مع اختلاف إرشادات الماموجرام أنا لا أعلم متى البدء في أشعة الماموجرام. ما الذي توصي به مايو كلينك؟

في مايو كلينك، ينصح الأطباء السيدات بدءا من سن 40 بإجراء الماموجرام سنويا. متى البدء في القيام بأشعة الماموجرام وكم مرة يجب تكرارها هو قرار شخصي بناء على تفضيلك.

تنصح مايو كلينك النساء أن يتحدثن مع أطبائهن عن منافع ومخاطر وحدود الماموجرام والتقرير سويا ما هو الأفضل. موازنة منافع الأشعة مع الحدود والمخاطر هو مفتاح تحديد متى ينبغي البدء بالماموجرام وكم مرة ينبغي تكرارها.

لا تتفق كل المؤسسات على إرشادات أشعة سرطان الثدي لكن معظمهم يؤكدون على العمل مع طبيبك على تحديد ما هو الأفضل لوضعك بالتحديد.

على سبيل المثال، توصي إرشادات الماموجرام لوحدة خدمات الوقاية الأمريكية النساء بالبدء بالأشعة عند سن 50 أما الجمعية الأمريكية للسرطان فتوصي النساء بالبدء بالأشعة عند سن 45. لكن كلا من هاتين المنظمتين تعترفان بأن البدء بالأشعة عند سن 40 قد يكون هاما لبعض السيدات بعد وضع المنافع والحدود محط الاختبار.

التفاعل مع الدلائل المتغيرة

يستمر أطباء مايو كلينك في استعراض الدراسات عن إرشادات مايو كلينك للماموجرام لفهم ما الذي تعنيه الدراسات لصحة النساء. التغيرات في إرشادات الماموجرام قد تكون ضرورية أو غير ضرورية في المستقبل بينما يستمر الباحثون في دراسة هذا الموضوع.

تدعم مايو كلينك الأشعة بدءا من سن 40 لأن أشعة الماموجرام يمكنها اكتشاف التغيرات الشاذة المؤدية إلى سرطان الثدي مبكرا في النساء في سن 40. أظهرت نتائج التجارب العشوائية على النساء في سن 40 و50 عاما أن أشعة الماموجرام تقلل من الوفيات الناتجة عن سرطان الثدي بنسبة ما بين 15 إلى 29 بالمائة.

لكن أشعة الماموجرام ليست مثالية. استنتجت دراسة أخرى أنه على الرغم من أن عدد النساء اللواتي تم تشخيصهم بسرطان الثدي مبكرا قد ازداد نتيجة أشعة الماموجرام إلا أن عدد النساء اللواتي تم تشخيصهم بسرطان الثدي المتقدم لم يتناقص. اقترحت الدراسة أن بعض النساء المصابات بسرطان الثدي المبكر تم تشخيصهن بسرطان لم يكن ليؤثر أبدا على صحتهن.

للأسف لا يستطيع الأطباء التفرقة بين سرطانات الثدي الخطيرة وتلك التي لا تهدد الحياة، لذا يظل الماموجرام السنوي هو أفضل خيار لاكتشاف السرطان وتقليل خطر الموت نتيجة سرطان الثدي.

القلق الرئيسي من الماموجرام لأشعة سرطان الثدي هو احتمالية ظهور نتيجة إيجابية خاطئة. يعني هذا أن الشذوذ قد تم اكتشافه لكن بعد الاختبارات الإضافية يظهر أنه ليس سرطانا. يحدث هذا خاصة في السيدات الصغيرات في سن 40 و50 عاما وهن الأكثر تعرضا لاحتمالية ظهور نتيجة إيجابية خاطئة.

إذا ما تم اكتشاف شذوذ ما في الماموجرام قد يطلب من السيدة الحصول على المزيد من صور الماموجرام وربما أيضا المزيد من اختبارات التصوير مثل الأشعة فوق الصوتية. قد تحدد هذه الاختبارات أن الشذوذ الظاهر في الماموجرام الأصلي ليس سرطانا.

في بعض الأحيان قد يكون من الضروري للسيدة الخضوع لجراحة نزعة لأخذ عينة من نسيج الثدي لفحصها. بالنسبة للعديد من النساء يؤكد هذا عدم وجود السرطان ويطمئن ولا يزيد من القلق.

العمل مع طبيبك

إذا كنتي قلقة من توقيت البدء في إجراء أشعة سرطان الثدي وكم مرة ينبغي القيام به فاعملي مع طبيبك لاتخاذ قرار مبني على معلومات. يمكنكما سويا تقرير الأفضل لكي بناء على مرجعياتك الشخصية وتاريخك الطبي وخطر إصابتك بالسرطان الشخصي.

تحدث مع طبيبك عن:

  • خطر إصابتك بالسرطان الشخصي
  • منافع ومخاطر وحدود أشعة الماموجرام
  • الدور الذي يلعبه الفحص الذاتي للسرطان للوعي بالثدي في المساعدة على أن تصبحين أكثر معرفة بثدييك الأمر الذي قد يساعدك على التعرف على الشذوذ أو التغيرات
27/09/2018 See more Expert Answers

With differing mammogram guidelines, I'm not sure when to begin mammogram screening. What does Mayo Clinic recommend?

Answer From Sandhya Pruthi, M.D.

At Mayo Clinic, doctors offer mammograms to women beginning at age 40 and continuing annually. When to begin mammogram screening and how often to repeat it is a personal decision based on your preferences.

Mayo Clinic recommends women and their doctors discuss the benefits, risks and limitations of mammograms and decide together what is best. Balancing the benefits of screening with the limitations and risks is a key part of deciding when to begin mammograms and how often to repeat them.

Not all organizations agree on breast cancer screening guidelines, but most emphasize meeting with your doctor to review the risks, limitations and benefits of mammograms in order to determine what's right for your particular situation.

For instance, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force mammogram guidelines recommend women begin screening at age 50 and the American Cancer Society recommends women begin screening at age 45. But both of these organizations acknowledge that beginning screening at 40 may make sense for some women after considering the benefits and limitations of the test.

Reacting to changing evidence

Mayo Clinic doctors continue to review studies about mammogram guidelines to understand what the studies mean for women's health. Changes to mammogram guidelines might or might not be necessary in the future, as researchers continue studying this topic.

Mayo Clinic supports screening beginning at age 40 because screening mammograms can detect breast abnormalities early in women in their 40s. Findings from randomized trials of women in their 40s and 50s have demonstrated that screening mammograms decrease breast cancer deaths by 15 to 29 percent.

But mammogram screening isn't perfect. Another study concluded that despite more women being diagnosed with early breast cancer due to mammogram screening, the number of women diagnosed with advanced breast cancer hasn't decreased. The study suggested that some women with early breast cancer were diagnosed with cancer that may never have affected their health.

Unfortunately doctors can't distinguish between breast cancers that may spread beyond the breast and those that will remain confined to the breast, so annual mammograms remain the best option for detecting cancer early and reducing the risk of death from breast cancer.

The main concern about mammograms for breast cancer screening is the chance of a false positive result. This means that an abnormality is detected but, after additional testing, it turns out to not be cancer. This is especially a concern in younger women in their 40s and 50s, who may be more likely to have a false positive result.

If an abnormality is detected on a mammogram, a woman may be asked to have additional mammogram images taken and, possibly, additional imaging tests, such as ultrasound. These tests may determine the abnormality shown on the original mammogram isn't worrisome for cancer.

In some cases, it may be necessary for a woman to undergo a biopsy procedure to remove a sample of breast tissue for testing. For many women, having a biopsy that confirms there isn't any cancer present is reassuring and doesn't increase anxiety.

Working with your doctor

If you're concerned about when to start breast cancer screening and how often to repeat it, work with your doctor to make an informed decision. Together you can decide what's best for you based on your personal preferences, your medical history and your individual breast cancer risk.

Talk with your doctor about:

  • Your personal risk of breast cancer
  • The benefits, risks and limitations of screening mammograms
  • The role of breast self-exams for breast awareness in helping you become more familiar with your breasts, which may help you identify abnormalities or changes
May 08, 2019 See more Expert Answers

See also

  1. Alternative and complementary medicine for metastatic breast cancer
  2. Atypical hyperplasia of the breast
  3. Breast cancer
  4. Breast cancer chemoprevention
  5. Breast Cancer Education Tool
  6. Breast cancer radiation: Can it cause dry skin?
  7. Infographic: Breast Cancer Risk
  8. Breast cancer staging
  9. Breast cancer types
  10. Breast cysts
  11. Breast cysts: What role does caffeine play?
  12. Breast implants: Do they interfere with mammograms?
  13. Breast pain
  14. Infographic: Breast Reconstruction Options
  15. Conflicting mammogram results: What can I do?
  16. Dense breast tissue
  17. Dragon Boats and Breast Cancer
  18. Enlarged breasts in men (gynecomastia)
  19. Fibroadenoma
  20. Fibrocystic breast changes: Linked to breast cancer?
  21. Fibrocystic breasts
  22. Galactorrhea
  23. Gene expression profiling for breast cancer: What is it?
  24. Genetic Testing for Breast Cancer
  25. Genetic testing for breast cancer: Psychological and social impact
  26. Get the support you need when you have metastatic breast cancer
  27. Hypercalcemia
  28. Inflammatory breast cancer
  29. Invasive lobular carcinoma
  30. Metastatic breast cancer
  31. Lobular carcinoma in situ (LCIS)
  32. Male breast cancer
  33. Mammary duct ectasia
  34. Mammogram
  35. Mammogram: Can it find cancer in dense breasts?
  36. Mastitis
  37. Paget's disease of the breast
  38. Palliative care: Who is it for?
  39. Paulas story A team approach to battling breast cancer
  40. Pink Sisters
  41. Recurrent breast cancer
  42. Relationships and metastatic breast cancer
  43. Routine cancer screening during coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
  44. The Long Race Beating Cancer
  45. Thyroid guard: Do I need one during a mammogram?
  46. Treatment options for metastatic breast cancer
  47. Mammogram for breast cancer — What to expect
  48. Weight Loss After Breast Cancer
  49. What is metastatic breast cancer?
  50. Working with your doctor when you have metastatic breast cancer: Interview with a Mayo Clinic expert.