هل يمكن أن يؤثر التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي في الرئتين؟

إجابة من أبريل شانغ ميلر، (دكتور في الطب)

رغم أن التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي يؤثر بشكل رئيسي في المفاصل، فإنه يسبب أحيانًا مرض الرئة أيضًا. أحيانًا، تظهر مشكلات الرئة قبل التهاب المفاصل وألم التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي.

يكون الرجال في الخمسينيات والستينيات من العمر المصابون بالتهاب مفاصل روماتويدي أكثر نشاطًا ولديهم تاريخ مع التدخين أكثر عرضة للإصابة بمرض الرئة المرتبط بالتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي.

تشمل مشكلات الرئة التي ترتبط غالبًا بالتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي ما يلي:

  • التندب داخل الرئتين. قد يسبب التندب المرتبط بالتهاب طويل الأمد (مرض الرئة الخلالي) ضيق التنفس والسعال الجاف المزمن والإرهاق والضعف وفقدان الشهية.
  • عقيدات الرئة. يمكن أن تتكون كتل صغيرة في الرئتين (العقيدات الروماتويدية)، وكذلك في أجزاء أخرى من الجسم. لا تسبب عقيدات الرئة عادةً أي علامات أو أعراض، ولا تشكل خطرًا للإصابة بسرطان الرئة. ومع ذلك، في بعض الحالات يمكن أن تتمزق العقدة وتتسبب في هبوط الرئة.
  • مرض الجنب. يمكن أن تصبح الأنسجة المحيطة بالرئتين، والتي تعرّف بغشاء الجنب، ملتهبة. غالبًا ما يصاحب الالتهاب الجنبي تراكمًا للسوائل بين طبقتين من غشاء الجنب (الانصباب الجنبي). وأحيانًا تزول السوائل من تلقاء نفسها. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يسبب الانصباب الجنبي الكبير ضيقًا في التنفس. ويمكن أن يسبب مرض الجنبة أيضًا حمى وألمًا عند التنفس.
  • انسداد مجاري الهواء الصغيرة. يمكن أن تصبح جدران المجاري الهوائية الصغيرة بالرئتين أكثر سُمكًا بسبب التهاب وعدوى مزمنين (توسع القصبات) أو بسبب التهاب أو إصابة (التهاب القصيبات). ويمكن أن يتسبب ذلك في تراكم المخاط في الرئتين، مع ضيق التنفس والسعال الجاف المزمن والإرهاق والضعف.

اتصل بطبيبك على الفور إذا كنت مصابًا بالتهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي وتعاني أي مشكلات في التنفس غير مبررة. في بعض الأحيان يستهدف العلاج التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي. في حالات أخرى، يشمل العلاج دواءً لكبت الجهاز المناعي أو إجراءً لإزالة السائل المحيط بالرئتين.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

Can rheumatoid arthritis affect your lungs?

Answer From April Chang-Miller, M.D.

Although rheumatoid arthritis primarily affects joints, it sometimes also causes lung disease. Occasionally, lung problems surface before the joint inflammation and pain of rheumatoid arthritis.

Men in their 50s and 60s who have more-active rheumatoid arthritis and a history of smoking are more likely to develop rheumatoid arthritis-related lung disease.

The lung problems most often linked to rheumatoid arthritis include:

  • Scarring within the lungs. Scarring related to long-term inflammation (interstitial lung disease) may cause shortness of breath, a chronic dry cough, fatigue, weakness and loss of appetite.
  • Lung nodules. Small lumps can form in the lungs (rheumatoid nodules), as well as in other parts of the body. Lung nodules usually cause no signs or symptoms, and they don't pose a risk of lung cancer. In some cases, however, a nodule can rupture and cause a collapsed lung.
  • Pleural disease. The tissue surrounding the lungs, known as the pleura (PLOOR-uh), can become inflamed. Pleural inflammation is often accompanied by a buildup of fluid between two layers of the pleura (pleural effusion). Sometimes the fluid resolves on its own. A large pleural effusion, however, can cause shortness of breath. Pleural disease may also cause a fever and pain on breathing.
  • Small airway obstruction. The walls of the lungs' small airways can become thickened because of chronic inflammation and infection (bronchiectasis) or inflamed or injured (bronchiolitis). This may cause mucus to build up in the lungs, as well as shortness of breath, a chronic dry cough, fatigue and weakness.

Contact your doctor promptly if you have rheumatoid arthritis and experience any unexplained breathing problems. Sometimes treatment is aimed at the rheumatoid arthritis. In other cases, treatment involves medication to suppress the immune system or a procedure to remove fluid surrounding the lungs.

Jan. 19, 2019 See more Expert Answers