诊断

如果您在怀孕 20 周后出现高血压并至少有以下一项状况,则会被诊断为子痫前期:

  • 尿中含有蛋白(蛋白尿),表示肾功能受损
  • 肾脏问题的其他体征
  • 血小板计数低
  • 肝酶升高,表示肝功能受损
  • 肺部积液(肺水肿)
  • 止痛药对其无效的新发头痛
  • 新发视力障碍

高血压

血压测量值包含两个数值。第一个数值为收缩压,即心脏收缩时的血压。第二个数值为舒张压,即心脏舒张时的血压。

在孕期,收缩压达到或超过 140 毫米汞柱(mm Hg),或舒张压达到或超过 90 毫米汞柱(mm Hg)时,诊断为高血压。

很多因素都可能影响血压。如果您在一次就诊期间检测到血压偏高,医务人员可能会在 4 小时后安排第二次测压,以确诊高血压。

其他检查

如果您患有高血压,医务人员会安排其他检查以排查子痫前期的其他体征,其中包括:

  • 血液检测。血液样本经实验室分析后可以显示出肝脏和肾脏的工作情况。血液检测还能测量血小板(帮助凝血的细胞)的数量。
  • 尿液分析。医务人员会让您提供 24 小时尿液样本或单份尿液样本,以评估肾脏功能。
  • 胎儿超声。您的初级保健医生也可能会建议密切监测胎儿的生长情况,通常是通过超声波检查进行。超声波检查会显示胎儿图像,医生以此可以估计胎儿的体重和子宫内的液体(羊水)量。
  • 无应激试验或生物物理相。无应激试验是一种简单的程序,可以检查胎儿移动时的心率反应。生物物理相使用超声波来测量胎儿的呼吸、肌肉张力和运动,并测量子宫内羊水的体积。

更多信息

治疗

子痫前期的主要治疗方法是分娩或控制病情直至分娩的最佳时间。医务人员的治疗决定将取决于子痫前期的严重程度、胎儿的胎龄以及您和胎儿的总体健康状况。

如果子痫前期不严重,您可能要经常到医务人员处就诊,以监测您的血压、体征或症状的任何变化以及胎儿的健康状况。可能会要求您每天在家检查血压。

严重子痫前期的治疗

严重子痫前期需要住院,以监测血压情况和可能的并发症。医务人员会频繁监测您宝宝的生长及健康状况。

治疗严重子痫前期的药物通常包括:

  • 用于降低血压的降压药
  • 抗惊厥药(例如硫酸镁),用于预防癫痫发作
  • 皮质类固醇,用于分娩前促进胎儿的肺部发育

分娩

如果您患有不太严重的子痫前期,医务人员可能会建议在满 37 周后提早生产。如果您患有严重的子痫前期,则根据并发症的严重程度以及胎儿的健康状况和就绪情况,医务人员可能会建议在满 37 周前后进行分娩。

分娩方式(阴道分娩或剖腹产)取决于疾病的严重程度、胎儿的胎龄以及您可能和医务人员商量的其他因素。

分娩后

分娩后,需要密切监测您是否有高血压或其他子痫前期体征。在您回家之前,医生将会告知您如果出现产后子痫前期体征,例如重度头痛、视力变化、严重腹痛、恶心和呕吐,何时应该就医。

更多信息

妥善处理与支持

发现自己患有严重的妊娠并发症可能令您感到害怕。

如果在怀孕末期被诊断为子痫前期,您可能对被告知需要立即引产感到惊讶。如果您在怀孕早期被诊断患有该病,可能会担心在家监测相关体征和症状,会增加和初级保健医生约诊的频率。

了解您的病情可能有所帮助。除咨询医务人员以外,您还可以进行一些调查。确保了解应何时联系医务人员,以及如何监测相关体征和症状。

准备您的预约

子痫前期通常在定期产前检查中被诊断出来。如果初级保健医生建议对子痫前期诊断进行某些检查,您可能还会讨论以下一些问题:

  • 您在既往妊娠中是否出现过子痫前期或其他并发症?
  • 如果您有子痫前期的症状,是什么时候开始的?
  • 是否有任何因素会改善或加重症状?
  • 您最近使用的药物、维生素或膳食补充剂是否发生了任何变化?

在子痫前期诊断后和复诊时,您可能询问以下问题:

  • 如何确保我在家中正确读取血压?
  • 我应该多久在家里检查一次血压?
  • 我应该把哪些血压读数视为偏高?
  • 我应该什么时候给专科门诊打电话?
  • 我应该什么时候接受急救护理?
  • 我们如何监测婴儿的健康状况?
  • 我应该什么时候安排下一次约诊?
  • 我们将如何决定合适的分娩时间?
  • 延迟分娩的好处和风险是什么?
  • 早产后,宝宝可能需要什么护理?
Dec. 28, 2022
  1. Ferri FF. Preeclampsia. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  2. Landon MB, et al., eds. Preeclampsia and hypertensive disorders. In: Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  3. Gestational hypertension and preeclampsia: ACOG Practice Bulletin, Number 222. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2020; doi:10.1097/AOG.0000000000003891.
  4. August P. Preeclampsia: Clinical features and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  5. Karumanchi SA, et al. Preeclampsia: Pathogenesis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2022.
  6. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, et al. Aspirin use to prevent preeclampsia and related morbidity and mortality: US Preventive Services Task Force recommendation statement. JAMA. 2021; doi:10.1001/jama.2021.14781.
  7. Johnson JD, et al. Does race or ethnicity play a role in the origin, pathophysiology, and outcomes of preeclampsia? An expert review of the literature. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. 2020; doi:10.1016/j.ajog.2020.07.038.
  8. Preeclampsia and high blood pressure during pregnancy. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/preeclampsia-and-high-blood-pressure-during-pregnancy. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  9. Preterm birth. U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/maternalinfanthealth/pretermbirth.htm. Accessed Jan. 5, 2022.
  10. Special tests for monitoring fetal well-being. American College of Ostetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/special-tests-for-monitoring-fetal-well-being. Accessed Jan. 5, 2022.
  11. Norwitz ER. Preeclampsia: Management and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  12. Low-dose aspirin use for the prevention of preeclampsia and related morbidity and mortality: Practice advisory, Dec. 2021. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/practice-advisory/articles/2021/12/low-dose-aspirin-use-for-the-prevention-of-preeclampsia-and-related-morbidity-and-mortality. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.

Diagnosis

A diagnosis of preeclampsia happens if you have high blood pressure after 20 weeks of pregnancy and at least one of the following findings:

  • Protein in your urine (proteinuria), indicating an impaired kidney
  • Other signs of kidney problems
  • A low blood platelet count
  • Elevated liver enzymes showing an impaired liver
  • Fluid in the lungs (pulmonary edema)
  • New headaches that don't go away after taking pain medication
  • New vision disturbances

High blood pressure

A blood pressure reading has two numbers. The first number is the systolic pressure, a measure of blood pressure when the heart is contracting. The second number is the diastolic pressure, a measure of blood pressure when the heart is relaxed.

In pregnancy, high blood pressure is diagnosed if the systolic pressure is 140 millimeters of mercury (mm Hg) or higher or if the diastolic pressure is 90 mm Hg or higher.

A number of factors can affect your blood pressure. If you have a high blood pressure reading during an appointment, your health care provider will likely take a second reading four hours later to confirm a diagnosis of high blood pressure.

Additional tests

If you have high blood pressure, your health care provider will order additional tests to check for other signs of preeclampsia:

  • Blood tests. A blood sample analyzed in a lab can show how well the liver and kidneys are working. Blood tests can also measure the amount of blood platelets, the cells that help blood clot.
  • Urine analysis. Your health care provider will ask you for a 24-hour urine sample or a single urine sample to determine how well the kidneys are working.
  • Fetal ultrasound. Your primary care provider will likely recommend close monitoring of your baby's growth, typically through ultrasound. The images of your baby created during the ultrasound exam allow for estimates of the baby's weight and the amount of fluid in the uterus (amniotic fluid).
  • Nonstress test or biophysical profile. A nonstress test is a simple procedure that checks how your baby's heart rate reacts when your baby moves. A biophysical profile uses an ultrasound to measure your baby's breathing, muscle tone, movement and the volume of amniotic fluid in your uterus.

Treatment

The primary treatment for preeclampsia is either to deliver the baby or manage the condition until the best time to deliver the baby. This decision with your health care provider will depend on the severity of preeclampsia, the gestational age of your baby, and the overall health of you and your baby.

If preeclampsia isn't severe, you may have frequent provider visits to monitor your blood pressure, any changes in signs or symptoms, and the health of your baby. You'll likely be asked to check your blood pressure daily at home.

Treatment of severe preeclampsia

Severe preeclampsia requires that you be in the hospital to monitor your blood pressure and possible complications. Your health care provider will frequently monitor the growth and well-being of your baby.

Medications to treat severe preeclampsia usually include:

  • Antihypertensive drugs to lower blood pressure
  • Anticonvulsant medication, such as magnesium sulfate, to prevent seizures
  • Corticosteroids to promote development of your baby's lungs before delivery

Delivery

If you have preeclampsia that isn't severe, your health care provider may recommend preterm delivery after 37 weeks. If you have severe preeclampsia, your health care provider will likely recommend delivery before 37 weeks, depending on the severity of complications and the health and readiness of the baby.

The method of delivery — vaginal or cesarean — depends on the severity of disease, gestational age of the baby and other considerations you would discuss with your health care provider.

After delivery

You need to be closely monitored for high blood pressure and other signs of preeclampsia after delivery. Before you go home, you'll be instructed when to seek medical care if you have signs of postpartum preeclampsia, such as severe headaches, vision changes, severe belly pain, nausea and vomiting.

More Information

From Mayo Clinic to your inbox

Sign up for free, and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips and current health topics, like COVID-19, plus expertise on managing health.

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

Coping and support

Discovering that you have a potentially serious pregnancy complication can be frightening.

If you're diagnosed with preeclampsia late in your pregnancy, you may be surprised to learn that immediate delivery may be recommended. If you're diagnosed earlier in your pregnancy, you may be concerned about monitoring signs and symptoms at home and keeping more frequent appointments with your primary care provider.

It may help to learn more about your condition. In addition to talking to your provider, do some research. Make sure you understand when to call your provider and how to monitor signs and symptoms.

Preparing for your appointment

Preeclampsia is often diagnosed during a regularly scheduled prenatal appointment. If your primary care provider recommends certain tests for a preeclampsia diagnosis, you may also be discussing some of the following questions:

  • Did you have preeclampsia or other complications in a previous pregnancy?
  • If you're having symptoms of preeclampsia, when did they begin?
  • Has anything improved the symptoms or made them worse?
  • Have you made any recent changes to your medications, vitamins or dietary supplements?

After a diagnosis of preeclampsia and at follow-up appointments, you might ask the following questions:

  • How can I make sure I'm doing blood pressure readings correctly at home?
  • How often should I check my blood pressure at home?
  • What blood pressure reading should I consider high?
  • When should I call the clinic?
  • When should I get emergency care?
  • How will we monitor my baby's health?
  • When should I schedule my next appointment?
  • How will we decide on the right time for delivery?
  • What are the benefits and risks of delaying delivery?
  • What care might my baby need after a preterm delivery?
April 15, 2022
  1. Ferri FF. Preeclampsia. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  2. Landon MB, et al., eds. Preeclampsia and hypertensive disorders. In: Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  3. Gestational hypertension and preeclampsia: ACOG Practice Bulletin, Number 222. Obstetrics & Gynecology. 2020; doi:10.1097/AOG.0000000000003891.
  4. August P. Preeclampsia: Clinical features and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  5. Karumanchi SA, et al. Preeclampsia: Pathogenesis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2022.
  6. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, et al. Aspirin use to prevent preeclampsia and related morbidity and mortality: US Preventive Services Task Force recommendation statement. JAMA. 2021; doi:10.1001/jama.2021.14781.
  7. Johnson JD, et al. Does race or ethnicity play a role in the origin, pathophysiology, and outcomes of preeclampsia? An expert review of the literature. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. 2020; doi:10.1016/j.ajog.2020.07.038.
  8. Preeclampsia and high blood pressure during pregnancy. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/preeclampsia-and-high-blood-pressure-during-pregnancy. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  9. Preterm birth. U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/maternalinfanthealth/pretermbirth.htm. Accessed Jan. 5, 2022.
  10. Special tests for monitoring fetal well-being. American College of Ostetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/special-tests-for-monitoring-fetal-well-being. Accessed Jan. 5, 2022.
  11. Norwitz ER. Preeclampsia: Management and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.
  12. Low-dose aspirin use for the prevention of preeclampsia and related morbidity and mortality: Practice advisory, Dec. 2021. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/practice-advisory/articles/2021/12/low-dose-aspirin-use-for-the-prevention-of-preeclampsia-and-related-morbidity-and-mortality. Accessed Jan. 3, 2022.

Related

Associated Procedures

News from Mayo Clinic