专长与排名

肾脏移植项目

[音乐播放中]

医学博士 Mikel Prieto(妙佑医疗国际移植中心的移植外科医生):从大多数方面来说,移植患者与健康患者没有什么不同。妙佑医疗国际能够利用各种医疗技术为患者提供快速治疗,帮助移植患者重获新生。对于某些病症,其他医疗机构的医生或许一年才有机会诊治一例,而我们则经常看到,因为世界各地的疑难杂症患者都会慕名前来我院就诊。所以,其他医疗机构的独特和罕见病例在我们这里却是司空见惯。

医学博士 Raymond L. Heilman(妙佑医疗国际移植中心的肾脏科医生):肾脏移植是一个非常复杂的过程,涉及多个学科。来我们这里就诊的患者也都需要接受多学科护理。我们在同一个院区中提供各种专科门诊。我们提供美国唯一的综合性国家移植计划。接受肾脏移植的患者经常会遇到一个相同的问题:某个亲朋好友愿意提供肾脏,但他们之间的血型不兼容。针对这个问题,我们推出了一个称为“配对肾脏交换”的创新计划。

医学博士 Martin L. Mai(妙佑医疗国际移植中心的肾脏科医生):目前,我们可以对三大妙佑医疗院区的患者进行集中配对。相比没有配对流程的情况,这种配对方案让更多患者得以接受活体移植。

Mikel Prieto:到目前为止,我工作中最有成就感的部分是:面对往往充满惊惧和绝望的患者,我们能从容不迫地告诉他们,我们有一个不错的治疗方案。我们会让你好起来的。

[音乐播放中]

妙佑医疗国际的肾病和高血压科因其卓越的患者护理服务而受到广泛认可。众所周知,我们的专科医生在肾移植、再生医学、多囊肾病、复杂性肾小球疾病以及肾动脉疾病治疗方面具备专业知识。

这种专家肾病护理的传统源于妙佑医疗国际医生 100 年来在肾脏学和高血压医学方面保持的领先地位。1955 年,妙佑医疗国际实施了第一例血液透析治疗。时至今日,妙佑医疗国际每年进行超过 100,000 例门诊和居家透析治疗。1970 年代,妙佑医疗国际是在美国率先开设多学科结石专科门诊的首家医疗中心。

肾脏护理卓越中心

妙佑医疗国际和巴克斯特 (Baxter) 在佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区的妙佑医疗国际透析中心开展合作,设立一个肾脏护理卓越中心。他们将共同为肾病患者共同开发产品和服务,以改善患者的预后。

高度认可的透析中心

妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州院区的透析中心已获得联邦医疗保险和联邦医疗补助服务中心(CMS)的五星评级。在 CMS 系统中,五星级评级意味着该中心的水平远高于其他透析机构的平均水平。

多囊肾病卓越中心

妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔、亚利桑那州斯科茨代尔/凤凰城、明尼苏达州罗切斯特院多囊肾病(PKD)团队均被 PKD 基金会指定为 PKD 卓越中心。这意味着我们的 PKD 团队可以提供多学科、个性化护理和创新疗法,并获得临床试验机会。

移植中心

妙佑医疗国际肾脏病专家积极参与移植中心的患者护理。妙佑医疗国际移植中心是美国规模最大的综合器官移植医疗服务提供者。妙佑医疗国际外科医生每年实施近 1000 例肾移植手术,该中心是肾脏和胰腺联合移植以及活体供体肾移植方面的翘楚。

综合癌症中心

妙佑医疗国际综合癌症中心符合美国国家癌症研究所制订的综合癌症中心严格标准,这是对一家机构在癌症预防、诊断和治疗方面的科学卓越性和多学科方法的充分认可。

详细了解妙佑医疗国际的质量排名

Oct. 14, 2023

Expertise and rankings

Kidney Transplant Program

[Music playing}

Mikel Prieto, M.D. (transplant surgeon, Mayo Clinic Transplant Center): A transplant patient is no different than a healthy patient in most respects. At Mayo Clinic we have the tools to make things happen in a speedy way, so we can get you transplanted and get you back to life. Here we see conditions that, in many other places, a doctor like me would see only once a year. Here we see them all of the time because people come from all over the world to be treated for these unique conditions. So what's unique and strange in other places is almost commonplace here.

Raymond L. Heilman, M.D. (nephrologist, Mayo Clinic Transplant Center): Kidney transplant is a very complex process, and it involves multiple disciplines. And patients who come to us need multiple disciplines. We're all here. We're all under one roof. We're really the only integrated national transplant program in the country. One common problem is you may come in for a kidney transplant and you may have a donor, say your friend, but you and your friend are not blood type compatible. One way to get around the problem is an innovative approach called paired kidney exchange.

Martin L. Mai, M.D. (nephrologist, Mayo Clinic Transplant Center): Currently we're able through all three Mayo sites to pool our patients together. The match allows us to do more living-donor transplants than we would without the matching process.

Mikel Prieto: By far the most rewarding part of my job is seeing somebody who comes in sick, frequently scared and desperate, and telling them, we have a good option for you. We can fix this.

[Music playing}

Note: This content was created prior to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic and does not demonstrate proper pandemic protocols. Please follow all recommended Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines for masking and social distancing.

The Mayo Clinic Division of Nephrology and Hypertension is consistently and widely recognized for providing outstanding patient care. Our specialists are known for expertise in kidney transplantation, regenerative medicine, and treatment of polycystic kidney disease, complex glomerular disease and renal artery disease.

This tradition of expert nephrology care is rooted in more than 100 years of Mayo Clinic doctors being at the forefront of advances in nephrology and hypertension medicine. The first hemodialysis treatment was performed at Mayo Clinic in 1955. Today, Mayo Clinic performs more than 100,000 outpatient and home dialysis treatments each year. In the 1970s, Mayo was the first medical center in the United States to offer a multidisciplinary stone clinic.

Renal care center of excellence

Mayo Clinic and Baxter are collaborating to develop a renal care center of excellence at the Mayo Clinic Dialysis Center at the clinic's campus in Jacksonville, Florida. They will codevelop products and services for people with kidney disease with the goal of improving patient outcomes.

Highly recognized dialysis center

The dialysis center on Mayo Clinic's campus in Florida has earned a five-star rating from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Under the CMS system, a five-star rating shows a center is much above average compared with other dialysis facilities.

Transplant Center

Mayo Clinic nephrology experts are active in patient care in the Transplant Center. The Mayo Clinic Transplant Center is the largest integrated transplant provider in the United States. Mayo Clinic surgeons perform more than 950 kidney transplants a year, and the center is a leader in simultaneous kidney and pancreas transplants and living-donor kidney transplants.

Comprehensive cancer center

Mayo Clinic Cancer Center meets strict standards as a National Cancer Institute comprehensive cancer center, recognizing scientific excellence and a multispecialty approach focused on cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's quality rankings.

Feb. 08, 2022