结果和评分

妙佑医疗国际的护理模式如何满足我的个人需求?

我们通常提供全人护理,考虑到并解决您的所有需求。我们的多学科护理汇集了一些专家,他们共同合作,根据您的个人需求确定最佳的疗程和治疗顺序。

Paula Hill:我的名字是 Paula Hill。我在这个山谷地区已经生活了 30 多年。我的四个孩子已经成年,我丈夫是一名退役消防员。

我当时做了一次常规的乳房 X 光造影检查,结果显示正常。此后不久,我在自己的妇科医生那里进行年度体检,并做了乳房检查,结果发现了一个肿块。几天后,我接到一个电话,告诉我那其实是癌症,我需要开始考虑治疗。不过,我对妙佑医疗国际也很熟悉,因为我父亲在大约五年前曾因心脏状况接受过一些非常先进的技术治疗。所以我把妙佑医疗纳入我的治疗搜索范围,因为我知道他们可能拥有最好和最先进的团队。

Barbara Pockaj,医学博士,妙佑医疗国际外科肿瘤医生:当 Paula 来到妙佑医疗国际就诊时,我和她第一个见面。对于新诊断为乳腺癌的患者来说,这是常规做法;她们来到这里,首先与外科医生会面。

Paula Hill:当我丈夫和我那天回到家时,我们知道妙佑医疗确实是我们想去的地方。为我制定的治疗计划是六个月的化疗,然后是手术,接着是 20 轮放射治疗,然后是一年的赫赛汀治疗。而我喜欢这个计划的原因是,没有先做手术,他们找到机会去缩小肿瘤,这样我很有可能只需要做肿块切除术,而不是全乳房切除术。这真的很吸引我。

Barbara Pockaj,医学博士:我告诉 Paula 的是,她有一个好消息和一个坏消息。坏消息是她得了乳腺癌,而且是一种侵袭性乳腺癌。好消息是治疗对这些侵袭性乳腺癌真的有效。

Donald Northfelt,医学博士,妙佑医疗国际乳腺专科门诊医疗副主任:我们查看了她的病例后,意识到她有资格参加我们当时正在进行的一项临床试验。这项试验称为 I-SPY 2 试验,是一项关于局部晚期乳腺癌的各种治疗方案的研究。该研究包括测试专门用于对抗 HER2 蛋白质的新药物,并以这种方式对她的癌症进行有利的治疗。

Paula Hill:我们想知道的一件事是这项试验进展到了什么程度,以及他们用这种药物取得了多少成功。因此,我们得知这项试验处于后期阶段。它已经用于人类身上了。我不是第一个参与者,而且除了试验药物之外,乳腺癌、尤其是我所罹患的乳腺癌类型的所有常规治疗方案也将包括在内,所以我不会错过任何我通常会得到的治疗。而且,这还有望进一步缩小肿瘤。

Barbara Pockaj,医学博士:结果,Paula 参加了 I-SPY 试验,而且取得了非常显著的治疗效果。她原本有一个很大的肿瘤,淋巴结呈阳性;试验之后我们做了影像学检查,但没有检查到任何东西。这并不总是意味着我们在手术中不会发现任何肿瘤,但它确实意味着肿瘤缩小了很多,而且我们的所有方案都可以备选。

Donald Northfelt,医学博士:这就是我们每天来工作的原因。我们希望看到患者取得这样的结果。当我们在临床试验中看到这种效果时,更加充满感恩之情。在临床试验中,新的想法被应用于癌症治疗。我们总是满怀期望,希望这些新的想法将为我们的患者带来更好的结果。

Paula Hill:我实际上恢复了很多,嗯,我恢复了我的整个生活,我现在有一个完全不同的人生观。我认为我比以前快乐许多,不再那么挑剔,也不再苛求完美,我真的只是享受我所遇到的一切。

团队式护理的佼佼者

我们提供全人护理,考虑到并解决您的所有需求。我们的多学科护理汇集多方专家,他们共同合作,根据您的个人需求确定最佳的治疗方式和顺序。

我们的高危乳腺专科门诊还为因家族或乳房活检风险因素而有更高风险罹患乳腺癌的患者提供多学科护理。无论您是乳腺癌高危人群,还是患有早期或复杂的晚期癌症,多学科护理团队都会仔细权衡您所有的治疗方案,为您制定个性化的计划。

《美国新闻与世界报道》2022-2023 顶级医院排名

全美排名第一的医院

妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区

亚利桑那全州医院排名第一

妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城和斯科茨代尔院区

佛罗里达全州医院排名第一

妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区

结果和分级

团队合作治疗的引领者

我们通常提供全人护理,考虑到您的所有需求。我们的多学科护理汇集多方专家,他们共同合作,根据您的个人需求确定最佳的治疗方式和顺序。作为我们独特的综合护理实践模式的一部分,我们为患有某些类型早期乳腺癌的女性提供快速治疗方案。这使得一些患者可以在不到 10 天的时间内完成整个治疗,包括手术和放射疗法。

我们的高危乳腺专科门诊还为因家族或乳房活检风险因素而有更高风险罹患乳腺癌的患者提供多学科护理。无论您是乳腺癌高危人群,还是患有早期或复杂的晚期癌症,多学科护理团队都会仔细权衡您所有的治疗方案,为您制定个性化的计划。

《美国新闻与世界报道》2022-2023 顶级医院排名

  • 全美医院排名第一:妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区
  • 亚利桑那全州医院排名第一:妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城和斯科茨代尔院区
  • 佛罗里达全州医院排名第一:妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区

专业技能和经验

妙佑医疗国际的医生每年会治疗许多像您这样的患者。我们的三个主要中心一般一年会为大约 1700 名乳腺癌患者提供第一疗程治疗或决策。2019 年,我们技术高超的外科医生为乳腺癌女性患者进行了超过 990 例肿块切除术和超过 675 例乳房切除术,并为超过 425 例患者进行了即刻乳房重建术(重建术与乳房切除术同时进行)。*同年,有 900 多名患者接受乳腺癌放疗,1290 多名患者接受乳腺癌化疗。†高危乳腺专科门诊每年接诊超过 3400 人次。‡多达数千名乳腺癌患者在妙佑医疗国际接受各种形式的护理。

妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区,年度:

  • 1700 多名患者接受第一疗程治疗或决策
  • 990+ 例乳房肿瘤切除术
  • 675+ 例乳房切除术
  • 425+ 名患者接受即刻乳房重建术
  • 900+ 名患者接受乳腺癌放疗
  • 超过 1290 名患者接受乳腺癌化疗

*2019 年在妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区进行的外科类手术

†2019 年在妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区进行的放射疗法和化疗

‡位于明尼苏达州罗切斯特和佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔的妙佑医疗国际高危乳腺专科门诊

减少对您生活的干扰

在妙佑医疗国际,我们努力提供世界一流的护理,同时尽量减少对您生活的干扰。

外科类手术当天出院百分比
手术 当天出院

2020 年 3 月到 2020 年 8 月,在妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区进行的外科类手术

IBR = 即刻乳房重建

肿块切除 95.7%
乳房切除术后不进行即刻乳房重建 66.4%
乳房切除术后进行即刻乳房重建 34.8%
放射疗法完成
治疗类型 在 5 天或更短的时间内完成
早期乳腺癌放射疗法 60.0%

患者评分中显示的结果

患者对妙佑医疗国际的满意度非常高。在因乳腺癌接受了门诊肿块切除术或乳房切除术并接受了手术访视调查的患者中,99% 的患者在对总体护理满意度、对医生的信心和许多其他类别方面均给予妙佑医疗国际最高或接近最高的评分。患者对就诊的满意度也很高。在接受了乳腺癌首疗程治疗并接受了就诊调查的患者中,99% 的患者对总体护理评价给予妙佑医疗国际最高或接近最高的评分。转移性癌症患者的满意度最高,在接受了调查的转移性癌症患者中,高达 100% 的患者对妙佑医疗国际乳腺癌就诊的总体护理评价给予了最高或接近最高的评分。

乳房肿块切除术和乳房切除术患者体验§
好或非常好(最高的两个评分)
类别 评分

注:由 Press Ganey 管理的患者体验调查

§ 2019 年在妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区接受了乳房肿块切除术或乳房切除术的患者

对您就诊期间所接受护理的总体评价 99.7%
向他人推荐的可能性 98.8%
您对医生医术的信心 99.7%
工作人员努力让您参与有关您治疗的决策 99.1%
医务人员对您的特殊/个人需求的敏感度和响应度 99.1%
乳腺癌患者就诊的患者体验**
好或非常好(最高的两个评分)
类别 评分

注:由 Press Ganey 管理的患者体验调查

**2017 年在妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区接受了第一疗程治疗或决定不治疗的乳腺癌患者

对您就诊期间所接受护理的总体评价 99.5%
向他人推荐的可能性 99.5%
您对医务人员的信心 99.1%
医务人员努力让您参与有关您治疗的决策 99.0%
我们对您需求的敏感度 98.4%
转移性乳腺癌患者就诊体验††
好或非常好(最高的两个评分)
类别 评分

注:由 Press Ganey 管理的患者体验调查

††2017 年在妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区就诊的转移性乳腺癌患者

对您就诊期间所接受护理的总体评价 100%
向他人推荐的可能性 100%
您对医务人员的信心 93.3%
医务人员努力让您参与有关您治疗的决策 93.3%
我们对您需求的敏感度 96.6%

世界一流的乳腺癌护理

在典型的一年中,会有来自 20 多个国家和 45 个以上的美国州和地区的患者来到妙佑医疗国际,接受放射疗法、进行手术或其他首疗程治疗,或是就乳腺癌治疗做出决定。‡‡在治疗过程中,我们提供全方位的治疗方案,包括手术、化疗、激素治疗、放射治疗、靶向药物治疗和临床试验。世界一流的专业技术、护理流程、成像技术和临床决策中的数据解读推动妙佑医疗国际取得重大成果。我们力求让每位患者获得尽可能好的治疗结果。

  • 基因咨询
  • 世界一流的成像
  • 乳房病理科医生
  • 外科手术
  • 骨重建
  • 化疗
  • 激素治疗
  • 放射疗法
  • 靶向药物治疗
  • 淋巴水肿预防和管理
  • 临床试验

‡‡2019 年妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区以及佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区

先进的筛查技术和诊断准确度

在妙佑医疗国际,所有院区的乳腺影像学专家会通力合作。

2019 年,妙佑医疗国际所有地点的影像学检查和其他检查:

  • 117,000 多项筛查性乳腺 X 线摄影检查
  • 680 多项对比增强筛查性乳腺 X 线摄影检查
  • 33,000 多项诊断性乳腺 X 线摄影检查
  • 19,000 多项乳腺超声检查
  • 4800 多项乳房 MRI 检查
  • 2900 多项乳腺 MBI 检查
  • 5900 多项影像引导下的穿刺活检
来源:
  1. Hruska CB 等人。《乳腺 X 线摄影致密型乳房单一补充性分子乳腺成像筛查的诊断检查和费用》。《美国放射学杂志》。2015 年;doi:10.2214/AJR.14.13306。
  2. Hruska CB。《致密型乳腺的分子乳腺成像筛查:技术现状和未来发展方向。》《美国放射学杂志》。2017 年;doi:10.2214/AJR.16.17131。

在妙佑医疗国际,您可以获享乳腺癌诊断和治疗领域最先进的技术和方法。由专业从事乳腺成像的放射科医生完成成像,包括很多接受过额外高级课程培训的放射科医生。我们的可用技术包括分子乳腺成像(MBI)、数字乳腺 X 线摄影、3D 乳腺 X 线摄影(体层融合)和乳腺磁共振成像(MRI)。我们正在研究包括动态对比增强 MRI 和对比增强数字乳腺 X 线摄影在内的新技术。在有乳腺组织致密的女性中,通过 MBI 筛查检测出的癌症病例数是乳腺 X 线摄影的三倍。正如妙佑医疗国际研究人员所发表的文献所述,对于因乳腺密度高而寻求额外筛查,但不符合 MRI 检查的高危标准的女性来说,MBI 是不错的选项。在妙佑医疗国际,我们提供针对生物标志物的专业检测。

参加临床试验

妙佑医疗国际在 2019 年为患者提供了参加 40 多项介入治疗试验的机会;而在过去 10 年中,我们为转移癌患者提供了参加 55 项试验的机会。妙佑医疗国际科学家的研究发现促成了许多这样的试验。妙佑医疗国际被公认为美国首屈一指的乳腺癌研究机构之一。妙佑医疗国际是美国国家癌症研究所(NCI)指定的综合癌症中心,并在妇女癌症计划以及 NCI 申办的妙佑医疗国际乳腺癌专科卓越研究项目(SPORE)范围内进行乳腺癌研究。我们专注于研究和实践,力求满足所有人群的需求。我们癌症相关介入试验的入组情况可反映我们周围地区癌症人群的多样性。

着眼于美容效果

我们的专家会采用创新技术(肿瘤整形手术)优化乳房的外形,同时维持良好的癌症控制,例如联合使用肿块切除术和乳房上提术或缩胸术。此外,我们会实施保留乳头乳房切除术以改善重建乳房的外形,并提供肌肉非损伤性乳房重建技术,使用患者自己的组织创建一个新乳房。我们通过使用前哨淋巴结活检和新型辅助治疗技术进行有限淋巴结摘除,从而降低手术相关淋巴水肿的风险。同时,我们的护理模式结合了包括质子疗法在内的技术专业技能,以减少健康正常组织的辐射暴露,防止副作用。

您在妙佑医疗国际的护理之旅不会因为您回家而停止

妙佑医疗国际提供远程服务,通过与您当地的医务人员进行远程会诊以及居家远程医疗来监测您的病情。仅在 2021 年 1 月,妙佑医疗国际的明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城和斯科茨代尔院区和佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区就提供了 34,000 多次线上诊疗。在您的整个旅程中,我们的专业技能相伴左右。

April 27, 2022

Living with 乳腺癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Breast Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Breast Cancer Discussions

drummergirl
Anyone used anything that helps with chemo hair loss?

15 Replies Thu, Nov 17, 2022

Becky, Volunteer Mentor
The Patient Portal—Help or Hindrance?

91 Replies Tue, Nov 01, 2022

See more discussions
  1. AskMayoExpert. Breast cancer. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  2. Breast cancer. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  3. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Diseases of the breast. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  4. Leading new cancer cases and deaths — 2017 estimates. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/research/cancer-facts-statistics/all-cancer-facts-figures/cancer-facts-figures-2017.html. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  5. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 21, 2017.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Breast reconstruction. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  7. What you need to know about breast cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/wyntk-breast-cancer. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  8. Breast cancer risk assessment and screening in average-risk women. American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Resources-And-Publications/Practice-Bulletins/Committee-on-Practice-Bulletins-Gynecology/Breast-Cancer-Risk-Assessment-and-Screening-in-Average-Risk-Women. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  9. Cancer‐related fatigue. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  11. McDermott AM, et al. Surgeon and breast unit volume-outcome relationships in breast cancer surgery and treatment. Annals of Surgery. 2013;258:808.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Tamoxifen and CYP2D6 (pharmacogenomics). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  13. Breast SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/breast.htm. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  14. National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers. American College of Surgeons. https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/napbc. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  15. Toledo E, et al. Mediterranean diet and invasive breast cancer risk among women at high cardiovascular risk in the PREDIMED trial. JAMA Internal Medicine. 2015;175:1752.
  16. Breast cancer prevention — Patient version (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/hp/breast-prevention-pdq. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  17. Pruthi S, et al. Successful implementation of a telemedicine-based counseling program for high-risk patients with breast cancer. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2013;88:68.
  18. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 24, 2017.
  19. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 29, 2019.
  20. Anders CK, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors and the clinical approach to ER/PR negative, HER2-negative (triple negative) breast cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2019.
  21. Couch FJ, et al. Associations between cancer predisposition testing panel genes and breast cancer. JAMA Oncology. 2017;3:1190.

Outcomes & ratings

How is Mayo Clinic’s care model designed to meet my personal needs?

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account and addresses all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Paula Hill: My name is Paula Hill. I have lived here in the valley for over 30 years. I'm the mother of four grown children and the wife of a retired firefighter.

I had been for a routine mammogram and the results came back normal. Shortly following that I had my annual exam with my regular GYN, who did a breast exam, and found a lump. I then got a phone call a few days later saying that it was, in fact, cancer and that I should start investigating treatment. But I was also familiar with Mayo Clinic because my father had been treated about five years previous with some very cutting edge technology for a heart condition. So I included Mayo in my search for treatment knowing that they had probably the best and most advanced team available.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D., Surgical Oncologist, Mayo Clinic: I was the first one that Paula saw when she came to Mayo Clinic and that's not uncommon in patients who are newly diagnosed with breast cancer, they come and meet with the surgeon first.

Paula Hill: When my husband and I got home that day we knew that Mayo was really where we wanted to be. The treatment plan that was laid out for me was six months of chemotherapy, followed by surgery, followed by 20 rounds of radiation, and then one year of Herceptin treatments, but what I liked about the plan was that surgery wasn't first and that they were taking an opportunity to shrink the tumor so that there was a very good chance I could have just a lumpectomy versus a full mastectomy and that really appealed to me.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D.: What I told Paula she had good news, bad news. Bad news is she had the breast cancer and it was an aggressive breast cancer. The good news is these aggressive breast cancers really respond to treatment.

Donald Northfelt, M.D. Associate Medical Director, Breast Clinic at Mayo Clinic: After we had reviewed her case we recognized that she was qualified to participate in a clinical trial that we had going on at the time. This trial is called the I-SPY 2 trial and it was a study of various treatment options for locally advanced breast cancer. The study included testing of new drugs specifically designed to work against the HER2 protein and in that way to favorably treat her cancer.

Paula Hill: One of the things we wanted to know was how far advanced the trial was and how much success they'd had with the drug. So we learned that the trial was in the later phases. That it had already been used on human beings. I wasn't the first, and that all of the regular protocol treatment for breast cancer, my particular breast cancer, would also be included in addition to the trial drug, so I would not miss out on any treatment that I would normally get. This would be in addition to, in hopes that it would shrink the tumor even further.

Barbara Pockaj, M.D.: Paula did go on to the I-SPY trial and we had really remarkable response. She had a big tumor, with lymph nodes positive, and after it was done we had the imaging and nothing showed up on imaging. That doesn't always mean we don't find anything at surgery, but it means it shrunk a lot and we have really all the options open.

Donald Northfelt, M.D.: This is why we come to work every day. We hope to see these kinds of outcomes for our patients. We're even more grateful when we see it happen in the context of a clinical trial. In the clinical trial new ideas are being applied to the treatment of cancer and we are always so hopeful that those are going to lead to better outcomes for our patients.

Paula Hill: I actually resumed many, well, I've resumed my whole life, and I have a completely different outlook on life now. I think I'm much happier, less picky, not so much a perfectionist, and I really just enjoy everything that comes my way.

Leaders in Team-Based Care

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account and addresses all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Our High Risk Breast Clinic also provides multidisciplinary care to patients with an increased risk of breast cancer due to familial or breast biopsy-based risk factors. Whether you are at high risk of breast cancer or whether your cancer is early stage or complex and late stage, your multidisciplinary care team carefully weighs all your treatment options to create a plan that's personalized for you.

U.S. News & World Report Top Hospital Rankings, 2020-2021

Ranked #1 Hospital Nationwide

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota

Ranked #1 Hospital in Arizona

Mayo Clinic in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona

Ranked #1 Hospital in Florida

Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida

Outcomes & ratings

Leaders in Team-Based Care

Our practice provides whole-person care that takes into account all of your needs. Our multidisciplinary care brings together experts who work together to determine the best course and sequence of therapy according to your individual needs.

Our High Risk Breast Clinic also provides multidisciplinary care to patients with an increased risk of breast cancer due to familial or breast biopsy-based risk factors. Whether you are at high risk of breast cancer or whether your cancer is early stage or complex and late stage, your multidisciplinary care team carefully weighs all your treatment options to create a plan that's personalized for you.

U.S. News & World Report Top Hospital Rankings, 2021-2022

  • Ranked #1 Hospital Nationwide: Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota
  • Ranked #1 Hospital in Arizona: Mayo Clinic in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Ranked #1 Hospital in Florida: Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida

Expertise and experience

Physicians at Mayo Clinic treat many patients like you every year. In a typical year, we provide some first course treatment or decision-making for approximately 1,700 patients with breast cancer across our three major centers. In 2019, our skilled surgeons performed over 990 lumpectomies and over 675 mastectomies to treat women with breast cancer, and we performed immediate breast reconstruction (reconstruction at the same time as the mastectomy) in more than 425 patients.* This same year, more than 900 patients received radiotherapy for breast cancer, and over 1,290 patients received chemotherapy for breast cancer.† Our High Risk Breast Clinic has over 3,400 visits annually.‡ Thousands more patients with breast cancer receive care of any kind at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, annually:

  • 1,700+ patients provided first course treatment or decision-making
  • 990+ lumpectomies
  • 675+ mastectomies
  • 425+ patients receiving immediate breast reconstruction
  • 900+ patients treated with radiotherapy for breast cancer
  • 1,290+ patients treated with chemotherapy for breast cancer

*Surgical procedures performed in 2019 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

†Radiotherapy and chemotherapy performed in 2019 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

‡High Risk Breast Clinic at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and Jacksonville, Florida

Minimal disruption to your life

At Mayo Clinic we strive to provide world-class care with minimal disruption to your life.

Surgical procedure same-day discharge percentages
Procedure Same-day discharge

Surgical procedures performed from March 2020 to August 2020 at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida

IBR = Immediate breast reconstruction

Lumpectomy 95.7%
Mastectomy, no IBR 66.4%
Mastectomy, IBR 34.8%
Radiation therapy completion
Therapy type Completed in 5 days or less
Radiation therapy for early-stage breast cancer 60.0%

Results that show in patient ratings

Patient satisfaction with Mayo Clinic is very high. Among patients who underwent outpatient lumpectomy or mastectomy for breast cancer and responded to a survey about their visit for surgery, 99% of patients gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top rating for overall satisfaction with care, confidence in their physician and many other categories. Patients also rate their office visits with high satisfaction. Among patients who underwent first course treatment for breast cancer and responded to a survey about an office visit, 99% gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top overall rating of care. Satisfaction is especially high among patients with metastatic cancer, where 100% of patients with metastatic cancer who responded to a survey gave Mayo Clinic the top or next-to-top overall rating of care for their office visits for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic.

Patient experience with lumpectomy and mastectomy§
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

§Patients who underwent lumpectomy or mastectomy at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2019

Overall rating of care received during your visit 99.7%
Likelihood of recommending to others 98.8%
Your confidence in the skill of the physician 99.7%
Staff effort to include you in decisions about your treatment 99.1%
Staff's sensitivity and responsiveness to your special/individual needs 99.1%
Patient experience with office visits for breast cancer**
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

**Patients who received first course treatment or a decision not to treat with an office visit for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2017

Overall rating of care received during your visit 99.5%
Likelihood of recommending to others 99.5%
Your confidence in the care provider 99.1%
Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment 99.0%
Our sensitivity to your needs 98.4%
Patient experience with office visits among patients with metastatic breast cancer††
Good or very good (top two ratings)
Category Rating

Note: Patient experience surveys administered by Press Ganey

††Patients with metastatic breast cancer with an office visit for breast cancer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2017

Overall rating of care received during your visit 100%
Likelihood of recommending to others 100%
Your confidence in the care provider 93.3%
Care provider's efforts to include you in decisions about your treatment 93.3%
Our sensitivity to your needs 96.6%

World-class breast cancer care

In a typical year, patients from over 20 countries and over 45 U.S. states and territories undergo radiation, surgery, or receive other first course treatment or decision-making for breast cancer care at Mayo Clinic.‡‡ We offer a full range of treatment options, including surgery, chemotherapy, hormone therapy, radiation therapy, targeted drug therapy and clinical trials across the care journey. World-class expertise, care processes, imaging techniques and interpretation of data in clinical decision-making drive results in key outcomes at Mayo Clinic. We strive to deliver the best possible outcomes for each individual patient.

  • Genetic counseling
  • World-class imaging
  • Breast pathologists
  • Surgery
  • Reconstruction
  • Chemotherapy
  • Hormone therapy
  • Radiation therapy
  • Targeted drug therapy
  • Lymphedema prevention and management
  • Clinical trials

‡‡Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, in 2019

Advanced screening technologies and diagnostic accuracy

At Mayo Clinic, our breast imaging experts collaborate across all Mayo Clinic locations.

Imaging and exams across all Mayo Clinic sites in 2019:

  • 117,000+ screening mammography exams
  • 680+ contrast-enhanced screening mammography exams
  • 33,000+ diagnostic mammography exams
  • 19,000+ breast ultrasound exams
  • 4,800+ breast MRI exams
  • 2,900+ breast MBI exams
  • 5,900+ image-guided needle biopsies
Sources:
  1. Hruska CB, et al. Diagnostic workup and costs of a single supplemental molecular breast imaging screen of mammographically dense breasts. American Journal of Roentgenology. 2015; doi:10.2214/AJR.14.13306.
  2. Hruska CB. Molecular breast imaging for screening in dense breasts: State of the art and future directions. American Journal of Roentgenology. 2017; doi:10.2214/AJR.16.17131.

At Mayo Clinic, you have access to the latest technology and techniques to diagnose and treat breast cancer. Imaging is done by radiologists who specialize in breast imaging, including many who've completed additional, advanced training programs. Our technology includes molecular breast imaging (MBI), digital mammography, 3D mammography (tomosynthesis) and breast magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). We are studying new technology including dynamic contrast-enhanced MRI and contrastenhanced digital mammography. In women with dense breast tissue, screening with MBI detected three times as many cancers as mammography. As Mayo Clinic researchers have published, MBI is a good option for women seeking additional screening because of high breast density, but who do not meet the high-risk criteria to qualify for an MRI. At Mayo Clinic we have specialty testing for biomarkers.

Access to clinical trials

Mayo Clinic provided patients access to over 40 interventional treatment trials in 2019, and over the last 10 years patients with metastatic cancer have had access to 55 trials. Many of these trials are born out of discoveries made by Mayo Clinic scientists. Mayo Clinic is recognized as one of the premier breast cancer research institutes in the U.S. Mayo Clinic is a National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated comprehensive cancer center, and breast cancer research is conducted within the Women's Cancer Program as well as the NCI-sponsored Mayo Clinic Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE). We focus our research and practice to meet the needs of all populations. Enrollment in our cancer-related interventional trials reflects the diversity of the cancer population in our surrounding areas.

Focus on cosmetic outcome

Our experts are using innovative techniques (oncoplastic surgery) that optimize the appearance of your breast and maintain excellent cancer control, such as combining lumpectomy with a breast lift or breast reduction. In addition, we perform nipple-sparing mastectomy to improve the appearance of the reconstructed breast and offer muscle-sparing breast reconstruction techniques to create a new breast using your own tissue. We limit lymph node removal to reduce the risk of surgery-related lymphedema by using techniques such as sentinel lymph node biopsy and neoadjuvant therapy. At the same time, our care model incorporates expertise in techniques including proton therapy to reduce radiation exposure to healthy normal tissues to prevent side effects.

Your care journey with Mayo Clinic doesn't stop when you return home

Mayo Clinic offers remote capability to monitor your case through eConsults with your local providers and telemedicine to your home. Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona, and Jacksonville, Florida, conducted over 34,000 virtual visits in January 2021 alone. Carry our expertise with you throughout your journey.

April 27, 2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Breast cancer. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  2. Breast cancer. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  3. Townsend CM Jr, et al. Diseases of the breast. In: Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice. 20th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  4. Leading new cancer cases and deaths — 2017 estimates. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/research/cancer-facts-statistics/all-cancer-facts-figures/cancer-facts-figures-2017.html. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  5. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 21, 2017.
  6. AskMayoExpert. Breast reconstruction. Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  7. What you need to know about breast cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/publications/patient-education/wyntk-breast-cancer. Accessed June 29, 2017.
  8. Breast cancer risk assessment and screening in average-risk women. American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. https://www.acog.org/Resources-And-Publications/Practice-Bulletins/Committee-on-Practice-Bulletins-Gynecology/Breast-Cancer-Risk-Assessment-and-Screening-in-Average-Risk-Women. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  9. Cancer‐related fatigue. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  10. Palliative care. Fort Washington, Pa.: National Comprehensive Cancer Network. http://www.nccn.org/professionals/physician_gls/f_guidelines.asp. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  11. McDermott AM, et al. Surgeon and breast unit volume-outcome relationships in breast cancer surgery and treatment. Annals of Surgery. 2013;258:808.
  12. AskMayoExpert. Tamoxifen and CYP2D6 (pharmacogenomics). Rochester, Minn.: Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research; 2017.
  13. Breast SPOREs. National Cancer Institute. https://trp.cancer.gov/spores/breast.htm. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  14. National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers. American College of Surgeons. https://www.facs.org/quality-programs/napbc. Accessed July 3, 2017.
  15. Toledo E, et al. Mediterranean diet and invasive breast cancer risk among women at high cardiovascular risk in the PREDIMED trial. JAMA Internal Medicine. 2015;175:1752.
  16. Breast cancer prevention — Patient version (PDQ). National Cancer Institute. https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/hp/breast-prevention-pdq. Accessed June 28, 2017.
  17. Pruthi S, et al. Successful implementation of a telemedicine-based counseling program for high-risk patients with breast cancer. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2013;88:68.
  18. Pruthi S (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. July 24, 2017.
  19. Warner KJ. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. April 29, 2019.
  20. Anders CK, et al. Epidemiology, risk factors and the clinical approach to ER/PR negative, HER2-negative (triple negative) breast cancer. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2019.
  21. Couch FJ, et al. Associations between cancer predisposition testing panel genes and breast cancer. JAMA Oncology. 2017;3:1190.

Related

News from Mayo Clinic

Products & Services