ما مدى أمان ناتاليزوماب لعلاج التصلب المتعدد على المدى الطويل؟

إجابة من ايريس مارين كولازو، (دكتور في الطب)

ناتاليزوماب (تيسابري) هو علاج دوائي للأشخاص الذين يعانون من أشكال انتكاسية من التصلب المتعدد. وقد حصل على الموافقة كعلاج أحادي الدواء، وهذا يعني أنه ينبغي عدم تناوله بالتزامن مع أي دواء آخر معدِّل لسير المرض. تشير الدراسات إلى ارتباط ناتاليزوماب بانخفاض خطورة الإصابة بالانتكاسات، الآفات وتقدم العجز.

يرتبط ناتاليزوماب ببعض المخاطر والآثار الجانبية، والتي تتضمن ما يلي:

  • الإرهاق
  • القلق
  • حالات العدوى
  • التهاب الحلق
  • احتقان الجيوب
  • التورُّم
  • تسمُّم الكبد
  • تفاعلات الحساسية

تكون مضاعفات الكبد ممكنة خلال الأشهر القليلة الأولى من العلاج، لكنها عادةً ما تزول.

نادرًا ما يكون ناتاليزوماب مرتبطًا بحالة خطيرة تُعرف باسم اعتلال بيضاء الدماغ العديد البؤر المترقي (PML). اعتلال بيضاء الدماغ العديد البؤر المترقي هو اضطراب يصيب الجهاز العصبي المركزي ينجم عن العدوى بفيروس جي سي (JCV). يصيب هذا الفيروس نسبة تتراوح من 60 إلى 80 في المائة من سكان العالم دون عواقب ولكنه يمكن أن يسبب اعتلال بيضاء الدماغ العديد البؤر المترقي في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض نقص المناعة.

ولأن ناتاليزوماب يزيد من خطورة الإصابة باعتلال بيضاء الدماغ العديد البؤر المترقي، فإنه يجب على الطبيب أن يضع في اعتباره ما إذا كانت الفوائد المتوقَّعة لتناوله كافية لتعويض هذه الخطورة أم لا. من عوامل الخطورة الرئيسة لاعتلال بيضاء الدماغ العديد البؤر المترقي ما يلي:

  • وجود أجسام مضادة لفيروس جي سي
  • الاستخدام السابق لأدوية تثبيط المناعة
  • العلاج باستخدام ناتاليزوماب لأكثر من عامين

استنادًا إلى عوامل الخطورة، تم اقتراح توصيات علاجية تتضمن إجراء اختبار للكشف عن وجود أجسام مضادة لفيروس جي سي قبل بدء العلاج باستخدام ناتاليزوماب، كل ثلاثة إلى ستة أشهر خلال فترة العلاج ولمدة ستة أشهر على الأقل بعد التوقف عن تناول العلاج.

With

ايريس مارين كولازو، (دكتور في الطب)

03/03/2020 See more Expert Answers

How safe is natalizumab for long-term multiple sclerosis (MS) treatment?

Answer From Iris Marin Collazo, M.D.

Natalizumab (Tysabri) is a drug treatment for people with relapsing forms of MS. It's approved as a monotherapy, which means it's not to be taken in combination with any other disease-modifying drug. Studies show that natalizumab is associated with a reduced risk of relapses, lesions and disability progression.

Natalizumab is associated with some risks and side effects, including:

  • Fatigue
  • Anxiety
  • Infections
  • Sore throat
  • Sinus congestion
  • Swelling
  • Liver toxicity
  • Allergic reactions

Liver complications are possible during the first few months of treatment, but they normally go away.

Natalizumab rarely can be associated with a serious condition known as progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy (PML). PML is a central nervous system disorder caused by infection with JC virus (JCV). This virus infects 60% to 80% of the world's population without consequences but can cause PML in people who have immunocompromised conditions.

Because natalizumab increases the risk of PML, your doctor should consider whether the expected benefits of taking it are sufficient to offset this risk. The main PML risk factors include:

  • Presence of anti-JCV antibodies
  • Prior use of immunosuppressant medications
  • Treatment with natalizumab for more than two years

Based on the risk factors, treatment recommendations have been proposed that include testing for JCV antibodies prior to starting treatment with natalizumab, every three to six months during treatment, and for at least six months after discontinuing treatment.

With

Iris Marin Collazo, M.D.

Sept. 27, 2019 See more Expert Answers