التشخيص

سيطرح عليك الطبيب أسئلة عن تاريخك الطبي ويُجري لك فحصًا بدنيًّا. وقد يوصيك باتباع الخطوات التالية:

  • قياس مستوى عامل النمو المشابه لهرمون الأنسولين-1 (IGF-1). بعد الصيام طوال الليل، سيسحب الطبيب عينة دم لقياس مستوى عامل النمو المشابه لهرمون الأنسولين-1 (IGF-1). ويشير ارتفاع مستوى هذا العامل إلى الإصابة بتضخم الأطراف.
  • اختبار مثبِّط لهرمون النمو. يُعد هذا الاختبار أفضل طريقة لتأكيد تشخيص تضخم الأطراف. وفيه، تُقاس مستويات هرمون النمو في الدم قبل تناوُل مستحضر السكر (الغلوكوز) وبعده. وعادةً ما يتسبب تناول الغلوكوز في انخفاض مستويات هرمون النمو لدى الأشخاص غير المصابين بتضخم الأطراف. لكن إذا كنت مصابًا بتضخم الأطراف، فسيظل مستوى هرمون النمو لديك مرتفعًا.
  • فحوص التصوير. قد ينصحك طبيبك بالخضوع لفحص تصويري مثل التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي، للمساعدة في تحديد مكان الورم وحجمه في الغدة النخامية. في حالة عدم ظهور أورام بالغدة النخامية، فقد يطلب الطبيب إجراء اختبارات تصوير أخرى للكشف عن أورام الغدة النخامية.

العلاج

يختلف علاج تضخم الأطراف من شخص لآخر. يمكن أن تعتمد خطة علاجك على مكان الورم وحجمه وشدة الأعراض وعمرك والحالة العامة لصحتك.

للمساعدة على خفض مستويات GH وIGF-1، ستتضمن خيارات العلاج عادةً الجراحة أو الإشعاع لإزالة الورم الذي يسبب ظهور الأعراض أو لتقليل حجمه، وكذلك الأدوية المساعِدة على إعادة الهرمونات إلى مستوياتها العادية.

إذا كنت تشتكي من مشكلات صحية نتيجة تضخم الأطراف، فقد يوصي طبيبك بعلاجات إضافية للمساعدة على علاج هذه المضاعفات.

الجراحة

بإمكان الأطباء إزالة أغلب أورام الغدة النخامية باستخدام طريقة تدعى الجراحة التنظيرية عبر الأنف. في هذه العملية الجراحية، يحاول الجرَّاح استئصال ورم الغدة النخامية عبر الأنف. وإذا كان الورم الذي يتسبب في ظهور الأعراض عليك غير موجود في الغدة النخامية، فسيوصي الطبيب بنوع آخر من الجراحة لاستئصال الورم.

في كثير من الحالات، خاصةً إذا كان الورم صغيرًا، قد تتسبب إزالة الورم في عودة هرمون النمو مرة أخرى إلى مستوياته الطبيعة. وإذا كان الورم يضغط على الأنسجة المحيطة بالغدة النخامية، فإن إزالة الورم تساعد كذلك على تخفيف الصداع وتغيرات الرؤية.

قد يتعذر على الجرّاح أحيانًا إزالة الورم بالكامل. وفي هذه الحالة، قد تظل مستويات هرمون النمو مرتفعة بعد الجراحة. وقد ينصح الطبيب بإجراء جراحة أخرى وتناول أدوية أو علاجات إشعاعية مختلفة.

الأدوية

قد يوصيك الطبيب بأحد الأدوية التالية، أو بمزيج منها، للمساعدة على عودة مستويات الهرمون إلى الوضع الطبيعي:

  • الأدوية التي تقلل من إفراز هرمون النمو (مضاهئات السوماتوستاتين). في جسم الإنسان، يفرز الدماغ هرمونًا يُعرف باسم السوماتوستاتين وظيفته هي تثبيط إفراز هرمون النمو. ودواءا أوكتيريوتيد (Sandostatin) ولانريوتيد (Somatuline Depot) هما نسختان مصنَّعتان من هرمون السوماتوستاتين. ويؤدي تناول هذين الدواءين إلى تحفيز الغدة النخامية على تقليل إفراز هرمون النمو، وقد يساعد ذلك على تقليل حجم ورم الغدة النخامية. ويُعطَى هذان الدواءان عن طريق الحقْن في عضلات الأليتين مرةً واحدة شهريًا على يد اختصاصي رعاية صحية.
  • الأدوية التي تقلل من مستويات الهرمون (مُناهضات الدوبامين). قد يساعد الدواءان الفمويان كابرجولين وبروموكريبتين (Parlodel) على خفض مستويات هرمون النمو وعامل النمو المُشابه للأنسولين IGF-1 لدى بعض الأشخاص. وقد يساعد هذان الدواءان أيضًا على تقليل حجم الورم. ولعلاج تضخم الأطراف، يجب إعطاء هذه الأدوية بجرعات عالية عادةً، ما يؤدي إلى زيادة مخاطر الآثار الجانبية. وتشمل الآثار الجانبية الشائعة لهذه الأدوية الغثيان والقيء واحتقان الأنف والإرهاق والدوخة ومشاكل النوم وتغيرات الحالة المزاجية.
  • الأدوية التي تثبط عمل هرمون النمو (مُناهضات هرمون النمو). يوقف دواء بيجفيسومانت (Somavert) تأثير هرمون النمو على أنسجة الجسم. وقد يكون دواء بيجفيسومانت مفيدًا بشكل خاص للأشخاص الذين لم تفلح معهم العلاجات الأخرى. ويُعطَى هذا الدواء عن طريق الحقْن يوميًا، ويمكن أن يساعد على تقليل مستويات عامل النمو المشابه للأنسولين IGF-1 وتخفيف الأعراض، لكنه لا يقلل مستويات هرمون النمو أو حجم الورم.

الإشعاع

قد يوصي الطبيب بالعلاج بالإشعاع إذا لم يتمكن الجراح من استئصال الورم بالكامل أثناء العملية الجراحية، حيث يدمر العلاج الإشعاعي أي خلايا متبقية ذات صلة بالورم، كما يحد من مستويات هرمون النمو ببطء. وربما يستغرق الأمر سنوات حتى يُظهر هذا العلاج تحسنًا ملحوظًا على أعراض ضخامة الأطراف.

ويؤدي العلاج بالإشعاع غالبًا إلى انخفاض مستويات الهرمونات النخامية الأخرى أيضًا وليس هرمون النمو فقط. إذا كنت تخضع للعلاج بالإشعاع، فمن المرجح أن تحتاج إلى زيارات متابعة منتظمة مع الطبيب للتأكد من أن الغدة النخامية تعمل بصورة جيدة، والتحقق من مستويات الهرمونات لديك. وقد تستمر الرعاية التفقدية لبقية حياتك.

تتضمن أنواع العلاج الإشعاعي ما يلي:

  • العلاج الإشعاعي التقليدي. يُعطى هذا النوع من العلاج الإشعاعي عادةً طوال أيام الأسبوع على مدار فترة تتراوح بين أربعة وستة أسابيع. وقد لا ترى التأثير الكامل للعلاج بالإشعاع التقليدي لمدة 10 سنوات أو أكثر بعد العلاج.
  • الجِراحة الإشعاعية باستخدام التوجيه التجسيمي. تستخدم الجراحة الإشعاعية التجسيمية تقنية التصوير ثلاثي الأبعاد لتوصيل جرعة عالية من الإشعاع إلى خلايا الورم، فضلاً عن تقليل كمية الإشعاع التي تصل إلى الأنسجة الطبيعية المحيطة. ويمكن توصيل الإشعاع عادةً في جرعة واحدة. وقد يُعيد هذا النوع من الإشعاع مستويات هرمون النمو إلى معدلها الطبيعي خلال فترة تتراوح بين خمس سنوات و10 سنوات.

التجارب السريرية

استكشِف دراسات مايو كلينك حول التطورات الجديدة في مجال العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والاختبارات المستخدمة للوقاية من هذه الحالة الصحية وعلاجها وإدارتها.

الاستعداد لموعدك

يمكنك زيارة طبيب العائلة أو طبيب عام أولاً. لكن في بعض الحالات، قد تُحال على الفور إلى طبيب متخصص في الاضطرابات الهرمونية (اختصاصي الغدد الصماء).

من الجيِّد الاستعداد لموعدك الطبي. إليك بعض المعلومات التي ستساعدك على التأهب لموعدك الطبي، وتكوين تصوُّر عما سيقوم به الطبيب.

ما يمكنك فعله

  • التزم بأي قيود يحددها لك الطبيب قبل الموعد الطبي. عند حجز موعدك الطبي، اسأل عن تعليمات الطبيب التي ينبغي لك الالتزام بها للتحضير للاختبارات التشخيصية.
  • دوِّن الأعراض التي تظهر عليك. تتبَّع كل ما يسبب لك الانزعاج أو يثير مخاوفك، مثل نوبات الصداع أو تغيرات الرؤية أو الشعور بعدم الراحة في يديك، حتى وإن بدت تلك الأعراض غير مرتبطة بالسبب الذي حددت الموعد لأجله.
  • دوِّن المعلومات الشخصية الأساسية، بما في ذلك أي تغيرات طرأت على حياتك الجنسية، أو الدورة الشهرية بالنسبة إلى النساء.
  • أعِدَّ قائمة بجميع الأدوية، والفيتامينات والمكملات الغذائية التي تتناولها.
  • أحضر معك صورًا قديمة يمكن أن يستخدمها طبيبك للمقارنة بينها وبين مظهرك الحالي. من المرجح أن يهتم طبيبك بمقارنة صورك منذ 10 سنوات وحتى اليوم.
  • اصطحب معك أحد أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء، إن أمكن ذلك. قد يتذكَّر الشخص الذي يرافقك شيئًا قد فاتك أو نسيته.
  • دوِّن الأسئلة التي تريد طرحها على الطبيب.

يساعدك إعداد قائمة بالأسئلة على تحقيق أقصى استفادة من وقتك مع طبيبك. فيما يتعلق بتضخم الأطراف، تتضمن بعض الأسئلة الأساسية التي ينبغي طرحها على طبيبك ما يأتي:

  • ما السبب المرجَّح لإصابتي بهذه الأعراض؟
  • بخلاف السبب الأكثر احتمالاً، ما الأسباب المحتملة الأخرى لظهور أعراضي أو حالتي المرضية؟
  • ما الاختبارات التي أحتاج إلى إجرائها؟
  • ما العلاجات المتوفرة لهذه الحالة؟ ما نهج العلاج الذي توصي به؟
  • ما المدة التي أحتاجها للعلاج حتى تتحسن الأعراض؟
  • مع العلاج، هل سأعود إلى مظهري وشعوري السابقين قبل ظهور أعراض تضخم الأطراف؟
  • هل أنا مُعرَّض لمضاعفات مزمنة بسبب هذه الحالة؟
  • لديَّ حالات صحية أخرى. كيف يمكنني التعامل مع هذه الحالات معًا بأفضل طريقة ممكنة؟
  • هل ينبغي لي استشارة اختصاصي؟
  • هل يوجد دواء عامد بديل من نفس نوعية الدواء الذي تصفه؟
  • هل هناك كتيبات أو مطبوعات أخرى يمكنني أخذها معي؟ ما المواقع الإلكترونية التي تنصحني بها؟

لا تتردد في طرح أي أسئلة أخرى.

ما الذي تتوقعه من طبيبك

من المرجح أن يطرح عليك طبيبك عددًا من الأسئلة، بما في ذلك:

  • ما هي الأعراض التي تعاني منها، ومتى ظهرت؟
  • هل لاحظت أية تغيرات فيما تشعر به أو ما تبدو عليه؟ هل طرأت تغيرات على حياتك الجنسية؟ كم تبلغ مدة نومك؟ هل تعاني من الصداع أو ألم المفاصل، أو هل تغير مستوى الرؤية لديك؟ هل لاحظت أنك تتعرق بصورة زائدة؟
  • هل هناك أي شيء يبدو أنه يُحسّن من أعراضك أو يزيدها سوءًا؟
  • ما مدى تقييمك للتغير الذي طرأ على سماتك بمرور الوقت؟ هل لديك صور قديمة يمكنني استخدامها للمقارنة؟
  • هل لا زالت أحذيتك وخواتمك القديمة تلائم مقاسك؟ إذا كانت الإجابة بلا، فما هو مدى التغير الذي طرأ عليها بمرور الوقت؟
  • هل خضعت لفحص سرطان القولون؟
16/02/2021
  1. AskMayoExpert. Acromegaly and gigantism. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. Acromegaly. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/acromegaly. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Endocrine and metabolic disorders. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  4. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Acromegaly: In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  5. Melmed S, et al. Treatment of acromegaly. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2021.

Diagnosis

Your doctor will ask about your medical history and conduct a physical exam. Then he or she may recommend the following steps:

  • IGF-1 measurement. After you've fasted overnight, your doctor will take a blood sample to measure the IGF-1 level in your blood. An elevated IGF-1 level suggests acromegaly.
  • Growth hormone suppression test. This is the best method for confirming an acromegaly diagnosis. During this test, your GH blood level is measured both before and after you drink a preparation of sugar (glucose). In people who don't have acromegaly, the glucose drink typically causes the GH level to fall. But if you have acromegaly, your GH level will tend to stay high.
  • Imaging. Your doctor may recommend an imaging test, such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), to help pinpoint the location and size of a tumor on your pituitary gland. If no pituitary tumors are seen, your doctor may order other imaging tests to look for nonpituitary tumors.

More Information

Treatment

Acromegaly treatment varies by person. Your treatment plan will likely depend on the location and size of your tumor, the severity of your symptoms, and your age and overall health.

To help lower your GH and IGF-1 levels, treatment options typically include surgery or radiation to remove or reduce the size of the tumor that is causing your symptoms, and medication to help normalize your hormone levels.

If you're experiencing health problems as a result of acromegaly, your doctor may recommend additional treatments to help manage your complications.

Surgery

Doctors can remove most pituitary tumors using a method called transsphenoidal surgery. During this procedure, your surgeon works through your nose to remove the tumor from your pituitary gland. If the tumor causing your symptoms isn't located on your pituitary gland, your doctor will recommend another type of surgery to remove the tumor.

In many cases — especially if your tumor is small — removal of the tumor returns your GH levels to normal. If the tumor was putting pressure on the tissues around your pituitary gland, removing the tumor also helps relieve headaches and vision changes.

In some cases, your surgeon may not be able to remove the entire tumor. If this is the case, you may still have elevated GH levels after surgery. Your doctor may recommend another surgery, medications or radiation treatments.

Medications

Your doctor may recommend one of the following medications — or a combination of medications — to help your hormone levels return to normal:

  • Drugs that reduce growth hormone production (somatostatin analogues). In the body, a brain hormone called somatostatin works against (inhibits) GH production. The drugs octreotide (Sandostatin) and lanreotide (Somatuline Depot) are man-made (synthetic) versions of somatostatin. Taking one of these drugs signals the pituitary gland to produce less GH, and may even reduce the size of a pituitary tumor. Typically, these drugs are injected into the muscles of your buttocks (gluteal muscles) once a month by a health care professional.
  • Drugs to lower hormone levels (dopamine agonists). The oral medications cabergoline and bromocriptine (Parlodel) may help lower levels of GH and IGF-1 in some people. These drugs may also help decrease tumor size. To treat acromegaly, these medications usually need to be taken at high doses, which can increase the risk of side effects. Common side effects of these drugs include nausea, vomiting, stuffy nose, tiredness, dizziness, sleep problems and mood changes.
  • Drug to block the action of GH (growth hormone antagonist). The medication pegvisomant (Somavert) blocks the effect of GH on the body's tissues. Pegvisomant may be particularly helpful for people who haven't had good success with other treatments. Given as a daily injection, this medication can help lower IGF-1 levels and relieve symptoms, but it doesn't lower GH levels or reduce tumor size.

Radiation

If your surgeon wasn't able to remove the whole tumor during surgery, your doctor may recommend radiation treatment. Radiation therapy destroys any lingering tumor cells and slowly reduces GH levels. It may take years for this treatment to noticeably improve acromegaly symptoms.

Radiation treatment often lowers levels of other pituitary hormones, too — not just GH. If you receive radiation treatment, you'll likely need regular follow-up visits with your doctor to make sure that your pituitary gland is working properly, and to check your hormone levels. This follow-up care may last for the rest of your life.

Types of radiation therapy include:

  • Conventional radiation therapy. This type of radiation therapy is usually given every weekday over a period of four to six weeks. You may not see the full effect of conventional radiation therapy for 10 or more years after treatment.
  • Stereotactic radiosurgery. Stereotactic radiosurgery uses 3D imaging to deliver a high dose of radiation to the tumor cells, while limiting the amount of radiation to normal surrounding tissues. It can usually be delivered in a single dose. This type of radiation may bring GH levels back to normal within five to 10 years.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Preparing for your appointment

You'll probably first see your family doctor or a general doctor. However, in some cases, you may be referred immediately to a doctor who specializes in hormonal disorders (endocrinologist).

It's good to prepare for your appointment. Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment and to know what to expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Be aware of any pre-appointment restrictions. When you make the appointment, ask if there's anything you need to do to prepare for diagnostic tests.
  • Write down the symptoms you're experiencing. Keep track of anything causing you discomfort or concern, such as headaches, vision changes or discomfort in your hands, even if those things seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any changes in your sex life or, for women, in your menstrual cycle.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins and supplements you're taking.
  • Take along old photographs that your doctor can use to compare against your appearance today. Your doctor will likely be interested in photos from 10 years ago through the present.
  • Take along a family member or friend, if possible. The person who accompanies you may remember something that you miss or forget.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Preparing a list of questions will help you make the most of your time with your doctor. For acromegaly, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • Other than the most likely cause, what are possible causes for my symptoms or condition?
  • What tests do I need?
  • What treatments are available for this condition? Which approach do you recommend?
  • How long will I need treatment before my symptoms improve?
  • With treatment, will I go back to looking and feeling as I did before I developed symptoms of acromegaly?
  • Will I have long-term complications from this condition?
  • I have other health conditions. How can I best manage the conditions together?
  • Should I see a specialist?
  • Is there a generic alternative to the medicine you're prescribing?
  • Are there brochures or other printed material I can take with me? What websites do you recommend?

Don't hesitate to ask any other questions you have.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions, including:

  • What symptoms are you experiencing, and when did they appear?
  • Have you noticed any changes in how you feel or how you look? Has your sex life changed? How are you sleeping? Do you have headaches or joint pain, or has your vision changed? Have you noticed excessive sweating?
  • Does anything seem to improve or worsen your symptoms?
  • How much would you say your features have changed over time? Do you have old pictures I can use for comparison?
  • Do your old shoes and rings still fit? If not, how much has their fit changed over time?
  • Have you had colon cancer screening?
Feb. 16, 2021
  1. AskMayoExpert. Acromegaly and gigantism. Mayo Clinic; 2019.
  2. Acromegaly. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/endocrine-diseases/acromegaly. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Endocrine and metabolic disorders. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  4. Jameson JL, et al., eds. Acromegaly: In: Endocrinology: Adult and Pediatric. 7th ed. Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Dec. 26, 2020.
  5. Melmed S, et al. Treatment of acromegaly. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Jan. 4, 2021.