诊断

出生前

当婴儿在子宫内时,有可能被诊断出患有左心发育不良综合征。孕中期的常规超声波检查可以显示这种状况。

出生后

如果婴儿出生时嘴唇呈灰蓝色或呼吸困难,表示可能存在心脏缺陷,如左心发育不良综合征。心脏问题的其他可能症状是心脏杂音,这是一种由湍急血流引起的声音,可通过听诊器听诊。

超声心动图可诊断是否患有左心发育不良综合征。这项检查利用从婴儿心脏反弹的声波,生成可以在视频屏幕上显示的运动图像。

对于左心发育不良综合征患儿,超声心动图显示左心室和主动脉较小。超声心动图还可显示是否存在心脏瓣膜问题。

由于这项检查可以追踪血流,因此可显示血液是否从右心室流进主动脉。超声心动图可能发现其他心脏疾病,如房间隔缺损。

治疗

左心发育不良综合征可以通过几种外科类手术或心脏移植进行治疗。您孩子的医务人员会与您讨论孩子的治疗方案。

如果在出生前便已确诊,医务人员通常会建议在具备心脏手术中心的医院分娩。

在手术或移植前有助于控制婴儿状况的方案包括:

  • 药物。前列腺素 E1(商品名为 Prostin VR Pediatric)有助于扩张血管并保持动脉导管开放。
  • 呼吸辅助。呼吸困难的婴儿可能需要呼吸机的帮助。
  • 静脉输液。婴儿可能会通过静脉注射补充液体。
  • 进食管。进食困难或在进食过程中感到疲劳的婴儿可以通过营养管喂养。
  • 房间隔造口术。该手术会形成或扩大心脏上腔室之间的开口,使更多的血液从右心房流向左心房。如果卵圆孔关闭或太小,可进行该手术。已有开口(房间隔缺损)的婴儿可能不需要进行该手术。

外科手术及其他手术

左心发育不良综合征患儿可能需要多次手术。外科医生通过这些手术分别建立通路,将富氧血液输送到身体,并将贫氧血液输送到肺部。手术分三个阶段进行。

  • 诺伍德手术。该手术通常在孩子出生后的头两周内实施。有几种方法可以完成该手术。

    外科医生重建主动脉,然后将其连接至心脏右下室。外科医生插入一根导管(分流管),将主动脉与通向肺部的动脉(肺动脉)相连,或者是置入一根分流管,连接右心室与肺动脉。如此可让右心室将血液泵入肺和身体。

    对于某些病患,可能会采取混合手术。外科医生将支架置入动脉导管内来维持肺动脉和主动脉之间的开口。给肺动脉环扎束带,以减少流向肺部的血流,并在心脏的心房之间造一个开口。

    诺伍德手术完成后,婴儿的皮肤仍会呈现异常的颜色,因为富氧血和贫氧血会继续在心脏内混合。如果婴儿成功通过了这一阶段治疗,存活的几率可能增加。

  • 双向格林手术。这通常是第二个手术。该手术可在孩子 3 - 6 个月大时进行。手术需要移除第一个分流器,然后把一根将血液输送回心脏的大静脉(上腔静脉)连接到肺动脉。如果外科医生先前已进行了混合手术,则在本次手术中执行后续步骤。

    该手术使右心室可以将血液主要泵入主动脉,从而减轻右心室的工作负荷。它还允许从身体回流的大部分贫氧血可以直接流入肺部,无需泵压。

    该手术后,从上半身回流的所有血液都被送至肺部,携带更多氧气的血液被泵入主动脉,供给全身的器官和组织。

  • Fontan 手术。该手术通常在孩子 18 个月大至 4 岁期间实施。外科医生在输送血液返回心脏的血管(下腔静脉)中为贫氧血创建一条通路,使血液直接流入肺动脉。然后肺动脉将血液输送至肺部。

    Fontan 手术允许从身体回流的其余贫氧血流入肺部。手术后,心脏中基本不再有富氧血和贫氧血混合的情况,因此皮肤颜色将恢复正常。

  • 心脏移植。另一种手术选项是心脏移植。然而,可用于移植的心脏数量有限,所以该方案并不常用。心脏移植后,孩子将需要终身服药,以防止身体排斥供体心脏。

随诊护理

婴幼儿在手术或移植术后,需要在接受过先天性心脏病相关培训的心脏科医生处进行终身随访治疗。婴幼儿可能需要服用一些药物,以调节心脏功能。随着时间的推移,可出现各种并发症,可能需要进一步治疗或使用其他药物。

孩子在接受某些牙科手术或其他手术前,其心脏科医生会决定是否需要服用预防性抗生素以防感染。部分儿童可能也需要限制身体活动。

成人随访护理

成人护理需要接受过成人先天性心脏病培训的心脏病专家。外科护理的最新进展使患有左心发育不良综合征的儿童能够成长为成年人。因此,尚不清楚患有这种状况的成年人可能面临的挑战。成人需要终生定期随访护理,以观察病情变化。

考虑怀孕者应与医务人员讨论怀孕风险和避孕方法。这种状况会增加怀孕期间患心血管疾病、发生流产以及所生婴儿患先天性心脏病的风险。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

妥善处理与支持

左心发育不良综合征患者的生活或者照顾存在这种状况的孩子可能充满挑战。以下一些策略可能有帮助:

  • 寻求支持。向家人和朋友求助。照料者需要休息。向孩子的心脏科医生咨询互助小组和其他类型的帮助。

    如果您是患有左心发育不良综合征的青少年或成人,请询问医务人员是否有为先天性心脏病成人患者提供帮助的支持小组。与理解您所面临挑战的其他人交谈可能会很有帮助。

  • 保存健康记录。写下您或您宝宝的诊断、用药、外科手术和其他诊疗及其日期。包括心脏科医生的姓名和电话号码、医务人员和医院的紧急联系电话以及其他重要信息。在记录中包括一份来自外科医生的报告副本。

    这些信息将帮助您了解所接受的护理,并且对不了解复杂健康史的医务人员很有用。当您的孩子从儿科护理转到成人心脏病护理时,这些信息也很有用。

  • 谈论您的担忧。向您孩子的心脏科医生咨询哪些活动最适合您的孩子。如果确实有些限制,应鼓励孩子参加其他活动,而不要太关注不适宜的活动。

    如果您担心孩子的其他健康问题,也可以和孩子的心脏科医生进行讨论。如果您是患有左心发育不良综合征的成人,请询问医务人员您可以进行的活动。讨论您的顾虑。

Aug. 12, 2022

Living with 左心发育不良综合征?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Heart & Blood Health support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Heart & Blood Health Discussions

sjy70
High calcium score: I'm in shock

163 Replies Mon, Jul 15, 2024

csage1010 (Sue)
Anyone else out there with extremely high lipoprotein (a)?

121 Replies Mon, Jul 15, 2024

ashby1947
Does anyone have experience with Palliative Care?

147 Replies Sat, Jul 13, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Anatomy, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  2. Ani T. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 1, 2022.
  3. Libby P, et al., eds. Congenital heart disease in the adolescent and adult. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 12th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  4. Facts about hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/HLHS.html. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  5. Single ventricle defects. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/single-ventricle-defects. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  6. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Management and outcome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  7. Waltzman M. Initial evaluation of shock in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  8. Wojtowicz A, et al. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: From the prenatal to the postnatal period. Ginekologia Polska. 2021; doi:10.5603/GP.a2020.0160.
  9. What are congenital heart defects? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  10. van Hagen IM, et al. Pregnancy in congenital heart disease: Risk prediction and counseling. Heart. 2020; doi:10.1136/heartjnl-2019-314702.

Diagnosis

Before birth

It's possible for a baby to be diagnosed with hypoplastic left heart syndrome in the womb. A routine ultrasound exam during the second trimester of pregnancy might show the condition.

After birth

A baby with grayish-blue lips or trouble breathing at birth might have a heart defect, such as hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Other possible symptoms of a heart problem are a heart murmur, which is a sound caused by rushing blood flow that can be heard through a stethoscope.

An echocardiogram can diagnose hypoplastic left heart syndrome. This test uses sound waves that bounce off the baby's heart to produce moving images that show on a video screen.

For babies with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, the echocardiogram shows a small left ventricle and aorta. The echocardiogram might also show issues with heart valves.

Because this test can track blood flow, it shows blood moving from the right ventricle into the aorta. And an echocardiogram can identify other heart conditions, such as an atrial septal defect.

Treatment

Hypoplastic left heart syndrome is treated through several surgical procedures or a heart transplant. Your child's health care provider will discuss treatment options with you.

If the diagnosis is made before birth, care providers usually recommend delivery at a hospital with a cardiac surgery center.

Options to help manage a baby's condition before surgery or transplant include:

  • Medication. The medication alprostadil (Prostin VR Pediatric) helps widen the blood vessels and keeps the ductus arteriosus open.
  • Breathing assistance. Babies who have trouble breathing might need help from a breathing machine (ventilator).
  • Intravenous fluids. A baby might receive fluids through a tube inserted into a vein.
  • Feeding tube. Babies who have trouble feeding or who tire while feeding can be fed through a feeding tube.
  • Atrial septostomy. This procedure creates or enlarges the opening between the heart's upper chambers to allow more blood flow from the right atrium to the left atrium. This is done if the foramen ovale closes or is too small. Babies who already have an opening (atrial septal defect) might not need this procedure.

Surgeries and other procedures

Children with hypoplastic left heart syndrome will likely need several surgeries. Surgeons perform these procedures to create separate pathways to get oxygen-rich blood to the body and oxygen-poor blood to the lungs. The procedures are done in three stages.

  • Norwood procedure. This surgery is usually done within the first two weeks of life. There are several ways to do this procedure.

    Surgeons reconstruct the aorta and connect it to the heart's lower right chamber. Surgeons insert a tube (shunt) that connects the aorta to the arteries leading to the lungs (pulmonary arteries), or they place a shunt that connects the right ventricle to the pulmonary arteries. This allows the right ventricle to pump blood to both the lungs and the body.

    In some cases, a mixed procedure is done. Surgeons implant a stent in the ductus arteriosus to maintain the opening between the pulmonary artery and the aorta. Bands placed around the pulmonary arteries reduce blood flow to the lungs and create an opening between the atria of the heart.

    After the Norwood procedure, a baby's skin will still be discolored because oxygen-rich and oxygen-poor blood continue to mix within the heart. Once a baby successfully passes through this stage of treatment, the odds of survival can increase.

  • Bidirectional Glenn procedure. This procedure is generally the second surgery. It's done when a child is between 3 and 6 months of age. It involves removing the first shunt and connecting one of the large veins that returns blood to the heart (the superior vena cava) to the pulmonary artery. If surgeons previously performed a hybrid procedure, they'll follow additional steps during this procedure.

    This procedure reduces the work of the right ventricle by allowing it to pump blood mainly to the aorta. It also allows most of the oxygen-poor blood returning from the body to flow directly into the lungs without a pump.

    After this procedure, all the blood returning from the upper body is sent to the lungs, so blood with more oxygen is pumped to the aorta to supply organs and tissues throughout the body.

  • Fontan procedure. This surgery is usually done when a child is between 18 months and 4 years of age. The surgeon creates a path for the oxygen-poor blood in one of the blood vessels that returns blood to the heart (the inferior vena cava) to flow directly into the pulmonary arteries. The pulmonary arteries then send the blood into the lungs.

    The Fontan procedure allows the rest of the oxygen-poor blood returning from the body to flow to the lungs. After this procedure, there's little mixing of oxygen-rich and oxygen-poor blood in the heart. So the skin will no longer look discolored.

  • Heart transplant. Another surgical option is a heart transplant. However, the number of hearts for transplant is limited, so this option is not used as often. Children who have heart transplants need medications throughout life to prevent rejection of the donor heart.

Follow-up care

After surgery or a transplant, a baby needs lifelong care with a cardiologist trained in congenital heart diseases. Some medications might be needed for heart function. Various complications can occur over time and might require further treatment or other medications.

The child's cardiologist will decide whether the child needs to take preventive antibiotics before certain dental or other procedures to prevent infections. Some children might also need to limit physical activity.

Follow-up care for adults

Adult care requires a cardiologist trained in congenital heart disease in adults. Recent advances in surgical care have allowed children with hypoplastic left heart syndrome to grow into adulthood. So it's not yet clear what challenges an adult with the condition might face. Adults need regular, lifelong follow-up care to watch for changes in the condition.

People considering pregnancy should discuss pregnancy risks and birth control options with their health care providers. Having this condition increases the risk of cardiovascular problems during pregnancy, the risk of miscarriage and the risk of having a baby with congenital heart disease.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Coping and support

It can be challenging to live with hypoplastic left heart syndrome or to care for a baby with the condition. Here are some strategies that might help:

  • Seek support. Ask family members and friends for help. Caregivers need breaks. Talk with your child's cardiologist about support groups and other types of assistance.

    If you're a teen or an adult with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, ask your health care provider if there are support groups for adults with congenital heart conditions. It can be helpful to talk to other people who share your challenges.

  • Keep health records. Write down your or your baby's diagnosis, medications, surgery and other procedures and the dates they were performed. Include the name and phone number of the cardiologist, emergency contact numbers for health care providers and hospitals, and other important information. Include a copy of the report from the surgeon in the records.

    This information will help you keep track of the care received. It will be useful for care providers who don't know the complex health history. This information is also helpful as your child moves from pediatric care to adult cardiology care.

  • Talk about your concerns. Talk with your child's cardiologist about which activities are best for your child. If some are off-limits, encourage your child in other pursuits rather than focusing on what can't be done.

    If other issues about your child's health concern you, discuss them with your child's cardiologist too. If you are an adult with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, ask your care provider about activities you can do. Talk about your concerns.

Hypoplastic left heart syndrome care at Mayo Clinic

Aug. 12, 2022

Living with hypoplastic left heart syndrome?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Heart & Blood Health support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Heart & Blood Health Discussions

csage1010 (Sue)
Anyone else out there with extremely high lipoprotein (a)?

104 Replies Fri, Jun 14, 2024

teatime
Stopping Carvedilol (Coreg): When will the effects wear off?

385 Replies Tue, Jun 04, 2024

pop77
Living with high calcium score

57 Replies Sat, Jun 01, 2024

See more discussions
  1. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Anatomy, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  2. Ani T. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. June 1, 2022.
  3. Libby P, et al., eds. Congenital heart disease in the adolescent and adult. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 12th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  4. Facts about hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/HLHS.html. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  5. Single ventricle defects. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/single-ventricle-defects. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  6. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Management and outcome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  7. Waltzman M. Initial evaluation of shock in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  8. Wojtowicz A, et al. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: From the prenatal to the postnatal period. Ginekologia Polska. 2021; doi:10.5603/GP.a2020.0160.
  9. What are congenital heart defects? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects. Accessed June 9, 2022.
  10. van Hagen IM, et al. Pregnancy in congenital heart disease: Risk prediction and counseling. Heart. 2020; doi:10.1136/heartjnl-2019-314702.