诊断

要诊断绦虫感染,医生可能需要依靠以下方法之一:

  • 粪便样品分析。对于肠道绦虫感染,医生可能会检查您的粪便或将样品送到实验室进行检查。实验室使用显微镜识别技术检查来粪便中的卵或绦虫节段。

    由于卵和节段不规则地通过,因此实验室可能需要在一段时间内收集两到三个样本以检测寄生虫。肛门有时会出现卵,因此医生可能会将一块透明胶带压在肛门上来收集卵,以便进行显微镜鉴定。

  • 血液检查。对于组织侵袭性感染,医生还可能会测试您的血液中是否存在人体产生的抵抗绦虫感染的抗体。存在这些抗体则表明有绦虫侵染。
  • 影像学检查。某些类型的成像(例如 CT 或 MRI 扫描、X 线或囊肿的超声波检查)可能表明存在侵袭性绦虫感染。

更多信息

治疗

有一些感染绦虫的人群无需接受治疗,因为绦虫会自行从体内排出。一些人因为没有出现症状而没有发现自己感染了绦虫。然而,如果您被诊断为肠道绦虫感染,则可能需要使用药物杀灭。

治疗肠道感染

绦虫感染最常见的治疗方法是口服对成年绦虫有毒的药物,包括:

  • 吡喹酮(Biltricide)
  • 阿苯达唑(Albenza)
  • 硝唑尼特(Alinia)

医生开哪种药取决于所涉及的绦虫种类和感染部位。这些药物针对的是成年绦虫而非虫卵,因此有必要避免自己再次感染。饭前便后务必要洗手。

为了确定您的绦虫感染已经清除,医生可能会在您吃完药后每隔一段时间检查您的大便样本。成功治疗意味着您的粪便里没有绦虫卵、幼虫或节片。只有针对引起感染的绦虫类型进行适当治疗时,才最有可能获得成功的治疗。

侵入性感染的治疗

侵入性感染的治疗取决于感染的部位和程度。

  • 驱虫药物。阿苯达唑(Albenza)能使某些绦虫囊肿萎缩。医生可能会使用影像检查(例如超声波或 X 光)定期监测囊肿,以确保药效。
  • 抗炎疗法。即将死亡的绦虫囊肿会导致组织或器官肿胀或发炎,因此医生可能推荐使用处方皮质类固醇药物(例如泼尼松或地塞米松)以减轻炎症。
  • 抗癫痫治疗。如果该疾病引起癫痫发作,使用抗癫痫药物会有所帮助。
  • 放置分流管。有一种侵入性感染会导致脑部液体过多,发生脑积水。医生可能会建议在您的头部放置永久性的管道(分流器)来排出液体。
  • 外科手术。囊肿是否可以通过手术切除取决于其位置和症状。由于肝脏、肺和眼睛中的囊肿最终会对器官功能造成威胁,所以这些囊肿通常会被切除。

    医生可能会建议使用引流管作为手术的替代疗法。借助此引流管,医生可以使用抗寄生虫溶液对该区域进行侵袭性冲洗(灌洗)。

准备您的预约

对于绦虫感染,您可能会先看家庭医生。不过,有时家庭医生会将您转诊至传染病或胃肠道失调治疗的专科医生(消化科医生)。

以下信息可以帮助您为就诊做好准备,并了解医生可能做些什么。

您能做些什么

  • 写下您目前的症状,包括看似与您的约诊原因无关的任何症状。
  • 写下关键的个人信息,包括最近的旅行,尤其是出国旅行。如果您认为自己接触过被绦虫污染的食物或水,请告诉医生。
  • 列出您正在服用的所有药物、维生素和补充剂的清单。
  • 写下要向医生咨询的问题

您的就诊时间有限,因此提前准备好问题清单有助于充分利用就诊时间。对于绦虫感染,一些要问医生的基本问题包括:

  • 最有可能引起这些症状的原因是什么?
  • 有其他可能的原因吗?
  • 如果有的话,我需要做哪些检查?
  • 有哪些治疗方法可供选择,您推荐哪种治疗?
  • 有没有我需要遵守的饮食限制?
  • 有没有我可以带回家的手册或其他印刷资料?您推荐哪些网站?

除了您准备咨询医生的问题外,在就诊期间,您可以随时提问。

医生可能做些什么

医生可能会让您在就诊时带上粪便样本,以用于检测。医生可能还会向您询问关于您疾病的问题,例如:

  • 您的症状始于什么时候?
  • 您的症状有多严重?
  • 是否有任何因素似乎能令您的症状好转?
  • 有什么情况会加重您的症状吗?
  • 您最近旅行过吗?您去过哪些地区?
  • 您是否有可能接触过被绦虫污染的食物或饮品?

您同时能做些什么

在等待就诊期间尽量保持水分充足。

March 16, 2021
  1. Bennett JE, et al., eds. Tapeworms (Cestodes). In: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  2. Ferri FF. Tapeworm infestation. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  3. Leder K, et al. Intestinal tapeworms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  4. Goldman L, et al., eds. Cestodes. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  5. Parasites and foodborne illness. U.S. Department of Agriculture. https://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsis/topics/food-safety-education/get-answers/food-safety-fact-sheets/foodborne-illness-and-disease/parasites-and-foodborne-illness/CT_Index. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.
  6. Overview of tapeworm infections. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/cestodes-tapeworms/overview-of-tapeworm-infections#v1015102. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.
  7. Diphyllobothrium latum (and other species) FAQs. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/diphyllobothrium/faqs.html. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.

相关

Associated Procedures

Diagnosis

To diagnose a tapeworm infection, your doctor may rely on one of the following:

  • Stool sample analysis. For an intestinal tapeworm infection, your doctor may check your stool or send samples to a laboratory for testing. A laboratory uses microscopic identification techniques to check for eggs or tapeworm segments in your feces.

    Because the eggs and segments are passed irregularly, the lab may need to collect two to three samples over a period of time to detect the parasite. Eggs are sometimes present at the anus, so your doctor may use a piece of transparent adhesive tape pressed to the anus to collect eggs for microscopic identification.

  • Blood test. For tissue-invasive infections, your doctor may also test your blood for antibodies your body may have produced to fight tapeworm infection. The presence of these antibodies indicates tapeworm infestation.
  • Imaging exam. Certain types of imaging, such as CT or MRI scans, X-rays, or ultrasounds of cysts, may suggest invasive tapeworm infection.

Treatment

Some people with tapeworm infections never need treatment, for the tapeworm exits the body on its own. Others don't realize they have it because they have no symptoms. However, if you're diagnosed with intestinal tapeworm infection, medication will likely be prescribed to get rid of it.

Treatments for intestinal infections

The most common treatment for tapeworm infection involves oral medications that are toxic to the adult tapeworm, including:

  • Praziquantel (Biltricide)
  • Albendazole (Albenza)
  • Nitazoxanide (Alinia)

Which medication your doctor prescribes depends on the species of tapeworm involved and the site of the infection. These drugs target the adult tapeworm, not the eggs, so it's important to avoid reinfecting yourself. Always wash your hands after using the toilet and before eating.

To be certain that your tapeworm infection has cleared, your doctor will probably have your stool samples checked at certain intervals after you've finished taking your medication. Successful treatment — meaning that your stool is free of tapeworm eggs, larvae or proglottids — is most likely if you receive appropriate treatment for the type of tapeworm causing your infection.

Treatments for invasive infections

Treating an invasive infection depends on the location and effects of the infection.

  • Anthelmintic drugs. Albendazole (Albenza) can shrink some tapeworm cysts. Your doctor may monitor the cysts periodically using imaging studies such as ultrasound or X-ray to be sure the drug is effective.
  • Anti-inflammatory therapy. Dying tapeworm cysts can cause swelling or inflammation in tissues or organs, so your doctor may recommend prescription corticosteroid medication, such as prednisone or dexamethasone, to reduce inflammation.
  • Anti-epileptic therapy. If the disease is causing seizures, anti-epileptic medications can stop them.
  • Shunt placement. One type of invasive infection can cause too much fluid on the brain, called hydrocephalus. Your doctor may recommend placing a permanent tube (shunt) in your head to drain the fluid.
  • Surgery. Whether cysts can be removed surgically depends on their location and symptoms. Cysts that develop in the liver, lungs and eyes are typically removed, since they can eventually threaten organ function.

    Your doctor might recommend a drainage tube as an alternative to surgery. The tube allows aggressive rinsing (irrigation) of the area with anti-parasitic solutions.

Preparing for your appointment

For a tapeworm infection, you might first see your primary physician. However, in some cases, he or she may refer you to a doctor who specializes in infectious diseases or a doctor who specializes in disorders of the gastrointestinal tract (gastroenterologist).

Here's some information to help you get ready for your appointment, and what you can expect from your doctor.

What you can do

  • Write down the symptoms you're experiencing, including any that may seem unrelated to the reason for which you scheduled the appointment.
  • Write down key personal information, including any recent travel, especially to other countries. Tell your doctor if you believe you've been exposed to food or water contaminated with tapeworm.
  • Make a list of all medications, vitamins and supplements you're taking.
  • Write down questions to ask your doctor.

Your time with your doctor is limited, so preparing a list of questions can help you make the most of your time together. For tapeworm infection, some basic questions to ask your doctor include:

  • What's the most likely cause of my symptoms?
  • Are there other possible causes?
  • What kinds of tests do I need, if any?
  • What treatments are available and which do you recommend?
  • Are there any dietary restrictions that I need to follow?
  • Are there any brochures or other printed material that I can take home with me? What websites do you recommend visiting?

In addition to the questions that you've prepared to ask your doctor, don't hesitate to ask questions during your appointment.

What to expect from your doctor

Your doctor may ask that you bring a stool sample to your appointment for testing. Your doctor may also ask you questions about your condition, such as:

  • When did your symptoms begin?
  • How severe are your symptoms?
  • Does anything seem to improve your symptoms?
  • Does anything make your symptoms worse?
  • Have you traveled recently? To what areas?
  • Could you have been exposed to food or drink contaminated with tapeworm?

What you can do in the meantime

While you're waiting to see your doctor, try to stay well-hydrated.

Dec. 15, 2017
References
  1. Bennett JE, et al., eds. Tapeworms (Cestodes). In: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases. 8th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2015. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  2. Ferri FF. Tapeworm infestation. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  3. Leder K, et al. Intestinal tapeworms. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  4. Goldman L, et al., eds. Cestodes. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 25th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Saunders Elsevier; 2016. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 2, 2017.
  5. Parasites and foodborne illness. U.S. Department of Agriculture. https://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsis/topics/food-safety-education/get-answers/food-safety-fact-sheets/foodborne-illness-and-disease/parasites-and-foodborne-illness/CT_Index. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.
  6. Overview of tapeworm infections. Merck Manual Professional Version. https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/infectious-diseases/cestodes-tapeworms/overview-of-tapeworm-infections#v1015102. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.
  7. Diphyllobothrium latum (and other species) FAQs. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/diphyllobothrium/faqs.html. Accessed Sept. 27, 2017.