Busca un médico

Olga P. Fermo, M.D.

  1. Neurologist



  1. Jacksonville, Florida



Citas médicas

Olga Fermo, M.D., is a board-certified neurologist with expertise in headache management. Dr. Fermo is the Director of the Headache Division and the Medical Director of the Cerebrospinal Fluid Dynamics Clinic at Mayo Clinic Florida. She is also Assistant Professor at Mayo Clinic School of Medicine.

Dr. Fermo graduated from the University of Connecticut School of Medicine and went on to complete an Internal Medicine program at Yale. She completed Neurology residency at Johns Hopkins Hospital, followed by fellowship training in headache medicine and interventional pain medicine, both at the University of South Florida.

Dr. Fermo treats all headache and facial pain disorders including but not limited to migraine, chronic daily headache, cluster headache, hemicrania, trigeminal neuralgia, and temporomandibular disorder. Dr. Fermo has a special interest and training in the management of cerebrospinal fluid disorders including idiopathic intracranial hypertension (pseudotumor cerebri syndrome), spontaneous intracranial hypotension due to cerebrospinal fluid leaks, Chiari malformation, and hydrocephalus. She performs continuous intracranial pressure monitoring and adjusts shunts. As a staff neurologist, Dr. Fermo has been recognized for excellence in the patient experience. She has presented numerous lectures pertaining to her specialty, authored several book chapters and published peer-reviewed publications.

  1. Botox injection
  2. Joint injection
  3. Nerve block
  4. Trigger point injection
  • Cerebrospinal fluid disorders
  • Procedural headache, facial pain, and neck pain management
  1. 2017
    Fellowship - Interventional Pain MedicineUniversity of South Florida
  2. 2016
    Fellowship - Headache and Facial PainUniversity of South Florida
  3. 2015
    Chief Resident - NeurologyThe Johns Hopkins Hospital
  4. 2014
    Residency - NeurologyThe Johns Hopkins Hospital
  5. 2012
    Internship - Internal MedicineYale University
  6. 2011
    MDUniversity of Connecticut School of Medicine
  7. 2007
    BA - Biology with HonorsDrew University


  1. 2017
    Pain MedicineAmerican Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
  2. 2016
    Headache MedicineUnited Council of Neurologic Subspecialities
  3. 2015
    NeurologyAmerican Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Awards and honors

  1. 2019
    91st Percentile in Patient Perception 'Recommend the Provider' Office of Patient Experience, Ochsner Health System
  2. 2012
    Intern of the Year Award Yale University School of Medicine
  3. 2011
    Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology American Academy of Neurology
  4. 2009
    Merit Scholarship University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  5. 2008
    Merit-based Grant Joseph Collins Foundation
  6. 2007
    Merit Scholarship University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  7. 2007
    Summa Cum LaudeDrew University

Professional memberships

  1. 2023 - present
    Course Co-DirectorNeurology Grand Rounds, Department of Neurology
  2. 2021
    Abstract ReviewerAmerican Academy of Neurology
  3. 2017 - present
    MemberAmerican Headache Society
  4. 2017 - present
    Member, CSF Pressure and Volume Disorders, Special Interest GroupAmerican Headache Society
  5. 2017 - present
    Member, Procedural Section Special Interest GroupAmerican Headache Society
  6. 2017 - present
    MemberAmerican Interventional Headache Society (AIHS)
  7. 2017 - present
    MemberAmerican Academy of Pain Medicine
  8. 2012 - present
    MemberAmerican Academy of Neurology