التشخيص

يتم تشخيص الغدة الدرقية باستخدام:

  • السجل الطبي والفحص الجسدي. وخلال الفحص ربما يحاول الطبيب اكتشاف رعشة خفيفة في الأصابع عند تمددها وردود الأفعال الزائدة عن الحد وتغيرات العين والجلد الدافئ والرطب. سوف يقوم الطبيب أيضًا بفحص الغدة الدرقية حين تقوم بالبلع لتحديد ما إذا كانت متضخمة أو بها اضطرابات أو ألم والتحقق من نبضات القلب لتحديد ما إذا كان معدل النبضات سريعًا أم لا.
  • اختبارات الدم. يمكن تأكيد التشخيص من خلال اختبارات الدم التي تقيس مستوىات هرمون الثيروكسين وهرمون منبه الدرقية في الدم. تشير المستويات المرتفعة لهرومون الثيروكسين والكميات الصغيرة أو المعدومة لهرمون منبه الدرقية في الدم إلى الغدة الدرقية المفرطة. إن مقدار هرمون منبه الدرقية أمر هام لأنه يُعتبر الهرمون المنبِّه للغدة الدرقية لإفراز المزيد من هرمون الثيروكسين. إن إجراء هذه الاختبارات أمر ضروري بشكل خاص مع البالغين الأكبر سنًا، ممن لا يعانون الأعراض الكلاسيكية لفرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية.

في حال أشارت اختبارات الدم إلى فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية، فربما يوصي الطبيب بإجراء أحد الاختبارات التالية للمساعدة في تحديد سبب زيادة الغدة الدرقية بشكل مفرط:

  • اختبار معدل امتصاص اليود المشع. في هذا الاختبار، تأخذ جرعة صغيرة عن طريق الفم من اليود المشع (اليود المشع). وبمرور الوقت، يتجمع اليود في الغدة الدرقية لأن الغدة الدرقية تستخدم اليود لإفراز الهرمونات. سوف يتم فحصك بعد ساعتين أو ست ساعات أو 24 ساعة وأحيانًا بعد الفترات الزمنية الثلاث وذلك من أجل تحديد مقدار اليود الذي امتصته الغدة الدرقية.

    ويشير الامتصام المرتفع لليود إلى أن الغدة الدرقية تُفرز الكثير من هرمون الثيروكسين. ويُعتبر السبب الأكثر احتمالاً إما داء غريفز وإما عقد فرط النشاط. إذا كنت تعاني فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية، وكان معدل امتصاصك لليود منخفضًا، فإن هذا يشير إلى أن هرمون الثيروكسين الذي تم تخزينه في الغدة يتسرب إلى مجرى الدم ويشير إلى أنك ربما تعاني التهابات الغدة الدرقية.

    إن معرفة سبب فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية قد يساعد الطبيب في تحديد العلاج المناسب. إن اختبار معدل امتصاص اليود المشع ليس مريحًا، ولكنه يُعرضك لمقدار صغير من الإشعاع.

  • فحص الغدة الدرقية خلال هذا الاختبار، ستحقن بنظير مشع في الوريد في باطن مرفقك أو أحيانًا في أحد الأوردة في يدك. وستستلقي بعد ذلك مع فرط رأسك للخلق بينما تنتج كاميرا خاصة صورة لغدتك الدرقية على شاشة كمبيوتر.

    قد يختلف الوقت اللازم للإجراء، اعتمادًا على المدة التي يستغرقها النظير للوصول إلى الغدة الدرقية. قد تعاني بعض الانزعاج في العنق مع هذا الاختبار، وستتعرض لكمية صغيرة من الإشعاع.

    وفي بعض الأحيان قد تخضع لفحص الغدة الدرقية كجزء من اختبار قبط اليود المشع. وفي هذه الحالة، يستخدم اليود المشع المُعطى عن طريق الفم لتصوير غدتك الدرقية.

العلاج

يتوفر العديد من طرق علاج مرض فرط الدرقية. يعتمد أفضل نهج لك على عمرك وحالتك الجسدية والسبب الكامن وراء فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية والتفضيل الشخصي وشدة الاضطراب:

  • اليود المشع. يتم تناول اليود المشع عن طريق الفم، وتمتصه الغدة الدرقية مما يتسبب في تقليص حجم الغدة وانحسار الأعراض. وعادة ما يستغرق ذلك من ثلاثة إلى ستة أشهر. ونظرًا لأن هذا العلاج يتسبب في إبطاء نشاط الغدة الدرقية بشكل ملحوظ، لدرجة تؤدي إلى قصور نشاط الغدة الدرقية (قصور الغدة الدرقية)، فقد يحتاج المريض في النهاية إلى تناول دواء بشكل يومي لتعويض الثيروكسين. ومع استمرار استخدام اليود المشع لعلاج فرط الدرقية لما يزيد عن 60 عامًا، ثبت أن هذه المادة آمنة بشكل عام.
  • الأدوية المضادة للدرقية. تقلل هذه الأدوية بشكل تدريجي من أعراض مرض فرط الدرقية من خلال منع الغدة الدرقية من إنتاج كميات مفرطة من الهرمونات. ومن بين هذه الأدوية؛ بروبيل ثيوراسيل وميثيمازول (تابازول). وعادة ما تبدأ الأعراض في التحسن بعد مرور ستة إلى 12 أسبوعًا، ولكن عادةً ما يستمر العلاج بالأدوية المضادة للغدة الدرقية لعام على الأقل، وأحيانًا يطول عن ذلك. وبالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص، يقضي هذا العلاج على المشكلة نهائيًا، ولكن قد يعاني البعض الآخرون من حدوث انتكاسة. من الممكن أن يؤدي كلا الدواءين إلى تلف كبدي خطير، وفي بعض الأحيان إلى الموت. ونظرًا لأن بروبيل ثيوراسيل قد تسبب في حالات كثيرة جدًا من تلف الكبد، فهو لا يُستخدم عامة إلا في حالة عدم قدرتك على تحمل ميثيمازول. وقد يصاب عدد قليل من المرضى ممن لديهم حساسية تجاه هذين العقارين بطفح جلدي أو شرى أو حمى أو ألم بالمفاصل. ومن الممكن أيضًا أن يؤديا إلى زيادة احتمال تعرض المرضى للإصابة بعدوى.
  • حاصرات مستقبلات بيتا. يشيع استخدام هذه العقاقير لعلاج ضغط الدم المرتفع. وهي لا تقلل من مستويات الغدة الدرقية، ولكن بإمكانها الحد من تسارع معدل ضربات القلب، والمساعدة على الوقاية من خفقان القلب. ولهذا السبب، قد يصف الطبيب هذه العقاقير لمساعدة المريض على الشعور بالتحسن حتى تقترب مستويات الغدة الدرقية من المستوى الطبيعي. وقد تتضمن الآثار الجانبية التعب أو الصداع أو اضطراب المعدة أو الإمساك أو الإسهال أو الدوار.
  • الجراحة (استئصال الغدة الدرقية). إذا كان المريض امرأة حاملاً، أو غير قادر على تحمل العقاقير المضادة للغدة الدرقية ولا يريد تناولها، أو لا يستطيع الخضوع لعلاج اليود المشع، قد يصبح مرشحًا للخضوع لعملية الغدة الدرقية على الرغم من أن هذا الإجراء لا يعد خيارًا إلا لقليل من الحالات.

    خلال عملية استئصال الغدة الدرقية، يستأصل الطبيب معظم الغدة الدرقية. وتتضمن مخاطر هذه العملية الجراحية حدوث تلف في الأحبال الصوتية والغدد الدريقية — هي أربع غدد صغيرة موجودة خلف الغدة الدرقية وتساعد على التحكم في مستوى الكالسيوم في الدم. فضلاً عن ذلك، سوف يحتاج المريض إلى تلقي علاج بدواء ليفوثيروكسين (ليفوكسيل وسنثرويد، وغيرها) لمدى الحياة من أجل إمداد الجسم بالكميات الطبيعية من هرمون الغدة الدرقية. في حالة استئصال الغدد الدريقية أيضًا، فسوف يحتاج المريض إلى أدوية لإبقاء الكالسيوم في مستواه الطبيعي بالدم.

اعتلال غريفز العيني

إذا أثر داء جريفس على العينين (اعتلال العين المرافق لداء جريفس)، يمكن السيطرة على العلامات والأعراض البسيطة من خلال تجنب التعرض للرياح والأضواء الساطعة واستخدام الدموع الصناعية وجل ترطيب. إذا كانت الأعراض أكثر حدة، فقد يوصي الطبيب بالعلاج بعقاقير الستيرويدات القشرية (مثل بريدنيزون) من أجل تقليص التورم الموجود خلف المقلتين. في بعض الحالات، قد تصبح العملية الجراحية أحد الخيارات المطروحة:

  • جراحة تخفيف ضغط الحَجاج في هذه الجراحة، يستأصل الطبيب العظم بين محجر العين والجيوب الأنفية — وهي الفجوات الهوائية المجاورة للمحجر. وفي حالة نجاح هذه العملية، تتحسن الرؤية لدى المريض وتتوفر مساحة للعينين للعودة إلى وضعهما الطبيعي. ولكن هناك خطورة من حدوث مضاعفات تشمل استمرار ازدواجية الرؤية أو ظهور الازدواجية بعد الجراحة.
  • جراحة عضلة العين. في بعض الأحيان، من الممكن أن يتسبب تندب النسيج الناتج عن اعتلال العين المرافق لداء جريفس، في تقصير عضلة أو أكثر من عضلات العينين بشكل كبير. ويؤدي ذلك إلى الحول مما يتسبب في حدوث الرؤية المزدوجة. وقد تساعد جراحة عضلة العين على تصحيح الرؤية المزدوجة عن طريق استئصال العضلة المعتلة من مقلة العين وإعادة توصيلها ولكن على مسافة أبعد. والهدف هو تحقيق الرؤية الأحادية عند القراءة والنظر للأمام. في بعض الحالات، قد يحتاج المريض إلى أكثر من عملية للحفاظ على تلك النتائج.

نمط الحياة والعلاجات المنزلية

وما إن تبدأ تلقِّي العلاج، فسوف تبدأ أعراض فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية في الانحسار وسوف تبدأ في الشعور بالتحسن. ربما تساعد الاختيارات التالية أيضًا:

  • اسأل الطبيب عن تكملة النظام الغذائي الذي تتبعه. إذا فقدت قدرًا كبيرًا من الوزن أو تعرضت لضمور العضلات، فربما تحصل على الاستفادة من إضافة عدد أكبر من السعرات الحرارية والبروتين للنظام الغذائي الذي تتبعه. يمكن أن يساعدك الطبيب أو اختصاصي التغذية في إعداد برنامج الوجبات. في معظم الحالات، لن تحتاج إلى متابعة تكملة النظام الغذائي الذي تتبعه ما إن تتم السيطرة على فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية.

    يمكن أن يتسبب علاج إفراط نشاط الغدة الدرقية أيضًا في زيادة الوزن بشكل مفرط من المهم معرفة كيفية الحصول على أكبر قدر ممكن من العناصر الغذائية في الطعام الذي تتناوله دون تناول الكثير من السعرات الحرارية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُعد تناول القدر الصحيح من الصوديوم والكالسيوم بمثابة اعتبارات غذائية هامة للأشخاص الذين يعانون فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية.

  • احصل على القدر الكافي من الكالسيوم وفيتامين د. لأن فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية قد يؤدي إلى ترقق العظام، من المهم الحصول على القدر الكافي من الكالسيوم كل يوم للمساعدة في الحد من هشاشة العظام. يوصي معهد الطب بـ 1000 ملجم من الكالسيوم يوميًا للبالغين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم من 19 إلى 50 عامًا وفي الرجال من عمر 51 عامًا إلى 70 عامًا. وتتم زيادة هذا القدر الموصى به من الكالسيوم إلى 1،200 ملجم إذا كان المريض امرأة تبلغ من العمر 51 عامًا فأكثر أو رجلاً يبلغ من العمر 71 عامًا فأكثر. يوصي معهد الطب أيضًا بعدد 600 وحدة دولية من فيتامين د يوميًا للبالغين في عمر 19 عامًا وحتى 70 عامًا و800 وحدة دولية للبالغين في عمر 71 عامًا فأكثر. تحدث إلى الطبيب حول الإرشادات الغذائية المناسبة لك.

داء غريفز (الدُّرَاق الجُحُوظِيّ)

إذا كنت تعاني اعتلال العين المنسوب لغريفز أو اعتلال الجلد، فربما تساعد الاقتراحات التالية في تهدئة العين أو الجلد:

  • ضع كمادات باردة على عينيك. وقد يساعد المزيد من الرطوبة في تخفيف الألم.
  • ارتدِ نظارات شمسية. حين تعاني جحوظ العين، تصبح العين أكثر عرضةً للأشعة فوق البنفسجية وأكثر تأثرًا بضوء الشمس. يساعد ارتداء النظارات الشمسية في حماية العين من الشمس والرياح.
  • قطرة ترطيب العين. قد تساعد قطرات العين في تخفيف الجفاف والخشونة. تأكد من استخدام قطرات العين التي لا تحتوي على مزيلات الأحمرار. ونظرًا لأن الجفون قد لا تغطي العين بالكامل عند النوم، فمن الممكن استخدام الجيل المُزلق قبل الخلود إلى النوم لمنع جفاف القرنية.
  • رفع رأس السرير. قد يساعد رفع مستوى الرأس عن مستوى بقية الجسم في تقليل التورم وقد يساعد في تخفيف الضغط على العين.
  • قم بوضع كريمات تسكين الألم على الجلد المتورِّم. قد تساعد كريمات تسكين الألم التي تحتوى على الهيدروكورتيزون (كورتايد، وعناصر أخرى) في تخفيف الجلد الأحمر والمتورِّم على اليدين والقدمين. وللمساعدة في العثور على هذه الكريمات، تحدث إلى الصيدلي.

التأقلم والدعم

إذا تم تشخيصك بالإصابة بفرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية، فأهم شيء هو تلقي الرعاية الطبية الضرورية. هناك بعض الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها بعدما تقرر أنت وطبيبك مسار العلاج والتي ستساعدك في التأقلم مع مرضك ودعم جسمك في أثناء عملية التعافي.

  • ممارسة التمارين الرياضية المنتظمة. تساعدك ممارسة التمارين بشكل عام في تحسين شعورك وتحسين التوتر العضلي لديك وأداء جهاز القلب والأوعية الدموية. تُعد تمارين حمل الأثقال مهمة للأشخاص الذين يعانون مرض جريفز إذ تساعد في الحفاظ على كثافة العظام. يمكن أن تساعد التمارين أيضًا في خفض شهيتك وزيادة مستوى الطاقة لديك.
  • تعلّم طرق الاسترخاء. يمكن أن تساعدك العديد من أساليب الاسترخاء في الحفاظ على منظورك الإيجابي، وخاصةً عند التأقلم مع المرض. من الموثق جيدًا أن الضغوط تُعد أحد عوامل الخطر التي تهدد بالإصابة بمرض جريفز، من ثم فإن تعلُّم كيفية الاسترخاء وتحقيق التوازن في حياتك يمكن أن يساعد في الحفاظ على سلامتك البدنية والنفسية.

الاستعداد لموعدك

من المرجح أن تبدأ بزيارة طبيب العائلة أو طبيب عام. ومع ذلك، في بعض الحالات، قد تتم إحالتك فورًا إلى طبيب متخصص في الغدد التي تفرز الهرمونات بالجسم (أخصائي الغدد الصماء). إذا كنت مصابا باكتناف العين، يمكن أيضا إحالتك إلى طبيب عيون.

من الجيد أن تكون مستعدًا لموعدك. إليك بعض المعلومات التي تساعدك في الاستعداد لموعدك، والتعرف على ما يمكنك توقعه من الطبيب.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • انتبه إلى أي قيود لفترة ما قبل الموعد. عند تحديد الموعد، اسأل إذا كان هناك أي شيء تحتاج إلى القيام به مسبقًا.
  • دوِّن أي أعراض تعانيها، بما في ذلك أي أعراض قد لا تبدو ذات صلة بالسبب الذي حددت من أجله الموعد.
  • دوِّن المعلومات الشخصية الرئيسية، بما في ذلك أي ضغوط كبيرة أو أي تغييرات طرأت مؤخرًا على حياتك.
  • أعد قائمة بجميع الأدوية، الفيتامينات، أو المكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • اصطحب أحد أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء معك، إن أمكن. قد يتذكر الشخص الذي يرافقك معلومات قد تكون فاتتك أو نسيتها.
  • دوِّن أسئلتك لطرحها على الطبيب.

سيساعدك إعداد قائمة بالأسئلة على الاستفادة القصوى من وقتك مع طبيبك. بالنسبة لفرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي يجب طرحها على الطبيب ما يلي:

  • ما الذي يمكن أن يتسبب في حالتي أو الأعراض التي لدي؟
  • هل هناك أسباب أخرى محتملة للأعراض أو الحالة التي أعانيها؟
  • ما الاختبارات التي أحتاجها؟
  • هل حالتي محتمل أن تكون مؤقتة أم مزمنة؟
  • ما أفضل مسار عمل؟
  • ما بدائل النهج الأولي التي تقترحها؟
  • أعاني هذه الحالات الصحية الأخرى. كيف يمكنني إدارتها معًا؟
  • هل يوجد أي قيود يجب اتباعها؟
  • هل يجب عليَّ زيارة أخصائي؟
  • هل هناك دواء بديل جنيس للدواء الذي تصفه؟
  • هل لديك أي كتيبات أو مواد مطبوعة أخرى يمكنني أخذها؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي توصي بها؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى ذات صلة لديك.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة، بما في ذلك:

  • متى بدأت تعاني الأعراض؟
  • هل أعراضك مستمرة أم عرضية؟
  • ما مدى شدة الأعراض التي تعانيها؟
  • ما الذي قد يحسن من أعراضك، إن وُجد؟
  • ما الذي يجعل الأعراض تزداد سوءًا، إذا وُجدت؟
  • هل يعاني أفراد آخرون بأسرتك من مرض الغدة الدرقية؟
  • هل أجريت مؤخرا أي فحوصات أشعة تستخدم التباين الوريدي؟
16/05/2018
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hyperthyroidism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  2. Ross DS. Diagnosis of hyperthyroidism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  3. Ross DS. Overview of the clinical manifestations of hyperthyroidism in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  4. Ross DS. Disorders that cause hyperthyroidism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  5. Hyperthyroidism. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/thyroid-disorders/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  6. Tintinalli JE, et al. Thyroid disorders: Hyperthyroidism and thyroid storm. In: Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide. 7th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw Hill Companies; 2011. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  7. Hyperthyroidism. American Thyroid Association. http://www.thyroid.org/what-is-hyperthyroidism/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  8. Graves' disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/endocrine/graves-disease/Pages/fact-sheet.aspx. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  9. Dietary reference intakes for calcium and vitamin D. Institute of Medicine. http://www.iom.edu/vitamind. Accessed July 17, 2012.
  10. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 18, 2015.

فرط نشاط الغدة الدرقية (غدة درقية مفرطة النشاط)

Diagnosis

Hyperthyroidism is diagnosed using:

  • Medical history and physical exam. During the exam your doctor may try to detect a slight tremor in your fingers when they're extended, overactive reflexes, eye changes and warm, moist skin. Your doctor will also examine your thyroid gland as you swallow to see if it's enlarged, bumpy or tender and check your pulse to see if it's rapid.
  • Blood tests. A diagnosis can be confirmed with blood tests that measure the levels of thyroxine and TSH in your blood. High levels of thyroxine and low or nonexistent amounts of TSH indicate an overactive thyroid. The amount of TSH is important because it's the hormone that signals your thyroid gland to produce more thyroxine. These tests are particularly necessary for older adults, who may not have classic symptoms of hyperthyroidism.

If blood tests indicate hyperthyroidism, your doctor may recommend one of the following tests to help determine why your thyroid is overactive:

  • Radio iodine uptake test. For this test, you take a small, oral dose of radioactive iodine (radioiodine). Over time, the iodine collects in your thyroid gland because your thyroid uses iodine to manufacture hormones. You'll be checked after two, six or 24 hours — and sometimes after all three time periods — to determine how much iodine your thyroid gland has absorbed.

    A high uptake of radioiodine indicates your thyroid gland is producing too much thyroxine. The most likely cause is either Graves' disease or hyperfunctioning nodules. If you have hyperthyroidism and your radioiodine uptake is low, this indicates that the thyroxine stored in the gland is leaking into the bloodstream and indicates you may have thyroiditis.

    Knowing what's causing your hyperthyroidism can help your doctor plan the appropriate treatment. A radioactive iodine uptake test isn't uncomfortable, but it does expose you to a small amount of radiation.

  • Thyroid scan. During this test, you'll have a radioactive isotope injected into the vein on the inside of your elbow or sometimes into a vein in your hand. You then lie on a table with your head stretched backward while a special camera produces an image of your thyroid gland on a computer screen.

    The time needed for the procedure may vary, depending on how long it takes the isotope to reach your thyroid gland. You may have some neck discomfort with this test, and you'll be exposed to a small amount of radiation.

    Sometimes you may have a thyroid scan as part of a radioactive iodine uptake test. In that case, the orally administered radioactive iodine is used to image your thyroid gland.

Treatment

Several treatments for hyperthyroidism exist. The best approach for you depends on your age, physical condition, the underlying cause of the hyperthyroidism, personal preference and the severity of your disorder:

  • Radioactive iodine. Taken by mouth, radioactive iodine is absorbed by your thyroid gland, where it causes the gland to shrink and symptoms to subside, usually within three to six months. Because this treatment causes thyroid activity to slow considerably, causing the thyroid gland to be underactive (hypothyroidism), you may eventually need to take medication every day to replace thyroxine. Used for more than 60 years to treat hyperthyroidism, radioactive iodine has been shown to be generally safe.
  • Anti-thyroid medications. These medications gradually reduce symptoms of hyperthyroidism by preventing your thyroid gland from producing excess amounts of hormones. They include propylthiouracil and methimazole (Tapazole). Symptoms usually begin to improve in six to 12 weeks, but treatment with anti-thyroid medications typically continues at least a year and often longer. For some people, this clears up the problem permanently, but other people may experience a relapse. Both drugs can cause serious liver damage, sometimes leading to death. Because propylthiouracil has caused far more cases of liver damage, it generally should be used only when you can't tolerate methimazole. A small number of people who are allergic to these drugs may develop skin rashes, hives, fever or joint pain. They also can make you more susceptible to infection.
  • Beta blockers. These drugs are commonly used to treat high blood pressure. They won't reduce your thyroid levels, but they can reduce a rapid heart rate and help prevent palpitations. For that reason, your doctor may prescribe them to help you feel better until your thyroid levels are closer to normal. Side effects may include fatigue, headache, upset stomach, constipation, diarrhea or dizziness.
  • Surgery (thyroidectomy). If you're pregnant or otherwise can't tolerate anti-thyroid drugs and don't want to or can't have radioactive iodine therapy, you may be a candidate for thyroid surgery, although this is an option in only a few cases.

    In a thyroidectomy, your doctor removes most of your thyroid gland. Risks of this surgery include damage to your vocal cords and parathyroid glands — four tiny glands situated on the back of your thyroid gland that help control the level of calcium in your blood. In addition, you'll need lifelong treatment with levothyroxine (Levoxyl, Synthroid, others) to supply your body with normal amounts of thyroid hormone. If your parathyroid glands also are removed, you'll need medication to keep your blood-calcium levels normal.

Graves' ophthalmopathy

If Graves' disease affects your eyes (Graves' ophthalmopathy), you can manage mild signs and symptoms by avoiding wind and bright lights and using artificial tears and lubricating gels. If your symptoms are more severe, your doctor may recommend treatment with corticosteroids, such as prednisone, to reduce swelling behind your eyeballs. In some cases, a surgical procedure may be an option:

  • Orbital decompression surgery. In this surgery, your doctor removes the bone between your eye socket and your sinuses — the air spaces next to the eye socket. When the procedure is successful, it improves vision and provides room for your eyes to return to their normal position. But there is a risk of complications, including double vision that persists or appears after surgery.
  • Eye muscle surgery. Sometimes scar tissue from Graves' ophthalmopathy can cause one or more eye muscles to be too short. This pulls your eyes out of alignment, leading to double vision. Eye muscle surgery may help correct double vision by cutting the affected muscle from the eyeball and reattaching it farther back. The goal is to achieve single vision when you read and look straight ahead. In some cases, you may need more than one operation to attain these results.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Once you begin treatment, symptoms of hyperthyroidism should subside and you should start feeling much better. The following suggestions also may help:

  • Ask your doctor about supplementing your diet. If you've lost a great deal of weight or experienced muscle wasting, you may benefit from adding extra calories and protein to your diet. Your doctor or a dietitian can help you with meal planning. In most cases, you won't need to continue supplementing your diet once your hyperthyroidism is under control.

    Treatment for hyperthyroidism can also eventually contribute to excessive weight gain. It is important to learn how to get as much nutrition as possible from your food without eating a lot of extra calories. In addition, eating the correct amount of sodium and calcium are important dietary considerations for people with hyperthyroidism.

  • Get enough calcium and vitamin D. Because hyperthyroidism may contribute to thinning bones, it's important to get enough calcium every day to help prevent osteoporosis. The Institute of Medicine recommends 1,000 milligrams (mg) of calcium a day for adults ages 19 to 50 and men ages 51 to 70. That calcium recommendation increases to 1,200 mg a day if you're a woman age 51 or older or a man age 71 or older. The Institute of Medicine also recommends 600 international units (IUs) of vitamin D a day for adults ages 19 to 70 and 800 IUs a day for adults age 71 and older. Talk to your doctor about appropriate dietary guidelines for you.

Graves' disease

If you have Graves' ophthalmopathy or dermopathy, the following suggestions may help soothe your eyes or skin:

  • Apply cool compresses to your eyes. The extra moisture may provide relief.
  • Wear sunglasses. When your eyes protrude, they're more vulnerable to ultraviolet rays and more sensitive to sunlight. Wearing sunglasses helps protect them from both sun and wind.
  • Use lubricating eyedrops. Eyedrops may help relieve dryness and scratchiness. Be sure to use eyedrops that don't contain redness removers. Because your eyelids may not cover the entire eye when sleeping, a lubricating gel can be used before bed to prevent the cornea from drying out.
  • Elevate the head of your bed. Keeping your head higher than the rest of your body may reduce swelling and may help relieve pressure on your eyes.
  • Try over-the-counter creams for swollen skin. Over-the-counter creams containing hydrocortisone (Cortaid, others) may help relieve red, swollen skin on your shins and feet. For help finding these creams, talk to your pharmacist.

Coping and support

If you've been diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, the most important thing is to receive the necessary medical care. After you and your doctor have decided on a course of action, there are some things you can do that will help you cope with the condition and support your body during its healing process.

  • Get regular exercise. Exercise in general will help you feel better and improve your muscle tone and cardiovascular system. Weight-bearing exercise is important for people with Graves' disease because it helps maintain bone density. Exercise also can help reduce your appetite and increase your energy level.
  • Learn relaxation techniques. Many relaxation techniques can help you maintain a positive outlook, especially when coping with illness. It is well-documented that in Graves' disease stress is a risk factor, so learning to relax and achieve balance in your life can help maintain physical and mental well-being.

Preparing for your appointment

You're likely to start by seeing your family doctor or a general practitioner. However, in some cases, you may be referred immediately to a doctor who specializes in the body's hormone-secreting glands (endocrinologist). If you have eye involvement, you may also be referred to an eye doctor (ophthalmologist).

It's good to prepare for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and to know what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do in advance.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any major stresses or recent life changes.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements you're taking.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Someone who accompanies you may remember information you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time with your doctor. For hyperthyroidism, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What is likely causing my symptoms or condition?
  • Are there other possible causes for my symptoms or condition?
  • What tests do I need?
  • Is my condition likely temporary or chronic?
  • What is the best course of action?
  • What are the alternatives to the primary approach you're suggesting?
  • I have these other health conditions. How can I manage them together?
  • Are there any restrictions that I need to follow?
  • Should I see a specialist?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Do you have brochures or other printed material I can take? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask any other relevant questions you have.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • When did you begin having symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, seems to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, makes your symptoms worse?
  • Do other members of your family have thyroid disease?
  • Have you had any recent radiology scans that used intravenous contrast?
Oct. 28, 2015
References
  1. AskMayoExpert. Hyperthyroidism. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2015.
  2. Ross DS. Diagnosis of hyperthyroidism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  3. Ross DS. Overview of the clinical manifestations of hyperthyroidism in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  4. Ross DS. Disorders that cause hyperthyroidism. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  5. Hyperthyroidism. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/endocrine-and-metabolic-disorders/thyroid-disorders/hyperthyroidism. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  6. Tintinalli JE, et al. Thyroid disorders: Hyperthyroidism and thyroid storm. In: Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: A Comprehensive Study Guide. 7th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw Hill Companies; 2011. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  7. Hyperthyroidism. American Thyroid Association. http://www.thyroid.org/what-is-hyperthyroidism/. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  8. Graves' disease. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/endocrine/graves-disease/Pages/fact-sheet.aspx. Accessed Sept. 11, 2015.
  9. Dietary reference intakes for calcium and vitamin D. Institute of Medicine. http://www.iom.edu/vitamind. Accessed July 17, 2012.
  10. Nippoldt TB (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 18, 2015.

Hyperthyroidism (overactive thyroid)