诊断

甲状腺功能亢进症的诊断方法:

  • 病史和体格检查。在检查过程中,医生可能会发现您的手指在伸展时有轻微震颤、反射过度活跃、眼睛有变化、皮肤温暖湿润。医生也会在您吞咽时检查您的甲状腺是否肿大、隆起或压痛,并检查您的脉搏是否过快或不规则。
  • 血液检测。可通过血液检测测量甲状腺素和促甲状腺激素(TSH),从而进行确诊。甲状腺素水平高,TSH 水平低或不存在表明甲状腺功能亢进症。促甲状腺素水平很重要,因为它是一种向甲状腺发出信号以产生更多甲状腺素的激素。

    老年人可能没有典型的甲状腺功能亢进症症状。因此这些检测尤其必要。

    如果您正在使用生物素(一种也可能存在于复合维生素的 B 族维生素补充剂),甲状腺血液检测可能会给出错误的结果。如果您正在使用生物素或复合维生素与生物素,请告知您的医生。为确保检测准确,至少在采血前 12 小时前停止使用生物素。

如果血液检查结果表明您患有甲状腺功能亢进症,医生可能会推荐下列检查之一,以帮助确定甲状腺过度活跃的原因:

  • 放射性碘摄取试验。在此项检测中,您需要口服少量放射性碘,看有多少会聚集在您的甲状腺中。您将在 4、6 或 24 小时后接受检查(有时是在所有三个时间段之后)以查看您的甲状腺吸收了多少碘。

    若放射性碘的摄取量偏高,则表明您的甲状腺正在产生过多的甲状腺素。最可能的病因是格雷夫斯病或甲状腺结节。如果您患有甲状腺功能亢进症,并且您的放射性碘摄取量很低,这表明储存在腺体中的甲状腺素正在渗漏到血液中,这可能意味着您患有甲状腺炎。

  • 甲状腺扫描。在此检测过程中,需要将放射性同位素注射到肘部内侧的静脉中,或者有时注射到您手上的静脉中。然后,您躺在治疗床上,头向后伸,同时通过计算机屏幕上一个特殊摄像头拍摄您的甲状腺图像。这个检测显示碘如何在您甲状腺中聚集。
  • 甲状腺超声。这项检测使用高频声波来产生甲状腺的图像。超声检查可能比其他检查更能发现甲状腺结节,而且患者不会受到任何辐射。

治疗

目前存在几种甲状腺功能亢进症的治疗方法。最佳方案取决于您的年龄、身体状况、甲状腺功能亢进症的根本原因、个人偏好和疾病的严重程度。可能的治疗包括:

  • 放射性碘疗法。口服后,甲状腺会吸收放射性碘并因此萎缩。症状通常在数月内消退。过量的放射性碘在数周至数月内从体内消失。

    这种治疗可能会导致甲状腺活动减慢,以至于被认为是甲状腺功能不足(甲状腺功能减退症),您最终可能需要每天服用甲状腺素的替代药物。

  • 抗甲状腺药物。这些药物通过阻止甲状腺产生过量的激素来逐渐减轻甲状腺功能亢进症的症状。包括甲硫基咪唑(他巴唑)和丙基硫脲嘧啶。症状通常在数周至数月内开始改善,但抗甲状腺药物治疗可至少持续 1 年,通常会更长。

    对于一些人来说,这可以永久性解决问题,但其他人可能会复发。两种药物均可能引起严重的肝损害,有时可导致死亡。由于丙硫氧嘧啶引起的肝损害情况多很多,一般只有在您不能耐受甲硫基咪唑的情况下才使用。

    少数对这些药物过敏的患者可能会出现皮疹、荨麻疹、发热或关节疼痛。它们也会使您更容易感染。

  • β 受体阻滞剂。尽管这些药物通常用于治疗高血压,且不会影响甲状腺水平,但可以缓解甲状腺功能亢进症的症状,如震颤、心率加快和心悸。因此,您的医生可能会给您开具处方,以帮助您好转,直至您的甲状腺水平接近正常。通常不将这些药物推荐用于哮喘患者,其副作用可能包括疲劳和性功能障碍。
  • 手术(甲状腺切除术)。如果您已怀孕或无法耐受抗甲状腺药物,并且不想或无法接受放射性碘疗法,您可以选择甲状腺手术,尽管只是少数患者的选择。

    在甲状腺切除术中,您的医生会切除您大部分的甲状腺。这种手术的风险包括声带和甲状旁腺损伤(位于甲状腺背面的四个小腺体,帮助控制血液中的钙水平)。

    此外,您需要终生接受左甲状腺素(Levoxyl、Synthroid 等)治疗,为您的身体供应正常量的甲状腺激素。如果您的甲状旁腺也被切除,您将需要药物来保持您的血钙水平正常。

格雷夫斯眼病

如果格雷夫斯病影响您的眼睛(格雷夫斯眼病),您可使用人工泪液和润滑凝胶以及避免风和强光来处理轻微的症状和体征。如果您的症状更严重,医生可能会建议用皮质类固醇激素(如泼尼松),来减轻眼球后的肿胀。

两种药物——利妥昔单抗(Rituxan)和替普妥单抗——正被用于治疗格雷夫斯眼病,尽管尚无大量明确证据证实其有效。一项小型研究后,替普妥单抗获得了美国食品和药物管理局的快速批准。对于这两种药物作为格雷夫斯眼病的治疗方法需要进行更多的研究。

对于某些病例,可选择手术治疗:

  • 眼眶减压手术。在此手术中,医生会切除您眼窝和鼻窦之间的骨头——眼窝旁边的空隙。手术成功后可改善视力,并为您的眼睛提供恢复正常位置的空间。但是有并发症风险,包括术后持续复视或仍出现复视。
  • 眼肌手术。有时格雷夫斯眼病的疤痕组织会导致一个或多个眼部肌肉过短。这会使您的眼睛偏离准线,导致复视。眼肌手术通过将受影响的肌肉从眼球上切除,并将其重新连接到更远的位置可帮助矫正双眼视野。

更多信息

生活方式与家庭疗法

一旦您开始治疗,甲亢的症状应该会消退,您应该开始感觉好多了。然而,您的医生可能建议您注意饮食中的碘,因为它可能导致甲状腺功能亢进症或使病情恶化。

海带、黄藻和其他种类的海藻中含有大量的碘。止咳糖浆和复合维生素中也可能含有碘。

格雷夫斯病

如果患有格雷夫斯眼病或皮肤病,以下建议可以改善眼睛或皮肤的状况:

  • 不要抽烟。抽烟会引起格雷夫斯眼病,并可能在治疗之后导致疾病加重。
  • 保持眼睛湿润。眼药水可以随时帮助缓解眼睛干涩和刺痒。如果眼睛无法完全闭合,您可以用胶带粘合眼睑,或者在睡前使用润滑剂以防止角膜干涩。冷敷法也有助于保湿。
  • 保护眼睛。佩戴太阳镜,以防止眼睛受到风吹日晒。
  • 将头抬起。将床头升高可有助于缓解眼睛肿胀和压力。
  • 尝试使用非处方乳膏来处理肿胀的皮肤。含有氢化可的松(Cortizone-10 等)的非处方乳膏可有助于缓解发红、肿胀的皮肤和双脚。如需帮助找到这些乳膏,请咨询药剂师。

妥善处理与支持

如果您已经确诊为甲状腺功能亢进症,那么最重要的事情就是接受必要的医学治疗。在您和医生订好治疗方案后,您还可以再做些事情帮助自己应对疾病,并支持身体度过治疗阶段。

  • 定期运动。一般来说,运动有助于缓解不适,能够改善肌张力和心血管系统功能。负重运动对格雷夫斯病患者很重要,因为负重锻炼有助于维持骨密度。运动还有助于降低食欲并提高体能水平。
  • 学习松弛技术。有多种松弛技术可以帮助您保持乐观心态,尤其是在应对疾病时。有确凿的证明表明,压力是格雷夫斯病的风险因素之一,所以学会放松并保持生活各方面的平衡有助于维持身心健康。

准备您的预约

您可能会先去看初级保健医生。但是,在某些情况下,您也可能会被立即转诊给专门治疗身体内分泌腺的医生(内分泌科医生)。如果眼睛受到影响,您也可能被转诊给眼科医生。

最好做好就诊准备。以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备,并了解医生可能会做些什么。

您可以做些什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。约诊时,询问是否有需要提前准备的事项。
  • 写下您目前的症状,包括看似与本次约诊原因无关的症状。
  • 写下关键个人信息,包括重大压力或近期的生活变化。
  • 列出您正在服用的所有药物、维生素或膳食补充剂的清单,特别是含生物素的补充剂或维生素。
  • 如有可能,请一名家人或朋友陪您就诊。陪同您的亲友可能会记住您遗漏或忘记的信息。
  • 写下要问医生的问题

提前准备好问题清单有助于充分利用就诊时间。对于甲状腺功能亢进症,向医生询问的一些基本问题包括:

  • 主要是哪些原因引起我的症状?
  • 是否有其他可能的病因?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 我的状况可能是暂时性的还是长期性的?
  • 可以选择哪些治疗方案,您会向我建议哪种治疗方案?
  • 我还有其他疾病。如何一起治疗这些疾病?
  • 我应该去看专科医生吗?
  • 您开的处方药是否有可替代的仿制药?
  • 是否有我可以带走的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议哪些网站?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提问。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问一些问题,例如:

  • 您什么时候开始出现症状的?
  • 症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状好转?
  • 是否有任何因素看似会加重您的症状?
  • 您有其他家人患有甲状腺疾病吗?
  • 您近期接受过使用静脉注射造影剂的放射科扫描吗?
Nov. 14, 2020
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hyperthyroidism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  2. De Leo S, et al. Hyperthyroidism. The Lancet. 2016;388:906.
  3. Hyperthyroidism. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/thyroid-disorders/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  4. Hyperthyroidism. American Thyroid Association. https://www.thyroid.org/hyperthyroidism/. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  5. Hyperthyroidism (overactive thyroid). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  6. Burch HB, et al. Management of Graves disease. JAMA. 2015;314:2544.
  7. Graves' disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/graves-disease. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  8. Podrid PJ. Major side effects of beta blockers. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 7, 2018.
  9. Davies TF, et al. Treatment of Graves' orbitopathy (ophthalmopathy). https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 7, 2018.
  10. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Hyperthroidism. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  11. Elston MS, et al. Factitious Graves' disease due to biotin immunoassay interference — A case and review of the literature.
  12. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 8, 2018.

甲亢(甲状腺功能亢进)

Diagnosis

Hyperthyroidism is diagnosed using:

  • Medical history and physical exam. During the exam your doctor may try to detect a slight tremor in your fingers when they're extended, overactive reflexes, eye changes and warm, moist skin. Your doctor will also examine your thyroid gland as you swallow to see if it's enlarged, bumpy or tender and check your pulse to see if it's rapid or irregular.
  • Blood tests. Blood tests that measure thyroxine and thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) can confirm the diagnosis. High levels of thyroxine and low or nonexistent amounts of TSH indicate an overactive thyroid. The amount of TSH is important because it's the hormone that signals your thyroid gland to produce more thyroxine.

    These tests are particularly necessary for older adults, who may not have classic symptoms of hyperthyroidism.

    Thyroid blood tests may give false results if you're taking biotin — a B vitamin supplement that may also be found in multivitamins. Let your doctor know if you are using biotin or a multivitamin with biotin. To ensure an accurate test, stop taking biotin at least 12 hours before blood is taken.

If blood tests indicate hyperthyroidism, your doctor may recommend one of the following tests to help determine why your thyroid is overactive:

  • Radioiodine uptake test. For this test, you take a small, oral dose of radioactive iodine (radioiodine) to see how much will collect in your thyroid gland. You'll be checked after four, six or 24 hours — and sometimes after all three time periods — to see how much iodine your thyroid has absorbed.

    A high uptake of radioiodine indicates your thyroid gland is producing too much thyroxine. The most likely cause is either Graves' disease or hyperfunctioning thyroid nodules. If you have hyperthyroidism and your radioiodine uptake is low, this indicates that the thyroxine stored in the gland is leaking into the bloodstream, which may mean you have thyroiditis.

  • Thyroid scan. During this test, you'll have a radioactive isotope injected into the vein on the inside of your elbow or sometimes into a vein in your hand. You then lie on a table with your head stretched backward while a special camera produces an image of your thyroid gland on a computer screen. This test shows how iodine collects in your thyroid.
  • Thyroid ultrasound. This test uses high-frequency sound waves to produce images of the thyroid. Ultrasound may be better at detecting thyroid nodules than other tests, and there's no exposure to any radiation.

Treatment

Several treatments for hyperthyroidism exist. The best approach for you depends on your age, physical condition, the underlying cause of the hyperthyroidism, personal preference and the severity of your disorder. Possible treatments include:

  • Radioactive iodine. Taken by mouth, radioactive iodine is absorbed by your thyroid gland, where it causes the gland to shrink. Symptoms usually subside within several months. Excess radioactive iodine disappears from the body in weeks to months.

    This treatment may cause thyroid activity to slow enough to be considered underactive (hypothyroidism), and you may eventually need to take medication every day to replace thyroxine.

  • Anti-thyroid medications. These medications gradually reduce symptoms of hyperthyroidism by preventing your thyroid gland from producing excess amounts of hormones. They include methimazole (Tapazole) and propylithiouracil. Symptoms usually begin to improve within several weeks to months, but treatment with anti-thyroid medications typically continues at least a year and often longer.

    For some people, this clears up the problem permanently, but other people may experience a relapse. Both drugs can cause serious liver damage, sometimes leading to death. Because propylthiouracil has caused far more cases of liver damage, it generally should be used only when you can't tolerate methimazole.

    A small number of people who are allergic to these drugs may develop skin rashes, hives, fever or joint pain. They also can make you more susceptible to infection.

  • Beta blockers. Although these drugs are usually used to treat high blood pressure and don't affect thyroid levels, they can ease symptoms of hyperthyroidism, such as a tremor, rapid heart rate and palpitations. For that reason, your doctor may prescribe them to help you feel better until your thyroid levels are closer to normal. These medications generally aren't recommended for people who have asthma, and side effects may include fatigue and sexual dysfunction.
  • Surgery (thyroidectomy). If you're pregnant or you otherwise can't tolerate anti-thyroid drugs and don't want to or can't have radioactive iodine therapy, you may be a candidate for thyroid surgery, although this is an option in only a few cases.

    In a thyroidectomy, your doctor removes most of your thyroid gland. Risks of this surgery include damage to your vocal cords and parathyroid glands — four tiny glands situated on the back of your thyroid gland that help control the level of calcium in your blood.

    In addition, you'll need lifelong treatment with levothyroxine (Levoxyl, Synthroid, others) to supply your body with normal amounts of thyroid hormone. If your parathyroid glands also are removed, you'll need medication to keep your blood-calcium levels normal.

Graves' ophthalmopathy

If Graves' disease affects your eyes (Graves' ophthalmopathy), you can manage mild signs and symptoms by using artificial tears and lubricating gels and by avoiding wind and bright lights. If your symptoms are more severe, your doctor may recommend treatment with corticosteroids, such as prednisone, to reduce swelling behind your eyeballs.

Two drugs — rituximab (Rituxan) and teprotumumab — are being used to treat Graves' ophthalmopathy, even though there isn't a lot of definitive evidence yet to prove that they're effective. Teprotumumab received fast-track approval from the Food and Drug Administration based on one small study. More study of both drugs as a treatment for Graves' ophthalmopathy is needed.

In some cases, a surgical procedure may be an option:

  • Orbital decompression surgery. In this surgery, your doctor removes the bone between your eye socket and your sinuses — the air spaces next to the eye socket. When the procedure is successful, it improves vision and provides room for your eyes to return to their normal position. But there is a risk of complications, including double vision that persists or appears after surgery.
  • Eye muscle surgery. Sometimes scar tissue from Graves' ophthalmopathy can cause one or more eye muscles to be too short. This pulls your eyes out of alignment, leading to double vision. Eye muscle surgery may help correct double vision by cutting the affected muscle from the eyeball and reattaching it farther back.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Once you begin treatment, symptoms of hyperthyroidism should subside and you should start feeling much better. However, your doctor may recommend that you watch out for iodine in your diet because it can cause hyperthyroidism or make it worse.

Kelp, dulse and others types of seaweed contain a lot of iodine. Cough syrup and multivitamins also may contain iodine.

Graves' disease

If you have Graves' ophthalmopathy or dermopathy, the following suggestions may help your eyes or skin:

  • Don't smoke. Smoking has been linked to the development of Graves' ophthalmopathy and can make the condition worse after treatment.
  • Keep your eyes lubricated. Eyedrops may help relieve dryness and scratchiness at any time of the day. If your eyes don't completely close, you can tape your eyelids shut, or use a lubricating gel at bedtime to keep the cornea from drying out. A cool compress can also provide relieving moisture.
  • Protect your eyes. Wear sunglasses to help protect your eyes from the sun and wind.
  • Keep your head up. Raising the head of your bed may reduce swelling and relieve pressure on your eyes.
  • Try over-the-counter creams for swollen skin. Over-the-counter creams containing hydrocortisone (Cortizone-10, others) may help relieve red, swollen skin on your shins and feet. For help finding these creams, talk to your pharmacist.

Coping and support

If you've been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, the most important thing is to receive the necessary medical care. After you and your doctor have decided on a course of action, there are some things you can do that will help you cope with the condition and support your body during its healing process.

  • Get regular exercise. Exercise in general will help you feel better and improve your muscle tone and cardiovascular system. Weight-bearing exercise is important for people with Graves' disease because it helps maintain bone density. Exercise also can help reduce your appetite and increase your energy level.
  • Learn relaxation techniques. Many relaxation techniques can help you maintain a positive outlook, especially when coping with illness. It is well-documented that in Graves' disease stress is a risk factor, so learning to relax and achieve balance in your life can help maintain physical and mental well-being.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll likely start by seeing your primary care doctor. However, in some cases, you may be referred immediately to a doctor who specializes in the body's hormone-secreting glands (endocrinologist). If you have eye involvement, you may also be referred to an eye doctor (ophthalmologist).

It's good to prepare for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and to know what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do in advance.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements you're taking, especially any supplements or vitamins containing biotin.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Someone who accompanies you may remember information you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time with your doctor. For hyperthyroidism, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What tests do I need?
  • Is my condition likely temporary or long lasting?
  • What treatment options are available, and which do you recommend for me?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I manage these conditions together?
  • Should I see a specialist?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material I can take? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask any other relevant questions you have.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • When did you begin having symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, makes your symptoms worse?
  • Do other members of your family have thyroid disease?
  • Have you had any recent radiology scans that used intravenous contrast?
Nov. 03, 2018
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hyperthyroidism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  2. De Leo S, et al. Hyperthyroidism. The Lancet. 2016;388:906.
  3. Hyperthyroidism. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/thyroid-disorders/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  4. Hyperthyroidism. American Thyroid Association. https://www.thyroid.org/hyperthyroidism/. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  5. Hyperthyroidism (overactive thyroid). National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  6. Burch HB, et al. Management of Graves disease. JAMA. 2015;314:2544.
  7. Graves' disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/graves-disease. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  8. Podrid PJ. Major side effects of beta blockers. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 7, 2018.
  9. Davies TF, et al. Treatment of Graves' orbitopathy (ophthalmopathy). https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 7, 2018.
  10. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Hyperthroidism. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Oct. 1, 2018.
  11. Elston MS, et al. Factitious Graves' disease due to biotin immunoassay interference — A case and review of the literature.
  12. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 8, 2018.