诊断

如果您出现偏头痛或有偏头痛家族史,受过头痛治疗训练的医生(神经科医生)可能会根据您的病史、症状以及体格检查和神经学检查来诊断偏头痛。

如果您的状况不常见、很复杂或突然加剧,则用来排除其他疼痛原因的检测可包括:

  • 磁共振成像。MRI 扫描使用强大的磁场和无线电波来产生大脑和血管的详细图像。MRI 扫描可帮助医生诊断肿瘤、卒中、脑出血、感染,以及其他脑部和神经系统(神经学)疾病。
  • CT 扫描。CT 扫描使用一系列 X 线来创建您脑部的详细横截面图像。这可帮助医生诊断肿瘤、感染、脑损伤、脑出血以及可能导致头痛的其他医疗问题。

治疗

偏头痛治疗的目的是消除症状和预防未来发作。

很多药物都可以用来治疗偏头痛。用于治疗偏头痛的药物分为两大类:

  • 缓解疼痛的药物。也被称为急性或顿挫治疗,在偏头痛发作时服用,旨在消除症状。
  • 预防性用药。这些类型的药物要定期服用,通常是每天服用,以此降低偏头痛的严重程度或频率。

治疗选择取决于头痛的频率和严重程度,是否伴有恶心和呕吐,头痛对您身体的伤害程度,以及患有的其他疾病。

缓解药物

用于缓解偏头痛的药物在预示偏头痛的最初体征出现时就服下效果最好——只要偏头痛的体征和症状出现,就立即服药。可用于治疗这种疾病的药物包括:

  • 止痛药。这些非处方或处方止痛药包括阿司匹林或布洛芬(Advil、Motrin IB 等)。如果用药时间过长,这些药物可能会导致药物滥用性头痛,并且可能会引发胃肠道溃疡和出血。

    咖啡因、阿司匹林和对乙酰氨基酚复方偏头痛缓解药物(埃克塞德林)可能有用,但是通常只对轻微偏头痛有效。

  • 曲普坦类。有些处方药,例如舒马普坦(Imitrex、Tosymra)和利扎曲坦(Maxalt),可作为治疗偏头痛的处方药,因为它们可以阻断大脑中的疼痛通路。这些药物可通过药丸、注射剂或鼻喷雾给药,能够缓解多种偏头痛症状。但对于有卒中或心脏病发作风险的人,它们可能并不安全。
  • 双氢麦角胺(D.H.E. 45、Migranal)。此类药物的给药方式为鼻喷雾或注射剂,对于持续时间往往超过 24 小时的偏头痛来说,在开始出现偏头痛症状后立即给药效果最佳。副作用可能包括加剧与偏头痛有关的呕吐和恶心。

    伴有冠状动脉疾病、高血压、肾脏或肝病的患者应避免使用双氢麦角胺。

  • 拉司米地坦(Reyvow)。这种新型口服片剂已被批准用于治疗偏头痛(无论有无先兆)。药物试验显示,拉司米地坦可显著改善疼痛、恶心以及对光线和声音的敏感性。拉司米地坦有镇静作用并且会引起头晕,因此建议服用者至少八小时内不要开车或操作机械设备。拉司米地坦也不应与会抑制中枢神经系统的酒精或其他药物一起服用。
  • Ubrogepant(Ubrelvy)。这种口服降钙素基因相关肽受体拮抗剂已被批准用于治疗成人急性偏头痛(无论有无先兆)。这是被批准用于治疗偏头痛的第一种新药物类型。药物试验显示,相较于安慰剂,ubrogepant 在服用两小时后能更有效地缓解疼痛和其他偏头痛症状,如恶心以及对光线和声音的敏感性。常见的副作用包括口干、恶心和过度嗜睡。Ubrogepant 不宜与 CYP3A4 的强抑制剂药物同时服用。
  • 阿片类药物。对于不能服用其他偏头痛药物的偏头痛患者,麻醉用阿片类药物(尤其是含有可待因的)可能有所帮助。但由于它们有很强的成瘾性,因此一般仅在其他治疗方法无效时才能使用。
  • 止吐药。如果您患有先兆偏头痛,伴恶心和呕吐,这些药物可能很有用。止吐药包括氯丙嗪、胃复安(Reglan)或丙氯拉嗪(Compro)。它们通常与止痛药物一起使用。

预防性药物

药物可以帮助预防频繁的偏头痛。如果您有频繁、长期或严重的头痛而治疗对其无效,则医生可能会建议您使用预防性药物。

预防性药物旨在减少偏头痛发作的频率,发作的严重程度和持续的时间。治疗选择包括:

  • 降压药。这些药物包括 β 受体阻滞剂,例如普萘洛尔(Inderal、Innopran Xl等)和酒石酸美托洛尔(Lopressor)。钙通道阻滞剂,比如维拉帕米(Tarka、Verelan),有助于预防先兆偏头痛。
  • 抗抑郁药。三环类抗抑郁药(阿米替林)可以预防偏头痛。由于阿米替林存在嗜睡和体重增加等副作用,可能需要开其他抗抑郁药来替代。
  • 抗癫痫药。丙戊酸钠和托吡酯(Topamax)可能帮助您减少偏头痛的发生,但可能引起头晕、体重变化、恶心等副作用。
  • 肉毒杆菌注射剂。部分成年人每 12 周左右注射一次 A 型肉毒杆菌毒素(Botox)有助于预防偏头痛。
  • 降钙素基因相关肽(CGRP)单克隆抗体。Erenumab-aooe(Aimovig)、fremanezumab-vfrm(Ajovy)和 galcanezumab-gnlm(Emgality)是美国食品药品监督管理局批准的用于治疗偏头痛的新药。这些药物每月注射一次。最常见的副作用是注射部位的反应。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

当开始出现偏头痛的症状时,试着走进一间安静、黑暗的房间。闭上双眼,休息或小睡一会。将凉毛巾或将冰袋裹在毛巾或衣物中放置在前额或颈背部。

可缓解有先兆偏头痛的其他操作包括:

  • 尝试松弛技术。生物反馈和其他形式的放松培训可教您处理压力状况的方法,这会帮助减少偏头痛的发作次数。
  • 养成睡眠和饮食习惯。睡眠时间不要太多或太少。设定和遵从一致的日常睡眠和起床时间计划。尝试每日在同一时间进餐。
  • 多摄入液体。保持水分充足(尤其是饮用水)可能有所帮助。
  • 记头痛日记。即使您就医后也要继续记录头痛日记。这将帮助您详细了解触发您偏头痛的因素和哪些治疗最有效。
  • 定期运动。定期有氧运动会减少紧张,可帮助预防偏头痛。如果您的医生同意,可选择您喜欢的有氧运动,比如散步、游泳或骑车。要慢慢热身,因为突然紧张的运动可能引起头痛。

    定期运动也可能帮助减肥或保持健康体重,肥胖症被视为是一个偏头痛的诱因。

替代医学

非传统疗法可能有助于缓解慢性偏头痛。

  • 针刺疗法。临床试验发现,针刺疗法可能对头痛有帮助。在这种治疗中,执业医生将许多一次性细针插入多个皮肤区域的特定穴位。
  • 生物反馈。生物反馈似乎能有效缓解偏头痛。这种放松技术使用特殊的设备教您如何监测和控制与压力有关的某些身体反应,如肌肉紧张。
  • 认知行为疗法。认知行为疗法可能对一些偏头痛患者有益。这种类型的心理疗法可教您如何通过行为和想法影响对疼痛的感知。
  • 草药、维生素和矿物质。有部分证据表明(尽管研究结果并不一致),草药野甘菊和蜂斗菜可能会预防偏头痛或降低严重程度。出于安全性考虑,不建议蜂斗菜。

高剂量的核黄素(维生素 B2)也可预防偏头痛或减少头痛发作频率。辅酶 Q10 补充剂可能会降低偏头痛的发生频率,但还需要更大规模的研究。

由于一些偏头痛患者的镁水平较低,曾使用镁补充剂治疗偏头痛,但疗效不一。

询问您的医生这些治疗是否适合您。如果您已怀孕或未事先与您的医生讨论,请勿使用野甘菊、核黄素或蜂斗菜。

准备您的预约

您可能会先去看初级保健医生,然后他们可能会将您转诊给接受过头痛评估和治疗培训的医生(神经科医生)。

以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

  • 记录您的症状。记录头痛日记,写下对每次出现的视力障碍或异样感的描述,包括它们的出现时间、持续时间和诱因。头痛日记可以帮助医生诊断您的疾病。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括重大压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 列出您服用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂,包括剂量。列出您用来治疗头痛的所有药物,这一点特别重要。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题。

尽量请家人或朋友陪同,他们可以帮您记住获得的信息。

对于偏头痛,要向医生咨询的问题包括:

  • 可能是哪种因素导致我偏头痛?
  • 有没有其他可能导致我的偏头痛症状的原因?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我的偏头痛是暂时问题还是长期病症?
  • 最佳治疗方案是什么?
  • 除了您建议的主要方法外,还有哪些替代方法?
  • 对于生活方式或饮食方面,您建议我做出哪些改变?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能管理好这些疾病?
  • 是否有提供给我的印刷资料?您推荐哪些网站?

请随时提出其他问题。

医生可能会做什么

医生可能会询问您一些问题,包括:

  • 您的头痛多久发生一次?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状好转?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状恶化?
  • 您家中是否还有其他人有偏头痛?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Simon RP, et al. Headache & facial pain. In: Clinical Neurology. 10th ed. New York, N.Y.: McGraw-Hill Education; 2018. http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  2. Asshina M. The most important advances in headache research in 2018. The Lancet Neurology. 2019;18:5.
  3. Cutrer FM, et al. Pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and diagnosis of migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  4. Migraine information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Migraine-Information-Page. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  5. Bajwa ZH, et al. Acute treatment of migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  6. ABC's of headache trigger management. American Migraine Foundation. https://americanmigrainefoundation.org/resource-library/abcs-of-headache-trigger-management/. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  7. Headache: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Headache-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  8. Bajwa ZH, et al. Preventive treatment of migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 9, 2019.
  9. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. March 30, 2019.
  10. Swanson JW (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. May 21, 2019.
  11. FDA approves new treatment for patients with migraine. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-new-treatment-patients-migraine. Accessed Oct. 24, 2019.
  12. FDA approves new treatment for patients with migraine. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-new-treatment-adults-migraine. Accessed Jan. 3, 2020.

Diagnosis

If you have migraines or a family history of migraines, a doctor trained in treating headaches (neurologist) will likely diagnose migraines based on your medical history, symptoms, and a physical and neurological examination.

If your condition is unusual, complex or suddenly becomes severe, tests to rule out other causes for your pain might include:

  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). An MRI scan uses a powerful magnetic field and radio waves to produce detailed images of the brain and blood vessels. MRI scans help doctors diagnose tumors, strokes, bleeding in the brain, infections, and other brain and nervous system (neurological) conditions.
  • Computerized tomography (CT) scan. A CT scan uses a series of X-rays to create detailed cross-sectional images of the brain. This helps doctors diagnose tumors, infections, brain damage, bleeding in the brain and other possible medical problems that may be causing headaches.

More Information

Treatment

Migraine treatment is aimed at stopping symptoms and preventing future attacks.

Many medications have been designed to treat migraines. Medications used to combat migraines fall into two broad categories:

  • Pain-relieving medications. Also known as acute or abortive treatment, these types of drugs are taken during migraine attacks and are designed to stop symptoms.
  • Preventive medications. These types of drugs are taken regularly, often daily, to reduce the severity or frequency of migraines.

Your treatment choices depend on the frequency and severity of your headaches, whether you have nausea and vomiting with your headaches, how disabling your headaches are, and other medical conditions you have.

Medications for relief

Medications used to relieve migraine pain work best when taken at the first sign of an oncoming migraine — as soon as signs and symptoms of a migraine begin. Medications that can be used to treat it include:

  • Pain relievers. These over-the-counter or prescription pain relievers include aspirin or ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others). When taken too long, these might cause medication-overuse headaches, and possibly ulcers and bleeding in the gastrointestinal tract.

    Migraine relief medications that combine caffeine, aspirin and acetaminophen (Excedrin Migraine) may be helpful, but usually only against mild migraine pain.

  • Triptans. Prescription drugs such as sumatriptan (Imitrex, Tosymra) and rizatriptan (Maxalt, Maxalt-MLT) are used to treat migraine because they block pain pathways in the brain. Taken as pills, shots or nasal sprays, they can relieve many symptoms of migraine. They might not be safe for those at risk of a stroke or heart attack.
  • Dihydroergotamine (D.H.E. 45, Migranal). Available as a nasal spray or injection, this drug is most effective when taken shortly after the start of migraine symptoms for migraines that tend to last longer than 24 hours. Side effects can include worsening of migraine-related vomiting and nausea.

    People with coronary artery disease, high blood pressure, or kidney or liver disease should avoid dihydroergotamine.

  • Lasmiditan (Reyvow). This newer oral tablet is approved for the treatment of migraine with or without aura. In drug trials, lasmiditan significantly improved headache pain. Lasmiditan can have a sedative effect and cause dizziness, so people taking it are advised not to drive or operate machinery for at least eight hours.
  • Ubrogepant (Ubrelvy). This oral calcitonin gene-related peptide receptor antagonist is approved for the treatment of acute migraine with or without aura in adults. It's the first drug of this type approved for migraine treatment. In drug trials, ubrogepant was more effective than placebo in relieving pain and other migraine symptoms such as nausea and sensitivity to light and sound two hours after taking it. Common side effects include dry mouth, nausea and excessive sleepiness. Ubrogepant should not be taken with strong CYP3A4 inhibitor drugs.
  • CGRP antagonists. Ubrogepant (Ubrelvy) and rimegepant (Nurtec ODT) are oral CGRP antagonists recently approved for the treatment of acute migraine with or without aura in adults. In drug trials, drugs from this class were more effective than placebo in relieving pain and other migraine symptoms such as nausea and sensitivity to light and sound two hours after taking it. Common side effects include dry mouth, nausea and excessive sleepiness. Ubrogepant and rimegepant should not be taken with strong CYP3A4 inhibitor drugs.
  • Opioid medications. For people who can't take other migraine medications, narcotic opioid medications might help. Because they can be highly addictive, these are usually used only if no other treatments are effective.
  • Anti-nausea drugs. These can help if your migraine with aura is accompanied by nausea and vomiting. Anti-nausea drugs include chlorpromazine, metoclopramide (Reglan) or prochlorperazine (Compro). These are usually taken with pain medications.

Some of these medications are not safe to take during pregnancy. If you're pregnant or trying to get pregnant, don't use any of these medications without first talking with your doctor.

Preventive medications

Medications can help prevent frequent migraines. Your doctor might recommend preventive medications if you have frequent, long-lasting or severe headaches that don't respond well to treatment.

Preventive medication is aimed at reducing how often you get a migraine, how severe the attacks are and how long they last. Options include:

  • Blood pressure-lowering medications. These include beta blockers such as propranolol (Inderal, InnoPran XL, others) and metoprolol tartrate (Lopressor). Calcium channel blockers such as verapamil (Verelan) can be helpful in preventing migraines with aura.
  • Antidepressants. A tricyclic antidepressant (amitriptyline) can prevent migraines. Because of the side effects of amitriptyline, such as sleepiness, other antidepressants might be prescribed instead.
  • Anti-seizure drugs. Valproate and topiramate (Topamax, Qudexy XR, others) might help if you have less frequent migraines, but can cause side effects such as dizziness, weight changes, nausea and more. These medications are not recommended for pregnant women or women trying to get pregnant.
  • Botox injections. Injections of onabotulinumtoxinA (Botox) about every 12 weeks help prevent migraines in some adults.
  • CGRP monoclonal antibodies. Erenumab-aooe (Aimovig), fremanezumab-vfrm (Ajovy), galcanezumab-gnlm (Emgality), and eptinezumab-jjmr (Vyepti) are newer drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration to treat migraines. They're given monthly or quarterly by injection. The most common side effect is a reaction at the injection site.

Ask your doctor if these medications are right for you. Some of these medications are not safe to take during pregnancy. If you're pregnant or trying to get pregnant, don't use any of these medications without first talking with your doctor.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

When symptoms of migraine start, try heading to a quiet, darkened room. Close your eyes and rest or take a nap. Place a cool cloth or ice pack wrapped in a towel or cloth on your forehead and drink lots of water.

These practices might also soothe migraine pain:

  • Try relaxation techniques. Biofeedback and other forms of relaxation training teach you ways to deal with stressful situations, which might help reduce the number of migraines you have.
  • Develop a sleeping and eating routine. Don't sleep too much or too little. Set and follow a consistent sleep and wake schedule daily. Try to eat meals at the same time every day.
  • Drink plenty of fluids. Staying hydrated, particularly with water, might help.
  • Keep a headache diary. Recording your symptoms in a headache diary will help you learn more about what triggers your migraines and what treatment is most effective. It will also help your doctor diagnose your condition and track your progress in between visits.
  • Exercise regularly. Regular aerobic exercise reduces tension and can help prevent a migraine. If your doctor agrees, choose aerobic activity you enjoy, such as walking, swimming and cycling. Warm up slowly, however, because sudden, intense exercise can cause headaches.

    Regular exercise can also help you lose weight or maintain a healthy body weight, and obesity is thought to be a factor in migraines.

Alternative medicine

Nontraditional therapies might help with chronic migraine pain.

  • Acupuncture. Clinical trials have found that acupuncture may be helpful for headache pain. In this treatment, a practitioner inserts many thin, disposable needles into several areas of your skin at defined points.
  • Biofeedback. Biofeedback appears to be effective in relieving migraine pain. This relaxation technique uses special equipment to teach you how to monitor and control certain physical responses related to stress, such as muscle tension.
  • Cognitive behavioral therapy. Cognitive behavioral therapy may benefit some people with migraines. This type of psychotherapy teaches you how behaviors and thoughts affect how you perceive pain.
  • Meditation and yoga. Meditation may relieve stress, which is a known trigger of migraines. Done on a regular basis, yoga may reduce the frequency and duration of migraines.
  • Herbs, vitamins and minerals. There is some evidence that the herbs feverfew and butterbur might prevent migraines or reduce their severity, though study results are mixed. Butterbur isn't recommended because of safety concerns.

A high dose of riboflavin (vitamin B-2) may reduce the frequency and severity of headaches. Coenzyme Q10 supplements might decrease the frequency of migraines, but larger studies are needed.

Magnesium supplements have been used to treat migraines, but with mixed results.

Ask your doctor if these treatments are right for you. If you're pregnant, don't use any of these treatments without first talking with your doctor.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll probably first see a primary care provider, who might then refer you to a doctor trained in evaluating and treating headaches (neurologist).

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment.

What you can do

  • Keep track of your symptoms. Keep a headache diary by writing a description of each incident of visual disturbances or unusual sensations, including when they occurred, how long they lasted and what triggered them. A headache diary can help your doctor diagnose your condition.
  • Write down key personal information, including major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements you take, including doses. It's particularly important to list all medications you've used to treat your headaches.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Take a family member or friend along, if possible, to help you remember the information you receive.

For migraines, questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely triggering my migraines?
  • Are there other possible causes for my migraine symptoms?
  • What tests do I need?
  • Are my migraines likely temporary or chronic?
  • What is the best course of action?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach that you're suggesting?
  • What changes to my lifestyle or diet do you suggest I make?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I best manage them together?
  • Are there printed materials you can give me? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • How often do your headaches occur?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
  • Does anyone else in your family have migraines?

Migraine care at Mayo Clinic

July 02, 2021
  1. Cutrer FM, et al. Pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and diagnosis of migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 31, 2021.
  2. Migraine information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/All-Disorders/Migraine-Information-Page. Accessed Jan. 31, 2021.
  3. Headache: Hope through research. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. https://www.ninds.nih.gov/Disorders/Patient-Caregiver-Education/Hope-Through-Research/Headache-Hope-Through-Research. Accessed Feb. 6, 2021.
  4. Smith JH, et al. Acute treatment of migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 31, 2021.
  5. Simon RP, et al. Headache & facial pain. In: Clinical Neurology. 10th ed. McGraw Hill; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Feb. 14, 2021.
  6. Ha H, et al. Migraine headache prophylaxis. American Family Physician. 2019;99:17.
  7. Kissoon NR (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. March 16, 2021.
  8. Smith JH, et al. Preventive treatment of episodic migraine in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 31, 2021.
  9. Kleinman K, et al. Neurology. In: Harriet Lane Handbook. 22nd ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 7, 2021.
  10. Taylor FR. ABC's of headache trigger management. American Migraine Foundation. https://americanmigrainefoundation.org/resource-library/abcs-of-headache-trigger-management/. Accessed Feb. 6, 2021.
  11. AskMayoExpert. Migraine (adult) adjunctive therapy (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2020.
  12. Integrative and complementary migraine treatments. American Migraine Foundation. https://americanmigrainefoundation.org/resource-library/integrative-migraine-treatments/. Accessed Feb. 14, 2021.
  13. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. March 1, 2021.
  14. FDA approves new treatment for patients with migraine. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-new-treatment-adults-migraine. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic