هل التنويم المغناطيسي لفقدان الوزن فعّال؟

إجابة من برنت أيه باور، (دكتور في الطب)

قد يساعدك التنويم المغناطيسي لفقدان الوزن في التخلص من بعض الوزن الزائد عندما يكون جزءًا من خطة فقدان الوزن التي تتضمن اتباع حمية غذائية وممارسة التمارين وتلقي الاستشارة. ولكن من الصعب تأكيد ذلك بشكل قاطع لأنه لا توجد أدلة علمية راسخة حول التنويم المغناطيسي وحده لفقدان الوزن.

يُعد التنويم المغناطيسي حالة من التركيز والاستيعاب الداخلي، مثل الدخول في غيبوبة. وعادةً ما يتم التنويم المغناطيسي بمساعدة أخصائي التنويم المغناطيسي باستخدام التكرار اللفظي والصور العقلية.

عندما تخضع للتنويم المغناطيسي، يتسم انتباهك بدرجة عالية من التركيز وتكون أكثر استجابة للاقتراحات، بما في ذلك التغيرات السلوكية التي يمكن بدورها أن تساعدك في فقدان الوزن.

أجرت القليل من الدراسات تقييمًا لاستخدام التنويم المغناطيسي لفقدان الوزن. وأظهرت معظم الدراسات فقدانًا طفيفً فقط في الوزن، مع متوسط فقدان يبلغ حوالي 6 أرطال (2.7 كيلو جرام) على مدى 18 شهرًا. ولكن كانت نوعية بعض هذه الدراسات موضع تساؤل، مما جعل من الصعب تحديد الفعّالية الحقيقية للتنويم المغناطيسي لفقدان الوزن.

غير أن دراسة حديثة أظهرت فقط نتائج بسيطة لإنقاص الوزن، وجدت أن المرضى الذين يتلقون التنويم المغناطيسي تكون معدلات الالتهاب أقل لديهم، مع شبع أفضل وتحسن نوعية الحياة. قد تكون هذه آليات حيث يمكن للتنويم المغناطيسي التأثير على الوزن. هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الدراسات لفهم الدور المحتمل للتنويم المغناطيسي في إدارة الوزن.

وعادةً ما تكون أفضل طريقة لتحقيق إنقاص الوزن من خلال اتباع نظام غذائي وممارسة الرياضة. إذا كنت قد جرَّبت اتباع نظام غذائي وممارسة التمارين ولكنك لا تزال تكافح من أجل بلوغ هدفك في فقدان الوزن، فتحدث مع موفر الرعاية الصحية لديك حول الخيارات الأخرى المتاحة أو تغييرات نمط الحياة التي يمكنك إجراؤها.

من غير المرجح أن يؤدي الاعتماد على التنويم المغناطيسي لإنقاص الوزن وحده إلى إنقاص كبير للوزن، ولكن قد يفيد بعض الأشخاص استكشاف استخدامه بالإضافة لنهج أسلوب حياة شامل.

11/06/2019 See more Expert Answers

Is weight-loss hypnosis effective?

Answer From Brent A. Bauer, M.D.

Weight-loss hypnosis may help you shed an extra few pounds when it's part of a weight-loss plan that includes diet, exercise and counseling. But it's hard to say definitively because there isn't enough solid scientific evidence about weight-loss hypnosis alone.

Hypnosis is a state of inner absorption and concentration, like being in a trance. Hypnosis is usually done with the help of a hypnotherapist using verbal repetition and mental images.

When you're under hypnosis, your attention is highly focused, and you're more responsive to suggestions, including behavior changes that can help you lose weight.

A few studies have evaluated the use of weight-loss hypnosis. Most studies showed only slight weight loss, with an average loss of about 6 pounds (2.7 kilograms) over 18 months. But the quality of some of these studies has been questioned, making it hard to determine the true effectiveness of weight-loss hypnosis.

However, a recent study, which only showed modest weight loss results, did find that patients receiving hypnosis had lower rates of inflammation, better satiety and better quality of life. These might be mechanisms whereby hypnosis could influence weight. Further studies are needed to fully understand the potential role of hypnosis in weight management.

Weight loss is usually best achieved with diet and exercise. If you've tried diet and exercise but are still struggling to meet your weight-loss goal, talk to your health care provider about other options or lifestyle changes that you can make.

Relying on weight-loss hypnosis alone is unlikely to lead to significant weight loss, but using it as an adjunct to an overall lifestyle approach may be worth exploring for some people.

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Nov. 05, 2020 See more Expert Answers