概述

胃内水球放置是一项减肥手术,需要在胃中放置一个充满生理盐水的硅胶球囊。它将通过限制可摄入的食物量和使您更快产生饱腹感来帮助您减重。

如果您担心自己的体重,并且饮食和运动对您没有帮助,则可以选择胃内水球手术。

像其他减肥手术一样,胃内水球治疗需要您坚持健康的生活方式。此外,您必须对饮食进行永久性改变,并定期锻炼,以确保减肥手术取得长期效果。

目的

放置胃内水球可以帮助您减轻体重。体重减轻可以降低潜在的严重体重相关健康问题的风险,例如:

  • 胃食管反流病(GERD)
  • 心脏病或卒中
  • 高血压
  • 阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停
  • 非酒精性脂肪性肝病(NAFLD)或非酒精性脂肪性肝炎(NASH)
  • 2 型糖尿病

通常只有在尝试通过改善饮食和运动习惯来减轻体重后,才会进行胃内水球放置和其他减肥手术。

适用对象

如果您存在以下情况,胃内水球可能是一种治疗方案:

  • 您的身体质量指数(BMI)在 30 到 40 之间
  • 您愿意遵循健康的生活方式,定期接受医疗随访并参与行为疗法
  • 既往未接受过任何胃或食管手术

胃内水球并不适用于所有超重患者。医生将通过筛查过程确定这项手术是否对您有益。

在这项手术中,放置和取出胃内水球的费用可能不在健康保险的承保范围内,因而属于自付费用。

风险

插入胃内水球后不久,约三分之一的人会出现疼痛和恶心。但是,这些症状通常仅在放置球囊后持续几天。这些症状通常可以在家口服药物治疗。

放置胃内水球后可能会出现严重的副作用,但很少见。术后任何时候如果出现恶心、呕吐和腹痛,请立即致电医生。

潜在的风险包括球囊漏气。如果球囊漏气,也有可能会穿过消化系统。这可能会导致堵塞,可能需要进行其他手术才能取出该器械。

其他可能的风险包括过度膨胀、急性胰腺炎、胃溃疡或穿孔(穿孔),这些问题可能需要手术修复。

如何进行准备

如果您要在胃中放一个胃内水球,医疗团队将为您提供有关如何准备手术的具体说明。在进行手术之前,您可能需要接受各种化验和检查。

在进行手术之前的一段时间,您可能需要限制饮食和用药。您可能还需要启动身体活动项目。

可能出现的情况

术中

胃内水球手术是一项门诊手术,在内窥镜检查室内进行。手术前,医生会给您注射镇静剂。

手术过程中,医生会将一根装有胃内水球的细管(导管)顺着咽喉推进您的胃中。然后,医生会将一个内窥镜,即一个装有摄像头的软管,顺着咽喉推进您的胃中。医生用生理盐水填充水球时,可以通过摄像头看到水球。

手术大约需要半个小时。通常,手术结束后一到两个小时您就可以回家。

术后

可以在术后约 6 小时开始饮用少量的清开水。流质饮食通常会持续到第二周开始,这时您可以开始吃软食了。在植入胃内水球后约 3 周,您就可以开始正常进食了。

胃内水球最长放置 6 个月,然后医生会用内窥镜将其取出。取出的同时,您需要根据医生确定的治疗方案,决定是否放置新的水球。

手术后,您还需要经常约诊医疗团队成员,如营养学家和心理学家。

结果

胃内球囊能让您比平时吃东西时更快地感到吃饱了,这通常意味着您会吃得更少。原因之一可能是胃内球囊减慢了胃排空所需的时间。另一个原因可能是球囊似乎改变了控制食欲的激素水平。

您的体重减轻量还取决于您能改变多少生活方式,包括饮食和运动。

根据目前可用的治疗方法的总结,在胃内球囊放置后的六个月内,体重通常会下降 7% 到 15%。总的超重减轻幅度在 30% 到 47% 之间。

与其他导致体重显著减轻的手术一样,胃内球囊手术可能有助于改善或解决与超重有关的疾病,包括:

  • 胃食管反流病
  • 心脏病
  • 高血压
  • 阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停
  • 骨关节炎(关节疼痛)
  • 2 型糖尿病
  • 高胆固醇
  • 非酒精性脂肪性肝病 (NAFLD) 或非酒精性脂肪性肝炎 (NASH)

减重手术无效时

减重手术后,即使手术过程十分顺利,也有可能出现减重效果不佳或体重反弹的情况。如果您不按照建议改变生活方式,可能会出现体重增长的情况。长期健康饮食以及定期体育活动和锻炼,对于避免体重反弹至关重要。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Sept. 30, 2021
  1. Glass J, et al. New era: Endoscopic treatment options in obesity — A paradigm shift. World Journal of Gastroenterology. 2019; doi:10.3748/wjg.v25.i32.4567.
  2. Bariatric surgery. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/weight-management/bariatric-surgery. Accessed Sept. 14, 2019.
  3. Brunicardi FC, et al., eds. The surgical management of obesity. In: Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. 11th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2019. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed Sept. 15, 2019.
  4. Neto MG, et al. Brazilian intragastric balloon consensus statement (BIBC): Practical guidelines based on experience of over 40,000 cases. Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases. 2018; doi:10.1016/j.soard.2017.09.528.
  5. Braswell-Pickering EA. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. July 22, 2021.
  6. Storm AC (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 30, 2019.
  7. Update: Potential risks with liquid-filled intragastric balloons: Letter to health care providers. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/letters-health-care-providers/update-potential-risks-liquid-filled-intragastric-balloons-letter-health-care-providers-1?utm_campaign=2020-04-27%20UPDATE%3A%20Potential%20Risks%20with%20Liquid-filled%20Intragastric%20Balloons&utm_medium=email&utm_source=Eloqua. Accessed April 27, 2020.

Overview

An intragastric balloon is a newer kind of weight-loss procedure. A saline-filled silicone balloon is placed in your stomach, which helps you lose weight by limiting how much you can eat. It also makes you feel fuller faster.

This procedure is an option if you're overweight or obese, and diet and exercise haven't worked for you.

Like other weight-loss procedures, an intragastric balloon requires commitment to a healthier lifestyle. You need to make permanent healthy changes to your diet and get regular exercise to help ensure the long-term success of the intragastric balloon procedure.

Why it's done

The placement of an intragastric balloon helps you lose weight. Weight loss can lower your risk of potentially serious weight-related health problems, such as:

  • Heart disease and stroke
  • High blood pressure
  • Sleep apnea
  • Type 2 diabetes

An intragastric balloon and other weight-loss procedures or surgeries are typically done only after you've tried to lose weight by improving your diet and exercise habits.

Who it's for

An intragastric balloon may be an option for you if:

  • Your body mass index (BMI) is between 30 and 40.
  • You're willing to commit to healthy lifestyle changes and regular medical follow-up, as well as to participate in behavioral therapy.
  • You have not had any previous stomach or esophageal surgery.

Intragastric balloons aren't the right choice for everyone who is overweight. A screening process will help your doctor see if the procedure might be beneficial for you.

The cost for placing and removing the gastric balloon is not usually covered by health insurance.

Risks

Pain and nausea affect about one-third of people soon after insertion of an intragastric balloon. However, these symptoms usually only last for a few days after balloon placement. And they can be treated with oral medication.

Serious risks after intragastric balloon placement and removal are rare. It's possible that the balloon could deflate. If the balloon deflates, there's also a risk that it could move through your digestive system. This can cause a blockage that may require a further procedure.

Other possible risks include ulcers or a hole (perforation) in the stomach, which might require surgery to fix.

How you prepare

If you're going to have an intragastric balloon placed in your stomach, your health care team will give you specific instructions on how to prepare for your procedure. You may need to have various lab tests and exams before your procedure.

You may need to restrict what you eat and drink, as well as which medications you take, in the time leading up to the procedure. You also may be required to start a physical activity program.

What you can expect

The intragastric balloon procedure is done in the endoscopy unit as an outpatient procedure. You'll be sedated for the procedure.

During the procedure, the doctor advances a thin tube (catheter) loaded with the intragastric balloon down your throat into your stomach. Next, the doctor advances an endoscope — a flexible tube with a camera attached — down your throat into your stomach. The tiny camera allows your doctor to see the balloon as he or she fills it with saline.

The procedure takes about a half-hour. You can normally go home several hours after the procedure.

After intragastric balloon insertion

You can have small amounts of liquid starting about six hours after the procedure. The liquid diet generally continues until the start of the second week, when you can start eating soft foods. You'll probably be able to start eating regular food around three weeks after the insertion of the intragastric balloon.

Intragastric balloons are left in place for up to 6 months, and are then removed using an endoscope.

You'll also have frequent meetings with members of your medical team, such as your nutritionist and psychologist, after your procedure.

Results

An intragastric balloon can make you feel fuller faster than you normally would, which often means you'll eat less. One reason why may be that the intragastric balloon slows down the time it takes to empty the stomach. Another reason may be that the balloon seems to change levels of hormones that control appetite.

The amount of weight you lose also depends on how much you can change your lifestyle habits.

Loss of about 10 to 15 percent of body weight is typical during the six months following intragastric balloon placement. In a randomized clinical trial with 255 adults with a BMI between 30 and 40, people who had the intragastric balloon procedure along with behavioral therapy lost 29 percent of their excess weight, compared to 14 percent in a group that received behavioral therapy alone.

As with other procedures and surgeries that lead to significant weight loss, the intragastric balloon may help improve or resolve conditions often related to being overweight, including:

  • Heart disease or stroke
  • High blood pressure
  • Severe sleep apnea
  • Type 2 diabetes

When weight-loss procedures don't work

It's possible to not lose significant weight or to regain weight after any type of weight-loss procedure or surgery, even if the procedure itself works correctly. This weight gain can happen if you don't follow the recommended lifestyle changes. Permanent healthy changes in your diet, along with regular physical activity and exercise, are necessary to avoid regaining weight.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Intragastric balloon care at Mayo Clinic

Jan. 13, 2018
References
  1. Abu Dayyeh BK, et al. ASGE Bariatric Endoscopy Task Force systematic review and meta-analysis assessing the ASGE PIVI thresholds for adopting endoscopic bariatric therapies. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2015;82:425.
  2. Abu Dayyeh BK, et al. Status evaluation report — Endoscopic bariatric therapies. Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. 2015;81:5.
  3. Ponce J, et al. The REDUCE pivotal trial: A prospective, randomized controlled pivotal trial of a dual intragastric balloon for the treatment of obesity. Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases. In press. 2015. Accessed July 3, 2015.
  4. Bariatric surgery for severe obesity. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-topics/weight-control/bariatric-surgery-severe-obesity/Pages/bariatric-surgery-for-severe-obesity.aspx. Accessed July 5, 2015.
  5. Riggins EA. AllScripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 5, 2015.
  6. American College of Surgeons. https://www.facs.org/search/bariatric-surgery-centers?page=1&n=25&name=mayo. Accessed July 5, 2015.
  7. Medicare-approved facilities/trials/registries — Bariatric surgery. CMS.gov. http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-General-Information/MedicareApprovedFacilitie/Bariatric-Surgery.html. Accessed July 5, 2015.
  8. Abu Dayyeh BK (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Aug. 6, 2015.
  9. Abu Dayyeh BK, et al. Abstract 444. Abstract presented at: Digestive Disease Week; May 16-19, 2015; Washington, D.C. Accessed Aug. 6, 2015.