نظرة عامة

الورم الميلانيني نوعٌ من سرطان الجلد ينشأ في الخلايا الميلانينية. والخلايا الميلانينية مسؤولة عن إنتاج الصبغة التي تمنح الجلد لونه. ويُطلق على الصبغة الميلانين.

ينشأ الورم الميلانيني عادةً على الجلد المعرَّض للشمس في أغلب الأحيان. ويتضمن ذلك جلد الذراعين والظهر والوجه والساقين. كما يمكن أن يتكون الورم الميلانيني في العينين. ونادرًا ما يحدث داخل الجسم، مثل الأنف أو الحلق.

السبب الدقيق للإصابة بكل أنواع الورم الميلانيني غير واضح. تَحدث أغلب أنواع الورم الميلانيني بسبب التعرض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية. وتأتي الأشعة فوق البنفسجية، المعروفة اختصارًا بأشعة UV، من ضوء الشمس أو مصابيح وأسرَّة تسمير البشرة. قد يساعدك الحد من التعرض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية على تقليل خطر الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني.

تزيد احتمالية الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني لدى الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 40 عامًا، وخصوصًا النساء. يمكن أن تساعد معرفة أعراض سرطان الجلد على ضمان اكتشاف التغيرات السرطانية وعلاجها قبل انتشار السرطان. فعلاج الورم الميلانيني بنجاح أمرٌ ممكن إذا اكتُشف الورم مبكرًا.

الأعراض

أول علامات الورم الميلانيني وأعراضه هي عادةً:

  • حدوث تغير في شامة موجودة.
  • تطور نمو جديد مصطبغ أو غير معتاد الشكل على الجلد.

لا يبدأ الورم الميلانيني دائمًا في صورة شامة. قد يحدث أيضًا على الجلد الصحي.

يمكن أن تظهر أعراض الأورام الميلانينية في أي مكان في الجسم. غالبًا ما تُصيب الأورام الميلانينية الأماكن التي كانت معرضة للشمس. يشمل هذا الذراعين والظهر والوجه والساقين.

يمكن أن تصيب الأورام الميلانينية أيضًا الأماكن التي لا تتعرض للشمس بالقدر نفسه. يشمل هذا باطن القدمين وراحة اليدين وقاعدة أظافر أصابع اليدين. يمكن أن تصيب الأورام الميلانينية أيضًا أي مكان داخل الجسم. تشيع هذه الأورام الميلانينية بشكل أكبر في الأشخاص ذوي البشرة البنية أو الداكنة.

الشامات الطبيعية

عادةً ما تكون الشامات الطبيعية بلون موحد. فقد تكون باللون الوردي أو الأسمر أو البني أو الأسود. وبالنسبة إلى ذوي البشرة البنية والداكنة، من المرجح أن تكون الشامات الطبيعية باللون البني الداكن أو الأسود. وتكون للشامات الطبيعية حواف تميزها عن الجلد المحيط. وتكون بيضاوية أو دائرية وعادةً ما يبلغ قطرها أقل من 1/4 بوصة (أي حوالي 6 ملم).

تبدأ معظم الشامات في الظهور في مرحلة الطفولة وقد تتكون شامات جديدة حتى سن 40 عامًا تقريبًا. وعند الوصول إلى مرحلة البلوغ، يكون لدى معظم الأشخاص بين 10 و40 شامة. وقد يتغير شكل الشامات بمرور الوقت وقد يختفي بعضها مع تقدم العمر.

المؤشرات التي قد تشير إلى الورم الميلانيني

بعض الشامات ليست عادية. فقد تكون لها خصائص معينة تشير إلى أورام ميلانينية أو أنواع أخرى من سرطانات الجلد. وقد تشمل هذه الخصائص ما يأتي:

  • الشكل غير المتماثل. ابحث عن الشامات ذات الأشكال غير المعتادة، مثل الأنصاف المختلفة تمامًا في الشكل.
  • التغيرات في اللون. ابحث عن الشامات التي تنمو وتحتوي على عدة ألوان أو أنماط لونية غير معتادة.
  • التغيرات في الحجم. ابحث عن نمو جديد في شامة يبلغ أكبر من ربع بوصة (حوالي 6 ملم).
  • التغيرات في الأعراض. ابحث عن التغيرات في الأعراض، مثل الشعور الجديد بالحكة أو النزف.
  • الحواف غير العادية. ابحث عن الشامات ذات الحواف غير العادية أو المثلومة أو المتعرجة.

يمكن أن تبدو الشامات التي تتحول إلى سرطانات مختلفة تمامًا. قد تُظهر بعضها كل التغيرات المدرجة أعلاه، في حين قد تكون لبعضها واحدة أو اثنتان فقط من الخصائص غير الطبيعية.

الأورام الميلانينية غير الظاهرة

يمكن أن تنمو الأورام الميلانينية أيضًا في مناطق من الجسم لا تتعرض لأشعة الشمس كثيرًا أو لا تتعرض لها على الإطلاق. وقد تشمل هذه المناطق الفراغات الموجودة بين أصابع القدم وراحة اليدين أو باطن القدمين أو فروة الرأس أو الأعضاء التناسلية. ويُشار إليها في بعض الأحيان بالأورام الميلانينية غير الظاهرة لأنها تحدث في أماكن لن يفكر معظم الأشخاص في فحصها. وعند حدوث الورم الميلانيني عند الأشخاص ذوي البشرة البنية أو السوداء، فإنه يحدث في الغالب في منطقة غير ظاهرة.

تتضمن الأورام الميلانينية غير الظاهرة ما يأتي:

  • الورم الميلانيني داخل الجسم. ينمو الورم الميلانيني المخاطي في الغشاء المخاطي. ويبطن هذا النسيج الأنف والفم والمريء والشرج والمسالك البولية والمهبل. من الصعب اكتشاف الأورام الميلانينية المخاطية بالأخص لسهولة الخلط بينها وبين الحالات الأكثر شيوعًا.
  • الورم الميلانيني في العين. يُسمى الورم الميلانيني في العين أيضًا بالورم الميلانيني العيني. وغالبًا ما يحدث في طبقة الأنسجة الموجودة أسفل بياض العين. وتُسمى هذه الطبقة العنبية. قد يسبب الورم الميلانيني في العين تغيرات في الرؤية ويمكن تشخيصه أثناء فحص العين.
  • الورم الميلانيني أسفل أحد الأظافر. الورم الميلانيني النمشي بالنهايات نوع نادر من الورم الميلانيني يمكن أن يحدث أسفل ظفر إحدى أصابع اليد أو القدم. وقد يوجد أيضًا على راحة اليدين أو على باطن القدمين. غالبًا ما يكون الورم الميلانيني النمشي بالنهايات داكنًا جدًا ومسطحًا وذا حدود غير عادية بشكل كبير. وهو أكثر شيوعًا عند الأشخاص المنحدرين من أصل آسيوي والأشخاص ذوي البشرة البنية أو السوداء.

متى يجب زيارة الطبيب

حدِّد موعدًا طبيًا لزيارة الطبيب أو أي اختصاصي رعاية صحية آخر إذا لاحظت أي تغيرات جلدية تثير قلقك.

الأسباب

يحدث الورم الميلانيني عندما يؤدي شيء ما إلى تغيير الخلايا الميلانينية السليمة إلى خلايا سرطانية. الخلايا الميلانينية هي خلايا الجلد التي تنتج الصبغة التي تعطي الجلد لونه. ويُطلق على الصبغة الميلانين.

يبدأ الورم الميلانيني عندما تحدث تغيرات في الحمض النووي للخلايا الميلانينية. ويحتوي الحمض النووي للخلية على تعليمات توجّه الخلية لأداء وظيفتها المحددة. ويعطي الحمض النووي تعليمات للنمو والتضاعف بمعدل محدد في الخلايا السليمة. توجِّه التعليمات الخلايا إلى أن تموت في وقت محدد. تعطي تغيرات الحمض النووي تعليمات مختلفة في الخلايا السرطانية. توجّه هذه التغيرات الخلايا السرطانية بإنتاج كثير من الخلايا بسرعة. ويمكن أن تستمر الخلايا السرطانية في البقاء في حين قد تموت الخلايا السليمة. ويؤدي ذلك إلى وجود عدد كبير جدًا من الخلايا.

وقد تكوّن الخلايا السرطانية كتلة تُسمى ورمًا. ومن الممكن أن ينمو الورم ويغزو أنسجة الجسم السليمة ويدمرها. وبمرور الوقت، يمكن أن تنفصل الخلايا السرطانية وتنتشر إلى أجزاء أخرى من الجسم. وعندما ينتشر السرطان، يُطلق عليه اسم السرطان النقيلي.

لا يُعرف السبب وراء تغيّر الحمض النووي في خلايا الجلد وكيف يؤدي ذلك إلى الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني. ومن المحتمل أن يكون السبب مجموعة من العوامل، منها البيئية والجينية. ومع ذلك، يعتقد اختصاصيو الرعاية الصحية أن التعرُّض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية هو السبب الرئيسي للإصابة بالورم الميلانيني. تنبعث الأشعة فوق البنفسجية من الشمس ومن مصابيح وأسرّة تسمير البشرة.

لا تسبب الأشعة فوق البنفسجية جميع الأورام الميلانينية، خاصة تلك الأورام التي تصيب أماكن من الجسم لا تتعرض لأشعة الشمس. وهو ما يعني وجود عوامل أخرى قد تُسهِم في احتمالية الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن العوامل التي قد تزيد من خطورة الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني ما يأتي:

  • السيرة المرضية العائلية للإصابة بالورم الميلانيني. إذا كان أحد أقاربك المقربين مصابًا بالورم الميلانيني، فستزداد فرصتك في الإصابة به أيضًا. وقد يشمل الأقارب المقربون الوالدين أو الأبناء أو الإخوة.
  • سيرة مرضية للإصابة بحروق الشمس. يمكن أن تؤدي الإصابة بحرق واحد أو أكثر من حروق الشمس المصحوبة ببثور إلى زيادة خطورة الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني.
  • التعرُّض للأشعة فوق البنفسجية. تؤدي الأشعة فوق البنفسجية، المعروفة بالاختصار UV، التي تأتي من الشمس ومن مصابيح تسمير البشرة وأسرة التسمير إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان الجلد، بما في ذلك الورم الميلانيني.
  • كثرة وجود الشامات أو الشامات غير الطبيعية. يشير وجود أكثر من 50 شامة طبيعية في جسمك إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني. ويزداد كذلك خطر الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني عند وجود نوع غير طبيعي من الشامات. وغالبًا ما تكون هذه الشامات أكبر من الشامات الطبيعية، وتُعرف طبيًا باسم وحمات خلل التنسج. وقد يكون لها حدود غير عادية ومزيج من الألوان.
  • المعيشة بالقرب من خط الاستواء أو في المناطق المرتفعة. يتعرض الأشخاص الذين يعيشون بالقرب من خط استواء الأرض لأشعة الشمس المباشرة بشكل أكبر. ومن ثَم يتعرضون لكميات أكبر من الأشعة فوق البنفسجية القادمة من الشمس مقارنةً بالأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الشمال أو الجنوب. كما أن الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في مناطق مرتفعة يكونون أكثر عرضة للأشعة فوق البنفسجية.
  • البشرة التي تصاب بحروق الشمس بسهولة. يمكن أن يصيب الورم الميلانيني أي شخص، لكنه أكثر شيوعًا بين الأشخاص ذوي البشرة البيضاء. إذا كنت من أصحاب الشعر الأشقر أو الأحمر، وكان لون عينيك فاتحًا، ويصيبك النمش أو حروق الشمس بسهولة، فأنت أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالورم الميلانيني.
  • ضعف الجهاز المناعي. إذا أدت الأدوية أو الأمراض إلى ضعف الجهاز المناعي الذي يهاجم الجراثيم في الجسم، فقد يكون الشخص عرضة بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني وسرطانات الجلد الأخرى. يشمل الأشخاص ذوو الجهاز المناعي الضعيف هؤلاء الذين يتناولون أدوية للسيطرة على الجهاز المناعي، مثل أدوية ما بعد زراعة عضو ما. يمكن لبعض الحالات الطبية، مثل الإصابة بعَدوى فيروس نقص المناعة البشري (HIV)، أن تُضعف الجهاز المناعي.

الوقاية

يمكنك الحد من خطر الإصابة بالورم الميلانيني والأنواع الأخرى من سرطان الجلد باتباع الإرشادات الآتية:

  • تجنَّب مصابيح وأسرّة تسمير البشرة. ينبعث من مصابيح وأسرّة تسمير البشرة أشعة فوق بنفسجية (UV). يؤدي التعرض لهذا النوع من الأشعة إلى زيادة خطر التعرض لسرطان الجلد.
  • تجنَّب الشمس خلال فترة منتصف النهار. بالنسبة إلى العديد من الأشخاص في أمريكا الشمالية، تكون أشعة الشمس في ذروتها في الفترة بين الساعة 10 صباحًا و4 مساءً؛ لذلك عليك تحديد مواعيد الأنشطة الخارجية في أوقات أخرى من اليوم، حتى في فصل الشتاء أو عندما تكون السماء ملبدة بالغيوم.
  • كن على دراية بسمات جلدك حتى تتمكن من ملاحظة التغيرات. افحص جلدك مرات متكررة لملاحظة الزوائد الجلدية الجديدة. ابحث عن التغيرات في الشامات والنمش والبثور والوحمات الموجودة. استخدم المرايا لفحص الوجه والرقبة والأذنين وفروة الرأس.

    افحص منطقة الصدر وجذع الجسم وأعلى الذراعيْن وأسفلهما واليديْن. افحص كلاً من الجزء الأمامي والخلفي من الساقين والقدمين، بما في ذلك باطن القدمين والمسافات بين أصابع القدمين. وافحص كذلك منطقة الأعضاء التناسلية وما بين الألْيَتَيْن.

  • ارتدِ ملابس واقية. عندما تخرج أثناء فترة النهار، ارتدِ ملابس تساعد على حماية البشرة من أشعة الشمس. غطِّ البشرة بملابس داكنة منسوجة بإحكام تكسو الذراعين والساقين. ارتدِ قبعة عريضة الحواف لتوفير وقاية أكثر مما توفره قبعة البيسبول أو قبعة الغولف. تبيع بعض الشركات أيضًا الملابس الواقية. يمكن أن يوصي طبيب الجلد بعلامة تجارية مناسبة.

    لا تنسَ ارتداء النظارات الشمسية. ابحث عن النظارات التي تمنع نوعَي الأشعة فوق البنفسجية التي تنبعث من الشمس، أي الأشعة فوق البنفسجية A والأشعة فوق البنفسجية B.

  • استخدم مستحضرًا واقيًا من الشمس على مدار السنة. استخدم أحد مستحضرات الوقاية من الشمس واسعة الطيف التي لا يقل عامل الوقاية الشمسي (SPF) لها عن 30، حتى في الأيام الملبدة بالغيوم. استخدم المستحضر الواقي من الشمس بكميات وفيرة. أعد وضعه كل ساعتين أو أكثر في حال السباحة أو التعرق.

الورم الميلاني - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

17/04/2024

Living with الورم الميلاني?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

keithl56
Mohs surgery and reconstruction: What timeline to expect?

19 Replies Fri, Jun 14, 2024

rita8898
Anyone have cancer with unknown primary?

119 Replies Wed, Jun 12, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Melanoma. Cancer.Net. https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/melanoma/view-all. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  2. Melanoma: Cutaneous. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1492. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Melanoma. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  4. Melanoma treatment (PDQ) – Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin/patient/melanoma-treatment-pdq. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  5. Common moles, dysplastic nevi and risk of melanoma. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin/moles-fact-sheet. Accessed Oct. 10, 2023.
  6. Rashid S, et al. Melanoma classification and management in the era of molecular medicine. Dermatology Clinics. 2023; doi:10.1016/j.det.2022.07.017.
  7. Sunlight. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/sunlight. Accessed Oct. 10, 2023.

ذات صلة

الإجراءات الطبية ذات الصلة

أخبار من مايو كلينك

Overview

Melanoma is a kind of skin cancer that starts in the melanocytes. Melanocytes are cells that make the pigment that gives skin its color. The pigment is called melanin.

Melanoma typically starts on skin that's often exposed to the sun. This includes the skin on the arms, back, face and legs. Melanoma also can form in the eyes. Rarely, it can happen inside the body, such as in the nose or throat.

The exact cause of all melanomas isn't clear. Most melanomas are caused by exposure to ultraviolet light. Ultraviolet light, also called UV light, comes from sunlight or tanning lamps and beds. Limiting exposure to UV light can help reduce the risk of melanoma.

The risk of melanoma seems to be increasing in people under 40, especially women. Knowing the symptoms of skin cancer can help ensure that cancerous changes are detected and treated before the cancer has spread. Melanoma can be treated successfully if it is found early.

Symptoms

The first melanoma signs and symptoms often are:

  • A change in an existing mole.
  • The development of a new pigmented or unusual-looking growth on the skin.

Melanoma doesn't always begin as a mole. It also can happen on otherwise healthy skin.

Melanomas symptoms can happen anywhere on the body. Melanomas most often develop in areas that have had exposure to the sun. This includes the arms, back, face and legs.

Melanomas also can happen in areas that aren't as exposed to the sun. This includes the soles of the feet, palms of the hands and fingernail beds. Melanoma also can happen inside the body. These hidden melanomas are more common in people with brown or Black skin.

Typical moles

Typical moles are generally a uniform color. They might look pink, tan, brown or black. In people with brown and Black skin, typical moles are more likely to be dark brown or black. Typical moles have a distinct border separating the mole from the surrounding skin. They're oval or round and usually smaller than 1/4 inch (about 6 millimeters) in diameter.

Most moles begin appearing in childhood and new moles may form until about age 40. By the time they are adults, most people have between 10 and 40 moles. Moles may change in appearance over time and some may even go away with age.

Signs that may indicate melanoma

Some moles aren't typical. They may have certain characteristics that indicate melanomas or other skin cancers. Characteristics may include:

  • Asymmetrical shape. Look for moles with unusual shapes, such as two very different-looking halves.
  • Changes in color. Look for growths that have many colors or unusual color patterns.
  • Changes in size. Look for new growth in a mole larger than 1/4 inch (about 6 millimeters).
  • Changes in symptoms. Look for changes in symptoms, such as new itchiness or bleeding.
  • Unusual border. Look for moles with unusual, notched or scalloped borders.

Moles that become cancers can all look very different. Some may show all of the changes listed above, while others may have only one or two unusual characteristics.

Hidden melanomas

Melanomas also can develop in areas of the body that have little or no exposure to the sun. These areas may include the spaces between the toes and on the palms, soles, scalp or genitals. These are sometimes referred to as hidden melanomas because they occur in places most people wouldn't think to check. When melanoma occurs in people with brown or Black skin, it's more likely to occur in a hidden area.

Hidden melanomas include:

  • Melanoma inside the body. Mucosal melanoma develops in the mucous membrane. This tissue lines the nose, mouth, esophagus, anus, urinary tract and vagina. Mucosal melanomas are especially difficult to detect because they can easily be mistaken for other far more common conditions.
  • Melanoma in the eye. Eye melanoma also is called ocular melanoma. It most often occurs in the layer of tissue beneath the white of the eye. This layer is called the uvea. An eye melanoma may cause vision changes and may be diagnosed during an eye exam.
  • Melanoma under a nail. Acral-lentiginous melanoma is a rare form of melanoma that can occur under a fingernail or toenail. It also can be found on the palms of the hands or the soles of the feet. Acral-lentiginous melanoma tends to be very dark, flat and have very unusual borders. It's more common in people of Asian descent and people with brown or Black skin.

When to see a doctor

Make an appointment with your doctor or other healthcare professional if you notice any skin changes that worry you.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips, current health topics, and expertise on managing health. Click here for an email preview.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

Melanoma happens when something changes healthy melanocytes into cancer cells. Melanocytes are skin cells that make pigment that gives skin its color. The pigment is called melanin.

Melanoma starts when melanocytes develop changes in their DNA. A cell's DNA holds the instructions that tell a cell what to do. In healthy cells, DNA gives instructions to grow and multiply at a set rate. The instructions tell the cells to die at a set time. In cancer cells, the DNA changes give different instructions. The changes tell the cancer cells to make many more cells quickly. Cancer cells can keep living when healthy cells would die. This causes too many cells.

The cancer cells might form a mass called a tumor. The tumor can grow to invade and destroy healthy body tissue. In time, cancer cells can break away and spread to other parts of the body. When cancer spreads, it's called metastatic cancer.

It isn't clear what changes the DNA in skin cells and how it leads to melanoma. It's likely a combination of factors, including environmental and genetic factors. Still, healthcare professionals believe exposure to ultraviolet light is the leading cause of melanoma. Ultraviolet light, also called UV light, comes from the sun and from tanning lamps and beds.

UV light doesn't cause all melanomas, especially those that occur in places on your body that don't receive exposure to sunlight. This means that other factors may contribute to your risk of melanoma.

Risk factors

Factors that may increase the risk of melanoma include:

  • A family history of melanoma. If a close relative has had melanoma, you have a greater chance of developing a melanoma, too. Close relatives may include a parent, child or sibling.
  • A history of sunburn. One or more severe, blistering sunburns can increase your risk of melanoma.
  • Exposure to UV light. The ultraviolet light, also called UV light, that comes from the sun and from tanning lights and beds increases the risk of skin cancer, including melanoma.
  • Having many moles or moles that aren't typical. Having more than 50 typical moles on your body indicates an increased risk of melanoma. Also, having a type of mole that isn't typical increases the risk of melanoma. Known medically as dysplastic nevi, these moles tend to be larger than typical moles. They may have unusual borders and a mixture of colors.
  • Living closer to the equator or at a higher elevation. People living closer to the earth's equator experience more direct sun rays. Therefore, they experience higher amounts of UV light from the sun than people living farther north or south. Also, people who live at a higher elevation are more exposed to UV light.
  • Skin that sunburns easily. Anyone can get melanoma, but it's most common in people with white skin. If you have blond or red hair, light-colored eyes, and freckle or sunburn easily, you're more likely to develop melanoma.
  • Weakened immune system. If the body's germ-fighting immune system is weakened by medications or illness, there might be a higher risk of melanoma and other skin cancers. People with a weakened immune system include those taking medicines to control the immune system, such as after an organ transplant. Certain medical conditions, such as infection with HIV, can weaken the immune system.

Prevention

You can reduce your risk of melanoma and other types of skin cancer if you:

  • Avoid tanning lamps and beds. Tanning lamps and beds give off ultraviolet light, also called UV light. Exposure to this kind of light can increase your risk of skin cancer.
  • Avoid the sun during the middle of the day. For many people in North America, the sun's rays are strongest between about 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. Schedule outdoor activities for other times of the day, even in winter or when the sky is cloudy.
  • Become familiar with your skin so that you'll notice changes. Check your skin often for new skin growths. Look for changes in existing moles, freckles, bumps and birthmarks. With the help of mirrors, check your face, neck, ears and scalp.

    Look at your chest and trunk and the tops and undersides of your arms and hands. Check both the front and back of your legs and your feet, including the soles and the spaces between your toes. Also check your genital area and between your buttocks.

  • Wear protective clothing. When you go outside during the day, wear clothes that help protect your skin from the sun's rays. Cover your skin with dark, tightly woven clothing that covers your arms and legs. Wear a broad-brimmed hat, which provides more protection than does a baseball cap or visor. Some companies also sell protective clothing. A dermatologist can recommend an appropriate brand.

    Don't forget sunglasses. Look for those that block both types of UV light that come from the sun, called UVA and UVB.

  • Wear sunscreen year-round. Use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30, even on cloudy days. Apply sunscreen generously. Reapply every two hours, or more often if you're swimming or sweating.

Melanoma care at Mayo Clinic

Dec. 30, 2023

Living with melanoma?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Adolescent & Young Adult (AYA) Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Adolescent & Young Adult (AYA) Cancer Discussions

ViaCH
Fertility & thyroid cancer: I've got questions

4 Replies Sat, Feb 10, 2024

kenzog33
“Too young for cancer”

10 Replies Fri, Jan 19, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Melanoma. Cancer.Net. https://www.cancer.net/cancer-types/melanoma/view-all. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  2. Melanoma: Cutaneous. National Comprehensive Cancer Network. https://www.nccn.org/guidelines/guidelines-detail?category=1&id=1492. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  3. Niederhuber JE, et al., eds. Melanoma. In: Abeloff's Clinical Oncology. 6th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  4. Melanoma treatment (PDQ) – Patient version. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin/patient/melanoma-treatment-pdq. Accessed Oct. 9, 2023.
  5. Common moles, dysplastic nevi and risk of melanoma. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/skin/moles-fact-sheet. Accessed Oct. 10, 2023.
  6. Rashid S, et al. Melanoma classification and management in the era of molecular medicine. Dermatology Clinics. 2023; doi:10.1016/j.det.2022.07.017.
  7. Sunlight. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/sunlight. Accessed Oct. 10, 2023.