概述

埃立克体病是一种由蜱虫传播的细菌疾病,会引起流感样症状。埃立克体病的症状和体征从轻微身体疼痛到严重发热不等,通常在蜱虫叮咬后一两周内出现。如果使用合适的抗生素迅速治疗,埃立克体病通常会在几天内好转。

另一种蜱媒感染(边虫病)与埃立克体病密切相关。但是两者有明显差异,且是由不同的微生物引起的。

防止这些感染的最佳方法是避免蜱咬伤。使用驱虫剂、外出后彻底检查身体,正确清除蜱虫,这些都是避免埃立克体病的最佳方法。

症状

如果一只携带致埃立克体病细菌的蜱虫叮咬您超过 24 小时,您可能会出现以下类似流感的体征和症状(通常在被咬后 7 至 14 天内):

  • 轻度发热
  • 头痛
  • 寒战
  • 肌肉酸痛
  • 恶心
  • 呕吐
  • 腹泻
  • 疲劳
  • 食欲不振
  • 关节疼痛
  • 意识混乱
  • 皮疹
  • 咳嗽

一些感染埃立克体病的患者可能因为症状较轻而选择不去就医,而身体本身会抵抗这种疾病。但如果埃立克体病未得到治疗,并伴有持续的症状,则可能导致一种需要住院治疗的严重疾病。

何时就诊

被蜱虫叮咬后,可能需要 14 天的时间才开始显现埃立克体病的体征和症状。如果您在蜱虫叮咬后两周内出现症状,请就医。

如果您在到达某已知有蜱虫的地方后不久就出现上述症状,请就医。请务必告诉医生,您最近曾被蜱虫叮咬,或者曾经到过一个蜱虫数量很多的地区。

When to see a doctor

The time from getting a bite to showing signs and symptoms is usually five to 14 days. If you develop any of the signs or symptoms after a tick bite or after a possible exposure to ticks, see your doctor.

病因

埃立克体病由埃利希体菌引起,主要由孤星蜱传播。

蜱以血液为食,依附在宿主身上,直到比正常大小肿胀多倍。在进食过程中,携带致病细菌的蜱会将细菌传播给健康的宿主。或者,如果宿主(如白尾鹿或土狼)已经感染埃立克体病,蜱自己也可能受到感染。

通常,必须遭到被感染蜱虫叮咬才会感染埃立克体病。细菌通过咬痕进入皮肤,最终进入血液循环。

蜱虫必须吸附在身上并进食至少 24 小时,才会引起该细菌传播。一只已经吸附且外表肿胀的蜱虫可能已经进食足够长的时间,传播了细菌。尽快清除蜱虫可以预防感染。

埃立克体病也有可能通过输血传播、从母亲传染给胎儿,也可以通过直接接触受感染的屠宰动物进行传播。

Tick bites and infection

Ticks feed on blood by latching onto a host and feeding until they're swollen to many times their normal size. Ticks can pick up bacteria from a host, such as a deer, and then spread the bacteria to another host, such as a human. The spread of the bacteria from the tick to the host probably occurs about 24 hours after the tick has begun feeding.

Other ways bacteria spreads

Spread of the bacteria causing ehrlichiosis or anaplasmosis is possible through blood transfusions, from mother to fetus, or through direct contact with an infected, slaughtered animal.

Related information

Slide show: Guide to different tick species and the diseases they carry

风险因素

风险因素

当已感染蜱虫(主要是孤星蜱)咬伤您并以您为食 24 小时或更长时间时,便可能传播埃立克体病。以下因素可能会增加您被蜱虫感染的风险:

  • 天气温暖时待在户外。大多数埃立克体病病例都发生于春夏两季,因为此时的孤星蜱数量最多,而且人们更常外出。
  • 住在或前往蜱虫数量较多的地区。如果您居住于孤星蜱数量较多的地区,您的患病风险也会更高。孤星蜱在美国东南部、东部和中南部各州最为常见。
  • 男性。埃立克体感染在男性中更常见,可能是因为他们在户外工作和娱乐的时间较长。

并发症

如果不及时治疗,埃立克体病会对其他方面健康的成人或儿童造成严重影响。

免疫系统减弱的人更有可能出现更严重的、可能危及生命的后果。未经治疗的感染的严重并发症包括:

  • 肾衰竭
  • 呼吸衰竭
  • 心力衰竭
  • 癫痫发作
  • 昏迷

预防

避免埃立克体病的最好方法是避免蜱虫叮咬。

大多数蜱虫会趁人在草地、树林或杂草丛生的田地里行走或工作时附在人的小腿和脚上。当蜱虫附到人体后,通常会向上爬行,并在皮肤上找个附着点钻入皮肤。您可能会在膝盖后面、腹股沟、腋下、耳朵、脖子后面等部位发现蜱虫。

如果您在蜱虫吸附 24 小时内将之除掉,可以降低感染的风险。虽然您可能无法避免进入存在蜱虫的区域,但以下建议可以让您更容易发现蜱虫并在蜱虫吸附在皮肤之前清除它们:

  • 穿浅色衣服。蜱虫是深色的。浅色衣服可以帮助您和其他人发现衣服上的蜱虫,避免让它们吸附进入皮肤。
  • 不要穿露趾鞋或凉鞋。蜱虫通常生活在草地或田地里,当您经过时,它们会吸附在您的脚和腿上。穿露趾鞋或凉鞋会使蜱虫更容易吸附在裸露的皮肤上,然后在衣物下活动,避开您的视线。
  • 使用驱虫剂。含避蚊胺(Off!Deep Woods、Repel)或氯菊酯(Repel Permanone)的产品通常能驱除蜱虫。氯菊酯只能用于衣服上。您可以在皮肤或衣服上使用避蚊胺,但要遵循标签上的建议。

    对于儿童,使用含有低于 30% 避蚊胺的避蚊胺驱虫剂,并谨慎使用。不要在您或您孩子的手或脸上使用避蚊胺。

  • 穿长裤和长袖衬衫。皮肤暴露越少,蜱虫叮咬的部位就越少。为了增加保护,将衬衫、裤子和袜子都用氯菊酯浸透。
  • 把衬衫塞进裤子里,把裤子塞进袜子里。这样做,蜱虫将不太可能爬到暴露的皮肤上。然而,要注意的是,如果蜱虫爬到您的衣服上,它们会向上爬,直至到达暴露的皮肤。在户外时,经常检查您的衣服。
  • 尽可能待在没有杂草的小径上。蜱虫更喜欢在草地上活动,在平整的小路上可能不太常见。
  • 检查身体。对身体进行全面的目视检查。请务必检查头部和颈部,因为蜱虫会继续向上爬,直至找到适合钻洞的附着点。从郊游或花园回来时,用手摸摸您的头发和看不见的地方。

    蜱虫可能像草莓种子那么小,常常吸附在看不到的皮肤处。一定要检查所有可能的部位。只靠淋浴很少能将已经吸附的蜱虫从头上和身体上清除。

  • 检查衣服和装备。回家后检查衣服、背包和其他装备,看看有没有搭顺风车的蜱虫。将衣服放在烘干机里旋转约一个小时可以杀死任何未发现的蜱虫。
  • 不要忘了检查宠物。每天检查在户外活动的宠物身上是否有蜱虫。

妙佑医疗国际一分钟:避开蜱虫的办法

您正享受远足,而蜱虫也正想搭个便车。

“它们摆好位置,爬上最近的物体,比如这片草叶。”这被叫作探寻。“蜱虫伸出自己的腿,这使蜱虫抓住路过的宿主。”您能降低自己变成宿主的可能性。“使用杀虫剂是个不错的主意。”

妙佑医疗国际的寄生虫病专家 Bobbi Pritt 医生建议对衣物和装备使用氯菊酯。

“您可以使衣物浸透。让它们晾干,然后第二天再穿上。”

对布料使用氯菊酯,对皮肤使用避蚊胺 (DEET)。将 DEET 驱虫剂喷到暴露的皮肤上,包括双腿、双手。避开面部,但务必保护颈部。然后把裤脚塞入袜子。远足时,记住避开这些爱探寻的蜱虫可能停留的地方。

“所以您要远离高草丛。待在中央。”

妙佑医疗国际新闻网 Jeff Olsen 报道。

Use tick repellents

  • Spray your outdoor clothing, shoes, tent or other camping gear with a repellent that has 0.5% permethrin. Some gear and clothing may be pre-treated with permethrin.
  • Use an insect repellent registered with the Environmental Protection Agency on any exposed skin, except your face. These include repellents that contain DEET, picaridin, IR3535, oil of lemon eucalyptus (OLE), para-menthane-diol (PMD) or 2-undecanone.
  • Do not use products with OLE or PMD on children under age 3.

Dress for protection

  • Wear light-colored clothing that makes it easier for you or others to see ticks on your clothing before they bite.
  • Avoid open-toed shoes or sandals.
  • Wear long-sleeved shirts tucked into your pants and long pants tucked into your socks.

Check for ticks

  • Shower as soon as possible to wash off any loose ticks and check for ticks that may have burrowed.
  • Use a mirror to check your body thoroughly. Pay attention to your underarms, hair and hairline, ears, waist, between your legs, behind your knees, and inside your bellybutton.
  • Check your gear. Dry your clothes and gear on hot for at least 10 minutes to kill ticks before cleaning them.

Other tips

  • Do a daily inspection for ticks on any pet that spends time outdoors.
  • Stay on clear paths as much as possible in wooded and grassy areas.

July 03, 2022
  1. Tickborne diseases of the United States — A reference manual for health care providers. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/healthcare/clinicians.html. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  2. Sexton DJ. Human ehrlichiosis and anaplasmosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  3. Ferri FF. Ehrlichiosis and anaplasmosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  4. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Viral & rickettsial infections. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2015. 54th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  5. Lyme disease. American Lyme Disease Foundation. http://aldf.com/lyme-disease/#prevent. Accessed June 20, 2015.
  6. Preventing tick bites. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/prev/index.html. Accessed June 10, 2015.

相关

Associated Procedures

Overview

Ehrlichiosis is a bacterial illness transmitted by ticks that causes flu-like symptoms. The signs and symptoms of ehrlichiosis range from mild body aches to severe fever and usually appear within a week or two of a tick bite. If treated quickly with appropriate antibiotics, ehrlichiosis generally improves within a few days.

Another tick-borne infection — anaplasmosis — is closely related to ehrlichiosis. But the two have distinct differences and are caused by different microorganisms.

The best way to prevent these infections is to avoid tick bites. Tick repellents, thorough body checks after being outside and proper removal of ticks give you the best chance of avoiding ehrlichiosis.

Symptoms

If a tick carrying the bacterium that causes ehrlichiosis has been feeding on you for at least 24 hours, the following flu-like signs and symptoms may appear — usually within seven to 14 days of the bite:

  • Mild fever
  • Headache
  • Chills
  • Muscle aches
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Fatigue
  • Loss of appetite
  • Joint pain
  • Confusion
  • Rash
  • Cough

Some people infected with ehrlichiosis may have symptoms so mild that they never seek medical attention, and the body fights off the illness on its own. But untreated ehrlichiosis with persistent symptoms can result in an illness serious enough to require hospitalization.

When to see a doctor

It may take as long as 14 days after a tick bite for you to begin showing signs and symptoms of ehrlichiosis. If you get symptoms within two weeks of a tick bite, see your doctor.

If you experience any of the above symptoms soon after you've been in an area known to have ticks, see your doctor. Be sure to tell your doctor that you recently received a tick bite or visited an area with a high population of ticks.

Causes

Ehrlichiosis is caused by ehrlichia bacteria and is transmitted primarily by the Lone Star tick.

Ticks feed on blood, latching onto a host and feeding until they're swollen to many times their normal size. During feeding, ticks that carry disease-producing bacteria can transmit the bacteria to a healthy host. Or they may pick up bacteria themselves if the host, such as a white-tailed deer or a coyote, is infected.

Usually, to get ehrlichiosis, you must be bitten by an infected tick. The bacteria enter your skin through the bite and eventually make their way into your bloodstream.

Before bacteria can be transmitted, a tick must be attached and feeding for at least 24 hours. An attached tick with a swollen appearance may have been feeding long enough to have transmitted bacteria. Removing ticks as soon as possible may prevent infection.

It's also possible that ehrlichiosis may be transmitted through blood transfusions, from mother to fetus, and through direct contact with an infected, slaughtered animal.

Risk factors

Ehrlichiosis spreads when an infected tick, primarily the Lone Star tick, bites you and feeds on you for 24 hours or longer. The following factors may increase your risk of getting tick-borne infections:

  • Being outdoors in warm weather. Most cases of ehrlichiosis occur in the spring and summer months when populations of the Lone Star tick are at their peak, and people are outside more often.
  • Living in or visiting an area with a high tick population. You are at greater risk if you are in an area with a high Lone Star tick population. In the United States, Lone Star ticks are most common in southeastern, eastern and south-central states.
  • Being male. Ehrlichiosis infections are more common in males, possibly because of increased time outdoors for work and recreation.

Complications

Without prompt treatment, ehrlichiosis can have serious effects on an otherwise healthy adult or child.

People with weakened immune systems are at an even higher risk of more-serious and potentially life-threatening consequences. Serious complications of untreated infection include:

  • Kidney failure
  • Respiratory failure
  • Heart failure
  • Seizures
  • Coma

Prevention

The best way to steer clear of ehrlichiosis is to avoid tick bites.

Most ticks attach themselves to your lower legs and feet as you walk or work in grassy, wooded areas or overgrown fields. After a tick attaches to your body, it usually crawls upward to find a location to burrow into your skin. You may find a tick on the back of your knees, groin, underarms, ears, back of your neck and elsewhere.

If you remove a tick in the first 24 hours after attachment, you reduce your risk of infection. While you may not be able to avoid going into areas where ticks are present, the following tips can make it easier to discover and remove ticks before they attach to your skin:

  • Wear light-colored clothing. Ticks are dark-colored. Light clothing helps you and others notice ticks on your clothing before they can attach themselves to your skin.
  • Avoid open-toed shoes or sandals. Ticks generally live in grassy areas or fields and can attach themselves to your feet and legs when you brush by. Wearing open-toed shoes or sandals increases the risk of a tick attaching to your bare skin and working its way under your clothes, out of sight from detection.
  • Apply repellent. Products containing DEET (Off! Deep Woods, Repel) or permethrin (Repel Permanone) often repel ticks. Permethrin is for use on clothing only. You can use DEET on your skin or clothing, but follow recommendations on the label.

    For children, use a DEET repellent containing less than 30 percent DEET, and use the product with caution. Don't use DEET on your or your children's hands or faces.

  • Wear long pants and a long-sleeved shirt. The less skin you expose, the less area a tick has to bite. For added protection, wear shirts, pants and socks with permethrin impregnated in the fabric.
  • Tuck your shirt into your pants and your pants into your socks. By doing this, ticks will be less able to crawl onto exposed skin. However, be aware that if ticks get on your clothing, they'll climb upward until they reach exposed skin. Check your clothing often while you're outdoors.
  • Stay on clear trails whenever possible. Ticks prefer grassy areas and may be less common on well-beaten paths.
  • Inspect your body. Do a complete visual inspection of your body. Be sure to check your head and neck because ticks will continue to climb upward until they find a suitable burrowing site. Use your hands to feel through your hair and in areas you can't see when you return from your outing or garden.

    Ticks can be as small as a strawberry seed, and they usually attach to hidden skin. Be sure to check all the possibilities. A shower alone will rarely dislodge attached ticks from your head and body.

  • Inspect your clothes and gear. Check your clothes, backpacks and other gear when you get home to look for ticks that hitched a ride. Spinning your clothes in the dryer for about an hour will kill any ticks you missed.
  • Don't forget your pets. Do a daily inspection for ticks on any pet that spends time outdoors.
July 11, 2015
References
  1. Tickborne diseases of the United States — A reference manual for health care providers. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/healthcare/clinicians.html. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  2. Sexton DJ. Human ehrlichiosis and anaplasmosis. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  3. Ferri FF. Ehrlichiosis and anaplasmosis. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2016. Philadelphia, Pa.: Mosby Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  4. Papadakis MA, et al., eds. Viral & rickettsial infections. In: Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2015. 54th ed. New York, N.Y.: The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2015. http://www.accessmedicine.com. Accessed June 10, 2015.
  5. Lyme disease. American Lyme Disease Foundation. http://aldf.com/lyme-disease/#prevent. Accessed June 20, 2015.
  6. Preventing tick bites. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/prev/index.html. Accessed June 10, 2015.