概述

葡萄胎(又称作水泡状胎块)是一种罕见的妊娠并发症,其特征是正常情况下应该发育成胎盘的滋养细胞出现异常生长。

葡萄胎共有两种类型,即完全性葡萄胎和部分性葡萄胎。发生完全性葡萄胎时,胎盘组织异常且肿胀,看起来形成充满液体的囊肿。但不会形成胎儿组织。发生部分性葡萄胎时,可能会同时出现正常的胎盘组织和异常形成的胎盘组织。在这种情况下,也有可能会形成胎儿组织,但是胎儿无法存活,通常会在妊娠早期流产。

葡萄胎可能引发严重并发症(包括一种罕见的癌症),需要尽早治疗。

症状

葡萄胎起初看起来可能类似正常妊娠,但大多数葡萄胎会导致特定的体征和症状,包括:

  • 孕早期伴有深褐色至鲜红色阴道出血
  • 严重恶心和呕吐
  • 有时阴道排出葡萄样囊肿
  • 盆腔压迫感或疼痛

如果您出现任何葡萄胎的体征或症状,请咨询医生或孕期护理提供者。他们可能检测出葡萄胎的其他体征,例如:

  • 子宫快速增长,即子宫过大,与妊娠所处阶段不符。
  • 高血压
  • 子痫前期,一种导致怀孕 20 周后出现高血压和尿蛋白的状况
  • 卵巢囊肿
  • 贫血
  • 甲状腺功能亢进症(甲亢)

病因

葡萄胎由受精卵异常引起。人类细胞通常包含 23 对染色体。每对染色体中的一条来自父亲,另一条来自母亲。

在完全性葡萄胎中,一个空卵由一个或两个精子受精,所有的遗传物质均来自父亲。在这种情况下,母亲卵子的染色体丢失或失活,父亲的染色体重复。

在部分性或不完全葡萄胎中,母亲的染色体仍然存在,但父亲提供了两套染色体。结果,胚胎有 69 条染色体而不是 46 条。这最常发生在两个精子使一个卵子受精时,导致父亲遗传物质的额外复制。

风险因素

大约千分之一的妊娠被诊断为葡萄胎。与葡萄胎有关的因素有很多,包括:

  • 孕妇年龄。葡萄胎更常见于大于 35 岁或小于 20 岁的女性。
  • 葡萄胎病史。如果您曾出现过葡萄胎,则再次发生此类妊娠的可能性会更高。平均每 100 位女性中会有一位出现反复葡萄胎。

并发症

葡萄胎被清除后,胎块组织可能残留并继续生长。该组织被称为持续性妊娠滋养细胞肿瘤(GTN)。大约 15% ~ 20% 的完全性葡萄胎和 5% 的部分性葡萄胎会出现这种情况。

持续性 GTN 的一个体征是葡萄胎被清除后,人绒毛膜促性腺激素(HCG,一种妊娠激素)的水平较高。在某些病例中,侵袭性水泡状胎块深入子宫壁中层,引起阴道出血。

持续性 GTN 几乎都能成功治疗,最常见的方法是化疗。另一种治疗选择是切除子宫(子宫切除术)。

在很少情况下,GTN 的癌变形式(称为绒毛膜癌)会发展并扩散至其他器官。绒毛膜癌通常能用多种癌症药物成功治疗。完全性葡萄胎比部分性葡萄胎更易出现这种并发症。

预防

如果您有过葡萄胎,在再次怀孕之前,请咨询医生或孕期护理人员。医生可能会建议等 6 个月到 1 年再尝试怀孕。葡萄胎的复发风险较低,但会高于没有该病病史的妇女。

在以后的怀孕期,护理人员可能会要求您做早期超声波来监护您的情况,并保证您(胎儿的)正常发育。医生也可能与您讨论产前基因检查,可以用这项检查诊断葡萄胎。

May 13, 2021
  1. Ferri FF. Molar pregnancy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  2. Rumack CM, et al., eds. The first trimester. In: Diagnostic Ultrasound. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  3. Walls RM, et al., eds. Acute complications of pregnancy. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  4. Berkowitz RS, et al. Hydatidiform mole: Epidemiology, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  5. Gockley AA, et al. The effect of adolescence and advanced maternal age on the incidence of complete and partial molar pregnancy. Gynecologic Oncology. 2016;140:470.
  6. What is gestational trophoblastic disease? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/gestational-trophoblastic-disease.html. Accessed Sept. 9, 2017.
  7. Berkowitz RS, et al. Hydatidiform mole: Management. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  8. Diagnosis and treatment of gestational trophoblastic disease. Rockville, Md.: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. https://www.guideline.gov/summaries/summary/10938/diagnosis-and-treatment-of-gestational-trophoblastic-disease?q=gestational+trophoblastic. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  9. Frequently asked questions. Special procedures FAQ062. Dilation and curettage. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/publications/faq/faq062.cfm. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  10. Wick MJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 23, 2017.

Overview

A molar pregnancy — also known as hydatidiform mole — is a rare complication of pregnancy characterized by the abnormal growth of trophoblasts, the cells that normally develop into the placenta.

There are two types of molar pregnancy, complete molar pregnancy and partial molar pregnancy. In a complete molar pregnancy, the placental tissue is abnormal and swollen and appears to form fluid-filled cysts. There's also no formation of fetal tissue. In a partial molar pregnancy, there may be normal placental tissue along with abnormally forming placental tissue. There may also be formation of a fetus, but the fetus is not able to survive, and is usually miscarried early in the pregnancy.

A molar pregnancy can have serious complications — including a rare form of cancer — and requires early treatment.

Symptoms

A molar pregnancy may seem like a normal pregnancy at first, but most molar pregnancies cause specific signs and symptoms, including:

  • Dark brown to bright red vaginal bleeding during the first trimester
  • Severe nausea and vomiting
  • Sometimes vaginal passage of grapelike cysts
  • Pelvic pressure or pain

If you experience any signs or symptoms of a molar pregnancy, consult your doctor or pregnancy care provider. He or she may detect other signs of a molar pregnancy, such as:

  • Rapid uterine growth — the uterus is too large for the stage of pregnancy
  • High blood pressure
  • Preeclampsia — a condition that causes high blood pressure and protein in the urine after 20 weeks of pregnancy
  • Ovarian cysts
  • Anemia
  • Overactive thyroid (hyperthyroidism)

Causes

A molar pregnancy is caused by an abnormally fertilized egg. Human cells normally contain 23 pairs of chromosomes. One chromosome in each pair comes from the father, the other from the mother.

In a complete molar pregnancy, an empty egg is fertilized by one or two sperm, and all of the genetic material is from the father. In this situation, the chromosomes from the mother's egg are lost or inactivated and the father's chromosomes are duplicated.

In a partial or incomplete molar pregnancy, the mother's chromosomes remain but the father provides two sets of chromosomes. As a result, the embryo has 69 chromosomes instead of 46. This most often occurs when two sperm fertilize an egg, resulting in an extra copy of the father's genetic material.

Risk factors

Approximately 1 in every 1,000 pregnancies is diagnosed as a molar pregnancy. Various factors are associated with molar pregnancy, including:

  • Maternal age. A molar pregnancy is more likely in women older than age 35 or younger than age 20.
  • Previous molar pregnancy. If you've had one molar pregnancy, you're more likely to have another. A repeat molar pregnancy happens, on average, in 1 out of every 100 women.

Complications

After a molar pregnancy has been removed, molar tissue may remain and continue to grow. This is called persistent gestational trophoblastic neoplasia (GTN). This occurs in approximately 15 to 20 percent of complete molar pregnancies, and up to 5 percent of partial molar pregnancies.

One sign of persistent GTN is a high level of human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) — a pregnancy hormone — after the molar pregnancy has been removed. In some cases, an invasive hydatidiform mole penetrates deep into the middle layer of the uterine wall, which causes vaginal bleeding.

Persistent GTN can nearly always be successfully treated, most often with chemotherapy. Another treatment option is removal of the uterus (hysterectomy).

Rarely, a cancerous form of GTN known as choriocarcinoma develops and spreads to other organs. Choriocarcinoma is usually successfully treated with multiple cancer drugs. A complete molar pregnancy is more likely to have this complication than a partial molar pregnancy.

Prevention

If you've had a molar pregnancy, talk to your doctor or pregnancy care provider before conceiving again. He or she may recommend waiting for six months to one year before trying to become pregnant. The risk of recurrence is low, but higher than the risk for women with no previous history of molar pregnancy.

During any subsequent pregnancies, your care provider may do early ultrasounds to monitor your condition and offer reassurance of normal development. Your provider may also discuss prenatal genetic testing, which can be used to diagnose a molar pregnancy.

Dec. 14, 2017
References
  1. Ferri FF. Molar pregnancy. In: Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2018. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  2. Rumack CM, et al., eds. The first trimester. In: Diagnostic Ultrasound. 5th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  3. Walls RM, et al., eds. Acute complications of pregnancy. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. 9th ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier; 2018. https://www.clinicalkey.com. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  4. Berkowitz RS, et al. Hydatidiform mole: Epidemiology, clinical features, and diagnosis. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  5. Gockley AA, et al. The effect of adolescence and advanced maternal age on the incidence of complete and partial molar pregnancy. Gynecologic Oncology. 2016;140:470.
  6. What is gestational trophoblastic disease? American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/cancer/gestational-trophoblastic-disease.html. Accessed Sept. 9, 2017.
  7. Berkowitz RS, et al. Hydatidiform mole: Management. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search. Accessed Sept. 8, 2017.
  8. Diagnosis and treatment of gestational trophoblastic disease. Rockville, Md.: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. https://www.guideline.gov/summaries/summary/10938/diagnosis-and-treatment-of-gestational-trophoblastic-disease?q=gestational+trophoblastic. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  9. Frequently asked questions. Special procedures FAQ062. Dilation and curettage. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. http://www.acog.org/publications/faq/faq062.cfm. Accessed Sept. 11, 2017.
  10. Wick MJ (expert opinion). Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. Sept. 23, 2017.