نظرة عامة

الروبيللا والتي تدعى أيضًا الحصبة الألمانية أو حمى الأيام الثلاثة، هي عدوى فيروسية معدية تعرف عن طريق الطفح الجلدي الأحمر المميز لها.

تختلف الحصبة الألمانية عن الحصبة العادية (rubeola)، على الرغم من أن المرضين يتشاركان بعض الصفات ومنها الطفح الجلدي الأحمر. لكن الحصبة الألمانية تنتج عن فيروس مختلف عن فيروس الحصبة العادية، وليست معدية أو حادة مثل الحصبة العادية.

تطعيم الحصبة العادية-التهاب الغدة النكافية-الحصبة الألمانية (MMR)، يعطى عادة للأطفال في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية مرتين قبل الوصول لسن المدرسة، فعال جدًا في منع الحصبة الألمانية.

بسبب انتشار استخدام التطعيم قام مراكز مراقبة الأمراض والوقاية منها (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) باعلان القضاء على مرض الحصبة الألمانية في الولايات المتحدة، لكنه يقوم بتوعية الآباء بالتأكد من تطعيم أبنائهم لمنعه من العودة للظهور مرة أخرى.

الأعراض

لمرض الحميراء علامات وأعراض طفيفة للغاية لدرجة أنه تصعب ملاحظتها، وخاصةً في الأطفال. إذا ظهرت العلامات والأعراض، فإنها عادةً ما تظهر في فترة من أسبوعين إلى ثلاثة بعد التعرُّض للفيروس. وعادةً ما تستمر لحوالي يومين إلى ثلاثة، وقد تشتمل على:

  • حمى خفيفة بدرجة 102 فهرنهايت (38.9 درجة مئوية) أو أقل
  • الصداع
  • انسداد أو ترشح الأنف
  • التهاب واحمرار العين
  • تضخم وألم بالعقد الليمفاوية بقاعدة الجمجمة، والجزء الخلفي من العنق، وخلف الأذنين.
  • طفح جلدي وردي اللون ودقيق، يبدأ في الظهور على الوجه، ومن ثَمّ ينتشر إلى الجذع وإلى الذراعين والساقين، قبل أن يختفي في نفس الترتيب التسلسلي
  • ألم المفاصل، وخاصةً في الشابات

متى تزور الطبيب

اتصل بطبيبك إذا كنت تعتقد أن طفلك قد تعرض لفيروس الحميراء أو إذا كنت تعاني العلامات والأعراض الواردة أعلاه.

إذا كنتِ تفكرين في الحمل، فتحققي من سجل التطعيمات الخاص بك للتأكُّد من أنكِ قد تلقيت التطعيمات ضد الحصبة الألمانية. إذا أصيبت امرأة حامل بالحميراء، خاصةً في ثلثها الأول، يمكن أن يؤدي الفيروس إلى الوفاة أو حدوث تشوهات خطيرة للجنين النامي. إن فيروس الحميراء من الأسباب الأكثر شيوعًا وراء الصمم الخلقي. من الأفضل أن تتم حماية النساء من الحميراء قبل الحمل.

إذا كنتِ حاملاً، من المحتمل لك أن تخضعي للفحص الدوري للمناعة ضد الحميراء. ولكن إذا لم يسبق لك تلقي التطعيم، وتعتقدين بأنك قد تعرضتِ لفيروس الحميراء، فاتصلي بالطبيب على الفور. قد يؤكد اختبار الدم على المناعة التي تتمتعين بها بالفعل.

الأسباب

إن سبب الإصابة بمرض الحصبة الألمانية هو انتقال فيروس من شخص إلى آخر. يمكن أن ينتشر عند عطس شخص مصاب بالعدوى أو سعاله، أو ينتشر عن طريق الملامسة المباشرة مع شخص مصاب بالعدوى عن طريق إفرازات الجهاز التنفسي، مثل المخاط. ويمكن أن ينتقل أيضًا من امرأة حامل إلى طفلها الذي لم يولد بعد من خلال مجرى الدم.

وتبدأ عدوى الشخص المصاب بمرض الحصبة الألمانية من 10 أيام قبل ظهور الطفح الجلدي وحتى أسبوع أو اثنين بعد اختفاء ظهور الطفح. يمكن للشخص المصاب أن ينشر المرض قبل أن يدرك أنه مصاب به.

إن مرض الحصبة الألمانية نادر في الولايات المتحدة بسبب تلقي معظم الأطفال لقاح للحماية من العدوى في سن مبكر. ومع ذلك، توجد حالات مصابة بمرض الحصبة الألمانية، معظمها في البالغين الذين وُلدوا في بلد أجنبي ولم يتلقوا تطعيمًا.

لا يزال المرض شائعًا في مناطق كثيرة حول العالم. إن انتشار مرض الحصبة الألمانية في دول أخرى أمر يجب مراعاته قبل السفر للخارج، وخاصة إذا كنتِ حاملاً.

المضاعفات

الحصبة الألمانية عدوى طفيفة. بمجرد إصابتك بهذا المرض، عادةً ما تصبح منيعًا له على الدوام. تعاني بعض النساء المصابات بالحصبة الألمانية التهابًا في المفاصل في أصابع اليد، والمعصم والركبة، والتي تدوم بشكل عام مدة شهر تقريبًا. في حالات نادرة، يمكن أن تتسبب الحصبة الألمانية في الإصابة بعدوى في الأذن (التهاب الأذن الوسطى) أو التهاب الدماغ.

ومع ذلك، إذا كنتِ حاملاً عند إصابتك بالحصبة الألمانية، فقد تكون العواقب على جنينك خطيرة. يصاب ما يصل إلى 90 بالمائة من الرضع المولودين لأمهات أصبن بالحصبة الألمانية، خلال الأسابيع الاثني عشر الأولى من الحمل، بمتلازمة الحميراء (الحصبة الألمانية) الخلقية. يمكن أن تتسبب هذه المتلازمة في حدوث مشكلة أو أكثر، تشمل:

  • تأخر النمو
  • حالات إعتام عدسة العين
  • الصَمَم
  • الداء القلبي الخلقي
  • عيوب في الأعضاء الأخرى
  • التأخر العقلي

يحيق أعلى خطر بالجنين في أثناء الثلث الأول من الحمل، لكن يعد التعرّض في وقت لاحق من الحمل خطيرًا أيضًا.

الوقاية

عادةً ما يتم إعطاء لقاح الحصبة الألمانية ممزوجًا بلقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية، والذي يحتوي على أفضل شكل من كل لقاح وأكثرها أمانًا وفاعلية. ويوصي الأطباء بمنح الأطفال لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية خلال عمر ما بين 12 إلى 15 شهرًا، ثم تكراره خلال عمر ما بين 4 إلى 6 سنوات — قبل دخول المدرسة. ويُعد حصول الفتيات على اللقاح ذو أهمية خاصة من أجل منع الإصابة بالحصبة الألمانية خلال حالات الحمل في المستقبل.

عادةً ما يكون الاطفال محميين من الإصابة بالحصبة الالمانية حتى عمر ستة إلى ثمانية أشهر بسبب المناعة التي تنتقل إليهم من أمهاتهم. وإذا احتاج الطفل إلى حماية من الحصبة الألمانية قبل بلوغه سن 12 شهر — على سبيل المثال، من أجل السفر إلى الخارج — فمن الممكن إعطاء اللقاح في وقتٍ مبكر من عمر 6 أشهر. لكن الأطفال الذين يتم تطعيمهم في وقت مبكر لا زالوا بحاجة إلى التطعيم في وقت لاحق عند بلوغ الأعمار الموصى بها.

هل تحتاج إلى لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية؟

أنت لست بحاجة إلى لقاح في الحالات التالية:

  • إذا كنت قد حصلت على لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية بعد بلوغ سن 12 شهرًا
  • إذا كنت قد خضعت لفحوص دم أظهرت مناعتك ضد الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية
  • هو رجل وُلد قبل عام 1957
  • إذا كنتِ امرأة مولودة قبل عام 1957، أو كنتِ قد حصلتِ على لقاح الحصبة الألمانية، أو كان اختبار مناعتك ضد الحصبة الألمانية إيجابيًا

يجب أن تحصل على اللقاح إذا لم تكن مستوفيًا للمعاير المُدرجة أعلاه وإذا كنت:

  • امرأة في عمر الحمل لكنها ليست حاملاً
  • دخول الكلية أو مدرسة التجارة أو مدرسة تعليم فوق متوسط
  • يعمل في مستشفى أو منشأة طبية أو مركز رعاية أطفال أو مدرسة
  • تخطط للسفر عبر المحيطات أو أخذ جولة

لا يوصى باللقاح بالنسبة لـ:

  • نساء حوامل أو نساء يخططن للحمل خلال الأربعة أسابيع القادمة
  • من ظهرت عليهم ردة فعل تحسسية مهددة للحياة تجاه الجيلاتين، أو المضاد الحيوي، أو جرعة سابقة من لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية

إذا كنت مصابًا بسرطان أو اضطراب في الدم أو مرض آخر، أو كنت تأخذ أدوية تؤثر على جهازك المناعي، تحدث إلى طبيبك قبل أن تحصل على لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية.

التأثيرات الجانبية للقاح

معظم الناس لا تظهر عليهم آثار جانبية من اللقاح. وحوالي 15 بالمائة من الناس يعانون من ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة لفترةٍ تتراوح ما بين سبعة إلى 12 يومًا بعد أخذ اللقاح، وحوالي 5 بالمائة يعانون من طفح خفيف. وهناك بعض النساء من المراهقات والبالغات يعانين من ألم أو تيبس مؤقت في المفاصل بعد أخذ اللقاح. وأقل من جرعة واحدة من كل مليون جرعة تتسبب في ردة فعل تحسسية.

مع تزايد أعداد الأطفال الذين تم تشخيصهم بالتوحد خلال السنوات الأخيرة — دون مبرر واضح — تصاعدت حالة القلق بشكلٍ كبير حول احتمالية وجود رابط بين لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية وبين التوحد. إلا أن الأبحاث المكثفة التي أجرتها كلاً من الأكاديمية الأمريكية لطب الأطفال ومعهد الطب ومراكز مكافحة الأمراض والوقاية منها، توصلت إلى عدم وجود دليل جوهري يشير إلى وجود رابط بين لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية وبين التوحد. بالإضافة إلى عدم وجود فائدة تُذكر من الفصل بين اللقاحات.

لاحظت هذه المؤسسات أن اتوحد غالبًا ما يتم اكتشافه عند الأطفال الصغار خلال عمر ما بين 18 إلى 30 شهرًا، وهو العمر الذي يوافق وقت إعطاء الأطفال لقاح الحصبة والنكاف والحصبة الألمانية للمرة الأولى. لكن هذه المصادفة في التوقيت لا ينبغي أن تؤدي إلى اشتباه في وجود علاقة سببية.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Rubella (German measles) vaccination. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd-vac/rubella/default.htm. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  2. Rubella: Make sure your child gets vaccinated. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/Features/Rubella/. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  3. Hall CB. Rubella. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  4. Rubella. The Merck Manual Professional Edition. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous_viral_infections_in_infants_and_children/rubella.html?qt=&sc=&alt=. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  5. Kliegman RM, et al. Rubella. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 19th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  6. Brunette GW. Rubella. In: CDC Health Information for International Travel 2014: The Yellow Book. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2014. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2014/chapter-3-infectious-diseases-related-to-travel/rubella. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  7. Ferri FF. Rubella. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2015: 5 Books in 1. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2015. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  8. Riley LE. Rubella in pregnancy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  9. Brunette GW. Measles (rubeola). In: CDC Health Information for International Travel 2014: The Yellow Book. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2014. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2014/chapter-3-infectious-diseases-related-to-travel/measles-rubeola. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  10. Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine safety studies. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/Vaccines/MMR/MMR.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  11. Possible side effects from vaccines. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vac-gen/side-effects.htm. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  12. Rousch SW, et al. Rubella. In: Manual for the surveillance of vaccine-preventable diseases. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 2008. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/surv-manual/chpt14-rubella.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  13. Rousch SW, et al. Congenital rubella syndrome. In: Manual for the Surveillance of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 2008. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/surv-manual/chpt15-crs.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  14. Rubella (German measles, three-day measles). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/rubella/about/index.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.

Overview

Rubella, also called German measles or three-day measles, is a contagious viral infection best known by its distinctive red rash.

Rubella is not the same as measles (rubeola), though the two illnesses do share some characteristics, including the red rash. However, rubella is caused by a different virus than measles, and is neither as infectious nor usually as severe as measles.

The measles-mumps-rubella (MMR) vaccine, usually given to children in the United States twice before they reach school age, is highly effective in preventing rubella.

Because of widespread use of the vaccine, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has declared rubella eliminated in the United States, but cautions parents to make sure their children are vaccinated to prevent its reemergence.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of rubella are often so mild they're difficult to notice, especially in children. If signs and symptoms do occur, they generally appear between two and three weeks after exposure to the virus. They typically last about two to three days and may include:

  • Mild fever of 102 F (38.9 C) or lower
  • Headache
  • Stuffy or runny nose
  • Inflamed, red eyes
  • Enlarged, tender lymph nodes at the base of the skull, the back of the neck and behind the ears
  • A fine, pink rash that begins on the face and quickly spreads to the trunk and then the arms and legs, before disappearing in the same sequence
  • Aching joints, especially in young women

When to see a doctor

Contact your doctor if you think you or your child may have been exposed to rubella or if you have the signs or symptoms listed above.

If you're contemplating getting pregnant, check your vaccination record to make sure you've received your MMR inoculations. If a pregnant woman contracts rubella, especially during her first trimester, the virus can cause death or serious birth defects in her developing fetus. Rubella during pregnancy is the most common cause of congenital deafness. It's best for women to be protected against rubella before pregnancy.

If you're pregnant, you'll likely undergo a routine screening for immunity to rubella. But if you've never received the vaccine and think you might have been exposed to rubella, contact your doctor immediately. A blood test might confirm that you're already immune.

Causes

The cause of rubella is a virus that's passed from person to person. It can spread when an infected person coughs or sneezes, or it can spread by direct contact with an infected person's respiratory secretions, such as mucus. It can also be transmitted from a pregnant woman to her unborn child via the bloodstream.

A person with rubella is contagious from 10 days before the onset of the rash until about one or two weeks after the rash disappears. An infected person can spread the illness before the person realizes he or she has it.

Rubella is rare in the United States because most children receive a vaccination against the infection at an early age. However, cases of rubella do occur, mostly in unvaccinated foreign-born adults.

The disease is still common in many parts of the world. The prevalence of rubella in other countries is something to consider before going abroad, especially if you're pregnant.

Complications

Rubella is a mild infection. Once you've had the disease, you're usually permanently immune. Some women with rubella experience arthritis in the fingers, wrists and knees, which generally lasts for about one month. In rare cases, rubella can cause an ear infection (otitis media) or inflammation of the brain (encephalitis).

However, if you're pregnant when you contract rubella, the consequences for your unborn child may be severe. Up to 90 percent of infants born to mothers who had rubella during the first 12 weeks of pregnancy develop congenital rubella syndrome. This syndrome can cause one or more problems, including:

  • Growth retardation
  • Cataracts
  • Deafness
  • Congenital heart defects
  • Defects in other organs
  • Mental retardation

The highest risk to the fetus is during the first trimester, but exposure later in pregnancy also is dangerous.

Prevention

The rubella vaccine is usually given as a combined measles-mumps-rubella inoculation, which contains the safest and most effective form of each vaccine. Doctors recommend that children receive the MMR vaccine between 12 and 15 months of age, and again between 4 and 6 years of age — before entering school. It's particularly important that girls receive the vaccine to prevent rubella during future pregnancies.

Usually babies are protected from rubella for six to eight months after birth because of the immunity passed on from their mothers. If a child requires protection from rubella before 12 months of age — for example, for certain foreign travel — the vaccine can be given as early as 6 months of age. But children who are vaccinated early still need to be vaccinated at the recommended ages later.

Do you need the MMR vaccine?

You don't need a vaccine if you:

  • Had two doses of the MMR vaccine after 12 months of age
  • Have blood tests that indicate you're immune to measles, mumps and rubella
  • Are a man who was born before 1957
  • Are a woman who was born before 1957, you already had the rubella vaccine or you have a positive rubella immunity test

You should get a vaccine if you don't fit the criteria listed above and you:

  • Are a nonpregnant woman of childbearing age
  • Attend college, trade school or postsecondary school
  • Work in a hospital, medical facility, child care center or school
  • Plan to travel overseas or take a cruise

The vaccine is not recommended for:

  • Pregnant women or women who plan to get pregnant within the next four weeks
  • People who have had a life-threatening allergic reaction to gelatin, the antibiotic neomycin or a previous dose of MMR vaccine

If you have cancer, a blood disorder or another disease, or take medication that affects your immune system, talk to your doctor before getting an MMR vaccine.

Side effects of the vaccine

Most people experience no side effects from the vaccine. About 15 percent of people develop a fever between seven and 12 days after the vaccination, and about 5 percent of people develop a mild rash. Some teens and adult women experience temporary joint pain or stiffness after receiving the vaccine. Fewer than one out of a million doses causes a serious allergic reaction.

In recent years, as the number of children diagnosed with autism has risen — without a clear explanation — widespread concerns have been raised about a possible link between the MMR vaccine and autism. However, extensive reports from the American Academy of Pediatrics, the Institute of Medicine and the CDC conclude that there is no scientifically proven link between the MMR vaccine and autism. In addition, there is no scientific benefit to separating the vaccines.

These organizations note that autism is often identified in toddlers between the ages of 18 and 30 months, which happens to be about the time children are given their first MMR vaccine. But this coincidence in timing shouldn't be mistaken for a cause-and-effect relationship.

March 20, 2015
References
  1. Rubella (German measles) vaccination. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd-vac/rubella/default.htm. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  2. Rubella: Make sure your child gets vaccinated. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/Features/Rubella/. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  3. Hall CB. Rubella. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  4. Rubella. The Merck Manual Professional Edition. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous_viral_infections_in_infants_and_children/rubella.html?qt=&sc=&alt=. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  5. Kliegman RM, et al. Rubella. In: Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 19th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2011. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  6. Brunette GW. Rubella. In: CDC Health Information for International Travel 2014: The Yellow Book. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2014. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2014/chapter-3-infectious-diseases-related-to-travel/rubella. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  7. Ferri FF. Rubella. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2015: 5 Books in 1. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2015. http://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  8. Riley LE. Rubella in pregnancy. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  9. Brunette GW. Measles (rubeola). In: CDC Health Information for International Travel 2014: The Yellow Book. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press; 2014. http://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2014/chapter-3-infectious-diseases-related-to-travel/measles-rubeola. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  10. Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine safety studies. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/Vaccines/MMR/MMR.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  11. Possible side effects from vaccines. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vac-gen/side-effects.htm. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  12. Rousch SW, et al. Rubella. In: Manual for the surveillance of vaccine-preventable diseases. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 2008. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/surv-manual/chpt14-rubella.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  13. Rousch SW, et al. Congenital rubella syndrome. In: Manual for the Surveillance of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; 2008. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/surv-manual/chpt15-crs.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.
  14. Rubella (German measles, three-day measles). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/rubella/about/index.html. Accessed Feb. 23, 2015.