النتائج والتقييمات

كيف صُمم نموذج الرعاية لدى مايو كلينك لتلبية الاحتياجات الشخصية؟

تقدم ممارستنا رعاية شخصية متكاملة تراعي كل احتياجاتك وتلبيها. ونقدم رعاية متعددة التخصصات على أيدي خبراء يتعاونون معًا لتحديد أفضل مسار وتسلسل للعلاج وفقًا لاحتياجاتك الفردية.

باولا هيل: اسمي باولا هيل. وأنا أعيش في الوادي هنا منذ أكثر من 30 عامًا. لدي أربعة أطفال، ومتزوجة من رجل إطفاء متقاعد.

كنت أجري فحصًا روتينيًا للثدي بالتصوير الشعاعي وكانت النتائج سليمة. وبعد ذلك بفترة قصيرة، خضعت للفحص النسائي السنوي وأجريت فيه فحصًا للثدي، فاكتشفت إصابتي بكتلة في الثدي. ثم تلقيت مكالمة هاتفية بعد ذلك بأيام قليلة تخبرني بأن الورم سرطاني، وأنه عليَّ البدء في العلاج الاستكشافي. ولكنني كنت أعرف مايو كلينك، فقد خضع أبي للعلاج فيها من مرض بالقلب باستخدام تقنية متطورة للغاية منذ ما يقرب من خمس سنوات. لذا كانت مايو ضمن خياراتي في رحلة البحث عن العلاج، وكنت على علم بأن لديهم غالبًا أفضل فريق طبي وأكثرهم تقدمًا.

تقول باربارا بوكاج، دكتورة في الطب واختصاصية جراحة الأورام في مايو كلينك: كنت أول من رأى باولا عندما حضرت إلى مايو كلينك لتلقي العلاج، فعادةً يكون الجراح أول من يلتقي بالحالات التي شُخصت إصابتها حديثًا بسرطان الثدي عند قدومها إلى المستشفى.

باولا هيل: عند عودتي أنا وزوجي إلى المنزل ذلك اليوم تيقنا من أن مايو كلينك هي ما نبحث عنه حقًّا. تضمنت خطة العلاج التي وُضعت لي تلقي العلاج الكيميائي لمدة ستة أشهر، ثم الخضوع إلى جراحة يتبعها 20 جلسة من العلاج الإشعاعي، ثم تلقي علاجات هيرسيبتين لمدة عام، وما أعجبني حقًّا في الخطة هو عدم اللجوء إلى الجراحة في البداية لإعطاء فرصة لتقليص حجم الورم، وبالتالي كان هناك احتمال كبير للغاية أن أجري استئصالًا للكتلة الورمية فقط بدلًا من استئصال الثدي بأكمله، وقد سعدت للغاية بهذا الأمر.

باربارا بوكاج، دكتورة في الطب: أخبرت باولا بأن هناك أخبارًا جيدة وأخرى سيئة. الخبر السيئ هو إصابتها بسرطان في الثدي من النوع العدواني. والخبر السار أن هذا السرطان العدواني يستجيب جيدًا للعلاج.

دونالد نورثفيلت، دكتور في الطب، ومساعد المدير الطبي في عيادة أمراض الثدي في مايو كلينك: بعد مراجعة حالتها، وجدنا أنها مؤهلة للمشاركة في إحدى التجارب السريرية التي كانت تجرى في ذلك الوقت. تعرف هذه التجربة باسم تجربة I-SPY 2، وكانت تهدف إلى دراسة مجموعة متنوعة من الخيارات العلاجية المخصصة لحالات سرطان الثدي المتقدمة الموضعية. وشملت هذه الدراسة اختبار أدوية جديدة مصممة خصيصًا للعمل ضد بروتين HER2، وبتلك الطريقة يمكن أن يستجيب السرطان لديها للعلاج.

باولا هيل: من بين الأمور التي رغبنا في معرفتها مدى تقدم التجربة، ومدى فعالية وجدوى الدواء في العلاج. وقد علمنا أن التجربة كانت في مراحلها الأخيرة. مما يعني أنه قد سبق إجراؤها بالفعل على البشر. لم أكن أول من يشترك، وعرفت أن الدراسة تتضمن تناول جميع علاجات البروتوكول العادي لسرطان الثدي، الخاصة بحالة سرطان الثدي لديّ على وجه التحديد، بالإضافة إلى الدواء قيد التجربة، وبالتالي لن يفوتني أي علاج أتلقاه في العادة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، كان هناك أمل أن تسهم مشاركتي في تقليص الورم بدرجة أكبر.

باربارا بوكاج، دكتور في الطب: شاركت باولا في تجربة I-SPY واستجابت حالتها للعلاج بشكل ملحوظ. كان لديها ورم كبير انتشر إلى الغدد الليمفاوية، وبعد مشاركتها في التجربة خضعت لفحص تصويري، ولم تبين صور الأشعة وجود أي ورم. ولا يعني ذلك دائمًا أننا لن نجد أي كتل أو أورام أثناء الجراحة، ولكنه يعني أن الورم قد تقلص حجمه إلى حد كبير، وأن كافة خيارات العلاج أصبحت متاحة بالنسبة لحالتها.

دونالد نورثفيلت، دكتور في الطب: هذا ما يحمسنا للمجيء لعملنا يوميًّا. نأمل أن يحظى مرضانا بنتائج علاجية مبشرة. ونكون أكثر امتنانًا عندما نشاهد ذلك يحدث في إطار إحدى التجارب السريرية. ففي التجارب السريرية، تطبق العديد من الأفكار المبتكرة من أجل القضاء على السرطان، ونأمل دائمًا أن يسهم ذلك في أن يحظى مرضانا بنتائج علاجية أفضل.

باولا هيل: لقد استعدت في الحقيقة الكثير من.. لقد استعدت حياتي بأكملها، وتغيرت الآن نظرتي للحياة تمامًا. أعتقد أنني أصبحت أكثر سعادة، وأكثر مرونة، ولم أعد أسعى إلى الكمال كثيرًا، وأصبحت أستمتع بالفعل بكل الأشياء من حولي.

رواد تقديم الرعاية تحت إشراف فرق متخصصة

نفخر بتقديم رعاية شخصية متكاملة تراعي كل احتياجاتك وتلبيها. كما نقدم رعاية متعددة التخصصات على أيدي خبراء يتعاونون معًا لتحديد أفضل مسار وتسلسل للعلاج وفقًا لاحتياجاتك الفردية.

وتوفر عيادة الثدي عالية الاختطار أيضًا رعاية صحية متعددة التخصصات للمريضات المعرضات بنسبة كبيرة لخطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي بسبب عوامل الخطر العائلية أو تلك التي اكتُشفت بعد إجراء خزعة الثدي. وسواء كنتِ معرضة بنسبة كبيرة لخطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي أو ما إذا كان السرطان في مراحله المبكرة أو المرحلة المعقدة والمتأخرة، فإن فريق الرعاية متعدد التخصصات سيوازن بعناية كل خيارات العلاج الممكنة لكِ لإنشاء خطة مخصصة من أجلكِ.

تصنيف أفضل المستشفيات لعام 2020-2021 حسب مؤسسة U.S. News & World Report

مصنفة رقم 1 على مستوى الولايات المتحدة

مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا

مصنفة رقم 1 على مستوى مستشفيات ولاية أريزونا

مايو كلينك في مدينتي فينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا

مصنفة رقم 1 على مستوى مستشفيات ولاية فلوريدا

مايو كلينك في مدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

النتائج والتصنيفات

رواد الرعاية المقدمة تحت إشراف فريق من الاختصاصيين

تقدم عياداتنا رعاية شخصية متكاملة تراعي كل احتياجاتك. ونقدم رعاية متعددة التخصصات على أيدي خبراء يتعاونون معًا لتحديد أفضل البرامج والطرق العلاجية وفقًا لاحتياجاتك الفردية.

كما توفر عيادة الثدي عالية الاختطار أيضًا رعاية صحية متعددة التخصصات للمريضات المعرضات بنسبة كبيرة لخطر الإصابة بسرطان الثدي بسبب عوامل خطر عائلية أو عوامل مكتشفة من خزعة الثدي. وسواء كنتِ معرضة بدرجة كبيرة للإصابة بسرطان الثدي، أو ما إذا كان السرطان في مرحلة مبكرة أو مرحلة معقدة ومتأخرة، فإن فريق الرعاية متعدد التخصصات المعني بحالتكِ سيفاضل بعناية بين كل خيارات العلاج الممكنة لكِ لوضع خطة مخصصة من أجلكِ.

تصنيف مؤسسة U.S. News & World Report لأفضل المستشفيات لعام 2021-2022

  • المرتبة الأولى على مستوى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: مايو كلينك في مدينة روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا
  • المرتبة الأولى بين مستشفيات أريزونا: مايو كلينك في مدينتي فينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا
  • المرتبة الأولى بين مستشفيات ولاية فلوريدا: مستشفى مايو كلينك في مدينة جاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

التخصص والخبرة

يعالج أطباء مايو كلينك سنويًا الكثير من المرضى ممن لديهم حالات مشابهة لحالتك الصحية. وفي المتوسط فإننا نقدم العلاج لـ 1700 مريضة بسرطان الثدي عبر مراكزنا الرئيسية الثلاثة، ويتوزع هذا الرقم بين العلاجات واتخاذ القرارات الطبية، ولا الرقم يشمل علاجح حالات الانتكاس. وفي عام 2019، أجرى جراحونا المقتدرون أكثر من 990 عملية استئصال للكتل الورمية وأكثر من 675 عملية استئصال للثدي لعلاج نساء مصابات بسرطان الثدي، وأجرى جراحونا ترميمًا فوريًا للثدي متزامنًا مع الاستئصال لأكثر من 425 مريضة.* وفي العام نفسه، تلقت أكثر من 900 مريضة علاجًا إشعاعيًا لسرطان الثدي في مايو كلينك، وتلقت أكثر من 1290 مريضة علاجًا كيميائيًا لسرطان الثدي.† تستقبل عيادة الثدي للحالات عالية الاختطار 3400 حالة سنويًا.‡ تتلقى آلاف المصابات بسرطان الثدي الرعاية الصحية بأنواعها المختلفة في مايو كلينك.

إحصاءات مايو كلينك السنوية في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا:

  • أكثر من 1700 مريضة تلقين العلاج أو حصلن على مشورات طبية
  • أكثر من 990 عملية استئصال للكتل الورمية
  • أكثر من 675 عملية استئصال الثدي
  • أكثر من 425 عملية ترميم فوري للثدي
  • أكثر من 900 مريضة تلقين العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الثدي
  • أكثر من 1290 مريضة تلقين العلاج الكيميائي لسرطان الثدي

*العمليات الجراحية التي أجريت سنة 2019 في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

†عمليات العلاج الإشعاعي والكيميائي سنة 2019 في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

‡ عيادة الثدي للحالات عالية الاختطار في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

الحد الأدنى من التعطيل لحياتك

نسعى جاهدين في مايو كلينك لتوفير رعاية متفوقة عالميًا بأقل قدر من التأثير على سير حياتك.

النسب المئوية لمغادرة المرضى للمستشفى في نفس اليوم
الإجراء مغادرة المريض للمستشفى في نفس اليوم

العمليات الجراحية التي أجريت من آذار/مارس 2020 وحتى آب/أغسطس 2020 في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

استئصال الكتلة الورمية 95.7%
استئصال الثدي (بدون ترميم فوري) 66.4%
استئصال الثدي (مع ترميم فوري) 34.8%
إكمال المعالجة الإشعاعية
نوع العلاج اكتمل في 5 أيام أو أقل
العلاج الإشعاعي لسرطان الثدي في مراحله المبكرة 60.0%

النتائج التي تظهر في تقييمات رضا المرضى

إن مستوى الرضا مرتفع للغاية لدى مرضى مايو كلينك. ومن بين المريضات اللاتي خضعن لاستئصال الكتل الورمية أو استئصال الثدي في العيادات الخارجية بسبب سرطان الثدي وشاركن في استبيان حول تجربتهن، أعطت 99٪ من المريضات لمايو كلينك التصنيف الأعلى أو الذي يليه من حيث الرضا عن الرعاية والثقة في الطبيب والعديد من المعايير الأخرى. كما عبّرت المريضات في الاستبيان عن درجة عالية من الرضا بشأن زياراتهن لعياداتنا. ومن بين المريضات اللاتي خضعن للمسار الأول من علاج سرطان الثدي وشاركن في استبيان حول رضاهن عن زيارتهن للعيادة، أعطت 99٪ من المريضات لمايو كلينك التصنيف الأعلى أو الذي يليه. ونسبة الرضا مرتفعة بشكل خاص بين المريضات المصابات بالسرطان النقيلي، حيث أعطت 100٪ من المريضات المصابات بالسرطان النقيلي اللاتي شاركن بالاستبيان لمايو كلينك التصنيف الأعلى أو الذي يليه فيما يخص زياراتهم لعيادة سرطان الثدي في مايو كلينك.

تجربة المريضات مع استئصال الكتلة الورمية أو استئصال الثدي§
جيدة أو جيدة جداً (أعلى تصنيفين)
الفئة التقييم

ملاحظة: استبيانات رضا المرضى التي أجرتها مؤسسة Press Ganey

§بيانات مايو كلينك لسنة 2019 عن المريضات اللاتي خضعن لاستئصال الكتلة الورمية أو استئصال الثدي في فروع مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا

التقييم العام للرعاية المقدمة لك أثناء الزيارة 99.7%
احتمال تزكية مايو كلينك أمام الآخرين 98.8%
الثقة بمهارة الطبيب 99.7%
حِرْص الطبيب على إشراكك في القرارات المتعلقة بعلاجك 99.1%
اهتمام الموظفين باحتياجاتك الخاصة/الفردية واستجابتهم لها 99.1%
رضا المريضات عن زيارتهن لعيادة سرطان الثدي**
جيدة أو جيدة جداً (أعلى تصنيفين)
الفئة التقييم

ملاحظة: استبيانات رضا المرضى التي أجرتها مؤسسة Press Ganey

** المريضات اللاتي تلقين أول مسار علاجي أو قرارًا بعدم العلاج من خلال عيادة سرطان الثدي في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا، في سنة 2017.

التقييم العام للرعاية المقدمة لك أثناء الزيارة 99.5%
احتمال تزكية مايو كلينك أمام الآخرين 99.5%
ثقتك في الطبيب 99.1%
حِرْص الطبيب على إشراكك في القرارات المتعلقة بعلاجك 99.0%
مراعاتنا لاحتياجاتك 98.4%
رضا المريضات المصابات بسرطان الثدي المنتشر عن زيارتهن لعياداتنا††
جيدة أو جيدة جداً (أعلى تصنيفين)
الفئة التقييم

ملاحظة: استبيانات رضا المرضى التي أجرتها مؤسسة Press Ganey

** المريضات المصابات بسرطان الثدي المنتشر اللاتي حصلن على الرعاية في مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا، في سنة 2017.

التقييم العام للرعاية المقدمة لك أثناء الزيارة 100%
احتمال تزكية مايو كلينك أمام الآخرين 100%
ثقتك في الطبيب 93.3%
حِرْص الطبيب على إشراكك في القرارات المتعلقة بعلاجك 93.3%
مراعاتنا لاحتياجاتك 96.6%

خبرة عالمية في علاج سرطان الثدي

في المتوسط يأتي المرضى إلى مايو كلينك من أكثر من 20 بلداً وأكثر من 45 ولاية وإقليم أمريكي لتلقي العلاج الإشعاعي أو الجراحة أو علاجات أخرى أو للاستفادة من الاستشارات الطبية بشأن علاج سرطان الثدي. نقدم مجموعة متكاملة من الخيارات العلاجية، بما في ذلك الجراحة والعلاج الكيميائي والعلاج الهرموني والعلاج الإشعاعي والعلاج الدوائي الاستهدافي والتجارب السريرية. إن الخبرات العالمية ونهج الرعاية الفريد والتقنيات المتطورة في التصوير وتفسير البيانات لاتخاذ القرارات السريرية هي العناصر التي يستند عليها نجاح مايو كلينك. ونسعى جاهدين لتقديم أفضل النتائج الممكنة بما يلبي الاحتياجات الصحية الفردية لكل مريض.

  • استشارات وراثية
  • تقنيات تصوير متفوقة عالميًا
  • اختصاصيون في أمراض الثدي
  • الجراحة
  • إعادة البناء بعد الاستئصال
  • العلاج الكيميائي
  • العلاج الهرموني
  • المعالجة الإشعاعية
  • العلاج الدوائي الاستهدافي
  • الوقاية من الوذمة اللمفية ومعالجتها
  • التجارب السريرية

إحصاءات مايو كلينك لسنة 2019 في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا، وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا، وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا:

تقنيات الفحص المتطورة ودقة التشخيص

تتميز مايو كلينك بتعاون خبراء تصوير الثدي عبر جميع مواقعها.

إحصائيات عمليات التصوير والاختبار في جميع مواقع مايو كلينك سنة 2019:

  • أكثر من 117 ألف فحص بالتصوير الشعاعي الاستقصائي للثدي
  • أكثر من 680 فحص بالتصوير المحسَّن بالتبايُن للثدي
  • أكثر من 33 ألف فحص بالتصوير الشعاعي التشخيصي للثدي
  • أكثر من 19 ألف فحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية للثدي
  • أكثر من 4800 فحص بالرنين المغناطيسي للثدي
  • أكثر من 2900 فحص بالتصوير الجزيئي للثدي
  • أكثر من 5900 خزعة بالإبرة موجهة بالتصوير
المصادر:
  1. Hruska CB، et al. الفحص التشخيصي وتكاليف التصوير الأحادي التكميلي الجزيئي للثدي ذي الكثافة الصورية العالية. المجلة الأمريكية لعلم الأشعة. 2015; doi:10.2214/AJR.14.13306.
  2. Hruska CB، et al. التصوير الجزيئي للثدي ذي الكثافة الصورية العالية: الوضع الراهن والتوجهات المستقبلية. المجلة الأمريكية لعلم الأشعة. 2017; doi:10.2214/AJR.16.17131.

يمكنك في مايو كلينك الاستفادة من أحدث التقنيات والطرق التشخيصية في مجال سرطان الثدي وعلاجه. يتولى التصوير خبراء أشعة متخصصون في تصوير الثدي، بمن فيهم العديد ممن أكملوا برامج تدريبية إضافية ومتقدمة. تشمل التقنيات التي نستخدمها في تصوير الثدي التصوير الجزيئي (MBI)، والتصوير الشعاعي، والتصوير الشعاعي ثلاثي الأبعاد (tomosynthesis) والتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). وندرس حاليًا تقنيات جديدة تشمل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) المحسَّن بالتباين، والتصوير الشعاعي الرقمي المحسَّن بالتباين للثدي. بالنسبة للنساء اللاتي يتميزن بكثافة أنسجة الثدي، فإن التصوير الجزيئي للثدي (MBI) قادر على اكتشاف السرطانات بنسبة تفوق بثلاثة أضعاف قدرة التصوير الشعاعي للثدي (الماموجرام). بناء على الأبحاث التي نشرها خبراء مايو كلينك، فإن اختبار التصوير الجزيئي للثدي (MBI) خيار جيد للنساء اللاتي يسعين إلى إجراء فحوصات إضافية بسبب كثافة الثدي العالية، ولكن لا تنطبق عليهن معايير ارتفاع الخطورة التي يمكن أن تؤهلهن لفحص التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). نقدم في مايو كلينك اختبارات متخصصة تستند على المؤشرات الحيوية.

الاستفادة من االتجارب السريرية

ووفرت مايو كلينك للمرضى إمكانية الاستفادة من أكثر من 40 تجربة علاجية تدخّلية سنة 2019. وعلى مدى السنوات العشر الماضية، أتيحت للمرضى المصابين بالسرطان المنتشر الاستفادة من 55 تجربة سريرية. وقد انبثقت العديد من هذه التجارب عن اكتشافات توصّل إليها علماء مايو كلينك. مايو كلينك معترف بها كإحدى المعاهد الرئيسية لبحوث سرطان الثدي في الولايات المتحدة. وهي معتمدة أيضًا كمركز شامل للسرطان من قبل المعهد الوطني للسرطان (NCI)، كما تُجري الأبحاث الخاصة بسرطان الثدي في المركز النسائي للسرطان وكذلك في مركز البرامج المتخصصة للتميز البحثي (SPORE) في مجال سرطان الثدي، والمعتمد كذلك من قبل المعهد الوطني للسرطان (NCI). نركز في أبحاثنا ومعايير الممارسات الطبية التي نتبناها على تلبية احتياجات جميع المرضى. إن الخصائص السكانية للمنخرطين في التجارب السريرية التدخلية في مجال السرطان يعكس تنوع فئات مرضى السرطان في المناطق المحيطة بنا.

التركيز على النتائج التجميلية

يَستخدم خبراؤنا تقنيات مبتكرة (جراحة الأورام التجميلية) لتحسين مظهر الثدي والسيطرة الفائقة على السرطان، مثل الجمع بين عمليتي استئصال الكتلة الورمية وشد الثدي أو تصغيره. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإننا نجري عملية استئصال الثدي مع الحفاظ على الحلمة لتحسين مظهر الثدي المعاد بناؤه، ونقدم تقنيات تتميز بالحفاظ على العضلات بحيث نعيد بناء الثدي باستخدام أنسجة من جسم المريضة نفسها. نسعى لتقليل الحاجة لاستئصال العقدة الليمفاوية للحد من مخاطر الوذمة اللمفية المتصلة بالجراحة، وذلك باستخدام تقنيات مثل أخذ خزعة من العقد اللمفية الحارسة واستخدام العلاجات المساندة الحديثة. في نفس الوقت فإن نموذج الرعاية الذي نقدمه يستند على الخبرة في التقنيات الحديثة، مثل العلاج بالبروتونات لتقليل تعرض الخلايا الصحية للإشعاع، مما يساعد في منع الآثار الجانبية.

لا تتوقف خدمات الرعاية التي تقدمها مايو كلينك عند عودتك إلى المنزل.

تقدم مايو كلينك خدمات المتابعة عن بُعد لحالتك الصحية من خلال الاستشارات الإلكترونية عن طريق أطباء محليين. قدمت مايو كلينك في روتشستر بولاية مينيسوتا وفينيكس وسكوتسديل بولاية أريزونا وجاكسونفيل بولاية فلوريدا أكثر من 34 ألف استشارة عن بُعد في كانون الثاني/يناير 2021 وحده. يمكنك الاستفادة من خبراتنا أينما كنت وطيلة مسيرة شفائك.

27/04/2022

Living with سرطان الثدي?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Breast Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Breast Cancer Discussions

sabithamayo
Triple negative breast cancer recurrence

18 Replies Sun, Jul 03, 2022

adanab
Looking for a fix for Extreme Fatigue

3 Replies Tue, Jun 28, 2022

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Breast cancer. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  2. Breast cancer. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  3. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Diseases of the breast. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  4. Leading new cancer cases and deaths — 2017 estimates. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/research/cancer-facts-statistics/all-cancer-facts-figures/cancer-facts-figures-2017.html. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  5. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 21, 2017.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Breast reconstruction. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  7. What you need to know about breast cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/wyntk-breast-cancer. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  8. Breast cancer risk assessment and screening in average-risk women. American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Resources-And-Publications/Practice-Bulletins/Committee-on-Practice-Bulletins-Gynecology/Breast-Cancer-Risk-Assessment-and-Screening-in-Average-Risk-Women. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  9. Cancer‐related fatigue. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  11. McDermott AM, et al. Surgeon and breast unit volume-outcome relationships in breast cancer surgery and treatment. Annals of Surgery. 2013;258:808.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Tamoxifen and CYP2D6 (pharmacogenomics). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  13. Breast SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/breast.htm. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  14. National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers. American College of Surgeons. https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/napbc. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  15. Toledo E, et al. Mediterranean diet and invasive breast cancer risk among women at high cardiovascular risk in the PREDIMED trial. JAMA Internal Medicine. 2015;175:1752.
  16. Breast cancer prevention — Patient version (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/hp/breast-prevention-pdq. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  17. Pruthi S, et al. Successful implementation of a telemedicine-based counseling program for high-risk patients with breast cancer. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2013;88:68.
  18. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 24, 2017.
  19. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 29, 2019.
  20. Anders CK, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors and the clinical approach to ER/PR negative, HER2-negative (triple negative) breast cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2019.
  21. Couch FJ, et al. Associations between cancer predisposition testing panel genes and breast cancer. JAMA Oncology. 2017;3:1190.

Outcomes & ratings

How is Mayo Clinic’s care model designed to meet my personal needs?

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account and addresses all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Paula Hill: My name is Paula Hill. I have lived here in the valley for over 30 years. I'm the mother of four grown children and the wife of a retired firefighter.

I had been for a routine mammogram and the results came back normal. Shortly following that I had my annual exam with my regular GYN, who did a breast exam, and found a lump. I then got a phone call a few days later saying that it was, in fact, cancer and that I should start investigating treatment. But I was also familiar with Mayo Clinic because my father had been treated about five years previous with some very cutting edge technology for a heart condition. So I included Mayo in my search for treatment knowing that they had probably the best and most advanced team available.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D., Surgical Oncologist, Mayo Clinic: I was the first one that Paula saw when she came to Mayo Clinic and that's not uncommon in patients who are newly diagnosed with breast cancer, they come and meet with the surgeon first.

Paula Hill: When my husband and I got home that day we knew that Mayo was really where we wanted to be. The treatment plan that was laid out for me was six months of chemotherapy, followed by surgery, followed by 20 rounds of radiation, and then one year of Herceptin treatments, but what I liked about the plan was that surgery wasn't first and that they were taking an opportunity to shrink the tumor so that there was a very good chance I could have just a lumpectomy versus a full mastectomy and that really appealed to me.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D.: What I told Paula she had good news, bad news. Bad news is she had the breast cancer and it was an aggressive breast cancer. The good news is these aggressive breast cancers really respond to treatment.

Donald Northfelt, M.D. Associate Medical Director, Breast Clinic at Mayo Clinic: After we had reviewed her case we recognized that she was qualified to participate in a clinical trial that we had going on at the time. This trial is called the I-SPY 2 trial and it was a study of various treatment options for locally advanced breast cancer. The study included testing of new drugs specifically designed to work against the HER2 protein and in that way to favorably treat her cancer.

Paula Hill: One of the things we wanted to know was how far advanced the trial was and how much success they'd had with the drug. So we learned that the trial was in the later phases. That it had already been used on human beings. I wasn't the first, and that all of the regular protocol treatment for breast cancer, my particular breast cancer, would also be included in addition to the trial drug, so I would not miss out on any treatment that I would normally get. This would be in addition to, in hopes that it would shrink the tumor even further.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D.: Paula did go on to the I-SPY trial and we had really remarkable response. She had a big tumor, with lymph nodes positive, and after it was done we had the imaging and nothing showed up on imaging. That doesn't always mean we don't find anything at surgery, but it means it shrunk a lot and we have really all the options open.

Donald Northfelt, M.D.: This is why we come to work every day. We hope to see these kinds of outcomes for our patients. We're even more grateful when we see it happen in the context of a clinical trial. In the clinical trial new ideas are being applied to the treatment of cancer and we are always so hopeful that those are going to lead to better outcomes for our patients.

Paula Hill: I actually resumed many, well, I've resumed my whole life, and I have a completely different outlook on life now. I think I'm much happier, less picky, not so much a perfectionist, and I really just enjoy everything that comes my way.

Leaders in Team-Based Care

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account and addresses all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Our High Risk Breast Clinic also provides multidisciplinary care to patients with an increased risk of breast cancer due to familial or breast biopsy-based risk factors. Whether you are at high risk of breast cancer or whether your cancer is early stage or complex and late stage, your multidisciplinary care team carefully weighs all your treatment options to create a plan that's personalized for you.

U.S. News & World Report Top Hospital Rankings, 2020-2021

Ranked #1 Hospital Nationwide

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota

Ranked #1 Hospital in Arizona

Mayo Clinic in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona

Ranked #1 Hospital in Florida

Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida

Outcomes & ratings

Leaders in Team-Based Care

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Our High Risk Breast Clinic also provides multidisciplinary care to patients with an increased risk of breast cancer due to familial or breast biopsy-based risk factors. Whether you are at high risk of breast cancer or whether your cancer is early stage or complex and late stage, your multidisciplinary care team carefully weighs all your treatment options to create a plan that's personalized for you.

U.S. News & World Report Top Hospital Rankings, 2021-2022

  • Ranked #1 Hospital Nationwide: Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota
  • Ranked #1 Hospital in Arizona: Mayo Clinic in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Ranked #1 Hospital in Florida: Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida

Expertise and experience

Physicians at Mayo Clinic treat many patients like you every year. In a typical year, we provide some first course treatment or decision-making for approximately 1,700 patients with breast cancer across our three major centers. In 2019, our skilled surgeons performed over 990 lumpectomies and over 675 mastectomies to treat women with breast cancer, and we performed immediate breast reconstruction (reconstruction at the same time as the mastectomy) in more than 425 patients.* This same year, more than 900 patients received radiotherapy for breast cancer, and over 1,290 patients received chemotherapy for breast cancer.† Our High Risk Breast Clinic has over 3,400 visits annually.‡ Thousands more patients with breast cancer receive care of any kind at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, annually:

  • 1,700+ patients provided first course treatment or decision-making
  • 990+ lumpectomies
  • 675+ mastectomies
  • 425+ patients receiving immediate breast reconstruction
  • 900+ patients treated with radiotherapy for breast cancer
  • 1,290+ patients treated with chemotherapy for breast cancer

*Surgical procedures performed in 2019 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

†Radiotherapy and chemotherapy performed in 2019 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

‡High Risk Breast Clinic at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and Jacksonville, Florida

Minimal disruption to your life

At Mayo Clinic we strive to provide world-class care with minimal disruption to your life.

Surgical procedure same-day discharge percentages
Procedure Same-day discharge

Surgical procedures performed from March 2020 to August 2020 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

IBR = Immediate breast reconstruction

Lumpectomy 95.7%
Mastectomy, no IBR 66.4%
Mastectomy, IBR 34.8%
Radiation therapy completion
Therapy type Completed in 5 days or less
Radiation therapy for early-stage breast cancer 60.0%

Results that show in patient ratings

Patient satisfaction with Mayo Clinic is very high. Among patients who underwent outpatient lumpectomy or mastectomy for breast cancer and responded to a survey about their visit for surgery, 99% of patients gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top rating for overall satisfaction with care, confidence in their physician and many other categories. Patients also rate their office visits with high satisfaction. Among patients who underwent first course treatment for breast cancer and responded to a survey about an office visit, 99% gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top overall rating of care. Satisfaction is especially high among patients with metastatic cancer, where 100% of patients with metastatic cancer who responded to a survey gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top overall rating of care for their office visits for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic.

Patient experience with lumpectomy and mastectomy§
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

§Patients who underwent lumpectomy or mastectomy at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2019

Overall rating of care received during your visit 99.7%
Likelihood of recommending to others 98.8%
Your confidence in the skill of the physician 99.7%
Staff effort to include you in decisions about your treatment 99.1%
Staff's sensitivity and responsiveness to your special/individual needs 99.1%
Patient experience with office visits for breast cancer**
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

**Patients who received first course treatment or a decision not to treat with an office visit for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2017

Overall rating of care received during your visit 99.5%
Likelihood of recommending to others 99.5%
Your confidence in the care provider 99.1%
Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment 99.0%
Our sensitivity to your needs 98.4%
Patient experience with office visits among patients with metastatic breast cancer††
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

††Patients with metastatic breast cancer with an office visit for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2017

Overall rating of care received during your visit 100%
Likelihood of recommending to others 100%
Your confidence in the care provider 93.3%
Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment 93.3%
Our sensitivity to your needs 96.6%

World-class breast cancer care

In a typical year, patients from over 20 countries and over 45 U.S. states and territories undergo radiation, surgery, or receive other first course treatment or decision-making for breast cancer care at Mayo Clinic.‡‡ We offer a full range of treatment options, including surgery, chemotherapy, hormone therapy, radiation therapy, targeted drug therapy and clinical trials across the care journey. World-class expertise, care processes, imaging techniques and interpretation of data in clinical decision-making drive results in key outcomes at Mayo Clinic. We strive to deliver the best possible outcomes for each individual patient.

  • Genetic counseling
  • World-class imaging
  • Breast pathologists
  • Surgery
  • Reconstruction
  • Chemotherapy
  • Hormone therapy
  • Radiation therapy
  • Targeted drug therapy
  • Lymphedema prevention and management
  • Clinical trials

‡‡Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2019

Advanced screening technologies and diagnostic accuracy

At Mayo Clinic, our breast imaging experts collaborate across all Mayo Clinic locations.

Imaging and exams across all Mayo Clinic sites in 2019:

  • 117,000+ screening mammography exams
  • 680+ contrast-enhanced screening mammography exams
  • 33,000+ diagnostic mammography exams
  • 19,000+ breast ultrasound exams
  • 4,800+ breast MRI exams
  • 2,900+ breast MBI exams
  • 5,900+ image-guided needle biopsies
Sources:
  1. Hruska CB, et al. Diagnostic workup and costs of a single supplemental molecular breast imaging screen of mammographically dense breasts. American Journal of Roentgenology. 2015; doi:10.2214/AJR.14.13306.
  2. Hruska CB. Molecular breast imaging for screening in dense breasts: State of the art and future directions. American Journal of Roentgenology. 2017; doi:10.2214/AJR.16.17131.

At Mayo Clinic, you have access to the latest technology and techniques to diagnose and treat breast cancer. Imaging is done by radiologists who specialize in breast imaging, including many who've completed additional, advanced training programs. Our technology includes molecular breast imaging (MBI), digital mammography, 3D mammography (tomosynthesis) and breast magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). We are studying new technology including dynamic contrast-enhanced MRI and contrastenhanced digital mammography. In women with dense breast tissue, screening with MBI detected three times as many cancers as mammography. As Mayo Clinic researchers have published, MBI is a good option for women seeking additional screening because of high breast density, but who do not meet the high-risk criteria to qualify for an MRI. At Mayo Clinic we have specialty testing for biomarkers.

Access to clinical trials

Mayo Clinic provided patients access to over 40 interventional treatment trials in 2019, and over the last 10 years patients with metastatic cancer have had access to 55 trials. Many of these trials are born out of discoveries made by Mayo Clinic scientists. Mayo Clinic is recognized as one of the premier breast cancer research institutes in the U.S. Mayo Clinic is a National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated comprehensive cancer center, and breast cancer research is conducted within the Women's Cancer Program as well as the NCI-sponsored Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE). We focus our research and practice to meet the needs of all populations. Enrollment in our cancer-related interventional trials reflects the diversity of the cancer population in our surrounding areas.

Focus on cosmetic outcome

Our experts are using innovative techniques (oncoplastic surgery) that optimize the appearance of your breast and maintain excellent cancer control, such as combining lumpectomy with a breast lift or breast reduction. In addition, we perform nipple-sparing mastectomy to improve the appearance of the reconstructed breast and offer muscle-sparing breast reconstruction techniques to create a new breast using your own tissue. We limit lymph node removal to reduce the risk of surgery-related lymphedema by using techniques such as sentinel lymph node biopsy and neoadjuvant therapy. At the same time, our care model incorporates expertise in techniques including proton therapy to reduce radiation exposure to healthy normal tissues to prevent side effects.

Your care journey with Mayo Clinic doesn't stop when you return home

Mayo Clinic offers remote capability to monitor your case through eConsults with your local providers and telemedicine to your home. Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, conducted over 34,000 virtual visits in January 2021 alone. Carry our expertise with you throughout your journey.

April 27, 2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Breast cancer. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  2. Breast cancer. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  3. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Diseases of the breast. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  4. Leading new cancer cases and deaths — 2017 estimates. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/research/cancer-facts-statistics/all-cancer-facts-figures/cancer-facts-figures-2017.html. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  5. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 21, 2017.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Breast reconstruction. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  7. What you need to know about breast cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/wyntk-breast-cancer. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  8. Breast cancer risk assessment and screening in average-risk women. American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Resources-And-Publications/Practice-Bulletins/Committee-on-Practice-Bulletins-Gynecology/Breast-Cancer-Risk-Assessment-and-Screening-in-Average-Risk-Women. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  9. Cancer‐related fatigue. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  11. McDermott AM, et al. Surgeon and breast unit volume-outcome relationships in breast cancer surgery and treatment. Annals of Surgery. 2013;258:808.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Tamoxifen and CYP2D6 (pharmacogenomics). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  13. Breast SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/breast.htm. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  14. National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers. American College of Surgeons. https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/napbc. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  15. Toledo E, et al. Mediterranean diet and invasive breast cancer risk among women at high cardiovascular risk in the PREDIMED trial. JAMA Internal Medicine. 2015;175:1752.
  16. Breast cancer prevention — Patient version (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/hp/breast-prevention-pdq. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  17. Pruthi S, et al. Successful implementation of a telemedicine-based counseling program for high-risk patients with breast cancer. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2013;88:68.
  18. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 24, 2017.
  19. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 29, 2019.
  20. Anders CK, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors and the clinical approach to ER/PR negative, HER2-negative (triple negative) breast cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2019.
  21. Couch FJ, et al. Associations between cancer predisposition testing panel genes and breast cancer. JAMA Oncology. 2017;3:1190.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services