نظرة عامة

إن جراحة الصرع هي عملية لإزالة منطقة من الدماغ ينشأ عندها نوبات الصرع أو تغييرها.

تعد جراحة الصرع هي الأكثر فعالية عندما تنشأ دائمًا في موقع واحد في الدماغ. إن جراحة الصرع ليست الخط الأول للعلاج ولكن يتم النظر فيها عندما يفشل دواءان مضادان للنوبات في السيطرة على النوبات.

هناك عدد من التقييمات السابقة للجراحة ضرورية لتحديد ما إذا كنت مؤهلاً لجراحة الصرع وكيف يتم إجراء العملية.

لماذا تُجرى

قد تكون جراحة الصرع خيارًا عندما لا تتحكم الأدوية في النوبات، وهي حالة تُعرف بالصرع المقاوم للعلاج أو الدواء. هدف جراحة الصرع هو الحد من النوبات أو التقليل من شدتها باستخدام الأدوية أو بدونها.

يمكن أن يؤدي الصرع المُتحكَم فيه بشكل سيئ إلى عدد من المضاعفات والمخاطر على الصحة، وهذه تشمل ما يلي:

  • الإصابات البدنية أثناء النوبة
  • الغرق، إذا حدثت نوبة الصرع أثناء الاستحمام أو السباحة
  • الاكتئاب والقلق
  • تدهور الذاكرة أو مهارات التفكير الأخرى
  • تأخر النمو لدى الأطفال
  • الموت المفاجئ، بوصفه أحد المضاعفات النادرة للصرع

أنواع جراحة الصرع

تنشأ نوبات الصرع عن أنشطة غير سوية لبعض خلايا الدماغ (عصبونات). يعتمد نوع العملية اعتمادًا كبيرًا على موقع العصبونات التي تُثير النوبة فضلًا عن عمر المريض. تتضمن أنواع العمليات ما يلي:

  • الجراحة القطْعية وهي النوع الأكثر شيوعًا لجراحات الصرع، وتنطوي على إزالة جزء من الدماغ. يستأصل الجراح أنسجة الدماغ في المنطقة التي تنشأ فيها النوبات، وعادةً ما يكون موقع ورم، أو جرح، أو تشوه. تُجرى عملية الجراحة القطْعية عادةً على أحد الفصوص الصدغية، وهي منطقة تتحكم في الذاكرة المرئية، وإدراك اللغة، والعواطف.
  • العلاج الحراري الخلالي الليزري هو علاج أقل تدخلًا جراحيًّا يستخدم الليزر لتحديد أجزاء صغيرة من أنسجة الدماغ ويُدمِّرها. يُستَخدم فحص التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي لتوجيه الجراح.
  • ينطوي التنبيه العميق للدماغ على استخدام مسارات كهربائية — تُزرَع داخل الدماغ— وتُنتج إشارات كهربائية منتظمة تُحدث خللًا في الأنشطة غير السوية التي تُثير النوبات. توجَّه العملية باستخدام فحص التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي. يُزرع المُولِّد الذي يُرسل النبضات الكهربائية في الصدر.
  • استئصال الجسم الثفني في الدماغ هو عملية لقطع حزمة من الأعصاب —كليًّا أو جزئيًّا— تربط بين الجانبين الأيمن والأيسر للدماغ (الجسم الثفني في الدماغ). تُستخدم تلك العملية مع الأطفال الذين لديهم أنشطة دماغية غير سوية تنتشر من أحد جانبي الدماغ إلى الجانب الآخر.
  • استئصال نصف الدماغ هو عملية لاستئصال جانب واحد (نصف كرة دماغي) من المادة السنجابية المطوية من الدماغ (قشرة المخ). تستخدم هذه الجراحة عمومًا للأطفال الذين لديهم نوبات تنشأ من مواقع متعددة في نصف كرة دماغي واحد، وعادةً يكون سببها حالة تظهر عند الولادة أو في سن الرضاعة مبكرًا.
  • استئصال نصف الدماغ العملية يستخدم أيضًا للأطفال، وينطوي على تحجيم نصف الكرة الدماغي الذي يُثير النوبات لقطع اتصاله بالجهاز العصبي للجسم دون استئصاله فعليًّا من أنسجة الدماغ.

المخاطر

تتحكم مناطق مختلفة من المخ في وظائف مختلفة. لهذا، تختلف المخاطر بناء على ناحية الجراحة ونوع الجراحة. سيساعدك الفريق الجراحي الخاص بك على فهم المخاطر الدقيقة لجراحتك، وكذلك الاستراتيجيات التي سيستخدمونها للتخفيف من خطر النتيجة المناوئة. قد تشمل المخاطر التالي:

  • مشاكل الذاكرة واللغة التي يمكنها التأثير على قدرتك على فهم واستخدام اللغة
  • ضعف الرؤية عندما تتداخل مجالات الإبصار لعينيك
  • الاكتئاب أو التغيرات المزاجية الأخرى التي يمكنها التأثير على الوظيفة الاجتماعية أو بين الأشخاص
  • الصداع
  • السكتة الدماغية

كيف تستعد

إذا كنت مرشحًا محتملاً لإجراء جراحة الصرع، فسيساعدك فريق طبي في مركز متخصص في الصرع. حيث سيُجري فريقك العديد من الاختبارات لتحديد أهليتك لإجراء العملية الجراحية، وتحديد الموقع الجراحي المناسب، وفهم كيفية أداء تلك المنطقة المحددة بالدماغ لوظائفها بالتفصيل. ويُجرى بعض من تلك الاختبارات في العيادات الخارجية، أما البعض الآخر فيتطلب الإقامة في المستشفى.

تقييمات العثور على منطقة المشكلة

تُعد الإجراءات التالية اختبارات قياسية تُستخدم لتحديد مصدر النشاط الدماغي غير الطبيعي.

  • المخطط الكهربائي للدماغ (EEG) الأساسي. في هذا الاختبار، توضع مسارات كهربائية على فروة الرأس لقياس النشاط الكهربائي الذي ينتجه الدماغ حين لا تواجه نوبة. يمكن أن تشير الأنماط في هذا النشاط إلى مناطق عامة من الدماغ قد تتأثر.
  • المخطط الكهربائي للدماغ (EEG) عبر الفيديو. مخطط كهربائي للدماغ مستمر ومزود بجهاز مراقبة بالفيديو ويسجل نوباتك في أثناء حدوثها. لأنه يجب تقليل أدوية النوبات أو إيقافها مؤقًتا حتى تحدث النوبات، فمن اللازم الدخول إلى المستشفى لإجراء هذا الاختبار. يساعد ربط التغييرات في المخطط الكهربائي للدماغ بحركات جسمك خلال النوبة على تحديد المنطقة التي تبدأ فيها النوبات في الدماغ.
  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI). يمكن للتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي، والذي يستخدم المجال المغناطيسي والموجات اللاسلكية لإنشاء صور مفصلة، أن يحدد الخلايا التالفة أو الأورام أو الأمور غير الطبيعية الأخرى التي قد تسبب النوبات.

قد يطلب فريقك الجراحي إجراء اختبارات إضافية لتحديد مصدر النوبات وتحديد خصائص النشاط غير الطبيعي. قد تشمل تلك الاختبارات:

  • مراقبة مخطط كهربية الدماغ الجراحي. إذا فشل مخطط كهربية الدماغ في تحديد الموضع المحفز للنوبات، يمكن عمل المراقبة باستخدام الأقطاب الكهربائية الموضوعة جراحيًا. يضع الجرّاح إما شبكات أو أشرطة من الأقطاب الكهربائية على سطح الدماغ أو يضع الأقطاب الكهربائية في مكان أعمق داخل الدماغ. تجري مراقبة مخطط كهربية الدماغ أثناء غيابك عن الوعي.
  • مخطط كهربية الدماغ بالفيديو مع مسارات كهربائية جراحية. قد تكون هناك حاجة أيضًا للأقطاب الكهربائية الموضوعة جراحيًا لإجراء عملية مخطط كهربية الدماغ بالفيديو. بعد الجراحة، يتم التقاط الفيديو وبيانات مخطط كهربية الدماغ أثناء الإقامة في المستشفى وأنت مستيقظ لكن من دون تناول الأدوية المضادة للنوبات.
  • التصوير المقطعي بالإصدار البوزيتروني (PET) عبارة عن جهاز تصوير متخصص يُستخدم في قياس وظيفة الدماغ عندما لا تكون هناك نوبات. يمكن أن تساعد الصور وحدها — أو إلى جانب بيانات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي — في تحديد مصدر نوباتك.
  • التصوير المقطعي المحوسب بإصدار فوتون واحد (SPECT). يقيس هذا الإجراء تدفق الدم في الدماغ أثناء إحدى النوبات. يكون تدفق الدم عادة اعلى في جزء الدماغ الذي تنشأ النوبات عنه. ستدخل المستشفى لتخضع لهذا الاختبار.

اختبارات فهم وظائف الدماغ

وحسب الموقع الجراحي، قد يقوم فريق الرعاية بإجراء اختبارات لتحديد مناطق الدماغ الدقيقة التي تتحكم في اللغة أو الوظائف الحسية أو المهارات الحركية أو غيرها من الوظائف الهامة. تساعد هذه المعلومات الجراح الخاص بك على الحفاظ على الوظيفة إلى أقصى حدٍ ممكن عند إزالة أي موقع في دماغك أو تغييره.

قد تتضمن الاختبارات ما يلي:

  • التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي. يحدد هذا الاختبار مناطق نشاط الدماغ عندما تقوم بمهمة معينة، مثل الاستماع أو القراءة. وهذا يساعد الجراح على معرفة المواقع الدماغ الدقيقة التي تتحكم في وظيفة معينة.
  • اختبار وادا. خلال هذا الاختبار، يضع الدواء المحقون أحد جانبي الدماغ بشكل مؤقت في وضع النوم في المرة. وستخضع بعد ذلك لاختبار وظائف اللغة والذاكرة. يمكن أن يساعد هذا الاختبار في تحديد أي جانب من الدماغ هو المتحكم في استخدام اللغة. وعلى الرغم من أن هذا الاختبار غالبًا ما يُستبدل بالتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي، فقد يتم استخدامه في حالة كان اختبار التصوير غير مناسب لك.
  • التخطيط الكهربي للدماغ. في هذا الاختبار يتم وضع مسارات كهربائية صغيرة جراحيًا على سطح الدماغ. عند استيقاظك بعد الجراحة، فإنك تقوم بعدد من المهام التي تتوافق مع قياسات النشاط الكهربي للدماغ.

الاختبارات النفسية العصبية

تُجرى الاختبارات بواسطة البطاريات لقياس مهارات التعلم اللفظي وغير اللفظي ووظيفة الذاكرة. قد توفر هذه الاختبارات رؤية لمنطقة المخ المتأثرة بالنوبات، وكذلك أساس لقياس الوظيفة بعد الجراحة.

ما يمكنك توقعه

قبل الإجراء

لتجنب العدوى ستحتاج إلى قص شعرك أو حلاقته في المنطقة التي ستزال فيها فروة رأسك أثناء العملية. سيوضع أنبوب صغير مرن داخل وريد (مدخل وريدي) لتوصيل السوائل ومواد التخدير أو الأدوية الأخرى أثناء الجراحة.

أثناء الإجراء

سيخضع معدل ضربات قلبك وضغط الدم ومستويات الأكسجين للمراقبة طوال العملية الجراحية. قد يُجري جهاز رصد تخطيط كهربية الدماغ (EEG) أيضًا تسجيل الأمواج الدماغية خلال العملية لتحديد مكان حدوث النوبات في الدماغ بشكل أفضل.

عادةً ما تُجرى جراحة الصرع في أثناء التخدير العام، وستكون فاقدًا للوعي في أثناء العملية. وفي حالات نادرة، قد يوقظك الجراح خلال جزء من العملية لمساعدة الفريق في تحديد أي جزء من دماغك يتحكم في الكلام والحركة. في مثل تلك الحالات، قد تتلقى الدواء للسيطرة على الألم.

ينشئ الجراح نافذة صغيرة نسبيًا في الجمجمة، ويتوقف ذلك على نوع الجراحة. يُجرى استبدال نافذة العظام وتثبيتها بعد الجراحة على الجمجمة للتعافي.

بعد الإجراء

ستمكث في غرفة إفاقة خاصة حتى تُجرى مراقبتك من كثب عندما تستيقظ بعد التخدير. وقد يتعين عليك قضاء أول ليلة بعد إجراء العملية الجراحية في وحدة العناية المركزة. عادةً ما تكون الفترة الإجمالية للإقامة في المستشفى بعد معظم جراحات الصرع حوالي ثلاثة أو أربعة أيام.

وعندما تستيقظ، ستشعر بالتورّم والألم في رأسك. ويحتاج معظم الأشخاص إلى الأدوية المخدرة لتخفيف الألم في الأيام القليلة الأولى على الأقل. وقد يساعد أيضًا وضع كمادة ثلجية على رأسك. ويختفي تورّم وألم ما بعد العملية الجراحية خلال عدة أسابيع.

لن تستطيع على الأرجح العودة إلى العمل أو المدرسة تقريبًا لمدة شهر وحتى ثلاثة أشهر. وينبغي ملازمة الراحة والاسترخاء خلال الأسابيع الأولى القليلة بعد جراحة الصرع ثم زيادة مستوى النشاط تدريجيًا.

ويبعُد احتمال أن تحتاج إلى إعادة التأهيل المكثفة طالما أن الجراحة قد تمت دون مضاعفات، مثل السكتة الدماغية أو فقدان النطق.

النتائج

تتفاوت نتائج جراحة الصرع حسب نوع الجراحة التي تم إجراؤها. النتيجة المتوقعة هي السيطرة على نوبات الاختلاج من خلال الدواء.

تَنتُج عن الإجراء الأكثر شيوعًا والأكثر فَهمًا — لاستئصال الأنسجة في الفص الصدغي — نتائج علاجية خالية من نوبات الاختلاج لحوالي ثلثي الأشخاص. تشير الدراسات إلى أنه في حالة إذا لم تتعرض للنوبات المرضية في العام الأول بعد جراحة الفص الصدغي — مع المواظبة على الأدوية — فإن احتمالية ألا تتعرض للنوبات لمدة عامين هي من 87 إلى 90 بالمئة. وإذا لم تتعرض لنوبة مرضية خلال عامين، فإن احتمالية ألا تتعرض لنوبات خلال 5 أعوام هي 95 بالمئة، و82 بالمئة في 10 أعوام.

وإذا لم تتعرض لنوبات مرضية لمدة عام، فقد يفكر الطبيب في إيقاف الأدوية المضادة للتشنج ومن ثم إيقاف كل الأدوية في النهاية. معظم الناس الذين يتعرضون لنوبة مرضية بعد إيقاف الدواء قادرون على تجربة التحكم في النوبات من خلال استئناف العلاج بالأدوية.

التجارب السريرية

اطلع على الدراسات التي تجريها Mayo Clinic لاختبار العلاجات والتدخلات الطبية والفحوصات الجديدة كوسائل للوقاية من هذا المرض أو تشخيصه أو علاجه أو السيطرة عليه.

18/06/2019
References
  1. Devinsky O, et al. Epilepsy. Nature Reviews Disease Primers. 2018;4:18024.
  2. Wilfong A. Seizures and epilepsy in children: Refractory seizures and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  3. Crepeau AZ, et al. Management of adult onset seizures. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2017;92:306.
  4. Winn HR, ed. Evaluation of patients for epilepsy surgery. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  5. Winn HR, ed. Pediatric epilepsy surgery. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  6. Cascino GD. Surgical treatment of epilepsy in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  7. Video EEG monitoring with invasive electrodes. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/video-eeg-monitoring-invasive. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  8. Wada test. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/wada-test. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  9. Brain mapping. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/brain-mapping. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  10. Winn HR, ed. Epilespy surgery: Outcomes and complications. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  11. Cascino GD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 12, 2018.

Overview

Epilepsy surgery is a procedure that removes or alters an area of your brain where seizures originate.

Epilepsy surgery is most effective when seizures always originate in a single location in the brain. Epilepsy surgery is not the first line of treatment but is considered when at least two anti-seizure medications have failed to control seizures.

A number of pre-surgical assessments are necessary to determine whether you're eligible for epilepsy surgery and how the procedure is performed.

Why it's done

Epilepsy surgery may be an option when medications do not control seizures, a condition known as medically refractory epilepsy or drug-resistant epilepsy. The goal of epilepsy surgery is to eliminate seizures or limit their severity with or without the use of medications.

Poorly controlled epilepsy can result in a number of complications and health risks, including the following:

  • Physical injuries during a seizure
  • Drowning, if the seizure occurs during a bath or swimming
  • Depression and anxiety
  • Decline in memory or other thinking skills
  • Developmental delays in children
  • Sudden death, a rare complication of epilepsy

Types of epilepsy surgery

Epileptic seizures result from abnormal activity of certain brain cells (neurons). The type of surgery depends largely on the location of the neurons that trigger the seizure and the age of the patient. Types of surgery include the following:

  • Resective surgery, the most common epilepsy surgery, is the removal of a small portion of the brain. The surgeon cuts out brain tissues in the area of the brain where seizures originate, usually the site of a tumor, brain injury or malformation. Resective surgery is most often performed on one of the temporal lobes, an area that controls visual memory, language comprehension and emotions.
  • Laser interstitial thermal therapy (LITT) is a less invasive surgery that uses a laser to pinpoint and destroy a small portion of brain tissue. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) is used to guide the surgeon.
  • Deep brain stimulation is the use of an electrode — permanently implanted deep inside the brain — to release regularly timed electrical signals that disrupt abnormal, seizure-inducing activity. This procedure is also MRI-guided. The generator sending the electrical pulse is implanted in the chest.
  • Corpus callosotomy is a surgery to sever — completely or partially — the bundle of nerves connecting the right and left sides of the brain (corpus callosum). This is usually used with children who experience abnormal brain activity that spreads from one side of the brain to the other.
  • Hemispherectomy is a procedure to remove one side (hemisphere) of the folded gray matter of the brain (cerebral cortex). This surgery is generally reserved for children who experience seizures that originate from multiple sites in one hemisphere, usually the result of a condition present at birth or in early infancy.
  • Functional hemispherectomy, also primarily used in children, is the undercutting of the seizure-inducing hemisphere to sever its connections to the body's nervous system without the actual removal of brain tissue.

Risks

Different areas of the brain control different functions. Therefore, risks vary depending on the surgical site and the type of surgery. Your surgical team will help you understand the specific risks for your procedure, as well as the strategies they will use to reduce the risk of an adverse outcome. Risks may include the following:

  • Memory and language problems that can affect your ability to understand and use language
  • Visual impairment where the fields of vision of your eyes overlap
  • Depression or other mood changes that can affect interpersonal or social function
  • Headache
  • Stroke

How you prepare

If you're a possible candidate for epilepsy surgery, you will work with a medical team at a specialized epilepsy center. Your team will conduct several tests to determine your eligibility for surgery, identify the appropriate surgical site and understand in detail how that particular region of your brain functions. Some of these tests are performed as outpatient procedures, while others require a hospital stay.

Evaluations to find the problem area

The following procedures are standard tests used to identify the source of abnormal brain activity.

  • Baseline electroencephalogram (EEG). In this test, electrodes are placed on the scalp to measure electrical activity produced by the brain when you're not experiencing a seizure. Patterns in this activity can suggest general areas of the brain that may be affected.
  • Video EEG. A continuous EEG with video monitoring records your seizures as they occur. Because your seizure medications have to be reduced or temporarily stopped so that seizures will occur, you'll be admitted to the hospital for this test. Correlating the changes in your EEG with your body's movements during a seizure helps pinpoint the area of your brain in which your seizures are starting.
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). An MRI, which uses a magnetic field and radio waves to create detailed images, can identify damaged cells, tumors or other abnormalities that can cause seizures.

Your surgical team may order additional tests to localize the source of seizures and to characterize the nature of the abnormal activity. These tests may include:

  • Invasive EEG monitoring. If an EEG test fails to localize the seizure-inducing site, monitoring may be done with surgically placed electrodes. The surgeon places either grids or strips of electrodes on the surface of the brain or places electrodes deeper inside the brain. EEG monitoring is done while you're unconscious.
  • Video EEG with invasive electrodes. Surgically placed electrodes may also be needed for a video EEG procedure. After the surgery, the video and EEG data are captured during a hospital stay while you're awake but not taking anti-seizure medications.
  • Positron emission tomography (PET) is a specialized imaging device that is used to measure brain function when you're seizure-free. The images alone — or combined with MRI data — can help identify the source of your seizures.
  • Single-photon emission computerized tomography (SPECT). This procedure measures blood flow in the brain during a seizure. Typically, blood flow is higher in the part of the brain where seizures originate. You will be admitted to the hospital to undergo this test.

Evaluations to understand brain function

Depending on the surgical site, your team may conduct tests to determine the precise areas of the brain that control language, sensory functions, motor skills or other critical functions. This information helps your surgeon preserve function to the greatest extent possible when removing or altering a site in your brain.

The test may include the following:

  • Functional MRI. This test identifies regions of brain activity when you're doing a particular task, such as listening or reading. This helps the surgeon know the precise locations in your brain that control a particular function.
  • Wada test. With this test, an injected medication temporarily puts one side of your brain to sleep at a time. You're then administered a test for language and memory function. This test can help determine which side of your brain is dominant for your language usage. While functional MRI has often replaced this test, it may be used if the imaging study isn't possible for you.
  • Brain mapping. Small electrodes are surgically placed on the surface of the brain. When you're alert after the surgery, you perform a number of tasks that are matched with measurements of your brain's electrical activity.

Neuropsychological tests

A battery of tests is performed to measure verbal and nonverbal learning skills and memory function. These tests may provide additional insight into the area of the brain affected by seizures, as well as a baseline for measuring function after surgery.

What you can expect

Before the procedure

To avoid infection, your hair will need to be clipped short or shaved over the section of your skull that will be removed during the operation. You will have a small flexible tube placed within a vein (intravenous access) to deliver fluids, anesthetic drugs or other medications during the surgery.

During the procedure

Your heart rate, blood pressure and oxygen levels will be monitored throughout the surgery. An EEG monitor also may be recording your brain waves during the operation to better localize the part of your brain where your seizures start.

Epilepsy surgery is usually performed during general anesthesia, and you'll be unconscious during the procedure. In rare circumstances, your surgeon may awaken you during part of the operation to help the team determine which parts of your brain control language and movement. In such cases, you would receive medication to control pain.

The surgeon creates a relatively small window in the skull, depending on the type of surgery. After surgery the window of bone is replaced and fastened to the remaining skull for healing.

After the procedure

You'll be in a special recovery area to be monitored carefully as you awaken after the anesthesia. You may need to spend the first night after surgery in an intensive care unit. The total hospital stay for most epilepsy surgeries is usually about three or four days.

When you awaken, your head will be swollen and painful. Most people need narcotics for the pain for at least the first few days. An ice pack on your head also may help. Most postoperative swelling and pain resolve within several weeks.

You'll probably not be able to return to work or school for approximately one to three months. You should rest and relax the first few weeks after epilepsy surgery and then gradually increase your activity level.

It's unlikely that you would need intensive rehabilitation as long as the surgery was completed without complications such as a stroke or loss of speech.

Results

The outcomes of epilepsy surgery vary depending on the type of surgery performed. The expected outcome is seizure control with medication.

The most common and best-understood procedure — resection of tissue in the temporal lobe — results in seizure-free outcomes for about two-thirds of people. Studies suggest that if you do not have a seizure in the first year after temporal lobe surgery — with medication — the likelihood of being seizure-free at two years is 87 to 90 percent. If you have not had a seizure in two years, the likelihood of being seizure-free is 95 percent at 5 years, 82 percent at 10 years.

If you remain seizure-free for at least one year, your doctor may consider tapering off your anti-seizure medication and eventually taking you off of the drugs entirely. Most people who do experience a seizure after going off medication are able to experience seizure control by resuming drug treatment.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this disease.

The Mayo Clinic experience and patient stories

Our patients tell us that the quality of their interactions, our attention to detail and the efficiency of their visits mean health care like they've never experienced. See the stories of satisfied Mayo Clinic patients.

  1. Epilepsy Surgery Frees Kelly Daniels to Enjoy Her Independence

    Kelly Daniels tried to control her seizures with medications. But the drugs were ineffective, and they left her feeling disoriented. Then she turned to Mayo Clinic, where she had brain surgery that stopped the seizures and put her life back on track. For a long time, seizures were a regular part of Kelly Daniels' life. [...]

  2. Epilepsy Care Makes the World More Peaceful for a Painter

    For years, seizures caused confusion and disorder in Kristin Taheri's daily life. Then she turned to Mayo Clinic, where she received the diagnosis she had been seeking, and her care team worked diligently to stop her seizures. They say a picture paints a thousand words. For Kristin Taheri painting pictures has been a way of [...]

  3. Saving Grace: Finding Hope for a Seizure-Free Future

    After suffering her first epileptic seizure at just 10 days of age, Grace Chan required six separate brain surgeries as surgeons worked to remove the harmful tissue that was causing her seizures. Ten days after giving birth, Christina Chen, M.D., was feeding her newborn daughter, Grace, when the young child's arms and head suddenly began [...]

  4. Novel Approach to Epilepsy Surgery Allows a Young Woman to Enjoy Life Again

    Five weeks before she was born, Marissa B. had a stroke in utero. When her mother went into labor, Marissa had another stroke. Diagnosed with epilepsy at birth, Marissa spent her first month of life in the neonatal intensive care unit. ?When she was six months old, they did a brain MRI,? Marissa?s mom, Lisa, [...]

  5. After 20 Years of Seizures, Erica Laney Enjoys Life Following Epilepsy Surgery

    For much of her adolescent and adult life, Erica Laney, 31, had frequent petit mal seizures. Less often, she had grand mal seizures that led to loss of consciousness and violent muscle contractions. The cause of the seizures was abnormal electrical activity throughout her brain. ?The seizures started when I was 11 years old. I [...]

  6. Surgery to Get Rid of Seizures Gives Brad Lewis New Freedom

    For 14 years, Brad Lewis never knew quite what to expect when he woke up in the morning. A rare genetic disorder, tuberous sclerosis, caused a variety of health problems. But the one that disrupted his life the most was epilepsy. At one point, Brad was having as many as 80 seizures a day. ?Seizures [...]

Oct. 05, 2018
References
  1. Devinsky O, et al. Epilepsy. Nature Reviews Disease Primers. 2018;4:18024.
  2. Wilfong A. Seizures and epilepsy in children: Refractory seizures and prognosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  3. Crepeau AZ, et al. Management of adult onset seizures. Mayo Clinic Proceedings. 2017;92:306.
  4. Winn HR, ed. Evaluation of patients for epilepsy surgery. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  5. Winn HR, ed. Pediatric epilepsy surgery. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  6. Cascino GD. Surgical treatment of epilepsy in adults. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  7. Video EEG monitoring with invasive electrodes. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/video-eeg-monitoring-invasive. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  8. Wada test. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/wada-test. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  9. Brain mapping. Epilepsy Foundation. https://www.epilepsy.com/learn/treating-seizures-and-epilepsy/surgery/pre-surgery-tests/brain-mapping. Accessed Sept. 2, 2018.
  10. Winn HR, ed. Epilespy surgery: Outcomes and complications. In: Youmans & Winn Neurological Surgery. New York, N.Y.: Elsevier; 2017. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Aug. 13, 2018.
  11. Cascino GD (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 12, 2018.

Epilepsy surgery