概述

维生素 A(视黄醇、视黄酸)是一种营养素,对视力、生长发育、细胞分裂、繁殖和免疫非常重要。维生素 A 还具有抗氧化性能。抗氧化剂是能够保护细胞免受自由基影响的物质,自由基是当人体分解食物或暴露于烟草烟雾和辐射下时产生的分子。自由基可能与心脏病、癌症及其他疾病有关。

许多食物中都含有维生素 A,比如菠菜、奶制品和肝脏。其他来源包括富含 β-胡萝卜素的食物,比如绿叶蔬菜、胡萝卜和哈密瓜。人体可将 β-胡萝卜素转化成维生素 A。

作为口服补充剂,服用维生素 A 的受益人群主要是饮食不良或饮食有限的人,或者患有胰腺疾病、眼病或麻疹等疾病而对维生素 A 的需求增大的人。如果您为了抗氧化特性而服用维生素 A,请记住,这些补充剂的功效可能不如食品中的天然抗氧化剂。

成年男性的维生素 A 建议摄入量为每天 900 微克(mcg,成年女性为每天 700 微克。

证据

针对口服维生素 A 与特定医疗状况的研究表明:

  • 痤疮。大量口服维生素 A 补充剂似乎对痤疮无效。
  • 老年性黄斑变性。一项大型临床试验表明,晚期老年性黄斑变性高危人群可以通过服用包括 β-胡萝卜素在内的多种维生素组合将患这种医疗状况的风险降低 25%。但尚不完全清楚 β-胡萝卜素发挥的作用。
  • 癌症。使用维生素 A 补充剂与降低患肺癌、前列腺癌和其他类型癌症风险之间的关系尚不清楚。
  • 麻疹。对于患维生素 A 缺乏症风险较高的麻疹患儿,建议使用维生素 A 补充剂。研究表明,补充剂可减少因麻疹引起的死亡。
  • 维生素 A 缺乏症。维生素 A 水平较低的人群似乎从维生素 A 补充剂获益最多。这类缺乏症在美国并不常见。维生素 A 缺乏症会导致贫血和眼睛干涩。

除用作口服补充剂,维生素 A 还用于外用乳霜中,以减少细纹、斑点和粗糙并治疗痤疮。

我们的看法

黄灯:警告

注意事项

健康多样的饮食将为大多数人提供足够的维生素 A。如果您对维生素 A 的抗氧化特性感兴趣,那么通过食物摄取是最好的渠道。尚不清楚维生素 A 补充剂的功效是否与食品中天然存在的抗氧化剂的功效相同。过多的维生素 A 有害,怀孕期间过量的维生素 A 与出生缺陷有关。

安全性和副作用

过多的维生素 A 对人体有害。单次大剂量(超过 200000 微克)也会导致:

  • 恶心
  • 呕吐
  • 眩晕
  • 视物模糊

长期每天口服维生素 A 补充剂超过 10000 微克会导致:

  • 骨质变薄
  • 肝脏损伤
  • 头痛
  • 腹泻
  • 恶心
  • 皮肤受刺激
  • 关节和骨骼痛
  • 出生缺陷

如果您已经或者可能怀孕,在服用维生素 A 之前请咨询医生。怀孕期间过量服用维生素 A 会导致孩子有先天缺陷。

相互作用

可能的相互作用包括:

  • 抗凝剂。当服用这些用于预防血凝块形成的药物时,口服维生素 A 补充剂可能会增加您出血的风险。
  • 贝沙罗汀(Targretin)。当进行抗癌药物局部给药时,服用维生素 A 补充剂会增加该药物副作用(例如瘙痒以及皮肤干燥)的风险。
  • 肝毒性药物。服用高剂量的维生素 A 补充剂可能会引起肝损伤。将高剂量的维生素 A 补充剂与其他可能会引起肝损伤的药物结合使用可能会增加患肝病的风险。
  • 奥利司他 (Alli、Xenical)。这种减重药困难减少吸收来自食物的维生素 A。您的医生可能建议您在服用这种药物的同时服用含维生素 A 和 β-胡萝卜素的复合维生素。
  • 维甲酸。不要同时服用这些口服处方药和维生素 A 补充剂。这可能会增加血液中维生素 A 水平过高的风险。
Sept. 10, 2022

Overview

Vitamin A (retinol, retinoic acid) is a nutrient important to vision, growth, cell division, reproduction and immunity. Vitamin A also has antioxidant properties. Antioxidants are substances that might protect your cells against the effects of free radicals — molecules produced when your body breaks down food or is exposed to tobacco smoke and radiation. Free radicals might play a role in heart disease, cancer and other diseases.

Vitamin A is found in many foods, such as spinach, dairy products and liver. Other sources are foods rich in beta-carotene, such as green leafy vegetables, carrots and cantaloupe. Your body converts beta-carotene into vitamin A.

As an oral supplement, vitamin A mainly benefits people who have a poor or limited diet or who have a condition that increases the need for vitamin A, such as pancreatic disease, eye disease or measles. If you take vitamin A for its antioxidant properties, keep in mind that the supplement might not offer the same benefits as naturally occurring antioxidants in food.

The recommended daily amount of vitamin A is 900 micrograms (mcg) for adult men and 700 mcg for adult women.

Evidence

Research on oral vitamin A for specific conditions shows:

  • Acne. Large doses of oral vitamin A supplements don't appear to affect acne.
  • Age-related macular degeneration. A large clinical trial showed that people at high risk of advanced age-related macular degeneration reduced their risk of developing the condition by 25 percent by taking a specific combination of vitamins that included beta-carotene. It's not entirely clear what role beta-carotene played.
  • Cancer. The association between use of vitamin A supplements and reduced risk of lung, prostate and other types of cancer is unclear.
  • Measles. Vitamin A supplements are recommended for children with measles who are at an increased risk of vitamin A deficiency. Research suggests that supplementation might reduce death due to measles.
  • Vitamin A deficiency. People who have low levels of vitamin A appear to benefit most from vitamin A supplements. This kind of deficiency isn't common in the United States. Vitamin A deficiency causes anemia and dry eyes.

Beyond use as an oral supplement, vitamin A is used in topical creams to reduce fine wrinkles, splotches and roughness and treat acne.

Our take

Yellow light: Caution

Caution

A healthy and varied diet will provide most people with enough vitamin A. If you're interested in the antioxidant properties of vitamin A, food sources are best. It's not clear if vitamin A supplements offer the same benefits as naturally occurring antioxidants in food. Too much vitamin A can be harmful and excess vitamin A during pregnancy has been linked to birth defects.

Oct. 27, 2017