可产生正常血红蛋白和镰状细胞血红蛋白。

其血液可能含有一些镰状细胞,但是通常没有症状。但他们是疾病携带者,这意味着他们可能会将基因传给其孩子。

风险因素

如果婴儿在出生时患有镰状细胞贫血,则父母双方肯定都携带镰状细胞基因。在美国,镰状细胞贫血最常影响具有非洲、地中海和中东血统的人。

并发症

镰状细胞贫血可导致多种并发症,包括:

  • 卒中。镰状细胞可能阻碍血液流向大脑区域。卒中的体征包括癫痫发作、手脚无力或有麻木感、突发性言语困难和意识丧失。如果您的孩子有任何此类体征和症状,请立即就医。卒中可能致命。
  • 急性胸痛综合征。肺部感染或镰状细胞阻塞肺部血管可导致这种危及生命的并发症,从而引起胸部疼痛、发热和呼吸困难。这种情况可能需要急救。
  • 肺动脉高压。镰状细胞贫血患者可能在肺部出现高血压。这种并发症常见于成人。这种可能致命的疾病的常见症状包括气短和疲劳。
  • 器官损伤。镰状细胞会阻碍血液流向器官,导致受累器官缺乏血液和氧气。患镰状细胞贫血时,血液中的氧含量也会长期偏低。而缺乏富氧血可能损害神经和器官(包括肾脏、肝脏和脾脏),并可能致命。
  • 脾隔离症。大量镰状细胞可能滞留在脾脏中,导致脾脏肿大,并可能导致身体左侧发生腹部疼痛。这可能危及生命。镰状细胞贫血患儿的父母应学会定期触摸孩子的脾脏,检查有无肿大。
  • 失明。镰状细胞可能阻塞为眼睛供血的细小血管。随着时间的推移,这可能导致失明。
  • 腿部溃疡。镰状细胞贫血可能导致腿部出现疼痛性开放溃疡。
  • 胆结石。红细胞的分解会产生一种叫胆红素的物质。体内的胆红素水平升高可能导致胆结石。
  • 阴茎异常勃起。在这种状况下,患有镰状细胞贫血的男性可能出现疼痛、持久的勃起。镰状细胞可能阻塞阴茎血管,久而久之导致阳痿。
  • 深静脉血栓。红细胞呈镰状可能导致血凝块,增加血凝块出现在深静脉(深静脉血栓)或肺部(肺栓塞)的风险。这两种情况都可能导致严重疾病,甚至死亡。
  • 妊娠并发症。镰状细胞贫血可增加怀孕期间患高血压和出现血凝块的风险。还可能增加流产、早产和新生儿体重低的风险。

预防

如果您的红细胞具有镰状细胞性状,在备孕前请咨询基因顾问,以帮助了解后代是否有罹患镰状细胞贫血的风险。基因顾问还可能为您解释治疗方法、预防措施和生育选择。

Dec. 28, 2022

Living with 镰状细胞性贫血?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Blood Cancers & Disorders support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Blood Cancers & Disorders Discussions

talmadge81
Tasigna side effect? How do I stop an itchy scalp and rash?

26 Replies Sun, Mar 26, 2023

jart
MGUS and quite high Free Kappa Light Chain and Kappa Lambda Ratio

95 Replies Sat, Mar 25, 2023

John R A
Others out there with CEL (Chronic Eosinophilic Leukemia)?

6 Replies Sat, Mar 25, 2023

See more discussions
  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 21, 2021.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  5. Onimoe G, et al. Sickle cell disease: A primary care update. Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine. 2020; doi:10.3949/ccjm.87a.18051.

相关

Associated Procedures

Mayo Clinic 新闻

Overview

Sickle cell anemia is one of a group of inherited disorders known as sickle cell disease. It affects the shape of red blood cells, which carry oxygen to all parts of the body.

Red blood cells are usually round and flexible, so they move easily through blood vessels. In sickle cell anemia, some red blood cells are shaped like sickles or crescent moons. These sickle cells also become rigid and sticky, which can slow or block blood flow.

The current approach to treatment is to relieve pain and help prevent complications of the disease. However, newer treatments may cure people of the disease.

Red blood cells and sickle cells

Sickle cell anemia

Red blood cells are usually round and flexible. In sickle cell anemia, some red blood cells look like sickles used to cut wheat. These unusually shaped cells give the disease its name.


Symptoms

Symptoms of sickle cell anemia usually appear around 6 months of age. They vary from person to person and may change over time. Symptoms can include:

  • Anemia. Sickle cells break apart easily and die. Typical red blood cells usually live for about 120 days before they need to be replaced. But sickle cells usually die in 10 to 20 days, leaving a shortage of red blood cells. This is known as anemia. Without enough red blood cells, the body can't get enough oxygen. This causes fatigue.
  • Episodes of pain. Periodic episodes of extreme pain, called pain crises, are a major symptom of sickle cell anemia. Pain develops when sickle-shaped red blood cells block blood flow through tiny blood vessels to the chest, abdomen and joints.

    The pain varies in intensity and can last for a few hours to a few days. Some people have only a few pain crises a year. Others have a dozen or more a year. A severe pain crisis requires a hospital stay.

    Some people with sickle cell anemia also have chronic pain from bone and joint damage, ulcers, and other causes.

  • Swelling of hands and feet. Sickle-shaped red blood cells block blood circulation in the hands and feet, which can cause them to swell.
  • Frequent infections. The spleen is important for protecting against infections. Sickle cells can damage the spleen, raising the risk of developing infections. Babies and children with sickle cell anemia commonly receive vaccinations and antibiotics to prevent potentially life-threatening infections, such as pneumonia.
  • Delayed growth or puberty. Red blood cells provide the body with the oxygen and nutrients needed for growth. A shortage of healthy red blood cells can slow growth in babies and children and delay puberty in teenagers.
  • Vision problems. Tiny blood vessels that supply blood to the eyes can become plugged with sickle cells. This can damage the portion of the eye that processes visual images, called the retina, and lead to vision problems.

When to see a doctor

See your healthcare professional right away if you or your child has symptoms of sickle cell anemia, including fever or stroke.

Infections often start with a fever and can be life-threatening. Because children with sickle cell anemia are prone to infections, seek prompt medical attention for a fever greater than 101.5 degrees Fahrenheit (38.5 degrees Celsius).

Seek emergency care for symptoms of stroke, which include:

  • One-sided paralysis or weakness in the face, arms or legs.
  • Confusion.
  • Difficulty walking or talking.
  • Sudden vision changes.
  • Unexplained numbness.
  • Severe headache.

Causes

Sickle cell anemia is caused by a change in the gene that tells the body to make hemoglobin. Hemoglobin is the iron-rich compound in red blood cells that allows these cells to carry oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body. The hemoglobin associated with sickle cell anemia causes red blood cells to become rigid, sticky and misshapen.

For a child to have sickle cell anemia, both parents must carry one copy of the sickle cell gene and pass both copies to the child.

If only one parent passes the sickle cell gene to the child, that child will have the sickle cell trait. With one typical hemoglobin gene and one sickle cell gene, people with the sickle cell trait make both typical hemoglobin and sickle cell hemoglobin.

Their blood might contain some sickle cells, but they generally don't have symptoms. They're carriers of the disease. That means they can pass the gene to their children.


Risk factors

For a baby to have sickle cell anemia, both parents must carry a sickle cell gene. In the United States, sickle cell anemia most commonly affects people of African, Mediterranean and Middle Eastern descent.


Complications

Sickle cell anemia can lead to a host of complications, including:

  • Stroke. Sickle cells can block blood flow to the brain. Signs of stroke include seizures, weakness or numbness of the arms and legs, sudden speech difficulties, and loss of consciousness. If your child has any of these signs or symptoms, seek medical treatment right away. A stroke can be fatal.
  • Acute chest syndrome. A lung infection or sickle cells blocking blood vessels in the lungs can cause this life-threatening complication. Symptoms include chest pain, fever and difficulty breathing. Acute chest syndrome might need emergency medical treatment.
  • Avascular necrosis. Sickle cells can block the blood vessels that supply blood to the bones. When the bones don't get enough blood, joints may narrow and bones can die. This can happen anywhere but most often happens in the hip.
  • Pulmonary hypertension. People with sickle cell anemia can develop high blood pressure in their lungs. This complication usually affects adults. Shortness of breath and fatigue are common symptoms of this condition, which can be fatal.
  • Organ damage. Sickle cells that block blood flow to organs deprive the affected organs of blood and oxygen. In sickle cell anemia, blood also is low in oxygen. This lack of oxygen-rich blood can damage nerves and organs, including the kidneys, liver and spleen, and can be fatal.
  • Splenic sequestration. Sickle cells can get trapped in the spleen, causing it to enlarge. This may cause abdominal pain on the left side of the body and can be life-threatening. Parents of children with sickle cell anemia can learn how to locate and feel their child's spleen for enlargement.
  • Blindness. Sickle cells can block tiny blood vessels that supply blood to the eyes. Over time, this can lead to blindness.
  • Leg ulcers. Sickle cell anemia can cause painful open sores on the legs.
  • Gallstones. The breakdown of red blood cells produces a substance called bilirubin. A high level of bilirubin in the body can lead to gallstones.
  • Priapism. Sickle cell anemia can cause painful, long-lasting erections, known as priapism. Sickle cells can block the blood vessels in the penis, which can lead to impotence over time.
  • Deep vein thrombosis. Sickled red blood cells can cause blood clots, increasing the risk of a clot lodging in a deep vein, known as deep vein thrombosis. It also increases the risk of a blood clot lodging in a lung, known as pulmonary embolism. Either can cause serious illness or even death.
  • Pregnancy complications. Sickle cell anemia can increase the risk of high blood pressure and blood clots during pregnancy. It also can increase the risk of miscarriage, premature birth and low birth weight babies.

Prevention

If you carry the sickle cell trait, it can help to see a genetic counselor before you get pregnant. A counselor can help you understand your risk of having a child with sickle cell anemia. You also can learn about possible treatments, preventive measures and reproductive options.


Dec 22, 2023

  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2022.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  5. Hoffman R, et al. Pain Management and Antiemetic Therapy in Hematologic Disorders. In: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  6. Ferri FF. Sickle cell disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024. Elsevier; 2024. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  7. Lyfgenia (prescribing information). Bluebird Bio; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/lyfgenia. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.
  8. Casgevy (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/casgevy. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.

CON-XXXXXXXX

Show the heart some love!

Help us advance cardiovascular medicine.