诊断

自主神经病变是一些疾病的潜在并发症。您需要接受哪些检查取决于您的症状和导致自主神经病变的风险因素。

如果您已经了解了自主神经病变的风险因素

如果您有糖尿病或另一种会增加出现自主神经病变风险的状况,且出现神经病症状,医务人员会对您进行体格检查并询问您的症状。

如果您正在接受一种已知会导致神经损伤的药物治疗癌症,医务人员会检查神经病变的迹象。

如果您没有导致自主神经病变的风险因素

如果您有自主神经病变的症状,但并没有风险因素,诊断可能涉及更多检查。医务人员可能会查看您的病史,讨论您的症状并对您进行体格检查。

医务人员可能会建议您进行评估自主神经功能的检查,包括:

  • 自主神经功能检查。这些检查用于测量您在深呼吸和用力呼气(瓦氏动作)等动作期间的心率和血压反应。
  • 倾斜试验。该试验模拟您在躺下后再站起时发生的情况,监测血压和心率对体态和位置变化的反应。您需要平躺在检查床上,然后检查床会倾斜以抬高您的上半身。一般情况下,血管变窄,心率加快,以补偿血压的下降。如果您患有自主神经病变,该反应可能会减慢。

    这种反应有一种更简单的试验方法,即在您躺着、坐着和站着三分钟后检查您的血压。另一种试验需要您站立一分钟,然后下蹲一分钟,之后再次站立,期间对您的血压和心率进行监测。

  • 胃肠道检查。胃排空试验是检查消化缓慢和胃排空延迟(胃轻瘫)等消化问题的最常见检查。这些检查通常由专门从事消化系统疾病诊治的医生(胃肠病医生)进行。
  • 定量泌汗轴突反射试验。此项试验检查管理汗腺的神经对刺激的反应。在您前臂、大腿、小腿和足部放置传感器并通过小股电流,对神经和汗腺的反应进行计算分析。试验期间,您可能会有发热或刺痛感。
  • 体温调节出汗试验。在您身上涂覆一层粉末,当您出汗时,粉末会改变颜色。您躺在温度缓慢升高的测试间里,当您开始出汗,数码成像会记录结果。您的出汗模式可能有助于确诊自主神经病变,或表明出汗减少或增加的其他原因。
  • 尿液分析和膀胱功能(尿动力)检查。如果您有膀胱或泌尿系统的体征和症状,可通过一系列尿液和膀胱检查评估您的膀胱功能。
  • 超声检查。如果您有膀胱问题的体征和症状,医务人员可能建议您进行尿路超声检查。在此项检查中,会使用高频声波产生膀胱和其他尿路部分的图像。

治疗

自主神经病变的治疗包括:

  • 治疗基础性疾病。治疗自主神经病变的第一个目标是控制损害神经的疾病或症状。如果是糖尿病导致您的神经损伤,则您需要严格控制血糖,以防损伤进展。大约一半自主神经病变不能发现根本原因。
  • 控制特定症状。一些治疗可以减轻自主神经病变的症状。治疗基于您身体的哪个部位受神经损伤的影响最大。

消化道(胃肠道)症状

医务人员可能建议:

  • 改变饮食。您可能需要增加膳食纤维和液体摄入量。纤维补充剂(如 Metamucil 或 Citrucel)也可能有所帮助。缓慢增加纤维摄入量,以免出现胀气和腹胀。
  • 促进胃排空的药物。一种名为甲氧氯普胺(Reglan)的处方药可以增加消化道收缩,从而帮助胃更快排空。这种药物可能导致嗜睡,使用时间不应超过 12 周。
  • 缓解便秘的药物。非处方泻药有助于缓解便秘。咨询医务人员您应该多久使用一次泻药。
  • 缓解腹泻的药物。抗生素可通过防止肠道内细菌过多生长来帮助治疗腹泻。非处方止泻药可能有所帮助。

泌尿系统症状

医务人员可能会建议:

  • 进行膀胱训练。遵循进水及排尿时间表有助于增加膀胱容量,并重新训练您的膀胱在适当的时间完全排空。
  • 用药物控制膀胱症状。医务人员可能会开具一些治疗膀胱过度活动症的药物。其他药物可能有助于您排空膀胱。
  • 泌尿系统辅助(导尿术)。导尿管穿过尿道,以帮助排空膀胱。

性功能障碍

对于有勃起功能障碍的男性,医务人员可能建议:

  • 能使其勃起的药物。西地那非(Viagra)、伐地那非、他达拉非(Cialis)和阿伐那非(Stendra)等药物可以帮您实现和维持勃起。可能的副作用包括低血压、轻微头痛、潮红、胃部不适和色觉变化。

    如果您有心脏病、心律失常、卒中或高血压病史,请慎用这些药物。如果您正在使用任何类型的有机硝酸盐,也应避免使用这些药物。如果您的勃起时间超过四小时,请立即就医。

  • 外置真空泵。这个装置通过手动泵将血液吸入阴茎中。张力环有助于保持血液停留在适当位置,维持勃起 30 分钟。

对于有性交症状的女性,医务人员可能建议:

  • 使用阴道润滑剂,减少干燥度,使性交更舒适和愉快。
  • 在几种获批药物中,有一种可用于性欲低下的绝经前女性。

心律和血压症状

自主神经病变可能引起心率和血压方面的问题。医务人员可能开具以下处方:

  • 高盐、高流质饮食。如果在您站起时会出现血压下降,高盐、高流质的饮食有助于维持血压。这种疗法可能导致高血压或足部、踝部或腿部的肿胀。因此,通常仅建议用于具有严重血压问题的病例。这种治疗方法也不能用于心力衰竭患者。
  • 紧身衣。束腰带或高至大腿部的压力长袜可能有助于改善血流。
  • 可以升高血压的药物。如果您在站起时感觉昏厥或晕眩,医务人员可能建议您服用这类药物。氟氢可的松有助于维持体内的盐分,这可以帮助调节血压。

    米多君(Orvaten)和屈昔多巴(Northera)可帮助升高血压。但是当您躺下时,这些药物会导致高血压。奥曲肽(Sandostatin)可以帮助饮食后血压低的糖尿病患者升高血压,但也会引起一些副作用。吡斯的明(Mestinon)可能有助于在站立时维持血压稳定。

  • 调节心率的药物。如果在身体活动时心率过高,可使用 β 受体阻滞剂类药物调节心率。

出汗

如果您出汗过多,医务人员可能会为您开具一种减少出汗的药物。格隆溴铵(Cuvposa、Robinul 等)可减少出汗。副作用包括腹泻、口腔干燥、尿潴留、视力模糊、心率变化、头痛、味觉丧失和困倦。格隆溴铵还会使出汗能力下降,从而增加罹患散高温相关疾病(如热射病)的风险。

更多信息

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

  • 姿势改变。分阶段慢慢站起来,以减少头晕症状。起床前,双腿悬在床边坐几分钟。在站起来之前,弯曲您的双脚并捏拳头几秒钟,以增加血液流动。

    站起来后,试着绷紧您的腿部肌肉,同时将一条腿交叉在另一条腿上若干次,以增加血压。

  • 抬高床。如果您有低血压,将床头抬高 4 英寸(10 厘米)可能有所帮助。在床头方向的床腿下放置垫块或立板可以达到此目的。
  • 消化。少吃多餐以解决消化问题。多喝水,选择低脂、高纤维的食物,这样可以改善消化能力。
  • 糖尿病管理。严格控制血糖有助于减轻症状、预防或延缓新问题的出现。

替代医学

几种替代药物治疗可能有助于自主神经病变患者。向医务人员咨询您想尝试的任何治疗方法。这样可以帮助确保它们不会干扰您的治疗或导致伤害。

硫辛酸

研究表明,这种抗氧化剂可能会改善自主神经功能的测量指标。但还需要对此展开更多研究。

针刺疗法

这种疗法需要将多根细针置于身体的特定穴位。这或许有助于治疗胃排空缓慢和勃起功能障碍,但仍需开展更多研究。

经皮电刺激神经疗法

这种疗法通过放置在皮肤上的电极传输低能量的电波。一些研究发现,这可能有助于缓解糖尿病性神经病变引起的疼痛。

妥善处理与支持

患有慢性疾病的人每天都会面临挑战。以下建议可以帮助您应对:

  • 设定事项优先级。在精力最充沛时完成最重要的任务,例如支付账单或购买食品杂货。将不太重要的任务留在后面完成。坚持锻炼,但不要过度运动。
  • 寻求并接受朋友和家人的帮助。拥有支持系统和积极的态度有助于您应对挑战。表达出自己的需求。不要远离亲人。
  • 与咨询师或治疗师讨论。抑郁症可能是自主神经病变的并发症。除了您的初级保健医生以外,还可以寻求咨询师或治疗师的帮助,以咨询可能的治疗方法。
  • 考虑加入互助小组。向医务人员咨询您所在地区的互助小组。如果当地没有针对神经病变患者的互助小组,则可以寻找针对您的基础疾病的互助小组,例如糖尿病互助小组或在线互助小组。

准备您的预约

您可能需要先去看初级保健医生。如果您有糖尿病,可能需要去看糖尿病医生(内分泌科医生)。但是,您也可能会被转诊给神经疾病医生(神经科医生)。

根据受神经病变影响的身体部位,您可能需要去看其他专科医生,如专治血压或心率问题的心脏科医生或专治消化困难的胃肠科医生。

以下提示可以帮助您做好就诊准备。

您可以做什么

请询问就诊前应做哪些准备工作,例如某些检查之前是否应空腹。请列出以下内容:

  • 您的症状,以及症状开始的时间
  • 您服用的所有药物、维生素或其他补充剂,包括剂量
  • 要询问医务人员的问题

请朋友或家人陪同就诊,以便帮助您记住医生提供的信息,并了解如何提供支持。例如,如果您因低血压昏倒,您周围的人需要知道如何救治。

要向医务人员咨询有关自主神经病变的问题包括:

  • 我为什么会出现自主神经病变?
  • 是否还有其他可能导致我症状的原因?
  • 我需要做哪些检查?
  • 可采用哪些治疗方法?
  • 除了您推荐的治疗方法外,还有其他替代疗法吗?
  • 有什么方法可以帮助管理自主神经病变?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能同时管理好这些问题和自主神经病变?
  • 我是否需要遵循特殊饮食要求?
  • 我是否需要限制活动?
  • 是否有我可以带走的印刷材料?您推荐哪些网站?

如果还有其他问题,请随时提问。

医生可能做些什么

医务人员可能会问一些问题,例如:

  • 您的症状是持续存在还是偶尔出现?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 是否有任何因素似乎能令您的症状好转?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会加重您的症状?
July 07, 2022
  1. Autonomic neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/nerve-damage-diabetic-neuropathies/autonomic-neuropathy. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  2. Gibbons CH. Diabetic autonomic neuropathy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  3. Overview of the autonomic nervous system. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/autonomic-nervous-system/overview-of-the-autonomic-nervous-system. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  4. Brock C, et al. Assessment of cardiovascular and gastrointestinal autonomic complications of diabetes. World Journal of Diabetes. 2016; doi:10.4239/wjd.v7.i16.321.
  5. Autonomic neuropathy. American Diabetes Association. https://diabetes.org/diabetes/neuropathy/autonomic-neuropathy. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  6. Autonomic neuropathies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/autonomic-nervous-system/autonomic-neuropathies. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  7. Loscalzo J, et al., eds. Diabetes mellitus: Complications. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 21st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  8. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Disorders of the autonomic nervous system. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  9. Effectiveness checker. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 17, 2022.
  10. Acupuncture. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 17, 2022.
  11. Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 7, 2022.
  12. Treatment for erectile dysfunction. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/urologic-diseases/erectile-dysfunction/treatment. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  13. Coon EA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. June 20, 2022.

Diagnosis

Autonomic neuropathy is a possible complication of some diseases. The tests you'll need depend on your symptoms and risk factors for autonomic neuropathy.

When you have known risk factors for autonomic neuropathy

If you have diabetes or another condition that increases your risk of autonomic neuropathy and have symptoms of neuropathy, your health care provider will perform a physical exam and ask about your symptoms.

If you are undergoing cancer treatment with a drug known to cause nerve damage, your provider will check for signs of neuropathy.

When you don't have risk factors for autonomic neuropathy

If you have symptoms of autonomic neuropathy but no risk factors, the diagnosis can be more involved. Your health care provider will probably review your medical history, discuss your symptoms and do a physical exam.

Your provider might recommend tests to evaluate autonomic functions, including:

  • Autonomic function tests. These tests measure how your heart rate and blood pressure respond during exercises such as deep breathing and forcefully breathing out (Valsalva maneuver).
  • Tilt-table test. This test monitors the response of blood pressure and heart rate to changes in posture and position. It simulates what occurs when you stand up after lying down. You lie flat on a table, which is then tilted to raise the upper part of your body. Typically, blood vessels narrow and heart rate increases to compensate for the drop in blood pressure. This response may be slowed if you have autonomic neuropathy.

    A simpler test for this response involves checking your blood pressure when lying, sitting and standing after three minutes. Another test involves standing for a minute, then squatting for a minute and then standing again while blood pressure and heart rate are monitored.

  • Gastrointestinal tests. Gastric-emptying tests are the most common tests to check for digestive issues such as slow digestion and delayed emptying of the stomach (gastroparesis). These tests are usually done by a doctor who specializes in digestive disorders (gastroenterologist).
  • Quantitative sudomotor axon reflex test. This test checks how the nerves that manage your sweat glands respond to stimulation. A small electrical current passes through capsules placed on your forearm, upper and lower leg, and foot. A computer analyzes the response of your nerves and sweat glands. You might feel warmth or a tingling sensation during the test.
  • Thermoregulatory sweat test. You're coated with a powder that changes color when you sweat. While you lie in a chamber with a slowly increasing temperature, digital photos document the results as you begin to sweat. Your sweat pattern might help confirm a diagnosis of autonomic neuropathy or suggest other causes for decreased or increased sweating.
  • Urinalysis and bladder function (urodynamic) tests. If you have bladder or urinary signs and symptoms, a series of urine and bladder tests can evaluate bladder function.
  • Ultrasound. If you have bladder signs and symptoms, your provider might recommend an ultrasound of your urinary tract. In this test, high-frequency sound waves create an image of the bladder and other parts of the urinary tract.

Treatment

Treatment of autonomic neuropathy includes:

  • Treating the underlying disease. The first goal of treating autonomic neuropathy is to manage the disease or condition damaging your nerves. If diabetes is causing your nerve damage, you'll need to tightly control blood sugar to prevent damage from progressing. About half of the time, no underlying cause for autonomic neuropathy is found.
  • Managing specific symptoms. Some treatments can relieve the symptoms of autonomic neuropathy. Treatment is based on what part of your body is most affected by nerve damage.

Digestive (gastrointestinal) symptoms

Your health care provider may recommend:

  • Diet changes. You might need more dietary fiber and fluids. Fiber supplements, such as Metamucil or Citrucel, also might help. Slowly increase the amount of fiber you get to avoid gas and bloating.
  • Medication to help your stomach empty. A prescription drug called metoclopramide (Reglan) helps your stomach empty faster by increasing the contractions of the digestive tract. This medication can cause drowsiness and shouldn't be used for longer than 12 weeks.
  • Medications to ease constipation. Laxatives that you can buy without a prescription can help ease constipation. Ask your health care provider how often you should use a laxative.
  • Medications to ease diarrhea. Antibiotics can help treat diarrhea by preventing too much bacterial growth in the intestines. Anti-diarrheal medication available without a prescription might be helpful.

Urinary symptoms

Your health care provider may suggest:

  • Retraining your bladder. Following a schedule of when to drink fluids and when to urinate can help increase your bladder's capacity and retrain your bladder to empty completely at the appropriate times.
  • Medication to manage bladder symptoms. Your health care provider may prescribe medications that decrease an overactive bladder. Other medications may help empty your bladder.
  • Urinary assistance (catheterization). A tube is guided through your urethra to empty your bladder.

Sexual dysfunction

For men with erectile dysfunction, health care providers might recommend:

  • Medications that enable erections. Drugs such as sildenafil (Viagra), vardenafil, tadalafil (Cialis) and avanafil (Stendra) can help you achieve and maintain an erection. Possible side effects include low blood pressure, mild headache, flushing, upset stomach and changes in color vision.

    If you have a history of heart disease, arrhythmia, stroke or high blood pressure, use these medications with caution. Also avoid taking these medications if you are taking any type of organic nitrates. Seek immediate medical assistance if you have an erection that lasts longer than four hours.

  • External vacuum pump. This device helps pull blood into the penis using a hand pump. A tension ring helps keep the blood in place, maintaining the erection for up to 30 minutes.

For women with sexual symptoms, health care providers might recommend:

  • Vaginal lubricants to decrease dryness and make sexual intercourse more comfortable and enjoyable.
  • One of a few medications approved for premenopausal women with low sexual desire.

Heart rhythm and blood pressure symptoms

Autonomic neuropathy can cause heart rate and blood pressure problems. Your health care provider might prescribe:

  • A high-salt, high-fluid diet. If your blood pressure drops when you stand up, a diet that is high in salt and fluid can help maintain your blood pressure. This treatment can cause high blood pressure or swelling of the feet, ankles or legs. So it is generally recommended only for severe cases of blood pressure problems. And this treatment shouldn't be used in people with heart failure.
  • Compression garments. A binder worn around the waist or thigh-high compression stockings may help improve blood flow.
  • Medications to raise your blood pressure. If you feel faint or dizzy when you stand up, your health care provider might suggest medications. Fludrocortisone helps your body retain salt, which helps regulate your blood pressure.

    Midodrine (Orvaten) and droxidopa (Northera) can help raise blood pressure. But these drugs can cause high blood pressure when you're lying down. Octreotide (Sandostatin) can help raise blood pressure in people with diabetes who have low blood pressure after eating, but it can cause some side effects. Pyridostigmine (Mestinon) may help keep blood pressure stable when standing.

  • Medication to regulate your heart rate. A class of medications called beta blockers helps regulate your heart rate if it goes too high during physical activity.

Sweating

If you sweat too much, your health care provider might prescribe a medication that decreases sweating. Glycopyrrolate (Cuvposa, Robinul, others) can decrease sweating. Side effects can include diarrhea, dry mouth, urinary retention, blurred vision, changes in heart rate, headache, loss of taste and drowsiness. Glycopyrrolate can also increase the risk of heat-related illness, such as heatstroke, from a reduced ability to sweat.


Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.


Self care

  • Posture changes. Stand up slowly, in stages, to decrease dizziness. Sit with your legs dangling over the side of the bed for a few minutes before getting up. Flex your feet and make fists with your hands for a few seconds before standing up, to increase blood flow.

    Once standing, try tensing your leg muscles while crossing one leg over the other a few times to increase blood pressure.

  • Elevate the bed. If you have low blood pressure, it might help to raise the head of your bed by about 4 inches (10 centimeters). You can do this by placing blocks or risers under the legs at the head of the bed.
  • Digestion. Eat small, frequent meals to combat digestive problems. Increase fluids and opt for low-fat, high-fiber foods, which can improve digestion.
  • Diabetes management. Tight blood sugar control can help lessen symptoms and help prevent or delay the onset of new problems.

Alternative medicine

Several alternative medicine treatments might help people with autonomic neuropathy. Talk with your health care provider about any treatments you want to try. This can help make sure that they won't interfere with your medical treatments or be harmful.

Alpha-lipoic acid

Research suggests this antioxidant might improve the measures of autonomic nerve function. More study is needed.

Acupuncture

This therapy involves placing thin needles in specific points in the body. It might help treat slow stomach emptying and erectile dysfunction. More studies are needed.

Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation

This therapy sends low-energy electrical waves through electrodes placed on the skin. Some studies have found that it might help ease pain associated with diabetic neuropathy.


Coping and support

Living with a chronic condition presents daily challenges. Here are some suggestions to help you cope:

  • Set priorities. Accomplish the most important tasks, such as paying bills or grocery shopping, when you have the most energy. Save less important tasks for later. Stay active, but don't overdo.
  • Seek and accept help from friends and family. Having a support system and a positive attitude can help you cope with your challenges. Ask for what you need. Don't shut yourself off from loved ones.
  • Talk to a counselor or therapist. Depression is a possible complication of autonomic neuropathy. Seek help from a counselor or therapist in addition to your primary care provider to discuss possible treatments.
  • Consider joining a support group. Ask your care provider about support groups in your area. If there isn't a local group for people with neuropathies, you might find a support group for your underlying condition, such as diabetes, or an online support group.

Preparing for your appointment

First, you'll probably see your primary care provider. If you have diabetes, you might see your diabetes doctor (endocrinologist). However, you might be referred to a doctor specializing in nerve disorders (neurologist).

You might see other specialists, depending on the part of your body affected by neuropathy, such as a cardiologist for blood pressure or heart rate problems or a gastroenterologist for digestive difficulties.

Here are some tips to help you prepare for your appointment.

What you can do

Ask if you should do anything before your appointment, such as fasting before certain tests. Make a list of:

  • Your symptoms, and when they began
  • All medications, vitamins or other supplements you take, including doses
  • Questions to ask your health care provider

Take a friend or family member with you to help you remember the information you receive and to learn how to support you. For example, if you pass out from low blood pressure, people around you need to know what to do.

Questions to ask your health care provider about autonomic neuropathy include:

  • Why did I develop autonomic neuropathy?
  • Could anything else cause my symptoms?
  • What tests do I need?
  • What treatments are available?
  • Are there alternatives to the treatment you're suggesting?
  • Is there anything I can do to help manage autonomic neuropathy?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage those with autonomic neuropathy?
  • Do I need to follow a special diet?
  • Are there activities I need to restrict?
  • Do you have printed materials I can have? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask other questions.

What to expect from your doctor

Your health care provider is likely to ask you questions, such as:

  • Have your symptoms been continuous or occasional?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • Does anything seem to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?

Jul 07, 2022

  1. Autonomic neuropathy. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes/overview/preventing-problems/nerve-damage-diabetic-neuropathies/autonomic-neuropathy. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  2. Gibbons CH. Diabetic autonomic neuropathy. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  3. Overview of the autonomic nervous system. Merck Manual Professional Version. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/autonomic-nervous-system/overview-of-the-autonomic-nervous-system. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  4. Brock C, et al. Assessment of cardiovascular and gastrointestinal autonomic complications of diabetes. World Journal of Diabetes. 2016; doi:10.4239/wjd.v7.i16.321.
  5. Autonomic neuropathy. American Diabetes Association. https://diabetes.org/diabetes/neuropathy/autonomic-neuropathy. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  6. Autonomic neuropathies. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/neurologic-disorders/autonomic-nervous-system/autonomic-neuropathies. Accessed June 15, 2022.
  7. Loscalzo J, et al., eds. Diabetes mellitus: Complications. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 21st ed. McGraw Hill; 2022. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  8. Jankovic J, et al., eds. Disorders of the autonomic nervous system. In: Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 8th ed. Elsevier; 2022. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  9. Effectiveness checker. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 17, 2022.
  10. Acupuncture. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 17, 2022.
  11. Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation. Natural Medicines. https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com. Accessed June 7, 2022.
  12. Treatment for erectile dysfunction. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/urologic-diseases/erectile-dysfunction/treatment. Accessed June 16, 2022.
  13. Coon EA (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. June 20, 2022.

CON-XXXXXXXX

Show the heart some love!

Help us advance cardiovascular medicine.