نظرة عامة

داء الشعرينات، الذي يُطلق عليه أحيانًا داء المشعرات، هو نوع من عَدوى الدودة المستديرة. وتلجأ طفيليات (يرقات) الدودة المستديرة هذه إلى جسم مضيف للعيش والتكاثر. حيث تصيب هذه الطفيليات حيوانات مثل الدببة والكوجر وحصان البحر والثعالب والخنازير البرية والخنازير المستأنسة. وتنتقل العَدوى إلى الإنسان بتناول النوع غير مكتمل النمو من الدودة المستديرة (اليرقات) في اللحوم النيئة أو غير المطهوة جيدًا.

فعندما يأكل الإنسان لحمًا نيئًا أو غير مطهو جيدًا يحتوي على يرقات الشعرينة، تكبر اليرقات لتصبح ديدان بالغة في الأمعاء الدقيقة. ويستغرق هذا عدة أسابيع. تنتج الديدان البالغة يرقات تنتقل عبر مجرى الدم إلى أجزاء مختلفة من الجسم. ثم تدفن نفسها في الأنسجة العضلية. ينتشر داء الشعرينات بشكل واسع في المناطق الريفية في جميع أنحاء العالم.

ويمكن علاج داء الشعرينات بالأدوية، رغم أنه ليست ضرورية دائمًا. ويمكن الوقاية من الإصابة به بسهولة.

الأعراض

قد تتنوع مؤشرات عَدوى داء الشعرينات وأعراضها ومدى حدتها. ويعتمد ذلك على عدد اليرقات التي أُكِلت في اللحم الموبوء.

احتمال الخلو من العلامات أو الأعراض

يمكن ألا تسبب الحالات الخفيفة من داء الشعرينات -التي لا تنطوي إلا على عدد بسيط من الطفيليات في الجسم- أي مؤشرات أو أعراض. بينما تظهر الأعراض في الحالات المتوسطة أو الحادة؛ أي عند وجود عدد كبير من الطفيليات في جسمك. وتتفاقم هذه الأعراض في بعض الأحيان عندما تنتشر يرقات الدودة المستديرة (الشعرينات) في جسمك.

العلامات والأعراض الأولية

يبتلع المصاب يرقات الدودة المستديرة (داء الشعرينات) في جُريبات (تكيُّسات) صغيرة تحتوي على الطفيل. وتحلل العصارات الهضمية الكبسولة، فتخرج منها اليرقات إلى داخل الجسم. بعد ذلك، تدخل اليرقات جدار الأمعاء الدقيقة حيث تنمو وتتحول إلى ديدان ناضجة وتتزاوج. قد تبدأ الأعراض الهضمية بعد يوم واحد أو يومين من الإصابة بالعدوى. وفي هذه المرحلة، قد تشعر بالأعراض التالية:

  • الإسهال
  • ألم المعدة (البطن)
  • تعب وضعف شديدان (الإرهاق)
  • الغثيان والقيء

العلامات والأعراض اللاحقة

بعد مرور أسبوع تقريبًا من الإصابة بالعدوى، تنتج الديدان الإناث البالغة يرقات. وتمر اليرقات عبر الجدار المعوي، وتدخل إلى مجرى الدم، وتظل تتنقل داخل الجسم لتدفن نفسها في الأنسجة العضلية. وهنالك، تلتف كل يرقة وتشكل كيسة حول نفسها. يمكن أن تعيش اليرقات لأشهر، بل ولسنوات داخل الأنسجة العضلية.

وتبدأ عادة الأعراض الناجمة عن غزو اليرقات للأنسجة العضلية بعد أسبوعين إلى 8 أسابيع من العدوى وتشمل:

  • حمى شديدة وقشعريرة
  • آلام العضلات والإيلام عند اللمس
  • وجع المفاصل
  • تورم في الجفون أو الوجه
  • الضعف
  • الصداع
  • حساسية تجاه الضوء
  • احمرار العين (التهاب المُلتحِمة)
  • حكة الجلد وتهيجه

ومع وجود عدد كبير من الطفيليات، يمكن أن يكون ألم العضلات وضعفها شديدين. ويمكن أن يحد هذا من الحركة والتنفس والكلام.

وقد تستمر الأعراض لعدة أشهر. لكن الأعراض تقل عمومًا عندما تشكل اليرقات كيسات. ومع ذلك فحتى بعد زوال العدوى، يمكن أن يستمر الشعور بالإرهاق والألم الخفيف والضعف والإسهال لشهور أو سنوات.

متى تزور الطبيب؟

إذا كنت تعاني من حالة خفيفة من داء الشعرينات من دون أعراض، فقد لا تحتاج إلى الرعاية الطبية. إذا كان لديك مشكلات هضمية، أو إذا أحسست بألم في العضلات وتورُّم بعد نحو أسبوع من أكل لحم الخنزير أو لحم حيوان برِّي، فتحدَّث إلى طبيبك.

الأسباب

يُصاب الأشخاص بداء الشعرينات عندما يأكلون اللحوم النيئة أو غير المطهوة جيدًا، الموبوءة بيرقات طُفيلي دودة الشعرينات. ولن تتمكن من نقل الطُفيلي إلى شخص آخر.

أما الحيوانات، فتُصاب عندما تتغذى على حيوانات أخرى مصابة. وقد تكون الحيوانات البرية مثل الدب أو الكوجر أو الذئب أو الخنزير البري أو حصان البحر أو الفقمة مصدرًا للحوم الموبوءة في أي مكان في العالم. ويمكن أن تُصاب الخنازير المستأنسة والخيول بداء الشعرينات عندما تتغذى على القمامة التي تحتوي على بقايا اللحوم الموبوءة.

أصبحت الخنازير مصدرًا أقل شيوعًا للعَدوى بسبب زيادة الرقابة على علف الخنازير ومنتجات لحومها في الولايات المتحدة. أما لحوم الحيوانات البرية فهي مصدر لمعظم حالات داء الشعرينات في الولايات المتحدة.

ولا يمكن أن تُصاب بداء الشعرينات بسبب لحم البقر، لأن الأبقار لا تأكل اللحوم. لكن ارتبطت بعض حالات داء الشعرنيات لدى البشر بأكل لحم البقر المخلوط بلحم خنزير موبوء.

ويمكنك أيضًا الإصابة بداء الشعرينات عند فرم اللحم البقري أو اللحوم الأخرى في مفرمة لحوم كانت تُستخدم سابقًا لفرم لحم مصاب بالعدوى.

عوامل الخطر

تتضمن عوامل خطر الإصابة بداء الشعرينات ما يلي:

  • تحضير الطعام على نحو غير ملائم. يصيب داء الشعرينات الإنسان عند تناول لحوم مصابة نيئة أو غير مطهية جيدًا، مثل لحوم الخنزير والحيوانات البرية. ويمكن أن يتضمن ذلك أيضًا اللحوم الأخرى التي تعرضت للتلوث الناتج عن المطاحن أو غيرها من المعدات.
  • المناطق الريفية. يكثر شيوع داء الشعرينات في المناطق الريفية المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء العالم. وترتفع معدلات الإصابة بالعدوى في مناطق تربية الخنازير.
  • تناول اللحوم البرية أو غير المجهزة للاستخدام التجاري. ساعدت تدابير الصحة العامة بشكل كبير على انخفاض معدل حدوث الإصابة بعدوى داء الشعرينات نتيجة تناول اللحوم التجارية. لكن تتسبب الحيوانات التي تُربى في المزارع غير التجارية، ولا سيما تلك التي توجد في مناطق تكثر بها جثث الحيوانات البرية، في معدلات أعلى للإصابة بالعدوى. ولا تزال الحيوانات البرية تمثل المصادر الشائعة لانتشار العدوى.

المضاعفات

من النادر حدوث مضاعفات لداء الشعرينات، إلا في الحالات الشديدة منه. في الحالات التي يصحبها وجود عدد كبير من يرقات الدودة المستديرة (الشعرينات) قد تنتقل اليرقات عبر الجسم إلى الأنسجة العضلية في الأعضاء وحولها. ويمكن أن يتسبب ذلك في حدوث مضاعفات خطيرة، بل وحتى مميتة، مثل الألم والتورم (الالتهاب) في المناطق التالية:

  • الطبقة العضلية لجدار القلب (التهاب عضلة القلب)
  • الدماغ (التهاب الدماغ)
  • طبقة الأنسجة الواقية المحيطة بالدماغ والحبل النخاعي (التهاب السحايا)
  • الرئة (الاحتقان الرئوي)

الوقاية

تتمثل أفضل وسيلة للوقاية من داء الشعرينات في تحضير الطعام بشكل صحيح. فاتبع هذه النصائح لتجنب الإصابة بداء الشعرينات:

  • تجنب تناول اللحوم النيئة أو غير المطهية جيدًا. تأكد من طهي شرائح اللحم جيدًا حتى يصبح لونها بنيًا. احرص على طهي لحوم الحيوانات حتى تصل درجة حرارتها الداخلية إلى 71 درجة مئوية (160 درجة فهرنهايت) تقريبًا. واستخدم مقياس حرارة اللحوم للتأكد من طهيها جيدًا.

    ولا تقطع اللحوم أو تتناولها لمدة ثلاث دقائق على الأقل بعد رفعها من على النار.

  • تجميد اللحوم. سيؤدي تجميد بعض اللحوم التي يقل سمكها عن 15.24 سم (6 بوصات) عند -15 درجة مئوية (5 درجات فهرنهايت) لمدة ثلاثة أسابيع إلى القضاء على طفيليات الدودة المستديرة. ومع ذلك، لن يقضي التجميد على طفيليات الدودة المستديرة الموجودة في بعض لحوم الحيوانات البرية، حتى لو استمر تجميدها لفترة طويلة.
  • تجدر الإشارة إلى أن طرق معالجة اللحوم الأخرى لا تقتل الطفيليات. لا تقضي الطرق الأخرى لمعالجة اللحوم أو حفظها، مثل التدخين والتمليح والتخليل، على طفيليات الدودة المستديرة في اللحوم المصابة. كما لا يوصى بالطهي في فرن الميكروويف للقضاء على طفيليات الدودة المستديرة. ويرجع السبب في ذلك إلى أن استخدام فرن الميكروويف لا يوفر طهيًا متساويًا للحوم لضمان القضاء على جميع الطفيليات.
  • تنظيف ماكينات فرم اللحوم جيدًا. إذا كنت تفرم اللحوم بنفسك، فتأكد من تنظيف ماكينة الفرم بعد كل استخدام.
  • غسل اليدين. اغسل يديك جيدًا بالماء والصابون لمدة 20 ثانية فور الانتهاء من تجهيز اللحوم النيئة. فقد يقي ذلك من انتقال العدوى إلى الأطعمة الأخرى.

25/05/2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Roundworm infection. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Myopathy and myositis (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  3. Trichinellosis (also known as trichinosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/trichinellosis/index.html. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  4. Resources for health professionals: Trichinellosis (also known as trichinosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/trichinellosis/health_professionals/index.html. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  5. Trichinosis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/nematodes-roundworms/trichinosis. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  6. Foreyt WJ, et al. Trichinosis: U.S. Geological Survey Circular 1388. U.S. Department of the Interior. 2013; doi:10.3133/cir1388.
  7. Weller PF, et al. Trichinellosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  8. Parasites and foodborne illnesses. U.S. Department of Agriculture. https://www.fsis.usda.gov/food-safety/foodborne-illness-and-disease/pathogens/parasites-and-foodborne-illness#6. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  9. Mebendazole oral. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed March 8, 2022.
  10. Abendazole oral. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed March 8, 2022.

ذات صلة

Products & Services

Overview

Trichinosis (trik-ih-NO-sis), sometimes called trichinellosis (trik-ih-nuh-LOW-sis), is a type of roundworm infection. These roundworm parasites (trichinella) use a host body to live and reproduce. These parasites infect animals such as bears, cougars, walruses, foxes, wild boars and domestic pigs. You get the infection by eating the immature form of the roundworm (larvae) in raw or undercooked meat.

When humans eat raw or undercooked meat containing trichinella larvae, the larvae grow into adult worms in the small intestine. This takes several weeks. The adult worms produce larvae that travel through the bloodstream to different parts of the body. They then bury themselves in muscle tissue. Trichinosis is most widespread in rural areas throughout the world.

Trichinosis can be treated with medication, though it's not always needed. It's also easy to prevent.

Symptoms

Signs and symptoms of trichinosis infection and how severe the infection is can vary. This depends on the number of larvae eaten in the infected meat.

Possibly no signs or symptoms

Mild cases of trichinosis — those with only a small number of parasites in your body — may cause no signs or symptoms. Symptoms can develop with moderate or heavy infestation ⸺ a large number of parasites in your body. These symptoms sometimes get worse as the roundworm (trichinella) larvae travel through your body.

Initial signs and symptoms

You swallow roundworm (trichinella) larvae in tiny sacks (cysts) containing the parasite. Your digestive juices dissolve the cysts, releasing the larvae into your body. The larvae then enter the wall of your small intestine, where they grow into adult worms and mate. Digestive symptoms can begin 1 to 2 days after infection. At this stage, you may experience:

  • Diarrhea
  • Stomach (abdominal) pain
  • Severe tiredness and weakness (fatigue)
  • Nausea and vomiting

Later signs and symptoms

About a week after infection, the adult female worms produce larvae. The larvae go through the wall of your intestine and enter your bloodstream, They travel around the body and bury themselves in muscle tissue. Here, each larva coils up and forms a cyst around itself. The larvae can live for months to years inside the muscle tissue.

Symptoms caused by muscle tissue invasion usually start 2 to 8 weeks after infection and include:

  • High fever and chills
  • Muscle pain and tenderness
  • Aching joints
  • Swelling of the eyelids or face
  • Weakness
  • Headache
  • Sensitivity to light
  • Pink eye (conjunctivitis)
  • Itchy, irritated skin

With a large number of parasites, muscle pain and weakness can be severe. This can limit moving, breathing and speaking.

Symptoms last for several months. But symptoms generally lessen when the larvae form cysts. Even after the infection is gone, fatigue, mild pain, weakness and diarrhea may last for months or years.

When to see a doctor

If you have a mild case of trichinosis with no symptoms, you might not need medical care. If you have digestive problems or muscle pain and swelling about a week after eating pork or wild-animal meat, talk to your health care provider.

Causes

People get trichinosis when they eat raw or undercooked meat that is infected with the larvae of the trichinella roundworm parasite. You can't pass the parasite on to another person.

Animals are infected when they feed on other infected animals. Infected meat anywhere in the world can come from wild animals such as bear, cougar, wolf, wild boar, walrus or seal. Domestic pigs and horses can become infected with trichinosis when they feed on garbage containing infected meat scraps.

In the United States, pigs have become a less common source of infection due to increased control of pork feed and products. Wild-animal meat is the source of most cases of trichinosis in the U.S.

You can't get trichinosis from beef, as cows don't eat meat. But some cases of trichinosis in people have been linked to eating beef that was mixed with infected pork.

You can also get trichinosis when beef or other meat is ground in a grinder previously used to grind infected meat.

Risk factors

Risk factors for trichinosis include:

  • Improper food preparation. Trichinosis infects humans when they eat raw or undercooked infected meat, including pork and wild-animal meat. It can also include other meat contaminated by grinders or other equipment.
  • Rural areas. Trichinosis is more common in rural areas around the world. Higher infection rates are found in hog-raising regions.
  • Eating wild or noncommercial meats. Public health measures have greatly lowered the number of trichinosis infections from commercial meats. But noncommercial farm-raised animals — particularly those with access to wild-animal carcasses — have higher rates of infection. Wild animals are still common infection sources.

Complications

Except in severe cases, complications related to trichinosis are rare. In cases with a large number of roundworm (trichinella) larvae, larvae can move through the body to muscle tissue in and around organs. This can cause potentially dangerous, even fatal, complications, such as pain and swelling (inflammation) of the:

  • Muscle layer of the heart wall (myocarditis)
  • Brain (encephalitis)
  • Protective tissue layer surrounding the brain and spinal cord (meningitis)
  • Lungs (pneumonitis)

Prevention

The best defense against trichinosis is proper food preparation. Follow these tips to avoid trichinosis:

  • Avoid raw or undercooked meat. Be sure to thoroughly cook cuts of meat until brown. Cook pork and meat from wild animals to an internal temperature of 160 F (71 C) at the center. Use a meat thermometer to make sure the meat is thoroughly cooked.

    Don't cut or eat meat for at least three minutes after you've removed it from the heat.

  • Freeze pork. Freezing pork that is less than 6 inches thick at 5 F (-15 C) for three weeks will kill the roundworm parasites. But roundworm parasites in wild-animal meat won't die by freezing, even over a long period.
  • Know that other processing methods don't kill parasites. Other methods of meat processing or preserving, such as smoking, curing and pickling, don't kill roundworm parasites in infected meat. Also, microwave cooking isn't recommended as a way to kill roundworm parasites. This is because using a microwave doesn't provide even cooking to ensure all parasites are killed.
  • Clean meat grinders thoroughly. If you grind your own meat, make sure the grinder is thoroughly cleaned after each use.
  • Hand washing. Wash your hands thoroughly with soap and water for 20 seconds after handling raw meat. This can prevent spreading infection to other food.

May 25, 2022
  1. AskMayoExpert. Roundworm infection. Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  2. AskMayoExpert. Myopathy and myositis (adult). Mayo Clinic; 2021.
  3. Trichinellosis (also known as trichinosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/trichinellosis/index.html. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  4. Resources for health professionals: Trichinellosis (also known as trichinosis). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/trichinellosis/health_professionals/index.html. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  5. Trichinosis. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/nematodes-roundworms/trichinosis. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  6. Foreyt WJ, et al. Trichinosis: U.S. Geological Survey Circular 1388. U.S. Department of the Interior. 2013; doi:10.3133/cir1388.
  7. Weller PF, et al. Trichinellosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  8. Parasites and foodborne illnesses. U.S. Department of Agriculture. https://www.fsis.usda.gov/food-safety/foodborne-illness-and-disease/pathogens/parasites-and-foodborne-illness#6. Accessed March 4, 2022.
  9. Mebendazole oral. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed March 8, 2022.
  10. Abendazole oral. Facts & Comparisons eAnswers. https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com. Accessed March 8, 2022.