نظرة عامة

يُعتبر الألم العصبي التالي للهربس أحد مضاعفات داء الهربس النطاقي الناتج عن فيروس الجديري المائي (الفيروس النطاقي الحماقي). يؤثر الألم العصبي التالي للهربس في الألياف العصبية والجلد، مما يسبب ألمًا حارقًا يستمر لفترة بعد اختفاء الطفح الجلدي والبثور الناتجة عن داء الهربس النطاقي.

يزيد خطر الإصابة بالألم العصبي التالي للهربس مع تقدم العمر، ويؤثر بشكل أساسي في الأشخاص الذين تجاوزوا سن الـ 60 عامًا. لا يوجد علاج للألم العصبي التالي للهربس، ولكن قد تخفف العلاجات الأعراض. بالنسبة لمعظم الأشخاص، يتحسن الألم العصبي التالي للهربس بمرور الوقت.

الأعراض

وعادةً ما تقتصر علامات وأعراض الألم العصبي التالي للهربس على المنطقة التي حدث فيها الهِربس النطاقي لأول مرة — وتقع بشكل أكثر شيوعًا في شريط حول الجذع، وعادةً ما تكون على جانب واحد من جسمك. ومع ذلك، يُعد الألم العصبي التالي للهربس شائعًا أيضًا لدى الأشخاص الذين يظهر الهربس النطاقي على وجوههم.

تتضمن العلامات والأعراض ما يلي:

  • الشعور بالألم والذي يستمر لمدة 3 شهور أو أكثر بعد التعافي من طفح الهربس. وتم وصف الألم المصاحب بأنه ألم حارق، أو حاد ويشبه الطعنات، أو عميق ومؤلم.
  • الحساسية تجاه اللمس الخفيف. لا يتحمل الأشخاص المصابون بهذه الحالة في كثير من الأحيان لمسة من الملابس على الجلد المصاب (آلام خيفية).
  • الشعور بالحكة والتنميل. وبشكل أقل شيوعًا، يمكن أن ينتج الألم العصبي التالي للهربس شعورًا بالحكة أو التنميل.

متى تزور الطبيب

قم بزيارة الطبيب عند ظهور أولى علامات الإصابة بالهريس. وغالبًا ما يبدأ الشعور بالألم قبل ملاحظة الطفح. يمكن تقليل خطر الإصابة بالألم العصبي التالي للهربس إذا بدأت بتناول أدوية مضادة للفيروسات خلال 72 ساعة من الإصابة بطفح الهربس.

الأسباب

بمجرد إصابتك بالحُماق، يظل الفيروس في جسمك لبقية حياتك. ومع تقدمك في العمر أو في حالة كان جهازك المناعي مثبطًا، على سبيل المثال من الأدوية أو العلاج الكيميائي، يمكن أم ينشط الفيروس مرة أخرى، مما يتسبب في حدوث الهربس النطاقي.

يحدث الألم العصبي التالي للهربس في حالة تلف ألياف العصب أثناء انتشار الهربس النطاقي. لا تستطيع الألياف التالفة إرسال رسائل من جلدك إلى دماغك كما تفعل عادة. وبدلًا من ذلك، تصبح الرسائل مشوشة ومبالغ فيها، مما يسبب ألمًا مزمنًا وفي الغالب ألمًا شديدًا يمكن أن يستمر لأشهر — أو سنوات حتى.

عوامل الخطر

إذا كنت تعاني من الهربس النطاقي، فقد تكون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالألم العصبي التالي للهربس نتيجة لما يلي:

  • العمر. يتجاوز عمرك 50 عامًا.
  • شدة الهربس النطاقي. تعاني من طفح جلدي شديد وألم شديد.
  • أمراض أخرى. تعاني من مرض مزمن، مثل مرض السكري.
  • تعاني من الهربس النطاقي على وجهك أو جذعك.

المضاعفات

بناءً على طول استمرار الألم العصبي التالي للهربس وقوة الألم، يمكن للمرضى المصابين به الإصابة بما يلي:

  • الاكتئاب
  • الإرهاق
  • صعوبة النوم
  • نقص الشهية
  • صعوبة التركيز

الوقاية

ثبت أن لقاح الهربس النطاقي (زوستافاكس) يقلل من خطر الإصابة بالقوباء إلى درجة كبيرة. اعتمدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء اللقاح للبالغين من عمر 50 عامًا فأكبر، وهو موصى به لكل البالغين من عمر 60 عامًا فأكبر، الذين لا يعانون حساسية تجاه اللقاح، والذين لا يتناولون الأدوية المثبطة للمناعة.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Bajwa ZH, et al. Postherpetic neuralgia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 1, 2015.
  2. Tseng HF, et al. Zoster vaccine and the risk of postherpetic neuralgia in patients who developed herpes zoster despite having received the zoster vaccine. Journal of Infectious Diseases. In press. Accessed Sept. 1, 2015.
  3. Johnson RW, et al. Postherpetic neuralgia. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2014;371:1526.
  4. Dubinsky RM, et al. Practice parameter: Treatment of postherpetic neuralgia. American Academy of Neurology. 2004;63:959.
  5. Sampathkumar P, et al. Herpes zoster (shingles) and postherpetic neuralgia. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2009;84:274.
  6. Important drug warning. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://google2.fda.gov/search?q=cache:EKB1SS0qgzQJ:www.fda.gov/downloads/safety/medwatch/safetyinformation/safetyalertsforhumanmedicalproducts/ucm213266.pdf+tramadol+suicide+risk&client=FDAgov&site=FDAgov&lr=&proxystylesheet=FDAgov&output=xml_no_dtd&ie=UTF-8&access=p&oe=UTF-8. Accessed Sept. 3, 2015.

Overview

Postherpetic neuralgia (post-hur-PET-ik noo-RAL-juh) is a complication of shingles, which is caused by the chickenpox (herpes zoster) virus. Postherpetic neuralgia affects nerve fibers and skin, causing burning pain that lasts long after the rash and blisters of shingles disappear.

The risk of postherpetic neuralgia increases with age, primarily affecting people older than 60. There's no cure, but treatments can ease symptoms. For most people, postherpetic neuralgia improves over time.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of postherpetic neuralgia are generally limited to the area of your skin where the shingles outbreak first occurred — most commonly in a band around your trunk, usually on one side of your body. However postherpetic neuralgia is also common in people whose shingles occurred on the face.

Signs and symptoms may include:

  • Pain that lasts 3 months or longer after the shingles rash has healed. The associated pain has been described as burning, sharp and jabbing, or deep and aching.
  • Sensitivity to light touch. People with the condition often can't bear even the touch of clothing on the affected skin (allodynia).
  • Itching and numbness. Less commonly, postherpetic neuralgia can produce an itchy feeling or numbness.

When to see a doctor

See a doctor at the first sign of shingles. Often the pain starts before you notice a rash. Your risk of developing postherpetic neuralgia is lessened if you begin taking antiviral medications within 72 hours of developing the shingles rash.

Causes

Once you've had chickenpox, the virus remains in your body for the rest of your life. As you age or if your immune system is suppressed, such as from medications or chemotherapy, the virus can reactivate, causing shingles.

Postherpetic neuralgia occurs if your nerve fibers are damaged during an outbreak of shingles. Damaged fibers can't send messages from your skin to your brain as they normally do. Instead, the messages become confused and exaggerated, causing chronic, often excruciating pain that can last months — or even years.

Risk factors

When you have shingles, you might be at greater risk of developing postherpetic neuralgia as a result of:

  • Age. You're older than 50.
  • Severity of shingles. You had a severe rash and severe pain.
  • Other illness. You have a chronic disease, such as diabetes.
  • You had shingles on your face or torso.

Complications

Depending on how long postherpetic neuralgia lasts and how painful it is, people with the condition can develop:

  • Depression
  • Fatigue
  • Difficulty sleeping
  • Lack of appetite
  • Difficulty concentrating

Prevention

The herpes zoster vaccine (Zostavax) has been shown to greatly decrease the risk of shingles. The vaccine is approved by the Food and Drug Administration for adults age 50 and older and is recommended for all adults 60 and older who aren't allergic to the vaccine and who don't take immune-suppressing medications.

Sept. 16, 2015
References
  1. Bajwa ZH, et al. Postherpetic neuralgia. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 1, 2015.
  2. Tseng HF, et al. Zoster vaccine and the risk of postherpetic neuralgia in patients who developed herpes zoster despite having received the zoster vaccine. Journal of Infectious Diseases. In press. Accessed Sept. 1, 2015.
  3. Johnson RW, et al. Postherpetic neuralgia. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2014;371:1526.
  4. Dubinsky RM, et al. Practice parameter: Treatment of postherpetic neuralgia. American Academy of Neurology. 2004;63:959.
  5. Sampathkumar P, et al. Herpes zoster (shingles) and postherpetic neuralgia. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2009;84:274.
  6. Important drug warning. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://google2.fda.gov/search?q=cache:EKB1SS0qgzQJ:www.fda.gov/downloads/safety/medwatch/safetyinformation/safetyalertsforhumanmedicalproducts/ucm213266.pdf+tramadol+suicide+risk&client=FDAgov&site=FDAgov&lr=&proxystylesheet=FDAgov&output=xml_no_dtd&ie=UTF-8&access=p&oe=UTF-8. Accessed Sept. 3, 2015.