诊断

医生会按压肩部的不同部位,同时将手臂移动到不同位置。此外,还会测试肩部周围和手臂肌肉的力量。

某些情况下,医生可能会建议进行影像学检查,例如:

  • X 线。尽管 X 线检查不会显示肩袖撕裂,但通过检查可以观察到骨刺或引起疼痛的其他潜在原因,如关节炎。
  • 超声波。这种类型的测试使用声波生成体内结构的图像,特别是肌肉和肌腱等软组织。它能够进行动态测试,根据肩部移动评估肩部结构。它还可以快速比较患肩和健康肩。
  • 磁共振成像(MRI)。这项技术使用无线电波和强磁体。获得的图像可非常详细地显示肩关节的所有结构。图像质量在很大程度上取决于所用设备的质量。

治疗

保守治疗包括休息、冰敷和物理疗法。有时,只采用这些疗法就能从肩袖损伤完全恢复。如果受伤严重,可能需要外科手术。

注射

若保守治疗没有减轻疼痛,医生可能会建议在肩关节处注射类固醇,尤其是当疼痛干扰您的睡眠、日常活动或物理治疗时。虽然这类注射通常在短时间内有效,但应谨慎使用,否则可能削弱肌腱,并可能降低手术成功率。

治疗

物理疗法通常是医生可能建议的首要治疗方案之一。根据肩袖损伤的具体位置进行定制运动,有助于恢复肩关节的灵活性和力量。物理疗法也是肩袖手术后康复疗程的重要组成部分。

外科手术

回旋肌套损伤可以通过很多不同类型的外科手术进行治疗,包括:

  • 关节镜肌腱修复术。在这种手术中,外科医生会将一个微型摄像头(关节内窥镜)和一些工具插到小切口中,以便将撕裂的肌腱重新固定到骨骼上。
  • 开放式肌腱修复术。在很多情况下,开放式肌腱修复可能是更好的治疗方案。在这几种外科手术中,外科医生通过更大的切口将损伤的肌腱重新固定到骨骼上。
  • 腱转移术。如果撕裂的肌腱损伤严重,无法重新固定到臂骨上,外科医生可能会决定使用附近的肌腱来代替。
  • 肩关节置换术。当回旋肌套严重损伤时,可能需要接受肩关节置换术。为了提高人工关节的稳定性,采用一种创新手术(反置式肩关节成形术)将人工关节的球头部分安装到肩胛骨上,并将球窝部分安装到臂骨上。

视频:肌腱转位术修复肩袖

肩袖是固定肩关节的一组肌肉和肌腱,使您能活动手臂和肩膀。如果肩袖的任一部位受到刺激或损伤,就会出现问题。这可能会导致疼痛、无力、关节活动度降低。

有时一条或多条肌腱会脱离骨骼。有些情况下,医生能使用缝合线这种线状材料将肌腱重新连到骨骼上。

但有时肌腱受损过于严重,无法接回。此时,医生可能会考虑“肌腱转位术”。这项手术利用其他部位的肌腱来修复肩袖。

最常用来转位的肌腱是背部的背阔肌肌腱。医生在进行背阔肌肌腱移位术时会划开两个切口:肩后一个,肩前一个。

医生在肩后切断一条背阔肌肌腱,在断口处接上缝线。在肩前三角肌做一个皮瓣(三角肌是包裹肩部的肌肉)。自此处插入工具,抓住背阔肌肌腱断口端。将肌腱自三角肌下拉至新位置。

用缝线把移位肌腱、任何尚存的肩袖肌腱以及骨骼连在一起。医生收紧缝线,从而把肌腱拉向骨骼并牢牢固定。有时会在骨骼中插入锚钉来帮助固定缝线。

然后闭合三角肌皮瓣。最后缝合肩前和肩后的切口。

视频:反置式肩关节置换术

肩袖是肩部的一组肌肉和肌腱,起到稳定肩关节以及维持手臂、肩部活动能力的作用。肩袖问题可能导致无力或疼痛,以及活动受限。它还可能造成肩关节损伤。

肌腱通常可以修复。但如果肌腱重度受损,一项叫做反置式肩关节置换术的手术或许能更好地改善关节功能并缓解疼痛,尤其适合用于关节受到关节炎影响的病例。

这项手术也被称为反置式肩关节成形术 (Reverse Arthroplasty)。“Arthro”源自希腊语,这里是指关节;“plasty”是指通过外科手术塑形。

肱骨头(球)嵌入在肩胛骨的浅窝(窝)内。在典型的肩关节置换术中,医生将塑料膜附于浅窝表面,让关节能够灵活运动。医生切除肱骨顶端并插入一根末端为球状的金属杆。但是,如果肩袖受损严重,关节可能不稳定或不能正常工作。

反置式肩关节置换术是将正常的球-窝结构反置。假体球附着至肩胛骨上。假体窝附着至肱骨顶端。包裹肩部的大三角肌一般能使手臂移动。

手术会使用全身麻醉,让您在手术期间处于睡眠状态。

在上臂顶端和肩膀的结合部切口。分离肌肉,切开组织,以露出关节。

从窝中移除上肱骨。切除肱骨顶端,并准备好接受假体。肩关节窝处也要准备好。用螺丝将一块金属板固定在窝的表面,并接上一个半球假体。将金属杆插入肱骨,并将塑料关节窝假体连接至其顶端。

新窝与新球紧密贴合,让肩关节可灵活运动。缝合关节周围组织,并闭合切口。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

得到正确治疗后,轻症回旋肌肩损伤引起的疼痛通常可自行消失。停止进行会引起疼痛的活动,尽量避免因运动而引发疼痛。在您的肩痛消退之前,避免搬运重物或上举的动作。冰敷肩部可能有助减轻疼痛感。服用非处方止痛药,例如布洛芬(Advil、Motrin IB)或对乙酰氨基酚(Tylenol 等),也可能有所帮助。

准备您的预约

您可能首先需要看家庭医生或运动医学医师。如果损伤严重,可能会将您转诊至整形外科医生。如果您在过去因相似问题接受过治疗,就医时您可能需要携带既往病历和影像研究结果。

您可以做什么

预约前,您可能需要准备以下问题的回答列表:

  • 您第一次出现肩痛是什么时候?
  • 哪些运动和活动会加重肩痛?
  • 您的肩膀之前受过伤吗?
  • 除了肩痛之外,您还有其他症状吗?
  • 疼痛是否会从手臂延伸至肘部以下?
  • 肩痛会伴随颈部疼痛吗?
  • 您的工作或爱好是否会加重肩痛?

医生可能会做什么

医生可能会问一些问题。请做好回答这些问题的准备,这样有利于更好地安排时间,去详细了解您所关注的任何方面。医生可能会问:

  • 疼痛的具体部位在哪里?
  • 您的疼痛有多严重?
  • 哪些动作和活动会加重或缓解您的肩痛?
  • 您的手臂是否感觉无力或麻木?

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Jan. 13, 2022
  1. Giangarra CE, et al. Rotator cuff repair. In: Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation: A Team Approach. 4th ed. Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2020.
  2. Rotator cuff tears. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases--conditions/rotator-cuff-tears. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  3. Ferri FF. Rotator cuff disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2020. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2020.
  4. Simons SM, et al. Presentation and diagnosis of rotator cuff tears. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2020.
  5. Martin SD, et al. Management of rotator cuff tears. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 2, 2020.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Rotator cuff surgery. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  7. Azar FM, et al. Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed March 2, 2020.
  8. Morrow ES Jr. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. Jan. 13, 2020.

Diagnosis

During the physical exam, your doctor will press on different parts of your shoulder and move your arm into different positions. He or she will also test the strength of the muscles around your shoulder and in your arms.

In some cases, he or she may recommend imaging tests, such as:

  • X-rays. Although a rotator cuff tear won't show up on an X-ray, this test can visualize bone spurs or other potential causes for your pain — such as arthritis.
  • Ultrasound. This type of test uses sound waves to produce images of structures within your body, particularly soft tissues such as muscles and tendons. It allows dynamic testing, assessing the structures of your shoulder as they move. It also allows a quick comparison between the affected shoulder and the healthy shoulder.
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). This technology uses radio waves and a strong magnet. The images obtained display all structures of the shoulder in great detail. The quality of the images depends greatly on the quality of the equipment used.

Treatment

Conservative treatments — such as rest, ice and physical therapy — sometimes are all that's needed to recover from a rotator cuff injury. If your injury is severe and involves a complete tear of the muscle or tendon, you might need surgery.

Injections

If conservative treatments haven't reduced your pain, your doctor might recommend a steroid injection into your shoulder joint, especially if the pain is interfering with your sleep, daily activities or exercise. While such shots are often temporarily helpful, they should be used judiciously, as they can contribute to weakening of the tendon.

Therapy

Physical therapy is usually one of the first treatments your doctor may suggest. Exercises tailored to the specific location of your rotator cuff injury can help restore flexibility and strength to your shoulder. Physical therapy is also an important part of the recovery process after rotator cuff surgery.

Surgery

Many different types of surgeries are available for rotator cuff injuries, including:

  • Arthroscopic tendon repair. In this procedure, surgeons insert a tiny camera (arthroscope) and tools through small incisions to reattach the torn tendon to the bone.
  • Open tendon repair. In some situations, an open tendon repair may be a better option. In these types of surgeries, your surgeon works through a larger incision to reattach the damaged tendon to the bone. Compared to arthroscopic procedures, open tendon repairs typically heal in the same length of time but recovery may be more uncomfortable.
  • Tendon transfer. If the torn tendon is too damaged to be reattached to the arm bone, surgeons may decide to use a nearby tendon as a replacement.
  • Shoulder replacement. Massive rotator cuff injuries may require shoulder replacement surgery. To improve the artificial joint's stability, an innovative procedure (reverse shoulder arthroplasty) installs the ball part of the artificial joint onto the shoulder blade and the socket part onto the arm bone.
Transcript

The rotator cuff is a group of muscles and tendons that hold the shoulder joint in place and allow you to move your arm and shoulder. Problems occur when part of the rotator cuff becomes irritated or damaged. This can result in pain, weakness and reduced range of motion.

Sometimes one or more tendons become detached from the bone. In some cases, a surgeon can reattach the tendon to the bone using a thread-like material called a suture.

But sometimes the tendon is too badly damaged to be reattached. In that case, the surgeon may consider a "tendon transfer." This is a procedure in which a tendon from a different location is used to repair the rotator cuff.

The tendon most commonly transferred is the latissimus dorsi tendon in the back. For a latissimus dorsi transfer, the surgeon makes two incisions: one in the back and one in the front of the shoulder.

In the back, the surgeon detaches one end of a latissimus dorsi tendon and attaches a suture to that end. In the front, the surgeon creates a flap in the deltoid muscle, which covers the shoulder. He or she inserts a tool to grasp the end of the latissimus dorsi tendon. The surgeon brings the tendon under the deltoid to its new position.

Sutures are used to connect the transferred tendon to any remaining rotator cuff as well as bone. The surgeon tightens the sutures to pull the tendon against the bone and ties it securely in place. In some cases, anchors are inserted into the bone to help hold the sutures in place.

The surgeon closes the flap in the deltoid muscle. The incisions are then closed in the front and back.

Transcript

The rotator cuff is a group of muscles and tendons that hold the shoulder joint in place and allow you to move your arm and shoulder. Problems with the rotator cuff may cause weakness or pain and restrict movement. It may also cause damage to the shoulder joint.

Often, tendons can be repaired. However, if the tendons are severely damaged, an operation called reverse shoulder replacement may be a better way to improve the joint's function and reduce pain, especially if the joint is affected by arthritis.

This operation is also called reverse arthroplasty. "Arthro" means joint; "plasty" means to mold surgically.

The top of the arm bone fits into a socket on the shoulder blade. In a typical shoulder replacement, a plastic lining is attached to the socket to allow smooth movement. The surgeon removes the top of the arm bone and inserts a metal stem with a ball on the end. However, if the rotator cuff is severely damaged, the joint may not be stable or work properly.

In a reverse shoulder replacement, the normal ball-and-socket structure is reversed. An artificial ball is attached to the shoulder blade. An artificial socket is attached to the top of the arm bone. The large deltoid muscle that covers the shoulder is typically able to move the arm.

General anesthesia will be given so you will sleep through the surgery.

An incision or cut is made in the front of the arm and shoulder. The surgeon separates muscles and cuts through tissue to expose the joint.

The upper arm bone is removed from the socket. The top of the arm bone is cut off and prepared to receive an artificial part. The socket is also prepared. A plate is screwed to the socket and a half-sphere attached. The metal stem is inserted in the arm bone, and a plastic socket is attached to the top.

The new socket is fitted against the new ball to allow smooth movement. The tissue is sewn together around the joint, and the incision is closed.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Lifestyle and home remedies

A minor rotator cuff injury often heals on its own, with proper care. If you think you've injured your rotator cuff, try these steps:

  • Rest your shoulder. Stop doing what caused the pain and try to avoid painful movements. Limit heavy lifting or overhead activity until your shoulder pain subsides.
  • Apply ice and heat. Putting ice on your shoulder helps reduce inflammation and pain. Use a cold pack for 15 to 20 minutes every three or four hours. After a few days, when the pain and inflammation have improved, hot packs or a heating pad may help relax tightened and sore muscles.
  • Take pain relievers. Over-the-counter pain relievers such as ibuprofen (Advil, Motrin IB), naproxen sodium (Aleve) or acetaminophen (Tylenol, others) may be helpful.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll probably start by seeing your family doctor. If your injury is severe, you might be referred to an orthopedic surgeon. If you've been treated for a similar problem in the past, you may need to bring past records and imaging studies with you to your appointment.

What you can do

Before the appointment, you might want to write a list that answers the following questions:

  • When did you first begin experiencing shoulder pain?
  • What movements and activities worsen your shoulder pain?
  • Have you ever injured your shoulder?
  • Have you experienced any symptoms in addition to shoulder pain?
  • Does the pain travel down your arm below your elbow?
  • Is the shoulder pain associated with any neck pain?
  • Does your job or hobby aggravate your shoulder pain?

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to spend more time on. Your doctor may ask:

  • Where exactly is the pain located?
  • How severe is your pain?
  • What movements and activities aggravate or relieve your shoulder pain?
  • Do you have any weakness or numbness in your arm?

Rotator cuff injury care at Mayo Clinic

May 17, 2018
References
  1. Giangarra CE, et al. Rotator cuff repair. In: Clinical Orthopaedic Rehabilitation: A Team Approach. 4th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  2. Rotator cuff tears. American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases--conditions/rotator-cuff-tears. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  3. Ferri FF. Rotator cuff disease. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  4. Simons SM, et al. Presentation and diagnosis of rotator cuff tears. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  5. Martin SD, et al. Management of rotator cuff tears. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Feb. 20, 2018.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Rotator cuff surgery. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  7. Azar FM, et al. Shoulder and elbow injuries. In: Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics. 13th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Feb. 22, 2018.
  8. Hattrup SJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Phoenix/Scottsdale, Ariz. March 8, 2018.
  9. Morrow ES. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Oct. 2, 2017.