نظرة عامة

إعادة وصل القناة المنوية هي جراحة لعلاج قطع القناة المنوية. حيث يتم من خلالها إعادة توصيل كل أنبوب (القناة الناقلة) يحمل الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية إلى السائل المنوي. بعد نجاح عملية إعادة وصل القناة المنوية توجد الحيوانات المنوية مرة أخرى في السائل المنوي، وربما يكون بمقدورك إحبال زوجتك.

ستتراوح معدلات الحمل بعد نجاح عملية إعادة وصل القناة المنوية ما بين 30 بالمائة وما يزيد على 90 بالمائة وفقًا لنوع العملية. يؤثر العديد من العوامل في مدى نجاح عملية إعادة الوصل في تحقيق الحمل، بما في ذلك الفترة التي مرت منذ إجراء عملية القطع، وعمر الزوجة، وخبرة الجراح، ومستوى تدريبه، وإذا كان لديك مشاكل في الخصوبة قبل قطْع القناة المنوية أم لا.

نهج Mayo Clinic لإعادة وصل القناة المنوية

يحتل مجمع Mayo Clinic في مدينة روتشستر، مينيسوتا، ومجمع Mayo Clinic في جاكسونفيل بفلوريدا، ومجمع Mayo Clinic في سكوتسديل بأريزونا، تصنيفًا ضمن أفضل المستشفيات لطب أمراض المسالك البولية وفقًا لتقرير U.S. News & World Report.

لماذا يتم إجراء ذلك

يقرر الرجال إجراء عملية إعادة وصل القناة الدافقة لعدة أسباب، تتضمن فقدان أحد الأطفال، أو تغير الرأي أو الزواج مرة أخرى. يخضع عدد صغير من الرجال لعملية إعادة وصل القناة الدافقة لعلاج آلام الخصية التي ربما ترتبط بقطع القناة الدافقة.

العقم - ليس مجرد حالة للإناث

المخاطر

جميع حالات قطع القناة المنوية (استئصال الأسهر) تقريبًا يمكن علاجها. ومع ذلك، فهذا الإجراء لا يضمن النجاح في إنجاب طفل. يمكن محاولة إعادة وصل القناة المنوية حتى بعد مرور عدة سنوات على قطع القناة المنوية الأَولي (استئصال الأسهر)؛ — لكن كلما طالت المدة، قلت نسبة نجاح إعادة وصل القناة مرة أخرى.

إن إعادة وصل القناة المنوية نادرًا ما تؤدي إلى مضاعفات خطيرة. وتتضمن المخاطر ما يلي:

  • النزيف داخل كيس الصفن. هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تجمع دموي (ورم دموي) والذي يسبب تورمًا مؤلمًا. يمكنك تقليل خطر الورم الدموي باتباع تعليمات الطبيب المتعلقة بالراحة واستخدم دعامة الصفن واستخدام كمادات باردة بعد الجراحة. كما يمكنك الاستفسار من الطبيب إذا احتجت إلى تجنب الأسبرين أو غيره من أدوية ترقيق (ميوعة) الدم قبل الجراحة وبعدها.
  • الإصابة بعدوى في موقع الجراحة. رغم أن الالتهابات نادرة للغاية، فهي تمثل خطرًا على أي عملية جراحية وقد تستلزم العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية.
  • الألم المزمن. الألم المستمر بعد إعادة وصل القناة المنوية غير شائع غالبًا.

كيف تستعد

عند التفكير في إعادة وصل القناة المنوية، فإليك عدة أمور ينبغي مراعتها:

  • قد تكون إعادة وصل القناة المنوية مكلفة، وقد لا يغطي التأمين مصاريفها. لذا استفسر عن التكاليف في وقت مبكر.
  • تعد إعادة وصل القناة المنوية أكثر نجاحًا عمومًا عندما يجريها جراح مُدرب باستخدام تقنيات جراحية دقيقة، بما في ذلك التقنيات التي تستخدم مجهرًا جراحيًا.
  • هذا الإجراء يكون أكثر نجاحًا عند تنفيذه على يد جراح يقوم بهذا الإجراء بشكل منتظم ويكون قد أجرى بالفعل هذا الإجراء من قبل مرات عديدة.
  • يتطلب الإجراء من حين لآخر نوعًا أكثر تعقيدًا من الإصلاح يُعرف باسم المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية. تأكد من أن الجرّاح قادرًا على تنفيذ هذا الإجراء إذا كان ذلك مطلوبًا.

عند اختيار الطبيب، لا تخشَ من طرح أسئلة حول عدد عمليات إعادة وصل القناة المنوية التي أجراها الطبيب ونوع التقنيات المستخدمة ومعدل حدوث الحمل بعد إعادة وصل القناة المنوية. اسأل أيضًا عن المخاطر والمضاعفات المحتملة لهذا الإجراء.

الطعام والأدوية

ينبغي التأكد من معرفة الخطوات اللازمة قبل الخضوع للجراحة. فعلى الأرجح سيطلب الطبيب التوقف عن تناول بعض الأدوية المحددة، بما يشمل أدوية تسييل الدم ومسكنات الألم، مثل الأسبرين أو الإيبوبروفين (أدفيل، وموترين آي بي، وغيرهما)، بسبب أنها يمكن أن تزيد خطر الإصابة بالنزيف.

الملابس والأدوات الشخصية

أحضِر معك أثوابًا ضيقة، مثل لباس رياضي ضيق لارتدائه بعد الجراحة. فهي ستدعم كيس الصفن وتحافظ على بقاء الضمادات في مكانها.

الاحتياطات الأخرى

احرص على الترتيب مع أحد معارفك لاصطحابك إلى المنزل بعد الجراحة. تستغرق الجراحة عمومًا ما بين ساعتين وأربع ساعات أو أكثر. قد تحتاج إلى وقت إضافي للتعافي إذا كانت العملية تتم باستخدام مخدر عام. استفسر من طبيبك عن الموعد المتوقع للعودة إلى المنزل بعد الجراحة.

ما يمكنك توقعه

قبل الإجراء

قبل جراحة إعادة وصل القناة المنوية، من المرجح أن يريد الطبيب ما يلي:

  • فحص تاريخك المرضي والقيام بالفحص الجسدي. سيرغب الطبيب في التأكد من عدم وجود مخاوف صحية يمكن أن تعيق العملية الجراحية.
  • الفحص لمعرفة ما إذا كنت تتمتع بالقدرة على إنتاج حيوانات منوية صحية. بالنسبة لمعظم الرجال، يعتبر إنجاب طفل مسبقًا دليلًا كافيًا. في حالات نادرة، إذا لم يكن الطبيب متأكدًا من إنتاج حيوانات منوية صحية، فقد يلزم إجراء اختبار إضافي.
  • التأكد من قدرة الزوجة على الإنجاب. سيرغب الطبيب في معرفة ما إذا كانت الزوجة لديها أي مشكلات في الخصوبة، خاصة إذا لم ترزق بطفل مسبقًا أو إذا تجاوز عمرها 40 عامًا. قد يتطلب ذلك فحص الجهاز التناسلي للمرأة واختبارات أخرى.

عادة ما يجري الأطباء إعادة وصل القناة المنوية في مركز جراحي أو مستشفى. تُجرى العملية عمومًا في عيادة خارجية — بدون الإقامة ليلًا. يتمكن بعض الجراحين من إجراء الجراحة في العيادة، لكن يجب أن تتأكد من أن الجراح قادر على إجراء إصلاح أكثر تعقيدًا (المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية) في العيادة، إذا لزم الأمر ذلك.

قد يستخدم الطبيب التخدير العام لإفقادك الوعي أثناء الجراحة. أو قد يعطيك الجراح مخدرًا يجعلك لا تشعر بالألم، لكنه لا يجعلك نائمًا — مثل التخدير الموضعي.

إن عملية إعادة وصل القناة المنوية أكثر صعوبة من عملية قطع القناة المنوية (استئصال الأسهر) وعادة ما تُجرى باستخدام الجراحة المجهرية، حيث يستخدم الجراح مجهرًا جراحيًا قويًا لتكبير الأسهر لدرجة تصل إلى 40 مرة من حجمه الطبيعي. يتطلب هذا النوع من الجراحة مهارات وخبرة متخصصة.

الأطباء الذين يجرون الجراحة يقومون عادة بإعادة توصيل الأسهر بإحدى الطريقتين:

  • المفاغرة الأسهرية (الأسهرية). باتباع هذا الإجراء، يخيط الجراح الأطراف المقطوعة من كل أنبوب من الأنابيب الناقلة للحيوانات المنوية (الأسهر) معًا مرة أخرى.
  • المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية. أما هذه الجراحة فهي عبارة عن ربط الأسهر مباشرة بالعضو الصغير في الجزء الخلفي من كل خصية تحمل الحيوانات المنوية (البربخ). تعد المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية أكثر تعقيدًا من المفاغرة الأسهرية الأسهرية، ويتم اختيارها عمومًا في حالة تعذر أو احتمال عدم نجاح المفاغرة الأسهرية الأسهرية.

ويعتمد اتخاذ قرار إجراء عملية المفاغرة الأسهرية الأسهرية مقابل عملية المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية على ما إذا كانت الحيوانات المنوية واضحة عندما يتم تحليل سائل الأسهر في وقت الجراحة.

من المرجح ألا تعرف مسبقًا العملية المطلوبة. في أغلب الحالات، يقرر الجراح التقنية الأفضل أثناء العملية. في بعض الأحيان يلزم الجمع بين تقنيتين جراحيتين— المفاغرة الأسهرية الأسهرية في أحد الجانبين والمفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية من الجهة الأخرى. كلما زادت مدة ما بعد إجراء قطع القناة المنوية (استئصال الأسهر)، زادت احتمالية الحاجة إلى إجراء المفاغرة الأسهرية البربخية على جانب واحد أو كلا الجانبين.

في أثناء إجراء العملية

أثناء الجراحة سيقوم طبيبك بعمل جرح صغير (شق) في كيس الصفن. سيكشف هذا الأنبوب الذي يحمل النطاف (مجرى السائل المنوي) ويحرره من الأنسجة المحيطة.

بعد ذلك سيفتح الطبيب مجرى السائل المنوي ويفحص السائل بداخله. عندما يكون النطاف متواجدًا في السائل يمكن ربط طرفي مجرى السائل المنوي لإعادة تأسيس مجرى النطاف.

إذا لم يكن السائل يحتوي على النطاف فقد يكون هناك ندوب نسيجية تسد تدفق مجرى السائل المنوي. في هذه الحالة قد يختار طبيبك إجراء مفاغرة أسهرية بربخية.

تستخدم الجراحة بمساعدة الروبوت لعكس قطع القناة المنوية لكنها مطلوبة عادة في حالات مختارة معينة.

بعد العملية

بعد الجراحة مباشرة، سيغطي طبيبك الشقوق بضمادات. سترتدي ملابس داخلية محكمة مثل الحزام الرياضي وتضع الثلج لمدة تتراوح بين 24 و48 ساعة لتقليل التورم.

قد تشعر بألم لعدة أيام. إذا وضع طبيبك ضمادات فوق الشقوق بعد إجراء الجراحة لك، فاسأل متى يكون مسموحًا بخلعها. ينبغي أن تتحلل أي غرز جراحية خلال فترة تتراوح بين سبعة و10 أيام.

بعد أن تعود إلى المنزل، لا تجهد نفسك وحاول أن تقلل من النشاطات التي قد تتسبب في حركة شديدة للخصيتين. مع زوال أثر المخدر، قد تشعر ببعض الألم والتورم. بالنسبة إلى معظم الرجال، لا يكون الألم شديدًا ويتحسن بعد فترة تتراوح بين أيام قليلة وأسبوع.

قد يعطيك طبيبك أيضًا التعليمات التالية:

  • قم بارتداء حزام رياضي بشكل دائم لعدة أسابيع، باستثناء وقت الاستحمام. ستحتاج بعد ذلك إلى مواصلة ارتدائه عندما تمارس التمارين الرياضية.
  • في أول يومين بعد الجراحة، تجنب أي شيء قد يبلل موضع الجراحة، مثل الاستحمام أو السباحة.
  • قلل أي نشاطات قد تضغط على الخصيتين أو كيس الصفن مثل الركض أو النشاطات الرياضية أو ركوب الدراجات الهوائية أو رفع الأثقال لمدة لا تقل عن ستة إلى ثمانية أسابيع بعد الجراحة.
  • إذا كنت تعمل في وظيفة مكتبية، فستتمكن على الأرجح من العمل بعد أيام قليلة من الجراحة. إذا كنت تبذل مجهودًا بدنيًا أو تعمل في وظيفة تتطلب الكثير من السير أو القيادة، فتحدث إلى طبيبك عن الوقت الآمن للعودة إلى العمل.
  • لا تمارس الجماع ولا تقذف قبل أن يقول طبيبك أن هذا مقبول. يحتاج معظم الرجال إلى الامتناع عن القذف لمدة تتراوح بين أسبوعين وثلاثة أسابيع بعد الجراحة.

تجميد الحيوانات المنوية

قد تختار تجميد الحيوان المنوي (حفظ الحيوان المنوي بالبرودة) في حال لم تفيد إعادة وصل الأسهر، لكن هذا ليس من الضروري أو المُوصى به عادةً. إذا لم تتمكن من إنجاب طفلٍ عبر الممارسة الجنسية، فربما لا يزال بإمكانك الإنجاب من خلال التقنية المساعدة على الإنجاب مثل الإخصاب في المختبر (التلقيح الصناعي).

ولمزيد من المعلومات حول ما إذا كان تجميد الحيوانات المنوية في الوقت الذي يتم فيه إعادة وصل القناة المنوية مناسبًا لكِ، قومي بالاطلاع على التكاليف والتأمين "Costs and insurance" في رعاية إعادة وصل القناة المنوية وذلك على الصفحة الرئيسية لMayo Clinic.

النتائج

أحيانًا بعد الجراحة، سيفحص الطبيب السائل المنوي تحت المجهر لمعرفة ما إذا كانت العملية ناجحة أم لا.

وقد يريد الطبيب فحص السائل المنوي الخاص بك بصفة دورية. ما لم يحدث الحمل، فسيظل فحص سائل الحيوانات المنوية هو الطريقة الوحيدة لمعرفة مدى نجاح إعادة وصل القناة المنوية.

عند نجاح عملية إعادة وصل القناة المنوية، قد تظهر الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي خلال بضعة أسابيع، لكن في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن تستغرق سنة أو أكثر. تعتمد احتمالية تحقيق الحمل على عدة عوامل، بما في ذلك عدد ونوعية الحيوانات المنوية الموجودة وعُمر الزوجة.

في حالة عدم نفع عملية إعادة وصل القناة الدافقة

تفشل عمليات عكس قطع القناة المنوية أحيانًا إذا كانت هناك مشكلة أساسية في الخصية لا يمكن التعرف عليها أثناء الجراحة أو إذا ظهر انسداد بعد وقت من الجراحة. يخضع بعض الرجال لمحاولة ثانية لجراحة عكس قطع القناة المنوية إذا لم تنجح العملية في المرة الأولى.

قد تتمكن أيضًا من أن تصبح أبًا من خلال التلقيح الصناعي باستخدام حيوانات منوية مجمدة. يمكن الحصول على الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية أو البربخ مباشرة في وقت جراحة العكس أو في تاريخ لاحق. لا يوصي الأطباء عادة بتجميد الحيوانات المنوية في وقت جراحة العكس لأن هذه قد تكون عملية إضافية غير ضروري.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

الأسئلة المتداولة

كيف أختار جرّاحًا؟

هناك العديد من العوامل الهامة عند اختيار جرّاح متخصص في العُقم لدى الذكور وفريق رعاية صحية، بما في ذلك الخبرة، والقدرات الجراحية، والتكنولوجيا، وطاقم الدعم.

نظرًا لأن إعادة وصل القناة المنوية إجراء شديد التخصص، فسيلعب تدريب جراحك وخبرته الدور الأكبر في نتائجك الإجمالية. الجراحون الذين يتمتعون بأقصى تدريب لعلاج عقم الذكور هم أخصائيو المسالك البولية الذين تلقوا تدريب زمالة متخصصًا في الجراحة المِجهرية والعقم لدى الذكور.

على الرغم من أن غالبية عمليات إعادة وصل القناة المنوية ستتطلب جراحة داخل كيس الصفن فقط، إلا أنه في بعض الحالات تكون هناك حاجة لإعادة بناء داخل البطن. يحدث ذلك أحيانًا عندما تُسد القناة المنوية للمَني نتيجة أسباب غير قطع القناة المنوية، مثل ما بعد إصلاح الفتق الحجابي. في تلك الحالات، كثيرًا ما لا يمكن إجراء الإصلاح التقليدي للقناة المنوية للمنيّ، كما تكون هناك حاجة للقيام بإجراء أكثر تعقيدًا (إصلاح القناة المنوية للمنيّ داخل البطن بمساعدة الروبوت). يتمتع قليل من الجراحين بالخبرة في كلاً من الأساليب المجهرية التقليدية وتلك التي تتم بمساعدة الروبوت المطلوبة لإجراء إصلاح ناجح في حالات مثل هذه.

عند اختيار أحد الأطباء، لا تتردد في سؤاله عن عدد عمليات إعادة وصل القناة المنوية التي قام بإجرائها، ونوع التقنيات المستخدمة ومدى فاعلية عمليات إعادة وصل القناة المنوية التي أجراها في حدوث الحمل.

كيف يمكن أن أقارن معدلات النجاح بين الجراحين؟

مع وضع تعقيد خصوبة الزوجين في الاعتبار، يصعب تحديد معدلات نجاح عكس قطع القناة المنوية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك فإن أهم مقياس للنجاح وهو— طفل سليم— لا يذكر عادة في الدراسات.

معدلات النجاح المبلغة بعد عكس قطع القناة المنوية تكون عادة مبسطة بشدة. يعمل بعض الجراحون على الرجال فقط أصحاب النواتج المبشرة بالنجاح (الرجال الأصغر الذين لم يمض على قطعهم للقناة المنوية وقت طويل)، الأمر الذي قد يزيد صناعيًا من معدلات النجاح المبلغة. يبلغ بعض الجراحون عن النواتج فقط إذا كان قطع القناة المنوية قد أُجري على كلا الجانبين ويستبعد النتائج من العمليات الأكثر تعقيدًا والأقل نجاحًا.

وبالمثل فإن تعريف النجاح ليس ثابتًا بين الجراحين. سيعتبر البعض عكس قطع القناة المنوية ناجحًا إذا شوهد حيوان منوي واحد في أي نقطة بعد العملية، بينما يتطلب الآخرون 5 مليون حيوان منوي أو أكثر يسبحون ليعتبروها ناجحة.

من المهم معرفة أن نسبة من الرجال الذين يحظون بعكس ناجح في البداية سيمرون بفشل عن طريق نطاف قليل أو غير موجود عند القذف مع الوقت. من غير الواضح لم يحدث ذلك لكنه ربما يحدث حتى بعد عدة أشهر من النجاح المبدئي للعملية.

ما هي عيوب ومزايا عكس قطع القناة المنوية وتقنية التكاثر المساعدة (ART)؟

تشمل منافع عكس قطع القناة المنوية الطبيعة طفيفة التوغل للإجراء، التكلفة الأقل، الحمل الطبيعي، القدرة على إنجاب أكثر من طفل دون الحاجة إلى جراحات أخرى، القدرة على تجميد النطاف في وقت العكس وسهولة استعادة النطاف إذا رغبت في استخدام تقنيات المساعدة على الإنجاب (ART) في المستقبل.

تشمل مساوئ عكس قطع القناة المنوية احتمالية الاحتياج لعكس آخر ( إذا كان العكس الأول غير ناجح)، عدد غير كاف من النطاف من حين لآخر لإحداث حمل ونقص بيانات معدلات النجاح على المدى الطويل.

تشمل مزايا تقنيات المساعدة على الإنجاب تحكم أكبر في توقيت الحمل، القدرة على إجراء جراحة تقنية التكاثر المساعدة بعدد قليل من النطاف واختبارات كروموسومات اختيارية على النطفة التي ستُزرع. العيوب هي التكلفة، واحتمالية الحاجة إلى دورات متعددة، ومخاوف أخلاقية أو أدبية، والحاجة إلى تكرار تقنية التكاثر المساعدة في كل مرة ترغب فيها في الحمل.

ما الذي يجب آخذه في اعتباري عند اتخاذ قرار بشأن إعادة وصل القناة الدافقة مقابل العلاج بتقنية التلقيح بالمساعدة (ART)؟

هناك أولويات شخصية ستملي عليكِ حتمًا الإجراء المفترض خوضه.

ويميل إجراء إعادة وصل القناة المنوية عمومًا ليكون واحدًا من أقل الخيارات تكلفة لإتمام الحمل بعد قطع القناة المنوية (استئصال الأسهر). قد تختار إعادة وصل القناة المنوية لأغراض أخلاقية أو دينية، أو قيود مالية، أو الرغبة بإنجاب أكثر من طفل أو الرغبة في تجنب تناول أدوية لتحفيز الإباضة.

قد تكون تقنية الإنجاب المساعدة (ART) خيارًا أفضل إذا كان زوجك أكبر سنًا (خاصة إذا كان أكبر من 37 إلى 40 عامًا)، إذا رغبتِ بإنجاب طفل واحد، وإذا رغبتِ بإجراء اختبار صبغي.

غير أن تكاليف تقنية الإنجاب المساعدة عمومًا أعلى. وبينما تختلف التكاليف بشدة في أنحاء الولايات المتحدة، فإن التكاليف المقدّرة حاليًا تساوي تقريبًا 15,000 دولار لأول دورة و5,000 دولار للدورات التالية في مقر Mayo Clinic في روتشستر، مينيسوتا. غالبًا ما يتطلب الأمر أكثر من دورة لإتمام حمل ناجح.

قد تتطلب إجراءات استعادة وتخزين الحيوانات المنوية من الخصيتين تكاليف إضافية، تشمل تكلفة سنوية يتراوح قدرها من 250 دولارًا إلى 500 دولار لتخزين الحيوانات المنوية المجمدة.

تتوقف معدلات النجاح مع كل دورة على عدد من العوامل، بما يشمل جودة الحيوانات المنوية وعمر وصحة الأم.

إعادة وصل القناة الدافقة - الرعاية في Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

11/07/2019
References
  1. Dickey RM, et al. The evolution of vasectomy reversal. Current Urology Reports. 2015;16:40.
  2. What is vasectomy reversal? Urology Care Foundation. http://www.urologyhealth.org/urologic-conditions/vasectomy-reversal. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  3. Wein AJ, et al., eds. Surgical management of male infertility. In: Campbell-Walsh Urology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 8, 2018.
  4. Patel AP, et al. Vasectomy reversal: A clinical update. Asian Journal of Andrology. 2016;18:365.
  5. Kirby EW, et al. Vasectomy reversal: Decision making and technical innovations. Translational Andrology and Urology. 2017;6:753.
  6. Smith JA, et al., eds. Vasovasostomy and vasoepididymostomy. In: Hinman's Atlas of Urologic Surgery. 4th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  7. Viera AJ. Vasectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  8. Taneja SS, et al., eds. Complications of surgery of the testicle, vas deferens, epididymis, and scrotom. In: Taneja's Complications of Urologic Surgery. 5th ed. Edinburgh, U.K.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2018.
  9. Trost LW (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Jan. 9, 2019.

Overview

Vasectomy reversal is surgery to undo a vasectomy. It reconnects each tube (vas deferens) that carries sperm from a testicle into the semen. After a successful vasectomy reversal, sperm are again present in the semen, and you may be able to get your partner pregnant.

Pregnancy rates after vasectomy reversal will range from about 30 percent to over 90 percent, depending on the type of procedure. Many factors affect whether a reversal is successful in achieving pregnancy, including time since a vasectomy, partner age, surgeon experience and training, and whether or not you had fertility issues before your vasectomy.

Vasovasostomy

Epididymovasostomy

Mayo Clinic's approach to vasectomy reversal

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Ariz., and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla., are ranked among the Best Hospitals for urology by U.S. News & World Report.

Why it's done

Men decide to have a vasectomy reversal for a number of reasons, including loss of a child, a change of heart or remarriage. A small number of men have a vasectomy reversal to treat testicular pain that may be linked to a vasectomy.

Infertility — Not just a female condition

Risks

Almost all vasectomies can be reversed. However, this doesn't guarantee success in conceiving a child. Vasectomy reversal can be attempted even if several years have passed since the original vasectomy — but the longer it has been, the less likely it is that the reversal will work.

Vasectomy reversal rarely leads to serious complications. Risks include:

  • Bleeding within the scrotum. This can lead to a collection of blood (hematoma) that causes painful swelling. You can reduce the risk of hematoma by following your doctor's instructions to rest, use scrotal support and apply ice packs after surgery. Ask your doctor if you need to avoid aspirin or other types of blood-thinning medication before and after surgery.
  • Infection at the surgery site. Although very uncommon, infections are a risk with any surgery and may require treatment with antibiotics.
  • Chronic pain. Persistent pain after vasectomy reversal is uncommon.

How you prepare

When considering vasectomy reversal, here are a few things to think about:

  • Vasectomy reversal may be expensive, and your insurance might not cover it. Find out about costs ahead of time.
  • Vasectomy reversals are generally most successful when they're done by a surgeon who is trained in and uses microsurgical techniques, including those that make use of an surgical microscope.
  • The procedure is most successful when performed by a surgeon who does the procedure regularly and who has done the procedure many times.
  • The procedure occasionally requires a more complex type of repair, known as a vasoepididymostomy. Make sure that your surgeon is able to perform this procedure if it's required.

When choosing a doctor, don't be afraid to ask questions about how many vasectomy reversals the doctor has done, the type of techniques used and how often the vasectomy reversals have resulted in pregnancy. Also ask about the risks and potential complications of the procedure.

Food and medications

Make sure you know what steps you need to take before surgery. Your doctor will probably ask you to stop taking certain medications, including blood-thinning medications and pain relievers, such as aspirin or ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB, others), because they can increase your risk of bleeding.

Clothing and personal items

Bring tightfitting undergarments, such as an athletic supporter, to wear after surgery. This will support your scrotum and hold bandages in place.

Other precautions

Arrange for someone to drive you home after surgery. Surgery generally takes about two to four hours, or longer. You may need additional time to recover if the procedure is done with general anesthesia. Ask your doctor when you can expect to go home after surgery.

What you can expect

Before the procedure

Before vasectomy reversal surgery, your doctor will likely want to:

  • Take your history and perform a physical exam. Your doctor will want to make sure that you don't have health concerns that could complicate surgery.
  • Check to see whether you can produce healthy sperm. For most men, having fathered a child before is proof enough. In rare cases, if your doctor is unsure whether you are producing healthy sperm, you may need additional testing.
  • Confirm that your partner is capable of having a child. Your doctor will want to see whether your partner has any fertility problems, especially if your partner has never had a child or is older than age 40. This may require a gynecological exam and other tests.

Doctors usually perform vasectomy reversals at a surgery center or hospital. The procedure is generally done on an outpatient basis — without an overnight stay. Some surgeons are able to do the surgery in the clinic, but you'll want to make sure that the surgeon is able to do a more complex repair (vasoepididymostomy) in the clinic, if that becomes necessary.

Your doctor may use general anesthesia to make you unconscious during surgery. Or your surgeon may give you an anesthetic that keeps you from feeling pain but doesn't put you to sleep — such as a local anesthetic.

Vasectomy reversal is more difficult than a vasectomy and is usually done using microsurgery, in which a surgeon uses a powerful surgical microscope to magnify the vas deferens as much as 40 times its size. This type of surgery requires specialized skills and expertise.

Doctors performing this surgery usually will reattach the vas deferens in one of two ways:

  • Vasovasostomy (vas-o-vay-ZOS-tuh-me). With this procedure, the surgeon sews back together the severed ends of each tube that carries sperm (vas deferens).
  • Vasoepididymostomy (vas-o-ep-ih-did-ih-MOS-tuh-me). This surgery attaches the vas deferens directly to the small organ at the back of each testicle that holds sperm (epididymis). A vasoepididymostomy is more complicated than a vasovasostomy and is generally chosen if a vasovasostomy can't be done or isn't likely to work.

The decision to perform a vasovasostomy versus a vasoepididymostomy depends on whether sperm are seen when fluid from the vas deferens is analyzed at the time of surgery.

You probably won't know ahead of time which procedure is needed. In most cases, the surgeon decides during the operation which technique will work best. Sometimes a combination of the two surgical techniques is needed — a vasovasostomy on one side and a vasoepididymostomy on the other. The longer it has been since your vasectomy, the more likely you are to need a vasoepididymostomy on one or both sides.

During the procedure

During surgery, your doctor will make a small cut (incision) on your scrotum. This will expose the tube that carries sperm (vas deferens) and release it from surrounding tissues.

Next, the doctor will cut open the vas deferens and examine the fluid inside. When sperm are present in the fluid, the ends of the vas deferens can be connected to re-establish the passageway for sperm.

If the fluid contains no sperm, scar tissue may be blocking sperm flow. In this case, your doctor may choose to perform a vasoepididymostomy.

Robot-assisted surgery has been used for vasectomy reversal, but usually is required only in select cases.

After the procedure

Immediately after surgery, your doctor will cover the incisions with bandages. You'll put on tightfitting undergarments, such as an athletic supporter, and apply ice for 24 to 48 hours to reduce swelling.

You may be sore for several days. If your doctor places bandages over the incisions after your surgery, ask when it's OK to take them off. Any stitches should dissolve in seven to 10 days.

After you return home, take it easy and try to limit activities that might cause the testicles to move around excessively. As the anesthetic wears off, you may have some pain and swelling. For most men, the pain isn't severe and gets better after a few days to a week.

Your doctor may also give you the following instructions:

  • Wear an athletic supporter for several weeks at all times, except when showering. After that, you'll need to continue to wear one when you exercise.
  • For the first two days after surgery, avoid anything that might get the surgery site wet, such as bathing or swimming.
  • Limit any activities that may pull on the testicles or scrotum, such as jogging, sporting activities, biking or heavy lifting, for at least six to eight weeks after surgery.
  • If you have a desk job, you'll probably be able to return to work a few days after surgery. If you perform physical labor or have a job that requires much walking or driving, talk to your doctor about when it's safe to go back to work.
  • Don't have sexual intercourse or ejaculate until your doctor says it's OK. Most men need to refrain from ejaculating for two to three weeks after surgery.

Freezing sperm

Although it's usually not required or recommended, you may choose to have sperm frozen (cryopreservation) in case your vasectomy reversal doesn't work. If you're not able to father a child through sexual intercourse, you may still be able to have children through assisted reproductive technology such as in vitro fertilization.

For more information on determining whether freezing sperm at the time of your vasectomy reversal is appropriate for you, see "Costs and insurance" on the vasectomy reversal Care at Mayo Clinic page.

Results

Sometime after surgery, your doctor will examine your semen under a microscope to see if the operation was successful.

Your doctor may want to check your semen periodically. Unless you get your partner pregnant, checking your semen for sperm is the only way to tell if your vasectomy reversal was a success.

When a vasectomy reversal is successful, sperm may appear in the semen within a few weeks, but it can sometimes take a year or more. The likelihood of achieving pregnancy depends on various factors, including the number and quality of sperm present and the female partner's age.

If the vasectomy reversal doesn't work

Vasectomy reversals sometimes fail if there is an underlying issue with the testicle that cannot be recognized during surgery or if a blockage develops sometime after surgery. Some men have a second-attempt vasectomy reversal surgery if the procedure doesn't work the first time.

You may also be able to father a child through in vitro fertilization by using frozen sperm. Sperm may be retrieved directly from the testicle or epididymis either at the time of the reversal surgery or at a later date. Doctors don't usually recommend freezing sperm at the time of reversal surgery, as it may be an unnecessary extra procedure.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

FAQs

How do I pick a surgeon?

Several factors are important when selecting a male fertility surgeon and health care team, including experience, surgical abilities, technology and support staff.

Because vasectomy reversal is a very specialized procedure, the training and experience of your surgeon will likely have the biggest impact on your overall outcomes. Surgeons who have the most training to treat male infertility are urologists who have received specialized fellowship training in microsurgery and male fertility.

Although the majority of vasectomy reversals will require surgery only within the scrotum, in some cases, a reconstruction is required inside the abdomen. This sometimes occurs when the vas deferens has become blocked from causes other than a vasectomy, such as after a hernia repair. In these cases, often the traditional repair of the vas deferens cannot be performed, and a more complex procedure (robot-assisted intra-abdominal repair of the vas deferens) is required. Very few surgeons have experience with both traditional microscopic and robot-assisted techniques required to perform a successful repair in cases such as this.

When choosing a doctor, don't be afraid to ask questions about how many vasectomy reversals the doctor has done, the type of techniques used and how often the vasectomy reversals have resulted in pregnancy.

How can I compare success rates between surgeons?

Given the complexity of couples' fertility, success rates with vasectomy reversals are difficult to define. In addition, the most important measure of success — a healthy baby — is not commonly reported in studies.

Reported success rates after vasectomy reversal are often oversimplified. Some surgeons operate only on men who are more likely to have a successful outcome (younger men with less time since the vasectomy), which may artificially increase reported success rates. Some surgeons report outcomes only if a vasovasostomy is performed on both sides and exclude results from more-complex, and less successful, procedures.

Similarly, the definition of success isn't consistent among surgeons. Some will call a vasectomy reversal successful if one sperm is seen at any point after the procedure, while others require 5 million or more swimming sperm to be considered a success.

It's important to know that over time a percentage of men with initially successful reversals will experience a failure with few or no sperm in the ejaculate. It's not clear why this happens, but it may occur even several months after an initially successful procedure.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of vasectomy reversal and assisted reproductive technology (ART)?

Benefits of vasectomy reversal include the minimally invasive nature of the procedure, lower cost, natural conception, the ability to father more than one child without additional procedures, the option to freeze sperm at the time of reversal and ease in retrieving sperm if assisted reproductive technology (ART) is desired in the future.

Disadvantages of vasectomy reversal include the possible need for another reversal (if the initial reversal is unsuccessful), occasional inadequate sperm counts to achieve a pregnancy and limited data on long-term success rates.

Advantages of ART include greater control of the timing of pregnancy, the ability to perform an ART procedure with low sperm counts and optional chromosomal testing on the embryo to be implanted. Disadvantages are costs, possible need for multiple cycles, moral or ethical concerns, and the need to repeat ART each time pregnancy is desired.

What should I consider when deciding on vasectomy reversal vs. ART?

Individual priorities will ultimately determine which procedure you choose.

In general, vasectomy reversal tends to be one of the least expensive options for achieving a pregnancy after vasectomy. You might opt for vasectomy reversal because of moral or religious preferences, financial limitations, the desire for more than one child or the desire to avoid ovulation-inducing medications.

ART may be a better option if your partner is older (especially if older than 37 to 40 years of age), if you want only one child, and if you want to have chromosome testing done.

Costs for ART are generally higher. While costs vary significantly throughout the U.S., the current estimated costs are approximately $15,000 for the first cycle and $5,000 for subsequent cycles at Mayo Clinic's campus in Rochester, Minnesota. Often more than one cycle is required to achieve a successful pregnancy.

Procedures to retrieve and store sperm from the testicle may require additional costs, including a $250 to $500 yearly expense to store the frozen sperm.

Success rates with each cycle depend on several factors, including the quality of sperm and age and health of the mother.

Vasectomy reversal care at Mayo Clinic

July 11, 2019
References
  1. Dickey RM, et al. The evolution of vasectomy reversal. Current Urology Reports. 2015;16:40.
  2. What is vasectomy reversal? Urology Care Foundation. http://www.urologyhealth.org/urologic-conditions/vasectomy-reversal. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  3. Wein AJ, et al., eds. Surgical management of male infertility. In: Campbell-Walsh Urology. 11th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 8, 2018.
  4. Patel AP, et al. Vasectomy reversal: A clinical update. Asian Journal of Andrology. 2016;18:365.
  5. Kirby EW, et al. Vasectomy reversal: Decision making and technical innovations. Translational Andrology and Urology. 2017;6:753.
  6. Smith JA, et al., eds. Vasovasostomy and vasoepididymostomy. In: Hinman's Atlas of Urologic Surgery. 4th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  7. Viera AJ. Vasectomy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Oct. 17, 2018.
  8. Taneja SS, et al., eds. Complications of surgery of the testicle, vas deferens, epididymis, and scrotom. In: Taneja's Complications of Urologic Surgery. 5th ed. Edinburgh, U.K.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Oct. 19, 2018.
  9. Trost LW (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Jan. 9, 2019.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services