الكبد الاصطناعي الحيوي

لدى بعض المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى زراعات الأعضاء مستويات عالية من الأجسام المضادة، مثل عمليات نقل الدم. وفي حالة هؤلاء الذين على درجة عالية من الحساسية، يكاد يكون من المستحيل إيجاد عضو متوافق من متبرع متوفى أو البحث عن متبرع حي. يعمل الباحثون في Mayo Clinic على تطوير كبد اصطناعي حيوي يسمح لمرضى الكبد بالحصول على وظيفة الكبد المحسنة التي تنتج عن زراعة الكبد دون إجراء العملية.

وعند استخدام هذا الكبد، تقوم الخلايا الحية المأخوذة من كبد الخنازير بتنقية دم المريض في عملية مماثلة لغسيل الكلى. يقدم هذا الكبد الاصطناعي الحيوي العديد من المزايا:

  • تؤدي الخلايا الحية جميع وظائف التمثيل الغذائي التي يؤديها الكبد البشري، إلى جانب تنقية الفضلات من الجسم.
  • يمكن للمرضى تجنب مخاطر الجراحة والحد من احتمالية عرقلة حياتهم.
  • الكبد المتبرع به الذي كان سيحصل عليه المريض الذي زُرع له كبد اصطناعي يكون متاحًا لمريض آخر بحاجة إلى زراعة كبد.

وثمة العديد من الخطوات التي يجب مراعاتها أيضًا لرفع مستوى السلامة واحتمالية النجاح. يتناول المريض عقار إكوليزوماب (سوليريس) لمنع التلف الناجم عن هجمات الأجسام المضادة على العضو الجديد. تقوم الجلسات المتعددة لنقل البلازما بتنقية الأجسام المضادة، ويمنع العلاج بتناول عقار بورتيزوميب (فلكيد) إنتاج أجسام مضادة جديدة. كانت Mayo Clinic أحد المراكز الأولى التي استخدمت عقار إكوليزوماب.

إذا احتاج الفرد إلى زرع أكثر من عضو واحد، كما هو الحال في زراعة القلب والكبد معًا وزراعة الكلى والكبد معًا، يخطط أطباء Mayo Clinic تسلسل الإجراءات للحد من إنتاج الأجسام المضادة. قد تمنع زراعة الكبد أولاً، إذا أمكن، من احتمالية رفض الجسم للعضو الآخر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يخصص أطباء Mayo خطط الرعاية التي تخص متلقو الأعضاء حسب احتياجات كل منهم، وذلك للحد من احتمالية رفض الجسم للعضو. مع التخطيط، تنخفض احتمالية الرفض من 40 بالمائة إلى أقل من 10 بالمائة.

مشاركة تجربتك

شارك تجربة الزراعة الخاصة بك في Mayo Clinic مع الآخرين باستخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

23/05/2017

Bioartificial liver

Some people who need organs have high levels of antibodies, such as from blood transfusions. In these highly sensitized individuals, being matched to an organ from a deceased donor or finding a living donor may be almost impossible. Mayo Clinic researchers are working to develop a bioartificial liver that allows people with liver disease to receive the improved liver function that comes with liver transplant without undergoing the procedure.

In this approach, live cells from pig livers filter the patient's blood in a process similar to that of kidney dialysis. This bioartificial liver offers several advantages:

  • The live cells perform all the metabolic functions that a human liver does, besides filtering wastes from the body.
  • Patients can avoid the risks of surgery and minimize disruption to their lives.
  • The donor liver that the artificial liver recipient would have received is available for another person needing an organ.

Several other steps are involved, as well, to increase the safety and likelihood of success. The drug eculizumab (Soliris) is taken to prevent organ damage caused by antibody attacks on the new organ. Multiple rounds of plasma exchange filter out antibodies, and treatment with bortezomib (Velcade) prevents the production of new antibodies. Mayo Clinic was one of the first centers to use eculizumab.

If the individual needs to have more than one organ transplanted, as in heart-liver and kidney-liver transplantation, Mayo Clinic physicians plan the sequence of the procedures to reduce antibody production. Transplanting the liver first, when possible, may reduce the chance of rejection of the other organ.

In addition, Mayo doctors carefully individualize organ recipients' care plans to reduce the likelihood of organ rejection. With planning, the likelihood of rejection has been reduced from 40 percent to less than 10 percent.

Share your experience

Share your Mayo Clinic transplant experience with others using social media.

Aug. 24, 2018