多发性硬化(MS)的个体化治疗

了解有关多发性硬化(MS)的可用和新兴疗法。

来自妙佑医疗国际员工

多发性硬化症(MS)是一种慢性炎症性中枢神经系统疾病,这种疾病通常导致残疾性身体症状,包括活动、视力、协调性和认知功能问题,以及疲劳和疼痛。

如果您已诊断出复发缓解型 MS,医生会建议立即用药治疗,谓之疾病调修疗法(DMT)。DMT 已被证明可在一定程度上减少 MS 复发的次数并延迟残疾发展。

这些药物因服用方式和频率、孕期能否服用以及可能引起的副作用而不同。它们还因药效而不同,个人药效可能随时间变化。另外,DMT 不能治愈该疾病,您可能仍需要治疗 MS 症状。

理解 DMT 有助于您和医生针对复发缓解型 MS 制定最佳治疗策略。

注射疗法

干扰素 β 药物。这些药物是第一批获批准用于复发性多发性硬化症疾病调正疗法 (DMT),并且仍用作一线治疗。其中包括:

  • Avonex(干扰素 β-1a)
  • Betaseron(干扰素 β-1b)
  • Extavia(干扰素 β-1b)
  • Rebif(干扰素 β-1a)
  • Plegridy(聚乙二醇干扰素 β-1a)

干扰素 β 药物可通过皮下或肌肉自行注射。注射频率从每两天一次到每两周一次不等。

这些药物显示具有中等到强烈的有效性,可降低复发性多发性硬化症的复发率,并减慢新出现的多发性硬化症相关脑部病变的发展。

一般认为这些药物是安全的,并且只需要最低程度的监测。类似于流行性感冒的症状和注射部位反应(例如泛红和不适)是干扰素 β 药物的常见副作用。

醋酸格拉替雷(Copaxone、Glatopa)。这类药物也被认为是复发性多发性硬化症的初始治疗方案。该药物通过名为 T 细胞的免疫系统细胞发挥作用。它可能还具有保护神经的作用。

醋酸格拉替雷可经皮下自行注射,频率为每周三次或每天一次。其耐受性一般良好,但注射部位出现反应(例如泛红和不适)很常见。

输液治疗

奥美珠单抗(Ocrevus)。奥美珠单抗是美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)批准的首款用于治疗复发性多发性硬化症和原发性进展性多发性硬化症的药物。经证明,该药物不仅可以减少疾病复发,还会延缓疾病的发展。

奥美珠单抗最初以静脉输液的方式给药,两周两次。之后,每六个月通过输液给药一次。一些输液反应,如头痛、皮疹、恶心和发热非常普遍。医生可能会建议在输液前给您服用皮质激素和抗组胺,以帮助预防出现输液反应。

乙型肝炎患者不宜接受奥瑞珠单抗。

那他珠单抗(Tysabri)是一种人源化单克隆抗体,可减少免疫细胞穿过血脑屏障进入中枢神经系统的迁移。这种药物每 4 周静脉注射一次。

那他珠单抗对复发性多发性硬化症有效,可将复发率降低约三分之二。然而,它与进行性多灶性白质脑病(PML)这种风险虽小、但很重要的严重脑部感染疾病有关。

服用那他珠单抗的患者必须密切监测进行性多灶性白质脑病的症状,其中包括进行性无力和可能不可逆的视觉或认知变化。

可使用以下因素评估患者当前的进行性多灶性白质脑病风险:

  • 血液检测中出现约翰·坎宁安(John Cunningham)病毒的抗体
  • 之前接受过米托蒽醌等免疫抑制药物的治疗
  • 服用那他珠单抗超过两年

阿仑单抗(Lemtrada)。该药物通过靶向攻击免疫细胞表面的蛋白质和消耗白细胞来帮助减少多发性硬化症复发。其作用可以限制白细胞引起的潜在神经损伤,但也会增加感染和发生自身免疫障碍的风险。

使用阿仑单抗的治疗需要连续输液 5 天,一年后再输液 3 天。使用阿仑单抗治疗时常见一些输液反应,如头痛、皮疹、恶心和发热。

鉴于与阿仑单抗相关的风险,美国食品药品监督管理局建议在用药之前对患者进行广泛的筛查。该药物只能从注册的医疗机构获得,接受阿仑单抗治疗的患者必须在一个特定药物安全性监测项目中注册。

口服疗法

这些口服的疾病调修疗法(DMT)药物被批准用于治疗多发性硬化(MS)

芬戈莫德(Gilenya)。这种每天一次的口服药物降低了多发性硬化的复发率。芬戈莫德是一种独特的药物,可以与多种不同类型的人体细胞结合。它会在淋巴结中捕获白细胞,这样它们就不会进入大脑并引起新的多发性硬化病变。

患有心脏病或相关疾病的人不能使用芬戈莫德。它可以暂时减慢心率,因此必须在医学监督下服用首剂。由于存在黄斑区(视网膜中心区域)中积聚液体的风险,因此还需要监视视力。为此,糖尿病患者通常不应使用芬戈莫德。

特立氟胺(Aubagio)。特立氟胺已有两个剂量得到批准,分别为 7 毫克(mg)和 14 毫克,每天一次。两种剂量通常均有良好的耐受性。可能的副作用包括头痛、腹泻、恶心、肝酶升高和头发稀疏。

孕妇和患有肝脏病症的人不应该使用特立氟胺。

富马酸二甲酯(Tecfidera)。富马酸二甲酯也被称为 BG-12,每天服用两次。常见的副作用包括潮红和胃肠道问题,例如腹泻和恶心。它的包衣旨在减少胃肠道问题,与食物一起服用也可以帮助缓解这些问题。

富马酸地罗西美(Vumerity)。该每日两次的胶囊与富马酸二甲酯相似,但通常引起的副作用更少。该药获批准治疗复发型多发性硬化

克拉屈滨(Mavenclad)。该药物已显示可有效降低多发性硬化复发和新的脑部病变。该药已获批准治疗继发性进展型多发性硬化。可能出现的副作用包括感染风险增加。

西尼莫德(Mayzent)。这种每日一次的口服药物,可以降低复发率并有助于减缓多发性硬化的恶化进程。该药已获批准治疗继发性进展型多发性硬化

可能的副作用包括病毒感染、肝脏问题和低白细胞计数。其他可能的副作用包括心率变化、头痛和视力障碍。

疾病修正治疗策略

没有任何方法知道对您最有效的治疗方案以及您的疾病将如何发展。建议应基于多个因素,包括:

  • 最近的多发性硬化情况,包括最近的发作次数、严重程度和恢复情况
  • 您出现过多少次神经损伤
  • 基于核磁共振成像的大脑和脊髓损伤的严重程度
  • 药品供应和成本
  • 可能会与多发性硬化治疗产生相互作用的其他疾病或您正在服用的药物
  • 多发性硬化药物带来的不良副作用
  • 监测要求
  • 您对治疗类型的偏好(例如口服或注射)
  • 想要怀一个孩子

您和医生的共同决策是制定多发性硬化治疗方案的最佳方法。一旦开始疾病调修治疗(DMT),继续遵照处方服药非常重要。一定要向医生报告新的症状,医生会监测您的反应,必要时可能会换药。

每个人的情况都是独一无二的,最好的治疗方法是根据您的需求定制治疗方案。

July 02, 2022 了解更多深度信息

Personalized therapy for multiple sclerosis (MS)

Find out about available and emerging therapies for multiple sclerosis (MS).

By Mayo Clinic Staff

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a chronic inflammatory central nervous system disease that causes often disabling physical symptoms, including problems with mobility, vision, coordination and cognitive function, as well as fatigue and pain.

If you've been diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS, your doctor is likely to recommend immediate treatment with medications known as disease-modifying therapy (DMT). DMTs have been shown to reduce the number of MS relapses and delay progression of disability to some degree.

These drugs differ in how they're taken and how often, whether they can be taken during pregnancy, and what side effects they can cause. They also differ in how people respond to them, and a person's response to a drug can change over time. Also, DMTs aren't a cure, and you might still need treatment for symptoms of MS.

An understanding of DMTs can help you and your doctor form the best treatment strategy for your relapsing-remitting MS.

Injectable therapies

Interferon beta drugs. These medications are among the first DMTs approved for relapsing MS and are still used as first line therapy. They include:

  • Avonex (interferon beta-1a)
  • Betaseron (interferon beta-1b)
  • Extavia (interferon beta-1b)
  • Rebif (interferon beta-1a)
  • Plegridy (peginterferon beta-1a)

The interferon beta medications are given by self-injection, either under the skin or in a muscle. The frequency of injections varies from once every two days to once every two weeks.

These drugs have moderate to strong evidence of effectiveness, reducing the relapse rate and slowing the development of new MS-related brain lesions for relapsing MS.

These drugs are considered generally safe and require minimal monitoring. Flu-like symptoms and injection site reactions, such as redness and discomfort, are commonly reported side effects of interferon beta drugs.

Glatiramer acetate (Copaxone, Glatopa). This also is considered an initial therapy option for relapsing MS. This drug is thought to act through immune system cells known as T cells. It might also have nerve-protecting effects.

Glatiramer acetate is given by self-injection under the skin, either three times weekly or every day. It's generally well tolerated, but injection site reactions, such as redness and discomfort, are common.

Infusion therapies

Ocrelizumab (Ocrevus). This is the first drug approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to treat both relapsing MS and primary-progressive MS. Not only has it been shown to reduce relapses, but it can slow disease progression.

Ocrelizumab is given as an IV infusion initially twice in two weeks. After that, the infusion is given every six months. Infusion reactions, such as a headache, rash, nausea and fever, are common. Your doctor might recommend that you be given a corticosteroid and an antihistamine before infusion to help prevent reactions.

People with hepatitis B shouldn't take ocrelizamab.

Natalizumab (Tysabri) is a humanized monoclonal antibody that reduces the migration of immune cells across the blood-brain barrier into the central nervous system. This medication is given intravenously every four weeks.

Natalizumab is effective against relapsing MS, reducing the relapse rate by about two-thirds. However, it's associated with a small but important risk of a serious brain infection known as progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML).

People who take natalizumab must be closely monitored for symptoms of PML, which include progressive weakness and visual or cognitive changes that might not be reversible.

A person's ongoing PML risk is assessed using factors such as:

  • The presence of antibodies to a virus known as John Cunningham virus on blood testing
  • Previous treatment of immunosuppressive drugs, such as mitoxantrone
  • Taking natalizumab longer than two years

Alemtuzumab (Lemtrada). This drug helps reduce relapses of MS by targeting a protein on the surface of immune cells and depleting white blood cells. This effect can limit potential nerve damage caused by the white blood cells, but it also increases the risk of infections and autoimmune disorders.

Treatment with alemtuzumab involves five consecutive days of drug infusions followed by three days of infusions a year later. Infusion reactions, such as a headache, rash, nausea and fever, are common with alemtuzumab.

Due to the risks associated with alemtuzamab, the FDA recommends extensive screening before using the drug. It's only available from registered providers, and people treated with alemtuzumab must be registered in a special drug safety monitoring program.

Oral therapies

These oral DMTs are approved for treating relapsing MS.

Fingolimod (Gilenya). This once-daily oral medication reduces the relapse rate of MS. Fingolimod is a unique medication that binds to many different types of body cells. It traps white blood cells in lymph nodes so that they can't enter the brain and cause new MS lesions.

People with heart disorders or related conditions can't use fingolimod. It can temporarily slow the heart rate, so the first dose must be taken under medical supervision. It also requires monitoring of vision because of a risk of buildup of fluid in the macula, an area in the center of the retina. For that reason, people with diabetes generally shouldn't use fingolimod.

Teriflunomide (Aubagio). Teriflunomide has been approved in two doses, 7 milligrams (mg) and 14 mg, taken once daily. It's generally well tolerated at both doses. Possible side effects include headache, diarrhea, nausea, elevation in liver enzymes and hair thinning.

Pregnant women and people with liver conditions shouldn't use teriflunomide.

Dimethyl fumarate (Tecfidera). Also known as BG-12, dimethyl fumarate is taken twice daily. Common side effects include flushing and gastrointestinal problems, such as diarrhea and nausea. Its coating is designed to reduce gastrointestinal problems, and taking it with food also can help relieve them.

Diroximel fumarate (Vumerity). This twice-daily capsule is similar to dimethyl fumarate but typically causes fewer side effects. It's approved for the treatment of relapsing forms of MS.

Cladribine (Mavenclad). This drug has been shown to be effective in reducing MS relapses and new brain lesions. It was also approved for secondary-progressive MS. Possible side effects include increased risk of developing infections.

Siponimod (Mayzent). This once-daily oral medication can reduce relapse rate and help slow the progression of MS. It's also approved for secondary-progressive MS.

Possible side effects include viral infections, liver problems and low white blood cell count. Other possible side effects include changes in heart rate, headaches and vision problems.

DMT treatment strategies

There's no way to know which treatments will work best for you or how your disease will progress. Recommendations are based on several factors, including:

  • Recent MS activity, including recent attack frequency, severity and recovery
  • How much neurological damage you have
  • The severity of lesion damage to the brain and spinal cord based on an MRI
  • Drug availability and cost
  • Other illnesses you have or medications you take that might interact with MS therapy
  • Adverse side effects from the MS drugs
  • Monitoring requirements
  • Your own preferences regarding type of therapy (oral or injectable, for example)
  • Wanting to conceive a child

Shared decision-making between you and your doctor is the best approach to your MS treatment plan. Once you start a DMT, it's important that you continue taking your medication as prescribed. Be sure to report new symptoms to your doctor, who will monitor your response and possibly switch your medication if needed.

Your situation is unique, and the best treatment is one tailored to your needs.

June 05, 2020 See more In-depth