诊断

为了诊断肥胖症,医生通常会进行体格检查,并推荐一些检测。

这些检查和测试通常包括:

  • 记录您的健康史。医生可能会审查您的体重史、减重行动、体育锻炼和运动习惯、饮食模式和食欲控制、您的其他状况、用药、压力水平以及其他有关您健康的问题。医生也会检查您的家族健康史,看看您是否有患某些病症的倾向。
  • 常规体格检查。这包括测量您的身高;检查生命体征,如心率、血压和体温;对您的心和肺进行听诊;以及检查您的腹部。
  • 计算您的 BMI您的医生会检查您的体重指数(BMI)。BMI 值达到 30 或更高则被视为肥胖症。BMI 超过 30 会增加健康风险。您应该至少每年测一次 BMI,以便确定整体健康风险和合适的治疗方法。
  • 测量您的腰围。堆积在腰部的脂肪又称为内脏脂肪或腹部脂肪,可能会进一步增加患心脏病和糖尿病的风险。腰围超过 35 英寸(89 厘米)的女性和腰围超过 40 英寸(102 厘米)的男性可能比腰围较小的人面临更多的健康风险。像 BMI 测量一样,您每年应该至少测量一次腰围。
  • 检查其他健康问题。医生会评估您的其他已知健康问题,还会检查其他潜在健康问题,如高血压、高胆固醇、甲状腺功能低下、肝脏问题和糖尿病。

收集这些信息有助于您和医生选择最适合您的治疗方法。

治疗

治疗肥胖症的目标是达到并保持健康的体重。这可以改善您的整体健康状况,并降低发生肥胖症相关并发症的风险。

您可能需要与医疗保健专业团队(包括营养师、行为顾问或肥胖症专家)合作,以帮助您理解并改变您的饮食和活动习惯。

最初的治疗目标通常是适度减轻体重,即总体重的 5% 至 10%。这意味着,如果您的体重为 200 磅(91 千克),您只需减去约 10 至 20 磅(4.5 至 9 千克),就能使健康状况开始改善。当然,您减轻的体重越多,益处就越大。

所有减重计划都需要改变饮食习惯和增加身体活动。适合您的治疗方法取决于您的肥胖症严重程度、整体健康状况,以及您是否愿意参与减重计划。

饮食变化

减少卡路里和养成更健康的饮食习惯对战胜肥胖症至关重要。虽然一开始您可能会快速减重,但长期稳定的减重被认为是最安全的减重方式,也是永久保持减重的最佳方式。

没有所谓最佳的减重食谱。选择一种您觉得适合自己的健康饮食。治疗肥胖症的饮食变化包括:

  • 减少卡路里。减重的关键是减少摄入的卡路里。第一步是审查您日常的饮食习惯,看看您通常消耗多少卡路里以及可以在哪些地方减少摄入量。您和您的医生可以决定为了减重每日所需摄入的卡路里量,但女性和男性的典型摄入量分别为 1200-1500 卡路里和 1500-1800 卡路里。
  • 吃高饱腹感食物。有些食物,例如甜食、糖果、脂肪和加工食品,只需少许就含有大量的卡路里。相比之下,更大分量的水果和蔬菜所含卡路里更少。吃更多的低卡路里食物,您会减少饥饿感,摄入更少的卡路里,对餐食的感觉更好,从而有助于提高整体满足感。
  • 做出更健康的选择。为了使您的总体饮食更健康,多吃植物类食物(如水果、蔬菜和全谷物)。还应选择低脂肪蛋白质来源(如豆类、扁豆和大豆)和瘦肉。如果您喜欢吃鱼,试着每周吃两次鱼。限制盐分和添加的糖分。食用少量脂肪,并确保它们来自对心脏健康的来源,如橄榄油、菜籽油和坚果油。
  • 限制某些食物。某些饮食限制了特定食物群的量,例如高碳水化合物或全脂食品。询问医生哪些饮食计划有效,以及哪些可能对您有帮助。喝含糖饮料肯定会吸收比您预期更多的卡路里。限制或完全戒除这些饮料是开始减少卡路里的好方法。
  • 代餐。这些计划建议用其中的产品(如低卡路里的奶昔或餐棒)代替一餐或两餐,并吃健康的零食以及低脂肪和卡路里的健康均衡第三餐。在短期内,这类饮食可帮您减重。但这类饮食可能无法教会您改变整体生活方式。因此,如果您想保持体重,可能必须坚持节食。

当心捷径。您可能被那些承诺快速轻松减重的节食食谱所诱惑。然而,现实中没有神奇食物或捷径。节食食谱可能在短期内有所帮助,但长期结果似乎并不比其他饮食更好。

同样,您或许可以通过快速节食减重;但一旦停止节食,体重可能又会反弹。要想减重并长期保持体重,必须养成健康的饮食习惯并长期坚持。

运动和活动

增加身体活动或锻炼是治疗肥胖症的重要环节:

  • 运动。肥胖症患者需要每周至少进行 150 分钟中等强度的身体活动,以防止体重进一步增加或保持适度的减重。随着耐力和身体素质的提高,您可能需要逐渐增加运动量。
  • 保持运动。尽管有规律的有氧运动是燃烧卡路里和减掉多余体重最有效的方式,但任何额外的活动都有助于燃烧卡路里。把车停在离商店门口较远的地方,走楼梯而不是乘电梯。计步器可以记录您一天走了多少步。许多人尝试每天走 10,000 步。请逐步增加每日步数来达到这一目标。

行为改变

行为矫正项目有助帮助患者改变生活方式,以及减轻体重并保持身材。需要采取的步骤包括检查当下的习惯,找出可能造成肥胖的因素、压力或情境。

  • 咨询。与心理健康专业人士交谈有助于解决与饮食有关的情绪和行为问题。治疗可以帮助您了解为何会过度进食,并学习健康的生活方式以应对焦虑。也可以学习如何监测您的饮食与活动,了解进食诱因,并正确应对饮食冲动。咨询可以一对一进行,也可以通过小组形式进行。
  • 互助小组。在互助小组中,您会感受到友爱与理解,小组中其他人会分享应对肥胖症的类似经历。询问医生、当地医院或商业减重项目所在地区的互助小组。

减重药

减重药物应与饮食、运动和行为改变结合使用,而不是取而代之。在为您选择药物之前,您的医生将考虑您的病史以及可能的副作用。

已获美国食品药品管理局(FDA)批准用于治疗肥胖症的最常用药物包括:

  • 安非他酮-纳曲酮(Contrave)
  • 利拉鲁肽(Saxenda)
  • 奥利司他(Alli、Xenical)
  • 芬特明-托吡酯(Qsymia)

减重药物不会对每个人都起作用,并且效果可能随时间减弱。一旦停止服药,您可能反弹恢复原来的大部分甚至全部体重。

减肥内镜手术

这些类型的手术不需要任何皮肤切口。麻醉后,医生会从您的口中插入软管和工具,经咽喉向下进入胃中。常见的手术包括:

  • 内镜袖状胃成形术。这个手术是在胃里缝线,减少胃一次可容纳的食物和液体量。随着时间的推移,少吃少喝有助于普通人减肥。
  • 胃内球囊减重术。这个手术中,医生将一个小球囊放入胃中。球囊装满水,减少胃中的可用空间,所以您会有饱腹感,吃得更少。

减肥手术

减重手术限制能够舒适进食的食物量或减少对食物和热量的吸收。然而,这也可能导致营养不良和维生素缺乏。

常见的减重手术包括:

  • 可调节胃束带。在此手术中,医生用一根充气束带将胃分离为两个胃袋。外科医生会拉紧束带,就像给胃系了一根腰带,在两个胃袋之间创建微小的通道。该束带可防止开口扩张,通常可以永久留在胃部。
  • 胃旁路手术。在胃旁路术 (Roux-en-Y) 中,外科医生会在胃顶端造一个小胃袋。然后在主胃下方截一小段小肠,与新胃袋连接。食物和液体直接从胃袋流入这一部分肠道,绕过大部分胃。
  • 袖状胃切除术。在此手术中,医生切除部分胃,形成较小的食物储存库。这个手术比胃旁路手术更为简单。

术后减重能否成功取决于能否坚持终身改变饮食和运动习惯。

其它治疗

肥胖症的其他治疗方法包括:

  • 水凝胶。可凭处方购买,这些可食用胶囊含有的微小颗粒可吸收水分并在胃里膨胀,从而使您产生饱腹感。该胶囊在饭前服用,通过肠道以粪便形式排出。
  • 迷走神经阻滞。即在腹部皮肤下植入装置用于向腹部迷走神经发送间歇性电脉冲,当胃感到空或饱时,迷走神经会告诉大脑。
  • 胃抽吸术。在这项手术中,医生会将一根导管经腹部置入胃中。每次餐后都会吸出一部分胃内容物。

临床试验

探索 Mayo Clinic 的研究 测试新的治疗、干预与检查方法,旨在预防、检测、治疗或控制这种疾病。

生活方式与家庭疗法

如果能在正式治疗计划之外遵循一些家庭治疗策略,您更有可能克服肥胖症。其中可能包括:

  • 了解您所患的病症。学习关于肥胖症的知识,可以帮助您进一步了解您为什么会肥胖以及您可以做些什么来克服肥胖。您可能会觉得自己更有能力控制病症并坚持治疗计划。阅读广受好评的自我护理书籍,并考虑和您的医生或治疗师交流。
  • 制定现实的目标。当您必须大幅减重时,您可能制定不切实际的目标,比如试图以过快速度减去过多体重。不要让自己注定失败。制定每日或每周的运动和减重目标。在饮食上做些小改变,而不是尝试您不可能长期坚持的重大改变。
  • 坚持您的治疗计划。改变多年的生活方式可能很难。如果您发现自己的活动或饮食目标松懈,向医生、治疗师或其他医疗护理专业人员坦白。你们可以一起提出新想法或新方法。
  • 寻求支持。让您的家人和朋友支持您的减重目标。请您周围的人为您提供支持和帮助,而不会破坏您的努力。确保他们明白减重对您的健康有多重要。您还可能需要加入减重互助组。
  • 坚持记录。记录食物和活动日志。这份记录可以帮助您对自己的饮食和运动习惯负责。您可以发现哪些行为可能对您构成妨碍,哪些行为对您有益。您还可以使用日志跟踪其他重要的健康参数,如血压、胆固醇水平和整体健康状况。

替代医学

市面上有多种膳食补充剂声称有助于快速减轻体重。这些产品的长期有效性和安全性往往值得怀疑。

妥善处理与支持

与您的医生或治疗师谈谈如何提高您的应对技巧,并考虑以下建议来应对肥胖症和减重:

  • 写日记。写日记发泄痛苦、愤怒、恐惧或其他情绪。
  • 接触人群。不要孤立自己。尝试参加日常活动,并定期与家人或朋友见面。
  • 融入人群。加入互助团体,接触其他面临类似挑战的患者.
  • 集中注意力。专注于自己的目标。治疗肥胖症是一个持续的过程。牢记目标,保持动力。提醒自己,您有责任管理自己的病情,并朝着自己的目标努力。
  • 放松。学习松弛和压力管理。学会接纳压力,开发压力管理和松弛技巧,可以帮助您控制不健康的饮食习惯。

准备您的预约

坦诚和您的医生交流您对体重的担忧,这是您保持健康的最佳措施之一。如果您所在地区有肥胖症专科医生,在某些情况下,您可能会被转诊给这位医生。您可能还会被转诊给行为顾问或营养师。

您可以做什么

积极参与医疗过程非常重要。其中一种方法是为就诊做好准备。考虑您的需求和治疗目标。此外,列一份要向医生咨询的问题清单。这些问题可能包括:

  • 哪些饮食或活动习惯可能造成了我的健康问题和体重增长?
  • 我该如何克服在控制体重方面所面临的挑战?
  • 我还有其他因为肥胖症导致的健康问题吗?
  • 我应该去看营养师吗?
  • 我应该去看具有体重管理专业知识的行为咨询师吗?
  • 肥胖症和我的其他健康问题有哪些治疗选项?
  • 减重干预对我来说是一种选择吗?

确保让医生了解您的任何医疗状况,以及您所服用的任何药物、维生素或补充剂。

医生可能做些什么

在您就诊期间,医生可能会问一些与您的体重、饮食、活动、情绪和想法以及您可能有的任何症状有关的问题。可能会问您诸如以下问题:

  • 您高中时体重是多少?
  • 生活中哪些事件可能与体重增长有关?
  • 您一天通常吃什么,吃多少?
  • 您一天的活动量通常是多少?
  • 您生命的哪个阶段出现了体重增长?
  • 您认为影响您体重的因素有哪些?
  • 您的体重对您的日常生活有何影响?
  • 您曾尝试过用哪些食谱或治疗来减轻体重?
  • 您的减重目标是什么?
  • 您是否做好准备,通过改变生活方式来减轻体重?
  • 您认为什么可能会妨碍您减轻体重?

在此期间您可以做什么

如果约好就诊后还有时间,您可以在就诊前两周每天记录饮食情况,并用步数记录器(计步器)记录您一天的步数,为就诊做好准备。

您在做选择前也可以考虑有助于减重的方案,包括:

  • 针对饮食进行有利健康的改变。让饮食包括更多的水果、蔬菜和全谷类食物。开始减少份量。
  • 增加活动水平。试着在家中更频繁地起身走动。如果您的体形不好或者不习惯运动,可以慢慢开始,循序渐进。即使每天步行 10 分钟也能有所帮助。如果您有任何健康问题或者已经超过某个年龄(男性超过 40 岁,女性超过 50 岁),请在开始新的运动计划之前先咨询您的医生。

在 Mayo Clinic 治疗

Aug. 29, 2022
  1. Overweight and obesity. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/overweight-and-obesity. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. Obesity. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Obesity in adults. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  4. Feldman M, et al., eds. Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  5. Perrault L. Obesity in adults: Prevalence, screening and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  6. Melmed S, et al. Obesity. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 17, 2021.
  7. COVID-19: People with certain medical conditions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html. Accessed May 6, 2021.
  8. Perrault L. Obesity in adults: Overview of management. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  9. Healthy weight, nutrition and physical activity. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/healthyweight/index.html. Accessed May 3, 2021.

Diagnosis

To diagnose obesity, your doctor will typically perform a physical exam and recommend some tests.

These exams and tests generally include:

  • Taking your health history. Your doctor may review your weight history, weight-loss efforts, physical activity and exercise habits, eating patterns and appetite control, what other conditions you've had, medications, stress levels, and other issues about your health. Your doctor may also review your family's health history to see if you may be predisposed to certain conditions.
  • A general physical exam. This includes measuring your height; checking vital signs, such as heart rate, blood pressure and temperature; listening to your heart and lungs; and examining your abdomen.
  • Calculating your BMI. Your doctor will check your body mass index (BMI). A BMI of 30 or higher is considered obesity. Numbers higher than 30 increase health risks even more. Your BMI should be checked at least once a year because it can help determine your overall health risks and what treatments may be appropriate.
  • Measuring your waist circumference. Fat stored around the waist, sometimes called visceral fat or abdominal fat, may further increase the risk of heart disease and diabetes. Women with a waist measurement (circumference) of more than 35 inches (89 centimeters) and men with a waist measurement of more than 40 inches (102 centimeters) may have more health risks than do people with smaller waist measurements. Like the BMI measurement, waist circumference should be checked at least once a year.
  • Checking for other health problems. If you have known health problems, your doctor will evaluate them. Your doctor will also check for other possible health problems, such as high blood pressure, high cholesterol, underactive thyroid, liver problems and diabetes.

Gathering this information will help you and your doctor choose the type of treatment that will work best for you.

Treatment

The goal of obesity treatment is to reach and stay at a healthy weight. This improves overall health and lowers the risk of developing complications related to obesity.

You may need to work with a team of health professionals — including a dietitian, behavioral counselor or an obesity specialist — to help you understand and make changes in your eating and activity habits.

The initial treatment goal is usually a modest weight loss — 5% to 10% of your total weight. That means that if you weigh 200 pounds (91 kilograms), you'd need to lose only about 10 to 20 pounds (4.5 to 9 kilograms) for your health to begin to improve. However, the more weight you lose, the greater the benefits.

All weight-loss programs require changes in your eating habits and increased physical activity. The treatment methods that are right for you depend on your obesity severity, your overall health and your willingness to participate in your weight-loss plan.

Dietary changes

Reducing calories and practicing healthier eating habits are vital to overcoming obesity. Although you may lose weight quickly at first, steady weight loss over the long term is considered the safest way to lose weight and the best way to keep it off permanently.

There is no best weight-loss diet. Choose one that includes healthy foods that you feel will work for you. Dietary changes to treat obesity include:

  • Cutting calories. The key to weight loss is reducing how many calories you take in. The first step is to review your typical eating and drinking habits to see how many calories you normally consume and where you can cut back. You and your doctor can decide how many calories you need to take in each day to lose weight, but a typical amount is 1,200 to 1,500 calories for women and 1,500 to 1,800 for men.
  • Feeling full on less. Some foods — such as desserts, candies, fats and processed foods — contain a lot of calories for a small portion. In contrast, fruits and vegetables provide a larger portion size with fewer calories. By eating larger portions of foods that have fewer calories, you reduce hunger pangs, take in fewer calories and feel better about your meal, which contributes to how satisfied you feel overall.
  • Making healthier choices. To make your overall diet healthier, eat more plant-based foods, such as fruits, vegetables and whole grains. Also emphasize lean sources of protein — such as beans, lentils and soy — and lean meats. If you like fish, try to include fish twice a week. Limit salt and added sugar. Eat small amounts of fats, and make sure they come from heart-healthy sources, such as olive, canola and nut oils.
  • Restricting certain foods. Certain diets limit the amount of a particular food group, such as high-carbohydrate or full-fat foods. Ask your doctor which diet plans are effective and which might be helpful for you. Drinking sugar-sweetened beverages is a sure way to consume more calories than you intended. Limiting these drinks or eliminating them altogether is a good place to start cutting calories.
  • Meal replacements. These plans suggest replacing one or two meals with their products — such as low-calorie shakes or meal bars — and eat healthy snacks and a healthy, balanced third meal that's low in fat and calories. In the short term, this type of diet can help you lose weight. But these diets likely won't teach you how to change your overall lifestyle. So you may have to stay on the diet if you want to keep your weight off.

Be wary of quick fixes. You may be tempted by fad diets that promise fast and easy weight loss. The reality, however, is that there are no magic foods or quick fixes. Fad diets may help in the short term, but the long-term results don't appear to be any better than other diets.

Similarly, you may lose weight on a crash diet, but you're likely to regain it when you stop the diet. To lose weight — and keep it off — you must adopt healthy-eating habits that you can maintain over time.

Exercise and activity

Increased physical activity or exercise is an essential part of obesity treatment:

  • Exercise. People with obesity need to get at least 150 minutes a week of moderate-intensity physical activity to prevent further weight gain or to maintain the loss of a modest amount of weight. You probably will need to gradually increase the amount you exercise as your endurance and fitness improve.
  • Keep moving. Even though regular aerobic exercise is the most efficient way to burn calories and shed excess weight, any extra movement helps burn calories. Park farther from store entrances and take the stairs instead of the elevator. A pedometer can track how many steps you take over the course of a day. Many people try to reach 10,000 steps every day. Gradually increase the number of steps you take daily to reach that goal.

Behavior changes

A behavior modification program can help you make lifestyle changes and lose weight and keep it off. Steps to take include examining your current habits to find out what factors, stresses or situations may have contributed to your obesity.

  • Counseling. Talking with a mental health professional can help address emotional and behavioral issues related to eating. Therapy can help you understand why you overeat and learn healthy ways to cope with anxiety. You can also learn how to monitor your diet and activity, understand eating triggers, and cope with food cravings. Counseling can be one-on-one or in a group.
  • Support groups. You can find camaraderie and understanding in support groups where others share similar challenges with obesity. Check with your doctor, local hospitals or commercial weight-loss programs for support groups in your area.

Weight-loss medication

Weight-loss medications are meant to be used along with diet, exercise and behavior changes, not instead of them. Before selecting a medication for you, your doctor will consider your health history, as well as possible side effects.

The most commonly used medications approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the treatment of obesity include:

  • Bupropion-naltrexone (Contrave)
  • Liraglutide (Saxenda)
  • Orlistat (Alli, Xenical)
  • Phentermine-topiramate (Qsymia)

Weight-loss medications may not work for everyone, and the effects may wane over time. When you stop taking a weight-loss medication, you may regain much or all of the weight you lost.

Endoscopic procedures for weight loss

These types of procedures don't require any incisions in the skin. After you are under anesthesia, flexible tubes and tools are inserted through the mouth and down the throat into the stomach. Common procedures include:

  • Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty. This procedure involves placing stitches in the stomach to reduce the amount of food and liquid the stomach can hold at one time. Over time, eating and drinking less helps the typical person lose weight.
  • Intragastric balloon for weight loss. In this procedure, doctors place a small balloon into the stomach. The balloon is then filled with water to reduce the amount of space in the stomach, so you'll feel full eating less food.

Weight-loss surgery

Also known as bariatric surgery, weight-loss surgery limits the amount of food you're able to comfortably eat or decreases the absorption of food and calories. However, this can also result in nutritional and vitamin deficiencies.

Common weight-loss surgeries include:

  • Adjustable gastric banding. In this procedure, an inflatable band separates the stomach into two pouches. The surgeon pulls the band tight, like a belt, to create a tiny channel between the two pouches. The band keeps the opening from expanding and is generally designed to stay in place permanently.
  • Gastric bypass surgery. In gastric bypass (Roux-en-Y), the surgeon creates a small pouch at the top of the stomach. The small intestine is then cut a short distance below the main stomach and connected to the new pouch. Food and liquid flow directly from the pouch into this part of the intestine, bypassing most of the stomach.
  • Gastric sleeve. In this procedure, part of the stomach is removed, creating a smaller reservoir for food. It's a less complicated surgery than gastric bypass.

Weight-loss success after surgery depends on your commitment to making lifelong changes in your eating and exercise habits.

Other treatments

Other treatments for obesity include:

  • Hydrogels. Available by prescription, these edible capsules contain tiny particles that absorb water and enlarge in the stomach, to help you feel full. The capsules are taken before meals and are passed through the intestines as stool.
  • Vagal nerve blockade. This involves implanting a device under the skin of the abdomen that sends intermittent electrical pulses to the abdominal vagus nerve, which tells the brain when the stomach feels empty or full.
  • Gastric aspirate. In this procedure, a tube is placed through the abdomen into the stomach. A portion of the stomach contents are drained out after each meal.

Clinical trials

Explore Mayo Clinic studies testing new treatments, interventions and tests as a means to prevent, detect, treat or manage this condition.

Lifestyle and home remedies

Your effort to overcome obesity is more likely to be successful if you follow strategies at home in addition to your formal treatment plan. These can include:

  • Learning about your condition. Education about obesity can help you learn more about why you developed obesity and what you can do about it. You may feel more empowered to take control and stick to your treatment plan. Read reputable self-help books and consider talking about them with your doctor or therapist.
  • Setting realistic goals. When you have to lose a lot of weight, you may set goals that are unrealistic, such as trying to lose too much too fast. Don't set yourself up for failure. Set daily or weekly goals for exercise and weight loss. Make small changes in your diet instead of attempting drastic changes that you're not likely to stick with for the long haul.
  • Sticking to your treatment plan. Changing a lifestyle you may have lived with for many years can be difficult. Be honest with your doctor, therapist or other health care professionals if you find your activity or eating goals slipping. You can work together to come up with new ideas or new approaches.
  • Enlisting support. Get your family and friends on board with your weight-loss goals. Surround yourself with people who will support you and help you, not sabotage your efforts. Make sure they understand how important weight loss is to your health. You might also want to join a weight-loss support group.
  • Keeping a record. Keep a food and activity log. This record can help you remain accountable for your eating and exercise habits. You can discover behavior that may be holding you back and, conversely, what works well for you. You can also use your log to track other important health parameters such as blood pressure and cholesterol levels and overall fitness.

Alternative medicine

Numerous dietary supplements that promise to help you shed weight quickly are available. The long-term effectiveness and safety of these products are often questionable.

Coping and support

Talk to your doctor or therapist about improving your coping skills and consider these tips to cope with obesity and your weight-loss efforts:

  • Journal. Write in a journal to express pain, anger, fear or other emotions.
  • Connect. Don't become isolated. Try to participate in regular activities and get together with family or friends periodically.
  • Join. Join a support group so that you can connect with others facing similar challenges.
  • Focus. Stay focused on your goals. Overcoming obesity is an ongoing process. Stay motivated by keeping your goals in mind. Remind yourself that you're responsible for managing your condition and working toward your goals.
  • Relax. Learn relaxation and stress management. Learning to recognize stress and developing stress management and relaxation skills can help you gain control of unhealthy eating habits.

Preparing for your appointment

Talking to your doctor openly and honestly about your weight concerns is one of the best things you can do for your health. In some cases, you may be referred to an obesity specialist — if one is available in your area. You may also be referred to a behavioral counselor or dietitian.

What you can do

Being an active participant in your care is important. One way to do this is by preparing for your appointment. Think about your needs and goals for treatment. Also, write down a list of questions to ask. These questions may include:

  • What eating or activity habits are likely contributing to my health concerns and weight gain?
  • What can I do about the challenges I face in managing my weight?
  • Do I have other health problems that are caused by obesity?
  • Should I see a dietitian?
  • Should I see a behavioral counselor with expertise in weight management?
  • What are the treatment options for obesity and my other health problems?
  • Is weight-loss intervention an option for me?

Be sure to let your doctor know about any medical conditions you have and about any medications, vitamins or supplements that you take.

What to expect from your doctor

During your appointment, your doctor is likely to ask you a number of questions about your weight, eating, activity, mood and thoughts, and any symptoms you might have. You may be asked such questions as:

  • How much did you weigh in high school?
  • What life events may have been associated with weight gain?
  • What and how much do you eat in a typical day?
  • How much activity do you get in a typical day?
  • During what periods of your life did you gain weight?
  • What are the factors that you believe affect your weight?
  • How is your daily life affected by your weight?
  • What diets or treatments have you tried to lose weight?
  • What are your weight-loss goals?
  • Are you ready to make changes in your lifestyle to lose weight?
  • What do you think might prevent you from losing weight?

What you can do in the meantime

If you have time before your scheduled appointment, you can help prepare for the appointment by keeping a diet diary for two weeks prior to the appointment and by recording how many steps you take in a day by using a step counter (pedometer).

You can also begin to make choices that will help you start to lose weight, including:

  • Making healthy changes in your diet. Include more fruits, vegetables and whole grains in your diet. Begin to reduce portion sizes.
  • Increasing your activity level. Try to get up and move around your home more frequently. Start gradually if you aren't in good shape or aren't used to exercising. Even a 10-minute daily walk can help. If you have any health conditions or are over a certain age — over 40 for men and over 50 for women — wait until you've talked to your doctor before you start a new exercise program.

Obesity care at Mayo Clinic

Sept. 02, 2021
  1. Overweight and obesity. National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. https://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health-topics/overweight-and-obesity. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  2. Goldman L, et al., eds. Obesity. In: Goldman-Cecil Medicine. 26th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  3. Kellerman RD, et al. Obesity in adults. In: Conn's Current Therapy 2021. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  4. Feldman M, et al., eds. Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Management. 11th ed. Elsevier; 2021. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  5. Perrault L. Obesity in adults: Prevalence, screening and evaluation. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  6. Melmed S, et al. Obesity. In: Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. 14th ed. Elsevier; 2020. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed May 17, 2021.
  7. COVID-19: People with certain medical conditions. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html. Accessed May 6, 2021.
  8. Perrault L. Obesity in adults: Overview of management. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed May 3, 2021.
  9. Healthy weight, nutrition and physical activity. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/healthyweight/index.html. Accessed May 3, 2021.