诊断

由于失弛缓症的症状类似于其他消化疾病,因而可能被忽视或误诊。要检查失弛缓症,医生可能会给出以下建议:

  • 食管测压。这项检查测量吞咽时食管肌肉的节律性收缩、食管肌肉的协调性和作用力,以及在吞咽过程中食管下括约肌的松弛或张开程度。确定您可能有哪种类型的运动能力问题时,这项测试最有效。
  • 对您的上消化系统执行 X 线检查(食管 X 线片)。进行 X 线检查时,您将先喝下一种白垩状液体,这些液体会覆盖并填充消化道内膜。此涂层能够让医生看到您的食管、胃和小肠上段的轮廓。医生还可能要求您吞下一个钡片,以便于显示食管阻塞。
  • 上消化道内镜检查。医生会将一根装有灯和摄像头的细软管(内镜)经您的咽喉插入,以检查食管和胃的内部。如果您的症状或钡剂检查结果表明有食管部分阻塞的可能性,则可以使用内镜检查来确诊。还可以利用内镜检查来采集组织样本(活检),以检测是否出现反流并发症,例如巴雷特食管。

详细了解食管测压上消化道内镜检查

治疗

失弛缓症的治疗重点是放松或拉开食管下括约肌,从而让食物和液体可以更容易地通过消化道。

具体治疗取决于您的年龄、健康状况和失弛缓症的严重程度。

非外科治疗

非手术方案包括:

  • 气动扩张术。通过内镜将一个球囊送入食管括约肌的中心,并充气以扩大开口。如果食管括约肌不能保持打开,可能需要重复门诊手术。近三分之一接受球囊扩张治疗的患者需要在五年内重复治疗。该手术需要使用镇静剂。
  • 保妥适(A 型肉毒毒素)。这种肌肉松弛剂可以用内镜针直接注入食管括约肌。可能需要重复注射,如果需要,重复注射可能会增加后续手术的难度。

    通常建议仅将保妥适用于那些由于年龄或整体健康状况而不适合进行气动扩张术或手术的人。肉毒杆菌注射通常不会持续超过 6 个月。肉毒杆菌注射的强力提升效果可能有助于确诊失弛缓症。

  • 药物治疗。您的医生可能会建议在进食前使用诸如硝酸甘油(Nitrostat)或硝苯地平(Procardia)等肌肉松弛剂。这些药物治疗效果有限且副作用严重。一般来说,只有当您不能进行气动扩张术或手术,而且保妥适也没有用时,才会考虑使用药物。很少提及这种类型治疗。

外科手术

治疗失弛缓症的手术方案包括:

  • 食道肌肉切开术。外科医生会切开食管括约肌下端肌肉,以使食物更容易进入胃。该手术可以无创进行(腹腔镜食道肌肉切开术)。一些接受食道肌肉切开术的人以后可能会患胃食管反流病(GERD)。

    为了避免将来患 GERD,可以在进行食道肌肉切开术的同时进行胃底折叠术。在胃底折叠术中,外科医生将胃的顶部包裹在食管下部,以形成防回流阀,防止酸回流(GERD)进入食管。胃底折叠术通常以微创(腹腔镜)手术的方式进行。

  • 经口内镜下肌切开术(POEM)。POEM 手术中,外科医生经口腔插入内镜,沿咽喉向下,在食管内膜建立切口。然后,与食道肌肉切开术一样,外科医生会切开食管括约肌下端肌肉。

    POEM 可以与胃底折叠术一起实施或随后实施胃底折叠术,以预防 GERD。一些接受 POEM 并发展成 GERD 的患者每天口服药物治疗。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

May 11, 2023
  1. Zaninotto G, et al. The 2018 ISDE achalasia guidelines. Diseases of the Esophagus. 2018; doi:10.1093/dote/doy071.
  2. Achalasia. National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/achalasia/. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  3. Achalasia. Canadian Society of Intestinal Research. https://badgut.org/information-centre/a-z-digestive-topics/achalasia/. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  4. Swanstrom LL. Achalasia: Treatment, current status and future advances. Korean Journal of Internal Medicine. 2019; doi:10.3904/kjim.2018.439.
  5. Jung HK, et al. 2019 Seoul consensus on esophageal achalasia guidelines. Neurogastroenterology and Motility. 2020; doi:10.5056/jnm20014.
  6. Achalasia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/esophageal-and-swallowing-disorders/achalasia. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  7. Ahmed Y, et al. Peroral endoscopic myotomy (POEM) for achalasia. Journal of Thoracic Disease. 2019; doi:10.21037/jtd.2019.07.84.
  8. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. March 12, 2020.
  9. Blackmon SH (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. April 8, 2020

Diagnosis

Achalasia can be overlooked or misdiagnosed because it has symptoms similar to other digestive disorders. To test for achalasia, your doctor is likely to recommend:

  • Esophageal manometry. This test measures the rhythmic muscle contractions in your esophagus when you swallow, the coordination and force exerted by the esophagus muscles, and how well your lower esophageal sphincter relaxes or opens during a swallow. This test is the most helpful when determining which type of motility problem you might have.
  • X-rays of your upper digestive system (esophagram). X-rays are taken after you drink a chalky liquid that coats and fills the inside lining of your digestive tract. The coating allows your doctor to see a silhouette of your esophagus, stomach and upper intestine. You may also be asked to swallow a barium pill that can help to show a blockage of the esophagus.
  • Upper endoscopy. Your doctor inserts a thin, flexible tube equipped with a light and camera (endoscope) down your throat, to examine the inside of your esophagus and stomach. Endoscopy can be used to define a partial blockage of the esophagus if your symptoms or results of a barium study indicate that possibility. Endoscopy can also be used to collect a sample of tissue (biopsy) to be tested for complications of reflux such as Barrett's esophagus.

Read more about esophageal manometry and upper endoscopy.

Treatment

Achalasia treatment focuses on relaxing or stretching open the lower esophageal sphincter so that food and liquid can move more easily through your digestive tract.

Specific treatment depends on your age, health condition and the severity of the achalasia.

Nonsurgical treatment

Nonsurgical options include:

  • Pneumatic dilation. A balloon is inserted by endoscopy into the center of the esophageal sphincter and inflated to enlarge the opening. This outpatient procedure may need to be repeated if the esophageal sphincter doesn't stay open. Nearly one-third of people treated with balloon dilation need repeat treatment within five years. This procedure requires sedation.
  • Botox (botulinum toxin type A). This muscle relaxant can be injected directly into the esophageal sphincter with an endoscopic needle. The injections may need to be repeated, and repeat injections may make it more difficult to perform surgery later if needed.

    Botox is generally recommended only for people who aren't good candidates for pneumatic dilation or surgery due to age or overall health. Botox injections typically do not last more than six months. A strong improvement from injection of Botox may help confirm a diagnosis of achalasia.

  • Medication. Your doctor might suggest muscle relaxants such as nitroglycerin (Nitrostat) or nifedipine (Procardia) before eating. These medications have limited treatment effect and severe side effects. Medications are generally considered only if you're not a candidate for pneumatic dilation or surgery, and Botox hasn't helped. This type of therapy is rarely indicated.

Surgery

Surgical options for treating achalasia include:

  • Heller myotomy. The surgeon cuts the muscle at the lower end of the esophageal sphincter to allow food to pass more easily into the stomach. The procedure can be done noninvasively (laparoscopic Heller myotomy). Some people who have a Heller myotomy may later develop gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD).

    To avoid future problems with GERD, a procedure known as fundoplication might be performed at the same time as a Heller myotomy. In fundoplication, the surgeon wraps the top of your stomach around the lower esophagus to create an anti-reflux valve, preventing acid from coming back (GERD) into the esophagus. Fundoplication is usually done with a minimally invasive (laparoscopic) procedure.

  • Peroral endoscopic myotomy (POEM). In the POEM procedure, the surgeon uses an endoscope inserted through your mouth and down your throat to create an incision in the inside lining of your esophagus. Then, as in a Heller myotomy, the surgeon cuts the muscle at the lower end of the esophageal sphincter.

    POEM may also be combined with or followed by later fundoplication to help prevent GERD. Some patients who have a POEM and develop GERD after the procedure are treated with daily oral medication.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

Achalasia care at Mayo Clinic

Oct. 21, 2020
  1. Zaninotto G, et al. The 2018 ISDE achalasia guidelines. Diseases of the Esophagus. 2018; doi:10.1093/dote/doy071.
  2. Achalasia. National Organization for Rare Disorders. https://rarediseases.org/rare-diseases/achalasia/. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  3. Achalasia. Canadian Society of Intestinal Research. https://badgut.org/information-centre/a-z-digestive-topics/achalasia/. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  4. Swanstrom LL. Achalasia: Treatment, current status and future advances. Korean Journal of Internal Medicine. 2019; doi:10.3904/kjim.2018.439.
  5. Jung HK, et al. 2019 Seoul consensus on esophageal achalasia guidelines. Neurogastroenterology and Motility. 2020; doi:10.5056/jnm20014.
  6. Achalasia. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/gastrointestinal-disorders/esophageal-and-swallowing-disorders/achalasia. Accessed April 6, 2020.
  7. Ahmed Y, et al. Peroral endoscopic myotomy (POEM) for achalasia. Journal of Thoracic Disease. 2019; doi:10.21037/jtd.2019.07.84.
  8. Brown AY. Allscripts EPSi. Mayo Clinic. March 12, 2020.
  9. Blackmon SH (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic. April 8, 2020

Related

Products & Services