妙佑医疗国际的骨癌治疗

Isaac 的故事

Sarah Garcia,Isaac 的太太:Isaac 是那种精力充沛的人,他喜欢和孩子们一起做事。他喜欢户外活动。而且,他就是很喜欢冒险而且特别有趣。我想这也是我当初爱上他的一个原因。

Isaac Garcia,癌症生存者/妙佑医疗国际患者:我是 Isaac Garcia。我 38 岁,住在新墨西哥州的里约兰町。我的太太是 Sarah Garcia,我们结婚已经 15 年了。2014 年末,我的腹股沟开始隐隐作痛。我在本地的初级护理医生把我转诊给一位泌尿科医生,这导致了误诊和一次不必要的手术。结果耽搁了找出真正问题的时间。然后,我被转诊给阿尔伯克基的一名骨科专科医生。这位骨科专家认为,由于我经常骑越野摩托车,很可能是在某次撞车事故中受了些伤,但没有什么大事,就是肌腱炎。让我们做个 MRI 检查,看看是什么情况,应该不是什么大问题。

Sarah Garcia:于是我们去看医生。他进来说:“我有个坏消息要告诉您。看起来是您的骨头里长了恶性肿瘤。您需要去看骨肿瘤科医生。我的秘书会把信息给您。” 然后他离开了房间。

Isaac Garcia:我和妻子深受打击。我们哭了很久。您知道,这不是好消息。事实上,这消息很可怕。

Sarah Garcia:我很害怕骨癌的诊断意味着他可能会离开。那天我们开车四处寻找骨肿瘤科医生。哪怕只是和医生谈谈,等待时间都要六个多星期甚至更长。于是我打电话给老板,因为第二天我绝对没有办法去上班。他告诉我不要放弃,还有别的地方。无论要去哪里,尽管去试。于是我在谷歌上搜索“最好的骨癌医生”,结果出现了妙佑医疗的医院。

Isaac Garcia:所以我太太联系了妙佑医疗国际凤凰城院区,他们让我们把我的 MRI 报告和我的一些信息传真过去,他们会和我们联系。那天是星期一。他们第二天、也就是星期二就打回电话,让我们星期五过去。

Christopher Beauchamp,医学博士,妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州院区骨外科顾问医生:在完成所有检查、研究并进行活检后,诊断结果为软骨肉瘤。这是一个恶性骨肿瘤,所在位置极具挑战性、难度极大,是在他的髋臼。软骨肉瘤完全是手术问题。没有任何医疗方式或任何其他治疗选项可供使用。对这个情况来说、对他而言,手术治疗要取出整个髋关节,即球窝关节。幸运的是,我们不需要切除髋部周围的任何重要肌肉,但这意味着给他进行重建将是个难题。

Isaac Garcia:基本上有三种选择,其中一项是只做移除,而不会放回任何东西。也就是说,他们会移除你的髋关节窝和股骨顶部,但什么都不会放回去。这被称为连枷髋。另一种是使用尸体的骨盆骨。然后,您知道,进行适配并希望身体能接受它。Beauchamp 医生其实也不喜欢这个主意。他说,最好是采用 3D 打印的钛植入物。

Beauchamp 医生:取出髋关节的后续治疗几乎已经成了骨科肿瘤学的“圣杯”。我们能比以前做得更好。我们能够进行切除、打印模型、设计植入物,已经有了这些技术。

Sarah Garcia:是的,Beauchamp 医生出来告诉我们,“这是一次全垒打。”这就是他用来描述手术的话。他说,“全部移除。边缘干净。全部搞定。癌症已经没有了。”

Isaac Garcia:由于妙佑医疗国际,我恢复了,您知道,恢复了正常、愉快的生活。不过我对人们通常认为理所当然的小事有了新的感悟,现在它们都意义重大。我对生活有了新的感悟。

Sarah Garcia:我想告诉 Beauchamp 医生,非常感谢您。感谢您对我丈夫的生活产生如此巨大的影响。也因此对我和孩子们的生活产生了巨大影响。他使用这种其他地方无法提供的出色技术,给出了这么好的结果。他做得真好。我会对他说:谢谢您。

您的妙佑医疗国际医护团队

妙佑医疗国际的骨科外科专家与肿瘤科医生、微血管外科医生、骨科外科医生和其他专家共同携手组建一个多学科团队来评价和治疗各个个体病症。这意味着您不是只听一家之言,而是受益于这个多学科团队中各领域专家的经验和知识。

紧密切协作使医护团队能够迅速提供您的检查结果,并在专家团队之间适当安排您的各项约诊。

为了探索新的知识和更有效的方法来治疗骨癌,妙佑医疗国际的医生们不断研究新的诊断和治疗方案,并通过临床试验进行测试。通过该广泛的研究网络,您有机会直接享用妙佑医疗国际临床医生-研究人员的专业技能。

先进的诊断和治疗

凭借最先进的研究和实验室设施,妙佑医疗国际骨癌团队的专家使用精密的影像学检查和全面体检来获取详细、准确的诊断。

妙佑医疗国际骨癌专家团队已准备好使用最新技术对骨癌患者的护理进行改善。妙佑医疗国际的专家使用先进技术,例如调强放射治疗(IMRT)立体定向放射治疗癌症射频消融治疗

妙佑医疗国际还提供先进的质子束治疗计划。在质子疗法中,可以向肿瘤传递高剂量辐射,同时最大程度地减少对邻近正常组织的辐射。

儿科护理专家

妙佑医疗国际骨癌项目的一个特殊优势是治疗儿童骨癌。妙佑医疗国际的儿科肿瘤专家、骨科医生和其他专科医生擅长诊治婴儿和儿童骨癌,并领导这一领域的全国性试验。

某些化疗和放疗会增加生育力受损的风险。作为妙佑医疗国际儿童中心的一部分,生育力保留项目的工作人员会对病情和治疗可能影响未来生育力的癌症患儿进行评估。成人也可以使用生育力保留服务。

创新手术治疗

妙佑医疗国际的骨科外科医生利用最先进的手术方案进行肢体重建。对于膝盖附近的骨癌,旋转成形术可切除癌组织,然后旋转并重新连接腿的下半部分,以踝关节代替膝关节。

年长患者可能适合使用由金属和硬质塑料制成的义肢来替换整个骨头。儿童可以使用一种能随其成长而扩展的特制义肢。在特定情况下,会使用三维打印机来规划复杂的手术和重建。

旋转成形术:脚踝替换膝盖

[音乐播放中]

Shanna Decker(癌症幸存者):那时候,我的膝盖开始频繁疼痛。短短三周时间,就从丝毫没有疼痛感发展到剧烈疼痛。疼痛已经到了无法忍受的程度,我请求妈妈带我去看医生,我当时只有七岁。

Vivien Williams:妙佑医疗国际的专家们诊断出这是一种名为骨肉瘤的罕见骨癌。

Decker 女士:但我对癌症的了解非常有限,只是听说过有些人因癌症而失去生命。所以在他们说出癌症的时候,当时七岁的我立刻就知道这是坏事。我能活下去吗?诸如此类。

Williams 女士:这个问题不是七岁的小孩应该考虑的。

Carola Arndt(医学博士,妙佑医疗国际小儿肿瘤科):骨肉瘤的治疗包括手术和化疗。

Williams 女士:儿科肿瘤科医生 Carola Arndt 医生和骨外科医生 Franklin Sim 医生带领一支多学科团队为 Shanna 提供治疗。

Franklin Sim(医学博士,妙佑医疗国际骨科手术):肿瘤位于股骨下端。

Williams 女士:Shanna 开始接受化疗,然后又接受了手术,如果是在过去,这意味着要从左腿膝盖以上的部位截肢。但当时,她接受了一种全新的开创性手术——旋转成形术。在手术中,Sim 医生切除了肿瘤累及的大腿(即股骨)部位、膝盖以及部分胫骨。然后,他旋转小腿部分,把小腿和股骨融合在一起。脚踝现在变成了膝盖。

Decker 女士:就是这条腿,我先把这个拿下来。这是我的脚,向后旋转了。

Williams 女士:看起来可能有点奇怪,但手术和假体的使用让 Shanna 几乎可以做任何事情。她说,适应新常态出乎意料地轻松。

Decker 女士:在我的腿部痊愈之后,我就开始戴着假肢行走,只用了大约 30 秒时间就学会了如何重新行走。

Williams 女士:现年 24 岁的 Shanna 在确诊和完成手术后的多年间已经做了很多事情。

Decker 女士:现在我已经摆脱癌症 16 年了,这听起来有点不可思议,整整 16 年了。

Sim 医生:我们见证了她在整个童年时期的成长,也见证了她身体机能的正常运作以及保持活力的表现。时至今日,她已经完成大学学业,想要把这份希望传递下去。她正在回馈社会。

Decker 女士:在我接受治疗后,也就是 1999 年,我八岁的时候,我的家人开始给其他癌症患儿做启导。

Williams 女士:2007 年,他们与另外三个家庭一起创立了一个名为“明天更美好”的组织。

Decker 女士:对于那些面临癌症确诊的家庭,从情感、精神、教育方面为他们提供支持,也通过一点经济援助。现在,我们的数据库里已有数百人。

Arndt 医生:这让我感到非常开心。在工作结束时或者一天中的任何时候,看到 Shanna 这样的长期幸存者,让我能有更客观清晰的看法,也让我回想起自己为什么从事这一事业。

Decker 女士:帮助癌症家庭。成为儿童癌症的倡导人。帮助每一个要走过这段旅程的家庭,让他们不再孤立无援。

Williams 女士:用希望、爱心和愈疗回馈社会。

[音乐播放中]

专长与排名

妙佑医疗国际的骨科医生讨论即将进行的手术。

妙佑医疗国际拥有一支由多名外科医生、肿瘤内科医生、儿科肿瘤医生、放射肿瘤医生和病理医生组成的专业团队,每年在所有妙佑院区为许多骨肿瘤患者提供治疗。

综合癌症中心

明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区的妙佑医疗国际综合癌症中心是国家癌症研究所指定的综合癌症中心。这项指定是对妙佑医疗国际在癌症预防、诊断和治疗方面多学科方法以及癌症工作方面卓越科学成就的认可。妙佑医疗国际的患者可充分了解临床试验,以获得参加前沿治疗和研究的机会。

儿童肿瘤学组和国家综合癌症网络

妙佑医疗国际是儿童肿瘤学组(致力于儿童癌症研究的全国性组织)和国家综合癌症网络成员。您或您的孩子将获得基于最新研究的协调诊断和治疗。

全美公认的专业实力

妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、妙佑医疗国际佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区和妙佑医疗国际亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区获《美国新闻与世界报道》评为 2023–2024 年癌症治疗“最佳医院”之一。在《美国新闻与世界报道》2023–2024 年“最佳儿童医院”排名中,罗切斯特妙佑医疗国际儿童中心在明尼苏达州以及五州地区(爱荷华、明尼苏达、北达科塔、南达科塔和威斯康星州)位列第一。

妙佑医疗国际明尼苏达州罗切斯特院区、亚利桑那州凤凰城/斯科茨代尔院区和佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔院区均被《美国新闻与世界报道》评为最佳骨科医院。在《美国新闻与世界报道》的 2023–2024 年“最佳儿童医院”排名中,设于罗切斯特的妙佑医疗国际儿童中心在明尼苏达州以及五州地区(爱荷华、明尼苏达、北达科他、南达科他和威斯康星州)名列榜首。

详细了解妙佑医疗国际肿瘤科骨科外科的专业技能和排名。

妙佑医疗国际儿童中心

技术精湛的儿科专家针对所有类型的儿童状况提供诊断和治疗。我们以团队的形式,携手寻找答案和设定目标,并根据孩子的不同需求来制定治疗计划。

详细了解儿童中心

位置、旅行和住宿

Mayo Clinic 在亚利桑那州的凤凰城和斯克茨戴尔、佛罗里达州的杰克逊威尔,以及明尼苏达州的罗切斯特都有主要院区。Mayo Clinic 健康系统在几个州拥有十几个工作地点。

有关参观 Mayo Clinic 的更多信息,请在下面选择您的位置:

费用与保险

妙佑医疗国际与数百家保险公司合作,是数百万人的网络内医疗服务提供者。

大多数情况下,来妙佑医疗国际就诊不要求医生的转诊证明。部分保险公司有转诊要求,或对某些医疗护理有其他要求。所有约诊均根据医疗需求安排优先顺序。

详细了解在妙佑医疗国际约诊的信息。

请联系您的保险公司,核实承保范围,并在就诊前获得所需要的任何授权。您保险公司的客户服务号码通常印在保险卡背面。

May 11, 2023

Living with 骨癌?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

sepsissister
Sepsis: What's your experience recovering from sepsis?

76 Replies Wed, Apr 24, 2024

rita8898
Anyone have cancer with unknown primary?

100 Replies Tue, Apr 23, 2024

See more discussions

Bone cancer care at Mayo Clinic

Isaac's story

Isaac is the kind of person who is so energetic, and he loves doing things with his children. And he loves being outdoors. And, just, he's very adventurous and exciting. And I think that's part of why I fell in love with him to begin with.

My name is Isaac Garcia. I'm 38 years old and I live in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. I'm married to Sarah Garcia, and we've been married for 15 years. In late 2014, I started having a dull pain in my groin. And I was referred to a urologist by my local primary care doctor, which led to a misdiagnosis and an unneeded surgery. And it ended up delaying me finding out the real problem. So then I was referred to an orthopedic specialist here in Albuquerque. And the orthopedic specialist thought, since I rode dirt bikes a lot, that I probably damaged something in a crash and it was nothing big, it was tendonitis. Let's get an MRI and we'll see what's in there, and it's not going to be a big deal.

So we went to see the doctor and he came in and said, "I have bad news for you. You look like what's going on is a malignant tumor in your bone. You need to see an orthopedic oncologist. My secretary will give you information." And he left the room.

My wife and I were just floored. We cried a lot. It was not good news, you know. It was horrifying news, actually.

I was very afraid that a diagnosis of a bone cancer meant he wouldn't be here. We drove all around that day trying to get in to see an an orthopedic oncologist. The wait times were over six weeks or more to even speak to a doctor. So I called my boss because I wasn't in any position to go to work the next day. And he told me don't give up, there's other places. Go wherever you have to go. So I Googled "best bone cancer doctor" and Mayo hospital came up.

So my wife contacted the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix, and they told us to fax my MRI report and some of my information to them and and they would get back to us. And that was on a Monday. And they called back the next day on that Tuesday and said be here Friday.

After we completed all of the tests and investigations and performed a biopsy, the diagnosis was a chondrosarcoma. It's a malignant bone tumor involving a very challenging, difficult location, and that was his hip socket. A chondrosarcoma is a purely surgical problem. There's no medical or any other treatment options available for it. And the surgical treatment for this, for him, was to remove his entire hip joint, the ball and socket joint. Fortunately, we didn't have to remove any of the important muscles around his hip, but that presents a difficult problem to reconstruct for him.

And there was basically three options, and one of them was just removal and you don't put anything back in. So they remove your hip socket and the top of your femur and they don't put anything back in. It's called a flail hip. And then the other one was to use the pelvic bone from a cadaver. And they, you know, make it fit and hope that it takes. Dr. Beauchamp really didn't like that idea either. He said that the best thing is a 3D printed titanium implant.

The subsequent treatment of removing the hip joint has become almost the holy grail of orthopedic oncology. We can do it better than we've been doing before. To be able to do the resection, to print the model, to design an implant, and the technology is there.

Yeah, Dr. Beauchamp came out to tell us "it was a home run," is the words he used to describe the surgery. He said, "I got all of it. It's clean margins. I got it all. The cancer is gone."

Because of the Mayo Clinic, I'm back, you know, back to living a normal, good life. I just have a whole new appreciation for how the little things that you usually take for granted, they all mean a lot now. I have a whole new appreciation for life.

I would like to tell Dr. Beauchamp, thank you so much. To make such a huge impact my husband's life. And because of that, my life and my kids. By using this incredible technology that isn't everywhere else, he offered such a good outcome. He did such a good job. I would tell him thank you.

Your Mayo Clinic care team

Mayo Clinic orthopedic specialists work together as a multidisciplinary team with oncologists, microvascular surgeons, plastic surgeons and other specialists to evaluate and treat each individual condition. This means that you're not getting just one opinion — you benefit from the knowledge and experience of each specialist on the multidisciplinary team.

Close collaboration enables your medical team to have your test results available quickly and then appropriately schedule your appointments across a team of specialists.

Seeking new knowledge and more-effective treatments for bone cancer, Mayo Clinic doctors continually study new diagnostic and treatment options and test them through clinical trials. Through this wide research network, you have direct access to the expertise of Mayo Clinic clinician-researchers.

Advanced diagnosis and treatment

With state-of-the-art research and laboratory facilities, the specialists on the bone cancer team at Mayo Clinic use sophisticated imaging tests and comprehensive physical examinations to obtain a detailed, accurate diagnosis.

Mayo Clinic's team of bone cancer experts has ready access to the latest technology to improve care for people with bone cancer. Mayo Clinic specialists use advanced techniques, such as intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), stereotactic radiosurgery and radiofrequency ablation for cancer.

Mayo Clinic also offers an advanced proton beam therapy program. In proton therapy, a high dose of radiation can be delivered to a tumor while minimizing the dose to adjacent normal tissues.

Specialists in pediatric care

A special strength of Mayo Clinic's bone cancer program is treating childhood bone cancer. The pediatric oncologists, orthopedic doctors and other specialists at Mayo Clinic are adept at diagnosing and treating infants and children with bone cancer and lead national trials in this field.

Certain chemotherapy and radiation treatments increase the risk of impaired fertility. As part of the Mayo Clinic Children's Center, the Fertility Preservation Program staff evaluates children with cancer whose disease and treatment could affect future fertility. Fertility preservation services are also available for adults.

Innovative surgical procedures

Mayo Clinic orthopedic surgeons employ the most advanced surgical options for limb reconstruction. For bone cancers near the knee, a rotationplasty can remove the cancerous tissue and then rotate and reattach the lower portion of the leg so that the ankle can serve as a replacement knee joint.

Older patients may be candidates to have the entire bone replaced with a prosthetic device made of metal and hard plastic. In children, a special prosthesis can be used that can be expanded as the child grows. In select cases, 3-D printers are used to plan complex operations and reconstructions.

Ankle replaces knee in rotationplasty

Expertise and rankings

Orthopedic surgeons discuss an upcoming procedure at Mayo Clinic.

Mayo has a team involving several surgeons, medical oncologists, pediatric oncologists, radiation oncologists and pathologists who specialize in treating many patients with bone tumors each year at all Mayo Clinic campuses.

Comprehensive cancer center

The National Cancer Institute has designated Mayo Clinic Comprehensive Cancer Center in Rochester, Minnesota, a comprehensive cancer center. This designation recognizes the multidisciplinary approach to cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment as well as the scientific excellence of cancer work done at Mayo Clinic. Patients at Mayo Clinic have wide access to clinical trials for the opportunity to participate in cutting-edge treatments and research.

Children's Oncology Group and the National Comprehensive Cancer Network

Mayo Clinic is a member of the Children's Oncology Group, a national group of institutions dedicated to children's cancer research, and the National Comprehensive Cancer Network. You or your child can receive coordinated diagnosis and treatment based on the latest research.

Nationally recognized expertise

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, and Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona, are ranked among the Best Hospitals for cancer care by U.S. News & World Report. Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester is ranked the No. 1 hospital in Minnesota, and the five-state region of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin, according to U.S. News & World Report's 2023–2024 "Best Children's Hospitals" rankings.

Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, Mayo Clinic in Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona, and Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida, are ranked among the Best Hospitals for orthopedics by U.S. News & World Report. Mayo Clinic Children's Center in Rochester is ranked the No. 1 hospital in Minnesota, and the five-state region of Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin, according to U.S. News & World Report's 2023-2024 "Best Children's Hospitals" rankings.

Learn more about Mayo Clinic's oncology and orthopedic surgery departments' expertise and rankings.

Mayo Clinic Children's Center

Highly skilled pediatric experts diagnose and treat all types of conditions in children. As a team, we work together to find answers, set goals and develop a treatment plan tailored to your child's needs.

Learn more about the Children's Center.

Locations, travel and lodging

Mayo Clinic has major campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona; Jacksonville, Florida; and Rochester, Minnesota. The Mayo Clinic Health System has dozens of locations in several states.

For more information on visiting Mayo Clinic, choose your location below:

Costs and insurance

Mayo Clinic works with hundreds of insurance companies and is an in-network provider for millions of people.

In most cases, Mayo Clinic doesn't require a physician referral. Some insurers require referrals, or may have additional requirements for certain medical care. All appointments are prioritized on the basis of medical need.

Learn more about appointments at Mayo Clinic.

Please contact your insurance company to verify medical coverage and to obtain any needed authorization prior to your visit. Often, your insurer's customer service number is printed on the back of your insurance card.

Get Mayo Clinic cancer expertise delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe for free and receive an in-depth guide to coping with cancer, plus helpful information on how to get a second opinion. You can unsubscribe at any time. Click here for an email preview.

I would like to learn more about

To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.

More information about billing and insurance:

Mayo Clinic in Arizona, Florida and Minnesota

Mayo Clinic Health System

May 11, 2023

Living with bone cancer?

Connect with others like you for support and answers to your questions in the Cancer support group on Mayo Clinic Connect, a patient community.

Cancer Discussions

kkhersh
Leiomyosarcoma: What can I expect now?

33 Replies Wed, Sep 20, 2023

Colleen Young, Connect Director
Diagnosed with sarcoma? Let's share

622 Replies Sun, Sep 17, 2023

kitty1952
Going my way: Decided to stop cancer treatments

71 Replies Sat, Sep 09, 2023

See more discussions