诊断

医生会使用听诊器听您手臂和腿部的血液流动。通过动静脉瘘的血流发出类似于嗡嗡声的声音。

如果医生怀疑有瘘管,您需要接受其他检查以确诊。诊断动静脉瘘的检查可能包括:

  • 彩色多普勒超声。彩色多普勒超声是检查腿部或手臂中动静脉瘘的最有效、最常用的方法。在彩色多普勒超声中,声波用于评估血流速度。
  • 计算机断层成像(CT)血管造影片。CT 血管造影片可以显示血流是否绕过毛细管。在检查开始之前,将为您注射染料(对比剂),让您的血管在 CT 图上更清晰地显示。
  • 磁共振血管造影术 (MRA)。如果医生认为您的皮肤深处有动静脉瘘,可能会安排您进行这项检查。与 MRI 一样,MRA 使用磁场和无线电来生成人体软组织的图像。但还会为您注入一种特殊染料,有助于生成您的血管图像。

治疗

如果您的动静脉瘘很小且没有引发其他健康问题,则您只需要医生进行密切监测。一些小型动静脉瘘未经治疗就会自行闭合。

如果您的动静脉瘘需要治疗,医生可能会提供以下建议:

  • 超声波引导压迫法。如果动静脉瘘位于腿部且可以在超声影像中清晰观察,则可以选择这种治疗方案。采用这种治疗方法时,会使用超声波探头来压迫瘘管,阻断血液流到受损的血管。该手术用时约 10 分钟。但该方法仅对 1/3 的患者有效。
  • 导管栓塞术。在此手术中,将导管插入动静脉瘘附近的动脉。医生用 X 线和其他图像将导管引导至瘘管处。然后,在瘘管部位放置一个弹簧圈或支架,用于改道血液流动。许多接受导管栓塞术的患者留院时间不到一天,且可在一周内恢复日常活动。
  • 外科手术。不能用导管栓塞术治疗的大面积动静脉瘘可能需要进行手术。所需手术类型取决于动静脉瘘的大小和位置。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

准备您的预约

如果您认为您可能患有动静脉瘘,请预约家庭医生就诊。您可能会被转诊给血管专家或心脏专家(心脏病专家)。

由于就诊时间可能很短,而且通常会涉及到很多方面,因此最好为就诊做好准备。以下信息可以帮助您做好就诊准备,并了解医生可能会做些什么。

您可以做什么

  • 了解就诊前是否有任何限制规定。约诊时,请务必询问是否需要提前做好准备,例如限制饮食。由于动静脉瘘的检查往往包括超声波检查,您可能需要在就诊前空腹数小时。
  • 写下目前的所有症状,包括那些可能看起来与动静脉瘘无关的症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括既往刺伤或动静脉瘘或其他血管疾病家族史。
  • 列出您正在使用的所有药物、维生素或补充剂。
  • 尽可能让家人或朋友陪同就诊。有时很难记住在就诊期间获得的全部信息。陪同者可能会记住您所遗漏或忘记的一些事项。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

由于就诊时间有限,因此提前准备好问题清单有助于充分利用就诊时间。关于动静脉瘘,要向医生咨询的一些基本问题包括:

  • 最有可能引起我出现症状的原因是什么?
  • 是否还有其他原因可能引起我的症状?
  • 我需要做哪些类型的检查?
  • 可提供哪些治疗方法,您建议哪种?
  • 适合什么程度的身体活动?
  • 我还有其他健康问题。我怎样才能最好地同时管理这些状况?
  • 我的孩子或其他血缘亲属应该要筛查这种疾病吗?
  • 是否有我可以带回家的手册或其他印刷材料?您建议访问哪些网站?

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会问一些问题。准备好回答这些问题或许可以节省时间,可以更详细地讨论您关心的其他问题。医生可能会问以下问题:

  • 您第一次出现症状是什么时候?
  • 症状是持续存在还是时有时无?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 是否有任何因素似乎能令您的症状好转?
  • 有没有什么因素似乎会令您的症状恶化?
July 03, 2022
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Arterial diseases of the extremities. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  2. Stone CK, et al., eds. Vascular emergencies. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Emergency Medicine. 8th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  3. Eidt J, et al. Acquired arteriovenous fistula of the lower extremity. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  4. Cameron AM, et al., eds. Pseudoaneurysms and arteriovenous fistulas. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  5. Gossage JR, et al. Pulmonary arteriovenous malformations: Clinical features and diagnostic evaluation in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  6. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 1, 2020.

相关

Associated Procedures

Diagnosis

Your doctor will use a stethoscope to listen to the blood flow in your arms and legs. The blood flow through an arteriovenous fistula makes a sound similar to humming.

If your doctor suspects a fistula, you'll have other tests to confirm your diagnosis. Tests to diagnose an arteriovenous fistula can include:

  • Duplex ultrasound. Duplex ultrasound is the most effective and common way to check for an arteriovenous fistula in your legs or arms. In duplex ultrasound, sound waves are used to evaluate the speed of blood flow.
  • Computerized tomography (CT) angiogram. A CT angiogram can show if blood flow is bypassing the capillaries. Before the test starts, you'll receive an injection of a dye (contrast) that makes your blood vessels show up more clearly on CT images.
  • Magnetic resonance angiography (MRA). Your doctor may use this test if he or she thinks you have an arteriovenous fistula deep under your skin. Like an MRI, an MRA uses a magnetic field and radio waves to create pictures of the body's soft tissues. However, you're also given a special dye that helps create images of your blood vessels.

More Information

Treatment

If your arteriovenous fistula is small and doesn't cause any other health problems, you may need only close monitoring by a doctor. Some small arteriovenous fistulas close by themselves without treatment.

If your arteriovenous fistula requires treatment, your doctor may recommend:

  • Ultrasound-guided compression. This may be an option for you if you have an arteriovenous fistula in your legs that's easily seen on ultrasound. In this treatment, an ultrasound probe is used to compress the fistula and block blood flow to the damaged blood vessels. This procedure takes about 10 minutes. But it only works for about 1 in 3 people.
  • Catheter embolization. In this procedure, a catheter is inserted in an artery near the arteriovenous fistula. Doctors use X-rays and other images to guide the catheter to your fistula. Then, a small coil or stent is placed at the site of your fistula to reroute your blood flow. Many people who have catheter embolization stay in the hospital for less than a day and can resume daily activities within a week.
  • Surgery. Large arteriovenous fistulas that can't be treated with catheter embolization may require surgery. The type of surgery you'll need depends on the size and location of your arteriovenous fistula.

Preparing for your appointment

If you think you may have an arteriovenous fistula, make an appointment with your primary care doctor. You may be referred to a blood vessel (vascular) specialist or heart specialist (cardiologist).

Because appointments can be brief, and because there's often a lot of ground to cover, it's a good idea to be prepared for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and know what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. At the time you make the appointment, be sure to ask if there's anything you need to do in advance, such as restrict your diet. Since tests for an arteriovenous fistula usually include an ultrasound, it's possible you'll need to fast for several hours before your appointment.
  • Write down any symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to an arteriovenous fistula.
  • Write down key personal information, including previous piercing injuries or a family history of arteriovenous fistula or other blood vessel diseases.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins or supplements that you're taking.
  • Take a family member or friend along, if possible. Sometimes it can be difficult to recall all of the information provided to you during an appointment. Someone who accompanies you may remember something that you missed or forgot.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time together. For arteriovenous fistula, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • Are there any other possible causes for my symptoms?
  • What kinds of tests will I need?
  • What treatments are available, and which do you recommend?
  • What's an appropriate level of physical activity?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage these conditions together?
  • Should my children or other biological relatives be screened for this condition?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend visiting?

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions. Being ready to answer them may reserve time to go over any points you want to spend more time on. Your doctor may ask:

  • When did you first begin experiencing symptoms?
  • Have your symptoms been continuous, or do they come and go?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • Does anything seem to improve your symptoms?
  • What, if anything, appears to worsen your symptoms?
June 19, 2020
  1. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Arterial diseases of the extremities. In: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. 20th ed. The McGraw-Hill Companies; 2018. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  2. Stone CK, et al., eds. Vascular emergencies. In: Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Emergency Medicine. 8th ed. McGraw-Hill Education; 2017. https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  3. Eidt J, et al. Acquired arteriovenous fistula of the lower extremity. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  4. Cameron AM, et al., eds. Pseudoaneurysms and arteriovenous fistulas. In: Current Surgical Therapy. 13th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  5. Gossage JR, et al. Pulmonary arteriovenous malformations: Clinical features and diagnostic evaluation in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed April 16, 2020.
  6. Mankad R (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. May 1, 2020.

Related

Associated Procedures

Products & Services