ما مدى شيوعه لدى المصابين بالالتهاب الكبدي سي المزمن الذين يحتاجون لعملية زرع الكبد؟

يعد فشل الكبد الناجم عن الالتهاب الكبدي سي أحد أكثر الأسباب شيوعًا لإجراء عمليات زرع الكبد في الولايات المتحدة. لكن يمكن للباحثين تقديم تقديرات تقريبية فقط للمخاطر ومعدل تقدّم المرض الخاص بفشل الكبد في الالتهاب الكبدي سي المزمن.

بدون علاج، سيظل معظم الأشخاص المصابين بالالتهاب الكبدي سي مصابين مدى الحياة. تسمى العدوى التي تستمر بهذه الطريقة "مزمنة".

تسبب عدوى الالتهاب الكبدي سي المزمنة التهاب الكبد المستمر الذي يؤدي إلى التندّب (تليف الكبد). وبينما يتفاقم التليف، تحل الندوب محل أنسجة الكبد السليمة تدريجيًا.

يؤدي تليف الكبد المتقدم إلى تلف بنية الكبد الطبيعية ويؤدي إلى نمو خلايا كبد جديدة (عقيدات تجددية). وتُعرف هذه المرحلة من تلف الكبد باسم تليف الكبد. عادة ما يكون فشل الكبد المرتبط بالالتهاب الكبدي سي نتيجةً لتليف الكبد.

أفادت مراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) أن من أصل 100 شخص مصاب بعدوى الالتهاب الكبدي سي، يصاب حوالي 60 إلى 70 شخصًا بالالتهاب الكبدي سي المزمن — على وجه التحديد، الالتهاب الكبدي وتليف الكبد — ويصاب من 5 إلى 20 شخصًا بتليف الكبد خلال فترة من 20 إلى 30 سنة. وأن حوالي 1 إلى 5 من أصل 100 شخص مصاب بالالتهاب الكبدي سي المزمن يموتون نتيجة تليف الكبد أو سرطان الكبد الناتج عن العدوى.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

How common is it for people with chronic hepatitis C to need a liver transplant?

Answers from Elizabeth Rajan, M.D.

Liver failure due to hepatitis C is one of the most common reasons for liver transplantation in the United States. But researchers can provide only rough estimates of the risk and rate of progression to liver failure in chronic hepatitis C.

Without treatment, most people who get hepatitis C remain infected for life. Infections that persist in this way are called "chronic."

Chronic hepatitis C infection causes ongoing liver inflammation that leads to scarring (fibrosis). As fibrosis progresses, scars gradually replace healthy liver tissue.

Advanced liver fibrosis leads to damage of the normal liver architecture and leads to the growth of new liver cells (regenerative nodules).This stage of liver damage is known as cirrhosis. Hepatitis C-related liver failure is usually a result of cirrhosis.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that out of 100 people infected with hepatitis C, approximately 60 to 70 will develop chronic liver disease — specifically, hepatitis and fibrosis — and 5 to 20 will develop cirrhosis over a period of 20 to 30 years. An estimated 1 to 5 out of 100 people with chronic hepatitis C will die of cirrhosis or liver cancer resulting from the infection.


Elizabeth Rajan, M.D.

Jan. 26, 2018 See more Expert Answers