نظرة عامة

الشامات هي نوع شائع من حالات نمو الجلد. غالبًا ما تظهر على هيئة بقع صغيرة ذات لون بني داكن وتنتج من مجموعات من الخلايا الصباغية. تظهر الشامات عامةً في أثناء مرحلة الطفولة والمراهقة. يمتلك معظم الأشخاص نحو 10 إلى 40 شامة، بعضها قد يتغير مظهرها أو تختفي بمرور الوقت.

تُعد معظم الشامات غير ضارة. نادرًا ما تصبح سرطانية. تعتبر مراقبة الشامات وغيرها من البقع المصطبغة خطوة مهمة في الكشف عن سرطان الجلد، وخاصةً الورم الميلاني الخبيث.

الاسم الطبي للشامات هو الوحمة.

الأعراض

تكون الشامة العادية عبارة عن بقعة بنية اللون. ولكن الشامات تأتي بألوان وأشكال وأحجام مختلفة:

  • اللون والنسيج. يمكن أن تكون الشامات بلون أسود أو أسود مصفر أو أحمر أو أزرق أو وردي. ويمكن أن تكون ملساء أو مجعدة أو مسطحة أو بارزة. وقد تحتوي على شعر ينمو من داخلها.
  • الشكل. معظم الشمات تكون بيضاوية أو مستديرة.
  • الحجم. عادةً ما يبلغ حجم قطر الشمات أقل من 1/4 بوصة (حوالي 6 مليمترات) — حجم ممحاة قلم رصاص. نادرًا، يمكن أن تكون الشمات التي تظهر عند الولادة (الوحمات الولادية) كبيرة جدًا في الحجم، وتغطي مناطق كبيرة في الوجه أو الجذع أو الطرف.

يمكن أن تظهر الشمات في أي مكان في جسدك، بما في ذلك فروة الرأس والإبطين وتحت أظافرك وبين أصابع يدك وأصابع قدمك. يظهر لدى بعض الأشخاص من 10 إلى 40 شامة. العديد من هذه الشمات تظهر في عمر 50. قد يتغير مظهر الشمات أو تزول مع مرور الوقت. قد تتسبب التغيرات الهرمونية التي تحدث في مرحلة المراهقة وفي الحمل في أن تصبح الشمات أغمق وأكبر.

شامات غير اعتيادية يمكنها الإشارة إلى وجود ورم ميلاني

يمكن لهذا الدليل من الحروف "غ ح ت ق ت" أن يحدد ما إذا كانت الشامة أو البقعة يمكن أن تدل على سرطان الميلانوما أو غيره من أنواع سرطان الجلد:

  • غ للشكل غير المتناظر. أحد الجزأين مختلف عن الآخر.
  • "ح" للحدود. للبحث عن شامات بحدود غير منتظمة، مثلومة أو متقوسة.
  • "ت" لتغيرات اللون. للبحث عن التكوينات النامية ذات اللون المتغير أو ذات الألوان المتعددة أو ذات اللون غير المتساوي.
  • ق للقُطر. لبحث عن نمو جديد في شامة أكبر من 1/4 بوصة (حوالي 6 ملليميترات).
  • ت تطوير. للبحث عن الشامات ذات التغير في الحجم أو الشكل أو اللون أو الارتفاع وخاصةً إذا كان جزء من الشامة أو كلها يتحول إلى الأسود. وقد تتطور الشامات أيضًا لتظهر علامات وأعراض جديدة، مثل الحكة أو النزف الجديدين.

تتنوع الشامات السرطانية (خبيث) بشكل كبير في المظهر. وقد تظهر بعضها كل السمات المذكورة فيما سبق. يمكن أن يكون لدىّ الآخرين واحد أو اثنان.

متى تزور الطبيب

قم بتحديد موعد مع طبيبك إذا ما بدت الشامات غير طبيعية أو في حالة نموها أو تغيرها.

الأسباب

تحدث الشامات عندما تنمو الخلايا الموجودة في الجلد (الخلايا الميلانينية) في صورة مجموعات أو كتل. الخلايا الميلانينية مُوزعة في أنحاء جلدك وتنتج الميلانين، صبغة طبيعية تُعطي الجلد لونه.

المضاعفات

يُعد سرطان الميلانوما من المضاعفات الأساسية للشامات. يزيد الخطر لدى بعض الأشخاص عن المتوسط، من تحول الشامات إلى خلايا سرطانية وأن تتطور إلى سرطان الميلانوما. تشمل العوامل التي تزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الميلانوما ما يلي:

  • الولادة بشامات كبيرة. تسمى هذه الأنواع من الشامات باسم الوحمات الولادية. يتم تصنيف هذه الشامات لدى الرضيع إذا كان قطرها أكبر من بوصتين (5 سم). حتى الشامة الكبيرة نادرًا ما تصبح سرطانية ولا يحدث ذلك أبدًا قبل بلوغ الطفل سن البلوغ.
  • وجود شامات غير طبيعية. تُعرف الشامات الأكبر من الشامة العادية والتي لا يكون شكلها منتظمًا باسم الوحمات اللانمطية (خلل التنسج). من المحتمل أن تتحول إلى وذمة. وعادة ما يكون مركز هذه الشامات بنيًا داكنًا بحدود أخف لونًا وغير متساوية.
  • وجود الكثير من الشامات. يشير وجود أكثر من 50 شامة عادية إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان الميلانوما. أوضحت بعض الدراسات وجود دليل على أن عدد الشامات لديك يتنبأ بخطر السرطان. أظهرت إحداهما أن الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 50 عامًا والذين لديهم 20 شامة أو أكثر على ذراعيهم معرضون بشكل متزايد لخطر الإصابة بسرطان الميلانوما. كما أوضحت دراسة أخرى العلاقة بين عدد الشامات لدى النساء وخطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي.
  • وجود تاريخ شخصي أو عائلي للإصابة بسرطان الميلانوما. في حالة الإصابة بسرطان الميلانوما من قبل، فأنت في خطر متزايد من تحول الشامة إلى شامة سرطانية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، بعض أنواع الشامات غير النموذجية تؤدي إلى شكل وراثي من ورم الميلانوما.

الوقاية

قد تساعد التدابير التالية على الحد من تطور الشامات والمضاعفات الرئيسية للشامات — الورم الميلانيني.

مراقبة التغييرات التي تطرأ

تعرف على موقع الشامات ونمطها. افحص جلدك بانتظام للبحث عن التغييرات التي يمكنها الإشارة إلى الورم الميلاني. قم باختبارات ذاتية شهريًا خاصة إذا كان لديك تاريخ عائلي مع مرض الورم الميلاني. قم بالفحص من الرأس إلى أخمص القدمين، بما في ذلك فروة الرأس وراحتي الكف والأظافر والإبطين والصدر والساقين والقدمين بالإضافة إلى باطن القدم والفراغات بين أصابع القدم بمساعدة المرآة. تفحَّص أيضًا المنطقة التناسلية والمنطقة بين الأرداف.

تحدث إلى طبيبك حول عوامل خطر الورم الميلاني وما إذا كنت في حاجة إلى فحص جلدي متخصص على أساس روتيني.

احمِ بشرتك

اتخذ التدابير لحماية بشرتك من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية (UV)، مثل أشعة الشمس أو أسرة التسمير. ترتبط الأشعة فوق البنفسجية بزيادة خطورة الإصابة بالورم الميلاني. ويميل الأطفال الذين لم يتم حمايتهم من التعرض لأشعة الشمس إلى الإصابة بالمزيد من الشامات.

  • تجنب أشعة الشمس وقت الذروة. بالنسبة للعديد من الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في أمريكا الشمالية، تكون أشعة الشمس في ذروتها في الفترة التي تتراوح بين 10 صباحًا و4 مساءً. لذلك عليك تحديد موعد الأنشطة الخارجية في أوقات أخرى من اليوم، حتى في الأيام الملبدة بالغيوم أو في فصل الشتاء.
  • استخدم واقي الشمس على مدار السنة. ضع واقي الشمس مدة 30 دقيقة قبل الخروج من المنزل، حتى في الأيام الملبدة بالغيوم. استخدم واقيًا من الشمس واسع الطيف بعامل حماية من الشمس (SPF) 15 على الأقل. ضع واقي الشمس بكمية كبيرة، وأعد وضعه كل ساعتين — أو بشكل أكثر تكررًا إذا كنت تسبح أو تتصبب عرقًا. توصِي الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأمراض الجلدية (American Academy of Dermatology) باستخدام واقيات الشمس واسعة الطيف مقاومة للماء ذات عامل حماية من الشمس يصل إلى 30 على الأقل.
  • التغطية. تساعد النظارات الشمسية، والقبعات عريضة الحواف، والأكمام الطويلة وغيرها من الملابس الواقية على تجنب أضرار الأشعة فوق البنفسجية الضارة. قد تحتاج أيضًا إلى التفكير في الملابس المصنعة من قماش تمت معالجته خصيصًا لحجب الأشعة فوق البنفسجية.
  • تجنب مصابيح وأسِرّة تسمير البشرة. تبعث مصابيح التسمير أشعة فوق بنفسجية (UV)، كما يمكن أن تزيد من خطر الإصابة بسرطان الجلد.

09/01/2018
  1. Moles. MedlinePlus. https://medlineplus.gov/moles.html. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  2. Argenziano G, et al. Twenty nevi on the arms: A simple rule to identify patients younger than 50 years of age at higher risk for melanoma. European Journal of Cancer Prevention. 2014;23:458.
  3. Wise J. Number of moles could predict breast cancer risk. BMJ. 2014;348:g3739. http://www.bmj.com/content/348/bmj.g3739.full.print? Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  4. Wolff K, et al. Melanoma precursors and primary cutaneous melanoma. In: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology. 8th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2017.
  5. Prevention guidelines. Skin Cancer Foundation. http://www.skincancer.org/prevention/sun-protection/prevention-guidelines. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  6. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 6, 2017.
  7. What does a mole look like? National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/prevention/skin/molephotos. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  8. Common moles, dysplastic nevi, and risk of melanoma. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/moles. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  9. Hawryluk EB, et al. Pediatric melanoma, moles, and sun safety. Pediatric Clinics of North America. 2014;61:279.
  10. Sunscreens. American Academy of Dermatology. http://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/sunscreens#.UbdQaJzm9lP. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  11. Sunscreen: How to help protect your skin from the sun. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resourcesforyou/consumers/buyingusingmedicinesafely/understandingover-the-countermedicines/ucm239463.htm. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  12. 5 signs your child's mole needs to be checked. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/bumps-and-growths/moles/moles-in-children. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  13. Skin cancer (including melanoma) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  14. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Melanoma. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  15. Habif TP. Nevi and malignant melanoma. In: Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy. 6th ed. St. Louis, Mo.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  16. How can I tell if I have skin cancer? SkinCancerNet. http://www.skincarephysicians.com/skincancernet/skin_examinations.html. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.

Overview

Moles are a common type of skin growth. They often appear as small, dark brown spots and are caused by clusters of pigmented cells. Moles generally appear during childhood and adolescence. Most people have 10 to 40 moles, some of which may change in appearance or fade away over time.

Most moles are harmless. Rarely, they become cancerous. Monitoring moles and other pigmented patches is an important step in detecting skin cancer, especially malignant melanoma.

The medical term for moles is nevi.

Symptoms

The typical mole is a brown spot. But moles come in different colors, shapes and sizes:

  • Color and texture. Moles can be brown, tan, black, red, blue or pink. They can be smooth, wrinkled, flat or raised. They may have hair growing from them.
  • Shape. Most moles are oval or round.
  • Size. Moles are usually less than 1/4 inch (about 6 millimeters) in diameter — the size of a pencil eraser. Rarely, moles present at birth (congenital nevi) can be much bigger, covering wide areas of the face, torso or a limb.

Moles can develop anywhere on your body, including your scalp, armpits, under your nails, and between your fingers and toes. Most people have 10 to 40 moles. Many of these develop by age 50. Moles may change in appearance or fade away over time. Hormonal changes of adolescence and pregnancy may cause moles to become darker and larger.

Unusual moles that may indicate melanoma

This ABCDE guide can help you determine if a mole or a spot may indicate melanoma or other skin cancers:

  • A is for asymmetrical shape. One half is unlike the other half.
  • B is for border. Look for moles with irregular, notched or scalloped borders.
  • C is for color. Look for growths that have changed color, have many colors or have uneven color.
  • D is for diameter. Look for new growth in a mole larger than 1/4 inch (about 6 millimeters).
  • E is for evolving. Watch for moles that change in size, shape, color or height, especially if part or all of a mole turns black. Moles may also evolve to develop new signs and symptoms, such as itchiness or bleeding.

Cancerous (malignant) moles vary greatly in appearance. Some may show all of the features listed above. Others may have only one or two.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor if a mole looks unusual, grows or changes.

Causes

Moles are caused when cells in the skin (melanocytes) grow in clusters or clumps. Melanocytes are distributed throughout your skin and produce melanin, the natural pigment that gives your skin its color.

Complications

Melanoma is the main complication of moles. Some people have a higher than average risk of their moles becoming cancerous and developing into melanoma. Factors that increase your risk of melanoma include:

  • Being born with large moles. These types of moles are called congenital nevi. On an infant, such moles are classified as large if they're more than 2 inches (5 centimeters) in diameter. Even a large mole seldom becomes cancerous and almost never before the child reaches puberty.
  • Having unusual moles. Moles that are bigger than a common mole and irregular in shape are known as atypical (dysplastic) nevi. They tend to be hereditary. And they often have dark brown centers and lighter, uneven borders.
  • Having many moles. Having more than 50 ordinary moles indicates an increased risk of melanoma. Two studies add to the evidence that the number of your moles predict cancer risk. One showed that people under 50 years old who have 20 or more moles on their arms are at increased risk of melanoma. Another showed a relationship between the number of women's moles and breast cancer risk.
  • Having a personal or family history of melanoma. If you've had melanoma before, you are at increased risk of a mole becoming cancerous. In addition, some types of atypical moles lead to a genetic form of melanoma.

Prevention

The following measures can help limit the development of moles and the main complication of moles — melanoma.

Watch for changes

Become familiar with the location and pattern of your moles. Regularly examine your skin to look for changes that may signal melanoma. Do self-exams once a month, especially if you have a family history of melanoma. With the help of mirrors, do a head-to-toe check, including your scalp, palms and fingernails, armpits, chest, legs, and your feet, including the soles and the spaces between the toes. Also check your genital area and between your buttocks.

Talk with your doctor about your risk factors for melanoma and whether you need a professional skin exam on a routine basis.

Protect your skin

Take measures to protect your skin from ultraviolet (UV) radiation, such as from the sun or tanning beds. UV radiation has been linked to increased melanoma risk. And children who haven't been protected from sun exposure tend to develop more moles.

  • Avoid peak sun times. For many people in North America, the sun's rays are strongest between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. Schedule outdoor activities for other times of the day, even on cloudy days or in winter.
  • Use sunscreen year-round. Apply sunscreen about 30 minutes before going outdoors, even on cloudy days. Use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 15. Apply it generously and reapply every two hours — or more often if you're swimming or sweating. The American Academy of Dermatology recommends using a broad-spectrum, water-resistant sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30.
  • Cover up. Sunglasses, broad-brimmed hats, long sleeves and other protective clothing can help you avoid damaging UV rays. You might also want to consider clothing that's made with fabric specially treated to block UV radiation.
  • Avoid tanning lamps and beds. Tanning lamps and beds emit UV rays and can increase your risk of skin cancer.

Jan. 09, 2018
References
  1. Moles. MedlinePlus. https://medlineplus.gov/moles.html. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  2. Argenziano G, et al. Twenty nevi on the arms: A simple rule to identify patients younger than 50 years of age at higher risk for melanoma. European Journal of Cancer Prevention. 2014;23:458.
  3. Wise J. Number of moles could predict breast cancer risk. BMJ. 2014;348:g3739. http://www.bmj.com/content/348/bmj.g3739.full.print? Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  4. Wolff K, et al. Melanoma precursors and primary cutaneous melanoma. In: Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology. 8th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2017.
  5. Prevention guidelines. Skin Cancer Foundation. http://www.skincancer.org/prevention/sun-protection/prevention-guidelines. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  6. Gibson LE (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 6, 2017.
  7. What does a mole look like? National Cancer Institute. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/prevention/skin/molephotos. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  8. Common moles, dysplastic nevi, and risk of melanoma. http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/moles. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  9. Hawryluk EB, et al. Pediatric melanoma, moles, and sun safety. Pediatric Clinics of North America. 2014;61:279.
  10. Sunscreens. American Academy of Dermatology. http://www.aad.org/media-resources/stats-and-facts/prevention-and-care/sunscreens#.UbdQaJzm9lP. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  11. Sunscreen: How to help protect your skin from the sun. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/resourcesforyou/consumers/buyingusingmedicinesafely/understandingover-the-countermedicines/ucm239463.htm. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  12. 5 signs your child's mole needs to be checked. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/public/diseases/bumps-and-growths/moles/moles-in-children. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  13. Skin cancer (including melanoma) — Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  14. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Melanoma. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Churchill Livingstone Elsevier; 2014. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  15. Habif TP. Nevi and malignant melanoma. In: Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy. 6th ed. St. Louis, Mo.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.
  16. How can I tell if I have skin cancer? SkinCancerNet. http://www.skincarephysicians.com/skincancernet/skin_examinations.html. Accessed Oct. 6, 2017.