妙佑医疗国际的直肠癌治疗方法

您的妙佑医疗国际医护团队

为何选择妙佑医疗国际治疗结直肠癌

Amit Merchea,医学博士,结肠和直肠外科:在妙佑医疗国际进行的结直肠癌护理和研究未来将有许多激动人心的发现。具体包括源于外科手术方法的新化学疗法或免疫疗法。我们将继续利用增强现实技术和人工智能技术来突破机器人手术和数字手术的极限。这确实有助于提升我们为结直肠癌患者提供的护理质量。

David W. Larson,医学博士、工商管理硕士,结肠和直肠外科:对于大多数患者来说,生活质量问题是一个大问题。这是他们最关心的问题之一。我们会花费大量时间为患者讲解相关知识,并努力确定他们的生活质量目标。

Shabana F. Pasha,医学博士,胃肠病学和肝病学:我认为,作为妙佑医疗国际的医生,我们总能为患者答疑解惑,包括判断患者转诊至我们医院后能否获益。我们通常会要求患者提前提供病历。我们会预先安排检查和约诊。因此,如果患者需要做手术、需要与外科医生会面、与遗传学专家会面,所有相关检查都会预先安排妥当,患者可以直接进入医院。如果患者来自其他州,可以直接飞来胃肠科就诊,完成所有必要的检查,然后回家。

Tanios Bekaii-Saab,医学博士、美国医师学会会员,肿瘤内科:我认为妙佑医疗国际拥有一个专注于研究的中心,进行的研究适用于患者护理。这就是妙佑医疗国际最擅长之处,这无疑是一个优势、一个积极因素,可确保患者获得这世界上独一无二的最创新、最新和最棒的治疗。

Amit Merchea,医学博士:我认为结直肠癌患者都应来到妙佑医疗国际寻求治疗,因为我们实实在在地具备治疗这种疾病的专业实力。我们的癌症中心规模颇大。我们在结直肠癌方面的成果在全美树立了标杆。我们的患者能够得到优质、安全、有效的护理。我认为对于任何寻求结直肠癌手术治疗的患者来说,不仅仅要看外科医生的个人实力,还应该注重团队的能力。

Tanios Bekaii-Saab,医学博士:我们能提供综合全面的护理。当患者来到我们医院筛查疾病时,如果我们发现有息肉或癌症,将立即安排患者与胃肠病学家、外科医生或遗传学专家会面,如果需要,还会安排与医学肿瘤学家会面,然后与团队人员会面。这是我们独一无二的优势。这就是为什么我认为妙佑医疗国际的综合护理毫无疑问是一流水平。

在妙佑医疗国际,肿瘤内科、结肠和直肠外科以及放射肿瘤学的专家们合作创建一个全人护理计划,从整体上为您治疗。这些专家与其他专科医生(包括药剂师、护士、教育工作者和营养学家)密切合作,在环境支持下提供高质量的护理。

医生会讨论您所有的治疗方案,并指导您选择最适合您的需求和目标的方法。您的医疗团队掌握丰富的知识和资源,可为您提供所需的精准护理。

先进的诊断和治疗

创新性直肠癌治疗方法

单击此处信息图以了解更多信息

妙佑医疗国际结肠和直肠外科医生具有数十年来累积的大量实践经验。妙佑医疗国际数十年来一直是晚期直肠癌多学科治疗的全球领导者。

妙佑医疗国际的结直肠外科医生擅长切除影响腹部和骨盆多个器官和结构的复杂肿瘤。妙佑医疗国际的结直肠手术团队尤其擅长通过有关医疗程序避免结肠造口术,并保护周围区域维持正常肠道、膀胱和性功能所必需的神经。

妙佑医疗国际能提供一系列的技术先进的晚期直肠癌治疗。例如:

  • 术中放射治疗 (IORT)。妙佑医疗国际的放射肿瘤医生在过去几十年引进并优化了术中放射治疗。在手术团队切除原发肿瘤后,放射肿瘤医生在直肠癌手术期间实施术中放射治疗。治疗包括在腹部缝合前单一的高剂量放射线直接聚焦于原始肿瘤位置。辐射束的紧密聚焦以及辐射屏的小心放置可保护附近器官免受辐射损伤。

    该治疗的主要作用是,当外科医生无法切除肿瘤周围最适量的健康组织时,该治疗可降低癌症复发的可能性。术中放射治疗可治疗晚期直肠癌和一些直肠癌复发病例。

  • 微创手术治疗。微创(腹腔镜手术)直肠癌手术期间,会在您的腹部划开几个小切口而不是一个大切口。经小切口插入特殊工具和摄像头后抵达并切除癌病灶。

    妙佑医疗国际的结直肠癌外科医生是使用微创手术治疗直肠癌和结肠癌的最早实施者之一。

  • 机器人手术。机器人手术期间,外科医生坐在控制台前利用操控器指导高科技手术工具。机器人手术允许外科医生在小空间内更有效地工作,并为外科医生提供正在进行手术区域的增强视图

    妙佑医疗国际的外科医生在机器人手术方面技术精湛且经验丰富。在妙佑医疗国际,机器人的使用为结直肠癌患者产生了极好的结果。

  • 多脏器切除术和术中放射治疗。在妙佑医疗国际,多名外科医生和放射肿瘤医生组成手术室团队,具有一次手术切除多个不同类型的肿瘤的综合能力。通过结合复杂的手术和术中放射治疗,即使是最具侵袭性的癌症,有时也有可能治愈。
  • 质子束治疗。质子束治疗是最新可用的放射疗法之一,利用高度靶向性的精准射束治疗关键器官和身体结构附近的癌症。妙佑医疗国际质子束治疗项目的特点是使用笔形束扫描的质子调强治疗,放射肿瘤科医生可以在保留健康组织的同时摧毁癌症。

专长与排名

妙佑医疗国际的医生因其治疗直肠癌患者的专业技能和丰富经验广受尊敬。在妙佑医疗国际就医,您可以得到:

  • 个性化治疗。肿瘤内科专家与结直肠外科和放射肿瘤科的专科医生紧密合作,确保在创建您的定制治疗方案时考虑您的所有需求。还会根据需要包括其他专家。
  • 值得信赖的经验。妙佑医疗国际的医生每年治疗 2700 多名肛门癌、肛管癌和直肠癌患者。
  • 全美公认的专业实力。妙佑医疗国际综合癌症中心符合美国国家癌症研究所综合癌症中心的严格标准,在癌症预防、诊断和治疗方面的科学成就和多学科方式均获得认可。

妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区和亚利桑那州斯科茨代尔院区均被《美国新闻与世界报道》列为全美最佳癌症治疗医院。妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区被《美国新闻与世界报道》评为在癌症领域表现出色的医院。

位置、旅行和住宿

Mayo Clinic 在亚利桑那州的凤凰城和斯克茨戴尔、佛罗里达州的杰克逊威尔,以及明尼苏达州的罗切斯特都有主要院区。Mayo Clinic 健康系统在几个州拥有十几个工作地点。

有关参观 Mayo Clinic 的更多信息,请在下面选择您的位置:

费用与保险

Mayo Clinic与数百家保险公司合作,为数百万人提供网络内服务。

在大多数情况下,Mayo Clinic 不需要医师转诊。某些保险要求转诊,或有其它特定医疗方面的要求。所有优先预约都基于医疗需求。

了解更多关于在 Mayo Clinic 预约

请联系您的保险公司,核实医保范围,并在就医之前获得任何所需的许可。您保险公司的客户服务号码通常印在您的保险卡背面。

May 18, 2022

Living with 直肠癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Colorectal Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Colorectal Cancer Discussions

maya8238
Stage 3 colon cancer: What's your experience?

17 Replies Wed, Feb 08, 2023

kerryos
Anal/rectal & bowel spasms/cramps in anal cancer

6 Replies Tue, Feb 07, 2023

See more discussions

Mayo Clinic's approach to rectal cancer care

Your Mayo Clinic care team

Why choose Mayo Clinic for colorectal cancer

Amit Merchea, M.D., Colon and Rectal Surgery: There's a number of exciting things in the future for colorectal cancer care and research occurring at Mayo Clinic. These encompass new chemotherapeutics or immune therapies from surgical approaches. We're continuing to push the limits with robotic surgery and digital surgery using augmented reality and artificial intelligence. And this really helps enhance the care that we can deliver for patients with colorectal cancer.

David W. Larson, M.D., M.B.A., Colon and Rectal Surgery: Quality of life issues are a big issue for most patients. It is one of their number one questions. And we spend a lot of time educating the patient and trying to determine what their goals of quality of life are.

Shabana F. Pasha, M.D., Gastroenterology & Hepatology: So I think as Mayo Clinic physicians we are always available to answer questions, including making the decision whether or not a patient would benefit from a referral to Mayo Clinic. We usually request records for patients ahead of time. We preschedule tests and appointments, so if a patient needs a procedure, if they need to meet with the surgeon, again, if they need to meet with a genetic specialist, so all those tests are prescheduled wherein a patient can come in. If they are from out-of-state, they can fly in for a gastroenterology appointment, get all the necessary tests done and then return home.

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, M.D., F.A.C.P., Medical Oncology: I think that having a center that's focused on research, but research that's applied to patient care. And that's what Mayo does best, is a certainly a plus, a positive that ensures that patients have access to the most innovative and the latest and the greatest that can't be found anywhere on the planet.

Amit Merchea, M.D.: So I think patients to seek care at Mayo Clinic with colorectal cancer because we really offer the expertise in treating this. We are a high volume Cancer Center. Our outcomes with colorectal cancer set benchmarks across the country. And patients have high-quality, safe and effective care. I think for any patient who's seeking surgical treatment for colorectal cancer, it's important that they look at not just the surgeon as an individual but the team.

Tanios Bekaii-Saab, M.D.: And because of our integrated care, so a patient comes through the door for screening, if we find a polyp, or we find a cancer, that patient is meeting with the gastroenterologist and in no time with a surgeon, or the geneticists, with the medical oncologists if needed, and then anyone as part of the team. And that is quite unique. And that is why I think the care overall, the integrated level of care, at Mayo Clinic is certainly superior care.

At Mayo Clinic, specialists in medical oncology, colon and rectal surgery, and radiation oncology collaborate to create a comprehensive care plan that considers you as a whole person. These experts work closely with other specialists, including pharmacists, nurses, educators and dietitians, to deliver high-quality care in a supportive environment.

Your doctors will discuss all of your treatment options and guide you in choosing the approach that best suits your needs and goals. Your care team is prepared with the knowledge and resources to provide you with exactly the care you need.

Advanced diagnosis and treatment

Innovative Rectal Cancer Treatments

Click here for an infographic to learn more

The colon and rectal surgeons at Mayo Clinic draw on decades of cumulative experience in a high-volume practice. For decades, Mayo Clinic has been a global leader in the multidisciplinary treatment of advanced rectal cancer.

Mayo Clinic colorectal surgeons specialize in removal (resection) of complex tumors affecting multiple organs and structures in the abdomen and pelvis. The colorectal surgery practice at Mayo Clinic has particular expertise in procedures that help avoid the need for a colostomy and that preserve the nearby nerves that are essential for normal bowel, bladder and sexual function.

A full range of technologically advanced rectal cancer treatments is available at Mayo Clinic. Examples include:

  • Intraoperative radiation therapy (IORT). Mayo Clinic radiation oncologists introduced and refined IORT over the last few decades. A radiation oncologist administers IORT during rectal cancer surgery, after the surgical team has resected the primary tumor. The treatment consists of a single, high dose of radiation focused directly on the original tumor site before the abdomen is closed. The tight focus of the radiation beam, along with careful placement of radiation shields, protects nearby organs from radiation damage.

    The main role of the treatment is to reduce the chance of cancer recurrence when the surgeon is unable to remove the optimal amount of healthy tissue around the tumor. IORT is used to treat advanced rectal cancer, as well as some cases of recurrent rectal cancer.

  • Minimally invasive surgery. During minimally invasive (laparoscopic) rectal cancer surgery, several small incisions are made in your abdomen, rather than one large incision. Special tools and a camera are inserted through the small incisions to access and remove the cancer.

    Colorectal surgeons at Mayo Clinic were among the earliest adopters of minimally invasive surgery procedures for cancers of the rectum and colon.

  • Robotic surgery. During robotic surgery, the surgeon sits at a console and uses controls to guide high-tech surgical tools. Robotic surgery allows the surgeon to work more efficiently in small spaces and gives the surgeon an enhanced view of the area where the operation is taking place.

    Mayo Clinic surgeons are highly skilled and experienced in performing robotic surgery. At Mayo Clinic, the use of robotics has produced excellent outcomes for people with colorectal cancer.

  • Multivisceral resection and intraoperative radiation therapy. At Mayo Clinic, multiple surgeons and radiation oncologists can work as an operating-room team with the combined capability to remove multiple tumors of different types at once. By combining complex surgery and intraoperative radiation therapy, a cure is sometimes possible for even the most aggressive cancers.
  • Proton beam therapy. One of the newest radiation therapies available, proton beam therapy uses a highly targeted precision beam to treat cancers located close to critical organs and body structures. Mayo Clinic's Proton Beam Therapy Program features intensity-modulated proton beam therapy with pencil beam scanning, which allows radiation oncologists to destroy cancer while sparing healthy tissue.

Expertise and rankings

Mayo Clinic doctors are widely respected for their expertise and experience in caring for people with rectal cancer. When you seek care at Mayo Clinic, you can expect:

  • Personalized care. Experts in medical oncology work closely with specialists in colon and rectal surgery and radiation oncology to be sure all of your needs are considered when creating your customized treatment plan. Other experts are included as needed.
  • Experience you can trust. Each year, Mayo Clinic doctors care for more than 2,700 people with cancers of the anus, anal canal and rectum.
  • Nationally recognized expertise. Mayo Clinic Cancer Center meets the strict standards for a National Cancer Institute comprehensive cancer center, which recognize scientific excellence and a multispecialty approach focused on cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Ariz., and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla., are ranked among the Best Hospitals for cancer by U.S. News & World Report.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

More information about billing and insurance:

Mayo Clinic in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Health System

June 11, 2021