نظرة عامة

تنتج الإصابة بداء لايم عن أربعة أنواع بكتيريا أساسية: بكتيريا بوريليا برغدورفيرية و بوريليا مايوني وبوريليا أفزيلي وبوريليا غاريني. يسبب نوعا البكتيريا بوريليا برغدورفيرية و بوريليا مايوني داء لايم في الولايات المتحدة بينما تمثل بكتيريا بوريليا أفزيلي وبوريليا غاريني السببين الرئيسيين للإصابة بداء لايم في أوروبا وآسيا. وينتقل داء لايم، المرض المنقول بالقراد الأكثر شيوعًا في هذه المناطق، عن طريق عضة القراد ذي الأرجل السوداء الذي يحمل العدوى، ويعرف بشكل شائع باسم قرادة الغزال.

وقد تكون أكثر عُرضة للإصابة بداء لايم إذا كنت تعيش في المناطق العشبية أو كثيفة الأشجار حيث يعيش القراد الحامل للمرض. من المهم اتخاذ التدابير الوقائية السليمة في المناطق التي ينتشر بها القراد.

الأعراض

تتنوع علامات وأعراض داء لايم وعادة ما تظهر في مراحل.

الأعراض والعلامات المبكرة

وغالبًا ما تظهر نتوءات صغيرة حمراء في مكان لدغة القراد أو مكان إزالته وتختفي هذه النتوءات على مدى بضعة أيّام. ويُعد هذا طبيعيًا بعد التعرض للدغة القراد ولا يشير ذلك إلى الإصابة بداء لايم.

ومع ذلك، قد تحدث هذه العلامات والأعراض في غضون شهر بعد إصابتك بالعدوى:

  • طفح جلدي. قد تظهر منطقة حمراء، من 3 أيام إلى 30 يومًا بعد لدغة القراد المصاب، والتي قد تكون واضحة أحيانًا في المركز، مكوّنة سمات طفح عين الثور. ويتوسع الطفح (الحُمامَى المُهاجِرَة) ببطء بمرور الأيام وقد يزيد على نحو 12 بوصة (30 سنتيمتر). وعادة لا تجعلك تشعر بالحكة أو الألم.

    يٌعد الحُمامَى المُهاجِرَة أحد علامات داء لايم. يظهر الطفح الجلدي هذا لدى بعض الأشخاص في أكثر من مكان على أجسامهم.

  • أعراضٍ مشابهة لأعراض الإنفلونزا. وقد يصاحب الطفح حمى، وقشعريرة، وصداع، وآلام بالجسم.

علامات وأعراض لاحقة

في حالة عدم العلاج، قد تظهر أعراض علامات جديدة لداء لايم في الأسابيع التالية وقد تصل إلى شهر. وهذه تشمل:

  • الحُمامَى المُهاجِرَة التي تظهر في أماكن أخرى في الجسم.
  • آلام المفاصل. من المرجح أن تؤثر نوبات ألم المفاصل الحاد والتورم على وجه الخصوص في الركبتين، ولكن قد ينتقل الألم من مفصل إلى آخر.
  • مشاكل عصبية. قد تصاب بالتهاب الأغشية المحيطة بالمخ (التهاب السحايا)، وشلل مؤقت في أحد جانبي الوجه (شلل بيل)، وخدر أو ضعف في الأطراف، وضعف حركة العضلات بعد أسابيع، أو شهور أو حتى سنوات من الإصابة بالعدوى.

وقد تتضمن أيضا العلامات والأعراض الناتجة عن بكتيريا بوريليا مايوني ما يلي:

  • الغثيان والقيء
  • الطفح الجلدي المنتشر (بدلاً من طفح عين الثور الذي يرتبط عادةً بداء لايم)

العلامات والأعراض الأقل شيوعًا

وقد يُصاب بعض الأشخاص بعد عدة أسابيع من العدوى بما يلي:

  • مشاكل القلب مثل اضطراب ضربات القلب. ونادرً ما تستمر مشاكل القلب لأكثر من بضعة أيام أو أسابيع.
  • التهاب العين.
  • التهاب الكبد.
  • الإرهاق الحاد.

متى تزور الطبيب

إذا كنت تعرضت للدغة القراد وظهرت أعراض

وقد يؤدي القليل من لدغات القراد ذي الأرجل السوداء إلى داء لايم. كلما طال بقاء القراد ملتصقًا بجلدك، زاد خطر الإصابة بالمرض. من غير المحتمل الإصابة بعدوى لايم إذا التصق القراد علي الجلد لأقل من 36 إلى 48 ساعة.

إذا كنت تعتقد أنك تعرضت للدغة وتعاني علامات داء لايم وأعراضه — خاصة إذا كنت تعيش في منطقة ينتشر بها داء لايم — فاتصل بالطبيب. ويكون علاج داء لايم أكثر فعالية إذا بدأ مبكرًا.

اذهب إلى طبيبك.حتى إذا اختفت الأعراض

من المهم أن تستشير الطبيب حتى إذا اختفت الأعراض والعلامات — فلا يعني غياب الأعراض بأن المرض اختفى. وقد ينتشر داء لايم الذي تُرك دون علاج إلى أجزاء أخرى من الجسم بعد عدة شهور أو سنوات من الإصابة بالعدوى مسببًا بذلك التهابًا في المفاصل ومشاكل بالجهاز العصبي. وقد ينقل القراد أمراضًا أخرى، مثل داء البابسيّات وحُمى قُراد كولورادو.

الأسباب

في الولايات المتحدة، داء لايم هو حالة مرضية ناجمة عن بكتيريا بوريليا بورجودورفيري وبوريليا مايوناي، وينتقل هذا المرض بشكل أساسي عن طريق القراد ذي الأرجل السوداء أو قرادة الغزال. يكون القراد بني اللون عندما يكون صغيرًا، وغالبًا ما يكون في حجم بذور الخشخاش، مما يجعل رؤيته شبه مستحيلة.

للإصابة بداء لايم، يجب أن تتعرض للعض من قرادة غزال مصابة. تدخل البكتيريا بشرتك من خلال العَضَّة وفي نهاية المطاف تشق طريقها إلى مجرى الدم. في معظم الحالات، لنقل عدوى داء لايم، يجب أن تلتصق قرادة الغزال لمدة تتراوح بيم 36 و48 ساعة. إذا وجدت أن القرادة الملتصقة تبدو منتفخة، فمن الممكن أن تكون تغذت لفترة طويلة تكفي لنقل البكتريا. قد تمنع إزالة القرادة في أسرع وقت ممكن الإصابة بالعدوى.

عوامل الخطر

مكان معيشتك أو مكان قضاء إجازتك قد يؤثر على فرص إصابتك بمرض لايم. وكذلك مكان عملك ومكان نشاطاتك الخارجية التي تستمتع بها. عوامل الخطر الأكثر شيوعًا لمرض لايم تشمل:

  • قضاء الوقت في المناطق المشجرة أو العشبية. في الولايات المتحدة، تكون قرادة الأيل أكثر انتشارًا في مناطق الشمال الشرقي والغرب الأوسط، حيث إنها مناطق مشجرة بكثافة وتنتشر فيها قرادة الأيل. ويكون الأطفال الذين يقضون الوقت في الخارج في تلك المناطق في خطر على الخصوص. ويكون البالغون الذين يعملون في مهن خارجية في خطر زائد أيضًا.

    في أول مرحلتين من عمرها، تتغذي قرادة الأيل في الولايات المتحدة على الفئران والقوارض الأخرى، والتي تعد الخزان الأساسي للبكتيريا المسببة لمرض لايم. قرادة الأيل البالغة تتغذي بشكل أساسي على الأيل أبيض الذيل.

  • عند وجود جلد مكشوف. تتعلق القرادة بسهولة مع الجسم العاري. إذا كنت في منطقة ينتشر فيها القراد، فاحم نفسك وأطفالك بارتداء ملابس ذات أكمام طويلة وبناطيل طويلة. لا تسمح لحيوانك الأليف بالتجول بين الأعشاب الطويلة والحشائش.
  • عدم إزالة القراد على الفور أو بشكل صحيح. يمكن للبكتيريا الناتجة من عضة قراد أن تدخل إلى مجرى الدم إذا التصق القراد على جلدك لمدة تتراوح بين 36 و48 ساعة أو أكثر. إذا أزلت القراد خلال يومين، يقل خطر إصابتك بداء لايم.

المضاعفات

إذا ترك بدون علاج فقد يتسبب مرض لايم في التالي:

  • التهاب مزمن في الأوتار (التهاب لايم في المفاصل)، خاصةً في الركبتين
  • الأعراض العصبية، مثل شلل الوجه والاعتلال العصبي
  • العيوب المعرفية، مثل الذاكرة الضعيفة
  • اختلال نبض القلب

الوقاية

أفضل طريقة للوقاية من داء لايم هي تجنب المناطق التي تعيش فيها قرادة الأيل، وخاصة المناطق المليئة بالأشجار، وذات العشب الطويل. يمكنك تقليل خطر الإصابة بداء لايم باتخاذ بعض الاحتياطات البسيطة:

  • التغطية. عندما تكون في مناطق مليئة بالأشجار أو العشب، فارتدي حذاء، وسروالاً طويلاً مدسوسًا في جواربك، وقميصاً بأكمام طويلة، وقبعة وقفازات. حاول أن تلتزم بالمسارات وتجنب المشي من خلال الشجيرات المنخفضة والعشب الطويل. ابق كلبك مقيدًا.
  • استخدم طارد الحشرات. استخدم طارد حشرات بتركيز 20٪ أو أعلى من ثنائي إيثيل تولواميد على الجلد. يجب على الآباء استخدام طارد حشرات لأطفالهم مع تجنب أيديهم، وأعينهم وفمهم. ضع في اعتبارك أن المواد الطاردة الكيميائية يمكن أن تكون سامة، لذلك اتبع التعليمات بعناية. استخدم المنتجات التي تحتوي على بيرمثرين على الملابس أو اشتري الملابس المعالجة مسبقًا.
  • ابذل قصارى جهدك لوقاية فنائك من القراد. نظّف الشجيرات والأوراق حيث يعيش القراد. احفظ الحطب في المناطق المشمسة.
  • تأكد من خلو جسدك أنت وأطفالك وحيواناتك الأليفة من القراد. كن يقظًا خاصة عند قضاء الوقت في المناطق المشجرة أو العشبية. غالبًا ما لا يتعدى حجم قراد الأيل حجم رأس الدبوس، لذلك قد لا تكتشفه إلا إذا بحثت عنه بعناية.

    من المفيد الاستحمام بمجرد العودة إلى الداخل. عادةً ما يبقى القراد على الجلد لساعات قبل أن يلتصق به. قد يزيل الاستحمام واستخدام المنشفة القراد غير الملتصق.

  • لا تفترض أن لديك مناعة. حيث يمكن أن تصاب بداء لايم لأكثر من مرة.
  • أزل القراد في أسرع وقت ممكن باستخدام الملقاط. امسك بلطف القراد بالقرب من رأسه أو فمه. لا تضغط على القراد أو تسحقه، ولكن اسحبه بعناية وثبات. بمجرد إزالة القراد بالكامل، قم بالتخلص منه واستخدم مطهر على منطقة اللدغة.

16/05/2018
References
  1. Lyme disease. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  2. Hu L. Clinical manifestations of Lyme disease in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  3. Hu L. Treatment of Lyme disease. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  4. Shapiro ED. Borrelia burgdorferi (Lyme Disease). Pediatrics in Review. 2014;35:500.
  5. Bismacine/chromacine. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm150503.htm. Accessed July 28, 2015.

Overview

Lyme disease is caused by four main species of bacteria: Borrelia burgdorferi, Borrelia mayonii, Borrelia afzelii and Borrelia garinii bacteria. Borrelia burgdorferi and Borrelia mayonii cause Lyme disease in the United States, while Borrelia afzelii and Borrelia garinii are the leading causes of Lyme disease in Europe and Asia. The most common tick-borne illness in these regions, Lyme disease is transmitted by the bite of an infected black-legged tick, commonly known as a deer tick.

You're more likely to get Lyme disease if you live or spend time in grassy and heavily wooded areas where ticks carrying the disease thrive. It's important to take common-sense precautions in areas where ticks are prevalent.

Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of Lyme disease vary and usually appear in stages.

Early signs and symptoms

A small, red bump often appears at the site of a tick bite or tick removal and resolves over a few days. This is normal after a tick bite and does not indicate Lyme disease.

However, these signs and symptoms may occur within a month after you've been infected:

  • Rash. From 3 to 30 days after an infected tick bite, an expanding red area might appear that sometimes clears in the center, forming a bull’s-eye pattern. The rash (erythema migrans) expands slowly over days and can spread to 12 inches (30 centimeters) across. It is typically not itchy or painful.

    Erythema migrans is one of the hallmarks of Lyme disease. Some people develop this rash at more than one place on their bodies.

  • Flu-like symptoms. Fever, chills, fatigue, body aches and a headache may accompany the rash.

Later signs and symptoms

If untreated, new signs and symptoms of Lyme infection might appear in the following weeks to months. These include:

  • Erythema migrans appearing in other areas of your body.
  • Joint pain. Bouts of severe joint pain and swelling are especially likely to affect your knees, but the pain can shift from one joint to another.
  • Neurological problems. Weeks, months or even years after infection, you might develop inflammation of the membranes surrounding your brain (meningitis), temporary paralysis of one side of your face (Bell's palsy), numbness or weakness in your limbs, and impaired muscle movement.

Signs and symptoms caused by the bacterium Borrelia mayonii may also include:

  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Diffuse rashes (rather than a single bull's-eye rash commonly associated with Lyme disease)

Less common signs and symptoms

Several weeks after infection, some people develop:

  • Heart problems, such as an irregular heartbeat. Heart problems rarely last more than a few days or weeks.
  • Eye inflammation.
  • Liver inflammation (hepatitis).
  • Severe fatigue.

When to see a doctor

If you've been bitten by a tick and have symptoms

Only a minority of blacklegged tick bites leads to Lyme disease. The longer the tick remains attached to your skin, the greater your risk of getting the disease. Lyme infection is unlikely if the tick is attached for less than 36 to 48 hours.

If you think you've been bitten and have signs and symptoms of Lyme disease — particularly if you live in an area where Lyme disease is prevalent — contact your doctor. Treatment for Lyme disease is more effective if begun early.

See your doctor even if symptoms disappear

It's important to consult your doctor even if signs and symptoms disappear — the absence of symptoms doesn't mean the disease is gone. Left untreated, Lyme disease can spread to other parts of your body from several months to years after infection, causing arthritis and nervous system problems. Ticks also can transmit other illnesses, such as babesiosis and Colorado tick fever.

Causes

In the United States, Lyme disease is caused by Borrelia burgdorferi and Borrelia mayonii bacteria, carried primarily by blacklegged or deer ticks. The ticks are brown and, when young, often no bigger than a poppy seed, which can make them nearly impossible to spot.

To contract Lyme disease, an infected deer tick must bite you. The bacteria enter your skin through the bite and eventually make their way into your bloodstream. In most cases, to transmit Lyme disease, a deer tick must be attached for 36 to 48 hours. If you find an attached tick looks swollen, it may have fed long enough to transmit bacteria. Removing the tick as soon as possible may prevent infection.

Risk factors

Where you live or vacation can affect your chances of getting Lyme disease. So can your profession and the outdoor activities you enjoy. The most common risk factors for Lyme disease include:

  • Spending time in wooded or grassy areas. In the United States, deer ticks are most prevalent in the Northeast and Midwest regions, which have heavily wooded areas where deer ticks thrive. Children who spend a lot of time outdoors in these regions are especially at risk. Adults with outdoor occupations also are at increased risk.

    In the first two stages of life, deer ticks in the United States feed on mice and other rodents, which are a prime reservoir for Lyme disease bacteria. Adult deer ticks feed primarily on white-tailed deer.

  • Having exposed skin. Ticks attach easily to bare flesh. If you're in an area where ticks are common, protect yourself and your children by wearing long sleeves and long pants. Don't allow your pets to wander in tall weeds and grasses.
  • Not removing ticks promptly or properly. Bacteria from a tick bite can enter your bloodstream if the tick stays attached to your skin for 36 to 48 hours or longer. If you remove a tick within two days, your risk of acquiring Lyme disease is low.

Complications

Left untreated, Lyme disease can cause:

  • Chronic joint inflammation (Lyme arthritis), particularly of the knee
  • Neurological symptoms, such as facial palsy and neuropathy
  • Cognitive defects, such as impaired memory
  • Heart rhythm irregularities

Prevention

The best way to prevent Lyme disease is to avoid areas where deer ticks live, especially wooded, bushy areas with long grass. You can decrease your risk of getting Lyme disease with some simple precautions:

  • Cover up. When in wooded or grassy areas, wear shoes, long pants tucked into your socks, a long-sleeved shirt, a hat and gloves. Try to stick to trails and avoid walking through low bushes and long grass. Keep your dog on a leash.
  • Use insect repellents. Apply insect repellent with a 20 percent or higher concentration of DEET to your skin. Parents should apply repellant to their children, avoiding their hands, eyes and mouth. Keep in mind that chemical repellents can be toxic, so follow directions carefully. Apply products with permethrin to clothing or buy pretreated clothing.
  • Do your best to tick-proof your yard. Clear brush and leaves where ticks live. Keep woodpiles in sunny areas.
  • Check yourself, your children and your pets for ticks. Be especially vigilant after spending time in wooded or grassy areas. Deer ticks are often no bigger than the head of a pin, so you may not discover them unless you search carefully.

    It's helpful to shower as soon as you come indoors. Ticks often remain on your skin for hours before attaching themselves. Showering and using a washcloth might remove unattached ticks.

  • Don't assume you're immune. You can get Lyme disease more than once.
  • Remove a tick as soon as possible with tweezers. Gently grasp the tick near its head or mouth. Don't squeeze or crush the tick, but pull carefully and steadily. Once you've removed the entire tick, dispose of it and apply antiseptic to the bite area.
April 03, 2016
References
  1. Lyme disease. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  2. Hu L. Clinical manifestations of Lyme disease in adults. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  3. Hu L. Treatment of Lyme disease. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed July 28, 2015.
  4. Shapiro ED. Borrelia burgdorferi (Lyme Disease). Pediatrics in Review. 2014;35:500.
  5. Bismacine/chromacine. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. http://www.fda.gov/Safety/MedWatch/SafetyInformation/SafetyAlertsforHumanMedicalProducts/ucm150503.htm. Accessed July 28, 2015.