نظرة عامة

يُعد الطفح الوردي عدوى خفيفة بشكل عام، تصيب عادةً الأطفال من عمر عامين. وأحيانًا يُصاب البالغون بالطفح الوردي. وهو مرض شائع للغاية إلى حد أن معظم الأطفال يكونون قد أُصيبوا به قبل دخولهم الحضانة.

تسبب سلالتان شائعتان من فيروس الهربس مرض الطفح الوردي. تسبب الحالة عادةً الإصابة بحُمّى تستمر لعدة أيام، ويليها طفح جلدي.

لا يُصاب بعض الأطفال إلا بحالة خفيفة للغاية من مرض الطفح الوردي ولا يظهر عليهم أبدًا أي مؤشر واضح يدل على المرض، بينما يُصاب آخرون بعلامات وأعراض المرض بالكامل.

لا يكون مرض الطفح الوردي عادة خطيرًا. في بعض الحالات النادرة، يمكن أن تؤدي الحُمّى الشديدة إلى حدوث مضاعفات. يشمل علاج الطفح الوردي الراحة في الفراش وشرب السوائل وتلقي الأدوية لخفض الحُمّى.

الأعراض

إذا تعرض طفلك لشخص مصاب بالوردية والتقط منه العدوى الفيروسية، فعادة ما تستغرق العلامات والأعراض أسبوعًا أو اثنين لتظهر - هذا إن ظهرت بالكلية. من الممكن أن تُصابَ بعدوى الوردية ويحدث لك علامات وأعراض خفيفة جدًّا لدرجة إمكانية عدم ملاحظتها. قد تتضمن أعراض الوردية ما يلي:

  • حُمّى. عادة ما تبدأ الوردية بحُمّى مفاجئة وشديدة - عادة تكون درجة الحرارة أعلى من 103فهرنهايت (39.4 درجة مئوية). وقد يعاني بعض الأطفال من التهاب الحلق أو سيَلان الأنف أو السعال إلى جانب الحُمّى أو قبلها. كما قد يظهر تورُّم في العُقَد اللمفية لدى طفلك في رقبته إلى جانب الحُمّى. تستمر الحُمّى لثلاثة إلى خمسة أيام.
  • الطفح الجلدي. وبمجرد تراجع الحُمّى، عادة ما يظهر الطفح الجلدي - ولكن ليس على الدوام. يتكون هذا الطفح الجلدي من العديد من البقع أو الرقع الوردية. عادة ما تكون هذه البقع مسطَّحة ولكن أحيانًا تكون مرتفعة عن سطح الجلد. قد تحاط بعض البقع بهالة بيضاء. وعادة ما يبدأ الطفح بالظهور على الصدر والظهر والبطن ثم ينتشر إلى الرقبة والذراعين. قد يصل إلى الساقين والوجه وقد لا يصل. يمكن أن يستمر الطفح بين عدة ساعات إلى عدة أيام قبل أن يزول، ولا يكون مثيرًا للحكة ولا مزعجًا.

قد تشمل العلامات والأعراض الأخرى للوردية على التالي:

  • التهيُّج في الرُّضَّع والأطفال
  • الإسهال الخفيف
  • انخفاض الشهية للطعام
  • تورُّم الجفون

متى تزور الطبيب

اطلب العناية الطبية الفورية

قد يصاب طفلك بنوبة تشنُّجية (نوبة الحُمّى) إذا ارتفعت حرارته أو حرارتها أو زادت بصورة كبيرة. عموما فإنه في التوقيت الذي تلاحظ فيه ارتفاع درجة حرارة طفلك، فإن خطر النوبة المحتملة سيكون قد مرَّ بالفعل. إذا مر طفلك بنوبة غير مبرَّرة بالفعل، اطلب العناية الطبية على الفور.

اطلب طبيب طفلك

اطلب طبيب طفلك إذا:

  • كانت حرارة طفلك أعلى من 103 فهرنهايت (39.4 درجة مئوية)
  • أصيب طفلك بالطفح الوردي واستمرت الحُمّى لأكثر من سبعة أيام
  • لم يتحسن الطفح الجلدي بعد ثلاثة أيام

اتصل بطبيبك

اتصل بطبيبك، إذا كان جهازك المناعي ضعيفًا وتعاملت مع شخص مصاب بالطفح الوردي. قد تحتاج للمراقبة للعدوى المحتملة، والتي قد تكون بالنسبة لك، أكثر حدة منها بالنسبة لطفل.

الأسباب

يعد فيروس الهربس البشري 6 أكثر الأسباب شيوعًا للطفح الوردي، على أن الأخير قد يرجع أيضًا إلى فيروس هربس آخر، وهو فيروس الهربس 7.

ينتشر الطفح الوردي مثل غيره من الأمراض الفيروسية، مثل نزلات البرد الشائعة، من شخص لآخر عبر ملامسة الإفرازات الناتجة عن تنفس الشخص أو لعابه. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يلتقط طفل سليم العدوى من آخر مصاب بالطفح الوردي إذا شرب من كوبه.

يعد الطفح الوردي مُعديًا حتى في حالة عدم وجود طفح جلدي. وهذا يعني أنه يمكن انتشار الحالة إذا كان الطفل مصابًا بحمى فقط، حتى قبل أن تتضح إصابته بالطفح الوردي. ابحث عن علامات الطفح الوردي إذا كان طفلك قد تعامل مع طفل آخر مصاب بالمرض.

على عكس جدري الماء وغيره من الأمراض الفيروسية التي تقع الإصابة بها في مرحلة الطفولة وتنتشر سريعًا، فإنه من النادر أن يتفشى الطفح الوردي على مستوى مجتمعى. يمكن أن تحدث العدوى في أي وقت من السنة.

عوامل الخطر

يُعد الأطفال الأكبر سناً أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالطفح الوردي لأنهم لم يتح لهم الوقت بعد لتطوير أجسامهم المضادة لمكافحة العديد من الفيروسات. تتلقى الأجنة أجسامًا مضادة من أمهاتهم تحميهم كمواليد جدد من الإصابة بالعدوى، مثل الإصابة بالطفح الوردي أثناء وجودهم داخل الرحم. ولكن تقل هذه المناعة بمرور الوقت. حيث أن العمر الأكثر شيوعًا لإصابة الطفل بالطفح الوردي يكون ما بين 6 و15 شهرًا.

المضاعفات

نوبات التشنج الـمَرَضية لدى الأطفال

قد يتعرض الطفل المصاب بالطفح الوردي لنوبات من التشنجات؛ نتيجةً للارتفاع السريع في درجة حرارة الجسم. إذا حدث هذا، فقد يفقد طفلك وعيه لفترة وجيزة، وقد تنتفض أيٌّ من أطرافه الأربعة، أو رأسه لفترة تتراوح بين الثواني والدقائق. قد يفقد السيطرة على عمليات التبول أو الإخراج لفترة مؤقتة.

إذا كان طفلك يعاني من نوبة تشنج، فاحرص على الاتصال بالطوارئ الطبية. نوبات التشنج المتعلقة بالحُمَّى عند الأطفال الصغار الأصحاء عادةً ما تكون قصيرة الأجل، ونادرًا ما تكون ضارة، على الرغم من أنها تبدو مخيفة.

مضاعفات الطفح الوردي نادرة. يتعافى معظم الأطفال الأصحاء والبالغين الذين يصابون بالطفح الوردي بسرعة وبشكل كامل.

المخاوف الخاصة بالأفراد من ذوي الجهاز المناعي الضعيف

يمثل الطفح الوردي مصدر قلق أكبر في الأشخاص ذوي الأجهزة المناعية الضعيفة، مثل الأفراد الذين زرعوا مؤخرًا نخاع العظم أو عضوًا من الأعضاء. قد يُصابون للمرة الأولى بالطفح الوردي — أو قد تعاودهم الإصابة به عندما يكون جهازهم المناعي ضعيفًا. من الشائع أن يُصاب الأفراد من ذوي المناعة الضعيفة بعدوى أكثر حدة لأن مقاومتهم للفيروسات أقل بوجه عام، كما يُعانون لوقت أطول في محاربة المرض.

من المحتمل أن يتعرض الأفراد من ذوي المناعة الضعيفة المصابين بالطفح الوردي لمضاعفات خطيرة بسبب العدوى، مثل الالتهاب الرئوي أو التهاب الدماغ— وهذا الأخير التهاب في المخ من المحتمل أن يهدد حياة المرء.

الوقاية

وبسبب عدم وجود لقاح للوقاية من الطفح الوردي، أفضل ما بوسعك فعله لمنع انتشار الطفح الوردي هو تفادي تعريض طفلك لطفل مصاب. إذا كان طفلك مصابًا بالطفح الوردي، فعليك إبقائه أو إبقائها في المنزل، بعيدًا عن الأطفال الآخرين حتى تزول الحمى.

يمتلك معظم الأشخاص أجسامًا مضادة للطفح الوردي بحلول عمر التحاقهم بالمدرسة، الأمر الذي يجعلهم محصنين ضد الإصابة بالعدوى مرة ثانية. ومع ذلك، إذا أُصيب أحد أفراد العائلة بالفيروس، فاحرص على أن يغسل جميع أفراد العائلة أيديهم باستمرار لتجنب انتشار الفيروس وإصابة أي شخص غير محصن ضد الفيروس.

قد يُصاب البالغون الذين لم يُصابوا بالطفح الوردي في طفولتهم بالفيروس في مرحلة لاحقة في حياتهم، وإن كان المرض يميل أن يكون بدرجة خفيفة لدى البالغين الأصحاء. ورغم ذلك، يُمكن أن ينقل البالغون المصابون الفيروس إلى الأطفال.

13/06/2019
References
  1. Tremblay C, et al. Roseola infantum (exanthem subitum). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  2. Tremblay C, et al. Human herpes virus 6 infection in children: Clinical manifestations; diagnosis; and treatment. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  3. Mamishi S, et al. Prevalence of HHV-6 in cerebrospinal fluid of children younger than 2 years of age with febrile convulsion. Iranian Journal of Microbiology. 2014;6(2):87. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4281666/. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  4. Roseola infantum. The Merck Manual Professional Edition. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous_viral_infections_in_infants_and_children/roseola_infantum.html?qt=human herpesvirus 6&alt=sh. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  5. NINDS Reye's syndrome information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/reyes_syndrome/reyes_syndrome.htm. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  6. What is the role of aspirin in triggering Reye's? National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/aspirin.html. Accessed April 8, 2015.

Overview

Roseola is a generally mild infection that usually affects children by age 2. It occasionally affects adults. Roseola is so common that most children have been infected with roseola by the time they enter kindergarten.

Two common strains of herpes virus cause roseola. The condition typically causes several days of fever, followed by a rash.

Some children develop only a very mild case of roseola and never show any clear indication of illness, while others experience the full range of signs and symptoms.

Roseola typically isn't serious. Rarely, a very high fever can result in complications. Treatment of roseola includes bed rest, fluids and medications to reduce fever.

Symptoms

If your child is exposed to someone with roseola and becomes infected with the virus, it generally takes a week or two for signs and symptoms of infection to appear — if they appear at all. It's possible to become infected with roseola, but have signs and symptoms too mild to be readily noticeable. Roseola symptoms may include:

  • Fever. Roseola typically starts with a sudden, high fever — often greater than 103 F (39.4 C). Some children may also have a slightly sore throat, runny nose or cough along with or preceding the fever. Your child may also develop swollen lymph nodes in his or her neck along with the fever. The fever lasts three to five days.
  • Rash. Once the fever subsides, a rash typically appears — but not always. The rash consists of many small pink spots or patches. These spots are generally flat, but some may be raised. There may be a white ring around some of the spots. The rash usually starts on the chest, back and abdomen and then spreads to the neck and arms. It may or may not reach the legs and face. The rash, which isn't itchy or uncomfortable, can last from several hours to several days before fading.

Other signs and symptoms of roseola may include:

  • Irritability in infants and children
  • Mild diarrhea
  • Decreased appetite
  • Swollen eyelids

When to see a doctor

Seek immediate medical care

Your child could have a convulsion (febrile seizure) if his or her fever becomes high or spikes quickly. However, usually by the time you notice your child's high temperature, the threat of a possible seizure has already passed. If your child does have an unexplained seizure, seek medical care immediately.

Call your child's doctor

Call your child's doctor if:

  • Your child has a fever greater than 103 F (39.4 C)
  • Your child has roseola and the fever lasts more than seven days
  • The rash doesn't improve after three days

Call your doctor

If your immune system is compromised and you come in contact with someone who has roseola, contact your doctor. You may need monitoring for a possible infection that, for you, could be more severe than it is for a child.

Causes

The most common cause of roseola is the human herpes virus 6, but the cause also can be another herpes virus — human herpes virus 7.

Like other viral illnesses, such as a common cold, roseola spreads from person to person through contact with an infected person's respiratory secretions or saliva. For example, a healthy child who shares a cup with a child who has roseola could contract the virus.

Roseola is contagious even if no rash is present. That means the condition can spread while an infected child has only a fever, even before it's clear that the child has roseola. Watch for signs of roseola if your child has interacted with another child who has the illness.

Unlike chickenpox and other childhood viral illnesses that spread rapidly, roseola rarely results in a communitywide outbreak. The infection can occur at any time of the year.

Risk factors

Older infants are at greatest risk of acquiring roseola because they haven't had time yet to develop their own antibodies against many viruses. While in the uterus, babies receive antibodies from their mothers that protect them as newborns from contracting infections, such as roseola. But this immunity decreases with time. The most common age for a child to contract roseola is between 6 and 15 months.

Complications

Seizures in children

Occasionally a child with roseola experiences a seizure brought on by a rapid rise in body temperature. If this happens, your child might briefly lose consciousness and jerk his or her arms, legs or head for several seconds to minutes. He or she may also lose bladder or bowel control temporarily.

If your child has a seizure, seek emergency care. Although frightening, fever-related seizures in otherwise healthy young children are generally short-lived and are rarely harmful.

Complications from roseola are rare. The vast majority of otherwise healthy children and adults with roseola recover quickly and completely.

Concerns for people with weak immune systems

Roseola is of greater concern in people whose immune systems are compromised, such as those who have recently received a bone marrow or organ transplant. They may contract a new case of roseola — or a previous infection may come back while their immune system is weakened. Because they have less resistance to viruses in general, immune-compromised people tend to develop more-severe cases of infection and have a harder time fighting off illness.

People with weak immune systems who contract roseola may experience potentially serious complications from the infection, such as pneumonia or encephalitis — a potentially life-threatening inflammation of the brain.

Prevention

Because there's no vaccine to prevent roseola, the best you can do to prevent the spread of roseola is to avoid exposing your child to an infected child. If your child is sick with roseola, keep him or her home and away from other children until the fever has broken.

Most people have antibodies to roseola by the time they're of school age, making them immune to a second infection. Even so, if one household member contracts the virus, make sure that all family members wash their hands frequently to prevent spread of the virus to anyone who isn't immune.

Adults who never contracted roseola as children can become infected later in life, though the disease tends to be mild in healthy adults. However, infected adults can pass the virus on to children.

May 28, 2015
References
  1. Tremblay C, et al. Roseola infantum (exanthem subitum). http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  2. Tremblay C, et al. Human herpes virus 6 infection in children: Clinical manifestations; diagnosis; and treatment. http://www.uptodate.com/home. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  3. Mamishi S, et al. Prevalence of HHV-6 in cerebrospinal fluid of children younger than 2 years of age with febrile convulsion. Iranian Journal of Microbiology. 2014;6(2):87. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4281666/. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  4. Roseola infantum. The Merck Manual Professional Edition. http://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/pediatrics/miscellaneous_viral_infections_in_infants_and_children/roseola_infantum.html?qt=human herpesvirus 6&alt=sh. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  5. NINDS Reye's syndrome information page. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/reyes_syndrome/reyes_syndrome.htm. Accessed April 8, 2015.
  6. What is the role of aspirin in triggering Reye's? National Reye's Syndrome Foundation. http://www.reyessyndrome.org/aspirin.html. Accessed April 8, 2015.