أسلوب Mayo Clinic (مايو كلينك)

ولاية أريزونا

يتعاون حَرَم Mayo Clinic في ولاية أريزونا بين التخصصات لمساعدة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من السُّمنة على السيطرة على وزنهم من خلال أنواع متعددة من التدخلات في مجالات التغذية أو الأدوية أو عمليات التنظير الداخلي أو الجراحة.

يعمل فريق من الاختصاصيين معًا على تطوير خطط علاج مصمَّمة خصوصًا حسب احتياجات وأهداف كل شخص. يمكن أن يضم فريقك مقدِّمي الخدمات والمنسِّقين واختصاصيي النُّظم الغذائية من طب الجهاز الهضمي والكبد والغدد الصماء والجراحة العامة والطب الباطني المجتمعي والطب النفسي وعلم النفس والتخصصات الأخرى حسب الحاجة.

ولاية فلوريدا

يضم مجمع مايو كلينك في ولاية فلوريدا مركزًا لطب السمنة لمساعدة المصابين بالسمنة في السيطرة على وزنهم.

وفيه يتعاون فريق من الاختصاصيين لتطوير خطط علاج السمنة المصمَّمة خصيصًا لتناسب احتياجات كل شخص. يمكن أن يضم فريقك اختصاصيين في علاج البدانة من اختصاصي الغدد الصماء، والجراحة العامة، والطب النفسيوعلم النفس والطب الباطني المجتمعي وعلم التغذية والتخصصات الأخرى حسب الحاجة. ويشمل البرنامج أيضًا تدريبًا للمحافظة على الصحة.

ولاية مينيسوتا

يُجري الجراحون وأطباء الجهاز الهضمي في مايو كلينك بمدينة روتشستر في ولاية مينيسوتا آلاف العمليات الجراحية لإنقاص الوزن كل عام. وحتى وقتنا هذا، أجرى أطباء الجهاز الهضمي وجراحو التنظير في مايو كلينك بالفعل مئات عمليات تكميم معدة بالتنظير الداخلي.

وقد حصلت مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا على اعتماد الكلية الأمريكية للجراحين بوصفها مركزًا شاملاً لجراحة السمنة. واستوفت مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا معايير مؤسسة Medicare لجراحات علاج السمنة.

ويتكون فريق الرعاية الخاص بطب السمنة في مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا من خبراء في مجال الغدد الصماء، والتنظير الداخلي، وعلم التغذية، وطب الجهاز الهضمي، والتخصصات الفرعية للجراحة العامة، والطب النفسي وعلم النفس، وغيرها من التخصصات حسب الحاجة. ويشمل البرنامج أيضًا تدريبًا للمحافظة على الصحة.

تقديرات التكاليف

لطرح الأسئلة حول تكلفة جراحة رأب المعدة الكمِّي بالتنظير الداخلي، اتَّصِل بخدمة تقدير التكاليف في Mayo Clinic على ‎507-284-4024.

الخبرات والتصنيفات

الإجراءات المبتكرة

يشارك جرَّاحو Mayo Clinic وأطباء الجهاز الهضمي في تطوير أحدث جراحات إنقاص الوزن وجراحات التنظير الداخلي؛ مثل رأب المعدة الكمِّي بالتنظير الداخلي وبالون المعدة. يبحثون حاليًّا في طرق متعددة وجديدة لإنقاص الوزن ومعالجة أمراض الأيض بالتنظير الداخلي، مثل مرض الكبد الدهنية وداء السكري من النوع 2.

تقدِّم عيادة استعادة الوزن في Mayo Clinic أيضًا إجراءً تنظيريًّا داخليًّا جديدًا للمرضى الذين خضعوا لجراحة تحويل مسار المعدة سابقًا، لكنهم استعادوا وزنهم. يَستخدم هذا الإجراء التنظيري الداخلي جهاز خياطة تنظيري داخلي طفيف التوغل لتقليص حجم الجيب المَعِدي وتَضَيُّق البوَّاب لتحسين الشعور بالامتلاء والمساعدة في إنقاص الوزن.

رأب المعدة بالتنظير الداخلي (تكميم المعدة)

عندما يتعلق الأمر بإنقاص الوزن، فأنت لديك العديد من الخيارات. ولكن إذا نظرنا عن كثب إلى هذه الخيارات، فستجد أن العديد من المراكز تطور خبراتها في جانب واحد فقط من جوانب إنقاص الوزن. ولطالما اتبعت مايو كلينك نهجًا شاملاً للرعاية الصحية. لذا مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار، طورنا الخبرة السريرية التي دمجناها مع أحدث الأبحاث لتكوين فريق يتألف من اختصاصيي الغدد الصماء واختصاصيي النُّظم الغذائية ومدربي الرعاية الصحية واختصاصيي علم النفس وأطباء الجهاز الهضمي والجراحين الذين سيرشدونك خلال رحلتك بأكملها، مما يمنحك أفضل فرصة لإنقاص الوزن والحفاظ على الوزن المثالي.

أو سنتخذ نهجًا مختلفًا. وهذا من خلال القول إننا بحاجة إلى تقديم طرق لمساعدتك على النجاح في اتباع نظام غذائي وبرنامج للأنشطة البدنية. والسبب في اعتقادنا أن هذه الطرق ضرورية لإنقاص الوزن هو أن جسمك عادةً ما يتكيف مع برنامج إنقاص الوزن. وإذا كان الاعتماد فقط على نظام غذائي وبرنامج للتمارين الرياضية، فإن العديد من الأشياء في الجسم تجعل من الصعب الحفاظ على هذا الوزن المفقود. والأهم من ذلك، أنه يجعل من الصعب مقاومة ما خُلق جسمك من أجله، فقد خُلق جسمك لتوفير الطاقة. لذلك، إذا لم ننجح في تقديم طريقة تساعد في برنامج النظام الغذائي وبرنامج التمرين، فيجب عليك القيام بذلك، لأن الأشخاص عادةً ما يشعرون بالإحباط الشديد بسبب عدم تناول سعرات حرارية كافية. ويشعرون بالجوع الشديد والشهية المفتوحة وتقلب المزاج وما إلى ذلك. لذلك عادةً ما يفشلون في نظامهم الغذائي. لكن هذا لا يرجع إلى افتقار المريض إلى الحافز أو عدم رغبته في إنقاص الوزن، ولكن عادةً لأن جسده يقاوم ما نفعله. ولهذا نقدم هنا هذه الطرق. فنحن لدينا ثلاث طرق أساسية. ونحن نعتمد على الأدوية وإجراءات التنظير الداخلي والجراحة.

لذا فإن إجراءات التنظير الداخلي هي إحدى الطرق الجديدة ضمن مجموعة طرق إنقاص الوزن لمساعدتنا في برنامج النظام الغذائي والتمارين الرياضية. وعادةً ما تكون أفضل من الأدوية، وأحيانًا يمكن أن تكون مماثلة لفعالية جراحات طب السُمنة. وتتمثل مزايا إجراءات التنظير الداخلي في إمكانية إجرائها دون مبيت في المستشفى. ولا ينتج عنها ندبات مثلما يحدث في العمليات الجراحية. ويمكن تنفيذ كل شيء من خلال التنظير الداخلي. وعادةً ما يكون أكثر أمانًا ويسبب مضاعفات أقل. ويتحمله المرضى بشكل أفضل. وعادةً ما تكون الطريقة التي يتبعونها هي مساعدة المريض على تقليل مستويات الجوع والشهية عن طريق مساعدتك على الشعور بالشبع. أو يمكن تنفيذ ذلك أيضًا عن طريق شَغل مساحة في المعدة كما هو الحال مع بالون المعدة. أو عن طريق إجراء آخر. وهو مساعدتك على الشعور بالشبع عن طريق تقليل حجم معدتك.

لنتحدث عن إجراء جديد يسمى تكميم المعدة بالتنظير الداخلي. في هذا الإجراء، نعمل على تقليل حجم المعدة عن طريق خياطتها من الداخل حتى تصل إلى حجم ثمرة الموز. فنحن نركز على المعدة، ونقلل حجمها من كيس كبير إلى حجم ثمرة موز. كيف نفعل هذا؟ ننفذ ذلك من خلال التنظير الداخلي بمساعدة منظار داخلي. وهو كاميرا طويلة تدخل من فمك وتسمح لنا بالعمل داخل معدتك. وفوق الكاميرا الطويلة، توجد أداة للخياطة تعمل على طي أجزاء من معدتك من أجل تقليل السعة بنحو 80 في المائة. وبمجرد الانتهاء من هذا الإجراء، تصبح المعدة أصغر حجمًا، فلا تقتصر على استيعاب وجبات أصغر فحسب، ولكن ينخفض فيها أيضًا معدل تفريغ المعدة من الوجبة. لذا فإن الوجبة الصغيرة تدوم لفترة أطول بكثير، وهذا يؤدي إلى الشعور بالشبع لفترات طويلة. لذلك يمكن للمريض اتباع نظام غذائي منخفض السعرات الحرارية دون الشعور بالجوع طوال الوقت. هذا الإجراء مصمم ليكون دائمًا. وهذا يعني أننا لا نزيل الغرز. ومع ذلك، من الممكن أن يتمدد حجم المعدة على المدى الطويل. وإذا حدث ذلك، فيمكننا بسهولة إعادة الإجراء وتعزيزه أو إعادة شد المعدة من خلال إجراء تنظير داخلي مماثل. وعلى عكس الخيارات الجراحية، لا نزيل أي جزء من المعدة. فالمعدة تبقى موجودة، لكنها مطوية على نفسها فقط. لذلك، فإن مخاطر الإجراء نادرة. يقتصر الأمر على بعض آلام البطن والغثيان خلال الأسبوع الأول أو نحو ذلك، ولكن يمكن السيطرة على معظم الأعراض باستخدام مسكنات الألم وأدوية الغثيان، وتختفي معظمها في غضون الأسبوع الأول. ومن غير المحتمل حدوث مخاطر كبيرة مثل النزيف أو العدوى أو تمزق المعدة. وقد تسأل، كم الوزن الذي من المتوقع أن أفقده بعد هذا الإجراء؟ عادةً وفي المتوسط، يفقد الأشخاص ما يقرب من 18 إلى 20 في المئة من إجمالي وزن الجسم خلال عام واحد بعد الإجراء. ويرجع أساس نجاح هذا الإجراء — مثل أي إجراء آخر — إلى اتباع نمط حياة أكثر صحة على المدى الطويل. ومن أجل السماح بذلك، سنجعلك تشارك في برنامج التدخل في نمط الحياة الذي نساعدك فيه على تعلم كيفية التكيف مع نمط حياة أكثر صحة على المدى الطويل من خلال مقابلة اختصاصي علم النفس واختصاصي التغذية لدينا على مدار 12 شهرًا بعد إنجاز هذا الإجراء.

بالنسبة إلى الكثير من الأشخاص، لا يكون نقص المعرفة هو ما يعيق نجاحهم في السيطرة على الوزن. فغالبًا ما يتعلق الأمر بالعادات أو السلوكيات. حيث يفعل الكثير منا أشياء نعلم أنها ليست مناسبة لنا، لكننا نواصل القيام بها على أي حال. ويمكننا مساعدتك على محاولة فهم بعض محفزات هذه السلوكيات بشكل أفضل قليلاً. وسنساعدك في فهم بعض العواقب أيضًا، وعلى زيادة تغيير تلك السلوكيات على المدى الطويل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يجد الكثير من الأشخاص صعوبة في الحفاظ على محفزات تناول الطعام الصحي أو زيادة النشاط البدني على المدى الطويل. ومن ثم يمكن لاختصاصيي علم النفس مساعدتك حقًا على الاستفادة من المحفزات لمحاولة البقاء بصحة جيدة. أيضًا، قد يعاني بعض الأشخاص من الإجهاد أو الاكتئاب أو إدمان الكحول أو التبغ الذي يمكن أن يتعارض مع قدرتهم على النجاح. ويمكن لاختصاصيي علم النفس مساعدتك على السيطرة على هذه الأمور ومعالجتها حتى تكون أكثر نجاحًا على المدى الطويل.

يتسبب إجراء التنظير الداخلي في حدوث تغييرات في كيفية تعامل جسمك مع الطعام والعناصر المغذية التي تتطلب إجراء تغييرات من جانبك، فعلى سبيل المثال، من المهم في البداية أن يكون لديك نظام غذائي معتمد على السوائل للمساعدة على الشفاء. وعلى المدى الطويل، سنرغب في التعاون معك لتحسين مَدخولك الغذائي، كما سنتعاون معك لتحديد عادات تناول الطعام غير الصحيحة التي يمكن أن تخرب جهود إنقاص الوزن. وسيكون من المهم بالنسبة إليك زيادة نشاطك اليومي. وسنزودك أيضًا بمعلومات عن الأطعمة وأنماط تناول الطعام التي يمكن أن تساعدك على الشعور بالشبع أثناء تقليل ما تتناوله من السعرات الحرارية. وسنكون معك على طول الطريق للمساعدة على توفير بعض التدريبات والدعم أثناء تقدمك في رحلة إنقاص الوزن.

رعاية شاملة ومتكاملة

قبل وصولك إلى Mayo Clinic، ستتلقَّى الدعم والموارد لرحلتك الصحية، ويشمل ذلك تعليمات مُفصلة وإرشادات الخبراء. بعد وصولك، ستقضي أسبوعًا تقريبًا في Mayo Clinic بمدينة روتشستر، في ولاية مينيسوتا، للتحضير للعملية والرحلة التي سوف تستغرق عامًا كاملًا. سيشتمل هذا الوقت على استشارة اختصاصيي الغدد الصماء وأطباء الجهاز الهضمي وعلماء النفس.

سوف تقضي أيضًا يومين في منشأة برنامج نمط الحياة الصحي الحديثة التابعة لمستشفى Mayo Clinic. خلال هذا الوقت، سوف يعمل معك المدرِّب الصحي والاختصاصي الفسيولوجي للتمارين واختصاصي النُّظم الغذائية لإنشاء خطة صحية مفصلة لتحقيق أهدافك الصحية.

صَمَّمت لك Mayo Clinic حزمة مالية ميسورة التكلفة تتضمن تكلفة الإجراء نفسه، بالإضافة إلى برنامج مدته 12 شهرًا يُنفَّذ بمساعدة مدرِّب نمط الحياة الصحي.

خبرة معترف بها وطنيًّا

صنّفت شبكة U.S. News & World Report مستشفى مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا في المرتبة الأولى في علاج مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي حسب تصنيفها لأفضل المستشفيات. وصنّفت شبكة U.S. News & World Report مايو كلينك في مدينتي فينيكس/سكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا ومايو كلينك في مدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا ضمن أفضل المستشفيات لعلاج اضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي. ويُصنَّف مركز مايو كلينك للأطفال في مدينة روتشستر على أنه المستشفى رقم 1 في ولاية مينيسوتا وفي منطقة الخمس ولايات التي تتضمن آيوا ومينيسوتا وداكوتا الشمالية وداكوتا الجنوبية وويسكونسن، وذلك وفقًا لتصنيفات "أفضل مستشفيات الأطفال" التي أعدتها شبكة U.S. News & World Report لعام 2022–2023.

المواقع والسفر والإقامة

لدى Mayo Clinic مجمعات رئيسية في فينيكس وسكوتسديل في أريزونا؛ وجاكسونفيل في فلوريدا؛ وروتشستر في مينيسوتا. يضم نظام Mayo Clinic الصحي عشرات المواقع في عدة ولايات.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول زيارة Mayo Clinic، اختر أحد المواقع أدناه:

التكاليف والتأمين

تعمل Mayo Clinic بالتعاون مع المئات من شركات التأمين، وهي ضمن شبكة التغطية التأمينية للملايين من الناس.

وفي معظم الحالات، لا تشترط Mayo Clinic وجود تحويل من طبيب. تشترط بعض شركات التأمين وجود تحويل من طبيب، أو تضغ شروطًا إضافية للاستفادة من بعض خدمات الرعاية الطبية. يتم تحديد أولوية كل المواعيد بناء على الحاجة الطبية.

تعلّم المزيد حول المواعيد في Mayo Clinic.

الرجاء الاتصال بشركة التأمين للتحقق من تغطيتك الطبية، وأيضًا للحصول على أي موافقات ضرورية منها قبل زيارة الطبيب. في كثير من الأحيان، يكون رقم خدمة العملاء الخاص بشركة التأمين مطبوعًا على ظهر بطاقة تأمينك.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول الاختبارات والإجراءات المخصصة للوقاية من الحالات الصحية واكتشافها وعلاجها وإدارتها.

24/09/2021
  1. Novikov AA, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty, laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy, and laparoscopic band for weight loss: How do they compare? Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery. 2018; doi:10.1007/s11605-017-3615-7. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  2. Alqahtani A, et al. Short-term outcomes of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty in 1000 consecutive patients. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.gie.2018.12.012. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  3. Bariatric surgery FAQs. American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery. https://asmbs.org/patients/bariatric-surgery-faqs. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  4. Hourneaux de Moura DT, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty: From whence we came and where we are going. World Journal of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.4253/wjge.v11.i5.322. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  5. Bazerbachi F, et al. Recent clinical results of endoscopic bariatric therapies as an obesity intervention. Clinical Endoscopy. 2017; doi:10.5946/ce.2017.013. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  6. Bariatric surgery. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/weight-management/bariatric-surgery. Accessed Aug. 14, 2019.
  7. Fayad L, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty versus laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy: A case-matched study. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.gie.2018.08.030. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  8. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 22, 2021.
  9. Hedjoudje A, et al. Efficacy and safety of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.cgh.2019.08.022. Accessed Oct. 11, 2019.
  10. Abu Dayyeh BK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 2, 2019.
  11. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 22, 2021.

رأب المعدة بشكل الكم بمنظار داخلي

Mayo Clinic's approach

Arizona

Mayo Clinic's campus in Arizona has collaborations between specialties to help people struggling with obesity gain control of their weight through multiple types of interventions in nutrition, medication, endoscopic procedures or surgery.

A team of specialists works together to develop treatment plans tailored to each person's needs and goals. Your team can include providers, coordinators and dietitians from Gastroenterology and Hepatology, endocrinology, general surgery, community internal medicine, psychiatry and psychology, and other specialties, as needed.

Florida

Mayo Clinic's campus in Florida has a dedicated Bariatric Center to help people struggling with obesity gain control of their weight.

A team of specialists works together to develop bariatric treatment plans tailored to each person's needs. Your team can include bariatric specialists from endocrinology, general surgery, psychiatry and psychology, community internal medicine, dietetics, and other specialties, as needed. The program also includes wellness coaching.

Minnesota

Mayo Clinic surgeons and gastroenterologists in Rochester, Minnesota, perform thousands of weight-loss surgeries and procedures each year. To date, Mayo Clinic gastroenterologists and endoscopists have already done hundreds of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasties.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, is accredited as a comprehensive bariatric surgery center by the American College of Surgeons. Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, has also met Medicare's facility standards for bariatric surgery.

The Mayo Clinic bariatric care team in Rochester, Minnesota, consists of experts from endocrinology, endoscopy, dietetics, gastroenterology, subspecialty general surgery, psychiatry and psychology, and other specialists, as needed. The program also includes wellness coaching.

Cost estimates

For questions about the cost of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty, call Mayo Clinic's Estimating Service at 507-284-4024.

Expertise and rankings

Innovative procedures

Mayo Clinic surgeons and gastroenterologists are involved in developing the latest in weight-loss surgeries and endoscopic procedures, such as endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty and intragastric balloons. They are currently investigating multiple new endoscopic treatment approaches to weight loss and metabolic disease, such as fatty liver disease and type 2 diabetes.

Mayo Clinic's Weight Regain Clinic is also offering a new endoscopic procedure to patients who had gastric bypass surgery in the past but have regained weight. This endoscopic procedure uses a minimally invasive endoscopic suturing device to reduce the size of the gastric pouch and outlet to improve the feeling of fullness and aid in weight loss.

Endoscopic Sleeve Gastroplasty (Gastric Sleeve)

When it comes to weight loss, you have many choices. But if we look closely at these options, you see that many centers develop expertise in just one aspect of weight loss. Mayo Clinic has always taken a comprehensive approach to health care. So with this in mind, we've developed clinical expertise that's combined with cutting edge research to create a team that consists of endocrinologists, dietitians, health care coaches, psychologists, gastroenterologists, and surgeons who will guide you through your entire journey, giving you the best chance of losing weight and keeping it off.

Or will take a different approach. Basically by saying that we need to introduce tools to help you be successful to a diet and physical activity program. The reason why we believe that tools are essential for weight-loss is because your body usually adapts to our weight-loss program. If it's only based on a diet and exercise program, many things in their body that makes it difficult to sustain that weight loss. And more importantly, it makes it difficult to fight back what your body is designed to, your body designed to save energy. So if we don't introduce a tool to help us with our diet program and that exercise program. You should, people tend to feel very frustrated with not eating enough calories. They feel a lot of hungry and appetite and moody and so on. So they usually fail their diet. But it's not because the patient doesn't lack motivation or doesn't want to lose weight, usually because your body is fighting against us. So this is where we introduce tools. We have three tools are the essentials. We have medications, endoscopic procedures, and we have surgery.

So endoscopic procedures are the new kids on the block for weight-loss tools to help us with diet and exercise program. They are usually better than medications and sometimes they can be as good as bariatric surgery. The advantages of an endoscopic procedure is that is an outpatient procedure, so no need to stay overnight. There's no scars like in surgery. All of this is done by endoscopy. They're usually safer with less complications. Patients tolerate this better. And usually the way that they work is by helping the patient by either decreasing they're hungry and appetite levels by making you feel full. By either producing an occupying the space in the stomach like in the example with the balloons. Or in the example is leave. By making you feel full, by reducing the size of your stomach.

Let's talk about a new procedure called endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty. With this procedure, basically we're decreasing the size of their stomach by suturing it from inside to the size of a banana. So we're taking the stomach, which is the sites, It's a big sack and reducing it to a size of a banana. How we do this? We do this endoscopically through the aid of an endoscope. Basically it's a long camera that goes from your mouth and allow us to do an intervention inside of your stomach. On top of the long camera, we have a sewing machine that allow us to take your stomach and invaginated on itself in order to reduce capacity by about 80 percent. So once this procedure is done, the stomach is a smaller size, so it only could accommodate smaller meals, but also the rate by which the meal empties from the stomach is decreased. So a smaller meal last for much longer period of time, producing satiety for long periods of time. So a patient could follow a low-calorie diet without feeling hungry all the time. This procedure is designed to be permanent. That means the sutures we do not remove. However, things could stretch in the long-term. And if that were to happen, we could easily go back and reinforce or re tighten things up with a with a similar endoscopic procedure. Unlike surgical options, we're not removing any parts of the stomach. The stomach stays there, but we're just invaginated. Therefore, the risks with the procedures are rare. There are some abdominal pain and nausea that happens within the first week or so, but most of these are managed with pain medication and nausea medications, the vast majority resolve within the first week. Serious risks like bleeding, infection, or tears in the stomach or very unlikely. You might be asking, how much weight do I expect to lose with this procedure? Usually on average, people have lost about 18 to 20 percent of their total body weight loss at one year after the procedure. The key to the success of this procedure as to any other procedure is adopting a healthier lifestyle for longer-term. And to allow it to that, we'll have you participate in a lifestyle intervention program that we help you to learn how to adapt a healthier lifestyle and along the longer-term by meeting with our psychologist and nutritionist over the 12 months after this procedure is performed.

For many people, it's not a knowledge deficit that's getting in the way of them being successful with managing weight. It's often about habits or behaviors. And many of us do things that we know are not good for us, but we continue to do them anyway. And we can help you try to understand a little bit better what some of the triggers are for those behaviors. Some of the consequences and help you really make those behavior changes more in the long term. Also, a lot of people struggle with maintaining motivation over the long-term to eat healthy or to be more active. And so psychologists can really help you tap into what motivates you to try to stay healthy. Additionally, some people struggle with stress or depression or addiction to alcohol or tobacco that can interfere with their ability to be successful. And as psychologists can really help you address and treat those things so that you can be more successful in the long term.

An endoscopic procedure causes changes in how your body handles food and nutrients which require changes on your part to, for example, initially it's important to have a liquid diet to help with healing. Longer term will want to work with you to optimize your nutrition intake, will also work with you to identify incorrect eating habits that can sabotage weight loss efforts. And it will be important for you to increase your daily activity. Will also provide you with information on foods and eating patterns that can help you feel full while lowering your calorie intake. And we'll be here along the way to help provide some coaching and support as you progress on your weight loss journey.

Comprehensive, holistic care

Prior to arriving at Mayo Clinic, you'll receive support and resources for your wellness journey, including detailed instructions and expert guidance. After arriving, you'll spend about one week at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, to prepare for the procedure and yearlong journey ahead. This time will include consultations with endocrinologists, gastroenterologists and psychologists.

You'll also spend two days at Mayo Clinic's state-of-the-art Healthy Living Program facility. During this time, you'll work with a health coach, exercise physiologist and dietitian to create a detailed health plan for achieving your wellness goals.

Mayo Clinic has created an affordable financial bundle that includes the cost of the procedure itself plus a 12-month program implemented with the assistance of a healthy living coach.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, ranks No. 1 for digestive disorders in the U.S. News & World Report Best Hospitals rankings. Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona, and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, are ranked among the Best Hospitals for digestive disorders by U.S. News & World Report. Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester is ranked the No. 1 hospital in Minnesota, and the five-state region of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin, according to U.S. News & World Report's 2022–2023 "Best Children's Hospitals" rankings.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

More information about billing and insurance:

Mayo Clinic in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Health System

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies of tests and procedures to help prevent, detect, treat or manage conditions.

Sept. 24, 2021
  1. Novikov AA, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty, laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy, and laparoscopic band for weight loss: How do they compare? Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery. 2018; doi:10.1007/s11605-017-3615-7. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  2. Alqahtani A, et al. Short-term outcomes of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty in 1000 consecutive patients. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.gie.2018.12.012. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  3. Bariatric surgery FAQs. American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery. https://asmbs.org/patients/bariatric-surgery-faqs. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  4. Hourneaux de Moura DT, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty: From whence we came and where we are going. World Journal of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.4253/wjge.v11.i5.322. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  5. Bazerbachi F, et al. Recent clinical results of endoscopic bariatric therapies as an obesity intervention. Clinical Endoscopy. 2017; doi:10.5946/ce.2017.013. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  6. Bariatric surgery. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/weight-management/bariatric-surgery. Accessed Aug. 14, 2019.
  7. Fayad L, et al. Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty versus laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy: A case-matched study. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.gie.2018.08.030. Accessed Aug. 10, 2019.
  8. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 22, 2021.
  9. Hedjoudje A, et al. Efficacy and safety of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology. 2019; doi:10.1016/j.cgh.2019.08.022. Accessed Oct. 11, 2019.
  10. Abu Dayyeh BK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. Oct. 2, 2019.
  11. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 22, 2021.

Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty