التشخيص

سيقيمك الطبيب تقييمًا مفصلاً لاستبعاد الحالات الأخرى المتعلقة بالجهاز العصبي (الحالات العصبية) والتي تتشابه علاماتها وأعراضها مع تلك الخاصة بالتهاب النخاع البصري. بتمييز التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) عن التصلب المتعدد والحالات المرضية الأخرى، تضمن أنك تتلقى الوسيلة العلاجية الأكثر تناسبًا معك.

لتشخيص حالتك، قد يراجع طبيبك سجلك الطبي والأعراض ويجري فحوصات بدنية. قد ينفذ الطبيب أيضًا:

  • الفحص العصبي. سيفحص اختصاصي الأعصاب الحركة وقوة العضلة والتنسيق والشعور والذاكرة ووظائف التفكير (المعرفية) والرؤية والنطق. قد يتم إشراك طبيب عيون (اختصاصي رأب العيون) في الفحص أيضًا.
  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). يستخدِم التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي مغناطيسات قوية والموجات الراديوية لإنشاء صور مفصلة للدماغ والأعصاب البصرية والحبل الشوكي. قد يتمكن طبيبك من الكشف عن الآفات أو المناطق التالفة في الدماغ، أو الأعصاب البصرية أو الحبل الشوكي.
  • اختبارات الدم. قد يفحص الطبيب الدم بحثًا عن الأجسام المضادة الذاتية للغلوبيولين المناعي (وتُعرف أيضًا ببروتينات الأكوابورين-4 المضادة الذاتية)؛ مما يساعد الأطباء على تمييز التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) من التصلب المتعدد (MS) والحالات المرضية العصبية الأخرى. هذا الاختبار يساعد الأطباء على التشخيص المبكر لحالة التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO). قد يُطلَب أيضًا إجراء اختبار للجسم المضاد، البروتين السكري للخلايا الدبقية قليلة التغصن المنتجة للميالين، فحصًا عن وجود اضطراب التهابي آخر يحاكي التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO).
  • البزل القطني (البزل الشوكي). في أثناء هذا الاختبار، سيقوم الطبيب بإدخال إبرة في أسفل الظهر لإزالة كمية صغيرة من السائل النخاعي. يختبر الأطباء مستويات الخلايا المناعية والبروتينات والأجسام المضادة في السائل. قد يساعد هذا الاختبار الطبيب على تمييز التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) من التصلب المتعدد (MS).

    في التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO)، قد تظهر في السائل النخاعي مستويات عالية واضحة من خلايا الدم البيضاء في أثناء نوبات التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO)، وتكون أكثر من النسبة المعتادة التي تظهر في التصلب المتعدد (MS)، على الرغم من عدم حدوث ذلك دائمًا.

  • اختبار استجابة المحفزات. لمعرفة كيفية استجابة الدماغ للمحفزات مثل الأصوات أو المناظر أو اللمس، سوف تخضع لفحوصات تُسمى اختبارات الجهد المُثار (وقد يُطلق عليها أيضًا اختبارات الاستجابة المُثارة).

    في أثناء تلك الاختبارات، يوصل الطبيب أسلاك صغيرة (أقطاب كهربائية) بفروة الرأس، وفي بعض الحالات، بشحمة الأذن والعنق والذراع والساق والظهر. والجهاز المتصل بالأقطاب الكهربائية يقوم بتسجيل استجابة الدماغ للمحفزات. إن هذه الاختبارات تساعد الطبيب في العثور على الآفات أو المناطق التالفة في الدماغ بالأعصاب أو الحبل الشوكي أو العصب البصري أو الدماغ أو جذع الدماغ.

العلاج

لا يمكن علاج التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري، على الرغم من أن التخلص منه على المدى البعيد ممكن عن طريق الإدارة الصحيحة. يتضمن علاج التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري علاجات تعكس الأعراض الحديثة وتمنع النوبات المستقبلية.

  • عكس الأعراض الحديثة. في مرحلة مبكرة من هجوم مرض التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) قد يعطيك طبيبك كورتيكوستيرويد، ميثيل بريدنيزولون (سولو-ميدرول)، من خلال وريد في ذراعك (بشكل وريدي). ستعطى الدواء لمدة خمسة أيام، وبعد ذلك سيتم تقليل كمية الدواء تدريجيًا على مدى عدة أيام.

    يوصى بتبادل البلازما في كثير من الأحيان كعلاج أول أو ثانٍ، وذلك عادةً بالإضافة إلى العلاج بالستيرويد. في هذا الإجراء، يتم إزالة بعض الدم من جسمك، وتُفصل خلايا الدم ميكانيكيًا من السائل (البلازما). يخلط الأطباء خلايا الدم مع محلول بديل ويعاد الدم بعدها إلى جسمك. يمكن للأطباء أيضًا المساعدة في إدارة الأعراض الأخرى التي قد تختبرها، مثل الألم أو مشاكل العضلات.

  • منع الهجمات المستقبلية. قد يوصي الأطباء بأن تأخذ جرعة أقل من الكورتيكوستيرويدات لفترة زمنية طويلة لمنع هجمات وانتكاسات مرض التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) المستقبلية.

    قد يوصي طبيبك أيضًا بأخذ دواء يثبط جهاز المناعة، بالإضافة إلى الكورتيكوستيرويدات، لمنع هجمات وانتكاسات مرض التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري (NMO) المستقبلية. تشمل الأدوية المثبطة للمناعة التي قد توصف آزاثيوبرين (إيموران، أزاسان) أو ميكوفينولات موفيتيل (سيلسيبت) أو ريتوكسيماب (ريتوكسان).

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

التهاب النخاع والعصب البصري - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

15/12/2017
  1. Weinshenker BG, et al. Neuromyelitis spectrum disorders. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2017;92:663.
  2. Daroff RB, et al. Multiple sclerosis and other inflammatory demyelinating diseases of the central nervous system. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  3. Yanoff M, et al., eds. Inflammatory optic neuropathies and neuroretinitis. In: Ophthalmology. 4th ed. Edinburgh, U.K.: Mosby Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  4. Glisson CC. Neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  5. Symptoms and diagnosis of NMO. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. http://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Related-Conditions/Neuromyelitis-Optica-(NMO)/Symptoms-and-Diagnosis. Accessed Sept. 10, 2017.
  6. Wingerechuk DM, et al. Revised diagnostic criteria for neuromyelitis optica. Neurology. 2006;66:1485.
  7. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 27, 2017.
  8. Network of pediatric MS centers. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. http://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Who-Gets-MS/Pediatric-MS/Care-for-Pediatric-MS-(Centers-of-Excellence). Accessed Sept. 10, 2017.
  9. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 27, 2017.

Diagnosis

Your doctor will perform a thorough evaluation to rule out other nervous system (neurological) conditions that have signs and symptoms similar to neuromyelitis optica. Distinguishing NMO from multiple sclerosis and other conditions ensures that you receive the most appropriate treatment.

To diagnose your condition, your doctor will review your medical history and symptoms and perform a physical examination. Your doctor may also perform:

  • Neurological examination. A neurologist will examine your movement, muscle strength, coordination, sensation, memory and thinking (cognitive) functions, and vision and speech. An eye doctor (ophthalmologist) also may be involved in your examination.
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). An MRI uses powerful magnets and radio waves to create a detailed view of your brain, optic nerves and spinal cord. Your doctor may be able to detect lesions or damaged areas in your brain, optic nerves or spinal cord.
  • Blood tests. Your doctor might test your blood for the autoantibody NMO-IgG (also known as the aquaporin-4 autoantibody — AQP4), which helps doctors distinguish NMO from MS and other neurological conditions. This test helps doctors make an early diagnosis of NMO. A myelin oligodendrocyte glycoprotein (MOG-IgG) antibody test may also be requested to look for another inflammatory disorder that mimics NMO.
  • Lumbar puncture (spinal tap). During this test, your doctor will insert a needle into your lower back to remove a small amount of spinal fluid. Doctors test the levels of immune cells, proteins and antibodies in the fluid. This test may help your doctor differentiate NMO from MS.

    In NMO, the spinal fluid may show markedly elevated white blood cells during NMO episodes, greater than normally seen in MS, although this doesn't always happen.

  • Stimuli response test. To learn how well your brain responds to stimuli such as sounds, sights or touch, you'll undergo a test called evoked potentials (they may also be called evoked response tests).

    During these tests, doctors attach small wires (electrodes) to your scalp and, in some cases, your earlobes, neck, arm, leg and back. Equipment attached to the electrodes records your brain's responses to stimuli. These tests help your doctor to find lesions or damaged areas in the nerves, spinal cord, optic nerve, brain or brainstem.

Treatment

Neuromyelitis optica can't be cured, though long-term remission may be possible with the right management. NMO treatment involves therapies to reverse recent symptoms and prevent future attacks.

  • Reversing recent symptoms. In the early stage of an NMO attack, your doctor may give you a corticosteroid medication, methylprednisolone (Solu-Medrol), through a vein in your arm (intravenously). You'll be given the medication for about five days, and then the medication will be tapered off slowly over several days.

    Plasma exchange is frequently recommended as the first or second treatment, usually in addition to steroid therapy. In this procedure, some blood is removed from your body, and blood cells are mechanically separated from fluid (plasma). Doctors mix your blood cells with a replacement solution and return the blood into your body. Doctors can also help manage other symptoms you may experience, such as pain or muscle problems.

  • Preventing future attacks. Doctors may recommend that you take a lower dose of corticosteroids for an extensive period of time to prevent future NMO attacks and relapses.

    Your doctor may also recommend taking a medication that suppresses your immune system, in addition to corticosteroids, to prevent future NMO attacks. Immunosuppressive medications that may be prescribed include azathioprine (Imuran, Azasan), mycophenolate mofetil (Cellcept) or rituximab (Rituxan).

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Neuromyelitis optica care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 15, 2017
References
  1. Weinshenker BG, et al. Neuromyelitis spectrum disorders. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2017;92:663.
  2. Daroff RB, et al. Multiple sclerosis and other inflammatory demyelinating diseases of the central nervous system. In: Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  3. Yanoff M, et al., eds. Inflammatory optic neuropathies and neuroretinitis. In: Ophthalmology. 4th ed. Edinburgh, U.K.: Mosby Elsevier; 2014. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  4. Glisson CC. Neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  5. Symptoms and diagnosis of NMO. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. http://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Related-Conditions/Neuromyelitis-Optica-(NMO)/Symptoms-and-Diagnosis. Accessed Sept. 10, 2017.
  6. Wingerechuk DM, et al. Revised diagnostic criteria for neuromyelitis optica. Neurology. 2006;66:1485.
  7. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 27, 2017.
  8. Network of pediatric MS centers. National Multiple Sclerosis Society. http://www.nationalmssociety.org/What-is-MS/Who-Gets-MS/Pediatric-MS/Care-for-Pediatric-MS-(Centers-of-Excellence). Accessed Sept. 10, 2017.
  9. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 27, 2017.

Connect with others

News, connections and conversations for your health

Recent posts