التشخيص

قبل الولادة

من الممكن أن تُشخص إصابة الطفل بمتلازمة نقص تنسج القلب الأيسر أثناء وجوده في الرحم. فقد يستطيع الطبيب التعرف على الحالة من خلال إجراء فحص التصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية العادية خلال الثلث الثاني من الحمل.

بعد الولادة

بعد ولادة طفلك، قد يشتبه الطبيب في وجود عيب في قلبه، مثل متلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر، إذا كان لون بشرته رماديًا مائل للزرقة أو كانت لديه مشكلة في التنفس. وقد يشتبه أيضًا في وجود عيب في القلب إذا سمع صوت نفخة قلبية، وهو صوت غير طبيعي سببُه اضطراب تدفُّق الدم، عندما يستمع إلى القلب من خلال السماعة الطبية.

يستخدم الأطباء عادةً مخطط صدى القلب لتشخيص متلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر. ويَستخدم هذا الاختبار موجات صوتية ترتدُّ من قلب طفلك لتكوين صور متحركة يمكن عرضها على شاشة فيديو.

إذا كان طفلك مصابًا بمتلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر، فإن مخطط صدى القلب سيُظهِر البطين الأيسر والشريان الأورطي أصغر من حجمهما الطبيعي. وقد يُظهِر أيضًا صمامات قلبية غير طبيعية.

نظرًا إلى قدرة هذا الاختبار على تتبُّع تدفق الدم، فإنه يُظهِر أيضًا تدفق الدم من البطين الأيمن إلى الشريان الأورطي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، من الممكن لمخطط صدى القلب تحديد العيوب المرتبطة بالقلب، مثل عيب الحاجز الأذيني.

العلاج

تُعالَج متلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر من خلال العديد من الإجراءات الجراحية أو زراعة القلب. وسيناقش طبيب طفلك الخيارات العلاجية معك.

إذا شُخِّصت حالتك قبل الولادة، فسيوصي الأطباء عادةً بالولادة في مستشفى يوجد به مركز جراحة قلب.

قد يوصي الطبيب المعالج لطفلك بخيارات متعددة للمساعدة على التعامل مع حالة الطفل قبل إجراء العملية الجراحية أو عملية الزرع، بما في ذلك ما يلي:

  • الأدوية. يساعد دواء الألبروستاديل (الموجود في محلول بروستين في آر للأطفال) على توسيع الأوعية الدموية وفتح القناة الشريانية.
  • المساعدة على التنفس. إذا كان طفلك لديه مشكلة في التنفس، فقد يحتاج إلى جهاز تنفس (جهاز تنفس صناعي) لضمان حصوله على ما يكفي من الأكسجين.
  • السوائل من خلال الوريد. سيتلقى طفلك السوائل من خلال أنبوب يدخل في أحد الأوردة.
  • أنبوب التغذية. إذا كان طفلك يواجه صعوبة أو إنهاكًا أثناء التغذية، يمكن أن يحصل على غذائه عبر أنبوب التغذية.
  • فغر الحاجز الأذيني. يعمل هذا الإجراء على فتح الثقب أو توسعيه بين غرفتي القلب العلويتين (الأذينين) ليسمح بتدفق المزيد من الدم من الأذين الأيمن إلى الأذين الأيسر إذا كان الثقب البيضاوي مسدودًا أو كان حجمه صغيرًا للغاية. وإذا كان طفلك مصابًا بثقب في الحاجز الأذيني بالفعل، فقد لا يلزم إجراء فغر الحاجز الأذيني.

الجراحات والإجراءات الأخرى

من المحتمل أن يحتاج طفلك إلى عدة عمليات جراحية لعلاج متلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر. يُجري الجراحون هذه العمليات لإنشاء مسارات منفصلة لتوصيل الدم الغني بالأكسجين إلى الجسم والدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين إلى الرئتين. وتُجرى هذه العمليات على ثلاث مراحل.

  • إجراء نوروود. عادة ما تُجرى هذه الجراحة خلال الأسبوعين الأولين من الطفل. وتُجرى هذه العملية بعدة طرق.

    يعيد الجراحون بناء الشريان الأورطي وتوصيله بالغرفة اليمنى السفلى للقلب (البطين الأيمن). يُدخل الجراحون أُنبوبًا (تحويلة) يربط الشريان الأورطي بالشرايين المؤدية إلى الرئتين (الشرايين الرئوية)، أو يضعون تحويلة تربط البطين الأيمن بالشرايين الرئوية. وتتيح هذه الطريقة للبطين الأيمن ضخ الدم إلى كل من الرئتين والجسم.

    في بعض الحالات، تُجرى عملية تجمع بين أساليب مختلفة. وفيها يزرع الجراحون دعامة في القناة الشريانية للحفاظ على الفتحة بين الشريان الرئوي والشريان الأورطي. تقلل الأشرطة الموضوعة حول الشرايين الرئوية من تدفق الدم إلى الرئتين وتصنع فتحة بين أذينات القلب.

    بعد إجراء عملية نوروود، سيظل جلد الطفل مكتسبًا اللون الأزرق بسبب اختلاط الدم الغني بالأكسجين والدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين في القلب. وبمجرد أن يجتاز الطفل مرحلة العلاج هذه بنجاح، يمكن أن تزيد احتمالات بقائه على قيد الحياة.

  • إجراء غلين ثنائي الاتجاه. هذا الإجراء عمومًا هو نوع الجراحة الثانية. ويُجرى عندما يكون عمر الطفل من 3 إلى 6 أشهر. وفيه يزيل الأطباء التحويلة الأولى المتصلة بالشرايين الرئوية ثم يوصلون أحد الأوردة الكبيرة التي تعيد الدم عادةً إلى القلب (الوريد الأجوف العلوي) إلى الشريان الرئوي بدلاً من ذلك. إذا كان الجراحون قد أجروا في السابق عملية هجين، فسيتبعون خطوات إضافية في هذه العملية.

    يقلل هذا الإجراء من عمل البطين الأيمن عن طريق السماح له بضخ الدم إلى الشريان الأورطي بشكل أساسي. ويسمح أيضًا لمعظم الدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين العائد من الجسم بالتدفق مباشرة إلى الرئتين دون مضخة.

    بعد هذا الإجراء، يرسل كل الدم العائد من الجزء العلوي من الجسم إلى الرئتين، وبالتالي يُضخ الدم مع مزيد من الأكسجين إلى الشريان الأورطي لإمداد الأعضاء والأنسجة في جميع أنحاء الجسم.

  • إجراء فونتان. يتم هذا الإجراء عادةً عندما يكون عمر الطفل بين 18 شهرًا و 4 أعوام. ينشئ الجراح مسارًا للدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين في أحد الأوعية الدموية التي تعيد الدم إلى القلب (الوريد الأجوف السفلي) ليتدفق مباشرة إلى الشرايين الرئوية. ثم تنقل الشرايين الرئوية الدم إلى الرئتين.

    يسمح إجراء فونتان لباقي الدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين العائد من الجسم بالتدفق إلى الرئتين. بعد هذا الإجراء، يقل للغاية امتزاج الدم الغني بالأكسجين بالدم المفتقر إلى الأكسجين في القلب، ولن يكون جلد الطفل أزرق اللون بعد ذلك.

  • زراعة القلب. من الخيارات الجراحية الأخرى الممكنة زراعة القلب. ومع ذلك، فإن فرص توفّر قلب يمكن استخدامه للزراعة محدودة، ولذلك لا يُلجأ في الغالب إلى هذا الإجراء. بعد إجراء زراعة القلب، سيحتاج طفلك إلى أدوية طوال حياته لمنع رفض قلب المتبرع.

الرعاية في مرحلة المتابعة

بعد الخضوع لجراحة أو عملية زرع، سيحتاج طفلك إلى رعاية تفقدية مدى الحياة مع طبيب قلب متخصص في أمراض القلب الخلقية. وقد تكون بعض الأدوية ضرورية لتنظيم عمل القلب. وقد تحدث مضاعفات مختلفة بمرور الوقت، وقد تتطلب مزيدًا من العلاج أو الأدوية الأخرى.

سيخبرك طبيب القلب المعني بما إذا كان طفلك بحاجة إلى تناول مضادات حيوية وقائية قبل بعض الإجراءات المتعلقة بالأسنان أو غيرها من العمليات أم لا، وذلك لمنع العدوى. وفي بعض الحالات، قد يوصي أيضًا بتقليل نشاط طفلك البدني.

رعاية المتابعة للبالغين

بعد بلوغ الطفل، سيتم تحويله من اختصاصي أمراض القلب للأطفال إلى طبيب قلب متخصص في أمراض القلب الخلقية في الكبار. وقد أسهمت التطورات التي طرأت على مجال الرعاية الجراحية في إطالة عمر الأطفال المصابين بمتلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر حتى وصولهم إلى مرحلة البلوغ، إلا أن هذا لم يتحقق إلا مؤخرًا، لذا ما تزال التحديات التي تواجه البالغين المصابين هذه الحالة غير واضحة. ولهذا السبب، ستحتاج إلى رعاية طبية منتظمة طوال الحياة لمراقبة ومتابعة أي تغييرات قد تطرأ على حالتك.

يجب على النساء اللاتي يرغبن في الإنجاب، مناقشة مخاطر الحمل وخيارات تنظيم النسل مع الأطباء. إن الإصابة بهذه الحالة المرضية يزيد من خطر وقوع مشكلات في القلب والأوعية الدموية أثناء الحمل وخطر الإجهاض التلقائي وولادة طفل مصاب بمرض القلب الخلقي.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

التأقلم والدعم

قد يكون من الصعب التعايش مع الإصابة بمتلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر أو رعاية طفل مُصاب بها. إليك بعض الاستراتيجيات التي ربما تسهِّل عليك الأمر:

  • التمس الدعم. إذا كان طفلك مُصابًا بمتلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر، فاطلُب المساعدة من أفراد العائلة والأصدقاء. فمن المهم أن يأخذ مقدِّمو الرعاية بعض الراحة. تحدَّث إلى طبيب القلب الخاص بطفلك عن مجموعات الدعم وأنواع المساعدة الأخرى.

    إذا كنتَ في سن المراهقة أو البلوغ ومُصابًا بمتلازمة نقص تنسُّج القلب الأيسر، فاسأل طبيبك عن مجموعات لدعم البالغين المصابين بأمراض القلب الخلقية. فقد يكون من المفيد التحدُّث إلى أشخاص آخرين يشاركونك التحدِّيات التي تواجهها.

  • سجِّل تاريخك أو تاريخ طفلك الصحي. دوِّن تشخيص طفلك وأدويته والعمليات الجراحية التي خضع لها وغيرها من العمليات والتواريخ التي أُجرِيَت فيها، بالإضافة إلى اسم طبيب القلب المعالج لك أو لطفلك ورقم هاتفه، وأرقام الاتصال بالأطباء والمستشفى في حالات الطوارئ، والمعلومات المُهمَّة الأخرى التي تخص رعايتك أو رعاية طفلك. أضف نُسخة من تقرير الجرَّاح المعالج لك أو لطفلك في سجلاتك.

    ستُساعدك هذه المعلومات على تذكُّر الرعاية التي قُدمت لك أو لطفلك، وستفيد الأطباء الذين لا علم لهم بحالتك أو بحالة طفلك عند مُراجعة التاريخ الصحِّي المفصَّل لك أو لطفلك. كما تفيد هذه المعلومات أيضًا عند نمو طفلك ودخوله مرحلة البلوغ والانتقال من رعاية طب أمراض القلب للأطفال إلى رعاية طب أمراض القلب للبالغين.

  • تحدَّث عن مخاوفك. مع تطوُّر مراحل نمو الطفل، تحدَّث إلى طبيب القلب بشأن الأنشطة الأنسب لطفلك. وإذا كانت بعض الأنشطة ممنوعة عليه، فشجعه على المشاركة في أنشطة غيرها بدلاً من التركيز على ما لا يمكنه فعله.

    إذا كانت توجد مشكلات أخرى تقلقك تتعلَّق بصحة طفلك، فناقشها أيضًا مع طبيب القلب المعالج له. أما إذا كانت المشكلة متعلقة بك أنت، فاسأل الطبيب عن الأنشطة التي يُمكنك القيام بها وعمَّا يُساوِرك من مخاوف.

متلازمة القلب الأيسر ناقص التنسج - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

03/12/2020
  1. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Anatomy, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 23, 2020.
  2. Brown A. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Oct. 8, 2020.
  3. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Congenital heart disease in the adult and pediatric patient. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Nov. 30, 2020.
  4. Facts about hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/HLHS.html. Accessed Nov. 30, 2020.
  5. Single ventricle defects. American Heart Association. https://www.heart.org/en/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects/about-congenital-heart-defects/single-ventricle-defects#.Wyc5u4onZEY. Accessed Nov. 3, 2020.
  6. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Management and outcome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 23, 2020.
  7. Waltzman M. Initial evaluation of shock in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Nov. 30, 2020.
  8. Ohye RG, et al. Current therapy for hypoplastic left heart syndrome and related single ventricle lesions. Circulation. 2016; doi:10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.116.022816.
  9. What are congenital heart defects? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects. Accessed Nov. 3, 2020.
  10. Collins II RT, et al. National in-hospital outcomes of pregnancy in women with single ventricle congenital heart disease. American Journal of Cardiology. 2017;119:1106.

Diagnosis

Before birth

It's possible for a baby to be diagnosed with hypoplastic left heart syndrome while it's still in the womb. Your doctor may be able to identify the condition on a routine ultrasound exam during the second trimester of pregnancy.

After birth

After your baby is born, his or her doctor may suspect a heart defect, such as hypoplastic left heart syndrome, if your baby has grayish-blue skin color or has trouble breathing. Your baby's doctor may also suspect a heart defect if he or she hears a heart murmur when listening to the heart with a stethoscope — an abnormal whooshing sound caused by turbulent blood flow.

Doctors usually use an echocardiogram to diagnose hypoplastic left heart syndrome. This test uses high-pitched sound waves that bounce off your baby's heart to produce moving images that can be viewed on a video screen.

If your baby has hypoplastic left heart syndrome, the echocardiogram will show a smaller than normal left ventricle and aorta. The echocardiogram may also show abnormal heart valves.

Because this test can track blood flow, it also shows blood moving from the right ventricle into the aorta. In addition, an echocardiogram can identify associated heart defects, such as an atrial septal defect.

Treatment

Hypoplastic left heart syndrome is treated through several surgical procedures or a heart transplant. Your doctor will discuss with you the treatment options for your child.

If the diagnosis has been made before the baby is born, doctors usually recommend delivery at a hospital with a cardiac surgery center.

Before surgery

Your baby's doctor may recommend several options to help manage your baby's condition before surgery or transplant. They may include:

  • Medication. The medication alprostadil (Prostin VR Pediatric) helps dilate the blood vessels and keeps the ductus arteriosus open.
  • Breathing assistance. If your baby has trouble breathing, he or she may need help from a breathing machine (ventilator), which ensures adequate oxygen delivery.
  • Intravenous fluids. Your baby will receive fluids through a tube inserted into a vein.
  • Feeding tube. If your baby has trouble or gets tired while feeding, he or she may be fed through a feeding tube.
  • Atrial septostomy. This procedure creates or enlarges the opening between the heart's upper chambers (atria) to allow more blood flow between the right atrium to the left atrium if the foramen ovale closes or is too small. If your baby already has an atrial septal defect, an atrial septostomy may not be necessary.

Surgery

Your child will likely need several surgical procedures to treat hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Surgeons perform these procedures in three stages. These procedures are designed to create normal blood flow in and out of the heart so the body gets the oxygen-rich blood it needs.

  • Norwood procedure. This surgery is usually performed within the first two weeks of your child's life. Several forms of this procedure may be performed.

    Surgeons reconstruct the aorta and connect it directly to the heart's lower right chamber (right ventricle). Surgeons insert a tube (shunt) that connects the aorta to the arteries leading to the lungs (pulmonary arteries), or they place a shunt that connects the right ventricle to the pulmonary arteries. This procedure allows the right ventricle to effectively pump blood to both the lungs and the body.

    In some cases, doctors may perform a hybrid procedure. Surgeons implant a stent in the ductus arteriosus to maintain the opening between the pulmonary artery and aorta, place bands around the pulmonary arteries to reduce blood flow to the lungs, and create an opening between the atria of the heart.

    After this procedure, your baby's skin will still have a blue cast because oxygen-rich blood and oxygen-poor blood continue to mix within the heart. Once your baby successfully passes through this stage of treatment, the odds of survival may increase, but he or she may still be at risk of death due to complications.

  • Bi-directional Glenn procedure. This procedure is generally the second operation and is performed when your child is between 3 and 6 months of age. In this procedure, doctors remove the first shunt attached to the pulmonary arteries, and then connect one of the large veins that normally returns blood to the heart (the superior vena cava) to the pulmonary artery instead. If surgeons previously performed a hybrid procedure, they'll conduct additional steps during this procedure.

    This procedure reduces the work of the right ventricle by allowing it to pump blood mainly to the aorta. It also allows most of the oxygen-poor blood returning from the body to flow directly into the lungs without a pump.

    After this procedure, all the blood returning from the upper body is sent to the lungs, so blood with more oxygen is pumped to the aorta to supply organs and tissues throughout the body.

  • Fontan procedure. This procedure is usually performed when your child is between 18 months and 4 years of age. During this procedure, the surgeon creates a path for the oxygen-poor blood in one of the blood vessels that returns blood to the heart (the inferior vena cava) to flow directly into the pulmonary arteries. The pulmonary arteries then transport the blood into the lungs.

    This procedure allows the rest of the oxygen-poor blood returning from the body to flow to the lungs. After this procedure, there's no mixing of oxygen-rich and oxygen-poor blood in the heart, and your child's skin will no longer look blue.

Another surgical option is a heart transplant, especially when the associated heart defects are complex. Babies with hypoplastic left heart syndrome can be considered for a transplant. After a heart transplant, your child will need lifelong medications to prevent the body from rejecting the donor heart.

Follow-up care

After surgery or a transplant, your baby will need lifelong follow-up care with a cardiologist trained in congenital heart diseases to monitor his or her heart health. Some medications may be necessary to regulate heart function. Various complications may occur over time and may require further treatment or medications.

Your child's cardiologist will tell you whether your child needs to take preventive antibiotics before certain dental or other procedures to prevent infections. In some cases, he or she may also recommend that your child limit physical activity.

Follow-up care for adults

As an adult, you'll transition from a pediatric cardiologist to a cardiologist trained in congenital heart disease in adults. It's only recently that advances in surgical care have resulted in children with hypoplastic left heart syndrome surviving into adulthood, so it's not yet clear the exact challenges an adult with the condition may face. That's why you'll need regular, lifelong follow-up care to monitor for any changes in your condition.

If you're a woman and you're considering pregnancy, discuss pregnancy risks and birth control options with your doctor. Pregnancy typically isn't recommended for someone with hypoplastic left heart syndrome.

However, some women with the condition have had healthy pregnancies and deliveries. But, during pregnancy, such a woman's risk of cardiovascular problems is higher than it is for a woman without hypoplastic left heart syndrome. The risk of having a baby with congenital heart disease is also increased if the mother has congenital heart disease.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Coping and support

It can be challenging to live with hypoplastic left heart syndrome or to care for a baby with the condition. Here are some strategies that may help make it easier:

  • Seek support. If you have a child with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, ask for help from family members and friends. It's important for caregivers to take breaks sometimes. Talk with your child's cardiologist about support groups and other types of assistance that are available near you.

    If you're a teen or an adult with hypoplastic left heart syndrome, ask your doctor if there are any support groups for adults with congenital heart conditions. It can be helpful to talk to other people who understand your challenges and triumphs.

  • Record your baby's health history. It's important to write down your or your baby's diagnosis, medications, surgery and other procedures and the dates they were performed, as well as the name and phone number of your or your child's cardiologist, emergency contact numbers for your or your child's doctors and hospital, and any other important information about your or your baby's care. It's also important to include a copy of the operative report from your or your child's surgeon in your records.

    This information will help you recall the care you or your child has received, and it will be useful for doctors who are unfamiliar with you or your baby to review your or your child's complex health history. This information is also helpful as your child grows into adulthood and transitions from pediatric to adult cardiology care.

  • Talk about your concerns. As your child grows, you may worry about activities in which he or she can safely participate. Talk with the cardiologist about which activities are best for your child. If some are off-limits, encourage your child in other pursuits rather than focusing on what he or she can't do. If other issues about your child's health concern you, discuss them with your child's cardiologist, too. As an adult, ask your doctor about what activities you can do, and if you have any questions or concerns.

Hypoplastic left heart syndrome care at Mayo Clinic

Aug. 04, 2018
References
  1. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Anatomy, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  2. Mussa S, et al. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Paediatrics and Child Health. 2016;27:75.
  3. Bonow RO, et al., eds. Congenital heart disease in the adult and pediatric patient. In: Braunwald's Heart Disease: A Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2019. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 16, 2018.
  4. Facts about hypoplastic left heart syndrome. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/heartdefects/HLHS.html. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  5. Single ventricle defects. American Heart Association. http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/CongenitalHeartDefects/AboutCongenitalHeartDefects/Single-Ventricle-Defects_UCM_307037_Article.jsp#.Wyc5u4onZEY. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  6. Rathod RH. Hypoplastic left heart syndrome: Management and outcome. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  7. Waltzman M. Initial evaluation of shock in children. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  8. Ohye RG, et al. Current therapy for hypoplastic left heart syndrome and related single ventricle lesions. Circulation. 2016;134:1265.
  9. What are congenital heart defects? National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/congenital-heart-defects. Accessed June 17, 2018.
  10. Collins II RT, et al. National in-hospital outcomes of pregnancy in women with single ventricle congenital heart disease. American Journal of Cardiology. 2017;119:1106.
  11. Riggin EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. March 13, 2018.