نظرة عامة

فقر الدم المنجلي هو اضطراب ينتمي إلى مجموعة من الاضطرابات تُعرف باسم مرض الخلايا المنجلية. وتؤثر هذه الحالة في شكل خلايا الدم الحمراء التي تحمل الأكسجين إلى كل أجزاء الجسم.

عادةً ما تكون خلايا الدم الحمراء مستديرة ومرنة، الأمر الذي يسهل حركتها في الأوعية الدموية. ولكن في حال الإصابة بفقر خلايا الدم المنجلية تتخذ خلايا الدم الحمراء شكل منجل أو هلال. وتصبح هذه الخلايا المنجلية صلبة ولزجة أيضًا، ما قد يبطئ تدفق الدم أو يمنعه.

لا يوجد علاج شاف لأغلب المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي. ولكن بعض العلاجات قد يُخفف الألم ويساعد في الوقاية من المضاعفات المصاحبة للمرض.

الأعراض

تظهر مؤشرات فقر الدم المنجلي وأعراضه عادةً في عمر 6 أشهر تقريبًا، وقد تتغير بمرور الوقت، كما أنها تختلف من شخصٍ لآخر، وتشمل ما يلي:

  • فقر الدم. تتكسر الخلايا المنجلية بسهولة وتموت. تعيش خلايا الدم الحمراء عادةً لمدة 120 يومًا تقريبًا قبل استبدالها. لكن تموت الخلايا المنجلية عادةً خلال 10 إلى 20 يومًا؛ مما يؤدي إلى نقص خلايا الدم الحمراء (فقر الدم). ودون وجود عدد كافٍ من خلايا الدم الحمراء، لا يستطيع الجسم الحصول على ما يكفي من الأكسجين، ما يسبب الشعور بالإرهاق.
  • نوبات الألم. من الأعراض الرئيسة لفقر الدم المنجلي حدوث نوبات دورية من الألم الشديد، تُسَمَّى أزمات الألم. ويحدث الألم عندما تمنع خلايا الدم الحمراء المنجلية تدفُّق الدم عبر الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة إلى الصدر والبطن والمفاصل.

    يختلف الألم في شدَّته وقد يستمر لبضع ساعات أو أيام. ويمرُّ بعض الأشخاص ببعض أزمات الألم على مدار العام، بينما يتعرض البعض الآخر لعشرات الأزمات في العام الواحد. وتتطلب أزمة الألم الشديدة الإقامة في المستشفى.

    يعاني بعض المراهقين والبالغين المصابين بأنيميا الخلايا المنجلية أيضًا من ألم مزمن يمكن أن ينتج عن تلف العظام والمفاصل والقرح وأسباب أخرى.

  • تورُّم اليدين والقدمين. يحدث التورُّم بسبب إعاقة خلايا الدم الحمراء المنجلية للدورة الدموية في اليدين والقدمين.
  • حالات العدوى المتكررة. قد تؤدي الخلايا المنجلية إلى تضرر الطحال، ما يزيد من التعرض لخطر الإصابة بالعدوى. لذا يتلقى الرضع والأطفال المصابون بفقر الدم المنجلي عادةً لقاحات ومضادات حيوية للوقاية من حالات العدوى التي قد تهدِّد الحياة، مثل التهاب الرئة.
  • تأخُّر النمو أو البلوغ. تمدّ خلايا الدم الحمراء الجسم بالأكسجين والعناصر المغذية اللازمة للنمو. يؤدي نقص عدد خلايا الدم الحمراء السليمة إلى إبطاء النمو لدى الرضع والأطفال وتأخُّر البلوغ لدى المراهقين.
  • مشاكل الإبصار. يمكن أن تتسبب الخلايا المنجلية في انسداد الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة التي تمدّ العينين بالدم. وذلك يؤدي إلى تضرر الشبكية -وهي الجزء المسؤول عن معالجة الصور المرئية في العين- وحدوث مشاكل في الإبصار.

متى تزور الطبيب

يجب زيارة الطبيب في الحال إذا ظهرت عليك أو على طفلك أعراض فقر الدم المنجلي. ونظرًا إلى أن الأطفال المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي معرضون للعدوى، والتي غالبًا ما تبدأ بالحمى ويمكن أن تكون مهددة للحياة، فينبغي طلب العناية الطبية العاجلة في حالات الحمى التي تزيد فيها درجة حرارة الطفل عن 101.5 درجة فهرنهايت (38.5 درجة مئوية).

اطلب الرعاية الطارئة عند ظهور أعراض السكتة الدماغية التي تشتمل على:

  • ضعف أو شلل في جانب واحد في الوجه أو الذراعين أو الساقين
  • التشوش
  • صعوبة التحدث أو المشي
  • تغيرات مفاجئة بالرؤية
  • خَدَر مجهول السبب
  • الصداع الشديد

الأسباب

يحدث فقر الدم المنجلي بسبب تغير في الجين الذي يحث الجسم على إنتاج المركب الغني بالحديد في خلايا الدم الحمراء، والذي يُسمى الهيموغلوبين. حيث يتيح الهيموغلوبين لخلايا الدم الحمراء نقل الأكسجين من الرئتين إلى جميع أجزاء الجسم. كما يتسبب الهيموغلوبين المرتبط بفقر الدم المنجلي في تصلب خلايا الدم الحمراء وزيادة لزوجتها وتشوهها.

ولكي يتأثر الطفل، يجب أن تحمل الأم والأب معًا نسخة واحدة من جين الخلايا المنجلية، الذي يُعرف أيضًا بسمة الخلايا المنجلية، ويمررا نسختي الشكل المعدَّل إلى الطفل.

إذا انتقل جين الخلايا المنجلية إلى الطفل من أحد والديه فقط، فسيكتسب هذا الطفل سمة الخلايا المنجلية. فمع وجود جين واحد من الهيموغلوبين الطبيعي وشكل معدَّل واحد من الجين، ينتج الأشخاص المصابين بسمة الخلايا المنجلية الهيموغلوبين الطبيعي وهيموغلوبين الخلايا المنجلية معًا.

وقد يحتوي الدم لديهم على بعض الخلايا المنجلية، لكنهم عادةً لا يشعرون بأي أعراض. ومع ذلك فهم حاملون للمرض، وهذا يعني أنه يمكنهم نقل الجين إلى أطفالهم.

عوامل الخطر

يُولَد الطفل مصاب بفقر الدم المنجلي إذا كان كلا الوالدين يحملان جين الخلية المنجلية. وفي الولايات المتحدة، يُصيب فقر الدم المنجلي غالبًا الأشخاص المنحدرين من أصول إفريقية ومتوسطية وشرق أوسطية.

المضاعفات

يمكن أن يؤدي فقر الدم المنجلي إلى الإصابة بعدد من المضاعفات، منها:

  • السكتة الدماغية. قد تمنع الخلايا المنجلية تدفق الدم إلى إحدى المناطق بالدماغ. وتشمل مؤشرات الإصابة بالسكتة الدماغية نوبات مرَضية، وضعف في الذراعين والساقين أو الشعور بالخدر فيهما، وصعوبات مفاجئة في الكلام، وفقدان الوعي. إذا ظهرت أي من هذه المؤشرات والأعراض على طفلك، فاطلب المساعدة الطبية على الفور. إن السكتات الدماغية يمكن أن تكون مميتة.
  • متلازمة الصدر الحادة. يمكن أن تؤدي عدوى الرئة أو الخلايا المنجلية التي تسدّ الأوعية الدموية في الرئتين، إلى حدوث مضاعفات قد تسبب الوفاه، أو ينتج عنه ألم في الصدر وحمى وصعوبة في التنفس. وقد تتطلب هذه الحالة علاجًا طبيًا طارئًا.
  • فرط ضغط الدم الرئوي. قد يُصاب الأشخاص الذين لديهم فقر دم في الخلايا المنجلية بارتفاع ضغط الدم في رئتيهم. وعادةً ما يُصاب البالغون بهذه المُضاعفة. يُعد ضيق النفس والإرهاق من الأعراض الشائعة لهذه الحالة، التي قد تكون مميتة.
  • تلف الأعضاء. إن الخلايا المنجلية التي تمنع تدفق الدم إلى الأعضاء، تُحرم الأعضاء المصابة من الدم والأكسجين. وفي حالة فقر الدم المنجلي، تكون نسبة الأكسجين منخفضة في الدم انخفاضًا مزمنًا أيضًا. وقد يؤدي هذا النقص في الدم الغني بالأكسجين إلى تلف في الأعصاب والأعضاء مثل الكلى والكبد والطحال، ويمكن أن يكون مميتًا.
  • الانحجاز الطحالي. يمكن أن يعلَق عدد كبير من الخلايا المنجلية في الطحال، ما يؤدي إلى تضخمه وربما يسبب ألمًا في البطن في الجانب الأيسر من الجسم. وقد تكون هذه الحالة مهددة للحياة. ينبغي أن يتعلم آباء الأطفال المصابين بفقر الدم المنجلي تفقد طحال الطفل بانتظام لاكتشاف ما إذا كان متضخمًا أم لا.
  • العمى. قد تسد الخلايا المنجلية الأوعية الدموية الصغيرة التي تمد العينين بالدم. وقد يسبب هذا العمى بمرور الوقت.
  • قُرح الساقين. يمكن أن يتسبب فقر الدم المنجلي في الإصابة بقُرح مفتوحة مؤلمة في الساقين.
  • الحصوات الصفراوية. تنتج عن تفكك خلايا الدم الحمراء مادة تُسمى البيليروبين. ويمكن أن يؤدي ارتفاع مستوى البيليروبين في الجسم إلى الإصابة بالحصوات الصفراوية.
  • القُساح (الانتصاب المستمر). في هذه الحالة، يمكن أن يُصاب الرجال الذين لديهم فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية بحالات مؤلمة من الانتصاب المستمر. فقد تسد الخلايا المنجلية الأوعية الدموية في العضو الذكري، ما قد يؤدي إلى الإصابة بالضعف الجنسي بمرور الوقت.
  • التخثر الوريدي العميق. يمكن أن يتسبب تمنجل الخلايا الحمراء في حدوث جلطات دموية، مع زيادة احتمالية استقرار الجلطة في أحد الأوردة العميقة (تخثر وريدي عميق) أو الرئة (انصمام رئوي). وقد تسبب أي من هاتين الحاتين ضررًا خطيرًا أو حتى تؤدي إلى الوفاة.
  • مضاعفات الحمل. قد يزيد فقر دم الخلايا المنجلية من خطورة ارتفاع ضغط الدم والإصابة بالجلطات الدموية أثناء فترة الحمل. كما قد يزيد أيضًا من خطورة حدوث إجهاض تلقائي أو ولادة مبكرة أو ولادة أجنّة منخفضة الوزن.

الوقاية

إذا كنتِ تحملين سمات الخلايا المنجلية، فمن الممكن أن تساعدِك زيارة استشاري الأمراض الوراثية قبل الحمل في فهم مدى خطورة إنجاب طفل مصاب بفقر الدم المنجلي. كما سيُوضّح لك الاستشاري العلاجات الممكِنة والتدابير الوقائية والخيارات الإنجابية.

14/05/2022
  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 21, 2021.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Oct. 23, 2021.
  5. Onimoe G, et al. Sickle cell disease: A primary care update. Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine. 2020; doi:10.3949/ccjm.87a.18051.

ذات صلة

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services

Overview

Sickle cell anemia is one of a group of inherited disorders known as sickle cell disease. It affects the shape of red blood cells, which carry oxygen to all parts of the body.

Red blood cells are usually round and flexible, so they move easily through blood vessels. In sickle cell anemia, some red blood cells are shaped like sickles or crescent moons. These sickle cells also become rigid and sticky, which can slow or block blood flow.

The current approach to treatment is to relieve pain and help prevent complications of the disease. However, newer treatments may cure people of the disease.

Red blood cells and sickle cells

Sickle cell anemia

Red blood cells are usually round and flexible. In sickle cell anemia, some red blood cells look like sickles used to cut wheat. These unusually shaped cells give the disease its name.


Symptoms

Symptoms of sickle cell anemia usually appear around 6 months of age. They vary from person to person and may change over time. Symptoms can include:

  • Anemia. Sickle cells break apart easily and die. Typical red blood cells usually live for about 120 days before they need to be replaced. But sickle cells usually die in 10 to 20 days, leaving a shortage of red blood cells. This is known as anemia. Without enough red blood cells, the body can't get enough oxygen. This causes fatigue.
  • Episodes of pain. Periodic episodes of extreme pain, called pain crises, are a major symptom of sickle cell anemia. Pain develops when sickle-shaped red blood cells block blood flow through tiny blood vessels to the chest, abdomen and joints.

    The pain varies in intensity and can last for a few hours to a few days. Some people have only a few pain crises a year. Others have a dozen or more a year. A severe pain crisis requires a hospital stay.

    Some people with sickle cell anemia also have chronic pain from bone and joint damage, ulcers, and other causes.

  • Swelling of hands and feet. Sickle-shaped red blood cells block blood circulation in the hands and feet, which can cause them to swell.
  • Frequent infections. The spleen is important for protecting against infections. Sickle cells can damage the spleen, raising the risk of developing infections. Babies and children with sickle cell anemia commonly receive vaccinations and antibiotics to prevent potentially life-threatening infections, such as pneumonia.
  • Delayed growth or puberty. Red blood cells provide the body with the oxygen and nutrients needed for growth. A shortage of healthy red blood cells can slow growth in babies and children and delay puberty in teenagers.
  • Vision problems. Tiny blood vessels that supply blood to the eyes can become plugged with sickle cells. This can damage the portion of the eye that processes visual images, called the retina, and lead to vision problems.

When to see a doctor

See your healthcare professional right away if you or your child has symptoms of sickle cell anemia, including fever or stroke.

Infections often start with a fever and can be life-threatening. Because children with sickle cell anemia are prone to infections, seek prompt medical attention for a fever greater than 101.5 degrees Fahrenheit (38.5 degrees Celsius).

Seek emergency care for symptoms of stroke, which include:

  • One-sided paralysis or weakness in the face, arms or legs.
  • Confusion.
  • Difficulty walking or talking.
  • Sudden vision changes.
  • Unexplained numbness.
  • Severe headache.

Causes

Sickle cell anemia is caused by a change in the gene that tells the body to make hemoglobin. Hemoglobin is the iron-rich compound in red blood cells that allows these cells to carry oxygen from the lungs to the rest of the body. The hemoglobin associated with sickle cell anemia causes red blood cells to become rigid, sticky and misshapen.

For a child to have sickle cell anemia, both parents must carry one copy of the sickle cell gene and pass both copies to the child.

If only one parent passes the sickle cell gene to the child, that child will have the sickle cell trait. With one typical hemoglobin gene and one sickle cell gene, people with the sickle cell trait make both typical hemoglobin and sickle cell hemoglobin.

Their blood might contain some sickle cells, but they generally don't have symptoms. They're carriers of the disease. That means they can pass the gene to their children.


Risk factors

For a baby to have sickle cell anemia, both parents must carry a sickle cell gene. In the United States, sickle cell anemia most commonly affects people of African, Mediterranean and Middle Eastern descent.


Complications

Sickle cell anemia can lead to a host of complications, including:

  • Stroke. Sickle cells can block blood flow to the brain. Signs of stroke include seizures, weakness or numbness of the arms and legs, sudden speech difficulties, and loss of consciousness. If your child has any of these signs or symptoms, seek medical treatment right away. A stroke can be fatal.
  • Acute chest syndrome. A lung infection or sickle cells blocking blood vessels in the lungs can cause this life-threatening complication. Symptoms include chest pain, fever and difficulty breathing. Acute chest syndrome might need emergency medical treatment.
  • Avascular necrosis. Sickle cells can block the blood vessels that supply blood to the bones. When the bones don't get enough blood, joints may narrow and bones can die. This can happen anywhere but most often happens in the hip.
  • Pulmonary hypertension. People with sickle cell anemia can develop high blood pressure in their lungs. This complication usually affects adults. Shortness of breath and fatigue are common symptoms of this condition, which can be fatal.
  • Organ damage. Sickle cells that block blood flow to organs deprive the affected organs of blood and oxygen. In sickle cell anemia, blood also is low in oxygen. This lack of oxygen-rich blood can damage nerves and organs, including the kidneys, liver and spleen, and can be fatal.
  • Splenic sequestration. Sickle cells can get trapped in the spleen, causing it to enlarge. This may cause abdominal pain on the left side of the body and can be life-threatening. Parents of children with sickle cell anemia can learn how to locate and feel their child's spleen for enlargement.
  • Blindness. Sickle cells can block tiny blood vessels that supply blood to the eyes. Over time, this can lead to blindness.
  • Leg ulcers. Sickle cell anemia can cause painful open sores on the legs.
  • Gallstones. The breakdown of red blood cells produces a substance called bilirubin. A high level of bilirubin in the body can lead to gallstones.
  • Priapism. Sickle cell anemia can cause painful, long-lasting erections, known as priapism. Sickle cells can block the blood vessels in the penis, which can lead to impotence over time.
  • Deep vein thrombosis. Sickled red blood cells can cause blood clots, increasing the risk of a clot lodging in a deep vein, known as deep vein thrombosis. It also increases the risk of a blood clot lodging in a lung, known as pulmonary embolism. Either can cause serious illness or even death.
  • Pregnancy complications. Sickle cell anemia can increase the risk of high blood pressure and blood clots during pregnancy. It also can increase the risk of miscarriage, premature birth and low birth weight babies.

Prevention

If you carry the sickle cell trait, it can help to see a genetic counselor before you get pregnant. A counselor can help you understand your risk of having a child with sickle cell anemia. You also can learn about possible treatments, preventive measures and reproductive options.


Dec 22, 2023

  1. Sickle cell disease. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/sickle-cell-disease. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  2. Field JJ, et al. Overview of the management and prognosis of sickle cell disease. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  3. AskMayoExpert. Sickle cell disease. Mayo Clinic; 2022.
  4. Sickle cell disease (SCD). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/sicklecell/index.html. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  5. Hoffman R, et al. Pain Management and Antiemetic Therapy in Hematologic Disorders. In: Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2023. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  6. Ferri FF. Sickle cell disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024. Elsevier; 2024. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 4, 2023.
  7. Lyfgenia (prescribing information). Bluebird Bio; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/lyfgenia. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.
  8. Casgevy (prescribing information). Vertex Pharmaceuticals; 2023. https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/casgevy. Accessed Dec. 11, 2023.

CON-XXXXXXXX

Show the heart some love!

Help us advance cardiovascular medicine.