نظرة عامة

بكتيريا كلوستريديوديز ديفيسيل هي بكتيريا تتسبب في عدوى الأمعاء الغليظة (القولون). تتراوح الأعراض من الإصابة بإسهال إلى حدوث ضرر بالقولون يهدد الحياة. ويُشار إلى هذه البكتيريا عادةً باسم المطثية العسيرة.

تحدث الإصابة بالمطثية العسيرة في العادة بعد تلقي أدوية المضادات الحيوية. وتُعد الإصابة بالمطثية العسيرة أكثر شيوعًا بين البالغين الأكبر سنًا المقيمين في المستشفيات أو في مرافق الرعاية طويلة الأمد. ففي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، يُصاب بالمطثية العسيرة نحو 200 ألف شخص سنويًّا من المرضى المقيمين في مستشفى أو مرفق رعاية. ويُذكر أن هذه المعدلات أقل من السنوات السابقة بفضل تحسين تدابير الوقاية.

يمكن الإصابة أيضًا بعدوى المطثية العسيرة دون الإقامة في المستشفيات أو مرافق الرعاية. فقد تتسبب بعض سلالات البكتيريا بعدوى خطيرة لعامة الناس وتصيب على الأرجح الشباب. ففي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، تحدث نحو 170 ألف عدوى سنويًّا خارج مرافق الرعاية الصحية، وهذه الأعداد آخذة في التزايد.

كانت تُعرف هذه البكتيريا في السابق باسم بكتيريا كلوستريديوم ديفيسيل.

الأعراض

يحمل بعض الأشخاص بكتيريا المطثية العسيرة في أمعائهم دون أن يمرضوا بها مطلقًا. وهؤلاء يمكن وصفهم بأنهم حاملون للبكتيريا وناقلون محتملون للعدوى.

عادةً ما تظهر المؤشرات والأعراض خلال 5 إلى 10 أيام بعد بدء برنامج علاجي بالمضادات الحيوية. غير أنها قد تظهر مبكرًا منذ اليوم الأول أو حتى ثلاثة أشهر من العلاج.

حالات العدوى من الخفيفة إلى المعتدلة

أكثر المؤشرات والأعراض شيوعًا لعدوى المطثية العسيرة البسيطة والمتوسِّطة هي:

  • الإسهال المائي ثلاث مرات أو أكثر في اليوم لأكثر من يوم واحد
  • تقلُّصات خفيفة بالبطن وإيلام عند اللمس

عدوى شديدة

يتعرض المصابون بعدوى المطثية العسيرة الشديدة إلى الإصابة بالجفاف، وقد يحتاجون إلى الاحتجاز بالمستشفى. يمكن أن تؤدي المطثية العسيرة إلى التهاب القُولون، وتشكل أحيانًا بقعًا من الأنسجة التي يُمكن أن تنزف أو تُفرز صديدًا. ومن مؤشرات العدوى الشديدة وأعراضها ما يلي:

  • الإسهال المائي من 10 إلى 15 مرة في اليوم
  • تقلصات وآلام البطن التي قد تكون شديدة
  • سرعة ضربات القلب
  • الجفاف
  • الحُمّى
  • الغثيان
  • زيادة عدد خلايا الدم البيضاء
  • الفشل الكلوي
  • فقدان الشهية
  • انتفاخ البطن
  • فقدان الوزن
  • البراز المصحوب بالصديد أو الدم

قد تُسبِّب عدوى المطثية العسيرة الشديدة والمفاجئة أيضًا -وهي حالة غير شائعة- التهاب الأمعاء، ومن ثم تضخم القولون (وتسمى أيضا تضخم القولون السُّمِّي)، والإنتان الذي يعتبر من الحالات المُهددة للحياة بسبب تدمير الجسم لأنسجته عند استجابته للعدوى. وغالبًا ما يُحتجز المصابون بهذه الحالات في وحدة العناية المركزة.

متى تزور الطبيب

يُصاب بعض الأشخاص بليونة البراز أثناء العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية أو بعد فترة قصيرة من العلاج بها. وقد يكون السبب وراء ذلك عدوى المطثية العسيرة. يرجى الرجوع إلى الطبيب في الحالات التالية:

  • براز سائل لثلاث مرات أو أكثر في اليوم
  • استمرَّت الأعراض لأكثر من يومين
  • الإصابة بحمَّى جديدة
  • آلام أو تقلُّصات حادة في البطن
  • وجود دم في البراز

احصل على أحدث المعلومات الصحية من مايو كلينك في صندوق بريدك.

اشترك مجانًا واحصل على نسختك من الدليل التفصيلي لصحة الجهاز الهضمي، بالإضافة إلى أحدث الابتكارات والأخبار الصحية. يمكنك إلغاء الاشتراك في أي وقت.

لتزويدك بالمعلومات الأكثر صلة وفائدة، ولمعرفة المعلومات المفيدة لك، قد نجمع بيانات تشمل بريدك الإلكتروني واستخدامك للموقع وغيرها من البيانات المتعلقة بك. إذا كنت تتلقى الرعاية في مايو كلينك، فإن هذه البيانات قد تتضمن معلومات صحية محمية. إذا دمجنا هذه المعلومات مع معلوماتك الصحية المحمية، فسنتعامل مع جميع هذه المعلومات باعتبارها معلومات صحية محمية ولن نستخدمها أو نكشف عنها إلا على النحو المنصوص عليه في إشعار ممارسات الخصوصية المعمول به لدينا. يمكنك إلغاء الاشتراك في مراسلات البريد الإلكتروني في أي وقت بالضغط على رابط إلغاء الاشتراك في البريد الإلكتروني.

الأسباب

تدخل المطثية العسيرة الجسم عبر الفم. وتستطيع البدء في التكاثر في الأمعاء الدقيقة. وعندما تصل إلى الأمعاء الغليظة (القولون)، يمكنها إفراز سموم مدمرة للأنسجة. وتدمر هذه السموم الخلايا وتنتج رقعًا من الخلايا الملتهبة والحطام الخلوي، وتتسبب في الإصابة بالإسهال.

عندما تنتشر هذه البكتريا خارج القولون - أي في أي مكان في البيئة عمليًّا - فهي تبقى في حالة خاملة أو في حالة توقف أساسًا. ويمكّنها ذلك من البقاء لفترة طويلة في أماكن متعددة، مثل ما يلي:

  • فضلات الإنسان أو الحيوان
  • الأسطح الموجودة في الغرفة
  • اليدان المتسختان
  • التربة
  • الماء
  • الطعام، بما في ذلك اللحوم

عندما تشق البكتيريا طريقها مرة أخرى داخل الجهاز الهضمي للإنسان، فهي "تستيقظ" ويمكن أن تبدأ في الإصابة بالعدوى مرة أخرى. وقدرة المطثية العسيرة الخاملة على البقاء خارج الجسم تساعد على انتقال البكتريا بطريقة سهلة نسبيًا، خاصةً في حال عدم غسل الأيدي غسلاً جيدًا وعدم المحافظة على النظافة.

عوامل الخطر

على الرغمِ من أنَّ الأشخاصَ الذين أُصيبوا ببكتيريا المطثية العسيرة لم يكُن لديهم أيُّ عوامل خطرٍ معروفة، فإن هناك عوامل مُعيَّنة تزيد من خطرِ الإصابة.

تناول مضادات حيوية أو أدوية أخرى

تحتوي أمعاؤك على نحو 100 تريليون خلية بكتيرية وما يتراوح بين 500 و2000 نوعًا مختلفًا من البكتيريا، والعديد منها يساعد على حماية جسمك من العدوى. عند تعاطي مضادات حيوية لعلاج العدوى، تميل هذه الأدوية إلى تدمير بعض البكتيريا النافعة في جسمك إلى جانب القضاء على البكتيريا المسببة للعدوى.

دُونَ وجود بكتيريا نافعة كافية لتقييد المطثية العسيرة، يمكن أن تنمو نموًا سريعًا يخرج عن السيطرة. ورغم أن أي مضاد حيوي يمكن أن يكون سببًا في عدوى المطثية العسيرة، إلا أن المضادَّات الحيوية التي تسبب الإصابة بها أكثر من غيرها تشمل:

  • الكليندامايسين
  • السيفالوسبورين
  • البنسيلين
  • الفلوروكينولونات

مثبطات مضخات البروتون، وهي نوع من الأدوية المستخدمة لتقليل حمض المعدة، قد تزيد أيضًا خطر الإصابة بعدوى المطثية العسيرة.

الإقامة في أحد منشآت الرعاية الصحية

تحدث غالبية حالات العدوى بالمطثية العسيرة لدى الأشخاص الذين أقاموا حديثًا في مكان للرعاية الصحية ‎-كالمستشفيات ودور رعاية المسنين، ومرافق الرعاية طويلة الأجل- حيث تنتشر الجراثيم بسهولة، ويشيع استخدام المضادات الحيوية ما يجعل الأشخاص عرضة بشكل خاص للعدوى. تنتشر المطثية العسيرة في المستشفيات ودور رعاية المسنين عن طريق:

  • الأيدي
  • مقابض العربات
  • حواجز الأسرّة
  • الطاولات المجاورة للأسرّة
  • المراحيض والأحواض
  • السماعات الطبية أو مقاييس الحرارة أو غيرها من الأدوات
  • الهواتف
  • أجهزة التحكم عن بعد

الإصابة بمرض خطير أو إجراء عملية طبية

تعرِّضك حالات أو إجراءات طبية معينة إلى الإصابة بالمطثية العسيرة، ومنها:

  • مرض الأمعاء الالتهابي
  • ضعف جهاز المناعة بسبب الإصابة بحالة طبية أو تلقي علاج (مثل العلاج الكيميائي)
  • مرض الكلى المزمن
  • الإجراء المَعدي المَعوي
  • جراحات البطن الأخرى

عوامل الخطر الأخرى

يُعد تقدم السن أحد عوامل الخطر. في إحدى الدراسات، كان خطر الإصابة بعدوى بكتيريا المطثية العسيرة أكبر بعشر مرات بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين تبلغ أعمارهم 65 عامًا أو أكبر مقارنة بالأشخاص الأصغر سنًّا.

إن إصابة واحدة بعدوى بكتيريا المطثية العسيرة تزيد احتمالية التعرض للعدوى مرة أخرى، ومن ثم يزداد الخطر مع كل عدوى جديدة.

تكون السيدات أكثر عرضة للإصابة بعدوى بكتيريا المطثية العسيرة مقارنةً بالرجال، لأسباب غير مفهومة بصورة واضحة.

المضاعفات

تشمل مضاعفات عدوى المطثية العسيرة:

  • الجفاف. يمكن أن يؤدي الإسهال الحاد إلى فقدان كبير للسوائل والكهارل. مما يجعل من الصعب على جسمك أن يعمل بشكل طبيعي، ويمكن أن يتسبَّب في انخفاض ضغط الدم إلى مستويات منخفضة بشكل خطير.
  • الفشل الكلوي. في بعض الحالات، قد يحدث الجفاف بسرعة تؤدي إلى تدهور وظائف الكلى بسرعة (الفشل الكلوي).
  • تضخم القولون السمّي. في هذه الحالة النادرة، لا يستطيع القولون طرد الغازات والبراز، ما يجعله منتفخًا إلى حد كبير (تضخم القولون). وقد يتمزق القولون إذا ترك دون علاج. وقد تدخل البكتيريا الموجودة في القولون عندئذ إلى تجويف البطن أو مجرى الدم. وربما يكون تضخم القولون السمّي مميتًا ويحتاج إلى جراحة طارئة.
  • ثقب في الأمعاء الغليظة (ثقب الأمعاء). تنتج هذه الحالة النادرة عن وجود ضرر جسيم في بطانة القولون أو بعد الإصابة بتضخم القولون السمّي. قد تؤدي البكتيريا المتسربة من القولون إلى تجويف البطن إلى عدوى مميتة (التهاب الصفاق).
  • الوفاة. يمكن للعدوى بالمطثية العسيرة البسيطة إلى المتوسطة -في حالات نادرة إلا أنها كثيرًا ما تكون حادة- أن تتطور بسرعة إلى مرض مميت إذا لم تُعالَج على الفور.

الوقاية

للمساعدة في منع انتشار عدوى المطثية العسيرة، تتبع المستشفيات وغيرها من مرافق الرعاية الصحية إرشادات صارمة لمكافحة العدوى. إذا كان لديك صديق أو قريب في مستشفى أو دار لرعاية المسنين، فينبغي عليك اتباع الإرشادات الموصي بها. ولا تتردد في السؤال إذا لاحظت عدم اتباع مقدمي الرعاية أو غيرهم للإرشادات.

تشمل التدابير الوقائية ما يلي:

  • تجنب الاستخدام غير الضروري للمضادات الحيوية. تُوصف المضادات الحيوية في بعض الأحيان لعلاج الأمراض غير البكتيرية، مثل الأمراض الفيروسية، رغم أنها لا تُشفى بالمضادات الحيوية. لذا ينبغي التريث وعدم تناول مضادات حيوية عند الإصابة بمثل هذه الأمراض. ولكن إذا استدعت حالتك تناول مضاد حيوي، فاسأل الطبيب عن إمكانية أن يصف لك دواءً يؤخذ لفترة قصيرة أو مضادًا حيويًّا محدود المجال. وذلك لأن المضادات الحيوية محدودة المجال تستهدف عددًا صغيرًا من أنواع البكتيريا، ومن المستبعد إلى حد كبير أن تؤثر على البكتيريا النافعة.
  • غسل الأيدي. يجب على العاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية ممارسة النظافة الشخصية لليدين قبل وبعد علاج كل شخص في عهدتهم. في حالة تفشي عدوى المطثية العسيرة، يُعد استخدام الصابون والماء الدافئ خيارًا أفضل لنظافة الأيدي، لأن المطهرات اليدوية التي تحتوي على الكحول لا تدمر الأبواغ بشكل فعال. يجب على الزوار أيضًا غسل أيديهم بالصابون والماء الدافئ قبل وبعد مغادرة الغرفة أو استخدام الحمام.
  • الالتزام بالاحتياطات عند التواصل مع الآخرين. يُخصَّص للمريض الذين يدخل المستشفى بعدوى المطثية العسيرة غرفة بمفرده، أو يتشارك غرفة مع مريض آخر مصاب بالمرض نفسه. ويرتدي موظفو المستشفى والزوار القفازات التي تستعمل لمرة واحدة، وأردية العزل أثناء وجودهم داخل غرفة المريض.
  • التنظيف الشامل. في أي مكان رعاية صحية، يجب تطهير جميع الأسطح بعناية بمنتج يحتوي على الكلور المبيض. يمكن أن تبقى أبواغ عدوى المطثية العسيرة على قيد الحياة بعد استخدام منتجات التنظيف الروتينية التي لا تحتوي على مُبيضات.

عدوى المطثية العسيرة - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

09/10/2021
  1. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile-induced diarrhea. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/anaerobic-bacteria/clostridium-difficile-–induced-diarrhea. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  2. LaMont JT. Clostridium difficile in adults: Epidemiology, microbiology, and pathophysiology. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  3. Frequently asked questions about Clostridium difficile for healthcare providers. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/cdiff/clinicians/faq.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Fhai%2Forganisms%2Fcdiff%2Fcdiff_faqs_hcp.html. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  4. Guh AY, et al. Trends in U.S. burden of Clostridioides difficile infection and outcomes. New England Journal of Medicine. 2020; doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1910215.
  5. LaMont JT. Clostridium difficile in adults: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  6. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Clostridium difficile infection, including pseudomembranous colitis. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  7. McDonald LC, et al. Clinical practice guidelines for Clostridium difficile infection in adults and children: 2017 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (ISDA) and Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA). Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2018;66:987.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Clostridium difficile infection (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  9. Kelly CP, et al. Clostridium difficile in adults: Treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  10. Saleh MM, et al. Colitis-induced TH17 cells increase the risk for severe subsequent Clostridium difficile infection. Cell Host and Microbe. 2019;25:756.
  11. Taur Y, et al. Reconstitution of the gut microbiota of antibiotic-treated patients by autologous fecal microbiota transplant. Science Translational Medicine. 2018;10:9489.
  12. Diarrhea. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/symptoms-of-gi-disorders/diarrhea?query=diarrhea. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  13. Tariq R, et al. Experience and outcomes at a specialized Clostridium difficile clinical practice. Mayo Clinic Proceedings Innovations Quality and Outcomes. 2017;1:49.
  14. Khanna S, et al. Current and future trends in clostridioides (clostridium) difficile infection management. Anaerobe. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.anaerobe.2019.04.010.
  15. Feldman M, et al., eds. Antibiotic-associated diarrhea and Clostridioides difficile infection. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021 https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 25, 2021.

Overview

Clostridioides difficile (klos-TRID-e-oi-deez dif-uh-SEEL) is a bacterium that causes an infection of the large intestine (colon). Symptoms can range from diarrhea to life-threatening damage to the colon. The bacterium is often referred to as C. difficile or C. diff.

Illness from C. difficile typically occurs after use of antibiotic medications. It most commonly affects older adults in hospitals or in long-term care facilities. In the United States, about 200,000 people are infected annually with C. difficile in a hospital or care setting. These numbers are lower than in previous years because of improved prevention measures.

People not in care settings or hospitals also can develop C. difficile infection. Some strains of the bacterium in the general population may cause serious infections or are more likely to affect younger people. In the United States, about 170,000 infections occur annually outside of health care settings, and these numbers are increasing.

The bacterium was formerly named Clostridium (klos-TRID-e-um) difficile.

Symptoms

Some people carry C. difficile bacteria in their intestines but never become sick. These individuals are carriers of the bacteria and may spread infections.

Signs and symptoms usually develop within 5 to 10 days after starting a course of antibiotics. However, they may occur as soon as the first day or up to three months later.

Mild to moderate infection

The most common signs and symptoms of mild to moderate C. difficile infection are:

  • Watery diarrhea three or more times a day for more than one day
  • Mild abdominal cramping and tenderness

Severe infection

People who have a severe C. difficile infection tend to become dehydrated and may need to be hospitalized. C. difficile can cause the colon to become inflamed and sometimes form patches of raw tissue that can bleed or produce pus. Signs and symptoms of severe infection include:

  • Watery diarrhea as often as 10 to 15 times a day
  • Abdominal cramping and pain, which may be severe
  • Rapid heart rate
  • Dehydration
  • Fever
  • Nausea
  • Increased white blood cell count
  • Kidney failure
  • Loss of appetite
  • Swollen abdomen
  • Weight loss
  • Blood or pus in the stool

C. difficile infection that is severe and sudden, an uncommon condition, may also cause intestinal inflammation leading to enlargement of the colon (also called toxic megacolon) and sepsis. Sepsis is a life-threatening condition that occurs when the body's response to an infection damages its own tissues. People who have these conditions are admitted to the intensive care unit.

When to see a doctor

Some people have loose stools during or shortly after antibiotic therapy. This may be caused by C. difficile infection. See your doctor if you have:

  • Three or more watery stools a day
  • Symptoms lasting more than two days
  • A new fever
  • Severe abdominal pain or cramping
  • Blood in your stool

Get the latest health information from Mayo Clinic delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive your in-depth guide to digestive health, plus the latest on health innovations and news. You can unsubscribe at any time.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Causes

C. difficile bacteria enter the body through the mouth. They can begin reproducing in the small intestine. When they reach the large intestine (colon), they can release tissue-damaging toxins. These toxins destroy cells, produce patches of inflammatory cells and cellular debris, and cause watery diarrhea.

When the bacteria are outside the colon — virtually anywhere in the environment — they are in a dormant state, or essentially shutdown. This enables them to survive for a long time in any number of places:

  • Human or animal feces
  • Surfaces in a room
  • Unwashed hands
  • Soil
  • Water
  • Food, including meat

When bacteria once again find their way into a person's digestive system, they "wake up" and can begin to produce infection again. The ability of dormant C. difficile to survive outside the body enables the generally easy transmission of the bacterium, particularly in the absence of thorough hand-washing and cleaning.

Risk factors

Although people who have no known risk factors have gotten sick from C. difficile, certain factors increase the risk.

Taking antibiotics or other medications

Your intestines contain about 100 trillion bacterial cells and between 500 to 2,000 different kinds of bacteria, many of which help protect your body from infection. When you take antibiotics to treat an infection, these drugs tend to destroy some of the helpful bacteria in your body in addition to the bacteria causing the infection.

Without enough helpful bacteria to keep it in check, C. difficile can quickly grow out of control. While any antibiotic can be implicated, the antibiotics that most often lead to C. difficile infection include:

  • Clindamycin
  • Cephalosporins
  • Penicillins
  • Fluoroquinolones

Proton pump inhibitors, a type of medicine used to reduce stomach acid, also may increase your risk of C. difficile infection.

Staying in a health care facility

The majority of C. difficile infections occur in people who are or who have recently been in a health care setting — including hospitals, nursing homes and long-term care facilities — where germs spread easily, antibiotic use is common and people are especially vulnerable to infection. In hospitals and nursing homes, C. difficile spreads on:

  • Hands
  • Cart handles
  • Bedrails
  • Bedside tables
  • Toilets and sinks
  • Stethoscopes, thermometers or other devices
  • Telephones
  • Remote controls

Having a serious illness or medical procedure

Certain medical conditions or procedures may make you more susceptible to a C. difficile infection, including:

  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Weakened immune system from a medical condition or treatment (such as chemotherapy)
  • Chronic kidney disease
  • Gastrointestinal procedure
  • Other abdominal surgery

Other risk factors

Older age is a risk factor. In one study, the risk of becoming infected with C. difficile was 10 times greater for people age 65 and older compared with younger people.

Having one C. difficile infection increases your chance of having another one, and the risk continues to increase with each infection.

Women are more likely than men to have C. difficile infection, for reasons that are not clearly understood.

Complications

Complications of C. difficile infection include:

  • Dehydration. Severe diarrhea can lead to a significant loss of fluids and electrolytes. This makes it difficult for your body to function normally and can cause blood pressure to drop to dangerously low levels.
  • Kidney failure. In some cases, dehydration can occur so quickly that kidney function rapidly deteriorates (kidney failure).
  • Toxic megacolon. In this rare condition, your colon is unable to expel gas and stool, causing it to become greatly enlarged (megacolon). Left untreated, your colon may rupture. Bacteria from the colon may then enter your abdominal cavity or bloodstream. Toxic megacolon may be fatal and requires emergency surgery.
  • A hole in your large intestine (bowel perforation). This rare condition results from extensive damage to the lining of the colon or after toxic megacolon. Bacteria spilling from the colon into your abdominal cavity can lead to a life-threatening infection (peritonitis).
  • Death. Rarely, mild to moderate C. difficile infection — but more commonly, serious infection — can quickly progress to fatal disease if not treated promptly.

Prevention

To help prevent the spread of C. difficile, hospitals and other health care facilities follow strict infection-control guidelines. If you have a friend or family member in a hospital or nursing home, follow recommended practices. Ask questions if you observe caregivers or other people not following guidelines.

Preventive measures include:

  • Avoid unnecessary use of antibiotics. Antibiotics are sometimes prescribed for nonbacterial conditions, such as viral illnesses, that aren't helped by these drugs. Take a wait-and-see approach for these illnesses. If you do need an antibiotic, ask your doctor if it's possible to get a prescription for a drug that is taken for a shorter time or is a narrow-spectrum antibiotic. Narrow-spectrum antibiotics target a limited number of bacteria species and are less likely to affect healthy bacteria.
  • Hand-washing. Health care workers should practice good hand hygiene before and after treating each person in their care. In the event of a C. difficile outbreak, using soap and warm water is a better choice for hand hygiene, because alcohol-based hand sanitizers don't effectively destroy C. difficile spores. Visitors also should wash their hands with soap and warm water before and after leaving the room or using the bathroom.
  • Contact precautions. People who are hospitalized with C. difficile infection have a private room or share a room with someone who has the same illness. Hospital staff and visitors wear disposable gloves and isolation gowns while in the room.
  • Thorough cleaning. In any health care setting, all surfaces should be carefully disinfected with a product that contains chlorine bleach. C. difficile spores can survive exposure to routine cleaning products that don't contain bleach.

C. difficile infection care at Mayo Clinic

Aug. 27, 2021
  1. Clostridioides (formerly Clostridium) difficile-induced diarrhea. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/anaerobic-bacteria/clostridium-difficile-–induced-diarrhea. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  2. LaMont JT. Clostridium difficile in adults: Epidemiology, microbiology, and pathophysiology. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  3. Frequently asked questions about Clostridium difficile for healthcare providers. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/cdiff/clinicians/faq.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Fhai%2Forganisms%2Fcdiff%2Fcdiff_faqs_hcp.html. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  4. Guh AY, et al. Trends in U.S. burden of Clostridioides difficile infection and outcomes. New England Journal of Medicine. 2020; doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1910215.
  5. LaMont JT. Clostridium difficile in adults: Clinical manifestations and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  6. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Clostridium difficile infection, including pseudomembranous colitis. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  7. McDonald LC, et al. Clinical practice guidelines for Clostridium difficile infection in adults and children: 2017 update by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (ISDA) and Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA). Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2018;66:987.
  8. AskMayoExpert. Clostridium difficile infection (adult). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2018.
  9. Kelly CP, et al. Clostridium difficile in adults: Treatment. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  10. Saleh MM, et al. Colitis-induced TH17 cells increase the risk for severe subsequent Clostridium difficile infection. Cell Host and Microbe. 2019;25:756.
  11. Taur Y, et al. Reconstitution of the gut microbiota of antibiotic-treated patients by autologous fecal microbiota transplant. Science Translational Medicine. 2018;10:9489.
  12. Diarrhea. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/symptoms-of-gi-disorders/diarrhea?query=diarrhea. Accessed May 24, 2019.
  13. Tariq R, et al. Experience and outcomes at a specialized Clostridium difficile clinical practice. Mayo Clinic Proceedings Innovations Quality and Outcomes. 2017;1:49.
  14. Khanna S, et al. Current and future trends in clostridioides (clostridium) difficile infection management. Anaerobe. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.anaerobe.2019.04.010.
  15. Feldman M, et al., eds. Antibiotic-associated diarrhea and Clostridioides difficile infection. In: Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021 https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 25, 2021.